Will India win the upcoming T20 World Cup (2021)?

Very tough to call. England, Pakistan, Australia, West Indies are the big threats. I think we can easily beat the likes of SA,NZ, SL etc.

Pakistan? :yk2:yk2 did you not just see the recent T20I series vs South Africa D.. Barely beat them. Think only ENG/NZ can stop an India win. Got to fancy India to win the T20 World Cup this year and then the 50 over wc in 2023 Nikhil Bhai

India has a great chance of taking home the silverware if they don't choke in the games where it matters. They are the biggest threat to themselves.

As for Pakistan, we have a long-shopping list if we want to become a world-class side before the world cup:
1. 1 death over specialist.
2. 1 middle-order batsman who can rotate strike well and hit it around.
3. 1 middle-order batsman who is capable of hitting the long ball.
4. A quality spinner.
5. 1 quality all-rounder who contributes with both bat and ball.
6. 1 reliable middle-overs pacer.

Right now we only have a few set components being Rizwan, Babar, Fakhar, Hafeez, and Shaheen. Everyone else is either inconsistent or of poor quality.

If Pakistan plays this XI, with the assumption that everyone clicks and is performing, we can do some damage in the World Cup:

Babar Azam (c)
Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
Fakhar Zaman
Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Sohaib Maqsood
Imad Wasim
Faheem Ashraf (on green wicket)/ Usman Qadir (will probably play most games)/ Amad Butt (untested)
Hasan Ali/Mohammad Hasnain/Haris Rauf/Wahab Riaz
Shaheen Shah Afridi

It won't sit well with most people but as slow as Amir has become, he was still reliable with the ball. Plus he played in India last time and did a decent job for us. Either way, he's retired but his presence here would have helped us in my mind.

Pakistan? :yk2:yk2 did you not just see the recent T20I series vs South Africa D.. Barely beat them. Think only ENG/NZ can stop an India win. Got to fancy India to win the T20 World Cup this year and then the 50 over wc in 2023 Nikhil Bhai

Pakistan beat a full strength SA in Pakistan earlier. Indian conditions will suit this Pakistan team. With Fakhar, Babar, Rizwan and the quicks, there's enough quality there to beat top sides.

Head to head nah india will win 4 out of 5 times in t20

But we become a different team in ICC tournaments so who knows...

India might win. They have all the ingredients.

Would love to see India vs Pak final.

Head to head nah india will win 4 out of 5 times in t20

But we become a different team in ICC tournaments so who knows...
Not saying PAK will definitely do well but they can , on their day, beat any team in the tournament. It's a much better team than the one they had last time under Afridi/Waqar

India should win it easily.
They played without bumrah vs england and won a t20 series 3-2

Eng and Aus are the only other ones with a chance

Eng vs India final likely

NewZealand..
England
West Indies
Australia..
South Africa...
India...
Pakistan....

This is it...the list of favourites ...

Not saying PAK will definitely do well but they can , on their day, beat any team in the tournament. It's a much better team than the one they had last time under Afridi/Waqar

We don't have a middle order player of the calibre of Umar back in 2016.

NewZealand..
England
West Indies
Australia..
South Africa...
India...
Pakistan....

This is it...the list of favourites ...

If South Africa and Pakistan are "favourites", you might as well add Sri Lanka and heck..... even Afghanistan.

T20 is a funny game. Even SA, Pak and SL have a chance. Teams just need 2 players to be in the forms of their lives.

Yes and even Afghanistan if Rashid khan bowls the spell of his life or even Bangladesh if Liton and Shakib get going with the bat like they did against West Indies in the world cup ...

The concept of "favourites" is non-existent in T20 cricket. Very rarely do the best teams win the world cup in this format....

They really have to. It will be a pretty big humiliation for India if they don't win the tournament comfortably.

I'd say winning anything less than 2/3 of the next three global tournaments and it is a huge failure on the part of Indian cricket.

No.1 to 7 they r favourites.....who knows...if Amir comes back....if Pak get a good hitter or even Rizwan Bobby Fakhar and Hafeez exhibits supreme form.....who knows if AB comes back....AB Markram DeCock....Malan Verynyle.... Will if one heck of a batting line up.... If u think they r not then u need 2 give up on cricket esp t20........seriously

And it is the type of format where Pakistan has traditionally done well and it is where India won't play the same opposition..where it can make an umpteenth comeback......

Every team would have this mission.....win 3 in 3......3 world cups in 3 years

On their home patch, you would expect India to win both the T20 WC this year and WC in 2023. They have been disappointing in ICC tournaments for a number of years now, but home conditions can make all the difference.

India should be the overwhelming favorites to win it and in all probability they will win it.
However, given the format even minnows like pak and sl can cause an upset on their day.

With the number of options that are available, India are favourites for sure. However, the next three T20 matches will play an important role for some players who want to cement their spot in WT20 first XI.

As of now, my team for WT20 stands as:-

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli(c)
Pant(wkt)
SKY
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Bhuvi
R Chahar
Bumrah

With the number of options that are available, India are favourites for sure. However, the next three T20 matches will play an important role for some players who want to cement their spot in WT20 first XI.

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli(c)
Pant(wkt)
SKY
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Bhuvi
R Chahar
Bumrah

I would play KL Rahul as a wicketkeeper batsman and drop Pant who is a pretty average batsman in T20s with a strike rate of 122 only. :inti

Every team in the world would give an arm or leg to have Pant in their team on a format tailor made for him. I am sure most Pakistani fans would happily swap Rizwan with Pant too for T20s. The fact that you want to drop our biggest asset raises my suspicion on you being an ICT fan :srini

Statistics are not relevant when talking about a cricketer who is less than 25 year old.

The likes of Kishan, Samson and Iyer can win you one match but in a WT20 final with 15 runs left of one over and Jofra Archer steaming in, you would need a terrific batsman and a match winner like Rishabh Pant to get your team cross the line.

Even Pandya will struggle to get the team past the line. He will probably start dancing on field after hitting one six :inti

Rohit
Rahul
Kohli(c)
Pant(wkt)
SKY
Pandya
Jadeja
Shardul
Bhuvi
R Chahar
Bumrah

Rohit
Kishan
Kohli
Pant
Sky
Pandya
Jadeja
Ashwin
Siraj
Shami/Bhuvi
Bumrah

Rohit takes a bit of time to settle hence Kishan to move on with the game.

Ashwin is a must I think on those UAE pitches but I doubt Kohli would pick him.

Siraj has improved significantly and is a way better bowler than Thakur.

Rohit
Kishan
Kohli
Pant
Sky
Pandya
Jadeja
Ashwin
Siraj
Shami/Bhuvi
Bumrah

Rohit takes a bit of time to settle hence Kishan to move on with the game.

Ashwin is a must I think on those UAE pitches but I doubt Kohli would pick him.

Siraj has improved significantly and is a way better bowler than Thakur.

Nah...I dont think Ishan Kishan is international class player. He should not be on the world cup team. I would even take Shaw as opener above Kishan.

I agree with your opinion on Siraj though and just hope he does well in IPL to get that ticket for world cup.

I would also include Varun Chakravarty on the side. A mystery spinner will always be a puzzle for opponents atleast till the time his novelty is intact.

Rohit
Dhawan/Shaw (Depends on IPL form)
Kohli
SKY
Rahul
Pant
Pandya
R.Chahar/Chahal/Kuldeep (Depends on IPL form)
Varun/Jadeja (Depends on IPL form)
Bumrah
Shami/Siraj (Depends on IPL form)

The 20-20 format is a gigantic banana skin on an earthquake
Anything can happen
Somehow our guys have the hidden 'talents' & are perfectly capable of fluffing it at the knockout stage
Am happy to be proven wrong..

1st T20 match done.

Positives- SKY's batting, Kishan's adaptability in both top order and middle order, Bhuvi strengthening his claim for WT20, Yuzi back in form

Minuses- Pandya's form, Samson still not justifying his ability, Dhawan again showing he is not good for T2Os.

With England, WI and Pakistan in the mix, I'm not sure how anyone can say India are favourites. The Antipodeans also raise their game in World tournaments. I'm only confident against the likes of Choke Africa and the rest

The only thing that can match the ignorance of Pakistani cricket fans is the delusion and the idotic nature of the Indian media.

India is a quality team.

One of the best and in pure overall terms - The best

BUT, India can never be expected to win a tournament outside Asia Cups with ease because they never had the bowling to do that sort of dominance.

When Kuldeep-Chahal were hot in South Africa 3 years agoi and we won 5-1 i think, thats the only time in my entire life that i was confident that India would have dominated and won a world cup if it occured right there and then. I have never seen such a hot match winnign streak from Indian bolwing due evrr. Chahl and Kuldeep together were dominating like a legendary duo.

That ended dramatically and we have never come close to that again.

Every team in the world would give an arm or leg to have Pant in their team on a format tailor made for him. I am sure most Pakistani fans would happily swap Rizwan with Pant too for T20s. The fact that you want to drop our biggest asset raises my suspicion on you being an ICT fan :srini

The fact that you want an average T20 batsman in your team raises my suspicion on you being an ICT fan. :inti

Statistics are not relevant when talking about a cricketer who is less than 25 year old.

The likes of Kishan, Samson and Iyer can win you one match but in a WT20 final with 15 runs left of one over and Jofra Archer steaming in, you would need a terrific batsman and a match winner like Rishabh Pant to get your team cross the line.

Even Pandya will struggle to get the team past the line. He will probably start dancing on field after hitting one six :inti

Big words there. I heard similar stuff about Pandya too but it seems you are starting to lose confidence in him too. Or will it be back once Pandya's plays one good inning after 10 bad innings again? You said Kishan(who is 23 by the way) and others can win one match. How many T20 matches did Pant finish for India? What's wrong in playing KL Rahul as a wicketkeeper batsman in T20s, dropping Pant and playing another specialist batsman/bowler? :inti

You won't have heard similar stuff about Pandya from me though. So, no point telling this to me as I can't do much about it.

Regarding Pandya, I didn't said that I don't rate his LOI game highly but if you read well, I have always said that I don't like him as a cricketer because he has an attitude of Viv Richards and performance of Afridi level.

Pant's game is perfectly suited to T20s. Statistics don't matter in his case. Also, he is just 23 so the suggestion that he is an average T20 player is both comical as well as laughable.

You won't have heard similar stuff about Pandya from me though. So, no point telling this to me as I can't do much about it.

Regarding Pandya, I didn't said that I don't rate his LOI game highly but if you read well, I have always said that I don't like him as a cricketer because he has an attitude of Viv Richards and performance of Afridi level.

Pant's game is perfectly suited to T20s. Statistics don't matter in his case. Also, he is just 23 so the suggestion that he is an average T20 player is both comical as well as laughable.

So a player can't be called an average player based on his stats just because he is 23? I mean I didn't see you using this logic on Prithvi Shaw when he was being criticised by many fans and was called average after 36 all out? Infact you were also jumping on him. FYI he was 21 at that time. You should have waited for 4 more years before criticising him lol. I guess your hypocrisy is both comical as well as laughable too. :inti

The fact that you want an average T20 batsman in your team raises my suspicion on you being an ICT fan. :inti

Take a poll and you will find most (if not all) cricket fans would want Pant in the T20 team. So you are surely in minority. You understand this too and just pretending. C'mmon dude :))

But then again, I know from where all these nervousness coming from and why you want our MVP Pant to be dropped. Dont worry its just one match and he may very well fail in that game....so relax :srini

So a player can't be called an average player based on his stats just because he is 23? I mean I didn't see you using this logic on Prithvi Shaw when he was being criticised by many fans and was called average after 36 all out? Infact you were also jumping on him. FYI he was 21 at that time. You should have waited for 4 more years before criticising him lol. I guess your hypocrisy is both comical as well as laughable too. :inti

Anyways, why wait for four years when the replacements, Pant and Gill won us a test series in Australia in a matter of one month and especially resulted in our greatest test win ever, Gabba :))

It has gone down as one of the masterclass predictions in PP as it resulted in a win which we can moan about for decades. Right now, it is still like 6-7 months only, ohh I understand the bitterness is still there. :yk

Take a poll and you will find most (if not all) cricket fans would want Pant in the T20 team. So you are surely in minority. You understand this too and just pretending. C'mmon dude :))

But then again, I know from where all these nervousness coming from and why you want our MVP Pant to be dropped. Dont worry its just one match and he may very well fail in that game....so relax :srini

Poll lol? I thought you will share some videos of his match winning innings in IT20s. I am disappointed. Just because people don't agree with your so called superior opinion doesn't mean they want India to lose. Same guys who were going after me when I used to question Pandya as well are now starting to realise too that Pandya is nowhere near their hype. Happened with KL Rahul too. May be now you can understand from where all this nervousness coming from? :inti

Anyways, why wait for four years when the replacements, Pant and Gill won us a test series in Australia in a matter of one month and especially resulted in our greatest test win ever, Gabba :))

It has gone down as one of the masterclass predictions in PP as it resulted in a win which we can moan about for decades. Right now, it is still like 6-7 months only, ohh I understand the bitterness is still there. :yk

What prediction are you talking about here? Last time I checked most of you fans ran away after 36 all out and only came back when India started to play well. Gill started well but he too has lost the plot. Won't be surprised if you start to go after him too once he makes a comeback. You know we are in the middle of England tour. Things can change pretty quickly here.

Anyway I am still looking for a solid reason why Pant should be in the T20 team and why can't KL Rahul play as a wicketkeeper batsman? Do you have any answer or going to keep spouting rubbish just for the sake of it? :inti

Poll lol? I thought you will share some videos of his match winning innings in IT20s. I am disappointed. Just because people don't agree with your so called superior opinion doesn't mean they want India to lose. Same guys who were going after me when I used to question Pandya as well are now starting to realise too that Pandya is nowhere near their hype. Happened with KL Rahul too. May be now you can understand from where all this nervousness coming from? :inti

Pandya, Rahul and Pant - all 3 are world class players and vital to our chances in T20 side. So all of them will play.

Though Pant has not lit the world on fire in T20 stage yet, considering his potential I am sure he will do more in future. His highest score is already more than MS Dhoni's entire career with almost similar strike. Also his strike rate of 123 is not that bad...he will only improve from here. I mean our world no.1 T20 batsman Babar Azam also bats at a strike rate of 130. So a bit leeway can be given to Pant.

Also remember how before Australia tour you were going on and on about how Pant is a failure in test cricket and how Saha deserve to play above him. Had people followed your intelligence we would have never won the series there. So sometimes you pick players on intution, potential and cricket acumen. Hence I said, every team in the world would pick Rishabh Pant on their T20 team (maybe except Eng).

Then again, you know all these very well too but just pretending :yk

Anyway I am still looking for a solid reason why Pant should be in the T20 team and why can't KL Rahul play as a wicketkeeper batsman? Do you have any answer or going to keep spouting rubbish just for the sake of it? :inti

Pant is the blue eyed boy of Indian cricket team. He is the most talented wicketkeeper bat in the world bar none, the way he tonked England to submission in the odi series this year shows his ability in limited overs cricket.

Accha hua aap selector nahi hain, vrna abhi Jadhav aur Aumbeti Rayoodu ko khila rahe hote. Aur Dhoni ko retirement se waapas bula liya hota :yk

Pandya, Rahul and Pant - all 3 are world class players and vital to our chances in T20 side. So all of them will play.

Though Pant has not lit the world on fire in T20 stage yet, considering his potential I am sure he will do more in future. His highest score is already more than MS Dhoni's entire career with almost similar strike. Also his strike rate of 123 is not that bad...he will only improve from here. I mean our world no.1 T20 batsman Babar Azam also bats at a strike rate of 130. So a bit leeway can be given to Pant.

Also remember how before Australia tour you were going on and on about how Pant is a failure in test cricket and how Saha deserve to play above him. Had people followed your intelligence we would have never won the series there. So sometimes you pick players on intution, potential and cricket acumen. Hence I said, every team in the world would pick Rishabh Pant on their T20 team (maybe except Eng).

Then again, you know all these very well too but just pretending :yk
I would pick KL Rahul as a wicketkeeper over Pant in T20s and play a specialist batsman/bowler instead. How is Strike Rate not important now when this was the only criteria for some of you to prefer Pandya over others in this team lol? Correct me if I am wrong but Pant is the only one who has the lowest strike rate in the top 6 currently in the T20 team. :inti

Who said strike rate is not important? Are you seriously doubting Pant's ability to improve his strike rate when he is one of the most destructive hitters in the world? If anything he was dropped from the team for being borderline reckless and was asked to take time in the middle. Strike rate is least of Pant's concern...lol.

There are no specialist batsman in India who can replace Pant in the middle order. Which specialist batsman you are thinking anyway - Pandey, Nair, Iyer, Kishan, Rana, Shankar?

Or you want Kedar Jadhav again? :)))

C'mmon Viru paaji :srini

Who said strike rate is not important? Are you seriously doubting Pant's ability to improve his strike rate when he is one of the most destructive hitters in the world? If anything he was dropped from the team for being borderline reckless and was asked to take time in the middle. Strike rate is least of Pant's concern...lol.

There are no specialist batsman in India who can replace Pant in the middle order. Which specialist batsman you are thinking anyway - Pandey, Nair, Iyer, Kishan, Rana, Shankar?

Kishan is good.

Pant has already played 32 T20 matches for India. Isn't that a good sample?

Lol jadhav too had a similar Strike Rate. Guess what he was dropped after 9 games. Rana hasn't played any T20s. Iyer and Pandey keep getting in and out of the team when they don't perform. Shankar too was average and was dropped after 9 games. Pandya is slightly better than Shankar. I can see you have already given up on Kishan who is also 23 years old and has only played 3 matches with a SR of 145? So Pandya with 49 T20 games is in the team because of his strike rate and Pant is in the team because of intuition. Had other guys got these many games they would have also won 1 match after every 7-8 matches they played for India. :))) :inti

Pant has already played 32 T20 matches for India. Isn't that a good sample?

Lol jadhav too had a similar Strike Rate. Guess what he was dropped after 9 games. Rana hasn't played any T20s. Iyer and Pandey keep getting in and out of the team when they don't perform. Shankar too was average and was dropped after 9 games. Pandya is slightly better than Shankar. I can see you have already given up on Kishan who is also 23 years old and has only played 3 matches with a SR of 145? So Pandya with 49 T20 games is in the team because of his strike rate and Pant is in the team because of intuition. Had other guys got these many games they would have also won 1 match after every 7-8 matches they played for India. :))) :inti

Why dont you name then which specialist batsman you want to replace Pant in our middle order? :)))

Who said I have given up on Kishan? Stop assuming things. I wont take him to world cup though bcoz he is not ready yet.

Below will be the team for WT20 (more or less):

Rohit
Dhawan/Shaw (Based on IPL form)
Kohli
Rahul
SKY
Pant
Panyda
Chahal/R.Chahar (Based on IPL form)
Chakravarty
Bumrah
Shami/Siraj (Based on IPL form)

The above team in enough for UAE and will lift the cup...you can thank me later :)

Why dont you name then which specialist batsman you want to replace Pant in our middle order? :)))

Who said I have given up on Kishan? Stop assuming things. I wont take him to world cup though bcoz he is not ready yet.

Below will be the team for WT20 (more or less):

Rohit
Dhawan/Shaw (Based on IPL form)
Kohli
Rahul
SKY
Pant
Panyda
Chahal/R.Chahar (Based on IPL form)
Chakravarty
Bumrah
Shami/Siraj (Based on IPL form)

The above team in enough for UAE and will lift the cup...you can thank me later :)

Yeah is this like your prediction about India lifting the WTC final trophy and then winning England series? You were trying to group Kishan with Pandey, Jadhav etc and asking me whether I want Kishan in place of Pant lol? Why can't Kishan play in the world cup? Even Pant doesn't look ready to me. I mean he has played 32 T20s but you guys treat him like a 18 year old boy who is yet to make his debut in International Cricket. :viru :inti