Will MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav cost India dearly at the 2019 World Cup?

What irony!

These two have fixed their places now.

But, seriously concerned about the WC.

Dhoni will be there and detrimental for the team to lift the trophy provided his experience is used and he bats at 4 regularly. I would even reduce his workload by making him keep wickets for the last 20 or 25 overs only, but he prefers to keep for the full 50 overs.

Jadhav is highly inconsistent and will cost them a batting space, I will have Pandya or pant on his place

Kedar Jadhav's scores according to the number of overs he had when he comes to the crease (before this match):

After 30th over:
Innings 17
Not Outs 7
Runs 297
Average 30
Strike Rate 116
Highest Score 40*

Before 30th over:
Innings 14
Not Outs 3
Runs 587
Average 53
Strike Rate 104
Highest Score 120

Dhoni and Jadhav are at least proven performers against strong opposition. I am highly critical of the inclusion of players like Rayunu who mostly fill their boots against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc and inflate their batting averages leading to their continued selection. I have no problem if Dhoni and Jadhav are in the team. It is players like Rayudu that I cannot tolerate in the playing XI.

A very ugly batsman and way past his best. But he wears the responsibility as if his life depended on it and cherishes the challenge.

It would have been easy for him to safely cross 50, hit a couple of big ones to up his SR and then get out. For many that would be job done and perhaps secured their position in a team.

Yet this one keeps prodding, padding, flicking, scratching and somehow inching towards victory. In his head that is his job, to get the team past the finish line by whatever means possible. That is what a team player is supposed to do.

Dhoni will be there and detrimental for the team to lift the trophy provided his experience is used and he bats at 4 regularly. I would even reduce his workload by making him keep wickets for the last 20 or 25 overs only, but he prefers to keep for the full 50 overs.

pant isn't as good as you all hype him up to be

Joke of a thread! India will not even cross the group stage without the contribution of Dhoni and Jadhav. These 2 are gonna be the most valuable players after Kohli and Bumrah for Team India in the upcoming WC!

My prediction - Jadhav will be injured by the 3rd match, esp if he fields on boundaries and is made to run around.

And as expected hes got injured during IPL. I can't believe he has been selected in the world cup squad knowing fully well that this unfit cricketer can't last any tournament as he gets injured Midway during the tournament.

Joke of a thread! India will not even cross the group stage without the contribution of Dhoni and Jadhav. These 2 are gonna be the most valuable players after Kohli and Bumrah for Team India in the upcoming WC!

Joke is on you brother. Ur thread and world ending in 12 years from global warming are surely awesome

And as expected hes got injured during IPL. I can't believe he has been selected in the world cup squad knowing fully well that this unfit cricketer can't last any tournament as he gets injured Midway during the tournament.
Always knew that. He is made of glass and I don't think he is that serious about his fitness either. Also I think he is not that outrageously talented that we should lose our sleep over.

Dhoni fires today but against a weak bowling line up on a flat wicket.

Dhoni and rahul back in form. Courtesy IPL and warm up match.
Now only if Dhawan, Jadhav and Vijay get into form it would be cool

this is such a wide open tournament. Every team can beat every other team on their day. The same Windies who were thrashed by Bangladesh a few days earlier is on the verge of defeating Newzealand who inturn defeated India in the first warm up.

Sad to see that none in Pakistani batting lineup can match the hitting ability of a 37 years old Dhoni.

As has your hated IPL star Pandya.

Aww this thread is about Dhoni and Jadhav. But yeah Pandya played very well after a collapse and after getting dropped on first ball. Dhoni on the other hand played well with a better strike rate and he didn't even get to play against spinners. :inti

Dhoni was dropped at 0 by Carey :uakmal

Vijay Shankar and Kedar Jadhav will not allow India to win?

Vijay Shankar and Kedar Jadhav are the weakest link in India. India needs Shikher back and Pant in team instead of these two. Vijay performed well but he is a true trundler and does not connect ball very well with bat.

Don't worry my friend vijay Will not play in the important semifinals or finals if we qualify, and kedhar jadhav is a decent middle order batsman he has performed in some important pressure situations in recent times, so vijay will be out and kedhar will be in.

I have no hope from these two. We are looking at 220 max. Bowlers will have to perform out of their skin to win this one.

Dhoni batting like an odi Gavaskar here. Sure he may well catch up at the end but is there really any need to start so slowly?

With Risabh Pant being available, i personally find Dhoni's selection a farce and scandalous

India's middle order cost them the CT 2017 Final, it may cost them the WC as well, the top 3 cannot and will not always fire

I really think our batting line is one dimensional now. Lots of accumulator hacking it out later and very few free flowing batsman. Dhoni has simply lost the ability to rotate the strike anymore and absolutely relies on bad balls. He needs a strong word from the captain and coach to change his mentality esp when we are batting first.

No left handers,no dhawan.Without dhawan we are 1/3rd weaker in already a top heavy unreliable batting line up.Sadly we are done in this wc.Fate didn't want us,so we lost dhawan.Rahul is a chump,will never step up.Dhoni,shankar,jadhav in one team is recipe for humiliation.

No way we are winning this world cup with this team. Such a rubbish batting display. Pathetic and disgraceful worse than pakistan also no jazba at all

With Risabh Pant being available, i personally find Dhoni's selection a farce and scandalous
Dhoni has batted well in the previous matches. Today, everyone struggled to get runs other than Kohli. Pant would have slogged and got out for some paltry runs.
Dhoni is in the team for his pseudo-captaincy skills.

Dhoni has batted well in the previous matches. Today, everyone struggled to get runs other than Kohli. Pant would have slogged and got out for some paltry runs.
Dhoni is in the team for his pseudo-captaincy skills.
Dhoni scored 0 against pak.

Grandpa has mafia like hold on this team. He has his personal benefits to look forward to rather than team's. What a pathetic creature!

I hope it's a good lesson today to lose to Afghanistan. Next match they can bring in Pant in place of one of the tailenders in middle order.

Can happen. Just takes 2 good matches. No team is invincible in this World Cup. Not India, not England, not Australia and not New Zealand. Whoever plays better on the day wins.

Nope we won't win mark this post. Batting without Kohli/Rohit is minnow like. Dhawans loss was huge with him one of top 3 had to click to win now only 2 left and the 2 will fail more than 3. So chances of winning are over.

If you want we can have a bet for fun :).

Can happen. Just takes 2 good matches. No team is invincible in this World Cup. Not India, not England, not Australia and not New Zealand. Whoever plays better on the day wins.
I have bad feeling CT17 final gonna repeat. India to chase 320 in knockout match. Kohli, Rohit gone in first few overs and then grandpa Dhoni n co. slowly drag and fold at 150 all out.

Hopefully they don't concede 320 because the bowling unit is a lot better than 2 years ago.

Batting without Kohli/Rohit is minnow like.
We already knew this before the World Cup. They've still won 3 consecutive games though. Like I said, it just takes 2 good games. They don't have the batting unit of a world champion side but every team has its weaknesses, not just India, and every team is capable of having bad days.

Two matches where Rohit and/or Kohli fire just like the last 3 games and India wins the cup.

Sublime stuff from the Big MS. 28 off 52, 3 4s, 0 sixes.

What a glorious inning.

Jadhav did well. He is a good batsman, problem is his fitness. Dude gets injured while standing still.

Thank you Dhoni. It was because of your on field captaincy and guidance, Shami took a hattrick and saved us from embarrassment. :inti

Sublime stuff from the Big MS. 28 off 52, 3 4s, 0 sixes.

What a glorious inning.

Jadhav did well. He is a good batsman, problem is his fitness. Dude gets injured while standing still.

Hey ganju, do you even watch the match before opening your mouth?

KL Rahul played a similar inning like Dhoni that too as an opener. Dhoni had to build a partnership, which he did and took india to a defendable total. KL Rahul opened the inning and had no pressure at all yet he played with a strike rate of 56. I can't see any criticism for KL Rahul from you? :inti

Pathetic stuff from MS. Was patting the ball to the fielders or squatting away. Perhaps the worst innings played by MS. Kedar Jadhav playing a maiden in 47th over was criminal. Both, he and MS played pathetic innings, bowlers saved India from humiliation. Today's innings was very bad from both of them, they failed to take advantage of even some loose balls too.
KL Rahul needs to step up, playing too defensively and without intent will be costing us dearly in future.

Vijay Shankar, doesn't have the game to play consistently at this level, his strokes are limited, range is limited over cover, extra cover region.

Time to bring in Pant and make him play in coming matches and boot Rahul or Vijay Shankar.

It will be a miracle if India wins the cup with this batting lineup

The match against Afghanistan may be the toughest match that India will play in this tournament. Those who are disappointed with Indian batting against Afghanistan may be too young to remember 2003 world cup. There too India were bowled out cheaply for 204 against Netherlands. But Indian bowlers saved Indians the blushes. That Indian team fared much better against other stronger opposition and lost only to Australia in that tournament (in the group stage and then in the final).

All my hopes lost after watching today's match

Dhoni is undroppable. But yadav and Shankar.... These two simply wasting space. After the WC, irrespective of the results, these two shouldn't be anywhere in the team.

Shankar isn't a batsman. Nor he is a bowler. Atrocious fielding. Not a keeper. What is his role?

Wow, so shami took a hattrick bcoz of dhoni.
Dhoni psychopanths are really the most deluded people in the country.

So you agree with dhoni being responsible for shamis hattrick. :yk
These dhoni psychos are just unbearable, wickets bowler lai aur credit dhoni ko.

You need to make peace with the fact dhoni is undroppable. His business interests are in hundreds of crores and lot of money riding on him. He will retire when he and the business interests want.

His captaincy and guidance is still pretty good I won't deny that but his batting lets us down a lot recently.
Considering we can't drop dhoni team management and selectors should have ensured we selected players who can hide dhonis shortcomings in batting. Dhawans injury didn't help us but having jadhav+Shankar+dhoni is criminal. 2 years we had a chance to groom players for this world cup yet we stuck with kartick, rayudu, jadhav, Shankar etc.

We deserve to lose this one.

Dhoni is undroppable. But yadav and Shankar.... These two simply wasting space. After the WC, irrespective of the results, these two shouldn't be anywhere in the team.

Shankar isn't a batsman. Nor he is a bowler. Atrocious fielding. Not a keeper. What is his role?

He is a 3D cricketer - a deadweight on the team, depressing to watch for fans, and a diabolically average cricketer who shouldn’t be anywhere near the national team.

So you agree with dhoni being responsible for shamis hattrick. :yk
These dhoni psychos are just unbearable, wickets bowler lai aur credit dhoni ko.

Dhoni put a mantra on the ball which is why Shami took hat-trick. Come on dude give credit where due. :P

Next up Dhoni will get credit if Rabada bowls well today.

You need to make peace with the fact dhoni is undroppable. His business interests are in hundreds of crores and lot of money riding on him. He will retire when he and the business interests want.

His captaincy and guidance is still pretty good I won't deny that but his batting lets us down a lot recently.
Considering we can't drop dhoni team management and selectors should have ensured we selected players who can hide dhonis shortcomings in batting. Dhawans injury didn't help us but having jadhav+Shankar+dhoni is criminal. 2 years we had a chance to groom players for this world cup yet we stuck with kartick, rayudu, jadhav, Shankar etc.

We deserve to lose this one.

Bro ,dhoni shouldn't be dropped ,we need him ,but his fans need to understand that he isn't responsible for every wicket.
Dhoni psychpanths need to understand that he is a liabilty with the bat MORE OFTEN THAN NOT.
Crediting him for indias victory(inspite of him failing with the bat) is like insulting other main players who are the real reason for thse victories.

Dhoni put a mantra on the ball which is why Shami took hat-trick. Come on dude give credit where due. :P

Next up Dhoni will get credit if Rabada bowls well today.

Dhoni is a temporary captain,,if india loses ,captain is Virat otherwise captain is dhoni .Some fans were blaming kohli for taking a DRS yesterday,but if the drs was in favour of india than dhoni would have recieved all the credits.

Dhoni's batting is hurting.. With gloves he is still best. Lighting speed he is..

We cannot expect the openers to play everyday. Rayudu was wasted for 2yrs. Rahul struggling... Need to try new players for middle orders.

Rahul will....He is too slow at the top and it puts pressure on Rohit and Kohli to score quicker to make up for him

Pathetic stuff from MS. Was patting the ball to the fielders or squatting away. Perhaps the worst innings played by MS. Kedar Jadhav playing a maiden in 47th over was criminal. Both, he and MS played pathetic innings, bowlers saved India from humiliation. Today's innings was very bad from both of them, they failed to take advantage of even some loose balls too.
KL Rahul needs to step up, playing too defensively and without intent will be costing us dearly in future.

Vijay Shankar, doesn't have the game to play consistently at this level, his strokes are limited, range is limited over cover, extra cover region.

Time to bring in Pant and make him play in coming matches and boot Rahul or Vijay Shankar.
Boot Rahul or Vijay Shankar for Pant? Who is he? A clone of gilchrist? Lol. :inti

Dhoni is a temporary captain,,if india loses ,captain is Virat otherwise captain is dhoni .Some fans were blaming kohli for taking a DRS yesterday,but if the drs was in favour of india than dhoni would have recieved all the credits.

They don't call it Dhoni Review System for nothing but only when you get it right. Plus, Dhoni is not a temporary captain, he is the super-captain.

Vijay Shankar is terrible to watch - can’t bat, can’t bowl. He’s not cut for international cricket.

Needs to be removed from the side before these two.

WOW yorker in death overs,,,, what an insight .
Tareef karni hogi kya dimaag hai bhai:genius
Cricket mai galat aa gya dhoni .

You are a perfect example of a fan who can't even respect Indian legends but will go after anyone who criticises unfinished and unproven players like Pandya or Pant.

Vijay Shankar is terrible to watch - can’t bat, can’t bowl. He’s not cut for international cricket.

Needs to be removed from the side before these two.
He can't field either. Terrible terrible cricketer to have in a WC team.

Wow, so shami took a hattrick bcoz of dhoni.
Dhoni psychopanths are really the most deluded people in the country.
Not only Shami even Malinga, Starc and others take advice, tips from Dhoni. He helps eveyone that's why he doesn't have time to look after his batting lol.

Dhoni still has uses but on the pitch the game versus Afghanistan of course Jahdav won’t cost India. But by India’s standard he is mediocre. He may not on his own cost India the tournament but he isn’t someone the opposition will fear.

If India's middle order gets exposed in the semis it could spell a tragic end to their tournament. If they had dropped Dhoni and put together a decent middle order then the WC would have been a walk in the park for India I believe.

Give him a chance, he will do no worse than the batting heroics displayed by Jadhav, Shankar and Dhoni. And, keep that lol with you.

If anyone has seen cricket for long, can easily see how Rahul was playing for himself in the last two matches to save his place. Problem is not with just strike rate, it is with intent shown. Same was the case with pathetic innings of Dhoni and Jadhav, they made Afghan bowlers look like Lance Gibbs and Prasanna on a dust bowl, when on the same pitch Kohli eased through with smart shots. Vijay Shankar is nowhere near international standard.

Pant is promising enough and shown class, and deserves a chance.

Dhoni did great job as ODI skipper but his batting has deteriorated and the same old trick of taking the game deep is not really required which he is sometimes prone to do. Looks like he loves close finishes, so takes fame deep unnecessarily when should have been finished far earlier. No cricketer is immune to criticism, when Viv Richards one of the greatest batsman of all time lost his reflexes, pressure mounted on him to retire. Dhoni due to age has slowed down which is natural, so whether he was legendary doesn't really matter.

Give him a chance, he will do no worse than the batting heroics displayed by Jadhav, Shankar and Dhoni. And, keep that lol with you.

Chance? This is a world cup not some Nidhas Trophy. He will only get a chance once someone gets injured or if Kohli/Dhoni wants to take a rest. Don't think Kohli will change the winning combination to fit a tullaybaaz at this stage of the tournament. :inti