Would you pick a classical batter in the mould of Babar Azam over a slogger like Abhishek Sharma in the white ball?

Babar Azam or Abhishek Sharma in whiteball cricket?

• This poll will close: .

RizwanT20Champ

Local Club Star
Had a discussion with @Josh and it seems some would prefer a pure slogger or what we call tulla to a classical all round bat in white ball cricket. Curious to know how many would choose someone like Abihsekh Sharma over likes of Babar.

====
Chat gpt summary of above poll 👇

In white-ball cricket, the choice between a classical batsman like Babar Azam and a slogger like Abhishek Sharma depends on team strategy and match context.

Advantages of Babar Azam:

Consistency: Babar is renowned for his flawless technique and ability to anchor innings, making him a reliable option for building partnerships.

Versatility: He excels across formats, adapting to conditions and bowlers with precise footwork and elegant strokeplay.

Leadership: His calm demeanor under pressure adds stability to the team, especially in high-stakes matches.

Advantages of Abhishek Sharma (Slogger):

Power-hitting: Sloggers like Sharma can accelerate the scoring rate, especially in death overs, crucial for chasing or setting large totals.

Impactful Cameos: They are valuable in T20 cricket where quick runs often outweigh consistency.

While Babar provides stability and class, a slogger complements aggressive strategies. Ideally, teams balance both styles to maximize their chances in white-ball cricket.

and babar is not consistent per se, he is also king of flat tracks. He hasnt scored in Bowling conditions to date except few innings

Are you talking about T20I/ white ball?

I don’t know how Abhishek will do in . His domestic stats are not that great. Not a big enough sample size.

In t20i it’s a joke to even consider Babar over Abhishek who is fitter; younger, better fielder and a decent part timer without even getting into the strike rate debate.

Abhishek is not like Pakistan tullebaaz. He has the all the shots but always Play risky cricket because Indian team bench strength allowed him. Abhishek is a match winner but babar is a stats paddlers at his Best.

Abhishek can win 3/4 game single Handley out of 10 but babar can't even win a single Game single Handley

In white ball cricket no. Babar is good on eye with absolutely no impact in the game or series.

Are you talking about T20I/ white ball?

I don’t know how Abhishek will do in . His domestic stats are not that great. Not a big enough sample size.

In t20i it’s a joke to even consider Babar over Abhishek who is fitter; younger, better fielder and a decent part timer without even getting into the strike rate debate.
Yeah the whole dimension changes for you when you compare Rizwan to Abhishek in T20s

You need to get your ilaaj done first before you make any comments on white ball cricket standards.

abhishek has only played t20i. On an average he will give you 33(17) while Babar will give you 38(30). You tell me who will you prefer. Abhishek scores 5 runs less while taking 13 balls less. Everyone with common sense will go for abhishek.

Can’t compare in ODIS as he hasn’t played any

It depends on the format.

In T20, players like Abhishek are needed. No doubt.

In ODI, Abhishek may not succeed on tricky surfaces. It is preferable to have a batter who can both play classically and slog when required.

Yeah the whole dimension changes for you when you compare Rizwan to Abhishek in T20s

You need to get your ilaaj done first before you make any comments on white ball cricket standards.
Bhaijaan, I beleive what I said is in accordance to your sentiment. Why are you nitpicking about Rizz here?

Even Rinku Singh's stocks are sky high if you compare it with your beloved cricketer

It depends on the format.

In T20, players like Abhishek are needed. No doubt.

In ODI, Abhishek may not succeed on tricky surfaces. It is preferable to have a batter who can both play classically and slog when required.
Yes like Babar did yesterday on a trick batting track?

I didn't specify any name. :inti

I meant players like Aiden Markram, AB De Villiers, Hashim Amla, David Warner etc. These guys can play classically and also slog when required.

Time for Abhishek vs Babar thread, honestly I like Babar for long but the lad didn’t improve at all.

Not too sure yet for Abhishek but he does fit in the Indian setup.

Class is forever so I picked Big Bobby.

Abhishek Sharma has scored like 9 runs in 4 matches in IPL this year

Is the question really Babar vs Abishek or is it generally classical batter vs slogger? The whole argument seems to be for classical vs slogging but then these names have been specifically dropped. Only asking bc there are other classical batters who are much superior to Babar that I'd take over Abishek any day of the week.

That being said, w regards to these players, Abished in t20s and Babar in ODIs still. Babar has been horrendous in ODIs as of late but I don't think Abishek can tie his shoelaces just yet. Maybe later if he shows success and consistency, otherwise no sane and decently intelligent mind would pick him over Babar currently in the longer format. It's like choosing between Babar and SKY. SKY is greater t20 bat than any Pakistani in history, let alone Babar, but SKY has not had the best ODI career yet and I would still choose Babar over him. Even most Indians would.

Don't shoot Babar down just yet. He's flopped more often than not in the last year+ but he's still had performances recently in SA and in the first match vs NZ. He has it in him. Just needs to regain mental strength which PCB isn't allowing him to do by continuously playing him. He needs to sit down for a bit. He's still the best #3 in the country I don't care. And heads and shoulders above all other Pakistani bats barring Fakhar, Saim, and Agha.

The discussion also included Travis Head. An ideal batsman would be someone who can play both like Babar and Abhishek. Abhishek is just beginning so no point discussing him as of now. I would definitely pick Travis Head over Babar Azam in ODIs.

Is the question really Babar vs Abishek or is it generally classical batter vs slogger? The whole argument seems to be for classical vs slogging but then these names have been specifically dropped. Only asking bc there are other classical batters who are much superior to Babar that I'd take over Abishek any day of the week.

That being said, w regards to these players, Abished in t20s and Babar in ODIs still. Babar has been horrendous in ODIs as of late but I don't think Abishek can tie his shoelaces just yet. Maybe later if he shows success and consistency, otherwise no sane and decently intelligent mind would pick him over Babar currently in the longer format. It's like choosing between Babar and SKY. SKY is greater t20 bat than any Pakistani in history, let alone Babar, but SKY has not had the best ODI career yet and I would still choose Babar over him. Even most Indians would.

Don't shoot Babar down just yet. He's flopped more often than not in the last year+ but he's still had performances recently in SA and in the first match vs NZ. He has it in him. Just needs to regain mental strength which PCB isn't allowing him to do by continuously playing him. He needs to sit down for a bit. He's still the best #3 in the country I don't care. And heads and shoulders above all other Pakistani bats barring Fakhar, Saim, and Agha.
The OP was talking about how Babar and Rizwan are much more all round batters compared to Tulla Abhishek and Travis Head.

Abhishek is not like Pakistan tullebaaz. He has the all the shots but always Play risky cricket because Indian team bench strength allowed him. Abhishek is a match winner but babar is a stats paddlers at his Best.

Abhishek can win 3/4 game single Handley out of 10 but babar can't even win a single Game single Handley

Exactly what I wanted to say.... He is not the tullebaaz like Ifthikar , Asif Ali, Danish , Khusdhil , Hasan Nawaz...

He is someone of Yuvraj singh mould... Actually Yuvi has given India a replica of himself (#matchwinner)..

Once Rohit & Kohli retire ... India's top 3 will be Abhishek , Jaiswal and Gill (c) ...

Abhishek might even have a test career in home condtions just like Yuvi had..

On other hand Babar cant even win games of low totals and lose games against C grade and lower ranked teams left right and centre and even to associate teams...

Babar with his selfishness ruined his accolades too.. Had he put the team in the front and built a team that Mickey left , he would be one of the success stories today but he collapsed with the learnings from his seniors Misbah especially..

What learning ?? Misbah blocked the way for any good middle order who can play the modern day game , so that he continued his merry way of tuk tuk...and his stubborness was over the roof to adapt the modern day game.. Babar took the same route and never replaced the middle order that was left void after Hafeez, Haris Sohail and Malik was gone.. He looked at Ifthkar , Asif Ali, Danish, Nawaz and Khusdhil as his replacements and went downhill now , or otherwise he would have won atleast one major trophy or crown to speak about as a captain..

The OP was talking about how Babar and Rizwan are much more all round batters compared to Tulla Abhishek and Travis Head.
I don't know about the context behind this thread. To say that either Babar or Rizwan are superior to Travis in any way is absurd. But strictly with regards to the question in this thread, I will stick with my answer.

Babar has 2 away test centuries, Head has 0 in the den of the opposition. I also said Rizwan is a keeper and must be seen in that light...let's keep it in context and not derail here. Point is tullas on their day can be successful but any glorified slogger can tonk a few here and there. Naseem Shah did a great job last game...doesn't mean anything. People are undervaluing consistency and class here. Likes of Babar are pure.class. Abisekh is a pure tulla and unproven. When he can take on Steyn, Cummins, Bhumrah like Babar has done then we can talk....brilliant innings of 2(6) in latest IPL innings btw. His Hydrabad team would love to have Babar instead opening with Head.

In T20Is it is a no brainer. Babar will not feature in majority of the team's T20 XI's. Abhishek's 20's and 30's at a SR of close to 200 is much more beneficial in T20 format. Can't compare them in ODIs as Abhishek hasn't played any. Babar for now in ODI's. Babar should not be anywhere close to any T20 team including Pakistan's national side.

Babar has 2 away test centuries, Head has 0 in the den of the opposition. I also said Rizwan is a keeper and must be seen in that light...let's keep it in context and not derail here. Point is tullas on their day can be successful but any glorified slogger can tonk a few here and there. Naseem Shah did a great job last game...doesn't mean anything. People are undervaluing consistency and class here. Likes of Babar are pure.class. Abisekh is a pure tulla and unproven. When he can take on Steyn, Cummins, Bhumrah like Babar has done then we can talk....brilliant innings of 2(6) in latest IPL innings btw. His Hydrabad team would love to have Babar instead opening with Head.
We are talking T20s and Abhishek has done well there including against England's attack.

In T20I cricket today you need to have atleast 2 guys in top 6 who have mentality of an Abhishek to always look for boundaries and maximize SR.

Even the traditional anchor role is dead. Unless there is a very dire start (say 3 down by 3rd over) there is no excuse for rebuilding for more than a 5 over stretch. Within this also the anchor should be prepared to take on a favorable matchup and counter attack at earliest possibility.

You need an Abhishek/Nawaz type today for definite. And the gold standard for anchors is Faf du Plessis.

What Babar and Rizwan do has no place in T20I anymore.

Interns? He's a full fledged paid international t20 cricketer representing India 😭😭
Well we are talking about international white ball here. Abhishek’s sample size is too small, plus he hasn't even played a single ODI, hence has proved nothing.

Abhi is clearly a better t20 player then babar lol. It's not up for debate.

Bro why do you compare all formats when some people don't play all formats?

@topspin and @Rana were clearly discussing test when it came to Khawaja vs Babar yet you defelcted to odi? Khawaja never got odi games because he was competing with Warner, Finch and travis, even Travis had to wait till he was 30 to get a chance, aus talent pool is not the same as Pk talent pool.

Current Abhishek is a t20 cricketer, when he gets a chance in odi then we will see but for now I will take abhi over babar in t20 cricket. Pcb literally dropped bobby from t20 😭😭😭😭😭.

Khawaja never got odi games because he was competing with Warner, Finch and travis
Again an if and a but and a because.

I am a firm believer of facts and figures during debates. Khawaja v Babar discussion has already concluded with a heavy defeat for your buddies.

Back to this debate of Babar v Abhishek, this is not even a contest. Abhishek is an intern who specialises in T20s. Even in T20i his sample size is too small to conclude on his calibre.

Again an if and a but and a because.

I am a firm believer of facts and figures during debates. Khawaja v Babar discussion has already concluded with a heavy defeat for your buddies.

Back to this debate of Babar v Abhishek, this is not even a contest. Abhishek is an intern who specialises in T20s. Even in T20i his sample size is too small to conclude on his calibre.
You didn't defeat anyone at all. I read the entire debate and they clearly won. And I'm not saying that because I'm biased, Ask most people here who read that debate as well.

Your only argument was Babar has hit more sixes in international cricket even though he's played like 200 more games then Khawaja 🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Abhi in his 17 t20 games has a sr of 193, 2 t20 centuries and has torn a full strength England a new one.

I am not the biggest fan of Indian cricket as I believe some of their fans are annoying but Abhishek is clearly a better t20 batsmen. Even Travis Head rates him? Infact atm Abhishek is ahead of Travis head as a t20 batter.

Ofcourse head overall is superior due to experience, having faced tougher bowlers ans genuinely having a better all format technique and PlayStyle but Abhishek can compete qith Travis in terms of destructive play and they both respect each alot.

No one respects Babar 🤣

I won’t mind having both as openers. T20s is about how you utilise your resources and it will be down to coaches, captain and team management if they can exploit the best from both. Talent is there, question is how much can we bring out of them?

White ball cricket has two formats and they both need to have a different match. In ODI cricket, you should have a couple of players who can stay at the wicket for about 30-40 overs and play long innings so you should have a player like Babar Azam in your team while in T20s you may have all the hitters so in ODI cricket I would prefer to have Babar Azam and in T20 cricket I would prefer to go with Abhishek Sharma.

You didn't defeat anyone at all. I read the entire debate and they clearly won. And I'm not saying that because I'm biased, Ask most people here who read that debate as well.

Your only argument was Babar has hit more sixes in international cricket even though he's played like 200 more games then Khawaja 🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Abhi in his 17 t20 games has a sr of 193, 2 t20 centuries and has torn a full strength England a new one.

I am not the biggest fan of Indian cricket as I believe some of their fans are annoying but Abhishek is clearly a better t20 batsmen. Even Travis Head rates him? Infact atm Abhishek is ahead of Travis head as a t20 batter.

Ofcourse head overall is superior due to experience, having faced tougher bowlers ans genuinely having a better all format technique and PlayStyle but Abhishek can compete qith Travis in terms of destructive play and they both respect each alot.

No one respects Babar 🤣
Again all of a sudden who is a better white ball player between Babar & Abhishek has turned into who is a better T20 player between Babar & Abhishek :LOL:

You love changing the topic to whatever suits you.

Again all of a sudden who is a better white ball player between Babar & Abhishek has turned into who is a better T20 player between Babar & Abhishek :LOL:

You love changing the topic to whatever suits you.
How are we supposed to compare abhi and Babar in odi when Abhi has yet to play odi?

It's not India's fault that they have enough talent that abhi is considered a 4th choice possibly 5th choice since Sanju is another one for contention between rohit, Gill and Jaiswal.

Nor is it Australia's fault that Khawaja was their 4th choice amoung Travis, Warner and Finch.

Blame Pakistan for having their 2st choice at no 3 be Babar with their 2nd being Kamran Ghulam and their 3rd being Saud Shakeel 🤣🤣🤣🤣

There is no such thing as White Ball Cricket.

Odi and T20: two very different formats.
Don't quite agree with Sharma being labelled as a slogger. Better than that but i do see the bigger picture.

there is zero argument for Babar over Abhi in T20 cricket.

Similarly, there is zero argument for Abhi in odi cricket.

That is because Sharma is not good enough for the format as of today. I'd happily take Jason Roy over Babar in odi's.

Batsman with an Average of 40 and SR of 110 is far far more valuable to an odi side than one who goes at 55/88.

Even classical bats like Gill and Rachin are going at 60/100 and 45/110. The game has moved past Babar.

exactly!!!! Hence this is not even a contest.
So according to you, Babar is only better then Abhishek cause abhi hasn't made his debut 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Bad India, How dare such a country have extremely high standards and stiff competition. Poor abhi having big bad rohit, Jaiswal and Gill bully him out of a spot in the team.

India should learn from Pakistan, aka turn their country into a boy band club, easy access to no 3 and no 4. All Abhi has to say is Mein Khush Nahi hoon Rohit, Jaiswal aur Gill sei.

And I'm sure Bcci will oblige 🤦🏻🤦🏻. If PCB can do it for rizwan, I'm sure bcci will bend over for Abhishek.

So according to you, Babar is only better then Abhishek cause abhi hasn't made his debut 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Bad India, How dare such a country have extremely high standards and stiff competition. Poor abhi having big bad rohit, Jaiswal and Gill bully him out of a spot in the team.

India should learn from Pakistan, aka turn their country into a boy band club, easy access to no 3 and no 4. All Abhi has to say is Mein Khush Nahi hoon Rohit, Jaiswal aur Gill sei.

And I'm sure Bcci will oblige 🤦🏻🤦🏻. If PCB can do it for rizwan, I'm sure bcci will bend over for Abhishek.
Abhishek has not been given a chance in ODIs because he has a poor FC record. Check out his stats my friend

A bloke who cant even milk domestic bowlers will become a champion in ODIs? :ROFLMAO:

Abhishek has not been given a chance in ODIs because he has a poor FC record. Check out his stats my friend

A bloke who cant even milk domestic bowlers will become a champion in ODIs? :ROFLMAO:
3 Things, I never compared him in odi, you're the one obsessively comparing them.

1) Why would I compare them when one hasn't made his debut? Stop being a rat. You did this with Khawaja and Babar when it was clearly about tests and you're doing this with abhi and Babar.

2) Indian domestic is > Pakistani domestic. Their pitches are tougher and more prepared. Infact I would say their the 2nd best pitches after Australia for pace bowling and the best overall for spin bowling. Their domestic bowlers are > our domestic bowlers however they can't make it into the team due to stiff competition. Bumrah especially.

It's sad considering India was once the least talented fast bowling country in the world while Pakistan was ranked no 3 after wi and Aus.

3) Babar wouldn't ever make it into the Indian team either if his competition was Kohli who's a certified no 3, and the likes of Gill who can move to no 3 and bat in said position.

Sheryas, Kohli, Rohit, Gill, Jaiswal make it difficult for any player across the globe to play at 1 to 4. Top players like Travis, Root, Steve Smith would struggle. Smith would replace Kohli in test only, Travis would only replace Rohit based of Form in odi and based of conditions and that keeping in mind this is current rohit not prime rohit, but in test cricket Travis would replace Rohit yes.

Root wouldn't replace kohli in test but in odi they likely wouldn't replace em.

Babar is way way way way way below these guys and wouldn't make it into the side.

Someone like Abhishek easily walks into Pakistani side. Seriously who keeps him out? Babar and rizwan in t20 as openers 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Even in odi Abhishek would likely walk in to the team considering Abdullah and Imam are jokes and fakhar zaman is ageing hence he would bat alongside saim ayub

Ok here is the deal. This thread is about Babar vs Abhishek

You make a separate thread and add a poll “Does KPK have more talent than the rest of Pakistan?” and I shall respond on that thread.
Soch le bhai? You really want to become one of those shadows here who claimed Babar will hit 6x4 in a super over?

The discussion here involves white ball. Why are you ignoring ODIs from white ball? My days!!!
How can I prove Abhi is superior if he hasn't made his odi debut? That's like asking me who's better, Muhammad Rizwan or some future cricketer that was born in 2025 and will make his debut 20 years later.

How am I suppose to know?

Lmao...

From comparing him to the likes of Kohli, Smith , Root, Sachin etc now we finally have Bobzy za king being compared with Abhishek Sharma.

Tells you everything you need to know. :yk

How can I prove Abhi is superior if he hasn't made his odi debut? That's like asking me who's better, Muhammad Rizwan or some future cricketer that was born in 2025 and will make his debut 20 years later.

How am I suppose to know?
Exactly you are not supposed to know.

If you don’t know something, stop making claims about it 😇

As an indian fan, too early to put Abhishek or rate him.
I am not convinced about his ability to play quality spin, nor when the ball swings, dont mean that he is absolutely Zilch but come the match situation wherein the ball spins big or swings like headingly/hamilton am not convinced he has the footwork to prosper.
What he defo has is a quick eye, terrific hand speed and good back bend and release. maybe the other factors i named abouve will come with experience.

It depends which type of classical batsman.

And babar is not a classical batsman anyway. His technique isn’t the greatest, he’s rubbish vs spin, rubbish vs extreme pace and these days is getting done by medium pacers too.

If you’re going to make an argument, at least give some decent examples.

Eg Mohammad Yousuf as the classical batsman or Inzi or Kohli or Saeed Anwar, or David Gower, Dravid, Mark Waugh, Ponting or even YK. You would then analyse their attributes and maybe you would immediately exclude YK and Dravid.

But I mean Babar? - he’s probably the worst representative for a classical batsman that I can think of

It depends which type of classical batsman.

And babar is not a classical batsman anyway. His technique isn’t the greatest, he’s rubbish vs spin, rubbish vs extreme pace and these days is getting done by medium pacers too.

If you’re going to make an argument, at least give some decent examples.

Eg Mohammad Yousuf as the classical batsman or Inzi or Kohli or Saeed Anwar, or David Gower, Dravid, Mark Waugh, Ponting or even YK. You would then analyse their attributes and maybe you would immediately exclude YK and Dravid.

But I mean Babar? - he’s probably the worst representative for a classical batsman that I can think of
Dravid and YK are both examples of great test batters but their not classy, their kinda awkward in the same way Steve smith is.

Inzi isn't classy either, he's more of a muscle house. Same case with kohli, not very classy.

Classy would be Ponting, Yousaf, Saeed Anwar etc etc, aka elegant yet effective batters.

Inzi is more akin to Viv aka a brute powerhouse, Kohli is effective but he isn't elegant per say

Dravid and YK are both examples of great test batters but their not classy, their kinda awkward in the same way Steve smith is.

Inzi isn't classy either, he's more of a muscle house. Same case with kohli, not very classy.

Classy would be Ponting, Yousaf, Saeed Anwar etc etc, aka elegant yet effective batters.

Inzi is more akin to Viv aka a brute powerhouse, Kohli is effective but he isn't elegant per say
True I agree if you’re talking about elegance and stylish. Tbh I don’t even know if the op knows what question he’s asking here.

Is it classical batsman? What does that exactly mean? Is it someone who has a classical technique, or someone with an elegant style, someone that scores slow, or someone that just stat pads?

But personally out of your list, Dravid was pretty classical, he just held back on his shots