Yogi Adityanath gets legal notice ‘for calling Lord Hanuman a Dalit’

Madplayer

Senior Test Player
“Hanuman was a forest dweller, deprived and a Dalit," the Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister had told at a poll rally in Alwar.

A right-wing group in Rajasthan has sent a legal notice to Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath asking him to apologise within three days for allegedly calling Lord Hanuman a Dalit.

During a poll rally in Malakheda of Alwar district on Tuesday, Mr. Adityanath had said, “Hanuman was a forest dweller, deprived and a Dalit. Bajrang Bali worked to connect all Indian communities together, from north to south and east to west.”

“This was his resolve as it was Lord Ram’s wish. Just like him, we should also not rest till we fulfil that wish,” he added. He also said that the people of the district would vote for ‘Ram bhakts’ and not ‘Ravana.’

Rajasthan Sarv Brahmin Mahasabha president Suresh Mishra has now sent a notice to Mr. Adityanath, accusing him of dragging Lord Hanuman’s caste for political gain for the BJP in the State where Assembly polls will be held on December 7.

The notice reads, “I am saddened that UP chief minister called Lord Hanuman deprived. His statement has hurt religious sentiments of several devotees. Those who are deprived they get strength to fight the odds. It is a sheer attempt to take political mileage in election.”

Mr. Adityanath’s comments have triggered a political row prompting the Congress to blame the BJP for its “dual face”.

Congress leader Pramod Tiwari condemned the Mr. Adityanath’s remarks, saying the BJP divides individual and the society but it is for the first time that it has divided gods into castes.

Source : https://www.thehindu.com/elections/...lord-hanuman-a-dalit/article25620366.ece/amp/

Interesting.

Are the Gods all the same cast? I assume the 'highest'. Maybe if one or more was a Dalit, those people today would recieve better treatment.

Interesting.

Are the Gods all the same cast? I assume the 'highest'. Maybe if one or more was a Dalit, those people today would recieve better treatment.

Not sure really. But logic says that gods cannot be associated with any caste or at least the lower inferior castes. Hence the outrage.
What blows my mind is the fact that hindutva extremists dont even leave their spearheads like yogi if they say something controversial.

Not sure really. But logic says that gods cannot be associated with any caste or at least the lower inferior castes. Hence the outrage.
What blows my mind is the fact that hindutva extremists dont even leave their spearheads like yogi if they say something controversial.

Yogi Adityanath Ji is a social reformer and it is amazing the kind of courage and foresight he has shown in cleaning UP of its social evils. Hoping he would be the Prime Minister of India one day.

Why not

I don't see anything wrong in being a Dalit. Why does Adityanath feel the need to mention this?

Thats because they've not done anything in last 4.5 years apart from rioting and renaming places and hence raising such inane issues in their election campaigns.

LOL.

Weeks after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath kicked up a storm by branding Lord Hanuman as a Dalit, another BJP leader has come up with a different theory on the Hindu god's identity. Bukkal Nawab, a councillor with the ruling party in Uttar Pradesh, has said that Hanuman was actually a Muslim.

"Hanuman belonged to the entire world. He was loved by people of every religion, every sect, every community. But, as far as my beliefs go, he was a Muslim," news agency ANI quoted Mr Nawab as saying.

The politician's reason for arriving at this conclusion was equally curious. "I say Hanuman was a Muslim because the names of people in our religion, such as Rehman, Ramzan, Farman, Zishan and Qurban, rhyme with the god's," he said, before rattling off a few more Islamic names -- Imran, Furqan, Sultan and Sulaimaan -- to further buttress his claim.

This is not the first time the Uttar Pradesh politician has courted a controversy with his remarks. In 2017, while he was still a member of the opposition Samajwadi Party, the councillor spurred protests by saying that he will donate Rs 15 crore for constructing the Ram temple in Ayodhya.

The Uttar Pradesh chief minister was campaigning for the BJP in the run-up to the Rajasthan assembly elections in Alwar last month when he allegedly claimed that Hanuman was a "deprived Dalit" who lived in the mountains. Even as protests broke out, with cabinet colleague Om Prakash Rajbhar saying that it is "wrong to divide gods on the basis of caste" and a right-wing group coming up with a legal notice, Mr Adityanath attempted damage control by claiming that he had been misquoted by the media.

The controversy, however, refused to die down. A few weeks later, former BJP parliamentarian Savitri Bai Phule adopted a similar line on the issue. "Lord Hanuman was a Dalit and a slave of the manuwadi people. He was a Dalit and a human. When he gave his all for Lord Ram, then why he was given a tail and his face blackened? Why was he made a monkey?" she questioned, asserting that Dalits should also be considered human.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/now...man-was-a-muslim-1965694?pfrom=home-topscroll

I don't want to generalize or stereotype UP but seriously it needs to be divided into 4.

Interesting.

Hindu God's don't have caste.

Characters like Hanuman were Human-Ape, but mythology tells that they are incarnation of Lord Shiva.

The issue here is not that Hanuman was called Dalit, but he was called deprived.

If Hanuman were alive today, he would be considered as a Scheduled Tribal person and would fall under reservation Quota. Not just Hanuman, but the entire Vanar Rajya and Kishkinda members.

Yogi using Hnuman's name for garnering votes. Rightfully being called out by the Brahmin organization for dragging God's into politics. But hey, that is what BJP has been doing during their entire existence.

Very interesting. I had always assumed that Indian gods were venerated, I had no idea that even they had different castes and worth. So does that mean a high caste man or woman should shun the Hanuman statue, or avoid giving obeisance?

Gods have no caste. All 4 Castes are part of the Supreme God.

Most popular and virtuous men of various times were venerated as incarnation of Gods. Hence they are worshiped.

There is absolutely no point off these notices. Make away with them.

Yogi Adityanath will destruct the BJP from the inside - let it happen.

I get Modi being elevated to the top tier on the development and Gujarat plank. What leg does Yogi have to stand on? Just 4 years to go for the next UP election, and the BJP will be voted out and Yogi Nobody will hopefully go away.

Then again, we will have the Punch and Judy duo of Akhilesh and Mayawati up top.

Yogi Adityanath will destruct the BJP from the inside - let it happen.

I get Modi being elevated to the top tier on the development and Gujarat plank. What leg does Yogi have to stand on? Just 4 years to go for the next UP election, and the BJP will be voted out and Yogi Nobody will hopefully go away.

Then again, we will have the Punch and Judy duo of Akhilesh and Mayawati up top.

Mate, however bad the Akhil & Maya duo are, they are surely not as bad as Yogi and Modi. I will take a few more years of corruption as long as we can kick out the Bovine Bhakts.

This. Not only fake yogi is bloody communal but also doesn't have a single achievement as a MP. Wonder why Modi then made him CM of India's biggest state? That's because Modi is even more communal and anti development.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Lord Hanuman was a sportsperson, his caste shouldn’t be discussed: Ex-Indian cricketer Chetan Chauhan<a href="https://t.co/dqEjs0chMA">https://t.co/dqEjs0chMA</a> <a href="https://t.co/YiPtkjqt7y">pic.twitter.com/YiPtkjqt7y</a></p>— Hindustan Times (@htTweets) <a href="https://twitter.com/htTweets/status/1076764350717747200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Say what?

Now some dud is saying that Jatayu (a follower of Ram) was a Muslim, bhai kya nasha karte ho :D

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Lord Hanuman was a sportsperson, his caste shouldn’t be discussed: Ex-Indian cricketer Chetan Chauhan<a href="https://t.co/dqEjs0chMA">https://t.co/dqEjs0chMA</a> <a href="https://t.co/YiPtkjqt7y">pic.twitter.com/YiPtkjqt7y</a></p>— Hindustan Times (@htTweets) <a href="https://twitter.com/htTweets/status/1076764350717747200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Say what?

These are real hold my beer moments by BJP politicians. Next someone will claim Hanuman was a doctor since he helped save Lakshman's life.

Anyone making fun of or insulting Lord Hanuman, be it Indian or Pakistan, will not be spared.

Please consider it a gentle warning and respect that.

You can say whatever you like, but you cannot utter rubbish against one of the most revered and respected figures in hindu mythology.

There will never be anyone like Hanuman.

Actually Hanuman was a Christian.

Names like Sherman, Henman, Ackerman shows he is a White Christian.

Just when you think UP cannot sink any lower than this, they come up with something that will sink them even further. What kind of loonies and imbeciles live there?

And people vote for these loonies and imbeciles to power

Chetan Chauhan joined Congress now to spread his ignorance.
Did he? Isn't he a MP from Amroha, UP or was that in past?

In any case, he is a has been now in politics. Formed good opening partnership with Sunny but thats about it.