Yorkshire vs Pakistan A | 26-29 June, 2016 | Headingley | Match Thread

Great points - perfect; question is how?

I mean, when you play FC cricket for <250 overs, on wickets where 170 is a match winning target, & in December when after 4/5 hours cricket in a day, you can rest you bum; then how can batsmen grow the hunger to bat for 10 hours, or can back their technique to survive for 3 sessions? Every ball is a hand grenade - better is to adopt gung ho style - 38 ball 35 is a match winner, if 2/3 can put such scores.

There is a reason why out of 150 years history - almost 75% of greatest ever batsmen have come from only about 10 grounds - SCG, Adeliade, Oval, Headingley, Mumbai, Karachi, Colombo, Barbados, Guyana & Wonderers.

Kamon Acho?....:farhat

Very well said.

Aren't the Gadaffi and the Iqbal stadium (Faisalabad) flat as hell as well? Then people complain that there is no challenge on these grounds the reason they can not play swing/spin.

There is a fine line between "batting wicket" & "dead" wicket - which, those who complain are not competent enough to identify. Almost every PAK wicket is DEAD wicket - good for playing cricket, hockey & clay court tennis at one go. By making "flat batting wicket", PCB farmers means taking out grass & use brine (salt water) to kill the roots, so that it doesn't seem. Result is, in a D/N 50 overs game, despite heavy dew - difference between batting 1st & 2nd is a handicap of 100 runs.

For the 2nd part of my initial post - in 150 years, almost 70% of the greatest bowlers also have come from 7-8 grounds as well.

And, you have completely missed the match duration part. Do you know why PAK is absolutely single dimensional team? When you play FC matches for 250 overs, basically you can complete your quota (120 overs) by just 4 bowlers - your batsmen doesn't need to roll few overs. Result is top 6 absolute batsman, bottom 4 dreams of double digit average & a WK who goal keeps well. Ideally, your part-timers should be battin all rounders in Domestics & genuine all-rounders in club games; which means 25+ overs per FC matches for MoHa, Malik, Haris, Saud ......

When I used to follow cricket a bit more passionately, AUS Shield cricket was played for 420 overs - 105/day & County for 440 overs, while Ranji was often 5 Day affair - that's close to 500 overs. Now, in that scenario, Domestic FC Captains would need to ditch out 35 overs/day at least from the Steve/Mark Waughs, Bevans, Haydens, Martins, Symonds, Hodges, Laws, Lehmans, Clarkes, Hussies, Gangulies, Tendas, Jaddus, UVs ........ in PAK, YK or Azhar can bat for 2 hours & rest - 15 X 4 = 60 overs, enough for a day. There is indeed a reason, apart from spinners, why no PAK pacer survives back to back Test.

Current partnership 62 runs, 13.1 overs, RR: 4.70

Very valuable contribution by this pair, which we desperately need in out Test team. Specially Hassan Ali is making a difference and shows how crucial it is for your bowlers to make contribution with bat.

Fakhar Zaman is promising. We should give more A matches in LOI and tests.
Who is Umar Siddiq?

Someone once having 50+ average in FC for 2K+ runs (still 2.3K @ 48) & almost 1K List A runs, also at 50+ average - statistically, you can say that he has more potential than say Sangakara.

Who is Umar Siddiq?

I think Umar Siddiq plays for UBL...He has a great FC record but last year against Sri Lanka A he did not do so well and today also he got out on a duck.

I love these late order crucial partnerships. Something we have lacked over the years.

Someone once having 50+ average in FC for 2K+ runs (still 2.3K @ 48) & almost 1K List A runs, also at 50+ average - statistically, you can say that he has more potential than say Sangakara.

He used to play for a regional team IIRC...ever since he has shifted to a departmental team his performance has not been as good as before.

Amir Yamin or amad button should have been picked. Playing Nawaz as an all rounder in such conditions is nothing short of stupidity. Pcb made a huge mistake by appointing basit Ali.

Exactly!!! Basit Ali himself as a controversial person. He still milking the story of match fixing scandal and blackmailing PCB to get job. I saw his conversation with dr. Shahib in PTV sports and he was boasting that if he could fix Hafeez's short coming with Steyn's bowling. Such a fake person.

I am sure during PSL i said Hasan Ali can bat and he can bat better than Annu, Bilawal, Sohail e.t.c and should be tried.

Glad he is doing good both with bat and ball. And excellent performance from Hassan Khan

This guy in pakistan cuo was batting in very awful manner here is close to 100

Just saw the score card and here is what i could gather.

- Sharjeel Khan failed as expected. The guy does not has the technique to play cricket properly.

- Gritty innings by Jahid.

- And Mohammad Hassan, wow, who is he? His stats in List A and First class dont paint a pretty picture though, sadly.

Guy hassan ali should be the opening bolwer along amir in odis as a very good bolwer and one who can hold bat plus he is young and can learn a lot

Haan bhai haters.. kidhar ho saray??????

Pakistan just took a lead of nearly 100..

Where are all the lulloos who were claiming that Yorkshire will blow away this Pak side? Ab kyun nahi bol rahay?

Lol I doubt anyone said that Yorkshire will blow us away

And let's be clear about one thing. This is not a good performance. We are essentially playing a Yorkshire second/third string and found ourselves in the midst of a collapse. Our batsmen again flopped big time and these occasions are for your young and upcoming batsman to perform. Our lower order bailed us but this shouldn't mask the failings

Easy Syed yaar, firstly look at this Yorkshire bowling attack. They are all kids barely out of school and are 2nd XI players with barely a handful of 1st XI appearances to their name.

If Yorkshire were playing at full strength, with Root, Bairstow, Gale, Willey etc then they would be stronger than Pak A.

Don't think anyone said that Yorkshires near 3rd XI (more or less, give or take) would blow this side away.

In a normal world, county teams shouldnt be beating Pakistan's regular or A team but our team lost to village team in NZ so this is definitely a pleasant surprise. :)

Man can't believe these are our boys[emoji43][emoji43][emoji43]

Runs scored by tail are gold in these conditions...100+ lead [emoji15][emoji15][emoji15]

I like the development of Hasan Ali, he can be great in near future...

Also, people complaining about Sharjeel, he can be so important in Australia where bowl does not move side ways, you need opener like him... He has pull and cut which others don't, most important way to score in Australia or SA... No way I want to write him off, rather invest in him...

I wouldn't look too much into first outing but if batsmen keep failing to score big we might have a problem. At least pitch is not a green track like most people were saying.

Easy Syed yaar, firstly look at this Yorkshire bowling attack. They are all kids barely out of school and are 2nd XI players with barely a handful of 1st XI appearances to their name.

If Yorkshire were playing at full strength, with Root, Bairstow, Gale, Willey etc then they would be stronger than Pak A.

Agreed

However, Root and company are established international cricketers, same cannot be said for nearly all of the Pakistan A side (except for Babar Azam) so it is quite unfair to expect a team of domestic cricketers from Pakistan to overhaul international stars from England.

And let's be clear about one thing. This is not a good performance. We are essentially playing a Yorkshire second/third string and found ourselves in the midst of a collapse. Our batsmen again flopped big time and these occasions are for your young and upcoming batsman to perform. Our lower order bailed us but this shouldn't mask the failings

This is really just a warm up game for these guys as its only been 4/5 days since they arrived in the UK. Unreasonable to expect the batsmen to hit form straight away in alien conditions.

It is a good performance in the context that these lads just landed in England three four days ago and for most of them this is their first match in these conditions. Yes, the collapse occurred, but that is nothing new for a Pakistani side. Even our best ever batting lineups suffered from chronic collapses.

This is really just a warm up game for these guys as its only been 4/5 days since they arrived in the UK. Unreasonable to expect the batsmen to hit form straight away in alien conditions.

Same goes for the Yorkshire guys who got off school and started summer vacations 4/5 days ago :))

If Yorkshire could put out their strongest possible XI this season then I think the Pakistan team themselves would find it an uphill task, something like :

Lees
Lyth
Williamson
Root
Ballance
Bairstow
Bresnan
Rashid
Willey/Patterson
Plunkett
Sidebottom

I've seen this Hasan block bat and he didn't seem all that in the Pakistan Cup, but kudos to him for gritting it out and nearing a century.

If Yorkshire could put out their strongest possible XI this season then I think the Pakistan team themselves would find it an uphill task, something like :

Lees
Lyth
Williamson
Root
Ballance
Bairstow
Bresnan
Rashid
Willey/Patterson
Plunkett
Sidebottom

9 or 10 off them are test match players, you expect a Pakistan A side with domestic players to overhaul a test side?

Didn't say I did, and referred to the the Pakistan team themselves (as in the full side) would be having an uphill struggle.

Depends where the match will be played. In England then a full strength Yorkshire side will be favorites but in Pakistan/UAE it would be no contest at all..

Last 10 overs only yielded 13 on RR 1.30. I don't understand the reason for killing the momentum. WHY?

Why aren't the first XI playing ?

This is a frickin warm up game that you're supposed to play to get acclimatised with the conditions.

Yamin
Hassan Ali

These two players have real potential.

Please kick out the imposters like Nawaz, BHATTI and Anwar Ali.

Yamin
Hassan Ali

These two players have real potential.

Please kick out the imposters like Nawaz, BHATTI and Anwar Ali.

Nawaz, Bhatti, Anwar Ali, they should be no where A team, but our bad luck we often see them in our national team :(

Still am mad at Inzi when he said we will consider an AR if we found some Razzler or Azhar Mahmood :facepalm:

It seems there is no concept of making, polishing a player and we want to take a ready made God gifted player. Some times to you need to build players.

Nawaz, Bhatti, Anwar Ali, they should be no where A team, but our bad luck we often see them in our national team :(

Still am mad at Inzi when he said we will consider an AR if we found some Razzler or Azhar Mahmood :facepalm:

It seems there is no concept of making, polishing a player and we want to take a ready made God gifted player. Some times to you need to build players.

It's been a mix of good n bad selections. But I'm not really happy overall.

Im happy with the main team though barring a few

There wasn't much room for experimenation in the national side and all the spots were pretty much guaranteed/predictable.

But the addition of Sohail, exclusion of Ehsan were really good choices. Overall good selection there.

Nice performance by Pakistan A team against Yorkshire.
Although Yorkshire team has no test players and all the players which are playing are not experienced. But some players from Pakistan A team played brilliantly like M Hassan, Mir Hamza & Hassan Ali.
M Nawaz & Bilawal Bhatti did not perform well
There was a collapse of batting but tail enders scored well with wicket-keeper batsman M Hassan

Disappointing stuff from the top and middle order against very inexperience Yorks hire attack. Good innings by hassan though.

Mohammad Hasan what a find! he is going to be our Ben Stokes Inshallah!

After our outings in NZ where some club medium pacer made Team Man his bunny and we lost warm-ups to a club side, I am quite pleased at these developments. Well done to the Hasans, solid performance overall barring some wobbles by the batting (expected).

No need to get too excited, it's virtually Yorkshire's 2nd XI.

And what about our XI?

Our lads barely have any international experience but of course you won't consider that.

I think roughly 3 of our boys have a bit of international experience and even then, only Bhatti has played Tests (that too only a couple).

I'm happy we got dismissed early in the morning.

More time to see how our bowlers go again.

Test batting line-up is settled anyway, Mohammad Hasan has 0 chance of being called up in the near future, and our tail's batting wasn't going to prove much.

Good recovery. It's the first game for them remember and the idea is for this to be a learning experience.

I'd expect a lot of improvement as they play more.

I'm happy we got dismissed early in the morning.

More time to see how our bowlers go again.

Test batting line-up is settled anyway, Mohammad Hasan has 0 chance of being called up in the near future, and our tail's batting wasn't going to prove much.

Bhai, sohna nahi?

I think one of these Yorkshire bowlers goes to my cousin's college.

Established county players from this Yorkshire team are
Alex lees
Will Rhodes
Jack leaning
Azeem Rafiq

Even Ben coad and Jordan Shaw played last week for Yorkshire first team against Durham.

Rain stops play, I wouldn't be surprised if this continued all day. I'm sat a few miles from the ground and there's a lot of clouds.