You made the laziest century in the history of cricket, and play for yourself: Journo to Babar Azam

Instead of asking me silly questions, that I've actually already answered, I'd suggest you watch how top athletes from others sports deal with insulting question like that.

Tell me then how top athletes respond.

I'm not here to educate you. YouTube is filled with pressers from around the globe.

Also, not sure if you were present at that time, but no journalist could get away with such an act in the 90s as those guys knew how to deal with such people. Oh, and by deal, I don't mean standing up and punching the journalist :)

I'm not here to educate you. YouTube is filled with pressers from around the globe.

Also, not sure if you were present at that time, but no journalist could get away with such an act in the 90s as those guys knew how to deal with such people. Oh, and by deal, I don't mean standing up and punching the journalist :)

The team's on a 11 match losing streak. Showing attitude to the press isn't the right way to go. It should be obvious by now.

That does not mean you sit there and cop humiliation and try to justify your innings as if you owe it to the journalist.

As I said, under no circumstances can you let people to berate you like that.

He doesn't have to abuse but can always put these journos in their place while being civil.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">RIP Journalism:<br><br>Babar Azam:<br>112 off 108 balls<br>Strike Rate 103<br><br>10 other Pakistani batsmen:<br>147/9 off 179 balls<br>Strike Rate 82<br><br>Journalist to Babar Azam "You made the laziest century in the history of cricket, and play for yourself"<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakvAFG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakvAFG</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CWC19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CWC19</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1132250857192513539?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 25, 2019</a></blockquote>

You guys should be doing something to protect our players. Please MIG bhai

I was there in the presser. I nearly fell out of my seat when this was asked.

Afterwards the journalist asked me if his question was good, I said it was excellent :)

What. Saj Bhai, khudda Ka khauf Karo Yaar, you should have ripped him a new one!

Babar is a good batsman, not a match winner. When he scores a 100, it ensures we get to 250. This was good in 1990s but on these pitches, any score below 310 is easy.
Babar needs to realise he needs big hitting.

Oh my goodness me. You can have one guy AVG 52 and SR 85 and score 320+ as a team. Do u know this.
If u don't go and look at roots stats!! And then Englands totals.
To think babar is holding this team back is low cricket IQ

His century in the Eng ODI series costed Pak 30-50 runs. It took him 6-8 overs to get over the line. PP wanted his blood for slowing down and now they are bashing the journalist. Commies in the match noticed Babar slowed down.

Instead of asking me silly questions, that I've actually already answered, I'd suggest you watch how top athletes from others sports deal with insulting question like that.

Well this isn’t nba my guy where Russell Westbrook goes off at the media we’re already playing like crap we don’t need any more b s

I dont want to blame Babar today.

But something is clearly wrong that every match Pakistan has a centurion or close to it and still they are losing again and again.

This point needs to be further looked at.

You are right! It does need to be looked at. I am pretty confident though that the problem is not with Babar or the top order.
My opinion is that the problem has two facets to it.

One is that or middle lower order is failing us. The top order gets us to the last 10-15 overs with 5/6 wickets in hand. But it’s not their job necessarily to always take us to end of innings. You need players who can come in and power hit us from 200 odd to 350 and beyond in 10-15 overs.

And we are not doing it. We don’t have players who have been able to do that in the England series. Faheem, Sarfaraz and imad were the guys we had identified. Faheem failed and is gone. Imad has been found out and Sarfaraz isn’t the sort of guy who can do that.

2nd ... even if we are falling 20-50, runs short of the desired target as in the England series, our bowlers are not good enough to defend it.

So the reasons and solutions are sometimes not as simple as stating that Imam, Babar, Harris etc have poor SR, they are selfish, etc, etc. in a cricketing sense ..
They are doing their jobs. Some other people are failing. If one out of Imam, Fakhar, Babar and Harris always bat till the end and score a daddy hundred like 150+ to kia hi baat hai, lekan phir Baaki saarey kia sirf Khana puri keliey aye hein? Unka bhi to koi role or responsibility hai!

With criticism like this, we are putting undue pressure on the top 3-4 who are probably performing the best in Pakistan ODI history since the days of Anwar and Sohail.

His century in the Eng ODI series costed Pak 30-50 runs. It took him 6-8 overs to get over the line. PP wanted his blood for slowing down and now they are bashing the journalist. Commies in the match noticed Babar slowed down.

Babar did slow down, it has been said enough times that he plays for milestones, it isn't new information. The team management also know this, but they pick him at no 3 to give us a good base in the top order. The idea is that the middle order will provide the fireworks to boost the score into a winning one, but the middle order has failed categorically to do this for a long time now. If we had a fast scoring batsman who we could play at no 3 I am sure we would pick them instead.

You are right! It does need to be looked at. I am pretty confident though that the problem is not with Babar or the top order.
My opinion is that the problem has two facets to it.

One is that or middle lower order is failing us. The top order gets us to the last 10-15 overs with 5/6 wickets in hand. But it’s not their job necessarily to always take us to end of innings. You need players who can come in and power hit us from 200 odd to 350 and beyond in 10-15 overs.

And we are not doing it. We don’t have players who have been able to do that in the England series. Faheem, Sarfaraz and imad were the guys we had identified. Faheem failed and is gone. Imad has been found out and Sarfaraz isn’t the sort of guy who can do that.

2nd ... even if we are falling 20-50, runs short of the desired target as in the England series, our bowlers are not good enough to defend it.

So the reasons and solutions are sometimes not as simple as stating that Imam, Babar, Harris etc have poor SR, they are selfish, etc, etc. in a cricketing sense ..
They are doing their jobs. Some other people are failing. If one out of Imam, Fakhar, Babar and Harris always bat till the end and score a daddy hundred like 150+ to kia hi baat hai, lekan phir Baaki saarey kia sirf Khana puri keliey aye hein? Unka bhi to koi role or responsibility hai!

With criticism like this, we are putting undue pressure on the top 3-4 who are probably performing the best in Pakistan ODI history since the days of Anwar and Sohail.

Very well said, I made the same point about middle order failure in the post above. A far bigger problem than a guy who scores a run a ball century in the top order is the reliance on players like Imad, Faheem and Sarfraz to provide the big hitting down the order. They are quite clearly not equipped to play those sort of innings.

End of the day the problem is that our team historically fought back with strong bowling.. scored below par? That’s fine.. our bowlers are confident they can defend it. Now we have lost that mojo, and in our desperation we are blaming our batsmen. There was a time in ODIs, when we had players like Anwar, miandad, Sohail, Ijaz, inzi, etc and we would still fail to put a decent ODI score and would quite often suffer collapses. Now our batting is far more consistent.

Also what we seem to be ignoring is that the players who have been picked in the side for their hard hitting prowess have generally failed due to their lack of technique which is found out at top level. Think of Sohaib Maqsood and Shazaib in recent history. Even Fakhar who is still our great big hitting hope has so many technical flaws you fear he will give his wicket in the first 5 overs more often than not. The one exception was Sharjeel Khan and he sold his shirt to the fixers.

Our angst is misguided and misplaced. If our bowlers start performing at even 75 percent of our historical bowling performances, we will start winning. Any score upwards of 300 should be a winning score with our strong bowling. Sure we could use some late order hitting and those additional 30-50 runs. Who wouldn’t? But let’s not that take the focus away from our shockingly below par bowling performances so far.

We need early wickets.. desperately!

You guys should be doing something to protect our players. Please MIG bhai

Press conferences are open to all media. Anything can happen really.

Big ICC tournaments usually see some weird and wonderful journos appear.

Press conferences are open to all media. Anything can happen really.

Big ICC tournaments usually see some weird and wonderful journos appear.

If not talk to the journos , at least talk to the player in passing , to say ,"crap question, very good answer" so at least it doesn't play on Babars mind

For those who want to know the name of this awful journalist is Abrar Qureshi. On his Twitter he put up the same video and if check the commenting he’s getting a fair share of criticism and abuse - rightly so!

Since he was so keen to show the world how pathetic his journalism is on social media, perhaps this was all done for views.

I have to actually give Babar a lot of credit for the way he responded. If this was Imam he would have gotten agitated and started quoting his average and strike rate. The media should be ashamed, Babar was and has been one of the few positives for Pakistan in the last few years yet they are talking like this to him.

Those journalist that come out with those statements are paid stooges. I wonder why they targeting Babar, Wasim Akram in commentary also did...

Not all.

Some are just too hyped up and excited.

The guy who asked Babar this question shoved his microphone in my face a few days ago and started asking me questions even though he had not asked me whether I wanted to be interviewed.

I just walked away.

Don't worry about this guy, his whole argument is Babar should have a personality however what he actually wants is Babar to copy what other athletes do and pretend to be someone else rather than having his own personality.

Other athletes from so called other top sport should follow Babar, why should Babar follow anyone else? This dude has serious inferiority complex it seems, Babar handled good and other athletes should learn from him rather than him learning from others.