4 match means he cant play the 2 odis and 2 t20s? Or is it 4 match ODI ban?
I can't believe Pakistani PP members are turning against their skipper.
There was no need for a ban in the first place as their was no racist intend behind it and when SA players, their captain and Phulekwayo himself forgave him and no hopla was made by SA people.
Should have been bannee for 6 months, fact PCB took no action is pretty shameful.
Extremely harsh, I don't think it was deliberate. A better example would have been to cut a certain % of his match fees and donate it to a SA based anti racism NGO. And a nice scolding by PCB/ICC with some counseling/workshop to educate the offender. I have seen many cricketers use sledges that demean female family members of other players. If Sarfaraz can be charged with racism, shouldn't other players be charged with sexism? How is one acceptable and the other not? Racism and ill treatment of women both are equally big problems and ICC shouldn't turn its back on either of them. I can't believe Pakistani PP members are turning against their skipper.
I have to agree with this post, and I am no Sarfraz fan. This is extremely disproportionate because "black man" is not a racist term, in fact, in English, it is a descriptive term. What beyond that could have been considered racist exactly?
In fact, there have been far worse taunts, how about Clarke threatening to break James Anderson's arm? That is a physical threat, what was his ban again?
However, it does allow us to get a look at Rizwan so not bad.
It has bern mentioned here quite a lot of times but "oye kaale" is as bad as the N word. Only a desi will understand how racist this is.
Kid lets not make up things now. Can we?
I am as Desi as you can have here on pp.
Kaale/Kaala is not a racist unless it is intended to degrade someone and this term is used in daily life frequently in Pakistan.
We have commercial ads "kaala shaa kaala", in movies used as "Oo Kaaliya bara sohniya lag rha ay", in songs "sanwali sanowli si mehbooba", the great WI team was called "Kaali Aandhi" in the 80s and even till now by almost every one and in daily life the term used for Africans is also Kaala and Westerners as Goora. And rarely such terms are used to degrade someone.
Your Sarfraz hatred has made you blind and deaf it seems.
Yes guys all the deniers here are experts on racism. Last time a racist accepted that they are racist? NEVER
You can be prejudiced without even knowing it. “Hey *******” is negative knowing what people of darker complexion have had to go through and just not on. Why didn’t he just use his name?
Those defending his actions need a good look at themselves...really good luck
If you are so desi you should then know that calling someone kaala is an insult and used very regularly to demean them. I m certain Sarfraz has been called that himself at some point in his life to demean him because of his skin tone.
There is a difference he didnt call him that on his face to demean him otherwise he would have said this in English to taunt him. The player never noticed him.
Clearly you have missed the point. We are talking about this term being used. I didnt like it too but it was never intended as racist in my view.
But I heard it, kids around Pakistan heard it. Dude what’s the thinking here? That it’s only wrong if you are caught? Wrong mindset. Instead of correcting the wrong let’s continue to find excuses.
I heard it live and it sunk my heart. It was embarrassing.
There is a difference he didnt call him that on his face to demean him otherwise he would have said this in English to taunt him. The player never noticed him.
Clearly you have missed the point. We are talking about this term being used. I didnt like it too but it was never intended as racist in my view.
LMAO so you can say racist remarks as long as other player don't understand. Cool logic.
It has bern mentioned here quite a lot of times but "oye kaale" is as bad as the N word . Only a desi will understand how racist this is.
He was murmuring that to himself in more of frustration and kind of talking with his teammates. Like we all did while playing cricket in Pakistan "Abey out ho ja aj kia khaa k aya hai atak he gya wicket pr" and similar things. Clearly not talking with the player otherwise why can he not spoke just 3 English words directed at the player.
But hey whats there to argue with you when you already said the word "kaale" is as bad as "N" word in Pakistan and any Desi knows it. Heights of making up things just in hatred. Yeh maybe in some parallel Pakistan but clearly not the existing Pakistan.
Please look up the definition of sexism.
) You keep getting funnier with your list of excuses. Please watch the video how Sarfraz clearly targets him. He was not talking to himself. "Oye" is referred in Urdu/Punjabi only when you are talking to other person directly. I doubt you were raised in Pakistan otherwise you would not be making such funny excuses.
Read ICC code of conduct. It is clear about racism. You can't refer to a player by skin color. I don't think it's that hard to grasp. While abuses you mention I don't think falls under any code of conduct.
Clearly you dint watch the video as he never said "oye". He said "Abey" but i think you never heard that word before. Not me it seems you have never lived in Pakistan.
Sarfraz is from Karachi where "Abey" word is used commonly. And i gave you an example too that many of us have used it as sign of frustration for example "Abey out ho ja" doesnt mean we are asking the player to get out rather showing frustration. Baat krtay ho aur Urdu aati nahi. Lmao!
Abbey/oye are virtually same words.
Lol yeah. Says the guy who thinks calling someone abbey kaale is no big deal. Yeah. Goodluck calling some random guy like that.No they are not. Once again you are showing your lack of understanding in using Urdu words.
Oye is majorly used to refer someone while Abey has multiple meanings. Ask anyone from Karachi and they must have seen someone using the phrase "Abeyy yaarrrr" with reference to themselves or in frustration but you will never see someone saying "Oye yar" as self reference.
Serious advice: Go out, travel more, explore Pakistan more, meet people from different areas and different backgrounds that will expand your understanding about Pakistani culture.
Lol yeah. Says the guy who thinks calling someone abbey kaale is no big deal. Yeah. Goodluck calling some random guy like that.
Lol nicely shifted the discussion again when you had no answer. I clearly explained above multiple times and in different threads in what reference he used that to a player who doesn't understand Urdu. And how its pathetic for me personally to use such a term especially while you are representing your nation and not playing in your street but clearly not racism. But in your hatred you have become blind and deaf and the discussion started when you started making things up.
Btw work on my advice it will help you![]()
Then ICC should change its code of conduct to fit in more offensive words. Do you know some of the sledges that go around in the field? Much worse than skin color, do the translation of the Hindi/Urdu abuses that are so common.
Abuses cannot be worse than skin color as abuses are not used to single out a race, religion, etc. Racism has a whole history of oppression behind it while plain abuses do not. There is a reason almost every single government and private companies including the one where you work will have a clause against racism but not against abuses
I want you to answer one question honestly. In Western world making fun of religion is ok. Would it be ok for you if you find out an international player was using their own language to mock the religion of a Pak player? How would you react? Will it be ok because it's ok in their culture and language? Would it be ok because Pak players do not understand their language?
If harbhajan can get away scot free, pakistanis shoukd feel slighted. At least he apologized while Harbhajan changed the whole story.
Regardless, i think its fair..
If he was going to murmur to himself, why not just turn around and murmur as he walks back to his position, instead he looks at phehklewayo who’s at the non strikers end, and screams like a fool.
And, if he really was murmuring, it wouldn’t have been picked up on the mic.