Your thoughts on the 4-match ban for Sarfaraz Ahmed?

• Poll closed .

Saj

Sarfaraz has been given a 4-match ban for breaching the ICC Anti-Racism code.

What are your thoughts on the ban, is it tough on him, too soft or just right?

Too lenient for the action. Ban him for 6 months or 10 matches and go through some counseling after that for 2 months. How about Mani who didn't do his job should be warned as well

I think the punishment is adequate but it's PCB which should have implemented it. It's clear PCB were told last moment when Malik had to step in. Imagine the opposition captain telling about the number of match ban. Makes PCB look weak. If it was BCCI or ECB or Australian board ICC would have left it on them

For Pakistan's sake, it should have been a 40 match ban. In all seriousness, racism is one of the gravest crimes besides match, spot fixing, cheating in sports, should have been 10 match/6 month ban.

I think it's just right. It was very stupid of him to say it, don't get me wrong, but it wasn't his intention to be deliberately racist to him, hence he said it in Urdu, and it's not like he called him the N word or anything. I do hope the PCB take action as well though as this shouldn't tolerated regardless

Interesting what David Richardson has said - it seems it could have been more if Sarfaraz had not already said sorry.

Just right, harsh in my opinion given this specific case but a precedent needed to be set, so fair enough

Think 8 matches would have sent a strong message. Whilst the ICC are dishing out a programme of re-education to Sarfraz might as well send the whole squad there

Extremely harsh, I don't think it was deliberate. A better example would have been to cut a certain % of his match fees and donate it to a SA based anti racism NGO. And a nice scolding by PCB/ICC with some counseling/workshop to educate the offender. I have seen many cricketers use sledges that demean female family members of other players. If Sarfaraz can be charged with racism, shouldn't other players be charged with sexism? How is one acceptable and the other not? Racism and ill treatment of women both are equally big problems and ICC shouldn't turn its back on either of them. I can't believe Pakistani PP members are turning against their skipper.

There was no need for a ban in the first place as their was no racist intend behind it and when SA players, their captain and Phulekwayo himself forgave him and no hopla was made by SA people.

But for Sarfraz's own good its not bad as this will make him to learn to shut his mouth when he is representing Pakistan not his street or mohalla team. 1/2 matches should have been the maximum ban. So a lil harsh.

PCB I dont know what to say about them, only thing i will say, when are they going to be Professional in dealing with internal matters such as Safraz ones.

Regarding Sarfraz i believe he didnt say with intention to send racist remarks, it happened as he was saying in his own language, but problem was the education factor, he wanted to sledge, but he couldn’t say in English, had he knew how to say and how to sledge with staying in your limits, he would have never be in this position. Sarfraz said it South Africa now that is a issue, and saying loudly and as we know how loud he is infront of a 🎤 was a stupidity.

Ban is justified but not coming from PCB is the highlight here. Absolutely unacceptable from PCB.

Sarfraz is the Captain of National Team, pretty disappointed with his behaviour, I like him as a Captain, he has done well as a CAP unfortunately it will have a dark chapter in his career. Lets hope Team play well in the remaining games.

I can't believe Pakistani PP members are turning against their skipper.

Pakistanis who speak Urdu with their family and friends and in daily life but still calling for 10 matches, 6 months etc ban have stoop to new lows in all this episode just because of their dislike for Sarfraz as a player.

Some were even calling for a life ban and stripping him from captaincy Lmao! Just to settle personal scores. And now they saw a great opportunity. Pathetic linking this event to Sarfraz's performance.

And the funniest part is some of these posters usually insult Sarfraz on a daily basis and have called him midget, hobbit and 'totla' (who cant speak properly) in the past and now behaving as Holy cows.

Should have been bannee for 6 months, fact PCB took no action is pretty shameful.

6 months ban would have been ideal. He is lucky to be escaped with few matches ban after his ignorant remarks.

There was no need for a ban in the first place as their was no racist intend behind it and when SA players, their captain and Phulekwayo himself forgave him and no hopla was made by SA people.

The intent was to call him kaala based on skin color which is 100% racist. Just because sub continent people indulge in casual racism doesn't make it any less racist.

Should have been bannee for 6 months, fact PCB took no action is pretty shameful.

Mate, Sarfraz is the only decent Captain you have, its the PCB fault and not having a competitive and strong Domestic structure to produce quality cricketers has affected Pak cricketers over the years and will do so, unless khan saab do something about it.

4 matches is ok.

now though the PCB should follow the example and back the ICC with theyre own 8 match ban.
points of note for me

1. the incidet
2. denial
3. timming of apology (next day)

An ICC release said that Sarfraz will also have to attend "an education programme to promote the understanding and awareness of issues directly relevant to the offence that he has committed"

Extremely harsh, I don't think it was deliberate. A better example would have been to cut a certain % of his match fees and donate it to a SA based anti racism NGO. And a nice scolding by PCB/ICC with some counseling/workshop to educate the offender. I have seen many cricketers use sledges that demean female family members of other players. If Sarfaraz can be charged with racism, shouldn't other players be charged with sexism? How is one acceptable and the other not? Racism and ill treatment of women both are equally big problems and ICC shouldn't turn its back on either of them. I can't believe Pakistani PP members are turning against their skipper.

Read ICC code of conduct. It is clear about racism. You can't refer to a player by skin color. I don't think it's that hard to grasp. While abuses you mention I don't think falls under any code of conduct.

I have to agree with this post, and I am no Sarfraz fan. This is extremely disproportionate because "black man" is not a racist term, in fact, in English, it is a descriptive term. What beyond that could have been considered racist exactly?

In fact, there have been far worse taunts, how about Clarke threatening to break James Anderson's arm? That is a physical threat, what was his ban again?

However, it does allow us to get a look at Rizwan so not bad.

I have to agree with this post, and I am no Sarfraz fan. This is extremely disproportionate because "black man" is not a racist term, in fact, in English, it is a descriptive term. What beyond that could have been considered racist exactly?

In fact, there have been far worse taunts, how about Clarke threatening to break James Anderson's arm? That is a physical threat, what was his ban again?

However, it does allow us to get a look at Rizwan so not bad.

It has bern mentioned here quite a lot of times but "oye kaale" is as bad as the N word . Only a desi will understand how racist this is.

It has bern mentioned here quite a lot of times but "oye kaale" is as bad as the N word. Only a desi will understand how racist this is.

Kid lets not make up things now. Can we?

I am as Desi as you can have here on pp.

Kaale/Kaala is not a racist unless it is intended to degrade someone and this term is used in daily life frequently in Pakistan.

We have commercial ads "kaala shaa kaala", in movies used as "Oo Kaaliya bara sohniya lag rha ay", in songs "sanwali sanowli si mehbooba", the great WI team was called "Kaali Aandhi" in the 80s and even till now by almost every one and in daily life the term used for Africans is also Kaala and Westerners as Goora. And rarely such terms are used to degrade someone.

Your Sarfraz hatred has made you blind and deaf it seems.

Yes guys all the deniers here are experts on racism. Last time a racist accepted that they are racist? NEVER

You can be prejudiced without even knowing it. “Hey blackie” is negative knowing what people of darker complexion have had to go through and just not on. Why didn’t he just use his name?

Those defending his actions need a good look at themselves...really good luck

Well deserved.

But unnecessary hate or abuse towards Sarfraz is uncalled for.

Kid lets not make up things now. Can we?

I am as Desi as you can have here on pp.

Kaale/Kaala is not a racist unless it is intended to degrade someone and this term is used in daily life frequently in Pakistan.

We have commercial ads "kaala shaa kaala", in movies used as "Oo Kaaliya bara sohniya lag rha ay", in songs "sanwali sanowli si mehbooba", the great WI team was called "Kaali Aandhi" in the 80s and even till now by almost every one and in daily life the term used for Africans is also Kaala and Westerners as Goora. And rarely such terms are used to degrade someone.

Your Sarfraz hatred has made you blind and deaf it seems.

If you are so desi you should then know that calling someone kaala is an insult and used very regularly to demean them. I m certain Sarfraz has been called that himself at some point in his life to demean him because of his skin tone.

Yes guys all the deniers here are experts on racism. Last time a racist accepted that they are racist? NEVER

You can be prejudiced without even knowing it. “Hey *******” is negative knowing what people of darker complexion have had to go through and just not on. Why didn’t he just use his name?

Those defending his actions need a good look at themselves...really good luck

Use of such words is wrong and personally i never use them and I agree we as a society have to change and you are right that if you call someone kaala, mota, chitta, khamba, tidda it might hurt them inside which they wont show.

I think Sarfraz apologized just due to the same thing that it might have hurt the player even though he never said this to him in English and the player never noticed anything on the filed and till match presentation.

If you are so desi you should then know that calling someone kaala is an insult and used very regularly to demean them. I m certain Sarfraz has been called that himself at some point in his life to demean him because of his skin tone.

There is a difference he didnt call him that on his face to demean him otherwise he would have said this in English to taunt him. The player never noticed him.

Clearly you have missed the point. We are talking about this term being used. I didnt like it too but it was never intended as racist in my view.

Its about right There needed to be a punishment Whether intended or not the comments he made are not acceptable in this day and age

There is a difference he didnt call him that on his face to demean him otherwise he would have said this in English to taunt him. The player never noticed him.

Clearly you have missed the point. We are talking about this term being used. I didnt like it too but it was never intended as racist in my view.

But I heard it, kids around Pakistan heard it. Dude what’s the thinking here? That it’s only wrong if you are caught? Wrong mindset. Instead of correcting the wrong let’s continue to find excuses.

I heard it live and it sunk my heart. It was embarrassing.

No body cares about intention. I could slap someone in the moment and then say I didn’t intend to do that. Not calling Sarfraz a racist but what he did was wrong and it has to be acted against to set an example. Stop defending it

But I heard it, kids around Pakistan heard it. Dude what’s the thinking here? That it’s only wrong if you are caught? Wrong mindset. Instead of correcting the wrong let’s continue to find excuses.

I heard it live and it sunk my heart. It was embarrassing.

Yeah no one is saying it is not wrong and if you read my initial posts i already said he deserve the ban (1/2 matches). But he used the term which is regularly used in Pakistan for someone with dark skin. But i dont think he intended to demean him or taunt him in his face otherwise he could have easily said thatin English to make the player notice.

Anyways i hope it gives a good reality check to Sarfraz that its not street cricket and he should learn to shut his mouth and also as a Pakistani player a time to reflect on his shortcomings.

I think Pakistan need to sack him instead of coming out with statements opposing the ICC. This is why the PCB always seems to be out of the inner circles of world cricket, they simply do not keep up with the modernisation of the 21st century.

LMAO so you can say racist remarks as long as other player don't understand. Cool logic.

He was murmuring that to himself in more of frustration and kind of talking with his teammates. Like we all did while playing cricket in Pakistan "Abey out ho ja aj kia khaa k aya hai atak he gya wicket pr" and similar things. Clearly not talking with the player otherwise why can he not spoke just 3 English words directed at the player.

But hey whats there to argue with you when you already said the word "kaale" is as bad as "N" word in Pakistan and any Desi knows it. Heights of making up things just in hatred. Yeh maybe in some parallel Pakistan but clearly not the existing Pakistan.

It’s too lenient, he got lucky. PCB should also punish him , he let the country down .

Please look up the definition of sexism.

It has bern mentioned here quite a lot of times but "oye kaale" is as bad as the N word . Only a desi will understand how racist this is.

Ridiculous, **** means black, it is simple as that. It is not used as a racial term and the rest of the sentence was not regarding his race but his luck. I am not stating there should not have been punishment, but it should have been well balanced. A fine, maybe the entirety of his match fee, or possibly a match.

Again, it is even more disproportionate when you look at other instances that have not warranted a ban, let alone fines.

I see it as a good opportunity for Sarfraz to get some rest and think about the future.

Also a good chance for Rizzy to showcase his form.

Win win for everyone even if it's harsh.

He was murmuring that to himself in more of frustration and kind of talking with his teammates. Like we all did while playing cricket in Pakistan "Abey out ho ja aj kia khaa k aya hai atak he gya wicket pr" and similar things. Clearly not talking with the player otherwise why can he not spoke just 3 English words directed at the player.

But hey whats there to argue with you when you already said the word "kaale" is as bad as "N" word in Pakistan and any Desi knows it. Heights of making up things just in hatred. Yeh maybe in some parallel Pakistan but clearly not the existing Pakistan.

:))) You keep getting funnier with your list of excuses. Please watch the video how Sarfraz clearly targets him. He was not talking to himself. "Oye" is referred in Urdu/Punjabi only when you are talking to other person directly. I doubt you were raised in Pakistan otherwise you would not be making such funny excuses.

Clearly you dint watch the video as he never said "oye". He said "Abey" but i think you never heard that word before. Not me it seems you have never lived in Pakistan.

Sarfraz is from Karachi where "Abey" word is used commonly. And i gave you an example too that many of us have used it as sign of frustration for example "Abey out ho ja" doesnt mean we are asking the player to get out rather showing frustration. Baat krtay ho aur Urdu aati nahi. Lmao!

Read ICC code of conduct. It is clear about racism. You can't refer to a player by skin color. I don't think it's that hard to grasp. While abuses you mention I don't think falls under any code of conduct.

Then ICC should change its code of conduct to fit in more offensive words. Do you know some of the sledges that go around in the field? Much worse than skin color, do the translation of the Hindi/Urdu abuses that are so common.

Clearly you dint watch the video as he never said "oye". He said "Abey" but i think you never heard that word before. Not me it seems you have never lived in Pakistan.

Sarfraz is from Karachi where "Abey" word is used commonly. And i gave you an example too that many of us have used it as sign of frustration for example "Abey out ho ja" doesnt mean we are asking the player to get out rather showing frustration. Baat krtay ho aur Urdu aati nahi. Lmao!

Abbey/oye are virtually same words or words with same meaning.

Abbey/oye are virtually same words.

No they are not. Once again you are showing your lack of understanding in using Urdu words.

Oye is majorly used to refer someone while Abey has multiple meanings. Ask anyone from Karachi and they must have seen someone using the phrase "Abeyy yaarrrr" with reference to themselves or in frustration but you will never see someone saying "Oye yar" as self reference.

Serious advice: Go out, travel more, explore Pakistan more, meet people from different areas and different backgrounds that will expand your understanding about Pakistani culture.

No they are not. Once again you are showing your lack of understanding in using Urdu words.

Oye is majorly used to refer someone while Abey has multiple meanings. Ask anyone from Karachi and they must have seen someone using the phrase "Abeyy yaarrrr" with reference to themselves or in frustration but you will never see someone saying "Oye yar" as self reference.

Serious advice: Go out, travel more, explore Pakistan more, meet people from different areas and different backgrounds that will expand your understanding about Pakistani culture.
Lol yeah. Says the guy who thinks calling someone abbey kaale is no big deal. Yeah. Goodluck calling some random guy like that.

Lol nicely shifted the discussion again when you had no answer. I clearly explained above multiple times and in different threads in what reference he used that to a player who doesn't understand Urdu. And how its pathetic for me personally to use such a term especially while you are representing your nation and not playing in your street but clearly not racism. But in your hatred you have become blind and deaf and the discussion started when you started making things up.

Btw work on my advice it will help you ;)

Lol nicely shifted the discussion again when you had no answer. I clearly explained above multiple times and in different threads in what reference he used that to a player who doesn't understand Urdu. And how its pathetic for me personally to use such a term especially while you are representing your nation and not playing in your street but clearly not racism. But in your hatred you have become blind and deaf and the discussion started when you started making things up.

Btw work on my advice it will help you ;)

I want you to answer one question honestly. In Western world making fun of religion is ok. Would it be ok for you if you find out an international player was using their own language to mock the religion of a Pak player? How would you react? Will it be ok because it's ok in their culture and language? Would it be ok because Pak players do not understand their language?

Then ICC should change its code of conduct to fit in more offensive words. Do you know some of the sledges that go around in the field? Much worse than skin color, do the translation of the Hindi/Urdu abuses that are so common.

Abuses cannot be worse than skin color as abuses are not used to single out a race, religion, etc. Racism has a whole history of oppression behind it while plain abuses do not. There is a reason almost every single government and private companies including the one where you work will have a clause against racism but not against abuses

Abuses targeting women are as bad as racism. Just like racism, violence towards women too has a long history, more so in our society. Rape threats or talking about female anatomy in a disparaging manner too will get you in serious trouble in your place of work. Do you really mean to say that mocking skin color is a crime but talking about someone's mother, wife, sister or daughter in sexually loaded tone isn't that bad? At least I have more respect for the women in my life. Someone makes fun of my dark complexion, I am fine but try all that MC, BC nonsense which our cricketers do and I promise there will be escalation from my side.

If harbhajan can get away scot free, pakistanis shoukd feel slighted. At least he apologized while Harbhajan changed the whole story.

Regardless, i think its fair..

I want you to answer one question honestly. In Western world making fun of religion is ok. Would it be ok for you if you find out an international player was using their own language to mock the religion of a Pak player? How would you react? Will it be ok because it's ok in their culture and language? Would it be ok because Pak players do not understand their language?

Bro your concerns are genuine but imo you are missing the point.

I dont think he used that word to mock Phulekwayo. Infact he never used English and player never noticed it. In Pakistan we call great West Indies team as "Kaali Aandhi" (black wind-flaw) but i can honestly tell you that i have never heard this term from anyone to mock the WI team rather they just call WI team by this name. I know its wrong and it needs to be changed and education throughout the country is necessary but to associate mocking if someone is calling a dark skin person as kaalay especially non-Pakistanis in my experience is not true.

Yes in Pakistan people call their friend / relative who is dark skin as kaalay which might hurt them and again wrong but when you speak with Pakistanis and talk about African people they usually call them as "kaaley" because of their skin color but rarely to mock them. Similarly whites as "gooray". Arabs as Arbi or Sheikhs. Yes it needs to be changed i agree.

Regarding your question about religion if they intend to mock other's religion or make fun of it on the field then its wrong but if they are murmuring to themselves whatever they believe in then it should not be my concern. There are people who believe in Satan and their are people who throw pebbles on Satan. To each his own belief.

4 game ban is harsh. It should have been demerit points. ICC's reaction is not in sync with how everybody reconciled after the incident.

:) Most hostile :) PAK posters here are trying to use this indecent to get rid of Captain Sarfraz. I am sure had he not been Captain or had PCB stripped off him from Captaincy immediately, most of these posters would have said it's probably fair after his apology (though I must say, I had a feeling that he was more angry with himself than being sorry - why did I get caught? :) )

Sarfraz should step down from Captaincy and make PCB's life easier. This animosity (towards him) isn't limited to PP only and he can get lots of support/sympathy if he steps down which should keep his international cricket future safe (depending on performance); otherwise if he is sacked, basically that might be end of his cricket career.

If harbhajan can get away scot free, pakistanis shoukd feel slighted. At least he apologized while Harbhajan changed the whole story.

Regardless, i think its fair..

Naw Bhajji didn't agree to it, please read how the case actually proceeded, see Clarke's testimony as well.

If he was going to murmur to himself, why not just turn around and murmur as he walks back to his position, instead he looks at phehklewayo who’s at the non strikers end, and screams like a fool.

And, if he really was murmuring, it wouldn’t have been picked up on the mic.

If he was going to murmur to himself, why not just turn around and murmur as he walks back to his position, instead he looks at phehklewayo who’s at the non strikers end, and screams like a fool.

And, if he really was murmuring, it wouldn’t have been picked up on the mic.

We all have done the same while playing cricket in Pakistan, more as a sign of frustration and talking to our teammates rather the opposition.

If you have played cricket in Pakistan this is common "Abey out ho ja kia khaa k aya hai atak he gaya hai". "Abey out ho ja out ho ja". In both case we are not asking or telling the player to get out rather its a sign of frustration to us and our teammates and sometimes a light hearted remark towards teammates.

Please read old posts and the context before posting.