‘Isn’t this our country?’ Why Indian Muslims feel shaken and ‘harassed’

Mian

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...en-harassed/story-JuOWUrpN8uMPcvJ13GzoVI.html

The feeling of distrust between the BJP government and Muslims in Uttar Pradesh has grown after the recent assembly elections.

Anam Nisha is a first-year student in the department of chemical engineering at the Rohilkhand University in Bareilly. The daughter of a mechanic, her parents battled hostile relatives, uncomfortable with sending a girl to college, and decided to educate her— she will become the first engineer in her family.

Nisha has made friends with her classmates, a majority of Hindus. But something changed during the 2017 elections in UP.

“I did not feel this earlier. But in this election, among our friends, this feeling of being Hindu and Muslim sharpened. In discussions, our friends made us feel we were different.” She says the BJP had created this ‘division’.

Mohammed Tanweer, a final year student from Gorakhpur, nods. “When the PM came and said kabristan and shamshanghat, we felt uncomfortable. Look at issues being raised everyday. It makes us sometimes ask — do we have the wrong name?”

No generalisation about a community as large and diverse as Indian Muslims can be entirely accurate. Yet, in the course of meeting dozens of young Muslims, from west UP to the eastern most edge of Bihar, it became clear that Nisha and Tanweer are not exceptions. Muslims are shaken, disturbed, and worried.

Living as ‘anti-nationals’

Firoze Ahmad is an assistant professor in the Aligarh Muslim University’s campus in Kishanganj, in Bihar’s Seemanchal. “Muslims have begun avoiding public gatherings because anything you say can be misconstrued. On social media, as soon as you say something, you are immediately branded anti-national, terrorist, and of course Pakistani,” he says.

A survey conducted by the well-regarded Centre for the Study of Developing Societies in four states — Gujarat, Haryana, Odisha and Karnataka — gives a clue into the mindset that leads to these labels. Only 13% of Hindus saw Muslims as ‘highly patriotic’, even though 77% Muslims saw themselves as ‘highly patriotic’.

When asked what, specifically, was bothering him, Firoze Ahmad says, “Look at the hate campaigns. When they say love jehad, raise triple talaq, talk of gau raksha, want ghar wapsi, who are they targeting? There is a common pattern. They want to ignite new debates with Muslims as the target group.”

He then clarifies. “It is not the PM. He is for Sabka saath, sabka vikaas. It is those acting in his name. They need to be punished.”

Shadab Khan is pursuing an MBA in the campus.

“This nationalism discourse has created a gulf. If I say I love Barcelona, I am a nationalist. But if I say I love Pakistani player Shahid Afridi, I become an anti-national. This has percolated down to every college, every street, every social media conversation.”

Across age groups and regions, most Muslims blamed BJP and the Sangh parivar, but they were as critical of the media.

Back in Bareilly, Heeba Roshan, a second year student of chemical engineering, noted, with a laugh, “There would have been far more peace, and so much less insecurity, if we all stopped TV news.”

Media penetration had increased, every household was watching news, this was shaping mindsets, and the content usually reinforced the views that Hindus held of the community, and alienated Muslims, pointed Ahmad.

Sense of discrimination

All of this points to a degree of psychological alienation. But is this merely perceptional or is it rooted in facts?

In Kishanganj, Raashid Nehaal is the director of the AMU campus — which operates out of two temporary buildings, one of which also doubles up as both the academic block and the girls hostel. There are only two courses being offered; he has not been able to appoint faculty, expand courses, or even build boundary walls. Work on a new campus building is halted.

Why?

“Since the BJP government has come to power, they have not released a single paisa to us. The approved funds for this campus — meant to serve the backward region — is ₹136 crore; all we have got so far is ₹10 crore, which was released before the BJP won.”

Nehaal does not mince words. “What should we understand from this? They have become prejudiced.” He pins it on politics, and the difference in nature of regimes is palpable here. The ‘secular government’ of Nitish Kumar — which relied on Muslim votes — has extended all support to the campus, but the Union government, Nehaal claims, has been hostile.

At the other end of the Hindi heartland lies the small town of Deoband, famous for its influential Islamic seminary.

At a cloth shop in the bazaar, a group of young men look back at 2017 polls. Shah Alam tells his friends, “We were unnecessarily living with a myth that at 18%, Muslims can decide elections. The majority decides elections. And BJP has shown they don’t need us at all.”

What has been the impact of this?

“Secular parties treated us as just a vote-bank, but we at least had leaders to go to. There is no one here to listen to us. Sunwai khatam ho gayi,” replies Alam.

Adnan owns the cloth shop, and says, “Under the Mudra scheme, I applied for a loan of ₹5 lakh. I have gone to the bank repeatedly. But my application got rejected.”

But maybe his loan got rejected because it did not meet the criteria? Would it be correct to pin it to religion? He replies, “It is the mindset. The bank official told me — you will not get it. Don’t waste your time.”

Whether it is indeed, factually, their religious identity which is leading to Adnan’s loan being rejected, Alam’s voice not being heard, Ahmad or Khan being called anti-national, Nisha and Tanweer feeling a sense of distance from their friends, Roshan getting uncomfortable watching television, or Nehaal struggling to get funds for his campus is one part of the story, open to debate. The more important part is that all of them feel that this is discrimination that stems from their religious identity.

And all of this is leading to a question that Khan — the Kishanganj student — asks bluntly, “I have always felt Indian. But today, I am being forced to ask myself — is this my country?”

I don't really understand the tensions in India against Muslims. There is the Kashmir dispute, but that has been there for the best part of a century so doesn't really explain the shift in mindset. Neither is India involved in foreign wars in Islamic countries which could part explain hostility.

My own theory is that the explosion of the internet and social media has magnified divisions and given power to extremist viewpoints in a country where people lived in their own bubbles previously and as a result learned to get along.

I don't really understand the tensions in India against Muslims. There is the Kashmir dispute, but that has been there for the best part of a century so doesn't really explain the shift in mindset. Neither is India involved in foreign wars in Islamic countries which could part explain hostility.

My own theory is that the explosion of the internet and social media has magnified divisions and given power to extremist viewpoints in a country where people lived in their own bubbles previously and as a result learned to get along.

This has definitely played a part and its not just limited to Hindu Muslims alone.
A new trend has emerged among neo radical dalits to dissociate themselves from hinduism which they refer to as Brahamanical plutocracy and post radically inflamed posts abusing and threatening Brahmins and upper castes in general on various social media networks.There had been riots in Saharanpur, UP last week only which the liberal media cleverly distanced itself from as it didn't suit their propaganda of oppressed dalits.Yesterday only I saw a viral video on FB showing members of 'Bhim Army' spitting and stamping on Lord Hanuman's( A Hindu deity) picture.
Scary times ahead for this country.

This has definitely played a part and its not just limited to Hindu Muslims alone.
A new trend has emerged among neo radical dalits to dissociate themselves from hinduism which they refer to as Brahamanical plutocracy and post radically inflamed posts abusing and threatening Brahmins and upper castes in general on various social media networks.There had been riots in Saharanpur, UP last week only which the liberal media cleverly distanced itself from as it didn't suit their propaganda of oppressed dalits.Yesterday only I saw a viral video on FB showing members of 'Bhim Army' spitting and stamping on Lord Hanuman's( A Hindu deity) picture.

Aren't there conflicting narratives to the Sahranpur riots ?

I've come across many , articles which say it began with Thakurs objecting to Dalits building an Ambedkar statue near the Ramdas temple.

Aren't Dalits repressed? The caste system still has echoes in Pakistan, I can imagine it would be a lot worse in a country which still lives by those codes.

Aren't there conflicting narratives to the Sahranpur riots ?

I've come across many , articles which say it began with Thakurs objecting to Dalits building an Ambedkar statue near the Ramdas temple.
There definitely are and I am in no way claiming it was all Dalits fault or Thakurs are innocent.Both parties are to be blamed here.But what I found shocking was that hundreds of the so called oppressed people can come and try to rape and burn thakur villages aftermath of the said incident and yet no proper media coverage?Imagine the reaction if the reverse happened, liberals would have had field day chastising and painting the whole thakur community with same brush.Facebook is filled with the so called upcoming Netas openly abusing Brahmins and insulting Hindu Gods.You have to understand these sort of posts give rise to mob mentality creating more hatred and brainwashing and giving rise to more propagandists.
Sickened by all this hate mongering from both sides.

There definitely are and I am in no way claiming it was all Dalits fault or Thakurs are innocent.Both parties are to be blamed here.But what I found shocking was that hundreds of the so called oppressed people can come and try to rape and burn thakur villages aftermath of the said incident and yet no proper media coverage?Imagine the reaction if the reverse happened, liberals would have had field day chastising and painting the whole thakur community with same brush.Facebook is filled with the so called upcoming Netas openly abusing Brahmins and insulting Hindu Gods.You have to understand these sort of posts give rise to mob mentality creating more hatred and brainwashing and giving rise to more propagandists.

It is the last throw of the dice by Mayawati and others who thrive on caste politics.

[MENTION=48620]Cpt. Rishwat[/MENTION] What you said is true, but there needed to be some fuel that would help the fire burn.

The fact is that there is a lot of residual tension and anger towards muslims, starting from the Delhi sultanates and Mughal empires, which has been transferred from generation to generation.

I've come across some Hindus from such parts, whose voice betrays a certain "Us Vs Them" metality, the opinion that they (Muslims) already got what they wanted (read Pakistan), so, what's left (India) should've been ours alone (Hindus). This has been brewing and simmering in the minds of people since Independance, with the rise of BJP/RSS , these people now feel empowered to express it in public. Earlier, common sense and culture would've necessitated, people to just keep up with each other and ignore most such feelings.

The sangh parivar since the late 80's has been trying to ignite and flare them up .

We never had many incidents because , back then Hindu and Muslim communities in most parts of India (few states are an objection) , always lived in their own bubbles. Hindus lived amongst hindu localities and muslims lived among theirs, the interaction between communities was largely limited among rich businessmen, artists, bollywood etc , the elites and mainly in cities. .

The Most common people (AKA Middle class) lived amongst their own. Now with urbanization and rapid migration of people to urban centres and the rise of internet, the interaction between communities is increasing, so are tensions . More and more of both parties (treat them like two abrasive surfaces) are coming into contact now, at a greater rate than before, this is causing more flare ups.

Social media facilitates the propagation of Hateful rhetoric, without any semblance of control, moderation or censorship. Back in the time of Radio or TV alone, information was strictly regulated, which meant , bad incidents could easily be prevented from escalating and bad blood from spreading.

Aren't Dalits repressed? The caste system still has echoes in Pakistan, I can imagine it would be a lot worse in a country which still lives by those codes.
They are.But the rise of social media has given the hate mongeres in their community to take advantage of the general upper caste hatred and create more animosity between both the groups for their personal political gains.This has particularly become more so prominent in last couple of years.

It is the last throw of the dice by Mayawati and others who thrive on caste politics.

I have a relative there.He said It was all Mayawati's doing and she along with local leader Imran Masood are alone responsible for this whole mess.

[MENTION=48620]Cpt. Rishwat[/MENTION] What you said is true, but there needed to be some fuel that would help the fire burn.

The fact is that there is a lot of residual tension and anger towards muslims, starting from the Delhi sultanates and Mughal empires, which has been transferred from generation to generation.

I've come across some Hindus from such parts, whose voice betrays a certain "Us Vs Them" metality, the opinion that they (Muslims) already got what they wanted (read Pakistan), so, what's left (India) should've been ours alone (Hindus). This has been brewing and simmering in the minds of people since Independance, with the rise of BJP/RSS , these people now feel empowered to express it in public. Earlier, common sense and culture would've necessitated, people to just keep up with each other and ignore most such feelings.

The sangh parivar since the late 80's has been trying to ignite and flare them up .

We never had many incidents because , back then Hindu and Muslim communities in most parts of India (few states are an objection) , always lived in their own bubbles. Hindus lived amongst hindu localities and muslims lived among theirs, the interaction between communities was largely limited among rich businessmen, artists, bollywood etc , the elites and mainly in cities. .

What a one sided biased interpretation. You need to educate yourself about the history of riots in India. If anything it has decreased now.

[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] the only major riots I can remember in last 15 years were Godhra and Muzzafarnagar.CC is right, riots were a common place in India around 20 years ago or so.

I've come across some Hindus from such parts, whose voice betrays a certain "Us Vs Them" metality, the opinion that they (Muslims) already got what they wanted (read Pakistan), so, what's left (India) should've been ours alone (Hindus).

Not just generation to generation, across continents too. I heard this from Sikhs as well as Hindus in England, although usually it is quite far below the surface as on foreign soils everyone has their own local problems so don't have so much time to devote to ancient history.

[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION] the only major riots I can remember in last 15 years were Godhra and Muzzafarnagar.CC is right, riots were a common place in India around 20 years ago or so.

What has increased is the media scrutiny (which though biased, but still an improvement over the past). These johnny come lately intellectuals think everything in india started when they were born. At least make the effort to read history from all view points instead of being a pop intellectual on forums where there is no one to question their ignorance and narrative.

They are.But the rise of social media has given the hate mongeres in their community to take advantage of the general upper caste hatred and create more animosity between both the groups for their personal political gains.This has particularly become more so prominent in last couple of years.

The dalits have been treated like utter cr@p by all communities, let alone the Brahmins for millenia. In most parts of India (specifically south) , it's the intermediate castes that propagate a lot of the caste violence.

Even pro-dalit politicians who are more or less from the higher castes, treat the Dalits simply as vote banks, people meant to be pampered only when they need their votes, and once power is obtained, treated no better than by the communities that actually oppress them .

After the death of Ambedkar, dalits rarely had strong leadership apart from a few like Kanshi Ram, to uplift them as a community. People like mayawati, a dalit herself, simply used them as votebanks.

So now you see a sort of armed/violent rhetoric rise amongst disenfranchised dalits as the only way of defending themselves, as trusting any particular party has done very little good till now.

The Brahmins established, propagated and consolidated the caste system for centuries, so they deservedly get the most blame for it .

But the post independence years, have seen a rise amongst the intermediate castes (vaishyas, certain powerful OBC's) , who started wielding political power, which was erstwhile limited only to the Brahmins and Kshatriyax.

But they themselves donot intend to distribute power further down the caste hierarchy to the Dalits. Instead they keep the dalits as a perpetually oppressed, but conveniently shift blame to the upper caste bogey man. But given how openly caste hatred is expressed by the higher caste communities in many places, its an easy sell to the dalits too.

What a one sided biased interpretation. You need to educate yourself about the history of riots in India. If anything it has decreased now.

All out riots are fewer sure, but tensions are far higher these days, due to a more favorable environment for spreading hate.

Please tell me which tensionmeter you used to conclude that it is higher these days? You really need to educate yourself first instead of shooting from the hip. I suggest to start with Paul Brass.

The dalits have been treated like utter cr@p by all communities, let alone the Brahmins for millenia. In most parts of India (specifically south) , it's the intermediate castes that propagate a lot of the caste violence.

Even pro-dalit politicians who are more or less from the higher castes, treat the Dalits simply as vote banks, people meant to be pampered only when they need their votes, and once power is obtained, treated no better than by the communities that actually oppress them .

After the death of Ambedkar, dalits rarely had strong leadership apart from a few like Kanshi Ram, to uplift them as a community. People like mayawati, a dalit herself, simply used them as votebanks.

So now you see a sort of armed/violent rhetoric rise amongst disenfranchised dalits as the only way of defending themselves, as trusting any particular party has done very little good till now.

The Brahmins established, propagated and consolidated the caste system for centuries, so they deservedly get the most blame for it .

But the post independence years, have seen a rise amongst the intermediate castes (vaishyas, certain powerful OBC's) , who started wielding political power, which was erstwhile limited only to the Brahmins and Kshatriyax.

But they themselves donot intend to distribute power further down the caste hierarchy to the Dalits. Instead they keep the dalits as a perpetually oppressed, but conveniently shift blame to the upper caste bogey man. But given how openly caste hatred is expressed by the higher caste communities in many places, its an easy sell to the dalits too.

Again, an ignorant post, with some half truths here and there. Laughable that you so easily dismiss the contribution of mayawati, and how ignorantly you talked about the intermediate castes but not the jatavs ( I am sure you don't even know what that is)

Need to let go of victim mentality,and fight it out legally if any issues, would help in the overall cause as well.
So many ethnicities in India seem to be suffering from this new trend of "mistreatment".

Need to let go of victim mentality,and fight it out legally if any issues, would help in the overall cause as well.
So many ethnicities in India seem to be suffering from this new trend of "mistreatment".

Very sound advice. The legal and justice system in India is so efficient and quick that it should be the first recourse instead of crying victim.

UP is a 3rd world state in a 3rd world country.

Same with Bihar/Bengal/Orissa and MP.

Very sound advice. The legal and justice system in India is so efficient and quick that it should be the first recourse instead of crying victim.

Yes ,incase the crying is about "sense of discrimination","realizing maybe their vote isn't worth".

This ban on meat used as a pretext to attack Muslim's is causing great communal tension in India. Now before any Indian here says "we don't need Pakistan's advice or help" let me assure them that Pak is not offering that at all. The Kashmir dispute has nothing to do with it at all rather Modi and his crooks are the problem here. Build Ram Mandir if the court allows it that is a separate issue to controlling people's eating habits. India is the only home their Muslims know, they have no where else to go.

there will be civil war between in india when muslim population will become more than 35 %.

I am glad that you are happy with your present situation in Chennai with a mansion for house and parents in Canada.
Leave choti moti things for us less unfortunate.

I am glad that you are happy with your present situation in Chennai with a mansion for house and parents in Canada.
Leave choti moti things for us less unfortunate.

I live on rent in Chennai, and both my parents work in GTA,if my parents were having a good time financially or otherwise surely they wouldn't had left.

It certainly is a country for Muslims as well. But we need to get rid of beef ban, Muslim personal law etc. and this whole idea of Indian secularism anyway.

You guys need to be careful, you don't want a situation where those especially consumed by Wahabism start to go down the suicide bomber route all over India. Indians need to be more accepting of Muslims and you lot also need to clamp down on toxic ideologies (with the help of Muslims) and any funding from Saudi Arabia

True. I'm all for gradual change only. I only meant that Western "secularism" is the only model that will work in a country like India with so many religions. The problem currently is that if the state government removes beef ban, the RSS and it's affiliates will raise a hue and a cry about how it's an attack on Hinduism . Any discussion on triple talaaq is also diverted and is seen as an attack on Islam without even looking at it from the perspective of women's rights. Sad but true.

It's a really complicated situation isn't it, going to be very challenging to get everyone on the same page so I agree with you that improvement should hopefully come with gradual change over time. But it's really tough because folk like the RSS would see such change as an attack on their religion and go after the Muslims who may potentially get pushed to the brink of radicalisation if they become increasingly disgruntled to the point where extremists exploit their anger and fund institutions which brainwash their thinking

Indians in general are people who try to show off their power against the weak.. People here (not All) don't respect people who are poorer than them.. So you would see a lot of people who would form groups and boast of knowing people in politics and harass and beat up the poor.. This has been happening for decades and both Hindu people do it and Muslim people as well who harass and beat up Hindus and other Muslims not because of religion but because of showing their power with 10 people behind them and no law to protect the poor..

Now things have been different since BJP came into power and especially after winning UP, the mentality of people is still the same wanting to show off their power against people poorer than them however they have found a new topic like beef and Kashmir unrest and soldiers being martyred on the border.. These issues have been magnified by social media/internet these days.. And with BJP government not taking strict action against elements like these (in most cases they are related to BJP indirectly) these people can do whatever they want..

Indians in general are people who try to show off their power against the weak.. People here (not All) don't respect people who are poorer than them.. So you would see a lot of people who would form groups and boast of knowing people in politics and harass and beat up the poor.. This has been happening for decades and both Hindu people do it and Muslim people as well who harass and beat up Hindus and other Muslims not because of religion but because of showing their power with 10 people behind them and no law to protect the poor..

Now things have been different since BJP came into power and especially after winning UP, the mentality of people is still the same wanting to show off their power against people poorer than them however they have found a new topic like beef and Kashmir unrest and soldiers being martyred on the border.. These issues have been magnified by social media/internet these days.. And with BJP government not taking strict action against elements like these (in most cases they are related to BJP indirectly) these people can do whatever they want..

oh, so instead of an inter religious conflict, it is a class conflict.

It's a really complicated situation isn't it, going to be very challenging to get everyone on the same page so I agree with you that improvement should hopefully come with gradual change over time. But it's really tough because folk like the RSS would see such change as an attack on their religion and go after the Muslims who may potentially get pushed to the brink of radicalisation if they become increasingly disgruntled to the point where extremists exploit their anger and fund institutions which brainwash their thinking

It's already happening I think to some extent.

oh, so instead of an inter religious conflict, it is a class conflict.

it is a religious context however the people targeted are the normal guys not the powerful mafia dons on either side of religions.. I don't want to name anyone here but just check mafia dons of UP and Bihar and you wouldn't see anyone go against them but rather go against the weak and powerless..

there will be civil war between in india when muslim population will become more than 35 %.

Considering the situation in J & K which is the only Muslim majority state in India, I will agree with you.