2005 Kashmir earthquake

Nauman said:
Ok one question to advocates of Pakistan getting developed. The ass of a government sucks at crisis management. Police came 40 minutes after the tower collapsed, when they came they started to panic and coulent regain their composure for like one hour. Fire brigade no where in sight even 5 hours after the tragedy. The police and crisis management cell doesnt have bulldozers, cranes and cutters to dig up the rubble so what they do is appeal to the local businessmen who are into construction government to come and help them. Is this how common man is treated? When Musharaff is supposed to tour somewhere we see police 24 hours before he even arives and over here an hour passed and no sign of help from government to the people. Truely disgracefull.

I totally agree with you

Waseem " Nauman it's not a hidden fact that aurhorities are slow to respond in Pakistan but trust me it's not as bad as you have mentioned."

It is very bad......dont make assumptions by watching just television. My chacha lives there....he said no rescue agency had cranes and bulldozers to remove the rubble......either private companies own them or the army....the army wasnt there till 2, i.e., nearly 5 hours after the disaster......there are people trapped inside.....a couple I know are still trapped in the basement of the building......dont know if they are still alive or not.....they didnt even have the time to escape.

As in lahore, it was a big tremor but when i look at how bad things are in islamabad I can just imagine how the shock must have been. We've heard a few buildings in lahore have also collapsed but where i live things are fine....no power, telephone and internet lines are down. about 40 mins ago there was another aftershock.....just pray that things in islamabad, ajk and nwfp stay fine coz not only the main quake, but the aftershocks too, are powerful.

salaam people

well i am back but not to say bad things to anyone lol them jokes where just for to make any one laugh but now i am destroyed my self seeing pakistan being hit this way i jumped out my bed ran downstairs to see what hppened as soon as i heard the news my family phoned pakistan where we live in lahore and outher AREAS THANKS TO ALLAH THEY ARE ALL FINE this i never imagned would happen cant belive it happened i am chatting to my cousin in pak he says they are in dangered anouther earthquake can hit in 48 hours so pp team all of you lot pray deeply today to allah for safty of pakistan and india and afghanistan

my relatives were in the islamabad where alot of damage has been done some have been contacted but some rnt being being able to be contacted i hope their fne....

ina lillahi wa ilehi rajioon

May Allah help all effected there. Ameen...my family is in Lahore BUT cannot contact them for a few hours:(

Hopefully By the Grace of Allah, they all will be fine

i think familys in lahore are fine cause my cousin said that there was nothing damged in the house

ina lillahi wa ilehi rajioon...

..inshallah .....theyll be fine...and so will everybody's relatives on pakpassion...............

MenInGreen said:
Just recieved an email from Lahore - Mashallah, Alhmadolillah, all my relatives are fine and Lahore seems to have escaped the brunt of the earthquake.

Good to hear and good to hear about other PP members residing in the affected areas who along with their families escaped injury.

My thoughts and prayers are with everyone who has been affected. May Allah Taalah help those in need. Ameen.

i have family in ak, dads been ringing every hour or so, they are aite, houses damaged in the village, but theyre safe, they say they felt it again a few hrs ago

dad rang my relatives in pak
evry1 seems to be fine

Monsee said:

May Allah help all effected there. Ameen...my family is in Lahore BUT cannot contact them for a few hours:(

Hopefully By the Grace of Allah, they all will be fine

I emailed my cousin in Lahore and the damage is minimal. Inshallah, you will only hear good news.

MenInGreen said:
I emailed my cousin in Lahore and the damage is minimal. Inshallah, you will only hear good news.

Thanks...hopefully I will hear from one of my relatives soon

My family is in Azad Kashmir, near the epicentre muzaffarabad, only just managed to contact them, they said dozens of houses have been destroyed, every household has lost at least one family member, and this is only in a village with less than a hundred houses....miracle that my family survived..

My realtive house completely collapsed even though it was solid..
May Allah forgive the deceased.

Just to let you know that YASIR ALI is fine, he is from ATTOCK, where there is major damage
am waiting to hear bk from YASIR ARAFAT from Pindi.

I come from pretty near the epicentre (Murree). Phone lines are disconnected but we've been in touch through SMS. Everybody is fine, thanks to Allah. :)

Devestating! May God help us all. All my relatives are in Chitral. All the phone lines are down. I am very scared...

my parents rang family in islamabad/Lahore..thanks Allah, everyone is safe. They were all outside around 5pm Pak time.

Wiji said:
Devestating! May God help us all. All my relatives are in Chitral. All the phone lines are down. I am very scared...

May Allah help your family and all others affected, Ameen!

my family is ok as per my brother-in-law in Lahore

just called my family in jhelum area and they are fine but there are still tremors...they say most of the city and villages are ok down there so i hope that will make some fellow jhelumites feel a bit reassured...our watchman in our home in F10 says the houses and building s were moving like they were made of rubber!!...luckily my other family is ok iun pindi..cant get hold of two mates in islamabad though..hope they are ok!!

Suddenly talking about cricket seems inappropriate. My thoughts are with all of you and your friends and families.

Very tragic news.

Thoughts and prayers with all those effected.

Monsee said:
May Allah help your family and all others affected, Ameen!

my family is ok as per my brother-in-law in Lahore

shuker hai, am glad mashallah there ok.

Thanks BUT it is kinda hard to feel better about your family when so many around them are suffering

What a Ramadan these poor folks are having, SubhanAllah:(

Monsee said:
Thanks BUT it is kinda hard to feel better about your family when so many around them are suffering

May Allah be with them at such a time and help them in every way possible.Ameen

May Allah(SWT) protect everbody affected by the earthquake. Inshallah our prayers, while we are fasting, will be accepted by Allah.

Monsee said:

Exactly Monsee, all of my relatives are fine (even though some of them suffered some minor damage to properties but mentally affected them a lot) but you just can't feel happy or satisfied when thousands others are dead, injured or homeless. It will take lots and lots of efforts for many months to come to even clean up the mess.

Allah un sab ko sabar dein.......Ameen.

i finally got through to my dad on the fone.. his in jhelum at the moment..
and thank god his ok... my thoughts and prayers with all those effected..

Was chatting to a friend in Isloo on MSN. He says there were still aftershocks. About a dozen.

A very sad and distressing day indeed.

Thoughts and prayers for all those affected by this tragedy.

This is holy month of Ramdhan, when door of hell are closed. Accidental death qualifies for shahadah. All those who died are shaheed and will go streight to jannah.

can i ask is there any specificcharities that i cna make a donation to

The meaningless match in Peshawar has been cancelled and players are back home. I spoke to Younis Khan....

Have still not heard from Yasir Arafat

Noddy said:
The meaningless match in Peshawar has been cancelled and players are back home. I spoke to Younis Khan....

Have still not heard from Yasir Arafat

Is Yasir Ali safe?

one of my friend's family is still trapped in tht Margalla tower

may Allah bless them and make their life easier for them
and grant them all the courage and hope tht they need in this time

there are so many natrual diesasters these days, A tsunami, 3 life-threatening hurricanes in the USA alone and now this earthquake all within a year!

USually there is like 1 disaster every 6-7 years

But 5-6 disasters in a span of 9/10 months :O

My best wishes go out to all those who have suffered and may Allah give them courage to go through this.

I am not too sure but I just heard they might be releasing water from mangla dam and have asked people to leave from areas right next to the jhelum river...anyone knows about this?

It would make things very bad if now people were to be faced with a flood after going through an earthquake.

Numbers are rising.
Earthquake Kills 3,000 Across South Asia
By CHRISTOPHER TORCHIA, Associated Press Writer 52 minutes ago

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan - A powerful 7.6-magnitude earthquake near the Pakistan-India border Saturday reduced villages to rubble, triggered landslides and flattened an apartment building. More than 3,000 people were killed in both nations, and a Pakistan army spokesman called the devastation "a national tragedy."
The toll included 250 girls who died when their school in northwestern Pakistan collapsed. Another 500 students were injured, said Ataullah Khan Wazir, police chief in the northwestern district of Mansehra.

In the capitals of Pakistan, India and Afghanistan, buildings shook and walls swayed for about a minute, and panicked people ran from their homes and offices. Tremors continued for hours afterward. Communications throughout the region were cut.

About 1,000 people were killed in Pakistani Kashmir, said Sardar Mohammed Anwar, the top government official in the area. The army said 200 soldiers there were killed.

"This is my conservative guess, and the death toll could be much higher," Anwar told Pakistan's Aaj television station.

He said most homes in Muzaffarabad, the area's capital, were damaged, and schools and hospitals had collapsed.

At least 1,600 people died in Pakistan's North West Frontier Province, said the province's top elected official, Akram Durani.

The U.S. Geological Survey said on its Web site the quake hit at 8:50 a.m. local time and had a magnitude of 7.6. It was centered about 60 miles northeast of Islamabad in the forested mountains of Pakistani Kashmir.

"The damage and casualties could be massive and it is a national tragedy," chief army spokesman Maj. Gen. Shaukat Sultan told The Associated Press. "This is the worst earthquake in recent times."

Damage was extensive in Kashmir, the disputed Himalayan territory divided between India and Pakistan.

Officials in the Indian-controlled portion reported at least 250 people killed, including 20 soldiers who perished in a landslide. At least 850 people were injured and about 2,700 homes were destroyed or damaged across Jammu-Kashmir, said senior state official B.B. Vyas.

Army soldiers and local volunteers were rescuing people from under the debris of collapsed houses. Telephone lines were down. Bridges had developed cracks, but traffic was passing over them.

The USGS reported at least five aftershocks in Pakistan, with the strongest measuring magnitude 6.3 and located about 70 miles north of Islamabad.

Pakistani President Gen. Pervez Musharraf and Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz ordered the military to extend "all-out help" to quake-hit areas and appealed to the nation to stay calm. Helicopters took troops to damaged areas, but landslides were hindering rescue efforts.

Musharraf, walking through the rubble in Islamabad, said the air force was deploying C-130 transport planes and 10 helicopters to devastated areas.

In a show of solidarity, India offered assistance and condolences to its longtime rival. The neighbors, which are engaged in a peace process, have fought three wars, including two over Kashmir, since independence from Britain in 1947.

"While parts of India have also suffered from this unexpected natural disaster, we are prepared to extend any assistance with rescue and relief which you may deem appropriate," Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said in a message to Musharraf.

President Bush offered condolences and Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice said the United States was ready to help.

"At this difficult time, the United States stands with its friends in Pakistan and India, just as they stood with us and offered assistance after Hurricane Katrina," Rice said in a statement.

In eastern Afghanistan, an 11-year-old girl was crushed to death when a wall in her home collapsed, said police official Gafar Khan.

U.S. military spokesman Lt. Col. Jerry O'Hara said the quake was felt at Bagram, the main American base in Afghanistan, but he had no reports of damage at bases around the country.

Maj. Richard McNorton, a spokesman for U.S. Central Command, said there were no reports of quake-related injuries among the more than 18,000 American forces in Afghanistan.

The quake brought down a 10-story apartment building in Islamabad and dozens of people were feared trapped in the rubble. Rescuers pulled out at least 20 injured people. Some residents were Westerners, a building employee said.

A man named Rehmatullah who lived nearby said he saw dust from the buckled building from his bathroom window.

"I rushed down, and for some time you could not see anything because of the dust. Then we began to look for people in the rubble," he said. "We pulled out one man by cutting off his legs."

"It was like hell," said Nauman Ali, who lived in a nearby top-floor apartment. "It was terrible. I was tossed up in my bed and the ceiling fan struck against the roof."

Aided by two large cranes, hundreds of police and soldiers helped remove chunks of concrete, one of which was splattered with blood. One rescue worker said he heard faint cries from people trapped in the rubble.

In Abbotabad, north of Islamabad, dozens of quake victims and other patients, some hooked up to intravenous drips, lay on the lawn of the city hospital after officials said aftershocks made it unsafe to stay inside. Hospital staff used loudspeakers to ask the public for food and other relief supplies.

One of the injured was 8-year-old Qadeer, whose father, a farmer named Jehangir, said the only buildings left standing in their village were a mosque and a school. Qadeer lay unconscious, his right leg heavily bandaged.

Sultan said the worst-hit areas were in Pakistani-controlled Kashmir, including Muzaffarabad, the regional capital, and the towns of Bagh and Rawalakot. The districts of Batagram, Balakot, Mansehra, Abbottabad and Patan in northwestern Pakistan also suffered serious damage, he said.

Dozens of homes, schools, mosques and government offices were damaged, and hundreds of injured people were taken to hospitals.

In India's portion of Kashmir, two main highways were closed because of landslides triggered by the quake, and relief material was being flown to some areas, said Vijay Bakaya, Jammu-Kashmir state's chief secretary.

At least 400 tents were flown by helicopter to Uri and Tangdar to provide temporary shelter in the freezing Himalayan foothills, officials said. Teams of doctors and Red Cross volunteers were traveling by road and on foot to remote mountainous areas, Bakaya said.

All hospitals in the state have been put on alert and medical staff recalled, he said.

Power has been restored to hospitals, but telephone, water and electricity supplies were still disrupted across much of the state.

"Our first priority is to help affected families, deliver relief and assess the loss so that further help can be provided," Bakaya said.

In Kunzru village, near Srinagar, almost the entire village of 200 homes was flattened.

"The floor started shaking, and everything turned upside down," villager Ghulam Mohi-udin Khan said from his hospital bed, where he was being treated for a fractured leg.

His wife lay on an adjacent cot, her head in bandages from a head wound caused by falling masonry as their house collapsed.

Many Kunzru residents sat in the open fields waiting for relief to reach them.

The temblor also was felt near India's capital.

"It was so strong that I saw buildings swaying. It was terrifying," said Hari Singh, a guard in an apartment complex in a suburb of New Delhi. Hundreds of residents raced down from their apartments after their furniture started shaking.

The quake also jolted parts of Bangladesh, but no casualties or damages were reported. ___

does anyone kno anyway we can make donations??

i wanna make some from here in london.. what would be the best way?

Kasanova if you have GEO watch that all the details are there sadly there is no online donation setup in place right now otherwise I would have put a link of it up on PP.

they say Margalla Tower was already cracked up. and the guy said how could they allow Margalla Towers to be used . it dusted in 5minutes. i mean the construction company should get asked for what they did. when making it.

pathan007 said:
they say Margalla Tower was already cracked up. and the guy said how could they allow Margalla Towers to be used . it dusted in 5seconds. i mean the construction company should get asked for what they did. when making it.

It was a fault in the tower because there are other towers surrounding it and all of them were intact.

Nauman said:
It was a fault in the tower because there are other towers surrounding it and all of them were intact.
and yet they allowed it to use it. btw who made it.

I suppose even minor faults would get highlighted by such a tremor.

I contacting family in Islamabad, Lahore and Karachi and thank God they are all fine. May God be with all the families of the ones who have suffered.

The Margalla Tpwers ppl are in big trouble they used sub standard goods and thye will now get exposed and taken to task for this looting.

very sad stuff
my dua is for all people affected
ive spoken to my family in attock there all ok and my mothers family in mansehra but her sister in muzafrabad there is no contact telephone lines are dead and no transport links either.

Fresh jolts in Peshawar, Abbottabad

ISLAMABAD/ RAWALPINDI: Peshawar, Abbottabad and adjoining areas experienced fresh tremor on the night between Sunday and Saturday.

According to Geo TV, these jolts were of less intensity than those were experienced in the day but spread panic among the masses who were already braving the day-long devastation.

Islamabad, Rawalpindi experience further quake

ISLAMABAD: Rawalpindi, Islamabad adjoining areas experienced further quake of severe intensity at 0215 at early Sunday morning.

According to Geo TV, panic spread in the area due to fresh jolts.

Heavy rains, hailstorm hamper relief work in rattled areas

ISLAMABAD: Intermittent stormy rains followed by hailstorm started in rattled areas of the country hampering rescue operations and relief activities.

According to Geo TV, heavy rains followed by hailstorm started in Saturday evening, which hampered rescue operations and relief activities, plunging the quake-affected people into further miseries.

MQM leader Sattar along with medical team arrive Islamabad

KARACHI: Mutehda Qaumi Movement (MQM) and delegation of its Khidmat-e-Khalq Foundation backed by medical staff along with medicines have reached Islamabad to rescue the earthquake victims.

Incharge MQM’s media committee Syed Saif Abass said: “ MQM’s parliamentary leader Dr. Farooq Sattar along with a team of medical doctors has reached Islamabad.”

The delegation would meet with Prime Minsiter Shaukat Aziz and will hand over a cheque of Rs 5 million to him for the presidential relief fund for the earthquake victims, he told. While, another delegation of MQM made up of ten doctors of the party’s medical academy would join rescue and aid work in the affected areas.

Medicines would also be distributed amongst the victims.

Manmohan phones Musharraf, expresses grief over quake casualties

ISLAMABAD: Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Saturday talked to Pakistan President Gen Pervez Musharraf via telephone and expressed his deep sense of grief over the loss of precious lives in quake.

Expressing his heartfelt sympathies with victim families, Manmohan Singh offered aid for the quake affectees.

Death toll from Pakistani earthquake over 3000: Official

ISLAMABAD: The death toll from the worst ever earthquake in Pakistan has increased beyond 3000 including 1660 alone in North-West Frontier province, according to Pakistani officials.

Amongst those killed in NWFP were male and female students.

At least 200 soldiers of Pakistan Army have also died in the calamity and 300 other soldiers injured, according to reports.

Pakistna Army spokesman Sahukat Sultan told that the earthquake has also caused a heavy loss to the military infrastructure.

More serious massive losses were also been caused to country’s different areas, the spokesman said.

65 persons killed in Kaghan Valley landsliding

ISLAMABAD: At least 65 persons were killed due to landsliding in Kaghan Valley after strong quake jolted several parts of the country on Saturday morning.

According to reports, all these people were offering funeral prayers of a person who died in quake earlier in Saturday morning.

At least 200 Pakistani soldiers martyred in quake: ISPR

ISLAMABAD: At least 200 soldiers of Pakistan army were also martyred in the Saturday quake in various parts of the country.

Spokesman for ISPR Maj Gen Shaukat Sultan said that at least 200 Jawans and officers of Pakistan Army were also martyred in quake, which rattled the different parts of country Saturday.

Confirmed death toll in quake passes 1,800: officials ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (AFP) The confirmed death toll in Saturday's massive earthquake, which rocked India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, has passed 1,800, officials said. "The death toll is between 550 and 600 in North West Frontier Province and it is likely to rise," Riffat Pasha, the provincial head of police said. Some 250 people were confirmed dead and thousands more injured in Muzaffarabad,a government official said adding that "there is a massive devastation in the city.” "Village after village has been wiped out" in Azad Kashmir, an army relief official said from Muzaffarabad said. "The Neelum River has been blocked because whole villages have fallen into the water," the official added. (Posted @ 20:35 PST)

seprtr2.gif

82 people pulled out alive from Islamabad’s tower blocks ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (Reuters): In Islamabad, 82 people were pulled out alive from two multi-storey apartment blocks that were reduced to rubble. But a government official said that rescuers also found the bodies of 10 people including seven Pakistanis, an Egyptian and two Japanese, one of whom was a two-year-old child. (Posted @ 23:35 PST)

seprtr2.gif
1000 killed in Azad Kashmir; 300 killed in occupied Kashmir ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (Reuters) Azad Kashmir was most severely affected by the earthquake and aid is needed immediately as winter is setting in, aid agency Oxfam said on Saturday. "It is becoming clear that the most affected area is Azad Kashmir where 5 out of 7 divisions are severely affected," Raphael Sindaye, Oxfam's humanitarian response coordinator in Islamabad, said in a statement. More than 1,000 people were killed in Azad Kashmir alone, a senior relief official said. "The death toll is certainly more than a thousand in Kashmir," amry relief official Major Rana Nisar said from Muzaffarabad. Also nearly 300 people died on Saturday in occupied Kashmir, Information Minister S. Jaipal Reddy said after a cabinet meeting. Those killed include civilians as well as army personnel and border security guards. An emergency meeting chaired by Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announced one billion rupees (22 million dollars) in federal aid to the state government of occupied Kashmir. State authorities reported at least 500 houses and buildings damaged in the quake. An army spokesman said 36 Indian soldiers stationed on the Line of Control died when some of the forward posts caved in, while others were hit by falling debris. (Posted @ 22:45 PST)

seprtr2.gif

seprtr2.gif

Relief Cell established in Prime Minister House ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (APP): "Earthquake Relief Cell" has been established in Prime Minister House. It will work round the clock and will receive complaints from the earthquake affectees. The phone numbers are: 9213891 or 9222999. Earthquake Relief Cell has also been established in the Ministry of Interior.(Posted @ 16:15 PST)

Please Visit our Sponsor (Ads open in separate window)</a>

President's relief fund established for earthquake victims Islamabad, Oct 8 PPI: The President's relief fund has been established for the victims of the earthquake. People including overseas Pakistanis have been appealed to generously donate. Donations can be made in all branches of State Bank of Pakistan, all treasury branches and branches of National Bank, Habib Bank, United Bank, Muslim Commercial Bank and Allied Bank in the country. (Posted @ 22:50 PST)

seprtr2.gif

New aftershocks rock Islamabad, adjoining areas ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (AFP) Strong aftershocks including one measuring more than 6.0 on the Richter scale rattled Islamabad on Saturday. There have been at least 14 aftershocks since the 7.6-strength tremor earlier in the day, and they could continue for the next 48 hours, the chief of the country's meteorological department, Qamar Uzzman said. "It was a strong aftershock. Its magnitude appears to be more than six," he said of the strongest aftershock which hit at around 3:50 pm (1050 GMT), almost exactly seven hours after the main quake. The epicenter of the aftershocks appears to be shifting from north to northeast "towards the Kashmir side," he added. (First Posted @17:35 PST Updated@) 23:05 PST)

seprtr2.gif

Indian PM offers quake aid to Pakistan; calls Musharraf NEW DELHI, Oct 8 (AFP) Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has offered to help Pakistan with rescue and relief operations in the wake of Saturday's earthquake. "While parts of India have also suffered from this unexpected natural disaster, we are prepared to extend any assistance with rescue and relief which you may deem appropriate," Singh said in a message to President Pervez Musharraf. Singh on Saturday evening also telephoned Musharraf and expressed sympathies and condolences from the people and government of India for the earthquake victims in Pakistan. Musharraf thanked Singh for his kind sentiments and also condoled with the government and people of India on the tragic loss of lives on the Indian side. (First Posted @ 20:25 PST Updated 23:05 PST)

European countries offer aid to quake-hit South Asia BRUSSELS, Oct 8 (AFP) European countries responded swiftly to Saturday's massive earthquake that hit Pakistan, India and Afghanistan, offering aid and funds as well as condolences. The European Commission said up to three million euros (3.6 million dollars) could be approved within a day if requested by agencies working on the ground. A spokesman said the commission's Humanitarian Aid department (ECHO) was in touch with two organizations, Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF) Netherlands and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) about the crisis. British Foreign Secretary Jack Straw for his part said, "we are offering help to the Pakistani government and are ready to respond to all requests." Overseas Development Minister Hillary Benn, calling the earthquake, "a major disaster," said British search and rescue teams were ready to fly out to the affected areas as soon as help is requested. In Berlin Foreign Minister Joschka Fischer said Germany had immediately released 50,000 euros to be made available to Pakistani authorities through Berlin's embassy in Islamabad.Turkey also offered aid to Pakistan, Anatolia news agency reported, quoting Foreign Minister Abdullah Gul. Turkish civil defence and Red Crescent teams, experienced in working in earthquake zones, had been placed on alert. Greece also said it was ready to send a team of specialists to the region. Elsewhere, French President Jacques Chirac sent a message of support to his President Musharraf, his office said. Musharraf received a similar message from Russia's President Vladimir Putin, the Kremlin said. (Posted @ 20:36 PST)

seprtr2.gif

British earthquake equipment to reach Pakistan early Sunday ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (APP): The British government has despatched earthquake and heat-seeking equipment to help in relief and rescue efforts in Pakistan, official sources said on Saturday. A team of experts is also coming with the equipment which is used to track people trapped in rubble. China Earthquake Administration has also offered Pakistan with search and rescue assistance.(Posted@20:40 PST)

seprtr2.gif

China sends 50-member rescue team to Pakistan ISLAMABAD, Oct 8 (APP): China has rushed to Pakistan a 50-member strong search and rescue team to assist in search and rescue operations in the earthquake affected areas of Pakistan. The team also comprises of paramedics and is carrying the latest equipment for rescue operations. (Posted @ 23:10 PST)

Please Visit our Sponsor (Ads open in separate window)</a>

Ireland pledges million euros in earthquake aid for Pakistan DUBLIN, Oct 8 (AFP) The Irish government Saturday pledged an initial one million euros (1.2 million dollars) to assist with immediate needs to deal with the aftermath of the earthquake in northern Pakistan. The initial funding will be available for the Red Cross and Red Crescent organizations. (Posted@20:39)

OMG is this a typo?

CNN Breaking News :

"Pakistan earthquake toll reaches 18,000 dead and 41,000 injured, a spokesman for Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf tells CNN."

lahori2 said:
OMG is this a typo?

I am afraid it is not a typo: It is on ARY as well death toll is around 18000 and they are saying that there could be more.

This is really Sad.

Shayan_Sohail said:
I am afraid it is not a typo: It is on ARY as well death toll is around 18000 and they are saying that there could be more.

This is really Sad.

Its a typo.

The death toll is 1800.

Muddaser said:
Its a typo.

The death toll is 1800.

Is it a typo? ARY said it was 18000.

I really hope the death toll is as small as possible.

I'm not sure.

Some are saying close to 2000 and others are saying 18,000.

17,000 confirmed dead in Azad Kashmir and 1000 dead in NWFP and Punjab.

200 of the dead are PAK soldiers.

I hope I am wrong but I think my brother in law might have lost few members of his family and he can't seem to get in touch with the rest of the family in bhaag [muzaffarabad area]

I have gone and sent some money so he can buy much needed medical supplies as he along with few of his friends are going to bhaag to help out as all of them are doctors and by now should have already left.

houses of his uncle and both of his sisters have collapsed but they were okay I think but I really do hope rest of them are fine as well and together with his friends he is able to help out others there as well

My friend lost his aunt and 4 cousins in Muzaffarabad.

Mums younger sister.

Muzaffarabad seems to have taken a hard hit...my brother in laws cousin she was in the Muzaffarabad university got out of her dorm and said few minutes later the building collapsed while there were many girls inside.

It is indeed 18000 :( .
I just woke up and switched to BBC hoping the death toll is as minimum as possible but i was SHOCKED to read the toll had reached 18000 and lots of people are still rising.

I just HOPE that 18000 figure is just an estimate and they can find some more people alive and it goes down.

It's not just those 18000 dead, thousands of people are injured and thousands homeless that makes it a ULTRA tragic:(

You guys can also donate on RES CROSS Pakistan on their website. I also cancelled the plan to go to dead ODI game between Aus and World XI bcoz there are some people who need that money more than ICC.

Balakot has been completely destroyed, 70 percent of Muzafarabad is rubble now. We had two major after shocks earlier at night when we were sleeping first one at 5.6 and the second one at 5.4

That number is UNBELIEVABLE ! Ya Allah ! truly tragic is any loss of life but at this scale ?

That are is highly populated compared to USA, etc. An earthquack of that scale is expected to have that kind of effect. The number itself is tragic.

Usually we have like one janaza in 15 - 30 days in the mosque. In last 5 days of Ramadhan there were like 10 janazas. Almost 2 every day. It seems like Allah (SWT) is calling his favouret people back. Can this be for a reason?

Me and some friends stopped over at Balakot 3 years ago whilst travelling to Kaghaan. A beautiful place which may have been destroyed now.

I am praying that we do not hear further losses of life. I fear the worst. These areas must be covered with landslides and we will not be aware of the complete catastrophe until a few more days when these landslides are cleared. Given the disaster recovery operation going at a snail's pace it may be too late to save lives.

I request everyone to pray to Allah and to donate as much as we can. Islamic relief is sending emergency provisions from the UK.

Very sad and painful time for Pakistan. May Allah bless all those that have lost there lives Jannat. May Allah help the injured and ease there pain and suffering, and give strength and patience to the families, relatives and friends of the deceased. Ameen!

Inshallah our country will come through this painful tragedy. Ameen!

Being the holy month of Ramadan-ul-mubarak may we all do regular duaa for all affected and stay united.

Muddaser said:
My friend lost his aunt and 4 cousins in Muzaffarabad.

Mums younger sister.

Inna lillahi Wa Inna ilahi Rajiyoon. May Allah grant mercy and Jannat on the deceased. Ameen. My thoughts and prays with your friend, the family and relatives. May Allah give them patience and strength to cope from this terrible tragedy.

It is nice to know your friend has someone like you who is there for him.

When I fheard of the tragedy in Pakistan I was and am sad and thinking about those people suffering and that are injured and have lost there lives. However, I was really worried about relatives who Allah ka shukhar are fine...but Nauman bhai and (waqas cricketer from ch4 forum) came into my mind and I was really worried. I know from reading this thread Nauman and family are ok but am worried about Waqas (cricketer) who lives in Rawalpindi and I havent heard anything from him yet :(

Can someone post how much aid and assistance other countries have given to Pakistan?
It is sad we havent got the resources to tackle all this ourselves but theres no shame in asking and taking help.

Although every penny counts I am really disapointed and shocked that a rick country like Britain has only given £100,000 pounds.

Anyone know how Pak government is going to tackle everything in the comming days and months? I mean what plans in terms of rescue, relief, assistance to families to rebuild lives and what about clearing the debris and reconstruction??