24 probables announced by the PCB for the ODI series against NZ (Fakhar Zaman & Haris Sohail added)

Seems a bit of a random squad in places.

These new selectors are interesting.

I feel we do not have good coaching available at domestic level to guide the upcoming players.

Bowlers like akif javed , ghulam mudassar and mohammad umar of sindh have talent but really no one to guide them to become their best selves.

Same team with domestic performers making the final squad.

Odi team will pick itself

Sharjeel if selected
Imam/ Shan
Babar
Rizwan
Tayyab
Salman Agha
Qasim Akram/Nawaz
Shadab
Rauf
Naseem
Hasnain/Dahani

Kamran
Abrar

Is the final squad.

Afridi's picked almost everyone....to keep all happy.

Real test will be when he names the final 15.

Would have liked to see Haris Sohail included as well, he can be handy in the WC in Indian conditions.

The point is he will get injured at the time of WC

Better to invest in players who are fit and performing Kamran , Agha, Haris , Qasim, Shan to see who fits there.

I know these are probables and not the final squad, but 22 players for a 3-match series ? Sums up our muddled selection thinking.

Its a good idea it will make the final couple of Pakistan cup fixtured interesting.

Surprised that Haris Sohail and Saim Ayub didn't make the squad.

Aamer Jamal's a strange pick, he's been awful in the Pakistan Cup.

Same pacers picked in every format and we wonder why our pacers get injured.

Absolutely true on the fast bowlers. Saim should have been in also.

I think this is a good squad to select the final 16 from, much better than what the likes of M Wasim were doing.

Qasim Akram is a very good selection, I think even Sherjeel, if he comes off, can bring that X factor in the World Cup, at least they can try and see, which is fair enough. Amir Jamal may be in poor form but you don't look at just one season, you see the overall potential of thr player.

Yes, may be Haris Sohail is hard done by, I agree on that, but he may get a look in if others fail.

:))) [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] You were cheering for Afridi? This brainless hack just dropped Fakhar Zaman. Our cricket is officially doomed.

I hope Babar protest this decision

Fakhar is injured and don't want to play against NZ.

How on earth Hasan Ali keeps getting selected without any performance?

my 11 out of this

sharjeel
imam
Shan
babar
Kamran ghulam
haris WK
shadab khan
aamer jamal
abrar ahmed
hassan ali
haris rauf

rest of the squad

tayyab tahir
mohammad nawaz
qasim akram
mohammad wasim

btw where us usman khan shinwari these days? in his last 3 odis he picked ten wickets including a 5 fer but he failed in t20s and tests and lost his place in odis. Was a very good odi bowler.

Bhai, what greatness does Shan have that you are moving the greatest number 3 batsman in Pak history for?

Aamer Jamal has been awful in the odi cup why is he selected? He’s not better than a no 9 with the bat as well and he’s going over 8 an over with not many wickets.

What form? He scored a hundred in the last ODI series

Did you see him bat in-between that last 100?

It seems like once we see someone score a decent amount of runs (v Netherlands btw) we immediately think they deserve to be included.

Did you see him bat in-between that last 100?

It seems like once we see someone score a decent amount of runs (v Netherlands btw) we immediately think they deserve to be included.

He scored two hundred last year in SA as well. The alternatives are Abdullah Shafique, Shan and Sharjeel. They are nowhere near Fakhar's level

Iftikhar and Khushdil removed from middle order. Best ODI opener in Pakistan's history also removed.
We may see Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal back in the lineup soon.

Afridi is smarter than we think !

He scored two hundred last year in SA as well. The alternatives are Abdullah Shafique, Shan and Sharjeel. They are nowhere near Fakhar's level

It’s difficult to argue with the ignorant bro .
A man who averages 45@ 95 as an opener for Pak ( which has never happened ) is head and shoulders above any opener we have produced in the one day format . Barring Saeed Anwar nobody is at his level , and most definitely nobody in the current set up .

Should have picked Saim and Mubasir. The latter has performed much better than Qasim in both bowling and batting lately.

Just In: Haris Sohail And Fakhar zaman have been added to probables:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We have added Fakhar Zaman and Haris Sohail to the NZ probables list after they passed their fitness tests today. The two are also playing in Pak Cup and doing well. <a href="https://t.co/niK52G2XfH">pic.twitter.com/niK52G2XfH</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1608756751247245312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 30, 2022</a></blockquote>

Just In: Haris Sohail And Fakhar zaman have been added to probables:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We have added Fakhar Zaman and Haris Sohail to the NZ probables list after they passed their fitness tests today. The two are also playing in Pak Cup and doing well. <a href="https://t.co/niK52G2XfH">pic.twitter.com/niK52G2XfH</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1608756751247245312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 30, 2022</a></blockquote>

No PCB release - gone back to the good old days PCB

A joker of a selector. Picking 2-3 additional players every day.

Next picks would be Ahmed Shehzad & Umar Akmal.

The Mayor of slog sweep city

Fakhar Zaman

Tension nahi leni boys. Everything will fall into place InshaAllah

I wanna play too...please add my name along with Rana Ji and Mamoon.
If you can ask half the squad what their role is, we'll happily advise how we can help.
Thanks

What's the point of announcing "probables" for a meaningless 3-match bilateral ODI series? Either you're selected or you're not.

Time for the Chief Selector to do some actual selecting, instead of naming every player that comes to mind.

This is getting a bit embarrassing but anyway, both of them belong in 1st XI for odis.

Afridi picked Squad:
Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan, Tayyab Tahir, Fakhar Zaman and Haris Sohail.

My Picked
1. Imam-Ul-Haq
2. Sharjeel Khan
3. Kamran Ghulam
4. Babar Azam
5. Salman Ali Agha
6. Mohammed Rizwan
7. Mohammad Wasim jr
8. Shahdab Khan
9. Harris Rauf
10. Naseem Shah
11. Abrar Ahmed

12. Fakhar Zaman
13. Hasan Ali
14. Tayyab Tahir
15. Mohammad Nawaz
16. Mohammad Haris

Fakhar zaman was a no brainer he's one of our best white ball opener we have produced in a long while.

I rather have inconsistent Fakhar in the squad who will make his stay count if he settles in than any other top order batsmen in this line up.

This is comical. No team does this nonsense & it's not like its some sort of extended tour or anything or overseas. It's literally just 3 matches at home and they have announced almost everyone decent to the ODI squad except Saim Ayub.

It's pretty clear Afridi does not know what he is doing and just looking at what the media & fans are saying to select players. You have to actually watch domestic matches to see how players play according to situations, what matchups they are good or weak against etc to make proper selections.

Im sure a new update will be made in a few days where every single Active cricker in pakistan will be included in the sqaud, Afridi will then randomly blindfold pick out 11 names out of a hat to play each game.

So a 22 Man squad is picked for 3 games just shows how competent and due diligence the selection committee is having, nuts they all have gone, NZ might whitewash us even if we have a 55man squad

Regardless of how many players are in the squad as long as Captain can put winning 11 in the field, that’s what matters.

For the first time in my life I am hoping Pakistan gets humiliated and white washed.

This is comical. No team does this nonsense & it's not like its some sort of extended tour or anything or overseas. It's literally just 3 matches at home and they have announced almost everyone decent to the ODI squad except Saim Ayub.

It's pretty clear Afridi does not know what he is doing and just looking at what the media & fans are saying to select players. You have to actually watch domestic matches to see how players play according to situations, what matchups they are good or weak against etc to make proper selections.

Very unprofessional way to do this.

If PCB wanted to have a high performers camp then they should do it that way.

For the first time in my life I am hoping Pakistan gets humiliated and white washed.

Very unfortunate

Chill out brother. It’s not as bad as you think it is, at least Asif Ali isn’t Captain yet

Could be 26 players tomorrow.

At this rate, we could have over 30 players before the series starts :)

For years, the real fans of Pakistan cricket were forced to watch Rizwan and Babar tuktuk at the top, yet never wished for a defeat…but now that we have a chance to see the greatest LOI opening partnership (SharFakh) the plastic fans want us to lose games…embarrassing.

Afridi is doing a great job..

Very happy to see him wipe away the duds KIA , Danish Aziz kinda players who were backed for zero performance..

Good to see him put

KG, TT, QA, SAA, and now HS for the middle order.. These are proper middle order batsman with proper cricketing shots not tullaybaaz or some gully mohalla cricketers.. KG & TT play spin really well.. With CWC in IND in mind this is indeed a great move.

With prev selection committee the middle order was non-existent with the players selected and continue to select bits and pieces..

After BABAR its the tail including Rizwan... now there seems to be a hope with the middle order batting..

My list of 16 would be

1. Sharjeel
  2. Fakhar
  3. Imam
  4. Babar
  5. Kamran
  6. Haris Sohail
  7. Haris (wk)
  8. Agha Salman
  9. Qasim
  10. Nawaz
  11. Shadab
  12. Wasim jnr
  13. Naseem
  14. Haris
  15. Dahani
  16. Tayyab Tahir

At this rate, they should just give us the list of players that weren't selected. It would be shorter. :yk

For years, the real fans of Pakistan cricket were forced to watch Rizwan and Babar tuktuk at the top, yet never wished for a defeat…but now that we have a chance to see the greatest LOI opening partnership (SharFakh) the plastic fans want us to lose games…embarrassing.

I confess

I never wished Pakistan to lose but I definitely wanted RizBar to fail.

They always did fail in my estimations anyways so who cares I suppose

I want iftikhar in the side.

He has the ability to play long innings after getting set.

I'd play him at 3 or 4.

Team is mostly settled only 1 spot is remaining imo
This should be persisted
Imam
Fakhar/Sharjeel
Babar
Haris sohail
Rizwan/M Haris
??????Asif/khushdil/ifti any finisher
shadab
nawaz
naseem/abrar
rauf
shaheen

Will they just keep adding players whenever their fans complain.... could end up with half of Pakistan selected before very long!

Afridi might as well increase the sqaud to 33 players, then everyone gets a game in the 3 match series.

Afridi continues to impress. Say what you want about him, but he has an eye for talent.

We need him to select players if we are to break away from pseudo statisticians who quote stats and make PowerPoints without understanding the stats and their context and then end up with a bunch of stat padders who couldn’t care less if the team wins or loses.

Afridi continues to impress. Say what you want about him, but he has an eye for talent.

We need him to select players if we are to break away from pseudo statisticians who quote stats and make PowerPoints without understanding the stats and their context and then end up with a bunch of stat padders who couldn’t care less if the team wins or loses.

So selecting lots of players is an eye for talent. I don't mind left field thinking but outside Ihsanullah and Qasim,it's the same players

To be fair, you and I can have an eye for talent too if we get to pick a million players. :))

Some of the selections have been ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

Haris Sohail
Sharjeel Khan

NEED: UMAR AKMAL BACK!

This team with Imam and Shan in ODIs/T20s is like from the 1980s, that can only play at 70 to 80 strike rate.

So selecting lots of players is an eye for talent. I don't mind left field thinking but outside Ihsanullah and Qasim,it's the same players

What you on about??
no one has been selected yet this is a list of probables not the actual squad.

A couple players that must be picked taking in consideration were the 50 over world is.Both the below should be batting at 4 and 5 they will ad stability and play spinning bowling very well.

Tayyab Tahir
Kamran Ghullam

The players I would drop from the 22 are.

Abdullah Shafique
Agha Salman
Ihsanullah
Abrar Ahmed
Hasnain
Amir Jamal
Hassan Ali

1. Rizwan
2. Imam
3. Fakhar
4. Babar
5. Kamran ghulam
6. Agha Salman
7. Shadab
8. Nawaz
9. Naseem
10. Haris Rauf
11. Dahani

I don’t think we should go back to the older, unfit or players involved in fixing. Need to move forward, players that can be around for many years.

1. Rizwan
2. Imam
3. Fakhar
4. Babar
5. Kamran ghulam
6. Agha Salman
7. Shadab
8. Nawaz
9. Naseem
10. Haris Rauf
11. Dahani

I don’t think we should go back to the older, unfit or players involved in fixing. Need to move forward, players that can be around for many years.

Well that’s got to be the most clueless XI and totally out of touch with reality XI in the current atmosphere

So basically he's only dropped Khushdil and Zahid Mehmood -- two very poor selections across last year -- and added deserving names/ young Players Babar did not want.

So one man show of Babar is over. It was widely reported Babar did not want players like Shan Masood or Imad Wasim in squads, and got his way with selections everytime..

The real test would be how does Afridi trim this squad down. I'd pick:

1. Sharjeel Khan - destructive modern day opener
2. Fakhar - our best opener over recent years
3. M Haris (wk) - another modern day player
4. Babar Azam - pure batter to free him up (often plays within himself due to captaincy/stat-padding),
5. Kamran Ghulam - solid middle order batter,
6. Haris Sohail - another solid middle order batter,
7. M Nawaz - aggressive; can be floated up at 5 or 6 if closer to death overs,
8. Shadab (c) - best captaincy material from permanent players,
9. M Hasnain - fastest bowler in Pakistan, very good in death overs, should not be given new ball, far better than fake all-rounder MW
10. Haris Rauf,
11. Naseem Shah

Abrar Ahmed - for real spinning pitch can replace one pacer or injured spinner,
Imam-ul-Haq - too slow for modern day but cannot drop him for his average beefed up by bashing minnows,
Mohammad Rizwan - best behind stumps, can replace M Haris if later is found to have buttery fingers,
Shahnawaz Dahani - back up pacer with good height and skills,
Shan Masood - has been phenomenal in domestics

That's my 16.

So basically he's only dropped Khushdil and Zahid Mehmood -- two very poor selections across last year -- and added deserving names/ young Players Babar did not want.

So one man show of Babar is over. It was widely reported Babar did not want players like Shan Masood or Imad Wasim in squads, and got his way with selections everytime..

4. Babar Azam - pure batter to free him up (often plays within himself due to captaincy/stat-padding),
9. M Hasnain - fastest bowler in Pakistan, very good in death overs, should not be given new ball, far better than fake all-rounder MW
10. Haris Rauf,
11. Naseem Shah

Imam-ul-Haq - too slow for modern day but cannot drop him for his average beefed up by bashing minnows,
Mohammad Rizwan - best behind stumps, can replace M Haris if later is found to have buttery fingers,

That's my 16.

Good 16, and I agree. It’s good to see someone finally not underestimating Hasnain.

But yes, the trim down to a 15-16 man squad will be the test for Afridi.

10. Haris Rauf,
11. Naseem Shah

That's my 16.

I would go with same squad but replace imam with sharjeel, because sharjeel is a hack and will give his wicket away 9 out of 10 times we already have fakhar who loves gifting his wicket we dont need both openeres to be walking wickets

People sure do love throw the word “hack” around for any batsman who has an aggressive and attacking approach.

Please do explain how he’s a hack?

People sure do love throw the word “hack” around for any batsman who has an aggressive and attacking approach.

Please do explain how he’s a hack?

His last century in the national cup he had 4-5 catches dropped.. his average isnt very i spiring for an international opener as well.

This is not the 1st time probables have been announced because its afridi so its nonsense

But it looks silly. It's not as if the guys are going abroad to play in leagues and need to know on an urgent basis whether they are in the running or not. Pick a squad of 15 and get on with it.

I don’t even think there’s goona be a training camp or anything so how will Afridi make his final decision? Harris Sohail has only played 3 matches in the Pakistan cup, Fakhar is coming off an injury, etc.

They will likely look at which player is in form based on semi final & finals of the Pakistan cup.

There's also just obvious cuts too like Abdullah/Jamal/Hasan/Shan/one of Hasnain/Dahani/Ihsanullah/Haris (no need for backup WK in the squad in a home series - if there's an injury, he can replace Rizwan then. He is also just a T20 player for now until he improves).

His last century in the national cup he had 4-5 catches dropped.. his average isnt very i spiring for an international opener as well.

Sachin was dropped 4 times in Mohali, is he a hack?

His average is great considering that he has a strike rate of 113.

If you look at the English batsmen in ODI’s, most of them are averaging mid 30’s+ with a strike rate over 90.

Also, please do keep in mind that Sharjeel didn’t have the luxury of playing Zimbabwe and Australia C in a tri series.

If BoomBoom picks this 16 man squad he’ll go down as the GOAT CS.

Babar Azam (c)
Shadab Khan (vc)
Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel Khan
Mohammad Haris (wk)
Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
Tayyab Tahir
Qasim Akram
Haris Sohail
Aamer Jamal
Abrar Ahmed
Shaheen Afridi