24 probables announced by the PCB for the ODI series against NZ (Fakhar Zaman & Haris Sohail added)

The Men’s Interim National Selection Committee has named 22 probables for the three ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches against New Zealand, which will be played here at the National Bank Cricket Arena on 9, 11 and 13 January.

The selectors will announce the 16-player squad following the conclusion of the Pakistan Cup and during the second Test, which will also be played here from 2-6 January.

Opener Sharjeel Khan has been named after playing his 25th and final ODI in January 2017, while Shan Masood, who played against Australia in five ODIs in the UAE in 2019, has also been included in the probables list.

The selectors have included six players who are yet to make an ODI appearance. They are: Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Ihsanullah, Kamran Ghulam, Qasim Akram and Tayyab Tahir.

Fakhar Zaman, Khushdil Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi (injured) and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the squad for the ODI series against the Netherlands, have not been named in the probables list.

Probables:

Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan and Tayyab Tahir

Sharjeel is back but I would take Saim Ayub over him any day. Not a bad list at all tbh.

There is no mention of Fakhar Zaman being injured like Shaheen? Is really dropped from the ODI team?

Khusdhil Shah has done well in ODIs. He finished two matches well(vs Australia and West Indies), don't understand him being dropped

Would have liked to have seen Zafar instead of Nawaz and Hasnain instead of Hasan or Wasim. Saim Ayub should've been there ahead of Sharjeel and Masood.

There is no mention of Fakhar Zaman being injured like Shaheen? Is really dropped from the ODI team?

Khusdhil Shah has done well in ODIs. He finished two matches well(vs Australia and West Indies), don't understand him being dropped

Yes surprised about fakhar he played a List A game yesterday. Kushdil the sooner he’s gone the better a very limited batsmen.

No Sarfaraz Ahmed - thought he was the flavour of the month!

Yes surprised about fakhar he played a List A game yesterday. Kushdil the sooner he’s gone the better a very limited batsmen.

What is duckridi thinking? Something against Fakhar Zaman or what?

:))) [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] You were cheering for Afridi? This brainless hack just dropped Fakhar Zaman. Our cricket is officially doomed.

I hope Babar protest this decision

Fakhar is coming back from bad injury + he was being talked about as being dropped before he was injured so he can get his form back.

Not really a surprise.

Fakhar is coming back from bad injury + he was being talked about as being dropped before he was injured so he can get his form back.

Not really a surprise.

What form? He scored a hundred in the last ODI series

So Fakhar has been dropped based on his T20 form? lol.

Sharjeel has been picked over Saim Ayub? The latter is the younger & better batsmen and should be the guy they should be grooming for the future. On what basis is Abdullah even included in the squad? Because of his Test form?

Nice to see Abrar included and I like that they're keeping a close eye on Ihsanullah & Qasim Akram but extremely disappointed with Sharjeel inclusion over Saim Ayub. The only squad Sharjeel makes sense for is T20's.

A very good squad, would had liked to seen Hurraira in place of Sharjeel.

Huraira is only even on the first choice squad for List A. He is currently struggling in 2nd XI during the List A tournament. Don't confuse the formats.

So Fakhar has been dropped based on his T20 form? lol.

Sharjeel has been picked over Saim Ayub? The latter is the younger & better batsmen and should be the guy they should be grooming for the future. On what basis is Abdullah even included in the squad? Because of his Test form?

Nice to see Abrar included and I like that they're keeping a close eye on Ihsanullah & Qasim Akram but extremely disappointed with Sharjeel inclusion over Saim Ayub. The only squad Sharjeel makes sense for is T20's.

Where is Harris sohail

Busy being scapegoated for the NZ tour back in 2021.

Dropped entirely from ODI's based on his Test performance. In all fairness, he was fine but not spectacular in QeA and has only played two matches in List A so far. Not sure why he doesn't play all the domestic matches... is it fitness issues or the coaches dropping him here & there? It's been a mystery.

Fakhar zaman is probably going to be given time to recover from his injury .

He has just recovered and played one game in the Pakistan Cup. Otherwise makes no sense to drop him from the one day format.

He is one of our finest in this format .

Some good selections with Ihsanullah. He isn't ready but looking at the rubbish that gets picked on regular basis, he definitely needs to be there. Qasim also a good selection but Mubashir should be there. Its a mistake Wasim also made. I bet Afridi has never heard of him or seen him play

Overall a satisfactory squad.I think Saim Ayub should have been picked over Sharjeel a much younger fitter version of Sharjeel Khan.

I expect them to drop these players.

Abdullah Shafique,Aamer Jamal,Hassan Ali,Salman Ali Agha,Abrar Ahmed.

My xi for New Zealand

Sharjeel Khan
Imaam Ul haq
Babar Azam
Kamran Ghullam
Tayyab Tahir
Muhammed Haris
Qasim Akram
Shadab
Rauf
Naseem
Ihsanullah

Dahani
Nawaz
Masood
Rizwan

Busy being scapegoated for the NZ tour back in 2021.

Dropped entirely from ODI's based on his Test performance. In all fairness, he was fine but not spectacular in QeA and has only played two matches in List A so far. Not sure why he doesn't play all the domestic matches... is it fitness issues or the coaches dropping him here & there? It's been a mystery.

I think his fitness is a major concern. With his knee issues, he’s unable to run quick runs, and accordingly you need to carry him in the field. If you had a sprightly ten other players, you can perhaps accommodate Haris. But in a team where it’s likely that Sharjeel and a post injury Shaheen will play, you can’t carry any more passengers.

Hopefully this joker Afridi will be out of the selection committee soon. Doesn't follow domestic cricket at all

Fakhar's not inured or rested as they like to say.

Pure and simple - dropped.

Surprised that Haris Sohail and Saim Ayub didn't make the squad.

Aamer Jamal's a strange pick, he's been awful in the Pakistan Cup.

Same pacers picked in every format and we wonder why our pacers get injured.

Things I’d like to see:

- Qasim played at 6 in the series, ahead of Salman Agha.

- Rizzy played at a flexible 4/5 in the order. For all of Rizwan’s naysayers, ODIs really are his perfect format, and he’s the best wicket keeper in Pakistan, which is essential when you’re keeping to the Pakistan attack.

- Aamir Jamal given a proper go at No. 7. Pakistan need to give him a proper chance, to truly gauge his all round abilities.

- Give both Mohammed Haris and Kamran Ghulam opportunities at No.5. They’re both completely different batsmen, but Pak can split the ODIs between them and try different strategies I.e. go hard at the top and play Ghulam at 5 or play conservatively at the top and have Haris blaze away at no.5

- be open minded enough to not play Imam. We all know that Sharjeel is playing, and we also know that Fakhar can play a slightly less aggressive role when he’s back from injury as well, so no harm in seeing how the side does by playing Sharjeel and another opener not named Imam, for some of the matches.

- Don’t mess around with Ihsanullah. Pakistan are fine for white ball pace bowling. Given that Amir will also probably make a comeback soon, I’d rather Ihsanullah gets a proper go in 2024.

- Have a good look at Abrar. Shadab doesn’t need to play every game.

- Ease Haris Rauf back in carefully. He’s a guaranteed starter at the WC, and thereby they need to handle his recovery with kid gloves. I’d be tempted to not play him in more than two games.

- Not play Shan Masood or Tayyab Tahir. I hugely respect Shan, but I’d rather he stays focused on tests for now. Similarly with Tayyab Tahir, he’s a good player, but there are more interesting choices ahead of him in the middle order.

Amad Butt:

Batting: 55.16 average & 120 SR - has a century this season too. Has a 150 SR in his T20 career and his bowling averages are quite decent in his domestic career. Always ignored and has not played a single game for Pakistan and I am pretty sure he wasn't even selected for PSL...

Bowling: 13 wickets in 9 matches at 6.20 economy.

Saim Ayub:

2nd in runs amongst all players. 49.55 average & 109 SR. Has 2 centuries this season too and was the best batsmen in T20 too. Has been one of the main reason for a transformed Sindh side which won the T20 cup and played in FC final.

I am really struggling to make sense of Jamal's inclusion in ODI's. It was understandable for T20's but not ODI's and I am not sure why Amad Butt has never even been tried despite the gaping hole for a pace allrounder.

On what basis this joker Afridi has dropped Fakhar Zaman. Sethi has made a brainless dude like Afrdii a selector. He should have never sacked Mohammad Waseem till they found a permanent selection committee.

Surprised that Haris Sohail and Saim Ayub didn't make the squad.

Aamer Jamal's a strange pick, he's been awful in the Pakistan Cup.

Same pacers picked in every format and we wonder why our pacers get injured.

I agree on Saim Ayub, however I’m assuming that the selectors want to see how he does in the PSL, to gauge his temperament under the spotlight.

Haris Sohail is technically Pakistan’s best batsman not named Babar Azam. However, he’s also someone who’s severely restricted because of his knee issues. He’s unable to take quick singles, which impedes his strike partner and his own strike rate. He’s also not exactly sprightly in the field. That’s ok, if you have one of those in your team. But you’ll also likely be carrying Sharjeel, a post injury Shaheen and possibly a lost injury Fakhar in your side. You can only accommodate so many passengers until it has a real detrimental affect in the field I.e. runs conceded and match turning catches dropped.

Aamir Jamal’s Pakistan Cup stats are admittedly not great, but that tournament is being played on absolute roads. He showed enough temperament in the England t20 series to merit a proper go in the ODI series. Pakistan have been crying out for a pace bowling all rounder for Donkey’s years and the lad best suited for the role deserves a go against NZ.

Agree on the pacers, which is why I’d like to see Dahani play the majority of the games, whilst Naseem and Haris are eased back in.

A proven ball tamperer picking a proven spot fixer. That's Pakistan cricket for you. We have normalized corruption and do not see any issue with it.

Amad Butt:

Batting: 55.16 average & 120 SR - has a century this season too. Has a 150 SR in his T20 career and his bowling averages are quite decent in his domestic career. Always ignored and has not played a single game for Pakistan and I am pretty sure he wasn't even selected for PSL...

Bowling: 13 wickets in 9 matches at 6.20 economy.

Saim Ayub:

2nd in runs amongst all players. 49.55 average & 109 SR. Has 2 centuries this season too and was the best batsmen in T20 too. Has been one of the main reason for a transformed Sindh side which won the T20 cup and played in FC final.

I am really struggling to make sense of Jamal's inclusion in ODI's. It was understandable for T20's but not ODI's and I am not sure why Amad Butt has never even been tried despite the gaping hole for a pace allrounder.

I agree on Saim, however I think inshAllah if he performs in the PSL he’s be on the next ODI squad. I appreciate it’s a different format, but I imagine they want to see how he does in the spotlight.

Hard disagree on Amad though. I agree that his batting is very appealing, but his bowling really is much of a muchness. I appreciate that this view is anecdotal, but I’ve seen him taken apart enough times both domestically and in the PSL to know that he’s just short of international calibre. ‘Appreciate that you disagree on this player.

I think with Aamir Jamal, yes he’s not been great in the Pakistan Cup, but that tournament has been played on terrible Pindi-esque wickets. Half of international cricket is having the correct temperament and this lad showed buckets of that in the England t20 series. I’d like to see him get an extended go before we form a conclusion on him.

A proven ball tamperer picking a proven spot fixer. That's Pakistan cricket for you. We have normalized corruption and do not see any issue with it.

They both served their punishments. I don’t see similar ‘holier than thou’ judgemental energy directed at Warner, Smith, Warne or Atherton whenever their names are ever mentioned anywhere.

Tom Dick and Harry , Eena Meena Deeka, Amar Akbar Anthony and Pakistan team selections a tale of comedies, is this national team or apprentice workshop absolute filth

Fakhar Zaman had a knee injury which forced him out of the T20 WC. Has he even recovered?

The Men’s Interim National Selection Committee has named 21 probables for the three ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches against New Zealand, which will be played here at the National Bank Cricket Arena on 9, 11 and 13 January.

The selectors will announce the 16-player squad following the conclusion of the Pakistan Cup and during the second Test, which will also be played here from 2-6 January.

Opener Sharjeel Khan has been named after playing his 25th and final ODI in January 2017, while Shan Masood, who played against Australia in five ODIs in the UAE in 2019, has also been included in the probables list.

The selectors have included six players who are yet to make an ODI appearance. They are: Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Ihsanullah, Kamran Ghulam, Qasim Akram and Tayyab Tahir.

Fakhar Zaman, Khushdil Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi (injured) and Zahid Mehmood, who were part of the squad for the ODI series against the Netherlands, have not been named in the probables list.

Probables:

Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan and Tayyab Tahir

Why Rizwan is still selected in ODIs? Pakistan needs to look past him

Shocking decision to drop Fakhar and Khushdil. Also, what did Ifikhar do wrong?

Looks like Afridi wants to destroy us in the one format we were doing well as well.

Shocking decision to drop Fakhar and Khushdil. Also, what did Ifikhar do wrong?

Looks like Afridi wants to destroy us in the one format we were doing well as well.

I’d like to think that they’re easing Fakhar back into things. His next big tournament will be the PSL. Always better to be cautious with knee injuries and the road to rehabilitation. Fakhar is too important a player to be rushed back for a nothing series against NZ B. It may seem like he’s dropped, but I think they’re being cautious like they are with Shaheen.

With Khushdil, his ODI performances merit him a place in the team. However, the last 6 months have been hell on him mentally (especially when the crowd turned on him) and he needs to regain some semblance of confidence, via the Pakistan Cup and the PSL. Putting him out there again, despite his ODI record, exacerbates his confidence issues.

Ifti has been ok, but I imagine that the selectors know what he can do, and want to try other options (Qasim/Haris/Ghulam/Tayyab) in a low value series to see if the alternatives are more promising or not.

They both served their punishments. I don’t see similar ‘holier than thou’ judgemental energy directed at Warner, Smith, Warne or Atherton whenever their names are ever mentioned anywhere.

Ball tampering is completely different to spot fixing.

I've never been against Afridi's selection because ball tampering is an open secret. Every team does it to an extent. In fact so much so, there's a debate on making ball tampering legal.

Spot fixing and match fixing should be lifetime bans straightaway. I do not condone Warne and Waugh's spot fixing (providing information to bookies) and they should've been banned by the Australian cricket board. But I guess it wasn't a big issue back in 1994/1995 and ACB conveniently covered it up.

Pakistan has no reason to allow Sharjeel back into the team given he's not the first one to commit this crime. He has numerous precedents before him therefore he doesn't deserve any sort of leeway.

A DUI in Canada is considered a criminal offence and could lead to you never getting Canadian citizenship. Canada doesn't come back and tell you, it's ok, you served your punishment so here's your citizenship.

Are you actually equating a DUI to a failure to report an approach by a bookie

Lol At Sharjeel khan. This guy is a hit or miss player.He just plays many dots and then tries to hit a six. On his day he may win a game against minnow but he would be exosed against good teams. The other day i saw him in Pakistan cup he got exposed by mighty kashif bhatti 😂😂. He bowled four dots to sharjeel and then sharjeel as usual tried to hit a six and got caught on a 50m boundary lol 😂😂. These guys should be kept as far away from the team as possible because their virus of playing dot balls can quickly spread to other players 😂😂😂

Glad to see Tayyab Tahir, Kamran Ghulam, and Qasim Akram name their, its about time, hope all three can make the final 16, but chances are they will take 1 or 2 maximum from the list above. I would go with Kamran and Qasim as first choice, personally.

More importantly who ever is selected I hope they can be backed and get all three games, no point in having them warm the bench.

Khushdil, should be dropped from T20 but for ODI, i felt it was his best format imo, but regardless the 21 probable's seem like a good prospect of players, hoping final 16 squad will be good, and hope new players can get a chance.

Babar Azam
Imam Ul Haq
Mohammad Haris (WK)
Sharjeel Khan
Tayyab Tahir
Shan Masood

Qasim Akram
Kamran Ghulam
Salman Ali Agha

Shadab Khan
Mohammad Nawaz
Abrar Ahmad

Dahani
Rauf
Naseem Shah
Wasim Jr.

I would rest Rizwan, to give Haris more of a chance.

I’d like to think that they’re easing Fakhar back into things. His next big tournament will be the PSL. Always better to be cautious with knee injuries and the road to rehabilitation. Fakhar is too important a player to be rushed back for a nothing series against NZ B. It may seem like he’s dropped, but I think they’re being cautious like they are with Shaheen.

With Khushdil, his ODI performances merit him a place in the team. However, the last 6 months have been hell on him mentally (especially when the crowd turned on him) and he needs to regain some semblance of confidence, via the Pakistan Cup and the PSL. Putting him out there again, despite his ODI record, exacerbates his confidence issues.

Ifti has been ok, but I imagine that the selectors know what he can do, and want to try other options (Qasim/Haris/Ghulam/Tayyab) in a low value series to see if the alternatives are more promising or not.

I don't know man. I think doing well for Pakistan in the only format he has been good at, would go a long way in alleviating Khushdil's confidence. He has had a long time away from the starting eleven. I don't think that more time away is going to improve his confidence. If anything, it would probably hurt his confidence. Especially because he was really clicking in the No.6/7 role and even finished off a couple of high-scoring run-chases for us. Not even making the squad after some of those performances might be demotivating for him.

It would also help if the chief-selector would let us know that Fakhar has been rested and not dropped, if that is indeed the case.

It's a mediocre squad. All duff players except Babar, long way to go before we become competitive again and this needs to happen quick with WC coming up next year.

PCB change their mind....

==

Now 22 Probables - Hasnain added

Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Aamer Jamal, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Ihsanullah, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan and Tayyab Tahir

Nice selection..However for odi World Cup as is being played in Indian pitches, i would love to see Pakistan team as
Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel khan
Shaan Masood
Babar Azam
M.Haris(Wk)
Kamran Ghulam
Shahdab khan
M.Nawaz
Naseem
Afridi
Rauf

Shan masood selected yet again :facepalm: Nepotism runs supreme in PCB, Seems like no matter who selectors are the guy gets picked.

Khushdil is a million times better than Shan and Abdullah

I feel that by the time I wake up tomorrow (Inshallah), there could be 44 in the probables.

Lmao 22 players...

And somehow Fakhar not amongst one of them. It would be understandable if he wasn't picked based on injury issues but that doesn't seem to be the case as he is getting healthy now. He is the best ODI opener Pakistan have ever had since Anwar.

Since start of 2021, he has a 44.53 AVG & 89 SR and we witnessed one of the greatest ODI knocks ever by a Pakistani batsmen (193 vs SA).

Khushdil is a million times better than Shan and Abdullah

He has won us two matches this year, I feel this is his format. He takes his time, it is not ideal in T20 but works wonders in ODIs.

You though Afridi was a messiah for Pakistan cricket, clearly you were wrong.

Abdullah Shafique has a mediocre white ball record yet he gets picked. Kidar ki parchi hai yeh?

He has won us two matches this year, I feel this is his format. He takes his time, it is not ideal in T20 but works wonders in ODIs.

You though Afridi was a messiah for Pakistan cricket, clearly you were wrong.
Oh bhai tension na lo

For the first time Pakistan is actually fielding a B/C string side against a B/C string side

Mate if Babar is captain, Rizwan is opening with Imam

Full dosti yaari mahaul

He’s not being rushed back like he was for the World Cup . He will get some games in the Pakistan cup and PSL to get back to full fitness .

He’s a dynamite of a one day bat .

Mate if Babar is captain, Rizwan is opening with Imam

Full dosti yaari mahaul

This can be another theory. Rizwan wants to open in ODIs, and Shan in the middle order. Hopeless situation. It is always Fakhar that is crucified for Rizwan.

Lmao 22 players...

And somehow Fakhar not amongst one of them. It would be understandable if he wasn't picked based on injury issues but that doesn't seem to be the case as he is getting healthy now. He is the best ODI opener Pakistan have ever had since Anwar.

Since start of 2021, he has a 44.53 AVG & 89 SR and we witnessed one of the greatest ODI knocks ever by a Pakistani batsmen (193 vs SA).

I personally think he’s being eased back . No other reason . He’s not match fit at all .

This can be another theory. Rizwan wants to open in ODIs, and Shan in the middle order. Hopeless situation. It is always Fakhar that is crucified for Rizwan.

Tension kyun le raha hai mera bhai? Hum hain na?

We will sort it out.

Oh wait Mickey might be the coach and not Saqlain

He will make sure no friends with benefits moves are made by Babar

Looks like Boom Boom’s rush of blood is not limited to the pitch but it’s innate :)) Fakhar is arguably Pak’s best bat in ODI’s and he is dropped, why? lol

Oh wait Mickey might be the coach and not Saqlain

He will make sure no friends with benefits moves are made by Babar

I think he will ensure it, Amir, Imad and the Rattle Manj Sharjeel will soon join Babar, not long before all these Karachi buddies are back together :afridi

rizwan is getting a free ride in tests because of his t20 performance.

averages only 24 since jan 2020 in odis.

Shan masood has a list A average of 57 , though his odis with pakistan have been mediocre but i think this is the only format which suits him. Lets see.

why aamer jamal over amad butt? look at the performance for gods sake.

my 11 out of this

sharjeel
imam
Shan
babar
Kamran ghulam
haris WK
shadab khan
aamer jamal
abrar ahmed
hassan ali
haris rauf

rest of the squad

tayyab tahir
mohammad nawaz
qasim akram
mohammad wasim

btw where us usman khan shinwari these days? in his last 3 odis he picked ten wickets including a 5 fer but he failed in t20s and tests and lost his place in odis. Was a very good odi bowler.

Are you actually equating a DUI to a failure to report an approach by a bookie

I'm not equating a DUI to spot fixing. I'm providing parallels to this notion that "you should be allowed leeway because you've served your punishment." Serving your punishment is no excuse. Once you commit criminal offences, you are subjected to punishment for the rest of your life in some form.

Afridi's picked almost everyone....to keep all happy.

Real test will be when he names the final 15.

Would have liked to see Haris Sohail included as well, he can be handy in the WC in Indian conditions.