Advice needed from Karachiwallas on my upcoming visit to Karachi

Savak

World Star
I am going to be visiting Karachi in November. Initially i was only planning to come and visit my spouse for 2-3 days. However i have now extended my trip by 2.5 weeks and i will therefore have much more time to spend with her.

We are still only nikkaofied and haven't gone through the remaining wedding functions yet as we are still going through the Spousal Sponsorship process and once that starts progressing, only then we can finalize the remaining wedding functions.

I am trying to figure out and think of some out of the box ideas and activities that we can do, places we can visit in Karachi and where we can spend quality time together.

I know of all the main resteraunts and shopping plazas but don't want to be eating out only in karachi or shopping 24/7 either. Someone recommended that i take her to an amusement park.

Looking forward to people's suggestions, tips and advice

I am going to be visiting Karachi in November. Initially i was only planning to come and visit my spouse for 2-3 days. However i have now extended my trip by 2.5 weeks and i will therefore have much more time to spend with her.

We are still only nikkaofied and haven't gone through the remaining wedding functions yet as we are still going through the Spousal Sponsorship process and once that starts progressing, only then we can finalize the remaining wedding functions.

I am trying to figure out and think of some out of the box ideas and activities that we can do, places we can visit in Karachi and where we can spend quality time together.

I know of all the main resteraunts and shopping plazas but don't want to be eating out only in karachi or shopping 24/7 either. Someone recommended that i take her to an amusement park.

Out of the box hmm?

Given your situation, wouldn't the box itself be a nice, quiet place to have a good time? Why come out of it? :yahoo

I've never been to Karachi but a friend of mine tells me that crabbing at Kemari is a must-have experience if you are into seafood.

Karachi is my fav city in Pakistan. However with corona around i dont know how much you can do. Go to balochistan for a road trip? Monje darro road trip in Sindh? The famous mazaar in top of the hill in Karachi to catch a qawaali session and some smoke:).

Is it even safe in Karachi?

I think just stay in the house or something play video games I am pretty snatchings, murders, theft are common there...

Atleast from the news that I hear about Karachi

It’s not a safe city. So you have to plan accordingly. I am more worried about corona. No idea how that is

A word of advice on the Canadian spousal sponsorship application. If you have not done full rukhsati and valima they ask questions as to why not and the application is also delayed. The immigration folks know that in Pakistani marriages it is not considered a full marriage until rukhsati and valima. Look up immigration forums online canadavisa is one. It helped me greatly. I'm speaking from my own experience. Can give more info in direct message if required.

As for Karachi, you mentioned that you are aware of the major eating out attractions. So apart from that you could go boating in Keamari where you will fish for crabs and fish and the boatmen will make it right there for you on the boat it's an amazing experience. Can take a stroll on sea view or a dip in hawksbay or sandspit. If you want a private beach experience then look for bookings on french beach. A reference of sandspit

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Sandspit Beach Karachi <br><br>📸 © Waqas Shaikh<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sindh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sindh</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sandspit?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sandspit</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Beach?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Beach</a> 🇵🇰 <a href="https://t.co/dIQ5DLj9M8">pic.twitter.com/dIQ5DLj9M8</a></p>— Developing Pakistan (@DevelopmentPk) <a href="https://twitter.com/DevelopmentPk/status/1315363644469895168?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You can drive on Makran Coastal Highway from Karachi to Gwadar. It is an epic adventure. You have a first world level highway with the beach on one side and mountains on the other. Do pay a visit to 'Princess of Hope'. Stop at ormara beach on your way. It is the best beach I've been to in my life.

You could go to the usual touristy places as well such as Mazar-e-Quaid, Mohatta Palace, Empress Market, Frere Hall etc.

Think I've covered most of the 'non-food' related experiences that I know off.

Think all touristy parts of Karachi are good - just the congestion can be be bit off putting.

I remember the Karachi of yore very well. It was such a wonderful city, full of intellectuals and progressive thinkers. A great place to go and discuss art, politics and society. I remember many of the gatherings very well. Those were the days. It is like a different city now.

To start I wouldn't call them 'Karachiwallas ' but rather Karachiites :p I have known some of them who used to get angry whenever called anything but karachiiite(s) :p

Bhai just go out to eat, walk around dolmen, and if you know someone who has a beach hut make a beach trip

To start I wouldn't call them 'Karachiwallas ' but rather Karachiites :p I have known some of them who used to get angry whenever called anything but karachiiite(s) :p

Nothing wrong with that - I am a Karachiwalla :D

Firstly it’s only very few. And It’s usually people who aren’t from Karachi but live there who sometimes have a problem with that. Don’t even know what’s the deal with that lmao.

I think just stay in the house or something play video games I am pretty snatchings, murders, theft are common there...

Its no longer the case last 3-4 years. Karachi still has crime like most metropolitan cities but its probably the same as other major cities in Pakistan.

By that logic no place apart from maybe Antarctica is safe.
[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] enjoy your time in Karachi as in any other place. The security situation is miles improved from the past decade. I'd definitely recommend having a dinner at Kolachi since the ambience and surroundings are really good.

By that logic no place apart from maybe Antarctica is safe.
[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] enjoy your time in Karachi as in any other place. The security situation is miles improved from the past decade. I'd definitely recommend having a dinner at Kolachi since the ambience and surroundings are really good.

Antarctica wasn't in the top 10 dangerous cities in the world just a couple years ago (that too consistently)...

no need to get defensive its a fair question to be asked especially the way things were

If the situation has improved good :14:

Antarctica wasn't in the top 10 dangerous cities in the world just a couple years ago (that too consistently)...

no need to get defensive its a fair question to be asked especially the way things were

If the situation has improved good :14:

It's about being realistic, not defensive.
Right now Karachi is ranked 103 while Manchester is ranked at 99 and Washington DC is ranked 78. Need I say more?

Source: https://www.numbeo.com/crime/rankings.jsp

It's about being realistic, not defensive.
Right now Karachi is ranked 103 while Manchester is ranked at 99 and Washington DC is ranked 78. Need I say more?

Source: https://www.numbeo.com/crime/rankings.jsp

nope you are good my perception of the city is from the last 5 years I don't follow Karachi like that so didn't know that's why the question and you have to agree 5-10 years ago would you really recommend a non Karachaite travelling throughout the city? so my question was totally fair from my perspective

( BTW these countries are first world countries where there is a concept of actually reporting the crimes so the competition shouldn't even be happening in the first place but that's a discussion for some other time and thread...)

It’s definitely the most fun city in pak but unfortunately I can’t help you since for the past 4 years I’ve only been coming back here in the summer and spent most of that time chilling at home. Haven’t really kept up with newer developments

I am assuming you are going from Canada. Canadians need to show negative Covid-19 test (test must be taken within 96 hours [4 days] before departure time) before they can board flight to Pakistan. Are you doing it? I have learned that test results come back slow in Canada in 5-7 days, this will not work with flight

My dad travelled recently to Pakistan, will ask him

My parents are actually very nervous and scared about the fact that my wife changed her plans at the last minute so that she can spend more time with me in Khi. They are concerned that her parents and dada will not react very kindly to this especially given that they are a very conservative Pashtun family and the fact all we have had is a Nikkah.

They want me to only have supervised outings with her i.e. with an elder cousin tagged along as well and they don't want us to spend that much time out together out of fear of catching Covid.

Is it a dicey situation in Karachi to hang out in public with your wife if all you have had is a Nikkah? I don't think so

My parents are actually very nervous and scared about the fact that my wife changed her plans at the last minute so that she can spend more time with me in Khi. They are concerned that her parents and dada will not react very kindly to this especially given that they are a very conservative Pashtun family and the fact all we have had is a Nikkah.

They want me to only have supervised outings with her i.e. with an elder cousin tagged along as well and they don't want us to spend that much time out together out of fear of catching Covid.

Is it a dicey situation in Karachi to hang out in public with your wife if all you have had is a Nikkah? I don't think so

Firstly. Too much information man.

Secondly. Didn’t you literally grow up in Karachi? So I don’t get these weird questions come from you lol where you’re acting as if you’ve only visited few times in your life. You must have a fairly good idea whether something is fine or not. And I know you didn’t have much luck with girls or women in Karachi but I’m sure you saw others. There’s guys and girls hanging out all the freakin time and it’s not just an upper class things. Lower class you find in public parks and sea view and the upper class you might find in fancy restaurants, French beach etc.

Thirdly. Mate you are literally married. It’s not even an engagement. You are officially husband and wife. Even in the most strictest version of islam there is no logic why you cannot be alone together. I am baffled why anyone would think there needs to be chaperoning. You do know what marriage even is right? It’s not even a matter of being conservative. Lol at ‘all we’ve had is Nikkah’ what else do you need to be officially be considered marriage lol. I know couples who had mangni (engagement) and they’ve taken trips together (as they should) and here literally being married is an issue?

Finally. At the end you somehow bring covid in the situation. What will the elder cousin do? Does he have a spray gun which stops covid from entering within a few feet of him and he need to be there so he can use those superpowers so that covid doesn’t get to you guys?

Secondly. Didn’t you literally grow up in Karachi? So I don’t get these weird questions come from you lol where you’re acting as if you’ve only visited few times in your life. You must have a fairly good idea whether something is fine or not. And I know you didn’t have much luck with girls or women in Karachi but I’m sure you saw others. There’s guys and girls hanging out all the freakin time and it’s not just an upper class things. Lower class you find in public parks and sea view and the upper class you might find in fancy restaurants, French beach etc.

Thirdly. Mate you are literally married. It’s not even an engagement. You are officially husband and wife. Even in the most strictest version of islam there is no logic why you cannot be alone together. I am baffled why anyone would think there needs to be chaperoning. You do know what marriage even is right? It’s not even a matter of being conservative. Lol at ‘all we’ve had is Nikkah’ what else do you need to be officially be considered marriage lol. I know couples who had mangni (engagement) and they’ve taken trips together (as they should) and here literally being married is an issue?

Finally. At the end you somehow bring covid in the situation. What will the elder cousin do? Does he have a spray gun which stops covid from entering within a few feet of him and he need to be there so he can use those superpowers so that covid doesn’t get to you guys?

Firstly before he puts in his response there's this constant problem I see with you when responding to People's personal life/problems

What's with you and being mean all the freaking time about peoples situations (in multiple threads) not the signs of a caring human being (don't know you personally but the energy I get when discussing people's issues...)

Being blunt doesn't mean you have to give people negative energy all the time about their issues

I mean seriously it's like you're inspired by youtube comment section and you bring that energy to people's personal issues annoying as hell and terrible to see

Please be a bit caring next time when discussing someone's personal problem it's basic courtesy expected from decent human beings

I know you would probably hate me for saying that and I genuinely apologize if you feel that way but I had to say how I see it...

:91:

Savak's love travails have been a highlight of my time on this forum.

This is the first time I've heard someone say only got nikkah done. Just shows how every family is different. We also sometimes mention that Nikkah is done but Rukhsati is yet to happen BUT by this point there are no real limitations with interactions etc. Its usally done as conservative families arent happy with just the concept of engagement. This is literally the first time I have heard someone speak as you have about nikkah.

:91:

Savak's love travails have been a highlight of my time on this forum.

Lol yea it’s been interesting. Literally a blow by blow account over the past 7-8 years.

In a way PP is poorer now that Savak bhai has decided to settle down. We will all miss his love chronicles.

Kahani abhi bakki hai. Its just the way i am wired, i actually prefer getting opinions and advice from strangers rather than immediate, extended family and friends because ultimately i find their opinions to be a little biased given what they know of you

I grew up in KHI for sure, hence the reason why i am trying to seek out of the box creative solutions and advice from people and see if there is something i can incorporate.

Sadly, i do not live in this world in isolation, one has to learn to live and deal with the attitude's of other stakeholders i.e. the girls parents, elders, my own parent's, elders. I am a very liberal open minded individual and it is a hassle to find a reasonable middle ground when you are dealing with highly conservative old fashioned people and their customs.

[MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION] did you find out about Covid-19 testing for travel to Pakistan?. Today Oct 19 it become effective

Will find out today when I visit my GP.

Lol another marriage related thread from Savak. Keep them coming bro!

bro idk about anything else, but make sure you gather in enough proof for ur spousal application, go to dinners at family and friends and MAKE sure to take pics (explain to them if you have to)... book a hotel in ur and wife's name and keep reciepts even if you dont actually stay or take moms n dads with you (again explain if you have to), restaurant bills pics, etc etc, simply put rake in as much evidence have her recieve you at airport etc to help ur spousal application, its upto you to explain to family/in-laws and friends etc if society norms play a barrier, and under no circumstance in application that abhi rukhsati nhin hoi, they will tell u to go to pak and get it done, it has happened to many ppl and then u will be stuck, so advance mein tiyari kar k jao, family aur apni wife ko explain kro, and hopefully it will normalize or expedite ur application process... again idk ur exact situation maybe u r already aware of all this (great), if not then here you are mate... and enjoy your trip...

Am going to get it done in a private lab in Mississauga on Nov 4, it will cost me $180 but they will email me the results in 48 hours just in time for my flight on Nov 7. All other places like Hospitals or Pharmacies like Shoppers drug mart were jam packed with appointments and even then they said it will take them a week to 10 days to deliver the results to you.

Yeah I heard Mississauga is pretty late in results, my relative get it done in Scarborough General Hospital Centenary location and the results came back in 1 day.