Ahmed Shehzad - A star in the making

exactly!!!:)) it makes me laugh to see people who really believe ahmed is 19. the funniest comment was that about DNA test.. yeh konsa DNA test hora hay jissay 100% correct age pata chal rahi hay? :13: my friends are FC cricketers and God knows how many different birth certificates they have :)))
even Sikander bakht once narrated a short story about a player who got younger and younger with each passing year. He had a younger sister.. and after a few years, she became older than him

Lol. :)))

He looks like very rude guy.

gosh.. I am so overwhelmed with the number of Einsteins and Newtons on pakpassion. there are people who ask me to prove technical deficiencies of a batsman with stats, there are those who say misbah should play LOIs because he is our test captain and then there those who can judge a players nature just by looking at his face on their tv screens.
Allah khair kare.....

he is a good batsman, and i salute afridi and the team management for having so much of faith in him to play himin the playing XI even after failures

it takes his confidence to a different level mashallah
keep the good work up "little angle"

Surely the number 1 AS fan. Wonderful knock. :)
thanx bro for ranking me as the number 1 a.s fan:)... but m not sure that m his number 1 fan coz i think parents n especially "maa" is the biggest fan one could ever have.... m more than happy to be number 2 ranked:) khair.. i saw him in u-19 wc 2008 against south africa n wat i saw was "over-flowing" talent... n i have used this word over flowing coz his talent was literally oozing... there was no fear wat so ever in this guy n dats wat a cricket fan like me loves to watch..... gr8 credit goes to abdul QAADIR for bringing him in... against aussies he struggled a lil but did decent performances.... t20 world cup 2009 warm up game against india gave a hint dat something big is coming but just a faliure against england in first match of dat wc would mean he has lost his place in the team:(:( dat was one of the most annoying moments of my life.... where were the critics then??? nobody thought where he went after wc... n the next shock was that he was not even picked for rbs t20 later that year by either lions or eagles... btw i think i have gone too much far:p.. need to come back.... leave it g... the good thing is mashaALLAH he is back in bussiness

There are two players in the team who are showing amazing confidence in their their body language, one is Hafeez and other is Shehzad.

It is rare to see this kind of confidence in young players face.

There are two players in the team who are showing amazing confidence in their their body language, one is Hafeez and other is Shehzad.

Is Hafeez young?

exactly!!!:)) it makes me laugh to see people who really believe ahmed is 19. the funniest comment was that about DNA test.. yeh konsa DNA test hora hay jissay 100% correct age pata chal rahi hay? :13: my friends are FC cricketers and God knows how many different birth certificates they have :)))
even Sikander bakht once narrated a short story about a player who got younger and younger with each passing year. He had a younger sister.. and after a few years, she became older than him :)))

That was hilarious! :))) :)))
I watched that programme too and still remember it!

All fine, but what's up with this ^LITTLE ANGEL^^ thingy??? :inzi

his performance should be appreciated, but not lets get carried away!
he has to repeat such performances in tough conditions too against better teams as well to prove his mettle!

nanna monna pyara bacha hai - nahi?

But seriously - he showed maturity that belied his tender age.

How many other 19 year olds have scored 2 centuries?

afridi had 2 centuries by the age of 19.....a 37 ball 100 in 1996 and a 94-ball 109 against india in 1998 :afridi:afridi

When was that? :20:

Or are you confusing him with Khurram Manzoor? :13: The only newbie opener who scored 77 runs against Australia is Khurram Manzoor. Did it in Hobart Test.

Must be, I can't recall any Pak batsmen making a score of exactly 77 in the recent past except for Khurram. Butt also had a 70 odd in the first one dayer of that forsaken series.

Either way, Khurram for Test squad! :manzoor

afridi had 2 centuries by the age of 19.....a 37 ball 100 in 1996 and a 94-ball 109 against india in 1998 :afridi:afridi

Well in that case whether you are a lover or hater! That should keep a few threads on PP alive for a few years!

Must be, I can't recall any Pak batsmen making a score of exactly 77 in the recent past except for Khurram. Butt also had a 70 odd in the first one dayer of that forsaken series.

Either way, Khurram for Test squad! :manzoor

IMO Azhar and Taufeeq as openers....

Khurram as first reserve....

Hafeez must make way!

AZ Bhai your support does not barbaadify people . i was wrong :bow:

This kid is going to be playing for the next 15-17 years, and he'll have more than 14,000 ODI runs to his name, along with 10,000 test runs. Trust me.

Heres hoping anyway....

Tendu eat your heart out - the little angel will surpass the little master! :)

We just need to keep playing him, despite his wobbly dip in form. He'll come good, very good infact over the coming years.

I hope so ....

I am not fully convinced yet....

BUT

He has done enough to get a long run in the ODI side to show us what he is capable of.

and guess what shezzi says ......... he implies following lala will lead him to success

Man of the match is Shehzad: "I would like to thank team management for supporting me. Vicky bhai, Aquib bhai., Shahid bhai. He (Afridi) is the man to follow, he has been amazing, if we follow him, he will take us through. The wickets was on the slower side, I knew If we kept the wickets, we will do it."

^^ from cricinfo

http://www.espncricinfo.com/west-in.../489214.html?innings=2;page=1;view=commentary

and guess what shezzi says ......... he implies following lala will lead him to success

Man of the match is Shehzad: "I would like to thank team management for supporting me. Vicky bhai, Aquib bhai., Shahid bhai. He (Afridi) is the man to follow, he has been amazing, if we follow him, he will take us through. The wickets was on the slower side, I knew If we kept the wickets, we will do it."

^^ from cricinfo

http://www.espncricinfo.com/west-in.../489214.html?innings=2;page=1;view=commentary

what a :littleang

if this little angel thing catches on im gonna be pissed

its worse than when people kept puting the letter i to everything after ajmal did that interview.

Come on people who are questioning his age...wrist tests are done and they are pretty accurate..actually DNA testing can be done to determine age..ICC does wrist tests...which can also identify the age of a player +/- 6 months from what I have heard

thanx bro for ranking me as the number 1 a.s fan:)... but m not sure that m his number 1 fan coz i think parents n especially "maa" is the biggest fan one could ever have.... m more than happy to be number 2 ranked:) khair.. i saw him in u-19 wc 2008 against south africa n wat i saw was "over-flowing" talent... n i have used this word over flowing coz his talent was literally oozing... there was no fear wat so ever in this guy n dats wat a cricket fan like me loves to watch..... gr8 credit goes to abdul QAADIR for bringing him in... against aussies he struggled a lil but did decent performances.... t20 world cup 2009 warm up game against india gave a hint dat something big is coming but just a faliure against england in first match of dat wc would mean he has lost his place in the team:(:( dat was one of the most annoying moments of my life.... where were the critics then??? nobody thought where he went after wc... n the next shock was that he was not even picked for rbs t20 later that year by either lions or eagles... btw i think i have gone too much far:p.. need to come back.... leave it g... the good thing is mashaALLAH he is back in bussiness

Parents are more than fans, yaar, can't compare.

Is it me or wouldn't you be a little embarrassed if everyone started you calling you a little angel, when you're a fully grown man? Doesn't seem particularly manly really

Let's just call him a promising young batsman, ok? :D

The guy is a telented cricketer who has scored a couple of centuries having played a handful of games.

The most important thing noe is that he stays humple and continues to learn.

He isn't the finished article by any means.

We need to say how he will perform against the like of Steyn on a spicy track.

If he carries on learning... he could open for us for a long time.

He has talent. Has a long way to go on Bob's other T's though. I think he'll consistently fail against better bowling attacks and in a ground where more than 8 people, including commentators, turn up to watch.

Don't want to take away from his innings though, it was a very good knock and hopefully he'll have gained some confidence after his shocker in the WC.

He has talent. Has a long way to go on Bob's other T's though. I think he'll consistently fail against better bowling attacks and in a ground where more than 8 people, including commentators, turn up to watch.

Don't want to take away from his innings though, it was a very good knock and hopefully he'll have gained some confidence after his shocker in the WC.

I think in one of his earlier innings he got a 40 odd with an attach containing Brett Lee...

I may be mistaken though....

He has talent. Has a long way to go on Bobs other Ts though. I think he will consistently fail against better bowling attacks and in a ground where more than 8 people, including commentators, turn up to watch.

Kitne pyar say besti ki hay :))

Always seems a little edgy when he first comes into bat but as he sttles down you can see he plays his shots much more freely.

Should definatley be given a long run in the side.

Come on people who are questioning his age...wrist tests are done and they are pretty accurate..actually DNA testing can be done to determine age..ICC does wrist tests...which can also identify the age of a player +/- 6 months from what I have heard

Wrong. It's not authentic. ICC is searching for other methods. And ICC does not do these tests.

yah , wrist tests are not authentic. shehzad is older than his official age and shahzaib hassan looks like 25 already.

Does any one know definitively if they have taken any tests to prove age?

No one I guess except the players themselves. ICC does not do these tests. It's the responsibilty of their respective boards. And in PCB? U can change your age easily.

even Sikander bakht once narrated a short story about a player who got younger and younger with each passing year. He had a younger sister.. and after a few years, she became older than him :)))
No he looks 18/19

Replying to fixer's post in his thread that got closed and referred to this one:

Salaam.

In break, you mean how long?
Straight after the dismissal I was thinking that we might play :taufeeq in the last game. But then it just hit me that he had a crappy world cup but got selected for this series and came back with a 100. So who knows playing with him in the last ODI might be either a very good decision, or a bad one.

If he fails in the last game, then maybe the selectors will drop him for the next series, which they should not as he already has 2 ODI centuries at the age of 19, so I don't care about his brainfarts and bad innings at this age.

Plus, giving :taufeeq one game might put more pressure on him, no?

Asad and Hammad are proper batsman with good technique----Though Shazaib is a slogger too but atleast he doesnt have attitude issues---

Agree with Anakwala....

You have to espect inconsistency....

He needs to learn from his mistakes though...

Asad and Hammad are proper batsman with good technique----Though Shazaib is a slogger too but atleast he doesnt have attitude issues---

Yeah, kick out Shehzad and Umar, the last thing we need is some bad attitude even though it's not an issue. Good idea! Shahzaib and Farhat can replace them!

And who cares if Shehzad got a century 2 matches ago?

pls no farhat---but yes shazaib can be better than shezaad,,,,he never got the proper opportunities the way ahmed shehzad has been given

While we're at it, include Shahzaib in the test squad. He could get a quickfire 20. Better than a 100 ball 50.

We really have to stop haranguing players when they get out...

especiallly when they are young...

1) you have to show UPSIDE POTENTIAL

We have seen him score 2 overseas centuries.

2) You have to show the PROPENSITY TO LEARN ie learn from your mistakes.

you can only measure that over a long period of time.

Not after each mistake...

Can somebody tell me how many GENUINELY CLASS players we have produced since FEB 2000?

We don't produce them!

We need to find talent and then train them!

I think Shehzad needs to be dropped for his own good and a proper batsman should be brought in...

Is it just me or do Pakistani fans forget the last time a batsman hit a century?