An incident that shook up Junaid Jamshed

Don't know why people debate on this useless issue.

Just enjoy the music, don't hurt others. If you think its haram then don't listen to it. Stop preaching other people who like music.

There are more important things in life.

How do people not listen to music these days..it is every where....so consider the fact that you end up accidently listening to music...so you won't enjoy it even if sounds good to hear?? So since I do not think one cannot not enjoy the music which sounds good to their ears...is it haraam then??? Because even though you listening to music was accidental...you enjoying it was you enjoying music..which is haraam.....I guess too much for my brain to understand the situation.

However, With out insulting any religion...I will just say a life with out music is as lifeless a life can be....!!!!!!!

Anyways, I simply cannot understand this aversion towards music/concerts. What's wrong with you people?

If there was ever a thread to make a religion look distinctly unattractive then it was this one.

In the name of Allaah, Most Merciful and Most Beneficent!

I was reading one of the thread about the punishments in other site, and this is what i have come across with.

[al-Hijr 15:74]

And al-Tirmidhi (2212) narrated from ‘Imraan ibn Husayn that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Among this ummah, people will be transformed into monkeys and pigs, swallowed up in the earth, and pelted with stones.” A man among the Muslims said, “O Messenger of Allaah, when will that be?” He said, “When singing-girls and musical instruments become widespread and wine is drunk.” (Saheeh al-Tirmidhi, 1802).

I wouldn't blindly overlook the consequence especially in this regard. I have quit listening to music more than two years, and never felt any better.

At the end, it's up to you. The messages has been passed in this thread.

May Allaah (SWT) have mercy on the world, Ameen!

As Salaamu Alaykum!

In the name of Allaah, Most Merciful and Most Beneficent!

I was reading one of the thread about the punishments in other site, and this is what i have come across with.

I wouldn't blindly overlook the consequence especially in this regard. I have quit listening to music more than two years, and never felt any better.

At the end, it's up to you. The messages has been passed in this thread.

May Allaah (SWT) have mercy on the world, Ameen!

As Salaamu Alaykum!

JazakAllah Khair for that hadith bro.

Are percussion instruments regarded as those kind of musical instruments? I only listen to nasheeds nowadays and they use drums most of the time.

You are backtracking now. He has a clothing empire with more than 40 stores all across Pakistan, also in UAE and one in Bradford. Point is he is making a lot of money (mashallah) from this business, plus his travel agency and the sale of naat CD'S, ads for Lays Chips etc. Does he really need to charge $10,000 for a dars when he is not even an Aalim or a muslim scholar. Good that he donates a lot of that money but why charge it in the first place when he obviously is doing very very well.

he doesnt own it, he gets a fixed fee for his name being used.

I am not aware of the details of his business but its big. I believe his wife's family is into fashion/clothing etc. and got him started in this field . Whatever it is, point is he is making a lot of money (mashallah) fixed fee or not. Does not seem appropriate for someone who has other businesses to also make money from his dars, especially considering the fact that he is not a muslim scholar.

I really feel he is milking his celebrity status. I mean who would want to pay him for a dars when there are so many better and more learned people out there. I also feel people who come to his events come mostly because of his fame.

He basically personifies this recent phenomenon of "born again" Muslims in our society. Basically people mostly middle class who were previously not that religious e.g. listened to music, did not keep a long beard or wear hijab etc. have been converted to a more stringent and conservative version of Islam. The beauty of this phenomenon is that it does allow one to pursue materialism and is acceptable of using modern technology.

Junaid is a poster boy of this phenomenon and its no wonder people flock to his gatherings because of the relatability factor. Now, I don't think anyone has any issue with him preaching about Islam. Its these statements or stories he relays in his dars in which a fairly common, socially and religiously acceptable activity is presented as some kind of grave sin which makes people feel uncomfortable.

If he has given up on music and concerts that is his choice and I respect that. The problem comes when he and people like him become judgemental and patronizing to their fellow muslims. When they pretend that the only way to be a true Muslim is to be like them. This preachy tone and self-righteous attitude can become counter-productive as you can see from the majority of the responses in this thread.

I am not aware of the details of his business but its big. I believe his wife's family is into fashion/clothing etc. and got him started in this field . Whatever it is, point is he is making a lot of money (mashallah) fixed fee or not. Does not seem appropriate for someone who has other businesses to also make money from his dars, especially considering the fact that he is not a muslim scholar.

I really feel he is milking his celebrity status. I mean who would want to pay him for a dars when there are so many better and more learned people out there. I also feel people who come to his events come mostly because of his fame.

He basically personifies this recent phenomenon of "born again" Muslims in our society. Basically people mostly middle class who were previously not that religious e.g. listened to music, did not keep a long beard or wear hijab etc. have been converted to a more stringent and conservative version of Islam. The beauty of this phenomenon is that it does allow one to pursue materialism and is acceptable of using modern technology.

Junaid is a poster boy of this phenomenon and its no wonder people flock to his gatherings because of the relatability factor. Now, I don't think anyone has any issue with him preaching about Islam. Its these statements or stories he relays in his dars in which a fairly common, socially and religiously acceptable activity is presented as some kind of grave sin which makes people feel uncomfortable.

If he has given up on music and concerts that is his choice and I respect that. The problem comes when he and people like him become judgemental and patronizing to their fellow muslims. When they pretend that the only way to be a true Muslim is to be like them. This preachy tone and self-righteous attitude can become counter-productive as you can see from the majority of the responses in this thread.

Making money from other sources is fine, especially when he is putting time into it, nothing wrong, but, then you dont agree with it, which is fine with me. He donates part of that earned money as charity which in turn becomes a sadaqa-jaariya for him, and it also prevents sponsors to not take undue advantage of him. I have not come across any scholar or the ones who recite Nasheeds, to do it for free,

You can search on youtube about Maulana Tariq Jameel on Junaid, and you would come to know that he gave up a lot, which not many of us have to begin with, to come to the path of Allah.

Religious people have been profiteering from religion since religions were founded, don't see why this guy should be singled out.

Doesn't look so shaken up here.

[utube]zDEkU3msNyI[/utube]

Haha I was about to post this when I saw this thread. He's clearly singing in the presence of a guitar. He also often sings a song or two when he does speeches. Not criticizing him, as I think its absolutely fine.

Doesn't look so shaken up here.

[utube]zDEkU3msNyI[/utube]

Don´t know why this post has been ignored so far. Everything is there of Moulvi Junaid Jamshed Sahib such as beard etc.:moyo but is singing with the guitar:13:.......?

I think he would have realized that it is Haraam too if someone had dragged his daughters on this instance as well.

Don´t know why this post has been ignored so far. Everything is there of Moulvi Junaid Jamshed Sahib such as beard etc.:moyo but is singing with the guitar:13:.......?

I think he would have realized that it is Haraam too if someone had dragged his daughters on this instance as well.

Guitar itself is not haraam, its use is, before posting hatred, look what is being sung or said, he is singing patriotic songs. There is no fahaashi in it, that is what is haraam, that's what makes music haraam, songs like "meray saat aik raat guzaar", i hope you dont find those songs entertaining when in the company of your family such as sisters and mother,

First of all, there is no hatred for Junaid Jamshed or his fans. We are just offering different views.

You are amazing ignorant on this issue. Since almost a month your argument was about/against music and now suddenly to advocate Junaid Jamshed it turns to vulgar poetry.

Kindly stop hero-worshiping. You consider that Music is forbidden, fine, but don´t preach that Junaid Jamshed cannot be wrong in any thing. He considers music as unlawful, fine again, but in post #83 he is doing exactly the same according to your own earlier views (which will be highlighted below).

To further highlight how your double standards are being displayed so openly here, please re-read your earlier post, #76......

One hadith from the Bukhari Shareef, the most authentic Book of Hadith, further confirms unlawfulness of music and singing :
`There will be people of my Ummah who will seek to make lawful; fornication, wine-drinking and the use of ma`aazif ( musical instruments ).`

Detailed analysis of the arabic word `ma`aazif ` shows that it refers to musical instruments, the sounds of those musical instruments and singing with the accompaniment of instruments.

Sahih Bukhari suddenly becomes nothing when it comes to Junaid Jamshed´s singing:13:?

Guitar itself is not haraam, its use is,

What sort of an idiotic and contradictory statement is this:20:?

Leave patriotic song aside, a song in mother´s praise like "Tujhe Itna Pata Hai Naa Maa? Meri Maa!" still be considered unlawful because the ultimate jurist Junaid Jamshed is yet to sing that.

With peace:)!

Do you think Prophet Muhammad or his Companions would have been posting on PP if it was available back then?

Please. Think before you type.
Be rational. Be logical. But don't be afraid to draw the line when it comes to moral convictions.
Lives of Prophet and Sahabas are the examples for us.

Please. Think before you type.
Be rational. Be logical. But don't be afraid to draw the line when it comes to moral convictions.
Lives of Prophet and Sahabas are the examples for us.

I did not quite get your post:20:..... Where is the implication in my post that I am disrespecting Prophet Muhammad and/or his Companions?

^^Mr.Dhoni 183 You made a joke of a serious question asked by a fellow PP.

Do you think the prophet or the sahaba would sit in a place where music is been playing and people are dancing to it?

Isn't this the way we have to live our life,looking at the prophet and sahabas' lives?

I am sorry if you think I am reacting but your comment seemed really offensive to me.

He didn't make a joke of a serious question, he pointed out the hypocrisy of these preachy Internet Mullahs.

^^Mr.Dhoni 183 You made a joke of a serious question asked by a fellow PP.

Generalization at its best! What makes you think that my question was meant as a joke?

Isn't this the way we have to live our life,looking at the prophet and sahabas' lives?

You are of many of those who started jumping up and down without giving my question any considerations. A few posts from this thread itself should make things easier again.

Post #40:

DHONI183 said:
.... My argument was not at all related to music but the logic given against its permission.

My question was just a test of thinking of a few of you.

cric_craze said:
Do you think the prophet or the sahaba would sit in a place where music is been playing and people are dancing to it?

Cric_Craze not once argued about Ahadith etc. He just presented this logic, I thus put a further logic which has gone answer-less throughout this thread.

.... I am merely suggesting that the logic "Would Prophet Muhammad and his Companions done that or this" is not the way to look at things.

Post #34:

DHONI183 said:
Forget about that and consider this:

If an organized sports system existed back then, country or club based, do you think Prophet Muhammad would have played cricket for a country or a club, for example for Sialkot Stallions or Pakistan etc.?

I am sorry if you think I am reacting but your comment seemed really offensive to me.

You are sensitive, no issues at all:), but do not accuse me of joking around about an issue related to Prophet Muhammad, or any Prophet of God for that matter.

A bit of backing up hey. :malik

I share his view this time. Besides, you lost your credibility some time ago when you suggested that religious people only, and not atheists, should be granted free speech to spread their beliefs on PP. :))

First of all, there is no hatred for Junaid Jamshed or his fans. We are just offering different views.

You are amazing ignorant on this issue. Since almost a month your argument was about/against music and now suddenly to advocate Junaid Jamshed it turns to vulgar poetry.

Kindly stop hero-worshiping. You consider that Music is forbidden, fine, but don´t preach that Junaid Jamshed cannot be wrong in any thing. He considers music as unlawful, fine again, but in post #83 he is doing exactly the same according to your own earlier views (which will be highlighted below).

To further highlight how your double standards are being displayed so openly here, please re-read your earlier post, #76......

Sahih Bukhari suddenly becomes nothing when it comes to Junaid Jamshed´s singing:13:?

What sort of an idiotic and contradictory statement is this:20:?

Leave patriotic song aside, a song in mother´s praise like "Tujhe Itna Pata Hai Naa Maa? Meri Maa!" still be considered unlawful because the ultimate jurist Junaid Jamshed is yet to sing that.

With peace:)!

You are pretty smart guy,you duck questions where you dont have answers, what is your answer to the question about watching almost porno songs in the company of close ones? you knew that was a bait for you and like a s art ant you bypassed that bait trap, no offense, but, you are just making me stand more firm on what i believe,

You are pretty smart guy,

Thanks, I will take the compliment:). Can´t say the same about you as you simply don´t aim to comprehend things in a simple way.

you duck questions where you dont have answers,

Excuse me:20:.....?

what is your answer to the question about watching almost porno songs in the company of close ones?

Songs are not 'watched' necessarily, get that right!

you knew that was a bait for you and like a s art ant you bypassed that bait trap, no offense, but, you are just making me stand more firm on what i believe,

I think you are avoiding the questions here! Firstly, the thread was basically about music but it suddenly took a U-turn and turned to vulgar poetry/wording to advocate Junaid Jamshed.

What is your answer to my question about a song in mother´s praise?

You want an answer? I agree that any speech that contains vulgarity should be avoided.

Here´s my answer! Now, don´t worry as I don´t need your answer. Your double standards are well on display as your argument about music has gone place to place to fit it into Junaid Jamshed´s version and actions.

Dear brother, humans make mistake and that is why they are not gods, and the same applies to Junaid Jamshed.

Songs are nit watched, which means you out blindfolds on yourself when u r watching a hindi movie, to which u gonna say, id not watch hindi movie, okay lets agree with u on that part, but let me put the question on your terms now, would you rather listen to such songs in the presence of your mothers or sisters? If not then such songs and music is haraam, end of discussion!

Have you even for once realized how time-wasting your drivel is:facepalm:?

Have you ever heard of an audio system without any videos? You really think one needs to put something around his eyes to skip the video in order to listen to a song:)))?

Please read posts properly before replying. I have already clarified the issue about vulgarity and have answered your in the following words above......

.... I agree that any speech that contains vulgarity should be avoided......

Bottom-line is that jurist Junaid Jamshed is caught singing on YouTube and someone has posted that video here. You simply cannot tolerate why it has happened and have contradicted yourself at the very start itself.

Time to move on in life I reckon:22:......

Have you even for once realized how time-wasting your drivel is:facepalm:?

Have you ever heard of an audio system without any videos? You really think one needs to put something around his eyes to skip the video in order to listen to a song:)))?

Please read posts properly before replying. I have already clarified the issue about vulgarity and have answered your in the following words above......

Bottom-line is that jurist Junaid Jamshed is caught singing on YouTube and someone has posted that video here. You simply cannot tolerate why it has happened and have contradicted yourself at the very start itself.

Time to move on in life I reckon:22:......

I think you are pretty adamant fellow who just doe snot like to lose in any argument. He is singing patriotic songs, nothing wrong about that. Music is haraam when you misuse it. If you are singing praise of Allah it is Halaal, Now you are gonna come back after finding something in my posts that contradict what i said here, so let me put this straight, when we say music is haraam, it means anything that praises Satan and his beliefs.

Congratulations on bumping a thread after a month. I am not any "adamant fellow who does not like to lose in any argument" and neither am I the one who is going on with the shovel.

I don´t like going around in circles and neither do I need to highlight the U-turn in your views again and again.

Post #76 does the trick for me.....

One hadith from the Bukhari Shareef, the most authentic Book of Hadith, further confirms unlawfulness of music and singing :
`There will be people of my Ummah who will seek to make lawful; fornication, wine-drinking and the use of ma`aazif ( musical instruments ).`

Detailed analysis of the arabic word `ma`aazif ` shows that it refers to musical instruments, the sounds of those musical instruments and singing with the accompaniment of instruments.

Closer analysis of the wordings of the Hadith establishes the prohibition of music. Firstly, the words `seek to make lawful ` shows that music is not permissible, as logically one can only seek to make lawful that which is not allowed. Secondly, if music was not prohibited, then it would not have been brought within the same context as fornication and wine-drinking.

Till that video was posted in post #83, you hadn´t clarified the matter about all this "patriotic song" thing.

Peace:).

Junaid Jamshed was a great man
I am a big fan of him
His speech his words his naats are just awesome MashaAllah.
May Allah subhanuta'ala keeps him happy in jannah

I dont understand people, they never leave any stone unturned to criticise anyone, once he was singing the mullahs were aginst him, now he has become a religious person the liberals are against him, you know the best thing is to only listen to yourself, and his inner voice tells him that he is better the way he is, so the haters should go on and waste time in hating, who cares,
Maybe that’s because he was an extreme liberal first and then became an ultra conservative.

I have normally observed that people who dodge the criticism from the right and the left are usually those in the middle. If you sit on either side of the spectrum, it’s quite natural you will be bashed by the opposite side

Maybe that’s because he was an extreme liberal first and then became an ultra conservative.

I have normally observed that people who dodge the criticism from the right and the left are usually those in the middle. If you sit on either side of the spectrum, it’s quite natural you will be bashed by the opposite side

You avoid criticism only if you don't voice your opinions.

People in the centre get name called from both sides.