Anyone here who eats beef being a Hindu?

Wow - seems like a lot (or more like majority) of Hindus eat beef!

Hindus - aren't you guys afraid of your God?

Afraid? hell no. we adore them and worship them. afterall its the god, who knows all! its love more than fear in hindus beliefs.

I (Hindu Athiest) have beef/goat every year when my childhood friend invites me over to his place for an Eid meal :inzi

I used to eat beef some time back. Now I stopped eating red meat.

Many! Pork meat is a common sight in India

?????.... Muslims (Qasais) do own most butcher shop. Only one Hindu cast called Paassi (Scheduled Caste) that keeps pigs.

I wouldnt like to eat the meat of them pigs. Pork served at 5 star hotels may be sourced from some exclusive farm. Dont trust common restaurant to serve decent pork.

As a non-vegetarian Hindu, I had eaten beef in the US on a few occasions. And, unlike with alchohol, I did not develop a taste for it :). These days I don't eat beef. Never felt the same with pork, in fact, I never miss a chance to eat bacon. I guess, this is because of the cultural conditioning from childhood.

In North India, you would not get beef in any of the common restaurants (5-stars do serve though). It is more common in South India. Also, I remember, in one of the premier medical college hostels in Pune, there were three options - Veg, Non-veg without beef and Non-Veg with beef. So, people do consume beef here, but, it is not so common.

If 'God' is all powerful, all dimensional, omnipresent entity with capability of having seeing our past, present and future then rationality suggests all our future decisions, actions are already preordained, preconceived & pre-concocted. In that case why be fearful and not have the independence and freedom to go with what our heart desires? If 'God' has created us in all its glory, gave us superior intellect, ability to construct rational/logical resolutions, ability to have unique desires, tastes, vision then why limit our reach with these finite, constrained choices as per "faith"?

Which one ? :P

On a serious note, from my interaction (as there are lot of religious people in my family, being a brahmin), its more of god loving than god fearing.

It's more of devotion (strange way) which sometimes irritates me then fear.

If 'God' is all powerful, all dimensional, omnipresent entity with capability of having seeing our past, present and future then rationality suggests all our future decisions, actions are already preordained, preconceived & pre-concocted. In that case why be fearful and not have the independence and freedom to go with what our heart desires? If 'God' has created us in all its glory, gave us superior intellect, ability to construct rational/logical resolutions, ability to have unique desires, tastes, vision then why limit our reach with these finite, constrained choices as per "faith"?

Qazza bhai , kya baat hai :bow:

Wow. Beautifully put! I bet you won't get any contradictions to this post.

So is it ok for Hindus to eat beef? (or any meat for that matter)

I eat beef and my entire family knows about it. My parents are ok, some extended family members disapprove but not strongly enough. I am a South Indian, upper-caste Brahmin (the kind whose family are the original inhabitants of a famous temple town) and I am not from Kerala. I have cousins who are hardcore RSS/BJP, who know about my eating habits and have no issues with it.

Beef is my second fav meat after pork. I am a hindu, I don't cook beef at home anymore as it requires loads of effort, I mostly order in. Wife has no prob with it, though she doesn't eat beef.
My younger brother, couple of cousins also are fond of beef.

Hinduism is very broad, eating beef thing doesn't apply to everyone. I love my steak medium and love my beef burger patty. Yum Yum.

"Hinduism" is way too broad. There are 100s of gods because overtime, lot of religions just got added because of cultural influence from invaders, rulers and so on. This whole beef eating and cow urine drinking is a North Indian thing. In the South, eating beef is fine, in some areas we even present meat and alcohol to regional god/goddesses. Caste is also a big issue caused by North Indian influence that we are trying to get rid of. Caste issue is bigger than any religion issue. I have two muslim friends, no time we ever felt different. Can't say the same for North India though.

Hinduism believes in Karma and believes in you reap what you sowed in your past life. Generally hinduism do not subscribe of killing anything that has got emotions. I know people will say why eat goat/chickens then but hinduism originally was against killing any animals and inspired people to consume things that you are not emotionally connected with. Veggies were considered satvic, that purifies the body and mind.

In ancient times, people used to rely heavily on cattles which provided them milk on a daily basis to feed their children, helping farmers in irrigation and other labour work. Cows proved to be a great asset for existence back then. Killing a cow for meat was unthinkable. It was like killing your own mother whose milk you drank, who cared for you and was emotionally connected with you. Hence in Veda, cow is considered holy and reffered to as mother Aditi.

I do read that some of my fellow posters are saying its a north India thing only and we in South proudly consume beef etc. Well good for you bcoz hinduism does not prohibits anyone from doing anything. We do not have list of principles or directives to follow. Hinduism is all about Karma, Moksha and Dharma. Whether you follow or not, its upto you.

Hinduism believes in Karma and believes in you reap what you sowed in your past life. Generally hinduism do not subscribe of killing anything that has got emotions. I know people will say why eat goat/chickens then but hinduism originally was against killing any animals and inspired people to consume things that you are not emotionally connected with. Veggies were considered satvic, that purifies the body and mind.

In ancient times, people used to rely heavily on cattles which provided them milk on a daily basis to feed their children, helping farmers in irrigation and other labour work. Cows proved to be a great asset for existence back then. Killing a cow for meat was unthinkable. It was like killing your own mother whose milk you drank, who cared for you and was emotionally connected with you. Hence in Veda, cow is considered holy and reffered to as mother Aditi.

I do read that some of my fellow posters are saying its a north India thing only and we in South proudly consume beef etc. Well good for you bcoz hinduism does not prohibits anyone from doing anything. We do not have list of principles or directives to follow. Hinduism is all about Karma, Moksha and Dharma. Whether you follow or not, its upto you.
According to Hinduism you get reincarnated into things and if you're reincarnated into a cow or another animal and if you kill it you're basically killing a human soul I guess, I don't know that's possibly another way to look at the situation

"Hinduism" is way too broad. There are 100s of gods because overtime, lot of religions just got added because of cultural influence from invaders, rulers and so on. This whole beef eating and cow urine drinking is a North Indian thing. In the South, eating beef is fine, in some areas we even present meat and alcohol to regional god/goddesses. Caste is also a big issue caused by North Indian influence that we are trying to get rid of. Caste issue is bigger than any religion issue. I have two muslim friends, no time we ever felt different. Can't say the same for North India though.

The caste thing us very intriguing. Other than Rajput and Brahmin, there were very few affluent castes historically; every society has a social class.

How farmers (jatt) suddenly became a prominent caste renowned for warriors and strength is steeped in sikh origins, as the founders were North Indian Punjabi farmers.

According to Hinduism you get reincarnated into things and if you're reincarnated into a cow or another animal and if you kill it you're basically killing a human soul I guess, I don't know that's possibly another way to look at the situation
Ha ha nice theory, not from the book though :-d

Beef eating is prevalent in the SC/ST communities of Bengal, Assam, Kerala etc..

Even a few Brahmin friends of mine eat it. :)

Just clarifying: A large majority of Hindus don’t eat beef. Some do and you happen to have a lot of people from that minority in this thread. I did not eat beef when I was at home, but I have been out for nearly 10 years+ and my food habits and lifestyle has changed. Also eating beef is “not mentioned as a taboo” in the Mahabharata or The Gita. It’s something done as a reverence to Lord Krishna and also because the animal is seen as a source of many life items in a primarily agricultural society. As the society moves away from agriculture so does the real benefit seen from owning the animal diminishes, only the reverence remains. That’s one of the reasons why you see so many confused noises from india on this topic, where the city elite fails to capture the real reason behind the rural support for the beef ban.

In conversation with The Telegraph, Nrisingha Prasad Bhaduri, a leading Indologist and expert in Vedic scriptures, has discussed various references to beef in India's ancient and religious texts.

"The Vedas encapsulate the essence of Hindu dharma. They are replete with instances of sages and even gods consuming beef. In fact, a guest in a Hindu household used to be referred to - according to the Vedas -as ' goghna' or he who is served beef as part of the hospitality ritual," he said.

Beef has become a political issues since the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party government swept to power in 2014. Self appointed gau rakshaks have used religion to justify violence against Muslims and Dalits, the two communities which rely on cattle for their livelihood.

Academics like Bhaduri and D.N. Jha, the historian from Delhi University who authored The Myth of the Holy Cow, have argued that the Hindu right misrepresents India's ancient history to serve political ends.

Speaking to Frontline magazine in 2015, Jha said, "The cow was neither unslayable nor sacred in the Vedic period."

"The views of the Sangh Parivar on the cow issue are unprincipled and hypocritical. K.R. Malkani, its one-time ideologue, said as early as 1966 without equivocation that flesh of cows dying a natural death can be eaten. How does it go with the Parivar's foolish demand for a blanket national ban on cow slaughter?" he said.

While speaking to The Telegraph, Bhaduri said that it was customary for cows to be offered to priests in the Vedic age. In fact, he said, beef was a compulsory offering.

Indra, who Hindus believe is the god of rain and heaven, ate beef, according to the academic. The Rig Veda, he said, mentions that Indra asks to be served 15 to 20 cooked oxen.

Citing the Shatapath Brahman, a Vedic text, and Yajnavalkya, an ancient philosopher, Bhaduri, said, "'I eat it (beef) only if it is cooked till it is tender'."

https://www.huffingtonpost.in/2018/...u-god-of-rain-and-heaven-ate-beef_a_23540853/

Beef no.

Meat yes.

And who decides that? I’m a Hindu I say Hindus shouldn’t eat meat wasn’t that your logic? If meat is not allowed in our temples then why do people think they can consume it? If it cannot be served to God clearly its not for its followers.

The caste thing us very intriguing. Other than Rajput and Brahmin, there were very few affluent castes historically; every society has a social class.

How farmers (jatt) suddenly became a prominent caste renowned for warriors and strength is steeped in sikh origins, as the founders were North Indian Punjabi farmers.

All 10 Sikh Gurus were from only one caste Khatris.

And who decides that? I’m a Hindu I say Hindus shouldn’t eat meat wasn’t that your logic? If meat is not allowed in our temples then why do people think they can consume it? If it cannot be served to God clearly its not for its followers.

1. You may or may not be a hindu.

2. What you say doesn't decide what hindus do. Its decided on basis of texts as interpreted by akharas and shankracharyas.

3. Animals are slaughtered and meat is offered in shaki peeths. This is allowed in sanatan dharma abd has the sanction of the texts as interpreted by the shankracharyas

2. What you say doesn't decide what hindus do. Its decided on basis of texts as interpreted by akharas and shankracharyas.

3. Animals are slaughtered and meat is offered in shaki peeths. This is allowed in sanatan dharma abd has the sanction of the texts as interpreted by the shankracharyas

And when I said that about Jains and their texts you had an issue.. as no Jain religious authority said only non Muslims can make Jain meals that time you said anyone who is Jain can decide now you are saying I might not be a Hindu also i cannot decide.

Why do so many Hindus try to pretend eating beef is ok? My god, even in the western world where eating beef has been a Sunday tradition for centuries, many are turning away from eating meat of any sort.

Yet Hindus who revere the cow as a holy animal, still won't publicly say it with pride that they will never eat beef!!

Show some conviction in your faith guys, or at least reject it openly. :facepalm:

That's nice. Can you please provide a list of who decides what in this world? :inti

And when I said that about Jains and their texts you had an issue.. as no Jain religious authority said only non Muslims can make Jain meals that time you said anyone who is Jain can decide now you are saying I might not be a Hindu also i cannot decide.

The jains will decide, i said, not A Jain will decide. An individual can decide to do anything, its not the rule that a community will follow.

Many muslims drink or take non halal food, that doesn't mean its the rule within the community.

For Muslims - BJP ,RSS
For Hindus- Shankaracharya
For Jains- random Jain Bakery owners

Atleast thats what I’m getting from his answers

Has any Jain Acharya gone againist what the bakery owner did? No.

Whats halal and haram in islam is decided by that community under their own moulvis.

And you can sit in USA and keep crying bjp rss, etc etc. People are not going to take any govts fake sickularism.

Heard stories on reincarnation, one that I remembered from childhood was that any living organism you kill as human being you will have to reincarnate in that life form 20,000 times, well don’t remember the exact number. Before you are reborn as human again.

Has any Jain Acharya gone againist what the bakery owner did? No.

Whats halal and haram in islam is decided by that community under their own moulvis.

And you can sit in USA and keep crying bjp rss, etc etc. People are not going to take any govts fake sickularism.

Lol at mocking me for USA, most of your backers here are NRIs atleast am an Indian citizen that sends money back home.

Also Jain Acharya will not go out against the bakery guy, if anything the bakery guy has to show why he thinks its against Jains’ belief to hire non Muslims.
Acharya can only show whats in the scriptures..

The jains will decide, i said, not A Jain will decide. An individual can decide to do anything, its not the rule that a community will follow.

Many muslims drink or take non halal food, that doesn't mean its the rule within the community.

Yes , so no Jain Acharya or Jains except that isolated bakery owner has said no Muslims can work in Jain bakery..

You are becoming like pseudo liberals. Your line of argument is that any discrimination is fine as long as religious scholars agree on it, you have problem only when people discriminate when it is not sanctioned by scripture or scholars. That is a fundamentalist pov. What is wrong with you?

Nope it’s wrong in the whole sense , I have mentioned that about Halal already which ends up being discriminatory in India, my point of logic in this is wrt his answers about who decides.

If tmrw even Acharya says Jain meals cannot be prepared by Muslims it would be discriminatory but for now its not even reached that stage.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So a Jain bakery owner gets ARRESTED simply for an ad that says food in his bakery is prepared by Jains only, but ads like these are allowed? Is so called ‘secularism’ only for Indic religions? <a href="https://t.co/RJmP3aJrcO">pic.twitter.com/RJmP3aJrcO</a></p>— Shefali Vaidya. (@ShefVaidya) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShefVaidya/status/1261130405463429120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I guess this is ok?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So a Jain bakery owner gets ARRESTED simply for an ad that says food in his bakery is prepared by Jains only, but ads like these are allowed? Is so called ‘secularism’ only for Indic religions? <a href="https://t.co/RJmP3aJrcO">pic.twitter.com/RJmP3aJrcO</a></p>— Shefali Vaidya. (@ShefVaidya) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShefVaidya/status/1261130405463429120?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I guess this is ok?

No its not ,people should report it, also Jain bakery specifically mentioned Muslims.

So?

Halal requires muslims only.

Missionary hospital will hire christians only.

So Jain bakery can decide who to hire who not to.

Not sure what the issue is. Unlike religions such as Islam and Christianity , it is not always black and white. Hinduism , you could, argue only took a definitive shape from 5th and 6th centuries BCE . The Vedic religion predates that and, clearly , horse and cow meat were consumed prior to that period. You could argue for both positions really. Best leave it to individuals to choose for themselves. No need to emulate certain other religious states and groups who have to indulge in all kinds of mental acrobatics/apologetics to defend their illogical faiths .

Lol at mocking me for USA, most of your backers here are NRIs
Poor BJP. Not only do they have to fight internal anti-nationals, now outside ones too :))

Missionary hospital will hire christians only.

Is this even legal. I think minority educational institutions have a legal right to allocate a percentage to kids from their religion. Haven't heard of any right to also hire based on religion.

On topic, I eat beef in restaurants where it is served, when I'm in the mood for it and if the preparation looks good. But I wouldn't consider myself a practicing Hindu anymore.

My mother's closest friend is a Malayalee Hindu and they eat beef outside. Most of these people who are upper caste and eat beef will never cook it at home. It's a hypocritical take on the situation, but it is what it is.

Most castes in Karnataka don't eat beef. But you will see this being fluid along the coast where beef is readily available in restaurants.