As a Pakistani, would you support India's bid to host 2036 Olympics?

Major

Test Star
This is the "Sardar Patel Sports Enclave, Ahmedabad" design released for India's bid to host 2036 Olympics.

It will include the following:
Narendra Modi Stadium - 1,10,000 capacity (ready)
Football Stadium - 50,000 capacity (planned)
Multipurpose Indoor Arena - 18,000 ( planned)
& Much more venues with Olympics Village
.......................................................................................................

I actually support this and would want India to win the bid and host the event. The reason for that is, sports and especially Olympics are politics. By hosting an Olympics you can get to show your world that how you are developed and belong in the first world country category. Olympics does bring development and betterment to your city.

Now when India wins the bid, and than after few years it takes place in actual, Pakistan will again be reflecting about why they fell behind. I believe this competition could force the country to be right back on track.

When India developed nukes, we had a leader that decided to lets build our own along with an uranium enrichment plant.
When India had metros made for the commonwealth games, Pakistan also decided to work on building a better city transport system.

Your views?

Plz be mindful that this thread is not about the typical, OH WHAT ABOUT THE POOR PEOPLE? This topic is slightly different to that

As an Indian, I would be against India hosting any major event except Cricket. Hosting these events is an excuse for major corruption. Building games villages which are then allocated to politicians. If anything, that money can be spent in improving sports infra across the country.

As a Indian, not sure on this one. Hosting Olympics would incentivise government to work on war footing to construct infra. On the other hand, with the corruption and quality it would be waste of money.

Hosting Olympic games is like nurturing thousands of white elephants. So no, I won't like us to bid for Olympics.

Speaking as an Indian, it's a tough one. On the one hand, for the last 20+ years, every country/city that has hosted the Olympics has suffered financially, been left with a legacy of useless facilities which take years to pay down. It's essentially a financial liability.

On the other hand, there is something to be said for a country showing it's come of age by hosting the Olympics. The impact on the national mood, the sports culture etc. while not really measurable is definitely significant. Somewhat comparable to the ISRO space program in that sense. I was in Athens for a few months prior to the 2004 Olympics and I remember the pride in everyone from my taxi driver from the airport who couldn't wait to start talking about it to my senior colleagues who took every chance to educate me about how it was a huge responsibility. Beijing is another example. You had to only to talk to any Chinese (or Chinese origin) person in the year or two before the Olympics to get a lecture about China's emergence. It genuinely showcased China to the world. Did it have an impact on foreign investments and economy? I don't know but it's worth thinking about.

Speaking as an Indian, it's a tough one. On the one hand, for the last 20+ years, every country/city that has hosted the Olympics has suffered financially, been left with a legacy of useless facilities which take years to pay down. It's essentially a financial liability.

On the other hand, there is something to be said for a country showing it's come of age by hosting the Olympics. The impact on the national mood, the sports culture etc. while not really measurable is definitely significant. Somewhat comparable to the ISRO space program in that sense. I was in Athens for a few months prior to the 2004 Olympics and I remember the pride in everyone from my taxi driver from the airport who couldn't wait to start talking about it to my senior colleagues who took every chance to educate me about how it was a huge responsibility. Beijing is another example. You had to only to talk to any Chinese (or Chinese origin) person in the year or two before the Olympics to get a lecture about China's emergence. It genuinely showcased China to the world. Did it have an impact on foreign investments and economy? I don't know but it's worth thinking about.
I remember when i was in Canada during the Vancover olympics. Everyone was talking about the Olympic spirit. Even if you were living in Toronto everyone had their olympic sweaters on and the spirit for sports was very high. Loved the atmosphere

Yeah, the social aspect is one of the reasons nations bid for the Olympics.

It was definitely huge here in Canada and it brings people together. I would imagine it would be ten times as meaningful to a nation like India as it would be hosting the Olympics for the first time.

Financially it's never worth it though.

I am not a Pakistani, but the only way I could give approval as a British of Punjabi heritage would be if there was a progressive Indian govt in place by 2036. I actually believe that might be the case as I have about as much faith in the BJP taking India forward as I would have of Jamaat i Islam of taking Pakistan forward. So ask me again in 2035.

Put ur hate for India aside. Think about regional competition that i believe Pakistan should get into

Pakistan will not host the Olympics even in the next 200 years.
I am not talking about Pakistan hosting the olympics

My question was, when such development takes place from your arch enemy, where it gets international recognition, wouldn't this drive Pakistan to do work on developing its country. I am not saying Pakistan should look to host olympics, but atleast this might drive them to invest in developing the country to be able

Put ur hate for India aside. Think about regional competition that i believe Pakistan should get into

Pakistan wasn't able to use regional competition to get their domestic cricket in order, India has a highly functioning regional cricket scene. What makes you think a one off event would spark change when decades of the most popular sport in south Asia have been ignored?

it did. the reason why we have a psl is because of ipl.

Pakistan was soo desperate to make there own league that it has been properly ran and PCB is sensitive about it being critisized. The fact that the league survived being played overseas says alot.

It's a funny discussion. 2 guys with a leg and arm tied (maybe India's freed an arm) talking about trying to win consolation prizes in a race.

I am not a Pakistani, but the only way I could give approval as a British of Punjabi heritage would be if there was a progressive Indian govt in place by 2036. I actually believe that might be the case as I have about as much faith in the BJP taking India forward as I would have of Jamaat i Islam of taking Pakistan forward. So ask me again in 2035.
BJP’s equivalent is Muslim League not JII good try though.

On the topic:
Absolutely not, it’s one thing to host common wealth Asian games and another to host Olympics debt games.

If it happens it will be the worst Olympics ever. Knowing the BJP they'll put Jay Shah in charge.

And Gujarat had achieved nothing in any sport to speak of.

Will it be worse that Commonwealth Games hosted by Congress in 2010?

? That was actually the reason for New Delhi being transformed it was also got bid BJP government.

People Cheered Sheila but yes Kalamadi was terrible.

? That was actually the reason for New Delhi being transformed it was also got bid BJP government.

People Cheered Sheila but yes Kalamadi was terrible.
I am a witness to the delhi thing.

I saw how vasant kunj was made and how the metro system was established in thr city.

This is the development i am talking about

I don't think there is any chance of the subcontinent country hosting the Olympics anytime soon. There is so much optical uncertainty that it kills the talk about this stuff. Let those countries host Olympics that have been doing so already and focus on winning the gold medal instead of trying to host one. The same goes for Pakistan as well. Pakistan is not even in thoughts of anybody that it will host the Olympics even in the next century.

I don’t believe in the concept of man made nationalities, couldn’t care less.

On the topic:
Absolutely not, it’s one thing to host common wealth Asian games and another to host Olympics debt games.

So you believe BJP with it's Hindutva leaders and RSS background are going to take India forward in the next coming decade?

Actually 2010 common wealth games expenditure was more than Beijing's Olympics due to corruption. Congress high command never condemned kalmadi .I will like to see an Olympics completely handled by bjp to check their efficiency.

it did. the reason why we have a psl is because of ipl.

Pakistan was soo desperate to make there own league that it has been properly ran and PCB is sensitive about it being critisized. The fact that the league survived being played overseas says alot.

So why has Pakistan not been able to apply the same principles and create a regional domestic cricket scene? I know this is a slightly different topic but underlying issues are the same.

Also, why any need to support an Indian bid at all? Why not just let them get on with it and then if Pakistan can learn something from it great.

I'll support it as long as the venue isn't Delhi. The Indian gov really needs to look beyond to other cities.

So you believe BJP with it's Hindutva leaders and RSS background are going to take India forward in the next coming decade?

What is the absolute worst tragedy that happened during the BJP rule of last 10yrs in terms of loss of lives due to extremists having unmatched powers ? I need reputed media articles with numbers and dates.

I and others have asked this question before but not one single usual suspects touch that topic with a ten foot pole.

I am not talking about Pakistan hosting the olympics

My question was, when such development takes place from your arch enemy, where it gets international recognition, wouldn't this drive Pakistan to do work on developing its country. I am not saying Pakistan should look to host olympics, but atleast this might drive them to invest in developing the country to be able

It actually does the opposite ... it deepens the general insecurities within the Pakistani establishment and makes them take un-usual steps to undermine or sabotage Indias progress one way or the other. Sad reality of the state of affairs as they stand after the vote for two nation theory 75+ yrs ago. Just imagine where we would be if the TNT was truly implemented wherein every single Muslim was forced to move to Pakistan and every Hindu to India.​

So why has Pakistan not been able to apply the same principles and create a regional domestic cricket scene? I know this is a slightly different topic but underlying issues are the same.

Also, why any need to support an Indian bid at all? Why not just let them get on with it and then if Pakistan can learn something from it great.
Regional Domestic doesnt get that much attention while Franchise league does.

Its like playing track and field which normally we wont care how well India is doing, but when they are hosting an international event, that we become curious and that creates a drive to improve ourselve.

Supporting an Indian bid means, that it drives our country to start focusing on the right things and improve. The country relies on the establishment and how they make decisions

They have been here for a decade has India not improved since 2014?

Did India improve because of a decade of BJP or because they taught English in their schools back from 1945?

If you support BJP then don't be shy, just say it and give your reasons why instead of weak responses like this one.

Regional Domestic doesnt get that much attention while Franchise league does.

Its like playing track and field which normally we wont care how well India is doing, but when they are hosting an international event, that we become curious and that creates a drive to improve ourselve.

Supporting an Indian bid means, that it drives our country to start focusing on the right things and improve. The country relies on the establishment and how they make decisions

The establishment is a reflection of the people themselves. If the country wants to move in a different direction the people themselves will drive it through necessity. They don't need to support a hindutva govt bid for the crappy Olyimpics to do it.

No its not. The estblishment was never a reflection of the people. If it is than that means you accept that people dont want pti in power.

Anyways you are not even getting or understanding the point about regional competation and the discussion is going no where...

No its not. The estblishment was never a reflection of the people. If it is than that means you accept that people dont want pti in power.

Anyways you are not even getting or understanding the point about regional competation and the discussion is going no where...

This has always been the case with @Cpt. Rishwat where he seldom discuss the topic on hand and goes off tangent with few chosen words like Hindutva, Hindus, British Raj, RSS goons etc etc. The topic can be anything but these jargons are always there in his sentences. People only hide behind words when they have nothing substantial to say and know they can't win a debate, so derailing the thread is the best resort.

On the topic:
BJP's equivalent is PTI. Boths welfare politics is inspired by the past, Ram Rajya or Riyasat-e-Madina. Their supporters are also carbon copies of each other.

I think you didn't understand the underlying principle. The establishment in Pakistan is for sale. They take loans then they pass them down through the channels according to the pecking order. As long as the greater public is getting fed then why would they need to reject anything?

The getting back to the point, why would they give a toss about hindutva olympics?

This has always been the case with @Cpt. Rishwat where he seldom discuss the topic on hand and goes off tangent with few chosen words like Hindutva, Hindus, British Raj, RSS goons etc etc. The topic can be anything but these jargons are always there in his sentences. People only hide behind words when they have nothing substantial to say and know they can't win a debate, so derailing the thread is the best resort.

I have never used the term goons to describe RSS. Yes I reference the British Raj, yes I reference hindutva, because they are your own terms of reference. I have never even used terms like sanghi because I am not sure what that means so I stay away from it in case it causes offence. I think you yourself have some underlying issues with hindutva and the British Raj if you think they are a problem.

Did India improve because of a decade of BJP or because they taught English in their schools back from 1945?

If you support BJP then don't be shy, just say it and give your reasons why instead of weak responses like this one.
Lol i support anyone that promotes business. I have said that in BJP threads as well.

English was always taught it did make a difference. BJP did well from 2014 in various areas from infrastructure to digital economy to having balanced a better relationship with Russia , Middle east and US.

Lol i support anyone that promotes business. I have said that in BJP threads as well.

English was always taught it did make a difference. BJP did well from 2014 in various areas from infrastructure to digital economy to having balanced a better relationship with Russia , Middle east and US.

That's very interesting that you support BJP because they promote business. Here's an interesting article which does acknowledge t
[URL unfurl="true"]https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2023/05/11/modi-india-muslims-hatred-incitement/[/URL]

That's very interesting that you support BJP because they promote business. Here's an interesting article which does acknowledge t
[URL unfurl="true"]https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2023/05/11/modi-india-muslims-hatred-incitement/[/URL]
Not able to read it as it is behind a paywall but its a freaking opinion piece on WP and by none other than Rana Ayuub whose hatred for Modi is known by every one. Either its trolling (bad one if it is) or just pure hatred. If later is the case you might need to introspect why that might be the case.

India can 'very easily' host the 2036 Olympics: Sports Minister Anurag Thakur​

Sports Minister Anurag Thakur was bullish about India’s chances and ability to host the 2036 Olympics. He said the country has the required funding and resources to compete with other contenders in the bidding war. The minister also rejected criticism that the money would be better off spent on welfare schemes.

India had thrown its hit into the ring to host the 2036 Olympics at last year’s historic IOC Session in Mumbai. Although, decision on the host for the 2036 Summer Games will not be taken before 2026 or 2027. India’s ambitious interest has found support from current International Olympic Committee (IOC) chief Thomas Bach, who believes the country has a “strong case”.

“We are fully prepared. Very easily we can,” Thakur said in an interview to PTI. Besides India, some of the other contenders in the running are Poland, Indonesia, Mexico, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia who have either declared interest or are likely to join the race.

“Last year our capital expenditure was Rs 10 lakh crore, and a year before, it was Rs 7.5 lakh crore. This year it is Rs 11,11,111 crore. Sports infrastructure is hardly Rs 5,000 crore. Even if it goes up to Rs 20,000 crore, it can done,” he said down-playing the cost factor.

To achieve the dream of hosting the Olympics, India plans to start small by winning the rights for the 2030 Youth Olympics. Plans are underway to prepare Ahmedabad as the host city for both the showpieces.

The 49-year-old, who took over the Sports Ministry from Kiren Rijiju in 2021, said his confidence in India’s bid comes from the rapid pace of growth in the country. He went on to list the central government’s achievements in infrastructure development.

“Today’s India is ambitious and aspirational. Our road, rail infrastructure is growing by the day. We had 74 airports in 2014 and today we have 150. We had 96,000km of road and now we have 1,50,000km. Rural roads were 3,20,000km and now it is 7,06,000km.

“Railway lines have doubled to 40,000km. There are 706 medical colleges. We are also almost fully electrified There are now 1117 universities, up from 740. We had 16 IITs and the number has gone up to 24. We have 24 AIIMS, up from earlier seven.

“Look at these statistics. What Congress could not do in 60 years, Mr Modi has done in 10 years, so imagine where India would be by 2036,” he pointed out.

Brazil spent $11.1 billion on hosting the Rio Games in 2016 while Tokyo splashed $12.9 billion for the re-scheduled edition in 2021.

When Thakur was asked if the money can be better-utilised on welfare schemes, he said hosting the Games will have its own benefits for the poor and marginalised.

“I will give you an example. When IPL starts, it offered employment to so many people in these one-two months, not thousands but lakhs. It adds money to our economy. A country like India will benefit by hosting the Games.

“The Modi government is already doing a lot for the poor. It has already lifted 25 crore from multi dimensional poverty line. More facilities will be given to them to make them prosperous.”

Thakur also expressed high hopes from the country’s athletes for the upcoming Paris Games in July-August, saying, “We should get medals in double digits.”

“The way we have prepared, I believe we should get medals in double digits,” he reiterated when asked whether India would be able to match or better its best ever tally of seven achieved in the Tokyo edition.

Thakur said a part of the credit for India’s improving sporting performances goes to the government’s Khelo India initiative, which was launched in 2017 and gets a lion’s share of budgetary allocation.

Pehle kehte the padhoge likhoge banoge nawab, aur kheloge kudoge toh banoge kharab. Ab kehte hain padhoge likhoge banoge nawab, aur kheloge kudoge toh banoge laajawab (The old saying that getting into sports would spoil you has now been rephrased to say that playing sports will make you matchless),” he said.

“And Khelo India has created this pro-sports environment. People now see career for their children in sports. The sports budget has gone up by three times. There are 1000 Khelo India centres now.

“There are 23 Centres of Excellence. TOPS scheme takes care of boarding lodging and training of athletes in the country as well as abroad. Rs 6 lakh is given as out of pocket allowance,” he added.

However, Thakur is also well aware of the challenges facing Indian sports, a major one being doping. India is among the top dope offenders in the world.

The country was declared the second worst in a 10-year World Anti Doping Agency global study of dope violations by minors. Also, India registered the highest percentage of failed dope tests among countries which tested more than 2,000 samples in the 2022 Testing Figures.

Thakur put the onus on coaches and national federations to steer the athletes towards the correct path.

“We test way more now, more samples are tested and that is why there are more positive tests. Both off-line and online exposure and awareness has been carried out.

“Federations and coaches have to change their mindset. If they look at shortcuts for winning medals, it will only causes harm, athletes can lose their entire careers. They will have to look at proper ways,” he asserted.

Ind doesn't have the infrastructure to host Olympics. They should not be hosting it. They are expensive and are forgotten once done.

Does India have the potential? Perhaps yes - but it will have to come at an unacceptably high cost. At this point - it is perhaps in its last throes of emerging from being a third world country - hosting Olympics might actually set them back cost wise.

Olympics is not like ICC world cup that you are gonna host without much difficulty. It takes a huge sum of money that might hurt them in long term.

It may sound like wow for India but it can backfire.

Yes.

I remember the cynics gave the same excuses during our bid to host the 2010 Commonwealth Games and while we had a lot of corruption taking place there and expectedly, it gave a massive push to our sports. It inspired a generation of sports persons in the country to aspire for international glory.

You have to understand while sports are a part of lifestyle in the western world, in our parts of the world they’re seen mostly from a political, business pov. That has to changed

For Sports to become part of Bharatiya lifestyle, such investments are necessary. Our economy is getting stronger with each decade and more private investments are happening in sports. I’m sure the government will get a lot of support from private enterprise.

Let’s use the innovations that exist today to sustain our investments. Build multipurpose stadiums that can be constantly utilised in future.

The Olympic village can always be used as a housing complex for people later. We have no dearth of population to populate such infrastructure. I don’t see our citi a becoming one of those Olympics ghost towns years after.

I would just prefer it to be Delhi NCR (Delhi + Gurugram + Noida) for a number of reasons.

The national capital has seen decent developments in the last 20 years however it is still lagging way behind other major developed cities of the world. The Olympics will allow for the capital to receive further funding needed to take it to the next level.

Delhi is also regional hub for sports already. Majority of our sportspersons can more conveniently access the infra that will be created for future use.

Because the government is dominated by two Gujaratis , they have been trying to promote Ahmedabad which got the Bullet train corridor ahead of some other major metro cities , the biggest stadium upgrade ahead of historically prominent stadiums like Eden Gardens, Wankhede, Chinnaswami etc. This can’t keep on happening. We want the best for Ahmedabad but not without justification.

While it is true that the association wants to offer these Olympics to the "Global South", the top-3 in the running for 2036 are Indonesia, Turkey and Chile.

The Saudi Arabia of India - Gujarat - is not in the running.

I like where the OP is coming from wrt regional competition. There is no doubt people are becoming more aware than ever thanks to social media and as far as the mindset of general Pakistanis is concerned I can clearly see on Youtube that a good percentage of them feel somewhat fed up with the old propaganda based politics wrt Bharat.

A lot of them look at their neighbour today and acknowledge the developments that have happened much like how we here look at China and feel dissatisfied about our pace of growth. I am glad China remains a constant reminder that whatever good we are doing is still not enough and that we need to keep it going to match up.

The sports obsession, road infra, new airports, railways etc a whole lot of that is inspired directly from China’s rise in last two decades otherwise we never felt anything while the US, Europe had achieved such advances ages ago. We woke up only when our nearest sleeping dragon awoke and the world started comparing us to them just because population wise we were the nearest country to compare.

If India hosts the Olympics, it won't put Pakistan in any competition. We're too busy with our issues and don't actually have the time, or brain, to decipher this.

While it is true that the association wants to offer these Olympics to the "Global South", the top-3 in the running for 2036 are Indonesia, Turkey and Chile.

The Saudi Arabia of India - Gujarat - is not in the running.
I think Saudi will take it. Every since serious Saudi bid for 2034 FIFA world Cup (almost guaranteed) and 2036.
Ahmedabad discussion has taken a back seat altogether. India knows it cant compete with the Saudi money that will be thrown around.

Olympics is a money losing event. Yes , it offers prestige and is the pinnacle of multi-sport event but if a nation wants to host the event, they should ensure the infrastructure and the stadiums built serve purposes in future. A commonwealth games before the Olympics and an Asiad after would allow efficient use of the Stadiums as well as boost the local economy.

By its own though, it's a miscalculation and will backfire. Budgets usually balloon up to unforseen levels unless you make it trash like France did (see their opening ceremony). Then there is the issue of security as well as reputation.

A study has found out that while tourism boosts the successive year after Olympics, the city soon loses the Olympic honeymoon phase and by year 3 it stabilises again. Another issue is , very rarely does reputation increase, people usually remember the bad stuff and ignore the good ones. The is especially true in case of the Global South where the Western media leaves no stone untouched to humiliate and mock their activities and events.

The Olympics should only be posted if there is proper infrastructure and stadium.rkght now, I would say delay the bid till 2044