At least 10 killed, several injured in Lahore blast

LAHORE: At least 10 people including DIG Traffic Ahmed Mobin were killed and at least 53 others injured in an explosion near the provincial assembly in Lahore on Monday.

DSP Pervez Butt, SSP East Zahid Nawaz Gondal were also killed in the explosion.

The incident occurred as hundreds of chemists protested a new law near the Punjab Assembly building, provincial law minister Rana Sanaullah said.

Up to 400 people had attended the protest, according to an AFP reporter who was on the scene when the explosion occurred.

“Suddenly there was a bang and a huge blast,” he said. “Everybody ran for safety.”

Explosion was caused when a man riding a motorcycle collided with a vehicle, said a traffic officer on the scene.

Police cordoned blast site, whereas the injured were being moved to nearby hospitals, including Ganga Ram hospital.

Lahore was the site of an Easter Day bombing last year that killed more than 70 people in a public park.

PSL

Social media users were quick to suggest the blast was meant to derail plans to hold the highly-anticipated final of the Pakistan Super League in Lahore.

The second year of the Twenty20 tournament is currently being held in the United Arab Emirates out of security fears, but after a military crackdown on extremism officials were confident enough to plan for the final to take place in the cricket-mad city.

Condemnation

Political leaders including Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah condemned the incident.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1325680/explosion-heard-lahore-casualties-feared/

Dawn says 10 people dead.

Inna lillahi wa inna illahi raji'oon

"Explosion was caused when a man riding a motorcycle collided with a vehicle, said a traffic officer on the scene."

So was it an accident that caused the explosion? Or the vehicle was carrying explosives for some other location, but the motor cyclist spoiled their plans?
RIP victims.

http://www.dawn.com/news/1314549/se...10-dead-as-bomb-explodes-on-lahores-mall-road

At least 10 people were killed and as many as 30 were injured when a suicide bomber exploded outside the Punjab Assembly in Lahore during a protest in the area on Monday, said police officials.

SSP Zahid Gondal of Punjab Police and DIG Traffic Lahore Capt (retd) Ahmad Mobin were killed in the attack. Hours earlier, DIG Traffic had been seen on television mediating with protesters who had gathered at the site. Mobin was negotiating with protesters to end the strike and clear the area.

A large group of chemists and pharmaceutical manufacturers had been protesting in front of the assembly when a nearby vehicle exploded. There was a significant presence of law enforcers in the area due to the protest.

RIP to all dead

Praying for the injured

Looks like PSL final in Lahore will be no more.

Was it a terrorist attack or something else going wrong?. It doesn't seem to be clear exactly what happened here.

Raheel Sharif has barely stepped out of the door and these hyenas have again come out to play.. Seems like Qamar Bajwa is too soft for this job, but what can we say atleast he is not getting in Nawaz Sharif's 'way' and that is what his excellency Nawaz Sharif the clean wanted.

I hope Nawaz takes some time off from his money laundering activities and takes a serious look at how and why this attack took place. It did happen in his Takht-e-Lahore so there is more chance of him giving a hoot about it. If it happened in KP, Baluchistan or Sindh it would have been another day in the office for him.

Reports are the intelligence agencies had informed of an incoming attack from JuA on 26th Jan 2017. That is about 20 days ago and yet nothing was done about it :facepalm:

LAHORE: At least 10 people including DIG Traffic Ahmed Mobin were killed and at least 53 others injured in an explosion near the provincial assembly in Lahore on Monday.

DSP Pervez Butt, SSP East Zahid Nawaz Gondal were also killed in the explosion.

The incident occurred as hundreds of chemists protested a new law near the Punjab Assembly building, provincial law minister Rana Sanaullah said.

Up to 400 people had attended the protest, according to an AFP reporter who was on the scene when the explosion occurred.

“Suddenly there was a bang and a huge blast,” he said. “Everybody ran for safety.”

Explosion was caused when a man riding a motorcycle collided with a vehicle, said a traffic officer on the scene.

Police cordoned blast site, whereas the injured were being moved to nearby hospitals, including Ganga Ram hospital.

Lahore was the site of an Easter Day bombing last year that killed more than 70 people in a public park.

PSL

Social media users were quick to suggest the blast was meant to derail plans to hold the highly-anticipated final of the Pakistan Super League in Lahore.

The second year of the Twenty20 tournament is currently being held in the United Arab Emirates out of security fears, but after a military crackdown on extremism officials were confident enough to plan for the final to take place in the cricket-mad city.

Condemnation

Political leaders including Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah condemned the incident.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1325680/explosion-heard-lahore-casualties-feared/

Job done in that case.

Reports are the intelligence agencies had informed of an incoming attack from JuA on 26th Jan 2017. That is about 20 days ago and yet nothing was done about it :facepalm:

How do you know nothing was done bro?
Let's not be to blame the intelligence services who are so underfunded and lack man power and work in 24/7 state to life threatening conditions.

Their failures are public and successes are always kept secret!

You have to wonder whether Pakistan is mature enough to survive as a democracy if there is no defence against low tech terrorism. Is the govt even capable of identifying the source of the threat and moving to nullify it as would happen in more vigilant nations?

Raheel Sharif has barely stepped out of the door and these hyenas have again come out to play.. Seems like Qamar Bajwa is too soft for this job, but what can we say atleast he is not getting in Nawaz Sharif's 'way' and that is what his excellency Nawaz Sharif the clean wanted.

I hope Nawaz takes some time off from his money laundering activities and takes a serious look at how and why this attack took place. It did happen in his Takht-e-Lahore so there is more chance of him giving a hoot about it. If it happened in KP, Baluchistan or Sindh it would have been another day in the office for him.

Nawaz giving a hoot or not makes no difference considering our counterterrorism policy, both in terms of formulation and implementation, is not in his hands and he has as much control over it as he does over Japan's foreign policy.

Yes Nawaz is a small level peon and not the freaking Prime Minister of the country.

Yeah because it's totally the prime minister, and not a certain other institution that has veto power over the PM, who has the final say on foreign policy and terrorism related issues in Pakistan. This is literally Pakistani politics 101.

Army knew about this attack yet did nothing. I disagree sometimes about army with you but they know every group, every attack nowadays. And they let this happen so our politicians look stupid. 100% agree with you.

Absolutely criminal. Not that the top brass gives two hoots about our image ofcourse, you have to watch Durrani's interview on Mehdi Hassan's show.

Army knew about this attack yet did nothing. I disagree sometimes about army with you but they know every group, every attack nowadays. And they let this happen so our politicians look stupid. 100% agree with you.

Absolutely criminal. Not that the top brass gives two hoots about our image ofcourse, you have to watch Durrani's interview on Mehdi Hassan's show.

Look, I'm all for holding Nawaz to account but it's so disingenuous to suggest that he has any power whatsoever when it comes to the two big issues of foreign policy and counterterrorism policy. He may as well be a peon when it comes to how much control he has over those two areas. By all means hold him to account for what he's actually responsible for and in control of but to try and shift the blame for another institution's failings on him while emphatically defending that institution's every move forces me to question whether all these people going after Nawaz(or Zardari before him, or Benazir or ZAB and so on) are actually interested in accountability or just finding a scapegoat to blame our failings on.

RIP victims...If you check some of the responsible or their followers will be meeting with interior minister or some other people in government (names Fazrur Rehman etc).

NAP is a complete joke. A plan that isn't a plan.

"No room will be left for the extremism in the country" - how's that working out ?

Look, I'm all for holding Nawaz to account but it's so disingenuous to suggest that he has any power whatsoever when it comes to the two big issues of foreign policy and counterterrorism policy. He may as well be a peon when it comes to how much control he has over those two areas. By all means hold him to account for what he's actually responsible for and in control of but to try and shift the blame for another institution's failings on him while emphatically defending that institution's every move forces me to question whether all these people going after Nawaz(or Zardari before him, or Benazir or ZAB and so on) are actually interested in accountability or just finding a scapegoat to blame our failings on.

Yup I agree. Less said about forgien policy the better, otherwise I will bore everyone with my rant :))

NAP is a complete joke. A plan that isn't a plan.

"No room will be left for the extremism in the country" - how's that working out ?

Well, lets see. ASWJ conducted a massive rally near ISI headquarters the same day a legitimate political party was banned from holding a procession there. Then ASWJ ran for provincial assembly elections a few months later and won. While this was happening, a bunch of bloggers who were questioning the state's(the deep one, not the regular one) position vis a vis terrorism mysteriously disappeared while a media and social media campaign to label them blasphemers and enemies of the state was run by people that are absolutely not at all known for their affiliation with certain institutions so, all things considered, it has worked out well. Business as usual, what more could you ask for?

This is dated 7th this month. They knew it was coming.

View attachment 72662

It's become a bit of a trend here. Every time there's an attack, a letter like this one gets leaked a day or two later to make the civilian authorities look stupid. There was one after the Peshawar attack, the Bannu jail break and the DI Khan jail break.

Official-warning-to-KP-govt-Credit-hindu.com_.jpg

Wrist slitting and paranoid blame game in this thread is rather nauseating...

What would NS gain by deliberately being incompetent and not stopping this attack?

Or why would army want this to happen?

Blsming either is utterly useless, even more sophisticated nations with advanced tracking capabilities and far higher security budgets are struggling with this type of terror.

Is it a coincidence that this attack happens close to a landmark sporting event that is due to take place in the city... like terror on demand.

At the end of the day, Nawaz Sharif is the prime minister, that too by majority vote, and all these institutions fall under his command. Therefore, regardless of the situation, he is the one answerable to the people for any of the institution failings that occur while he is in command . That is what he gets paid the big bucks for.

If Nawaz Sharif does not have control over any of the institutions falling under him than that's no ones fault but his own and he should be resigning if that is the case.

At the end of the day, Nawaz Sharif is the prime minister, that too by majority vote, and all these institutions fall under his command. Therefore, regardless of the situation, he is the one answerable to the people for any of the institution failings that occur while he is in command . That is what he gets paid the big bucks for.

If Nawaz Sharif does not have control over any of the institutions falling under him than that's no ones fault but his own and he should be resigning if that is the case.

I have to agree here. I don't doubt that the armed forces could well be implicit in this attack, although without some proof it's a serious accusation to make. But the point is, if the govt are helpless to root out any malevolent force which is working against national security, then they are a sham govt, and as such, complicit by association.

You and I both know that while these institutions fall under his command on paper, that is unequivocally not the case in practice. Why was he, for instance, unable to do anything about his CTD led operation against Jaish e Mohammad being shut down? The same majority that elected him and every other member of parliament declares, with one voice no less which is no mean feat in a country as divided as ours, any member of parliament a traitor and an Indian/Afghan agent when they try to demand answers from the institution that is supposedly answerable to them. Just ask Mahmood Achakzai, an elected representative of the people, how well demanding answers from the khakis has worked out for him and what kind of names he's best known by in Pakistan.

And what happens when he resigns? Will anyone who replaces him have any more power than he does? You can continue replacing figureheads till the end of time and it won't change anything because the system is broken and those who wield the power to make or break it enjoy the kind of public support any politician would give his right arm for. The only times the army has been brought to it's knees have been when they lost the public's support, most recently during the tail end of Musharraf's rule.

You and I both know that while these institutions fall under his command on paper, that is unequivocally not the case in practice. Why was he, for instance, unable to do anything about his CTD led operation against Jaish e Mohammad being shut down? The same majority that elected him and every other member of parliament declares, with one voice no less which is no mean feat in a country as divided as ours, any member of parliament a traitor and an Indian/Afghan agent when they try to demand answers from the institution that is supposedly answerable to them. Just ask Mahmood Achakzai, an elected representative of the people, how well demanding answers from the khakis has worked out for him and what kind of names he's best known by in Pakistan.

And what happens when he resigns? Will anyone who replaces him have any more power than he does? You can continue replacing figureheads till the end of time and it won't change anything because the system is broken and those who wield the power to make or break it enjoy the kind of public support any politician would give his right arm for. The only times the army has been brought to it's knees have been when they lost the public's support, most recently during the tail end of Musharraf's rule.

Incredible. Now it's the ordinary citizen or should I say 'Pakistani society' that is to blame for no one being held accountable for leadership in the country.

If what you say is true ... why doesn't NS do an erdogan and call the people to take on the army? Will you join the call and go to the streets?

Erdogan enjoys public support. NS doesn't. In Pakistan, the media cannot report independently on the army's activities because any coverage involving them is managed by their propaganda arm, ISPR. Textbooks can not mention their historic activities unfavorably, news coverage of some of their more unsavory activities are outright censored while there's an ISPR led image building campaign going on at all times so you can imagine the kind of public support they have compared to civilian officials who can't go to the toilet without our "vibrant" media discovering some scandal and ripping them to shreds for it. If you do the same to the army, you end up like Saleem Shehzad or the missing bloggers. That said, if there's ever a call to go to the streets against the army's stranglehold on our politics, I'll be the first one there, rest assured. They have turned my country into a basket case, more than any NS or Zardari ever could, and I have nothing but contempt for them and theirs despite my own father being a former army officer and a staunch supporter of theirs to this day. They can go to hell as far as I'm concerned.

RIP victims seeing the posts on the thread a person would feel Jaan ki koi keemat hi nahi hai,its all about who is right in a virtual argument.

Accountability is important in such a serious matter, far more than glib condolences.

I understand what you are saying but if the system is broken it can only be fixed by the government at helm. No one else can really fix the issue. Nawaz Sharif has been handed the power by the people and if he was truly committed to work for people's interest he would take every step necessary to correct any institutional failings.

Nawaz Sharif is unwilling to do so because he is in power primarily to satisfy self-interests and he is carrying baggage from past.

Accountability is important in such a serious matter, far more than glib condolences.

And no way is that going to happen with aggression on a cricket forum,there is nothing close to losing someone esp when its so unexpected.
No one understands this but the value of a life in South Asia is only for the rich.

How is this a system broken ? Security agencies world over has similar Modus Operandi. This exactly is THE SYSTEM.

Allover its an unwritten law to not criticise security agencies in public. Whatever criticism people have, they direct it towards government and never towards agencies, no matterif they are right or wrong. Only in Pakistan we dare blaming the security agencies.

Why the wars in Afghanistan, Iraq and others continue despite govt changing many hands?

If the the TTP are responsible there is only one party who is to blame..and at this time in this way..I'm tired of saying it..we should think about responding to this..but we won't. .

I understand what you are saying but if the system is broken it can only be fixed by the government at helm. No one else can really fix the issue. Nawaz Sharif has been handed the power by the people and if he was truly committed to work for people's interest he would take every step necessary to correct any institutional failings.
How though? With the current gulf in power between military and the civilian government, how can Nawaz even attempt to fix the system without running headlong into the military who benefit tremendously from the existing system? For anyone to be able to do so, there needs to be a level playing field. The closest thing we can ever have to that is if the public overwhelmingly turns against the army which is unlikely as you can see the extent of the army's brainwashing through decades of control over the press, media and education system on this thread itself, and most people here actually have some formal education making them less susceptible to this kind of brainwashing than the average Pakistani.

Nawaz Sharif is unwilling to do so because he is in power primarily to satisfy self-interests and he is carrying baggage from past.

Nawaz Sharif actually tried and what happened? That's right, Dharna 1 happened. It was no coincidence that the government was increasingly interfering in foreign policy which has traditionally been the army's domain and it's also not a coincidence that it came to a screeching halt in the aftermath of the dharna. More recently, there's the Jaish e Mohammad case where a civilian led operation was shut down by the army, which later became the basis for the now infamous Cyril Almeida scandal.

And that's why PSL final shouldn't happen in Pakistan. Pakistan isn't safe.

RIP. Inna lillahi wa inna illahi raji'oon

How though? With the current gulf in power between military and the civilian government, how can Nawaz even attempt to fix the system without running headlong into the military who benefit tremendously from the existing system? For anyone to be able to do so, there needs to be a level playing field. The closest thing we can ever have to that is if the public overwhelmingly turns against the army which is unlikely as you can see the extent of the army's brainwashing through decades of control over the press, media and education system on this thread itself, and most people here actually have some formal education making them less susceptible to this kind of brainwashing than the average Pakistani.

Nawaz Sharif actually tried and what happened? That's right, Dharna 1 happened. It was no coincidence that the government was increasingly interfering in foreign policy which has traditionally been the army's domain and it's also not a coincidence that it came to a screeching halt in the aftermath of the dharna. More recently, there's the Jaish e Mohammad case where a civilian led operation was shut down by the army, which later became the basis for the now infamous Cyril Almeida scandal.

Even if Dharna was sponsored, If NS and PMLN were clean, they could have easily avoided it. Like I said they are only in power to satisfy self interests and have a lot of baggage.

But they aren't clean, they never were. That's besides the point though because even if they were, do you think a clean democratic government, a mythical entity in any third world country, would have been able to stand up to the army given how skewed the balance of power is in their favor and how easily they could have conjured something out of thin air to take down the entire government if push came to shove?

Very sad news. So many innocent people killed.

This will always happen in Pakistan until us Pakistanis don't unite instead of blaming each other. Look at India, I know many people that don't like BJP and Modi but they don't go around abusing him everywhere especially on social media like most of us Pakistanis do to our leaders.
Everytime something happens in Pakistan we blame the PM instead of uniting and getting behind the country. We bring our political agendas out and look for incidents to happen so we can shoot down a leader we don't like. This is shameful. Get behind your country and leader and watch if things don't improve in our country. While India is mostly united we have a Imran Khan Vs Nawaz Sharif showdown with Imran Khan just bothered about becoming PM and now I can see him blaming Nawaz Sharif for this so he can get some brownie points. This is ridiculous Nawaz Sharif is PM and let him finish his term. Our enemies planning attacks in our countries and our leaders instead of focusing on that are fighting each other. Not just the leaders it's more the common people and supporters of a political party. Bloody stop all this nonsense and unite and find a way to counter terrorism in our country instead of wasting time all day fighting each other.

Please guys by fighting and arguing with each other won't change the PM. He will still finish his term so just be quite and get behind your country. You guys think Nawaz Sharif ain't hurt such think happened and it's his fault. If Imran Khan stops all this nonsense and just let him finish his term then he can save his time serving the country.

Let's Unite Pakistan!

Erdogan enjoys public support. NS doesn't. In Pakistan, the media cannot report independently on the army's activities because any coverage involving them is managed by their propaganda arm, ISPR. Textbooks can not mention their historic activities unfavorably, news coverage of some of their more unsavory activities are outright censored while there's an ISPR led image building campaign going on at all times so you can imagine the kind of public support they have compared to civilian officials who can't go to the toilet without our "vibrant" media discovering some scandal and ripping them to shreds for it. If you do the same to the army, you end up like Saleem Shehzad or the missing bloggers. That said, if there's ever a call to go to the streets against the army's stranglehold on our politics, I'll be the first one there, rest assured. They have turned my country into a basket case, more than any NS or Zardari ever could, and I have nothing but contempt for them and theirs despite my own father being a former army officer and a staunch supporter of theirs to this day. They can go to hell as far as I'm concerned.

Have you ever thought that your views maybe biased or even completely wrong?

The army is you... a better run version of you. It's the only institution that works and gives power to ordinary man. I personally know of an extremely poor family whose son went on to become a General... is there any hope of any talented man from humble beginnings ever coming to power in Pakistan? I say that it's only through the army that a 'normal' Pakistani has ever come to power. Take your own example, you are a product of a middle ranking army upbringing and patronage, that gave you a helping hand to be what you are now. It's a functioning system.

What you should be railing about is the non functional broken political system. It promotes no meritocracy and instead seeks to curtail anything and anyone that challenges it. It's democracy in all but in name. It is this what creates a vacuum for army to fill in and provide leadership, as it has to. You say NS has no support? Ask yourself why, he got the most votes, surely he can muster few hundred thousand and start a protest against the army to retake the power that he supposedly doesn't have. If he was a real leader, he would do an Erdogan and call people to the streets to retake this supposed lost power.

How the Zardari led PPP is still in existence is just mind boggling, a party that systematically destroys all institutions as if there is no tomorrow. Or for that matter MQM whose killed more pakistanis than perhaps even the terrorists in the last 10 years or so.

The media is not independent... it's not anywhere. It's run by vested interests, it can be bought and frequently is to portray a certain POV. Compare CNN to Fox News for take on a similar story about trump for example.

I am all for civilian democratic process, but it needs to be a real democratic process not an exercise in futility. History of subcontinent tells us that you better have a powerful army if you want to survive as one entity.

Very sad news. So many innocent people killed.

This will always happen in Pakistan until us Pakistanis don't unite instead of blaming each other. Look at India, I know many people that don't like BJP and Modi but they don't go around abusing him everywhere especially on social media like most of us Pakistanis do to our leaders.
Everytime something happens in Pakistan we blame the PM instead of uniting and getting behind the country. We bring our political agendas out and look for incidents to happen so we can shoot down a leader we don't like. This is shameful. Get behind your country and leader and watch if things don't improve in our country. While India is mostly united we have a Imran Khan Vs Nawaz Sharif showdown with Imran Khan just bothered about becoming PM and now I can see him blaming Nawaz Sharif for this so he can get some brownie points. This is ridiculous Nawaz Sharif is PM and let him finish his term. Our enemies planning attacks in our countries and our leaders instead of focusing on that are fighting each other. Not just the leaders it's more the common people and supporters of a political party. Bloody stop all this nonsense and unite and find a way to counter terrorism in our country instead of wasting time all day fighting each other.

Please guys by fighting and arguing with each other won't change the PM. He will still finish his term so just be quite and get behind your country. You guys think Nawaz Sharif ain't hurt such think happened and it's his fault. If Imran Khan stops all this nonsense and just let him finish his term then he can save his time serving the country.

Let's Unite Pakistan!

Imran Khan didn't blame Nawaz for any of these terrorist attacks but i will because he is the PM of my country and if nothing is in his hands and army is running the show from behind then he should go home instead of sitting there as a pupet if he can't control anything and sorry i can't stand behind this corrupt person or anyone from this corrupt family. I don't know why only poor citizens have to suffer and die in these attacks why not these terrorists from hell target these big corrupt heads sitting in offices ruling over us.

Awwww poor old Wazo doesn't have any powers to have a talk with the military folks, but has no problems when stealing with both hands.

If Nawaz Sharif is so incompetent that he cannot even have a foreign minister then he should just go home and stop taking the Prime Minister's salary.

The army is you... a better run version of you. It's the only institution that works and gives power to ordinary man. I personally know of an extremely poor family whose son went on to become a General... is there any hope of any talented man from humble beginnings ever coming to power in Pakistan? I say that it's only through the army that a 'normal' Pakistani has ever come to power. Take your own example, you are a product of a middle ranking army upbringing and patronage, that gave you a helping hand to be what you are now. It's a functioning system.

What you should be railing about is the non functional broken political system. It promotes no meritocracy and instead seeks to curtail anything and anyone that challenges it. It's democracy in all but in name. It is this what creates a vacuum for army to fill in and provide leadership, as it has to. You say NS has no support? Ask yourself why, he got the most votes, surely he can muster few hundred thousand and start a protest against the army to retake the power that he supposedly doesn't have. If he was a real leader, he would do an Erdogan and call people to the streets to retake this supposed lost power.

How the Zardari led PPP is still in existence is just mind boggling, a party that systematically destroys all institutions as if there is no tomorrow. Or for that matter MQM whose killed more pakistanis than perhaps even the terrorists in the last 10 years or so.

The media is not independent... it's not anywhere. It's run by vested interests, it can be bought and frequently is to portray a certain POV. Compare CNN to Fox News for take on a similar story about trump for example.

I am all for civilian democratic process, but it needs to be a real democratic process not an exercise in futility. History of subcontinent tells us that you better have a powerful army if you want to survive as one entity.

Top post and i agree with every word you said. Adding to your General example our last army chief kayani was son of a nco a low ranked officer.

Awwww poor old Wazo doesn't have any powers to have a talk with the military folks, but has no problems when stealing with both hands.

If Nawaz Sharif is so incompetent that he cannot even have a foreign minister then he should just go home and stop taking the Prime Minister's salary.

3rd time PM without any real power except the free license for corruption what a joke!

Imran Khan didn't blame Nawaz for any of these terrorist attacks but i will because he is the PM of my country and if nothing is in his hands and army is running the show from behind then he should go home instead of sitting there as a pupet if he can't control anything and sorry i can't stand behind this corrupt person or anyone from this corrupt family. I don't know why only poor citizens have to suffer and die in these attacks why not these terrorists from hell target these big corrupt heads sitting in offices ruling over us.

This attitude is why our country will always be the way it is. No scope for improvements with such mentality.
Fine go ahead and fight each other. Enjoy ruining your own country. As if Imran Khan is some saviour. Nawaz Sharif won the elections so get on with instead of crying like babies. Such mentality makes it easier for enemies to do such terrorist attacks and it will continue. Only we Pakistanis are to blame for the state Pakistan is in today. No leader is and no other country is.

You don't see Indians who think Modi was the mastermind behind the Gujrat riots go and abuse him on every given occasion. They quite well majority are and making it easy for him to do his job which he is doing well for his country.

This attitude is why our country will always be the way it is. No scope for improvements with such mentality.
Fine go ahead and fight each other. Enjoy ruining your own country. As if Imran Khan is some saviour. Nawaz Sharif won the elections so get on with instead of crying like babies. Such mentality makes it easier for enemies to do such terrorist attacks and it will continue. Only we Pakistanis are to blame for the state Pakistan is in today. No leader is and no other country is.

You don't see Indians who think Modi was the mastermind behind the Gujrat riots go and abuse him on every given occasion. They quite well majority are and making it easy for him to do his job which he is doing well for his country.

This fake democracy drama can go to hell with nawaz imran and all others jamhuri saviors i dont care when a common man is only suffering under this while lives of these corrupt politicians are improving every second. Don't sell this fake drama to me with the label of democracy thats not even 1% here

I find it an easy cop-out by the Army haters to blame everything on the Army and security establishment and let the corrupt politicians off the hook.

Isn't it ironic that the majority of the attacks are on the army itself, even in this attack two high ranking police officers were martyred.

#JuwaabDo

RIP to all the victims :( So many hopes, families, lives destroyed by this act of some foolish people.

Can the Army haters please tell us why the civilian government doesn't allow an operation in their beloved Punjab despite the Army's insistence time and again. Even though it is clear that majority of attacks now are planned and executed from parts of Punjab.

#JuwaabDo

Posters are free to discuss the issues at hand in a civilised manner, but we will not allow the usage of insulting terms such as "Libtard", etc.

But they aren't clean, they never were. That's besides the point though because even if they were, do you think a clean democratic government, a mythical entity in any third world country, would have been able to stand up to the army given how skewed the balance of power is in their favor and how easily they could have conjured something out of thin air to take down the entire government if push came to shove?

I am a bit confused here, so you are suggesting that since the democratic government in a third world country is expected to be unclean and corrupt, we should not hold it accountable for its responsibilities but instead we should criticize and weaken the institutions so they become capable of working under a weak and corrupt government?

Just found out I lost a family friend in this blast.

Very depressing.

Just found out I lost a family friend in this blast.

Very depressing.

Sorry to hear this , May the Almighty give peace to you and his/her family.

Very sad tragedy, just when you think Pakistan is becoming safer , multiple attacks on innocent people :(

The army is certainly not me and the only reason it works better than the rest of Pakistan is because it takes money to run institutions well and it's business interests along with the ability to decide their own budget gives them the financial resources to work well. As far as giving power to the ordinary man is concerned, that is questionable. Individual examples of unlikely success can be found in many places, be it a Christian street cleaner's son becoming a judge or a rickshaw driver going on to become one of our top cricketers. Army may have it's redeeming qualities, everyone does, but the question is are those positives worth the negatives that come as part of the package?

My views on the army have evolved a lot in the last few years and I'm always open to the possibility that I may be wrong which is why they have evolved the way they have in the first place. This is a post of mine on this very forum from 2011:

He and his idiot followers were facepalming all over national TV, international media and the internet about the military's action against the TTP. I recall some of his followers(including one here) using the term 'Napak Fauj' for the Army. Traitorous actually had the gall to have a go at the military for setting up a front against these animals.

Doesn't that sound a lot like what is now being said to me in this thread?

Getting back to my point, your suggestion that I should instead be railing at the broken political system suggests that you're not exactly familiar with my views on the subject. Nawaz Sharif or Zardari are not exactly people I have much higher an opinion of than I do of the army but if we're going after the system, we can't exactly disregard the army's role in how such a system came to be, can we? Afterall, they ruled the country for 34 out of its 69 years of existence and played no small part in shaping the system as it is today. Do you think they had nothing to do with the development of a system that affords them such an obscene amount of power even when they're not formally ruling the country? Does it make sense that Nawaz Sharif or Zardari would allow a system which allows the military to veto their decisions on, say, critical foreign policy issues to stand if they could do something about it?

I don't agree with how every issue is reduced to an either-or equation with a clearly defined black and white element. Nawaz and Zardari are responsible for a whole host of other issues and should be held accountable for those, something I have repeatedly emphasized here on many occasions, but it's the height of intellectual dishonesty to completely deny the existence of other players who may wield equal or more power than them. In our case, it's an unfortunate fact that there are certain areas where the military has control and counterterrorism policy happens to be one of them. There is precedent in the recent past for Nawaz trying to do his own thing on that front and being shut down authoritatively by Raheel. This is a man who has a long and extremely acrimonious history with the military so I find any suggestion that he's in any way responsible for the current balance of power patently ridiculous.

Then there's the suggestion that the army is filling a void created by the fragility of our democratic system because of people like Nawaz and Zardari but again, where did they come from? Nawaz and Altaf Hussain were created by Zia. Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto was Ayub's foreign minister. Imran has always been cozy with the likes of Hamid Gul, so that's the four largest parties covered, all in one way or the other connected to or, in Nawaz and Altaf's case, created by the military. Now since coincidences seem to be all the rage today, I find it to be a hell of a coincidence that the military takes over for decades on end, finally gives up power to one of their own so called democrats, then cites said democrats' incompetence to wrest control of important issues from these democrats.

If the excuse is that incompetent leaders aren't allowing democratic institutions to develop, and the military truly has the nation's best interests at heart, as opposed to their own which I believe to be the case, they should take a step back, make use of the copious amounts of evidence they have on all these so called democrats to get rid of them legally and allow a democratic system to develop organically through the people but is that ever really going to happen? We both know the answers to that because contrary to popular belief, the military, much like Nawaz or Zardari, puts it's own interest first even if they come at the country's expense, the only difference is that they have much better PR on account of them having the final say on how they're reported on or covered in history books.

The media may not be independent, and it certainly isn't in Pakistan(not through political control from the top down but through financial interests) and that is obvious from the striking differences between how various outlets report the same stories with a clear bias towards one party or the other but where they're all on the same page is the military? Do you think that's out of patriotic fervor or that all of those outlets are run by drones who are all pro military? It's neither of those. It's because the military micromanages it's media coverage through ISPR and any negative coverage or highlighting sensitive issues like human rights violations can and does result in the offending party going missing, or being shot at. Like I've said many times before, just ask Saleem Shehzad, Hamid Mir or the missing bloggers, some of whom have now returned but still won't name their abductors publicly.

Terrorism in Pakistan, however much we deny it, is inextricably tied to the military in one way or the other. You have sectarian organizations like LeJ and their offshoots SSP/ASWJ who are entertained by top military brass openly and notoriously. Jaish e Mohammad cadres can take selfies with uniformed personnel but anyone who dares speak up on that disappears, how do you expect there not to be at least some people like me who would be deeply resentful of that? Then you have that walking international relations disaster Hafiz Saeed. TTP, who have now become a major thorn in our side and are responsible for this attack along with at least two others today, were mostly trained using infrastructure our own army set up and, during it's early days, drew it's leadership from the same group of people who were once our army's 'mujahideen'. Today, it's blindingly obvious that, for better or for worse, counter terrorism is an area where Nawaz Sharif has no control, nor would anyone else who would replace him so, with that reality in mind, we should at least have the moral courage to ask questions of the army for their failures the same way we do of Nawaz or Zardari or is that an act of treason now?

I'm not even going to touch on their role in some of the other issues, heroin and gun culture being the most important ones, because it has previously been made clear that discussion on those issues is not welcome here.

It's clear your position is miles apart from mine on this issue but what I ask is that you respect the fact that having lived 25 years in this country, a quarter of them on army bases, I may have some reasons to resent them just like you have your reasons to admire them.

Anyhow, this thread is ultimately about a great tragedy where many have lost loved ones so if you wish to continue this discussion, we should probably move it to a more relevant thread, which I'm sure there is somewhere on the first few pages.

I am a bit confused here, so you are suggesting that since the democratic government in a third world country is expected to be unclean and corrupt, we should not hold it accountable for its responsibilities but instead we should criticize and weaken the institutions so they become capable of working under a weak and corrupt government?

Yep, seems to be one big confusion because that's not what I said. What I said was that a corrupt third world government is the norm, in response to you saying that even if the army exploited the dharna, they did so because Sharif was corrupt, my point being that what they wanted was control over certain policy matters and even if it wasn't Sharif but someone clean in his place, an unreasonably idealistic assumption with no real world parallel in a third world country, they would have found a way to exploit the situation or create a situation they could exploit to get what they needed(or wanted).

Let me add again that there's no need to continue this discussion on this particular thread and it would probably be more appropriate to move it to a more relevant thread.

I have to agree here. I don't doubt that the armed forces could well be implicit in this attack, although without some proof it's a serious accusation to make. But the point is, if the govt are helpless to root out any malevolent force which is working against national security, then they are a sham govt, and as such, complicit by association.

Oz yaar kuch to sharam karo. The entire country is run by the armed forces but everyone is frightened to name them.Nawaz Sharif is only a front so that we may beg for Amriki money.If it were not for the Kerry Luger bill we would have had martial law by now.

My condolences and I really feel for you :(

I pray that your friend rests in peace

Sorry to hear this , May the Almighty give peace to you and his/her family.

Very sad tragedy, just when you think Pakistan is becoming safer , multiple attacks on innocent people :(

Thanks guys.

Yes, it's a very stressful situation and truly shocking. Just an innocent man waking up to go to work and being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I can't even begin to imagine how his wife and young children are doing. Breaks my heart.

No words.

Last few days have been atrocious.

Inna Lillahi wa Inna Ilaihi Raji'oon.

May Allah (SWT) grant all those who passed a spot in heaven, and may he put all those involved in planning the attack a permanent spot in the deepest of hell - Ameen.

Sad to see apologists for Nawaz Sharif out in full force here

They'd rather pray to him than pray for the dead

RIP

This is not true.

you are greatly misrepresentating and exaggerating here

Even disregarding the exxagerations, NS and his ilk are the first to take credit for the recent improvement in the overall security situation of the country. As such they should be held responsible here.

Nooras and their can't have it both ways

RIP

I'm more saddened by the combination of hypocrisy and Stockholm syndrome at display here, where political point scoring is taking precedence over accountability. Nawaz is responsible for many things, this is not one of them and it's the height of intellectual dishonesty to say that it's him, not the army who is answerable for this.

No one gives a free pass to to the army so stop imagining and assuming.

If you don't hold him responsible for our counterterrorism policy and such events in the country, one would think you would call them out when they take credit for the positive news in this regard. Never saw that happening.

This is how counterterrorism works in Pakistan:

Explaining the reason for Pakistan’s inaction, the official said that instructions from the prime minister were clear – to arrest or kill the members of JeM. Initially, Islamabad did just that; the Counterterrorism Department (CTD) raided several seminaries and houses across the country to arrest JeM members. Then, “In a high-level security meeting, PM Sharif was pressured by [Chief of Army Staff] General Raheel Sharif to let the army handle the operations, instead of the CTD,” the official told The Diplomat.

“No one knows what happened after that,” he added.

While the paramilitary Rangers’ operation against “criminal elements” in political parties was in a full swing, JeM’s members were seen collecting funds for jihad after the Eid prayers – often in the presence of Rangers. However, Punjab’s Home Department recently instructed the police authorities to keep watch on JuD’s fundraising activities.

I was wondering where I'd posted this so I'm glad the NAP thread was bumped. This was published long before the Cyril Almeida episode and the incident described here became the basis for the tussle between Nooras and Khakis which is why I've maintained that I believe Almeida's story to be true. The rangers presence at JeM rallies around Eid is also supported by photographic evidence that was distributed far and wide when it first came out.

RIP

And its sad to see people like you who bring your political agendas out and always look for such incidents to happen so you can start your anti-nawaz brigade. Think about the deceased and Pakistan instead of going on and on about Nawaz Sharif this and that. Stop this political nonsense and getting brownie points for what ever party you support. Bloody people have been killed and some people are just worried about their political agendas.

i am concerned that people have been killed but some folks want to ensure their favorites dont get any blame.

You do know that my 16 year old cousin was killed in the Peshawar attack? This is not an issue I like to play politics on and all I'm concerned with is that those responsible be held accountable and the blame not be shifted to the wrong people because it's convenient for someone's political agenda to blame them. It's so ridiculous to suggest that Nawaz is one of "my favorites", as you put it, considering my views on the man are hardly a secret but it seems to have become a trend here to label anyone open to the idea of Nawaz not being the only one with crimes to answer for a Nawaz suppoerter. Nawaz should be held accountable for his financial malfeasance because that is a crime he committed using the powers of his office. Similarly, counterterrorism is something the army itself took over, it wasn't burdened with the responsibility against its wishes, and it has a track record of interfering with government policies concerning terrorism so why is it so offensive to so many when I ask that they be held accountable for any failures on that front, similar to how Nawaz should be held accountable for his failure to perform his duties as PM and using his powers for personal gain. It smacks of hypocrisy when those calling for accountability for one attack you calling for accountability for all.

Sorry to hear about your cousin being victim in Peshawar attack.

And agree with what you saying. Just because people don't like Nawaz they will blame him for this. It's like they waiting for such things to happen so they burst it out. And anyone who tries explaining is labelled a Nawaz supporter. It's a shame such incidents and terrorist attacks should bring us Pakistanis together but instead terrorist attacks makes most of us bring our political agenda out and start arguing and fighting with each other and making things easier for the terrorists to continue their terror on our country.