Australia v Pakistan | 1st ODI | Brisbane | 22/01/10 | Pakistan Innings

cricketpassion

Preview
After the three Tests come the five ODIs and a Twenty20 to complete Pakistan's tour. While the opening segment of the trip ended in a 3-0 victory for Australia, the limited-overs arrangements will be much more competitive.

Despite the result, Pakistan's squad became more united as the tour went on and they have received some key reinforcements, with Younis Khan and Shahid Afridi added to the unit. The tourists have also troubled Australia in their most recent engagements and their fast-bowling unit, which includes Mohammad Aamer, will worry the hosts at times. Australia won a tight series in the UAE 3-2 last year and the teams also ran into each other at the Champions Trophy, when Australia sneaked home by two wickets.

This series will be an important gauge of the popularity of the 50-over game. Twenty20 crowds have been huge for the domestic Big Bash and five-match head-to-head series against Pakistan and West Indies will test Australia's love affair with the format that began here in the 1970s.

Form guide (most recent first)

Australia NWWWL
Pakistan LLWLL

Come on team Pakistan .Make us proud

:pkflag

I am very excited , becuase in this format we can compete with anyone .I think I am not gonna sleep tonight .

Pakistan should win the toss and bat first; batting under floodlights with the ball nipping around is a completely impossible task for pakistan. Bad news is all the ODI's are day nighters :O

To be honest, I think that they all need to learn how to bat properly before trying to attack anyone.
Bar a few exceptions, the rest are a bit pants.

cricketpassion said:
I am very excited , becuase in this format we can compete with anyone .I think I am not gonna sleep tonight .

Lol im actually going sleep at 10:30 and should wake up at 7:00am will miss probably around the 1st 40 overs but will see the last ten overs of the side batting 1st :P

they should play natural game instead of playing for their future place.

i think siddle is the one to attach in first powerplay as he get over excited and will bowl stupid bowls along with unplayable balls

well we r better of playing out Haurtiz .. he took 19 wickets against us and most of them were gifts to him

I guess in an ODI its best for pak to attackj the spinner however this guy seems to be the new kid on the block and is in Aus's probable team from Cricindia so he might also be an option if the do decide to pick on a bowler:

http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/content/player/6903.html

But we really should look to take full adv of MJ not playing

Even though Hauritz destroyed us in the tests.. I would pick on him in this series. He's the easiest one to get away and to take risks against.

Siddle is certainly another bowler to contemplate going against. Although I would stick away from pre-meditating shots just because of the bowler.

Clint Mckay is also new to the international scene. Also the medium pacers hopes and watson could go around the park if they look to accelerate early on. especially if kamran akmal opens the batting.

line up looks good..cant wait for afridi...but every time i get excited about him, he gets out on 0 or something close to that lol...

What happened to Johnson? Why is he not in the team? Is he injured again or being rested?

Here's hoping that the Sahib will recreate his magic with another 0(1) epic.

:afridi

Lets just try and look to play out the 50 overs first

The way things have been going we ll prob not even play the full 50

Zaz said:
Lets just try and look to play out the 50 overs first

The way things have been going we ll prob not even play the full 50

Negative thinking never leads to success

Sohaib-789 said:
Honestly when was the last time pakistan was bowled out for less then 180 in a ODI matches

I didnt say that theyd make less than 180, i said theyd prob wont bat out the overs

The question should be asked how many times in recent history have pakistan been bowled out without batting all 50 overs?

Well they were bowled out for under 100 against Sri Lanka in Pakistan I think, or some very low total anyway.

Imr4n_Khan said:
What time does the match start? Est time?

Should be 2pm ish AEST.

Seems like this match will have a lower crowd than recent domestic T20's held at this ground, which is an interesting development.

Not much to interest about this game for me, I guess to have another look at Clint McKay.

i forgot about it , now i am confused , wether i see or not. early in the morning, i must join learning group in library. what a Pity!!!

why did the match have to happen so late in the night! dang, i can probably only watch half hour of it, i have an exam tomorrow! Inshallah Pakistan Will win!

ODIs in australia during this time of the year are usually low scoring affairs. So 250+ will be a good target particularly with Pak's bowling. But chasing will be difficult for Pak

nazir , buddy we must concentrate on our studies. this is more important. our team has disappointed us many times in past. despite that my best wishes are with my team. INSHAALLAH , they will do best and make us proud.

i got an exam 2moro at 9, crap, tht means that il catch probably the 1st innings, i shall revise wi the game on in the background, no sleep

australia will bat first and get about 290 runs, and pak chasing it down with 4 wickets to spare, butt hundred :butt

Random Aussie said:
Should be 2pm ish AEST.

Seems like this match will have a lower crowd than recent domestic T20's held at this ground, which is an interesting development.

Not much to interest about this game for me, I guess to have another look at Clint McKay.
2pm was like 3 hours ago; but if you meant 2am then its like 9 hours to go. either way I don't think its either one. Am not 100%, but I think its around 9:30-10:00pmish.

future doctor said:
nazir , buddy we must concentrate on our studies. this is more important. our team has disappointed us many times in past. despite that my best wishes are with my team. INSHAALLAH , they will do best and make us proud.

true said, well i hope inshallah that they perform, and win, i also hope that inshallah my exam will be easy, and ill do well. :)

Imr4n_Khan said:
2pm was like 3 hours ago; but if you meant 2am then its like 9 hours to go. either way I don't think its either one. Am not 100%, but I think its around 9:30-10:00pmish.

It starts at 10:30 pm EST, but i think he meant ausi time.

Free Hit said:
australia will bat first and get about 290 runs, and pak chasing it down with 4 wickets to spare, butt hundred :butt

Shahid Bhai, finishing it off with a massive six over mid-wicket boundry! Well played!

Nazir_ Rules said:
true said, well i hope inshallah that they perform, and win, i also hope that inshallah my exam will be easy, and ill do well. :)
ÍNSHAALLAH, u will also do well , best wishes !

The team looks well balanced - all depends on how well they adjust to the conditions in Brisbane as well as the tactics by our Kaptaan.

Imr4n_Khan said:

Australian Eastern Standard Time. Don't care about times in strange places mate ;-)

can i post a cheap$/ website to get subscription.....
the site show good quality matches.. only if mod's let me...
pls don't send me pms...

Any one beside Hauritz, Bollinger, Siddle, MJ and Waston after reverse swing from 15th over. We give wkts to everyone above so we have to hope that there is a 6th bowler to attack.

Im off to study for exams, see you gize when the match starts. Best of Luck to Pakistan (Inshallah they will win!)

If you want to win.............attack all of them

sada90 said:
can i post a cheap$/ website to get subscription.....
the site show good quality matches.. only if mod's let me...
pls don't send me pms...
hey bro can you send me an inbox of that website , my cousin wnats to watch it at his place .. thanks dude

Yeah attack Hauritz, it worked really well in the test series.

Not going to asleep just to watch Afridi crazy i know got to go college at 8am as well 12:40am at the moment

We have to win this! Can't see us coming back if we lose here, we need to bat first to win.

have to wake for school at 6:00.. but its is a half day, which means i will come back at 11:00 am..so im not going to sleep and watch the whole match just because of afridi..lol

GLORY OF '92 said:
We have to win this! Can't see us coming back if we lose here, we need to bat first to win.

definately need to bat first, we cant chase anything lately