Awkward moments...

When you swipe your card at the checkout register and it says 'Declined'.

I swear to you there is nothing worse than waiting with abated breath while it's 'Processing', and nothing sweeter than when it says 'Approved'.

When you leave your wallet at home.

On your first day.

At your new job.

And they've organised a team lunch.

(Luckily the company ended up paying anyway, but boy was I sweating bullets throughout the lunch).

sigh.... the awkward moments....

was traveling in the tube, it was packed, i was about to get off when a girl from half way across, i thought was staring at me, i had tried to recall but just couldnt put 2 n 2 together... and she waved at me even, (made sure it was me no one else), i had to get off so did, and i just glanced back at tube in amazement, that who could it have been and see her looking my way again and waving once more, even more excitedly... part of me said "hero time, bhaag ke train pe char jao..." and then i was like meh... whatever... but hey feels good... anywho... me being me... next day ever so mischievously and with an ounce of macho'ism started telling my friends of the scenario that took place yesterday of how this good looking girl was eyeing me down, waved at me, + the added dose of was asking out for coffee and i refused etc... had a great laugh... later in the day i met a good buddy of mine and he threw the pipe bomb that i wasnt quite expecting.... "hey btw my sis saw you in the tube, she waved at you but said you prob didnt recognized her........

....sigh.... i am sure my other friends must have shared the lucky interaction i had had the day before on the tube with him as well...

Herooooooooooooooooooooo!

That awkward moment when you read this thread with your mom a metre away from you and you can't laugh out loud and try so hard to prevent the laugh...

that happened with me,specially Mohsin's video was too much:))

sigh....

when you brave up to do something amazing when everyone is out of the house to surprise them, and you cook... so... i too hit the kitchen, and decided i will cook qeema (ground/minced meat)... and qeema i cooked, everyone came home and were in awww and mum super proud... and just before my nose got close enough to the roof to make Pinocchio jealous, the wah wah's started to come about... "yaar, anday zabardast banaye hain", "beta gobhi thori mashed ho gai hai par mazay ki hai", "putar i really liked your daal and mashed potatoes".... and you are like they must be pulling my leg right, i sit down to taste it and think to my self "bhindiyaan, mainey banaien GITZ sey...err...wait but i made qeema"...

so later on i investigated the matter indirectly with my mum... that hey mum how do u cook qeema... she explains... and i think to my self "oooo toh qeema wash bhi karna hota hai"....

and then i hear my mom from the kitchen deducing "i can't find the qeema, wait a minute.... you cooked unwashed............. sigh...

Baalti, you are second favourite person on PP.

sigh...

the awkward moment when you go to a party/gathering and promise yourself to not be the obnoxious party animal and behave and remain calm as people have been making note of your behaviour, but this time from the aunty to even the 90 yr old granny goes "chill maar puttar, ki ho geya aj"

sigh....

sigh...

the awkward moment when a (2/10) gal from your circle of friends calls you and invites you to the party at her place you go coz you expect the rest of them there, and when you enter you hear "crickets"...

sigh...

sigh.... this has prob happened to every desi fella...

the awkward moment when you go to someone's place and bam aunty uncle or bud n gal are having a fight or going through one, and you know you aint good enough to sort this drama out, but are expected to all of a sudden...

sigh...

the odd time you actually sort their shaitza out, but can't for the love of God sort out your own stuff no matter how small or simple it is...

double sigh...

or the couple or ppl you sorted out the shaitza for and appeared goody two shoes infront of, come across you with the same ish that you sorted out for them but can't for yourself

triple sigh...

The awkward moment when you walk out of the disbled toilets, to find theres a chap in a wheelchair outside waiting :|

In my defence, i only use the disabled toilets, because the uni normal toilets are not very well kept...surely poor hygene is a good enough reason not to go where i should be going lol

there was some awkward moments in my teenage..when you are just growing but people still think you are a kid..so there was someone who had to wash our clothes..and she would start soaking the clothes in the morning, and i had the habit of waking up very late..so my clothes could not be washed that day itself.. so i cant describe how she managed to get my clothes for washing..but it was really awkward..and it happened a few times so i started waking up early to avoid it.

You send your (German) friend a text message on his Birthday, containing all the prayers and good wishes, and then the awkward moment..... when he writes you back to inform that it is instead tomorrow:boom:. Felt so embarrassing:facepalm:.

*A true story from earlier today.*

Step 1. - Drink 4L of water a day
2. - Go to my mates place five days in a row just to pick him up for the gym ... ask to use bathroom every time
3. - Get weird looks from parents; wonder if i'm homeless

Don't know whether it is awkward or a nice moment;-), but it happened yesterday in a waiting room of a hospital where, I was leaving, a girl kept smiling and staring at me and (with her eyes) 'chased me' right down to the moment I finally left the place.

the awkward moment when... someone calls you to buy fish from you and at the same time claiming to be pro's at it, they have a 200 gallon fish tank among others, the fish you are selling are about a feet in length ea... and to your surprise they show up with a small little BAALTI... (bucket).... yeaaa.....

Yesterday, I was getting my hair cut and this man enters the barber's store (who is an Iraqi), asking the barber for money for mosque. The barber, before giving money to him, asked him "Are you sure this money is going to the mosque?" Now, the collector tried to laugh it off and the barber also smiled (although half-heartedly). I could see that the barber wasn't joking and it made my feel awkward. BUT, one thing I observed was that the collector didn't reply to his question. After he had given him the money the barber said "It is better if you collect money at the mosque, because that's where the Muslims are and because you will look strange to other community members." Once the man left, the barber said to me "I am right, yes?" I reply with a weak "yes". He said "Because I am not joking, I don't see people asking for Church money". He also states "They could take money for themselves, how do we know?" By this, he meant that he was suspicious of these types of people who collect chanda for mosque as there have been too many reports of fraudulent maulvis.

At the end, he completely messed up my haircut!

I am not lying, the maulvi came in and started combing his beard whilst looking in the mirror. After he took the money, he asked if there was a toilet. Now, this is strange as NOBODY usually asks the barber where his toilet is and I felt so embarrassed as the barber must have perceived him as being extremely weird. (There is a mosque literally about a minute away).

I forgot to add that the two kept saying "Brother".
BTW, I have no qualms with the maulvi in the story.

That was you at the hairdressers? :o

If only i had known i would have stayed and discussed some cricket with you.

Nothing wrong with asking where the toilet is.

I'd much rather that happen than turn the corner and see Kray Jackson taking a dump on the sidewalk.

It was the manner in which he declared “where is the toilet?“ and without asking he went. Anyway, it was just the look on the barber‘s face at how peculiar the man was. Iwas an awkward moment as despite being humiliated by the barber he had the guts to ask to use his toilet.

Lol he should have said he ain't got one use next door or something like that .

It may be considered a usual custom to ask a barber ehere his own personal toilet in Australia but this certainly doesn't apply in England.

It may be common practise to use toilets in the UK, but those social conventions do not apply to us in Australia.

Let me explain, i lost my money in the betting shop, so i went to the barber shop and asked for some money for the mosque, all the while realising that i really need to use the toilet, so i decided i would ask this barber where his bathroom is, as i do not care where i release my bowels, though the comfort of any bathroom is better than a back alleyway (in certain places). After leaving the barber shop i went and placed another bet which i once again lost (i am terrible at betting)

Also i do not eat coco pops

Better ask for the WC without thinking about how polite/rude you sound than controlling it. Controlling it can cause serious problems. You might think what's 10 seconds or 15 seconds but it keeps accumulating to put pressure on the kidney. My friend had to undergo dialysis at the age of 25. While that may not be solely due to controlling it, the doctor did state that this did catalyse it. Poor girl used to hold it to avoid being laughed at by other people.

While you should use the loo and not use some backalley lol, to reach the loo, society etiquette BE DAMNED!!!

the strips of rubber in handed don't mean anything other than how many peices the handel is made from

When the ugliest girl in the room adjusts her chunni and gives you nasty looks for looking at her :facepalm:

Happened to me a couple of times before. You accidentally glance on an ugly girl (believe me) and she gives you that nasty look as if you were ogling at her. I would be thinking why the hell would I ogle at you? You should be happy that someone even looked at you.

oh yes, the ugly girl should be thankful if anyone ogles at her, or teases her..because only pretty women have the right to self dignity.

Here comes the humanity brigade.

i apologize for pointing out the fact that you look down upon people based on their looks. an ugly lady has no right to be offended if someone is staring at her, she should in fact be grateful..and even more so when a person like you is looking at her. i am sorry my unbiased friend.

Yeah, it was an accidental stare. Don't tell me you don't get ticked off when the girl gives you a nasty stare for that accidental look. It makes the situation even worse if the girl is super ugly.

Don't have to apologize to me. Just bow down to me and kiss my feet and all will be good :afridi

Yeah, it was an accidental stare. Don't tell me you don't get ticked off when the girl gives you a nasty stare for that accidental look. It makes the situation even worse if the girl is super ugly.

Don't have to apologize to me. Just bow down to me and kiss my feet and all will be good :afridi

an accidental state is totally different thing, that you get offended because you dont mean to give a dirty look. but that an ugly girl has no right to give a stare when someone is ogling at her, and she should be grateful that someone even looked at her is entirely different issue.

i would be grateful to kiss your superior looking feet but i am worried they would be sullied being kissed by an ugly guy like me. i am still grateful that you offered me the honour.

an accidental state is totally different thing, that you get offended because you dont mean to give a dirty look. but that an ugly girl has no right to give a stare when someone is ogling at her, and she should be grateful that someone even looked at her is entirely different issue.

i would be grateful to kiss your superior looking feet but i am worried they would be sullied being kissed by an ugly guy like me. i am still grateful that you offered me the honour.

Nah, you are decent looking (no homo). Saw your pic.

Its simple man. I am more attracted to beautiful looking girls. That is my taste.

May be you are into ugly ones. But to each his own.

This thread is about awkward moments and that ugly girl giving me nasty look for my accidental stare was surely an awkward moment for me.

Nah, you are decent looking (no homo). Saw your pic.

Its simple man. I am more attracted to beautiful looking girls. That is my taste.

May be you are into ugly ones. But to each his own.

This thread is about awkward moments and that ugly girl giving me nasty look for my accidental stare was surely an awkward moment for me.

not about your taste. but thinking that an ugly girl has no right to be offended, and that she should be grateful if someone is looking at her..you have stripped her off her basic rights as a human.
there were two awkward moments, one you getting wrongly seen as ogling at her, second coming here and showing how you think lowly about ugly people as humans. second awkward moment is worse.

Awkward moment when at least one creepy christian old lady comments on my wonderful religious name.

Was searching on google "How to put a password in Excel 2007" . Two Female colleagues were sitting next to me and watching the screen.

As soon as I typed "How to" the google completed it as "How to Kiss?"

Needless to describe further :|

awkward moment when gentleman tries to derail a thread with his absurd logic

How is gentlemen wrong on this? If anything Mithun's comment about "ugly(this is a very subjective term) girls having no right to self dignity was absurd.

Its a fun thread. Don't take it too seriously.

If I decide to be like Gentleman, I could post objections on almost every reply.

People need to learn to loosen up a bit.

When your girlfriend asks for your fb password all of a sudden and you have no choice but to give it to her and then she reads all the messages you sent to random girls and your exes

This made my day :))) :akhtar :akhtar :akhtar

awkward moment when i am having my food in the dining hall with my family and father talks about my marriage.The situation becomes worse when my brothers start pulling my leg.i keep a record of every prank they plays on me and uses it when their exam results come.muhahaha....

I will be very happy the day my parents will discuss this;-). I will myself participate in it:P.

bro what's this obsession with marriage? the day you marry ,all your freedom is lost and you become trapped. , its not always like they show in bollywood movies.

Firstly, the concept of marriage doesn't exist much in the Bollywood films. They mostly show a girlfriend-boyfriend relationship etc.

As for the freedom you are referring to, well a 'shareef' like me doesn't need that.

Lastly, the earlier post was to be taken less seriously than you probably did:yk.

Firstly, the concept of marriage doesn't exist much in the Bollywood films. They mostly show a girlfriend-boyfriend relationship etc.

As for the freedom you are referring to, well a 'shareef' like me doesn't need that.

Lastly, the earlier post was to be taken less seriously than you probably did:yk.
Shareef :yk

Or do you mean Shareef brathraan? :misbah

Dhoni bhai, you better hope that your future wife is as gentle and mild mannered like you.

If she is of dominating nature, she would mop the floor with you. All the best on your marriage front.

Shareef :yk

Or do you mean Shareef brathraan? :misbah

"Shareef" is an adjective used for Shareef people unlike you. Some people have just given it a bad name:(.....

:sharif

Dhoni bhai, you better hope that your future wife is as gentle and mild mannered like you.

If she is of dominating nature, she would mop the floor with you. All the best on your marriage front.

:)))!

I really love it when people take some of this stuff a bit seriously and start advising me or get worried for me:P.

i would be the happiest if my wife mops the floor with me. don't like meek and subservient girls, which society has conditioned them to be..and men are expected to be the man of the house. time to break these ideas..and be the man who does the dishes and looks after the babies and ride the pillion behind the wife.

joru ka ghulam ..

That awkward moment when I got two papers-one in which I had topped in my class and in the other in which I came last. Talk about Bittersweet. :|

and you be biwi ka aaka, and she will be shauhar ki kaneez.

I think I am beginning to understand Saleem´s cunning plan of trapping Anarkali in love. However, as they say, "Bad intentions never meet a good outcome", and so it happened with his father Emperor Akbar intervening to safe the girl´s life.

:msd

That awkward moment when I got two papers-one in which I had topped in my class and in the other in which I came last. Talk about Bittersweet. :|

Very weird! I would still like to congratulate you on doing well in at least one of those:msd.

That awkward moment when
your ex likes your new
relationship status on
facebook.

The awkward moment when the bloke sitting next to me looks up at the big screen and informs me Kamran Akmal is 26....and then I correct him by saying 'it's his batting average'. :kami

When you walk by your ex and you stare at her, and she stares at you..

This is both a disgusting moment and an awkward moment.

Our current next-door neighbour is aged around 80-90 years old and is no longer able to move. Now, he is one of the most stingiest men alive. So stingy in fact, that he purchased a suit around 30 years back only to use for his funeral. But this is not the worst feature of this man. The NHS offered to move him into a nursing home but because he knew there would be expenses, he declined the offer. They told him that they would give him a two week free trial and after that he would be able to accept/decline the offer. Now, when he returned the nurses told us that he had not had a bath for around 30 years and when they had bathed him, disgustingly he was that grimeful and dirty that his bath water blocked the plughole. In the past, our father would be nice to our neighbour because he was old and would do shopping and such things for him because he was unable. But, what we have found is that he is very rude (he swears and speaks crudely to the nurses who visit him every 4 hours) even though they clean up his human excrement for him (he is unable to move and he only has an outside toilet).

That's not even a moment lol. Just a rant against your neighbour.

This can be a bit awkward,

When you are with your friend,after saying goodbye and all ,you two end up going at the same direction/way.

Might seem trivial, but I asked a girl out for coffee today and she refused.

Meh, I'll probably get over it. But it'll make this thread for now. Definitely awkard at that specific moment.

Varun, we sympathise with you on this. It has in fact had such an effect on you that you forgot how to spell "awkward" *a dig*.

:P

Varun, we sympathise with you on this. It has in fact had such an effect on you that you forgot how to spell "awkward" *a dig*.

:P

Ah see, it's mesed up my typeng skills for the dae as wel. :warner

EDIT: Er...I meant Warner, not Warne. Proves the point I guess. :)))

Ah see, it's mesed up my typeng skills for the dae as wel. :warner

EDIT: Er...I meant Warner, not Warne. Proves the point I guess. :)))

This is not going to go away too easily I am afraid:)):)))!

Varun, I assume that fault lies with you: You seem like a very angry character who hardly smiles in life. I mean, look at the pictures you put on your avatar....

Yuvraj Singh roaring like a lion,

Gautam Gambhir waiting for the ball to land in his palms in the most arrogant manner instead of trying to catch it himself. I mean, Gautam Gambhir? Seriously? The guy is full of arrogance and ego!

So you might be a soft-hearted person in life but you give a very wrong impression of yourself. So I can understand why the girl refused. You probably asked her like, "Ayh! Kya bolti tu?!", which is not how you should be approaching them.

The vibe you imply might be right - though the conversation overall wasn't a complete washout. Hey, she's invited me for her birthday lunch come Friday and we had a long chat after her refusal as well.

Let's see how this one progresses. :)

The vibe you imply might be right - though the conversation overall wasn't a complete washout. Hey, she's invited me for her birthday lunch come Friday and we had a long chat after her refusal as well.

Let's see how this one progresses. :)

Great! That means I have something to look forward to in life:msd. Please use the thread below to keep me updated (if you wish to; THAT IS)......

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=169923&page=7

I'll keep it mind and chime in during the weekend, cheers. :125: