Babar Azam or Sanju Samson - Who is the better prospect?

Dude, Did we not see folks here saying Shinwari better than any Indian bowlers? Where were you then? How about the folks here hyping Newbie Afridi?

Just because Samson not able to get into Indian team, you can’t say he is less popular or lesser player. Ever cricket pundit talks big about his potential and talent.

simple question what have samson done internationally to be compared with babar ?

if hitting sixes and fours is criteria for great player gayle would have been the ATG but no he is not

let the samson guy play for india internationally than you can chest pump about his potential and

have a reason to be compared to babar

Seriously Samson has not even played an ODI for India and just played 1 T20. Very absurd comparison.

10 times better player than Sarfraz, not sure why Sanju is being compared with Babar here.

Babar is one of the best young talents in world .It is ridiculous to compare a guy who has not even played for India with him.

What? Kindly read the date on which this thread was started. Both of them didn't even make a debut when this thread was created. :inti

Samson always starts well with a big score in the IPL but then fades away. This comparison was made a long time ago- obviously Babar is ahead now.

Seriously have we reached that level in the forum where we are claiming victory against a guy who hasn't even played an ODI for India? This is an absurd thread. Agree that it was opened before the two debuted for their respective teams but with one never having played enough for their country, the comparison is moot now. There is no way of knowing how Samson would do in Indian colours unless he gets a fair chance.

A good way of looking at how he would have done is by looking at his list a stats.

He averages 27 with NO centuries in 72 Innings (Sr of 78).

Samson is just like Rohit Sharma was for the first 5 years of his international career. People kept talking about how Rohit plays so well in the IPL but underachieves in international cricket and does all that talent a disservice. Not everyone ends up turning it around like Rohit though.

Sanju isn't worthy enough to tie Babar's laces. This thread is an insult to a player of Babar's caliber.

Samson is just like Rohit Sharma was for the first 5 years of his international career. People kept talking about how Rohit plays so well in the IPL but underachieves in international cricket and does all that talent a disservice. Not everyone ends up turning it around like Rohit though.

Every failed talent isn't Rohit.Rohit himself had a good start to his career in CB series and T20 WC

Babar is probably better batsman, while SS is more attacking batsman & keeps as well. I don't go much on their FC stats as despite change in Indian FC wickets, still it's much better batting wicket, at least batsmen can play their shots. In last 5-6 years Babar's entire FC career is played on wickets suitable for both Cricket & hockey; still I watched his 257 last winter & it's one of the best domestic Innings that I have seen.

Who is better prospect? - undoubtedly Babar. That's partially because I think he is a better organized batsman & a genuine Top 3 prospect (though PCB might use him at 7) but more so the countries they represent. Babar has a very good chance to play for PAK for 15+ years; while SS 'll have to compete with at least 20 such U23 players for a single spot. He doesn't keep well - unless there is a significant improvement in his keeping, I actually am not sure how many matches he 'll play for IND.

Just how good this post summurized Babar being top 3 [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

Kuch bhi?? One is one of the top batsmen in the world in all formats, then other a slogger - at least from what we have seen thus far. How did this thread reach 3 pages!!!!

Samson is a nobody at present, unless he performs cannot see him playing for India in next 2/3 series also. And Babar could easily be the regular middle/top order player for the Indian ODI/T20 side. No match at all.

Samson is an amazingggg striker but he's no match for Babar as a batsman.

Till he sorts out his temperament, he won't achieve much.

Him and KL Rahul were picked by me as future talent in my PP interview years back.

Third name was Sandeep Sharma :))).

I had an awfully poor knowledge about fast bowling back then.

Babar is a much better batsmen. Samson is a decent attacking batsmen who will find it hard to establish himself for India in 50 overs and test format.

On other hand, Babar is a more complete and organized batsmen who is destined to achieve greatness for Pakistan.

It's not India's loss if Samson loses this battle as he is preferably a T20 player only and we have enough talent coming for us.

However, KL Rahul was a genuine talent who still hasn't been able to establish himself in the test cricket.

Sanju Samson - The IPL bully and the biggest ever loser at international cricket.

Wow, this guy makes Rayudu, Umar Akmal, Shehzad seem world class :)))

Sanju Samson - The IPL bully and the biggest ever loser at international cricket.

Wow, this guy makes Rayudu, Umar Akmal, Shehzad seem world class :)))

I wonder how many more Mickey mouse league bullies are out there who would get exposed at international cricket? Pakistan has also had its share.

Who is this Samson guy and why is he being compared to babar Azam who is arguably the best young batsman in the world.

Deepak Hooda and Sanju Samson's scripted India's highest-ever partnership in T20 Internationals (T20Is) with their massive stand against Ireland on Tuesday.

The two stitched up a 176-run partnership in just 87 deliveries to help India post 225/7. Their partnership eclipsed Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul's 165-run stand against Sri Lanka in 2017.

Samson contributed 67 off 34 in their partnership for the second wicket, while Hooda hit 98 off 53. Hooda eventually finished with 104 off 57 deliveries, while Samson scored 77 off 42.

Their partnership is also the biggest one for the second wicket and the ninth-highest overall in men's T20Is.

The list is headed by Afghanistan's Hazratullah Zazai and Usman Ghani, who had put on 236 runs for the first wicket against Ireland in 2019.

NDTV

Sanju Samson will likely end up with not even 50-60 matches for India but will surpass career earnings of several global cricketers since he has reached IPL franchise captain and icon player status at just 28 age

This thread has run its course.

Babar is now an established batter while Samson is still a rookie.

How many Babar azam vs Threads will you Indians make? Bas karo bhai.

What are you even trying to prove? You're consistently telling people the world is round

Babar is out of form currently. So, not the right time for a comparison.

An in-form Babar is a better prospect.

I've told people this multiple times.

Babar even in Prime was just a bolt leg yousaf.

He's basically a soft run scorer who'll go missing in crucial moments.

However unlike yousaf, Babar has a crap technique that's useless against spin, is very very poor against raw pace due to reactions and can't even play bolaterals properly since yousaf went not out in his 10 out of 15 centuries and all resulted in wins.

He personally got pak over the line.

Babar has never ever done that besides New Zealand and 2021 India t20.

Even in his prime he was a fraud.

Prospects thread in 2015 and bumped in 2024, lol.

Samson is still a prospect in 2024. I don't think he has played much international cricket.

Babar has had a long career. For better or worse, he can be rated based on that.

Prospects thread in 2015 and bumped in 2024, lol.

Samson is still a prospect in 2024. I don't think he has played much international cricket.

Babar has had a long career. For better or worse, he can be rated based on that.

Samson may remain a prospect for rest of his career.

Samson is like Stuart McGill. Good player but doesn't get chance in the main XI.

Samson may remain a prospect for rest of his career.

Samson is like Stuart McGill. Good player but doesn't get chance in the main XI.
Mcgill has 200 plus test wickets.

Samson was a prospect in 2015 and still a prospect in 2024.

Sanju Samson is definitely the more talented of the two. Just unlucky that there’s too much competition in Bharat. In Pakistan he would be smashing 150 ball triple centuries every year in those patta pitches.
Would love those threads: Samson Vs kohli

Samson is nowhere close to Babar. For instance Babar made 35 - 76 ( runs scord by root after babar's drop) = -41 runs something Sanju can never score.

Sanju Samson is definitely the more talented of the two. Just unlucky that there’s too much competition in Bharat. In Pakistan he would be smashing 150 ball triple centuries every year in those patta pitches.
I agree.. Many Indians like Gaikwad, Samson, Dube, Tilak, Hooda and many more would be batting legends till now if they were born in Pakistan..Scoring lots of runs on those batting highways.

Shikhar Dhawan would be their greatest ever opener if he was a Pakistani.

Talking about Samson, he is definately highly talented but very very inconsistent.. Thats why he's Still bench warmer in the team. He underachieved massively.
If there is thread about underachievers, Samson will be my first name along with Umar Akmal.

*From the last two years, I have been thinking I can hit six sixes in an over. Accordingly, I have been working with my mentor, Raiphi Gomez, and telling myself that four-five sixes in an over are possible and I should do something like that. So I have been practising and visualising it and I am very grateful it happened today."

- Sanju Samson

Above tells you a lot about mentality and how he has developed his white ball batting skills. Even in an ODI chase vs SA, Samson was confident he could get 25-30 off the last Shamsi over to break the game

Samson is streets ahead of Babar as a modern day T20 player and reason is that Babar has stayed static as a white ball batter in last 4 years. In ODIs the anchor batter role is still valuable but even the best ones now have to develop the extra gears for finishing an inns.