Babar Azam should be playing IPL: Nasser Hussain

So he can be the next kl Rahul, no thanks

Babar is doing well enough from the ptv money and he has huge responsibility
Other international captains like Williamson, Morgan and holder have really struggled in the uae

Babar Azam would have topped the charts in IPL , his calm batting style is suited to franchise like RR or PBKings
He has no place in any team . RR batting has No Problem but bowling

RR batting core is one the best with jaiswal,sanju , parag etc. :kp

Back then he might have got picked into a team but not now. Mohd Amir has more chances of getting picked over him.

Babar would be captaining an IPL side if he were part of it if railu kattas like KL can do it Babar could easily do it...but imagine the optics if Babar were to win an IPL as captain. India feel they cannot risk that. On those joke tracks where halwa batters like Abhashek Sharma are scoring 50s for fun,Babar would utterly own mediocre trundlers on 55m boundaries. 44 year MSD is apparently still playing as per news feed. LOL!

Babar has scored more than 20 runs in an over in international cricket. What was Tendulker's max? Kohli's?
Bhai, tu rehne de. First let Babar Azam get back in in his own T20 team.

And just for academic interests, Tendulkar scored 23 in an over in a World Cup match. And Kohli obviously & famously scored 28 in 8 to win us an improbable game against Pakistan. Babar ever done that?

If IPL was so special it wouldn't have taken India 16 years to win the WC. That too with the help of chokers.

Come out of your delusion. IPL is still levels below international cricket.
You're talking about an international star not some club cricketer from Gujrat or Behar

Babar has scored more than 20 runs in an over in international cricket. What was Tendulker's max? Kohli's?
Kohli is the Undisputed T20 GOAT.
  • Player of the Tournament in both 2014 and 2016 editions.
  • Highest run-scorer in T20 World Cup 2014 and 2022.
  • Highest run scorer in 2024 final that we won.
  • Most number of iconic innings in T20 WC.
He didn't stat pad bashing the likes of Silapama, Junior Dala, and half decent SL bowlers. He’s the final boss in a game where Babar feels like just another NPC. Stop bringing Kohli and Sachin in every discussion for attention.

If IPL was so special it wouldn't have taken India 16 years to win the WC. That too with the help of chokers.

You're talking about an international star not some club cricketer from Gujrat or Behar
Babar can’t even cement his spot in a team that’s mediocre at best — imagine being benched by your own flop XI :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Each IPL team is stacked with beastly hitters, no place for somebody slower than windows 98 boot up.

Babar can’t even cement his spot in a team that’s mediocre at best — imagine being benched by your own flop XI :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Each IPL team is stacked with beastly hitters, no place for somebody slower than windows 98 boot up.
Yea continue with your beastly hitting in small parks laid with cement pitches.

Don't ever try to compare IPL with international cricket.

Babar would provide the calming effect at SRH, they need a stabilizer in the middle to make sure SRH as a team don’t look ungainly and all tullebaaz … oh that cover drive…

EPL is world one the best league but when was England won a last FIFA World cup ? :kp

Cricket is played by only 5-6 top teams. Rest just make up the numbers.
Winning a cricket WC is not as great an achievement as it sounds.

Comparing FIFA World Cup with cricket it takes some serious level of ignorance

Yea continue with your beastly hitting in small parks laid with cement pitches.

Don't ever try to compare IPL with international cricket.
Arey bhai toh Babar ne international t20s me kya tod liya? Doesn't have a vast array of shots, can't hit sixes at will, has a personality of a potato and heart of a kitten, tell me on what basis he deserves a shot at IPL which literally is the gold standard in this format?

Bhai, tu rehne de. First let Babar Azam get back in in his own T20 team.

And just for academic interests, Tendulkar scored 23 in an over in a World Cup match. And Kohli obviously & famously scored 28 in 8 to win us an improbable game against Pakistan. Babar ever done that?

Since i like stats i would say this is his best single over in his career

Arey bhai toh Babar ne international t20s me kya tod liya? Doesn't have a vast array of shots, can't hit sixes at will, has a personality of a potato and heart of a kitten, tell me on what basis he deserves a shot at IPL which literally is the gold standard in this format?
Babar in his worst form in last couple of years still averages 35 at a SR of 138 in international cricket.

IPL may be the gold standard in franchise cricket but it's nowhere close to international cricket.

IPL highly commercial tamasha league designed to please cricket fanatic billion people.
Dangerous for international cricket too.

Babar Azam scored 25 runs in one over against Ben white
Virat Kohli scored 25 runs against Keiron pollard in 2019 in T20s

Babar in his worst form in last couple of years still averages 35 at a SR of 138 in international cricket.

IPL may be the gold standard in franchise cricket but it's nowhere close to international cricket.

IPL highly commercial tamasha league designed to please cricket fanatic billion people.
Dangerous for international cricket too.
Way better than internationals given the pathetic T20 resources available outside the three 3 or 4 countries. Those best resources are already part of IPL in addition India's incredible bench strength. Guys like Shreyas Iyer, Gill, jaiswal are not part of India's regular team. But we have Jaker Ali, babar Azam playing internationals. That is the quality of internationals.

Anyone who thinks so should watch these NZ vs Pak T20 games that are happening simultaneously with the IPL.

Such high quality of "international" cricket where Pakistani hacks are made to look like kids by some no name mediocre NZ backup bowlers. :LOL:

the playing conditions in internationals vary so much and the way player is tested cannot be compared to IPL. Gill Shreyas etc are not some international T20 stars. You’re talking as if India win every WC. You should thank the chokers that’s it.
2021 and 2022 saw ur performance. IPL success in India has added to Indian delusions

the playing conditions in internationals vary so much and the way player is tested cannot be compared to IPL. Gill Shreyas etc are not some international T20 stars. You’re talking as if India win every WC. You should thank the chokers that’s it.
2021 and 2022 saw ur performance. IPL success in India has added to Indian delusions
It doesn't matter. T20 international quality is extremely pathetic outside Australia/England/NZ/India/SA. From those teams all the best players are already part of IPL. Plus India's bench players. Even from countries like Afghanistan, SL IPL has picked their best players. It is not about India win. It is about the quality of players that are playing.

RR always had that inherent Shane warne/Aussie motto.play bravely and selfless. Babar can't do neither of them .

ICC needs to bring back the Champions League. Can't really say IPL teams are the best and most competitive when they don't play teams from other domestic leagues. Qalandars vs RCB would be just as good as Qalandars vs Karachi Kings

I was wondering when you would bestow us with another gem since "Babar can hit 6 x 4s in a super over". Don't worry, you didn't disappoint and it was the certainly worth the wait. :misbah

I'm glad you're entertained but what's your argument. Are you against the Champions League model?

Back then he might have got picked into a team but not now. Mohd Amir has more chances of getting picked over him.
No he doesn't as IPL has a clear policy of never selecting convicted fixers even if they are indian players.

I'm glad you're entertained but what's your argument. Are you against the Champions League model?

I remember the time when Lahore Lions beat Mumbai Indians. 10 -15 years Pakistani domestic T20 sides were no doubt competitive.

But since then IPL have come leaps and bounds. The gulf between IPL and PSL sides is just too big. It's like India v Pakistan.

I remember the time when Lahore Lions beat Mumbai Indians. 10 -15 years Pakistani domestic T20 sides were no doubt competitive.

But since then IPL have come leaps and bounds. The gulf between IPL and PSL sides is just too big. It's like India v Pakistan.

Same argument can be applied to PSL which is better than our domestic t20 tournament. Qalandars are a better team than the Lions.

I saw the scorecard .mi was missing rohit due to an injury.but one more interesting issue is Lahore aka pak team made as usual mess with slower run rate.At the end it was umar saved with pacy innings 38*(18).I think it actually reflected future pak teams /strategy issues with only stat padders and no x factors.

Same argument can be applied to PSL which is better than our domestic t20 tournament. Qalandars are a better team than the Lions.

Lahore Lions beat Mumbai Indians just over 10 years ago before the introduction of PSL, so they were like the best domestic T20 side, along with Sialkot Stallions.

The pace of the change during those years is such that the way the game was played then is almost unrecognisable in the current era.

Last year, Mumbai Indians finished bottom of IPL, so we can safely assume they were the worst team in the tournament. Their squad consisted of the following players:

• Rohit Sharma
  • SKY
  • Tim David
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Dewald Brevis
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Bumrah
  • Gerald Coetzee
This team was so stacked, I don't think even the best PSL team stands much of chance.

Lahore lions at peak included pretty much the entire Pakistan odi and t20 team at the time. And yousaf himself played in it granted he was kinda finished at that point.

Only saeed ajmal, afridi and misbah weren't in lahore lions team but everyone else who played in pakistan during 2011-2012 were their. It wasn't a jobbers side.

Hence beating Mumbai Indians in its early days with a 90% full strength Pakistan side isn't a shock.

Current Pakistan however would lose to the weakest ipl teams 9 out of 10 x.

Hence no PSL side offers anything vs IPL unless someone like David Warner ends up having a field day. Otherwise naw

people will now jump on Nasser Hussain calling him aa says Agent. ANYONE??

BTW, Pakistani players might never play IPL anyways, so just scrap this idea.

Cricket is played by only 5-6 top teams. Rest just make up the numbers.
Winning a cricket WC is not as great an achievement as it sounds.

Comparing FIFA World Cup with cricket it takes some serious level of ignorance

England are so bad that they can't win the Euros either.

And if I'm right, no English manager has won the EPL.

Foreign batters have to be exceptional to play IPL nowadays.

He will go unsold

A team which cannot reach semifinals in the last 3 icc 50 overs world cup, a team last won a icc trophy in 2017, who is the choker here??

Yesterday everyone was panning buttler and Rutherford (both at 164 sr) in Gt loss for slow innigs.so what chance babar will have it.even if he gets a chance and lost, it will be merciless trolling from the franchise fans itself.

Yeah I can already see you trolling from the stadium 🤣🤣

yup both match losing knocks especially SHane Rutherford. Fans are not going to be trolling you incessantly. Rishabh pant is going through hell now after some tactical errors and missed stumping.

27/3 in 6 overs.

Babar and Rizwan can't get into this T20 team. And we are supposed to believe they would have lit the IPL on fire.