- Joined
- Apr 13, 2025
- Runs
- 3,074
The action-packed third day at Rawalpindi culminated in a peculiar and controversial moment that overshadowed South Africa’s otherwise commanding performance. After facing the final ball of the day, Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan, without apparent concern, tapped the base of his stumps with his bat, knocking off the bails. South Africa instantly appealed for hit wicket, recognizing that the ball was still in play—the umpire hadn't yet called the day over, nor had the ball been returned. Batters sometimes remove the bails at stumps, but they almost always wait until the ball is officially dead. This deviation from the conventional protocol fueled South Africa's hope for a wicket. Yet, both umpires quickly smiled and rejected the appeal, leaving the South African team baffled as to the reasoning for the 'not out' verdict.
The Laws of the game, though, appear to side with Rizwan, and the umpires' judgment. Law 35.1 states that a batter can only be deemed out hit wicket after the bowler has entered their delivery stride
None of those criteria were met by Rizwan's actions, and it remains unclear how committed South Africa were to the appeal. In the moments after, it appeared South Africa did not seem especially aggrieved anyway, with allrounder Senuran Muthusamy downplaying the incident at his press conference, saying he was fielding too far away and was unaware of what happened.

South Africa finished the day with strong hopes of levelling the series, with Pakistan leading by 23 runs at stumps with six wickets in hand.
The Laws of the game, though, appear to side with Rizwan, and the umpires' judgment. Law 35.1 states that a batter can only be deemed out hit wicket after the bowler has entered their delivery stride
- in the course of any action taken by them in preparing to receive or in receiving a delivery
- in setting off for the first run immediately after playing or playing at the ball
- if no attempt is made to play the ball, in setting off for the first run
- in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding their wicket
None of those criteria were met by Rizwan's actions, and it remains unclear how committed South Africa were to the appeal. In the moments after, it appeared South Africa did not seem especially aggrieved anyway, with allrounder Senuran Muthusamy downplaying the incident at his press conference, saying he was fielding too far away and was unaware of what happened.

South Africa finished the day with strong hopes of levelling the series, with Pakistan leading by 23 runs at stumps with six wickets in hand.
Last edited by a moderator: