Bangladesh [322/3] defeat West Indies [321/8] by 7 wickets in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Wow twice 322 BD chased. Last time it was 322-4 this time it’s 322-3 one less wicket. Last time Sabbir played quick innings in the middle order this time Liton.

Rubel in for Miraz. Keep Mossadekk there for now. I’d like Sabbir too but Mossa gives a decent ish more than part timer, offie option and can be handy.

Heard Riyad has started bowling in nets. Useful part timer. Sabbir can bowl too. Sabbir for Mosaddek and Rubel for Miraz.

Rubel in for Miraz. Keep Mossadekk there for now. I’d like Sabbir too but Mossa gives a decent ish more than part timer, offie option and can be handy.

Heard Riyad has started bowling in nets. Useful part timer. Sabbir can bowl too. Sabbir for Mosaddek and Rubel for Miraz.

Sri Lanka game. 2 points missed :( both BD and Pak missed easy two points against Lanka.

Well done boys - won in style. And, thanks to all - I kept SRL game day open .... it rained whole day; today I had booked calendar, boys won :( Don't mind though :)

And, thanks to every one supporting us - it's good for International cricket if a cricket passionate country improves their game.

Someone please put some Harpic in Ather's mouth .....

Congratulations BD bros.. hopefully then players except Mush keep performing

Well done boys - won in style. And, thanks to all - I kept SRL game day open .... it rained whole day; today I had booked calendar, boys won :( Don't mind though :)

And, thanks to every one supporting us - it's good for International cricket if a cricket passionate country improves their game.

Someone please put some Harpic in Ather's mouth .....

Turning out to be a good month of June for you.

Congratz. Stunning chase. Knocks the daylights out of West Indies.

I told you - apart from Mash, other four debuted as school/college students - they are genuinely at their peak now. And, there are several kids waiting at the wings, Liton is just one of few.

Turning out to be a good month of June for you.

Need to make SF for that - this midget has blown one crucial game and it might happen that Kiwis end as 4th, we at 5th. Need gono dholai..............

Congrats!This probably is the most satisfying world cup win for the bangla fans.

Nope. For me 2007 WC win over India. As that BD was still in it’s developing stages. That was a huge satisfaction beating the world cup favs. Then SA in the same WC.

well done Bangladesh, joy to watch. Know WI bowled short pitched rubbish but can't take anything away from BD's superlative batting.

Need to make SF for that - this midget has blown one crucial game and it might happen that Kiwis end as 4th, we at 5th. Need gono dholai..............

Make semis than get smashed by Indians again in KO. No thanks. By yeah midge has been silent in social media ever since at least lol.

Shakib is a beast but Litton scoring 94 from 69 in his world cup debut is just super

What a game this was... Soumya set the tone and Tamim, Shakib and Lilton kept the momentum...

As an All-rounder Shakib is better than Kallis to me..

Outstanding batting effort, congrats to Bangladeshi PPers, party hard :19:

What a performance by BD. Shakib was just outclass 16 fours and 0 sixes. Soumya let me down again. Congrats BD

Can't believe Rashid Khan was topping the chart of best allrounder with Shakib around lmaoo. Good win, congrats BD fans.

Congrats to all BD posters. What a win! Terrific from Shakib and lil brother Liton. If you had beaten NZ, you guys could legit. have qualified for semis. Now it looks a little tough and you have to beat atleast one of India or Australia. Not impossible but it won't be easy. Should beat PAK and Afghans imo.

Bye Bye Mithun, go back to your dancing career

He deserved his spot, but Liton just played too good today. In fact, now I think we need to keep Batu in tight cosh and drop him to No. 5 ....... one more shallow stuff, ....... waiters' job and Sabbir plays.

This man Litton Das looks like an excellent player. He was comfortable both against pacers and spinners. Bangladesh have got 2 very talented players in the form of Saumya Sarkar and Litton Das. These 2 are the future of Bangladesh cricket and they will take over the reins from sakib, Tamim and Mushi

Congratulations to every Bangladeshi fan.
This was an epic win.Such a controlled chase is rarely to be seen.Bangladesh totally bossed it.

Congratulations Bangladesh!

Unfortunately Pakistan team can't even learn that this is how you build a partnership and then finish the game.

Congrats bhai.. where were you during the chase ? :)

Thanks brother, appreciate it :)

I had a tasbi in my hand and was praying for Brother Liton :sachin and :shakib

After Mushfiq’s wicket, I was frustrated and drank a glass of milk :moyo

Alhamdullilah Shakib is playing well, don’t think we can ever produce a cricketer like him. Gave his everything

Congrats to all BD posters. What a win! Terrific from Shakib and lil brother Liton. If you had beaten NZ, you guys could legit. have qualified for semis. Now it looks a little tough and you have to beat atleast one of India or Australia. Not impossible but it won't be easy. Should beat PAK and Afghans imo.

How? :danish

He deserved his spot, but Liton just played too good today. In fact, now I think we need to keep Batu in tight cosh and drop him to No. 5 ....... one more shallow stuff, ....... waiters' job and Sabbir plays.

Mushy is really frustrating me nowadays, maybe we can try Mahmudullah at 4, Liton Superstar Das at 5, 6 Mosa 7 Sabbir Yes I would prefer Sabbir over Mushfiq, he’s had it too easy over the years. Salam Brother I was too nervous :amir

Well played Bangladesh! Congratulations to the team and the fans! Bowled well at the death, fielded well and then batted like Champions.

Mushy is really frustrating me nowadays, maybe we can try Mahmudullah at 4, Liton Superstar Das at 5, 6 Mosa 7 Sabbir Yes I would prefer Sabbir over Mushfiq, he’s had it too easy over the years. Salam Brother I was too nervous :amir

ideally Liton should open - he is probably better batsman than any BD player, once set you simply can't contain him. Liton-Soumya pair could be one of the best in contemporary world. Tamim played some of the best back-foot drives today, and he is the most complete batsman in this squad - should bat at 3. Shakib, Batu at 4/5 or 5/4; Mosaddek at 7. If Mosaddek can have enough balls to get set, he'll smash some of the fastest bowlers through lofted off side shots. Saif at 8 and against IND Rubel for Miraz.

What a magnificent chase, the highest in the world cup so far in this do or die pressure game. My God, these players will not give up the semi spot without giving it everything 🇧🇩

:36: And some Pakistan fans think they will easily beat BD. A surprise ambush awaits them:97::97:

Shakib’s star quality puts wasteful West Indies in the shade

In this must-win game for both sides, the approaches of West Indies and Bangladesh – with bat and ball – could not have been more different.

And given that no side had successfully chased more than 248 in this tournament until now, West Indies’ cautious tactics looked to have delivered a very serviceable total of 321, even in Taunton’s tightly-knit environs.

But Bangladesh’s pursuit was bold, brash and brilliant. Led first by Tamim Iqbal and then taken up by the in-form talisman Shakib Al Hasan, who also picked up two wickets with his left-arm spin.

In the end it was not even close, the second highest successful chase in an ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup achieved with seven wickets and 8.3 overs to spare.

His unbroken partnership of 189 with Liton Das, who finished on 94 not out, was the second highest for the fourth wicket in the history of the tournament.

This was Shakib’s day. When he had scored 23, he reached 6,000 ODI runs. He then passed fifty for the fourth time in four innings at this ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

When he cover-drove Oshane Thomas for four, he brought up his ninth century for his country and, at 83 balls, the fastest – also the second fastest in the tournament so far.

It was a joyous, highly-skilled display and, given that it set up Bangladesh’s eighth win in ten one-day matches over West Indies, should not even be a surprise.

By complete contrast, West Indies’ total of 32/1 from the opening ten-over powerplay was the lowest of the tournament.

The first time Chris Gayle played for Somerset at the County Ground, Taunton, in 2015, he made 151 not out in a T20 match.

A 13-ball duck was not what anyone wearing maroon (either of West Indies or Somerset) was hoping for, though the majority of the crowd in green and red supporting Bangladesh were far from unhappy.

When it came to Bangladesh’s chase, they hurtled out of the blocks, rattling up 75/1 in their first ten overs.

There are mitigating factors, of course. Bangladesh’s seamers, well drilled by their bowling coach and Windies legend Courtney Walsh, bowled a nagging line. West Indies’ quicks, on the other hand, were content to bang the ball into an easy-paced pitch and paid the price.

Their tactics were one-dimensional. With Andre Russell carrying an injury and no frontline spin option, West Indies’ bowling lacked variety and sophistication.

West Indies skipper Jason Holder had called for a more disciplined approach from his batsmen – or “smart aggression” as he put it – and broadly speaking he got it.

Shai Hope’s 96 from 121 balls was a model of self-restraint, notwithstanding the eye-catching forehand smash for six he played off left-armer Mustafizur Rahman in the 35th over. He had hit only three boundaries in his 58 up to that point.

West Indies took 19 off that over and 17 from the next in a shackle-breaking period that also included a missed run-out opportunity for Bangladesh.

Holder himself was in no mood to hang around. He launched his first ball over the ropes at what is affectionately known as the graveyard end. It was appropriately named, as it was where both Nicholas Pooran and Shimron Hetmyer perished as, later on, did West Indies’ hopes.

ideally Liton should open - he is probably better batsman than any BD player, once set you simply can't contain him. Liton-Soumya pair could be one of the best in contemporary world. Tamim played some of the best back-foot drives today, and he is the most complete batsman in this squad - should bat at 3. Shakib, Batu at 4/5 or 5/4; Mosaddek at 7. If Mosaddek can have enough balls to get set, he'll smash some of the fastest bowlers through lofted off side shots. Saif at 8 and against IND Rubel for Miraz.

The kid is naturally talented, good that he has secured his place for the moment. Liton and Soumya opening in the next world cup is something i am looking forward to. His average increased from 20 to 25, need a few more not out 50s*. We need bowlers though, a spinner who can turn the ball, Miraz's containing isn't going to win us matches and a fast swing bowler ability to bowl 145 kph. Inshallah hopefully we will find one by next year :moyo

Bangladesh have beaten West Indies who have beaten Pakistan who have beaten England who have beaten Bangladesh who were beaten by Kiwis who will lose to Pakistan :amla

Shakib is the leading run scorer of the World Cup.

Shakib has scored consecutive 50s and 100s

Why do you want to break that?

The current line up is beastly.

1.Tamim Iqbal
2.Soumya Sarkar
3.Shakib Al Hasan
4.Mushfiqur Rahim
5.Liton Das
6.Mahmuddullah

Bangladesh would have won the NZ match if Liton played in place of Mithun.

Liton at 5 provides some much needed solidarity...and then you have Riyadh to follow.

This is the best line up Bangladesh can have.

Shakib was being wasted down the order, Bangladesh would have won a lot more matches if Shakib batted at 3 long time ago

Shakib is the leading run scorer of the World Cup.

Shakib has scored consecutive 50s and 100s

Why do you want to break that?

The current line up is beastly.

1.Tamim Iqbal
2.Soumya Sarkar
3.Shakib Al Hasan
4.Mushfiqur Rahim
5.Liton Das
6.Mahmuddullah

Bangladesh would have won the NZ match if Liton played in place of Mithun.

Liton at 5 provides some much needed solidarity...and then you have Riyadh to follow.

This is the best line up Bangladesh can have.

Shakib was being wasted down the order, Bangladesh would have won a lot more matches if Shakib batted at 3 long time ago

I am just not comfortable with 1-2-3 lefti. WIN tank is THICK, hence dropped the off-spinner for Bravo :(, otherwise it won't have been that easy.

Shakib plays too risky cricket for No. 3,rather No. 4 is better suited for him.

You have absolutely no idea how good & destructive Mosaddek can be - eventually, he'll move to No. 5 and Shakib at 6.

Super win by BAN. What a WC Shakib is having - player of the tournament so far!

The kid is naturally talented, good that he has secured his place for the moment. Liton and Soumya opening in the next world cup is something i am looking forward to. His average increased from 20 to 25, need a few more not out 50s*. We need bowlers though, a spinner who can turn the ball, Miraz's containing isn't going to win us matches and a fast swing bowler ability to bowl 145 kph. Inshallah hopefully we will find one by next year :moyo

Liton need to be more consistent. The "Naturally talented" kid need to stay grounded. At the moment he is hot and cold, someone who reminds me of Rohit Sharma in earlier days.

Das babu played once in a blue moon inning against WI last night, let's see if he can continue with his form and prove me wrong.

Excellent win for Bangladesh. This is no surprise they know how to beat West Indies. WI should have played a spinner, all these pacers became and predictable for Bangladesh batters. Also they didn’t get enough runs. Lewis or Hetmyer needed to kick on.

Don’t see West Indies beating NZ. They lack the discipline and their bowlers have no plan B to the short ball. Wouldn’t be surprised if Sri Lanka beat West Indies.

I am just not comfortable with 1-2-3 lefti. WIN tank is THICK, hence dropped the off-spinner for Bravo :(, otherwise it won't have been that easy.

Shakib plays too risky cricket for No. 3,rather No. 4 is better suited for him.

You have absolutely no idea how good & destructive Mosaddek can be - eventually, he'll move to No. 5 and Shakib at 6.

It doesn't matter, what matters is that three lefties at the top is working out perfectly.

What's amazing is right now Sarkar and Tamim haven't even made huge contributions! Once they do it'll be even better.

Shakib deserves to bat at 3 for the rest of his career.

The thing is Shakib is a solid bat and he can stop a collapse from occurring which will allow the rest of the batsman to play their natural game.

Today they chased down 322 in 42 overs without a major contribution from Sarkar and Mushy, two of the gun Bangladeshi batsman.

I think if they intent was shown they may have gotten 350-360 odd versus England.

Wow, what a batting performance. Scoring 320 plus in a chase is no mean feat, and they did it with almost 10 overs to spare! Seriously impressed.

Except this is not an upset.

For sure this is not an upset..My point is that they are very good chasers compared to team PAK and we need to keep that in mind. I have seen BAN falter against IND on several occasions but in ASIA cup they fought till the end which shows the difference in temperament compared to us.

Its commendable how BAN has progressed compared to PAK considering we have played more ODIs compared to them.

Bangladesh hero Shakib Al Hasan called his side’s seven-wicket victory over West Indies “one of the best” wins and insisted his side are now ready to spring an upset on heavyweights Australia on Friday.

The in-form Shakib has passed 50 in all four of his innings in this tournament and is now the leading run-scorer at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 with a total of 384.

The stylish left-hander’s unbeaten 124 off 99 balls was the fastest of his nine ODI centuries and helped Bangladesh stroll home with 8.3 overs to spare.

Set 322 to win by West Indies, Bangladesh produced the highest successful run chase of the tournament so far but Shakib said his side had belief all along they could win.

He said: “At the end of the first innings, we thought it would be tough but everyone was comfortable and chilling.

“There was a lot of confidence and belief that we could chase it. Once we started batting, everyone felt comfortable and relaxed in the dressing room which helped us a lot. At no point did we have to panic.

“I’ve been contributing well with ball, bat and with my leadership. I’d love this to continue because there are four games left and if we are to play a semi-final, everyone has to contribute and chip in. I need to make sure I continue what I have been doing.

“It is one of the best wins because of the way we paced the innings. I was never in a rush. I was patient to wait and put the bad ball away. Every time I did that quite well.”

Bangladesh face Australia next up at Trent Bridge and Shakib insists his side are not daunted by their pace attack with two of the top three leading wicket-takers in Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins.

He said: “We’ve faced some of the best fast bowlers in the last four matches – every team has at least two bowlers who bowl 140 kph and we’ve coped well so we’re not worried about that. We are a skilled team and we are capable of counter those challenges.”

Of his own side’s bowlers, he said: “Both new ball bowlers bowled brilliantly and we didn’t give them balls to hit. We might not have the pace of England or Australia but all our bowlers have skill.”

And Shakib paid tribute to the recalled Liton Das, hit 94 not out off 69 balls in his first innings at this World Cup.

The pair shared an unbeaten 189-run stand which was the second highest fourth-wicket stand in World Cup history.

Shakib said: “I told Liton that if you stay at the wicket then we can finish this game with three wickets down and after 10 or 15 balls, it was a treat to watch.

“I enjoyed his batting from the non-striker’s and he never put me under any pressure but the way he handled the pressure was brilliant.”

West Indies captain Jason Holder admitted that his side were as many as 50 runs short of a competitive total after they collapsed to a crushing seven-wicket defeat against Bangladesh.

Having been put in to bat at the Country Ground, Taunton, West Indies posted 321/8 but Bangladesh pulled off the joint second highest chase in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup history to leave the Windies’ hopes of reaching the semi-finals hanging by a thread with New Zealand and India to come next.

Holder said: “I felt at halfway that we were still a few short. A par score on this wicket with the dimensions of the ground was probably 360 or 370 and we were well short of that.

“We knew in the first ten overs we had to knuckle down and get through that difficult period. But we should have been able to rotate the strike rate a bit better and find the boundaries more often.”

Shai Hope top-scored with 96 from 121 balls but Holder was frustrated with his scoring rate, saying: “It was good that Shai went deep but he could have shown a little bit more intent.

“We lost wickets at crucial stages and we needed one of the top four players to go to the end. Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough.”

West Indies had no frontline spin option and the quick bowlers delivered plenty of short-pitched balls that Bangladesh’s batsmen dealt with severely.

Holder defended the balance of his team, saying: “I felt the quicker bowlers should still have done the job – their spinners didn’t pose much of a threat.

“I don’t think the balance was the issue today. The execution was the issue and it hurt us. We needed new-ball wickets which we didn’t get. But they batted really well and you have to give them credit.

“We missed a crucial chance when Shaikb (Al Hasan) top-edged down to fine leg off (Andre) Russell and Shannon (Gabriel) should have come and taken the catch.

“A few top edges didn’t go our way but we didn’t help ourselves in the field either.”

Of his side’s chances of progress to the knock-out stages, Holder admitted: “It is looking tough at this present moment but it’s not impossible.

“We have to play every game as a final. We have to win every game left now to give ourselves a good chance and we don’t want to rely on other teams to help us. We have to control what we can.”

Brilliant performance by Bangladesh, 2nd best ODI team in Asia without a doubt.

I had no doubt that Shakib at #3 will be among the top contenders for player of the tournament.

This stat is amazing. Every time Mustafizur gets 3wickets or more Bangladesh have 100% win record.

So here’s hoping it happens next match too :)

Good win. But if now people think BD can give Pakistan run for their money, then it will still be a delusion.

Brother Sowmya throws it away too easily. Liton seems to be mentally tougher than him. Quality prospect.

Good win. But if now people think BD can give Pakistan run for their money, then it will still be a delusion.

You believe Bangladesh has no chance even though Pakistan hasn't won against them in an ODI in 5 years, and lost the last 4 times they played?

He is trying to win brownie points here with that statement. Trying to appease Pak fans. As it pak forum. Understandable as he wants to be on good books with them.

Good win?
That was an Excellent win, world class chase. Trying chasing 322 inside 42 overs. That wasn’t a good win, that was beast mode win with ultra comfort in the end!