Bangladesh refuses to travel to India for T20 World Cup 2026 (Update @ post#84)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Devadwal

ODI Star
NO MUSTAFIZUR RAHMAN IN IPL

BCCI Secretary has confirmed that board has asked KKR to release Mustafizur from the IPL squad.

BCCI Secretary Devajit Saikia stated to ANI and India Today:
"Due to the recent developments that are going on all across, BCCI has instructed the franchise KKR to release one of their players, Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh, from their squad and BCCI has also said that if they ask for any replacement, BCCI is going to allow that replacement."

BCCI arm-twisted into removing Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman from IPL: Madan Lal

Former India cricketer Madan Lal has claimed that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was arm-twisted into asking Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to release Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman from their squad ahead of the 2026 season of the Indian Premier League.

Speaking to India Today, Madan Lal said the decision reflected the growing intrusion of politics into sport and insisted that players were unfairly being caught in the crossfire. The Board of Control for Cricket in India's decision has come amid questions directed at Kolkata Knight Riders and its co-owner Shah Rukh Khan over the franchise's choice to include a Bangladesh player, at a time when reports of targeted atrocities against Hindus in Bangladesh have sparked widespread concern.

"You know, I think the BCCI has taken this decision because nobody can challenge them. Not even Shah Rukh Khan, because they come under the BCCI. So the BCCI has taken the decision. But I don't know why there is so much politics entering sports. I have no idea where cricket is heading, where sport is heading," Madan Lal said.

"The things that happened in Bangladesh are very, very sad. But you see, a lot of these associations take the players into the firing line. That is the problem. They use the players. It's a very sad thing that is going on. Politics should not be involved in sport," he added.

KKR had signed the 30-year-old left-arm pacer for Rs 9.20 crore, well above his base price of Rs 2 crore, following an intense bidding war involving Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals at last month's IPL auction. Mustafizur's inclusion was seen as a key addition to KKR's pace attack for the upcoming season.

Confirming the development, BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia said the franchise would be allowed to sign a replacement if required. "The BCCI has asked Kolkata Knight Riders to release Mustafizur Rahman from its squad. They can ask for a replacement, if needed. And upon request, BCCI will allow a replacement player," Saikia told India Today. When asked about the reason behind the move, he said, "Because of recent developments all across."

Pressure had been mounting on the BCCI over the participation of the Bangladesh cricketer following the recent killing of a Hindu man in the country and India's expression of concern over the safety of minorities there.

Madan Lal said the circumstances suggested external pressure on the cricket board. "Yes, definitely. Because of what is going on in Bangladesh, that is why they must have taken this decision. I am talking straight here. There must have been pressure from the high command. That is why this decision was taken," he said.

He also questioned why figures associated with franchises were being dragged into the controversy. "What is Shah Rukh Khan's fault? This is a committee that takes decisions. When they sit in the auction, they are the people who pick the players and everything," Madan Lal said.

The former India all-rounder, however, acknowledged the pull of national sentiment in a cricket-loving country like India. "National sentiment is always going to be there because cricket is loved by millions. That is the reason all this is happening. The nation always comes first, and that is not wrong. That is why such hard decisions are taken," he said, while stressing that much depended on how the BCCI handles such situations going forward.

LOL. Not surprised at all.

Ever since they lost their puppet in Bangladesh, they have been jumping around about Bangladesh like lunatics.

News flash: They may have to jump around for a very long time. :inti

As for Mustafiz, it is a good thing because he doesn't want to risk injury/fatigue right before the World T20. World T20 is more important than IPL.

Just look at the behaviour of Bangladesh and Bangladeshis including their Government and the hate and venom they have been spewing against India lately. Why should any Bangladeshi player be allowed to play in the IPL under those circumstances?

They still have their blood brother Pakistan. They can play in the PSL which is supposedly of higher cricketing quality than IPL, despite not boasting of the same financial strength.​

Bangladeshi players should voluntarily avoid IPL because there is a fascist government now in India. It is similar to 1930's Nazi Party in Germany.

India as a country have become an uncivilized place with many extremists, scammers, and rapists. Better to avoid going there for both moral reason and safety reason. :inti
If only Mustafizur Rahman listened to your wise words.

@Hitman

They can keep playing in below poverty league, no place for hindu and india hating people in ipl,

@sweep_shot can blame modi and sanghis and ask fizz to go play in psl ata loss of earnings

Good lesson fr srk, his Pakistani and Bangladeshi love despite their hatred for India had to be called out.

@Hitman

Kanglus can keep playing in below poverty league, no place for hindu and india hating people in ipl,

@sweep_shot can blame modi and sanghis and ask fizz to go play in psl ata loss of earnings

Good lesson fr srk, his Pakistani and Bangladeshi love despite their hatred for India had to be called out.
You are a sick individual.

“Due to recent developments” 😂

Doesn’t even have the guts to call it like it is. Typical

lol at Bangladesh playersssess

There’s literally one (Mustafizur) who makes IPL on a regular basis considering Shakib has retired.

Whether it is Zainab Abbass, Atif Aslam, or Kanglu cricketers, no compromise will ever be made when it comes to respect of Sanatan and Rashtra.

Great stand taken by BCCI.
The nation stands fully with you.

Good riddance.

No people with anti hindu mindset must be allowed to play in India.

Only respectful people allowed. No jokers and bigots welcome in India, the land of the pure hearted.

This is a tamasha created by nautankis for the temporary edification of the ADHD peanut gallery.

India has good reasons to take steps against Bangladesh for its recent policy shifts, and treatment of Hindus in general.

But the decision to remove a BD cricketer from IPL is weak, deflective and a populist measure by GOI, a hollow pretence.

If this was about punishing Bangladesh it’s a weak and misdirected effort. What exactly have you accomplished that’s of substance?

If this was about making a statement, what’s that statement exactly? That you mess with India we will remove one of your players from IPL? Pardon me while I laugh at this ‘retaliation’.

It will have the opposite effect of what’s intended.

once again....politics of BJP RSS won and Cricket lost.... Now Indians can do bhangra once again. Start in 3........2.......1....GOOOOO
Waiting for this reply. Now I'm going to exposed the hypocrisy of pakistan posters because most of them justified the reported ban on Afghanistan players in PSL due to recent tension.

DON'T MIXED THE POLITICS WITH SPORTS 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

:klopp :kp

Thi
This is a tamasha created by nautankis for the temporary edification of the ADHD peanut gallery.

India has good reasons to take steps against Bangladesh for its recent policy shifts, and treatment of Hindus in general.

But the decision to remove a BD cricketer from IPL is weak, deflective and a populist measure by GOI, a hollow pretence.

If this was about punishing Bangladesh it’s a weak and misdirected effort. What exactly have you accomplished that’s of substance?

If this was about making a statement, what’s that statement exactly? That you mess with India we will remove one of your players from IPL? Pardon me while I laugh at this ‘retaliation’.

Thing is for long time what happened in BD was largely ignored by mainstream media in India ( outside Bengal )

But last 1 month things have taken a turn after murder of a Hindu factory worker. Now BD is getting lot more coverage along with all those anti India & anti Hindu statements from certain leaders. On top the recent attack on Indian embassy. So things have blown up

6 months back Mustafiz played in IPL and nobody cared. But now its different. Its fashionable to blame BCCI for everything but when u see BD politicians ranting against India all day - it makes things complicated

Agreed.

India needs to be serious and take military action. Throw some missiles on them, take some land, make them dance to Dhurandhar songs.

The world must recognise the power of Modi for sure.

Indians told us the gloves were off after Modi met Trump in the white house a while back and spoke about Bangladesh. Trump told him he could deal with Bangladesh however he likes.

This is the stunning outcome.

Mustafizur is lucky that the Indians enacted their revenge from a distance, had he already been in India they would have also refused to shake his hand when delivering the news.

The world must recognise the power of Modi for sure.

Indians told us the gloves were off after Modi met Trump in the white house a while back and spoke about Bangladesh. Trump told him he could deal with Bangladesh however he likes.

This is the stunning outcome.

Mustafizur is lucky that the Indians enacted their revenge from a distance, had he already been in India they would have also refused to shake his hand when delivering the news.
Mustafizur's career would not have recovered from that, he is incredibly lucky.

F
Thi
Thing is for long time what happened in BD was largely ignored by mainstream media in India ( outside Bengal )

But last 1 month things have taken a turn after murder of a Hindu factory worker. Now BD is getting lot more coverage along with all those anti India & anti Hindu statements from certain leaders. On top the recent attack on Indian embassy. So things have blown up

6 months back Mustafiz played in IPL and nobody cared. But now it’s different. Its fashionable to blame BCCI for everything but when u see BD politicians ranting against India all day - it makes things complicated

I follow geopolitics. There was a Hindu guy thrown by their cops to the mobs and burnt alive.

I’m as angry as anyone in India. But this Mustafizur expulsion feels like a mockery of my sentiment.

We need to take measures that reflect serious consequences. What those are can be debated. I’m vengeful enough to believe that the BD cops who actually let it happen (we can see their faces in the video) need to face consequences. But I’m one guy; surely GOI has better things to offer us than this dramabaazi. I hope for more concrete action.

lol at Bangladesh playersssess

There’s literally one (Mustafizur) who makes IPL on a regular basis considering Shakib has retired.

Whether it is Zainab Abbass, Atif Aslam, or Kanglu cricketers, no compromise will ever be made when it comes to respect of Sanatan and Rashtra.

Great stand taken by BCCI.
The nation stands fully with you.

We don't need any radical islamists in this country.
Gather them all and dump them in their awful countries.

Bharat Mata ki Jai
Jai Sri Ram
Waheguru ji da Khalsa Waheguru ji de Fateh
Someone’s watched too much Bollywood to understand how the real world works

Agreed.

India needs to be serious and take military action. Throw some missiles on them, take some land, make them dance to Dhurandhar songs.
Ofcourse they should. It’s not like the other powers in the region would just sit still whilst India took land. Again, real life is not a Bollywood movie seen through saffron tinted lenses

F

I follow geopolitics. There was a Hindu guy thrown by their cops to the mobs and burnt alive.

I’m as angry as anyone in India. But this Mustafizur expulsion feels like a mockery of my sentiment.

We need to take measures that reflect serious consequences. What those are can be debated. I’m vengeful enough to believe that the BD cops who actually let it happen (we can see their faces in the video) need to face consequences. But I’m one guy; surely GOI has better things to offer us than this dramabaazi. I hope for more concrete action.
When tempers run high - its better let them calm down before any engagement

Right now its a free for all in BD. And thanks to internet & social media all those anti India statments are getting lot of coverage in India

Just like anti Afghan rhetoric in Pakistan bco of which Afghan players got banned in PSL

The politics of hate has overtaken Indian cricket.
Decisions are no longer driven by the spirit of the game, but by political messaging.

Cricket once united people across the region, rising above borders and flags.
Weaponising it for politics will only harm the sport and everything it stands for.

He shouldn’t have been picked to begin with. What a clown show. Unnecessary attention. Any way ok with the decision. He adds nothing anyways.

Decisions are no longer driven by the spirit of the game, but by political messaging.

Weaponising it for politics will only harm the sport and everything it stands for.
Last time I checked PSL banned Afghan players 🤷‍♂️

You don’t speak up against atrocities against Hindus who are being butchered mercilessly in Bangladesh but you have a problem when a player can’t play IPL and that is hatred for you but what’s happening to hindus in Bangladesh isn’t hatred for you? Extremely sad double standards

We can discuss it in tps. Every sane human being, including me, condemns killing of innocents, irrespective of their religion and ethnicity, all over the world. This is a cricket thread. Why do you want me to politicize it by discussing situation in India or Bangladesh?

Where did you check this?
For starters on the very same forum 👇

Has it been confirmed?

My issue with indian posters reflects on this topic.

BCCI cant decide who plays and who doesnt. Its the IPL team whoever they want to purchase and retain. If BCCI starts dictating on who plays and who doesnt than this shows how bad IPL is.

Not a single Indian poster here calls out the discrimination here...

BCCI cant decide who plays and who doesnt. Its the IPL team whoever they want to purchase and retain. If BCCI starts dictating on who plays and who doesnt than this shows how bad IPL is.

I guess it will be GOI who issues visas to allow the sportsmen to enter.

So they may have just told the IPL that they can't issue visa to players from Bangladesh.

Could perhaps be an issue for ICC, but unlikely Jay Shah will ask his father.

So they may have just told the IPL that they can't issue visa to players from Bangladesh.

What will icc do here? Visa policy isnt for icc to decide.

So who will decide who plays in the indian league, if not indian board

What will icc do here? Via policy isnt for icc to decide.
Who says they have to do something?

ICC doesn't have a military wing but chose to make unrelated comments when Pakistan was bombing Afghanistan.

You think they can't make a comment on this situation affecting ties between to member nations?

Bangladeshi players should voluntarily avoid IPL because there is a fascist government now in India. It is similar to 1930's Nazi Party in Germany.

India as a country have become an uncivilized place with many extremists, scammers, and rapists. Better to avoid going there for both moral reason and safety reason. :inti
Are you joking 🙃 understand the reality that is happening in Bangladesh

Politics of hate has overtaken Bangladesh just see what they did to a Hindu in Bangladesh. We are all Hindus once upon a time. But some Arabs converted some Indians to Muslims so reconvert back to Hindu and bring peace to entire South Asia.

I think you have hit the nail on the head. It's easy to say this is not political, keep politics out, but the reality is this is a deeply political move.

Here is the BJP statement.

Welcoming the decision, BJP leader Sangeet Som on Saturday said this is a “victory of Hindus”.

"Thanks to BCCI for its decision in view of the 100 crore Sanatanis of India. We said yesterday that cognisance will be taken of this matter because the sentiments of 100 crore people cannot be taken lightly... This is the victory of the Hindus of the entire nation," Som said, speaking to ANI news agency.

To be honest I didn't understand the underlying reality.

But if one Mustafizur stands between victory and defeat for 100 crore Hindus then we cannot begrudge them for removing him and celebrating victoriously.

Having understood the proper political context and the gravity of this move I would like to extend my congrats to all our neighbours on this achievement.

Today has been a thrilling day already, Maduro kidnapped and extradited, Mustafizur silenced and 100crore Hindus vindicated, it's not even 1pm in the UK, and so much has happened!

Thats discrimination than.

Bcci has no right telling who can play and who cannot.

Awesome! I never watch this league and don't care. BD and PAK need to grow brain cells and fix their cricket structure to entice and nurture their talent in domestic cricket as most good teams do.

Problem is both Pak & BD are incapable of doing all that. So they will keep crying about India

Lol. The next Olympics will be in the US - which has put visa ban / restrictions on many countries

Nobody cares about these stuff any more

Their visa restriction and ban is on immigration and work visas, not on sports people attending an event.

India discriminates when giving out visa for sports.

Their visa restriction and ban is on immigration and work visas, not on sports people attending an event.

Do u think US will allow say any Iranian footballer in MLS ?

NO

Will US allow Iran in 2026 WC

YES

To play in domestic league u actually need work visa in USA

Thats what matters. Nobody cares what u do about domestic leagues

Fyi, Afghan players took the first step. They removed PSL/respective team names from their profiles which showed they no longer want to play PSL.

Hosting agreement means you have to give visa,

But that doesn’t mean there is a right for any foreigner to enter another country country and earn money

Like with Pakistan, India-Bangladesh cricket ties could snap after BCCI asks IPL franchise Shahrukh Khan’s KKR to eject Mustafizur Rahman from team​

India could be staring at a Pakistan-like situation with Bangladesh, with bilateral cricket now in doubt amid the ongoing political crisis. The uncertainty has put India’s scheduled tour later this year on hold, also raising the prospect of the two sides meeting only at neutral venues in global events.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had issued a media release on Friday, stating that they will host India for three ODIs followed by three T20Is in the first week of September. However, following recent developments across the border, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to put the series on hold and will seek Indian government approval before taking a final call.

The BCCI will communicate to BCB about Indian government decisions in due course. The ongoing political crisis, however, is unlikely to impact Bangladesh’s participation in the upcoming T20 World Cup in India and Sri Lanka in February.

“We didn’t travel to Bangladesh last year too, BCB had issued their international calendar, but it looks doubtful, as we need Indian government approval to play in any other country. As far as the T20I World Cup is concerned, Bangladesh will play as per the scheduled games in India,” a top BCCI official said.

The decision to put the series on hold comes on the same day as the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was informed by the BCCI to release Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman from their squad, ahead of the 2026 season.

KKR had bought the 30-year-old Bangladesh fast bowler for Rs 9.5 crore in the auction ahead of the 2026 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in December.

Bollywood superstar and KKR co-owner Shah Rukh Khan also found himself in the eye of the storm, with various political leaders calling for the three-time IPL champions to remove Rahman from their squad.

Hindu spiritual leader Jagadguru Rambhadrachary had called the 60-year-old actor “anti-national”, adding that he had no character.

“…It is unfortunate (Shah Rukh Khan took Bangladeshi cricketer in KKR for IPL 2026), but he will do so because he is considered a hero. Shah Rukh Khan’s stance has consistently been at odds with the nation. He has no character. His character has always been questionable and anti-national,” Rambhadrachary said.

Shiv Sena leader Anand Dubey had also targetted the actor, adding that they would not allow Rahman to play at “any cost”.

“If Shah Rukh Khan plays him and earns money, that money will be used to nurture terrorists there and conspire against our country. We will not allow this to happen at any cost,” he said.

“Kolkata Knight Riders confirms that BCCI/IPL, as the regulator of IPL, has instructed it to release Mustafizur Rahman from the squad ahead of the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) season,” said KKR in a statement that came shortly after BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia announced communicating the instruction with the three-time IPL champions.

“The release has been carried out following due process and consultations, upon the instruction of the Board of Control of Cricket in India. BCCI will allow Kolkata Knight Riders a replacement player in line with IPL regulations, and further details will be communicated in due course,” it added.

BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia had earlier said that the BCCI had told KKR to release Mustafizur “due to recent developments”.

I think this is just a storm in a tea cup - an aberration

Things are turbulent in BD. With elections nearing - expect more shrill anti India rhetoric from certain parties. Once elections are over - there will be some sort of settlement with India & return to normalcy

Then u will again see hoardes of BD folks coming back to India for vacations / medical treatment. BD actors / singers return back to perform in India. And BD cricketers back in IPL. Hopefully India will tour BD as well

Just need to wait for few months

Are Bangladesh cricketers target worthy in the first place? How many leagues are actually looking to pick them? KKR started picking them because of commercial reasons as it has language connection. Afghanistan, Srilanka bring in mystery element. They are pretty smart.

There is no winnable case for sporting discrimination here.

@Major has made that point in the past too. I don't think he is correct on it.
There is actually.

Discrimination in sports isnt tolerated. It only gets tolerated when you have boards that lack the right education to make noise on this issue, along with uneducated journalists and sports reps.

If Pakistan had the right people in the PCB, had educated journalists, they would make this case to ICC.

Plus people like Holding etc need to be approached so that they can keep mentioning the discrimination in test matches and we need to have an educated captain that should about the discrimination in press conference etc.

Its takes using the media and right channels to get the msg across.

The fault lies on ICC that allows discrimination to take place.

There is actually.

Discrimination in sports isnt tolerated. It only gets tolerated when you have boards that lack the right education to make noise on this issue, along with uneducated journalists and sports reps.

If Pakistan had the right people in the PCB, had educated journalists, they would make this case to ICC.

Plus people like Holding etc need to be approached so that they can keep mentioning the discrimination in test matches and we need to have an educated captain that should about the discrimination in press conference etc.

Its takes using the media and right channels to get the msg across.

The fault lies on ICC that allows discrimination to take place.
There is a difference between trying to prove discrimination in court of public opinion than in actual court.