ICC rejects Bangladesh's request to move its T20 World Cup games out of India (Update @ post#2179)

After Pakistan, is BCCI now targeting Bangladesh cricketers for exclusion from IPL as well?

Why are you crying at PCB's statement??

You keep waiting for BD to play in india... Chill
How is responding or reacting "crying". When you guys react it's just normal but if others reply it's crying?

I am telling you, this strategy is getting old. You need to respond to people's actual points instead of accusing them of crying or whatever to avoid those points.

There were some valid points raised in the post about the logistics and next steps etc but nice try dodging them.

AS PER REPORTS:

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has expressed its readiness to host Bangladesh’s matches of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 if Sri Lanka is unable to provide venues. According to sources, the board has formally conveyed its interest to the ICC and assured that all Pakistani venues are fully prepared to stage World Cup fixtures.

The PCB highlighted its successful hosting of major ICC events, including the Champions Trophy 2025 and the ICC Women’s Qualifier, as evidence of its capability to organize these matches smoothly.
If ICC agree then PCB should add that in case Pakistan qualify for the Semi Final or the Final then they will be playing the match in Pakistan

This is not an official statement from PCB yet. But if reports are to believed then thank you Pakistan for trying to delete geopolitical tensions and build bridges.

Bigger statement about Bangladesh is coming in a while from Pakistan. It will rock India. But as I said, its more political than cricket.

Because PCB is playing politics here and trying to take revenge on India by making Bangladesh scapegoat. I have no doubt from day 1 it is PCB who is behind these demands by BCB. They are the one who constantly brainwashing Bangladesh board behind the scenes. Just look at your media...how aggressively they are covering this news. Pakistan should sit out of this tournament and free up their venues in SL for Bangladesh to play. Not that by playing they are going to win anything anyway.

ICC should actually write a letter back in stern words asking PCB to stop poking its nose in matters that doesnt concern them and stop instigating...else actions will be taken against them.

I am just amazed at the audacity. We with host the games in Pakistan it seems. Not sure why people forget their real place and where they stand in world cricket.

AS PER REPORTS:

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has expressed its readiness to host Bangladesh’s matches of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026 if Sri Lanka is unable to provide venues.
Pcb can host it, if they had completed the so called phase 2 construction and making their stadiums as world class with icc money.They can get their audit first and host any other matches.

Otherwise its Begani shaadi mein Abdullah deewana

Real test for Pak will if they boycott WC if BD demands are not met. IOnfact they could pressure BCCI by promising to boycott WC.

Is the BD-Pak bond strong enough?

UAE was floated as an alternative but posed further logistical issues as Indian players then requested that their own matches are also moved to Dubai.

I’m keenly interested in this apparently forthcoming so called big political announcement from Bangladesh.

That’s all we needed to add to this comedy. Take a major political step over what happened to a single player in a private league, why don’t you.

The report suggests that a resolution is unlikely to be simple, as Bangladesh's position has hardened significantly. The BCB is no longer satisfied with standard security assurances and is now demanding "man-to-man" personal protection for every player, coach, and official if they are to travel to India.

This shift in stance follows a public declaration by Bangladesh’s Youth and Sports Adviser, Asif Nazrul, who stated that playing in India under current conditions would constitute a "national humiliation."

Not sure how credible this bolded part of the news is

If BD plays in Pindi, they will feel right at home for ($pin paradise) 😜...IF ICC approves it, it will a troll fest LoL

Rawalpindi?

Yeah. Sluggish pitches suit BD the most. The more sluggish the surface is, the better it is for them.

They generally get decimated on flat pitches because batting is weak.

Always on the wrong side of things.

The only person doing wrong is Bangladesh who suddenly found gaping security holes as soon as Fizz was thrown out of IPL.

Before that security was not even questionable.

If Bangladeshis are so scared for their life, they should simply withdraw from the tournament.

What happens if they qualify for final?

Will they suddenly magically no longer have security issues and travel to India for the final?

For us - Litton is a Bangladeshi irrespective of him being a Hindu or any other religion and should be treated as such.
You don't see the issue with this statement? India in general is pissed off for Hindu killings and rightfully so, but if we go by your statement then those Hindu is Bangladeshi, irrespective of religion. So it should not be such an issue since they have Bangladeshi blood.

I saw his comment from another angle. BCCI/IND already has massive hate towards PCB and PAK. If pak gets involved, it just makes BCCI look more weak. Which in return won't make BD's situation any better.

You don't see the issue with this statement? India in general is pissed off for Hindu killings and rightfully so, but if we go by your statement then those Hindu is Bangladeshi, irrespective of religion. So it should not be such an issue since they have Bangladeshi blood.
It is an issue because of the intention behind the murder

From not getting asia cup trophy to bangladesh being brainwashed..

Lol @Rajdeep is having his typical melt downs.

The resident indiots are fun to watch in such situations.

You reap what you sow

The only person doing wrong is Bangladesh who suddenly found gaping security holes as soon as Fizz was thrown out of IPL.

Before that security was not even questionable.

If Bangladeshis are so scared for their life, they should simply withdraw from the tournament.

What happens if they qualify for final?

Will they suddenly magically no longer have security issues and travel to India for the final?
Out of all the cricket nations, Bangladesh does have a genuine security issue.

Looks like BCCI and ICC have accepted Mumbai and Kolkata are not safe for Bangladesh and instead are offering South Indian venues.

Kudos to India for admitting the fragile security environments in those areas.
But saar we will not play in india but in Lanka otherwise we will boycott the World T20. 🤣🤣🤣 :klopp :kp

Not sure if anyone understands Bangla here but BCB president saying in this video 'other venues in India is also India...so we will not accept'. Now if they agree to play in Chennai, it will be a massive embarassment for BCB and PCB...after all bravados.

How did ICC and Jay Shah react on PCBs proposal of playing in Pakistan? I am curious to know whether they just giggle or being hysterical.

:rp

I love these type of cricket controversies in the region.

Lots of learn waving occurs.

And when I say ‘learn’ I mean the other thing, exactly what you’re thinking.

Regardless of result, every single person claims a massive win for their side and a humiliating learn for the others.

That’s a learn for you! No that’s a big learn for you!

If they had genuine security issue, they will be flagging it much before to the ICC or atleast would react after the schedules were out. This was an ego issue because Mustafiz was dropped from IPL and has nothing to do with security.

Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram emerge as options for Bangladesh's World Cup matches

The impasse around the identity of Bangladesh's venues at the upcoming T20 World Cup has extended with the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) seemingly locked in a battle of attrition.

With just over three weeks left for the start of the tournament there is no resolution on whether Bangladesh will travel to India to play its scheduled matches. The BCB wants all its matches moved to Sri Lanka - the other host of the World Cup - citing concerns about player safety following political tensions between India and Bangladesh - a stance the BCB has sent in formal requests to the ICC on more than one occasion.

Cricbuzz, however, understands that alternative venues are being explored by the ICC and it is unlikely they will be in Sri Lanka where Bangladesh insist on playing.

It has been learnt that Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) and Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) have been sounded out by the ICC and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the co-hosts of the World Cup and the option of moving Bangladesh's games to Chennai and Thiruvananthapuram are being explored.

Immediately TNCA and KCA officials could not be reached but it is learnt that they have expressed willingness to host the games. Chepauk is already a Word Cup venue and is currently pencilled in to host seven games, including a potential India-Australia 'Super 8' fixture. TNCA officials are believed to have told the ICC and BCCI that they will have no problem as they have eight pitches.

As per the existing schedule, Bangladesh are slated to play three games - vs West Indies (February 7), vs Italy (February 9) and vs England (February 14) in Kolkata before moving to Mumbai to take on Nepal on February 17.

After the BCCI instructed IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders to release fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman from its squad, Bangladesh have cited security concerns over travelling to India and have written twice to the ICC seeking a change of venue. The global body is yet to respond formally and could only potentially do so on Monday (January 12). Even then, the chances of the ICC accommodating the BCB's request to shift its fixtures to Sri Lanka would appear slim, given the logistical challenges of relocating matches so close to the February 7 start of the marquee tournament.

From not getting asia cup trophy to bangladesh being brainwashed..

Lol @Rajdeep is having his typical melt downs.

The resident indiots are fun to watch in such situations.

You reap what you sow
The downfall of Pakistan Cricket has been sad.

From winning world cup in the 90s and being a test powerhouse to priding themselves on their ACC chairman running away with Asia cup trophy after the team got flogged 3 consecutive times.

The mentality of fans has taken a hit.

The last line of your post describes Pakistan Cricket and its fate. Hoping that Pakistan Cricket and its fans recover from this.

If they had genuine security issue, they will be flagging it much before to the ICC or atleast would react after the schedules were out. This was an ego issue because Mustafiz was dropped from IPL and has nothing to do with security.
Why was Mustafiz dropped from the IPL in the first place? Why are you refusing to answer? Was that too an outcome of the BCCI's ego? :yk :inti

The downfall of Pakistan Cricket has been sad.

From winning world cup in the 90s and being a test powerhouse to priding themselves on their ACC chairman running away with Asia cup trophy after the team got flogged 3 consecutive times.

The mentality of fans has taken a hit.

The last line of your post describes Pakistan Cricket and its fate. Hoping that Pakistan Cricket and its fans recover from this.
This is your downfall, not Pakistan cricket's. The thread is about India and Bangladesh, but since you can't argue on the topic, you drag Pakistan into it 95% of the time. And let's be honest, when things get tough for India or your favourites, you disappear. You only tag me when everything is going well and then vanish the moment the heat is on. :yk :inti

Chennai wicket will also suit Bangladesh style of play with their spin heavy attack. Additionally, Mustafizur have got experience of this ground playing for CSK in multiple seasons. All in all, some positive for Bangladesh

:shakib :kp

But saar we will not play in india but in Lanka otherwise we will boycott the World T20. 🤣🤣🤣 :klopp :kp
I wonder why BJP and Jay Shah ICC have sold out Mumbai and Kolkata in this way.

We say the way Kolkata people behaved towards Messi, but I thought it was one off.

Sad day for those cities that they are deemed unsuitable.

BTW, I already wrote this in post #605.
:genius

On a serious note - BCCI must consider changing their venues to some southern states in India like Chennai.

I know we like to give it back to our fellow BD posters here.

I also know BCBs security concerns were not genuine and it was an ego decision for Mustafizur ouster in IPL. However, playing in places like Calcutta or Mumbai is not very condusive for Bangladesh in present climate. With the entire S.I.R thing going on in Bengal and with Shiv Sena in MH, it just take few lunatics to do something. We all saw what happened with Messi. So my request will be and if BCB was smart enough they should also be asking to just shift the venue to more liberal places like Chennai and Hyderabad

Chennai wicket will also suit Bangladesh style of play with their spin heavy attack. Additionally, Mustafizur have got experience of this ground playing for CSK in multiple seasons. All in all, some positive for Bangladesh

:shakib :kp
Chennai have multiple wickets which are good for batting. In ipl ,its always 200 plus scores (23 wc pak matches had 280 plus totals) .I recollect there are few wickets with good carry and bounce too (24 chennai test ).

They can take the PIA Airlines for their travels, safest airlines which no one will hijack :ua
What's Pakistan got to do with this? Typical pajeets bringing Pakistan in the discussion. And irony of you mentioning airlines when indian airlines have had far worse recent record.

Stick to the topic and don't derail threads

What's Pakistan got to do with this? Typical pajeets bringing Pakistan in the discussion. And irony of you mentioning airlines when indian airlines have had far worse recent record.

Stick to the topic and don't derail threads
There are a million posts here which say Pakistan wants to host and Pakistan should have semis and finals in their country. I know lying comes by nature to you but no one is buying this.

And also love an asian person using racist terms for other Asians, just shows how low IQ and stupid they are. This is how English were able to rule the subcontinent for so long. We literally had gora boot lickers using racist terms against their own countrymen

Anytime a brown sub continent person parrots racist terms created by white people to attack brown people, I know they are a certified bootlicker with slave mentality to the white.

Press Conference by BCB

Translation (in English)

The ICC security committee has reviewed the situation in India and has put forward three proposals:
  1. If Mustafizur is included in the team, the security threat increases.
  2. Bangladeshi fans attending matches must remain anonymous, and no flags or jerseys will be allowed.
  3. If Bangladesh’s elections take place during the T20 World Cup, the security threat increases.

Rajdeep's analysis
Guy is clearly lying under his teeth and playing politics to instigate the public. Security staff cannot advice a cricket board which player to play or not. The fact is this guy is talking about BCCI forcing them to drop their ace fast bowler (aka Mustafizur) is clear tactics of playing with public emotion. He is also including election as we always knew this was all about politics.

Nevertheless, lets see what ICC says. If this guy is lying, then ICC has all the right to ban Bangladesh cricket for sometime for defamation.

@cricketjoshila @Devadwal @Hitman

Shameful from BCCI and Jay Shah. How can they influence selection of other teams players?

These pesky Indians tried this in a low level tournament like legends league to try and remove Afridi but now think they can get away with to remove players from world cup?

Shameful from BCCI and Jay Shah. How can they influence selection of other teams players?

These pesky Indians tried this in a low level tournament like legends league to try and remove Afridi but now think they can get away with to remove players from world cup?
He should prove it by showing the letter he received from ICC in press. Anyone can make any allegations but need to prove it.

What he is saying seems legit
NDTV has confirmed existence of the letter.

"According to sources, this letter was part of an inter departmental note,"

Indians have turned cricket into circus! Detailing who can and cannot play and what colours can wear. How shameful!!!

In
Press Conference by BCB

Translation (in English)

The ICC security committee has reviewed the situation in India and has put forward three proposals:
  1. If Mustafizur is included in the team, the security threat increases.

I stopped reading after the first point because, if the Bangladeshi person has actually said this, his claims don’t pass the smell test. Hard to believe any security team would write something that sounds so unprofessional.

From that article:

Following is what Nazrul said in a press conference on Monday: "We are yet to receive any reply to the two letters sent to ICC. Also, in the meantime, the ICC security team, those in charge of security, have given a letter to the BCB. In that letter, it is said that if three things happen, the security threat to the Bangladesh team will increase:

1. If Mustafiz is included in the Bangladesh team.

2. If the supporters of the Bangladesh team roam around wearing the national jersey of Bangladesh, which is our national jersey.

3. As the national elections are forthcoming, the security threat to the Bangladesh team will increase.

Raju, waise yeh Mustafiz ne kiya kya hai? :yk :inti

In

I stopped reading after the first point because, if the Bangladeshi person has actually said this, his claims don’t pass the smell test. Hard to believe any security team would write something that sounds so unprofessional.
Elections are coming in Bangladesh. So they are creating this anti India narrative for votes. Only Pakistanis like @DeadlyVenom and his fellow brethrens are buying this news.

What he is saying seems legit
NDTV has confirmed existence of the letter.

"According to sources, this letter was part of an inter departmental note,"

Indians have turned cricket into circus! Detailing who can and cannot play and what colours can wear. How shameful!!!
NDTV is just quoting this press conference which I already translated. Even if this is not an official letter and just a departmental note, why cant he show it to the press? Just show and prove what he is saying is true.

#HaiHimmat?

Shameful from BCB and PCB , how fan they influence by government or military dictatorship when comee to selection of own team.

:klopp :kp

Asif Nazrul (Bangladesh Youth and Sports Advisor) made some interesting comments today regarding change of venue saga pertaining to upcoming T20I WC 2026:

"We are talking about India, we are not talking about Kolkata. If the venue is changed from India to Sri Lanka, there is no issue. I saw a report... that claimed Pakistan has offered to host our matches. No problem if Pakistan or UAE host our matches."

"We are a cricket-crazy nation and we definitely want to play. But we do not want to play the World Cup at the cost of national humiliation, at the cost of the security of our cricketers, spectators and journalists, or at the cost of the country's dignity."

(On the ICC security letter): "Expecting a nation to drop its best bowler, forbid fans from wearing team colors, or alter an election schedule for a cricket tournament is completely unrealistic... the letter itself serves as undeniable proof that the environment in India is currently hostile and unsafe."

Will it vanish if they reach the final?

Or will they forfeit the final if they reach it because players will be killed if they land in India?

Which one is it?

This entire situation is ICC fault. They set the precedent to have an ICC tournament venue be changed to accommodate "security concerns" when there was none for rest of the teams. An ICC event should have ICC review & guarantee of security for all teams and in the event where one team feels it is not adequate enough when rest of the teams are good with it, that team should be forced to forfeit their matches or be replaced. Yeah, it would have been a financial loss without India but it's about setting a precedent so other teams can't pull the same nonsense.

As a result of the favouritism allowed to India, Pakistan refused to go to India in retaliation and both ended up getting neutral venues. Now, Bangladesh is raising security issues and requesting neutral venue but ICC is saying there are no security concerns. Bangladesh is justified in maintaining their stance because it's the same pretence that allowed India & Pakistan to get neutral venues. The only difference being is they are a smaller board with less financial risk so ICC can bully it around until it gets it way but its reasonable to say its unfair that some teams can be held to certain standards and some can have exceptions.

What happens in the future if a smaller board like NZ says there is a security risk verses a bigger board like Eng/Aus. The former is denied and the latter is accommodated for? ICC is the governing body for the global game of cricket and if you are going to govern it properly, the rules should be equal for everyone.

Asif Nazrul (Bangladesh Youth and Sports Advisor) made some interesting comments today regarding change of venue saga pertaining to upcoming T20I WC 2026:

"We are talking about India, we are not talking about Kolkata. If the venue is changed from India to Sri Lanka, there is no issue. I saw a report... that claimed Pakistan has offered to host our matches. No problem if Pakistan or UAE host our matches."

"We are a cricket-crazy nation and we definitely want to play. But we do not want to play the World Cup at the cost of national humiliation, at the cost of the security of our cricketers, spectators and journalists, or at the cost of the country's dignity."

(On the ICC security letter): "Expecting a nation to drop its best bowler, forbid fans from wearing team colors, or alter an election schedule for a cricket tournament is completely unrealistic... the letter itself serves as undeniable proof that the environment in India is currently hostile and unsafe."
Cone play in Pindi, we are happy to host our brothers.

BCB must demand that ICC share security advice that was given to India regarding Champions Trophy.

How can they belittle legitimate security concerns of Bangladeshis, but pander to Jay Shah's Papa when India doesn't want to visit Pakistan.

Now they are specifying what colour shirt that fans can wear. If these Indians are not controlled, then they will try to specify what colour Kacha fans can wear too. It is a never-ending cycle with their demands.

Bangladesh should not go to India for any ICC event or any bilateral series until India become free from extremists.

This would've been my decision if I was in charge.

Anyway, I am not in charge. So, I am not sure if this will be implemented. Let's wait and see I guess. :inti

ICC Rejects Bangladesh's 'Complete Lie' About Security Concerns In India For T20 World Cup: Report

Bangladesh sports advisor Asif Nazrul asserted that the ICC has acknowledged his country's security concerns

ICC reportedly refuted that claim

ICC denies BCB's request, orders Bangladesh to play T20 World Cup matches in India

The International Cricket Council reportedly admitted to have contacted the Bangladesh Cricket Board with regards to security in India, but denied mentioning that Mustafizur Rahman's selection for the T20 World Cup will be an issue

:klopp :kp

Bangladesh is playing an extremely high stakes game and has now no face saving exit strategy except two extremes:

- an unlikely shifting of venues to another nation or

- and unthinkable boycotting of the tournament altogether.

It has painted itself into a corner where it won’t even accept a change of venues in India.

I think BCB is being led / advised by very immature and volatile politicians whose ridiculously injured pride prevents them from seeing how ICC works.

And I don’t believe it’s the BCB management, but Bangladeshi politicians who’ve taken over.