Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan passes away

Mian

MUMBAI: Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan has finally confirmed that he is suffering from a high-grade neuroendocrine cancer. He penned down a special letter that said that cancer he’d been diagnosed with was rare and had more unpredictability of its treatment.

In an emotional note, he said,

“It’s been quite sometime now since I have been diagnosed with a high-grade neuroendocrine cancer. This new name in my vocabulary, I got to know, was rare, and due to fewer study cases, and less information comparatively, the unpredictability of the treatment was more. I was part of a trial-and-error game. I had been in a different game, I was traveling on a speedy train ride, had dreams, plans, aspirations, goals, was fully engaged in them. And suddenly someone taps on my shoulder and I turn to see. It’s the TC: “Your destination is about to come. Please get down.” I am confused: “No, no. My destination hasn’t come.” “No, this is it. This is how it is sometimes.”

“The suddenness made me realize how you are just a cork floating in the ocean with UNPREDICTABLE currents! And you are desperately trying to control it.”

The hospital he’s currently being treated for cancer stating is across the road from the world famous cricket stadium, Lord’s.

He wrote, “As I was entering the hospital, drained, exhausted, listless, I hardly realized my hospital was on the opposite side of Lord’s, the stadium. The Mecca of my childhood dream. Amidst the pain, I saw a poster of a smiling Vivian Richards. Nothing happened, as if that world didn’t ever belong to me.

“This hospital also had a coma ward right above me. Once, while standing on the balcony of my hospital room, the peculiarity jolted me. Between the game of life and the game of death, there is just a road. On one side, a hospital, on the other, a stadium. As if one isn’t part of anything which might claim certainty – neither the hospital nor the stadium. That hit me hard.”

The popular Bollywood actor then revealed that he had finally surrendered himself to his fate adding that ‘the only thing certain was the uncertainty.’

He wrote, “All I could do was to realize my strength and play my game better. This realization made me submit, surrender and trust, irrespective of the outcome, irrespective of where this takes me, eight months from now, or four months from now, or two years. The concerns took a back seat and started to fade and kind of went out of my mind space.

“For the first time, I felt what ‘freedom’ truly means. It felt like an accomplishment. As if I was tasting life for the first time, the magical side of it. My confidence in the intelligence of the cosmos became absolute. I feel as if it has entered every cell of mine.”

In March this year, Irrfan had revealed he had been diagnosed with NeuroEndocrine Tumour adding that learning about the disease ‘has admittedly been difficult.’ He had written,

“The unexpected makes us grow, which is what the past few days have been. Learning that I have been diagnosed with NeuroEndocrine Tumour as of now has admittedly been difficult, but the love and strength of those around me and that I found within me has brought me to place of hope.

“The journey of this is taking me out of the country, and I request everyone to continue sending their wishes. As for the rumors that were floated, NEURO is not always about the brain and googling is the easiest way to do research. To those who waited for my words, I hope to be back with more stories to tell.”

https://arynews.tv/en/ive-surrendered-irrfan-khan-on-his-battle-with-cancer/

Feeling really sad for this man he is one of the finest actor to come from sub continent.

Btw now i understand why he was there in Lords watching Pak vs Eng Test because his Hospital is just at the opposite side of lords.

Get well soon irrfan bhai, Keep believing your fortune may change.
Like your dialogue " kismat ki ek khas baat hai ki wo palat ti hai."

Sad news.He’s a wonderful actor,seems a good person and the world would mourn his loss.Let’s hope it does not come to that.

Great actor and he's from downtown Jaipur too. I pray him a speedy recovery.

Wish you all the best and inshAllah success in your battle with cancer. Ameen

One of my favourite Indian actors after Naseerudin Shah, Om Puri, Amrish Puri (was a wasted talent in those useless villain roles, watch Gardish to see how sublime he was), Nana Patekar and Nawazuddin Siddiqui (although I think he usually plays the same characters).

Was amazing in Slumdog, Billu Barber, Lunchbox, Hindi Medium etc, great comedic timing too. Get well soon champ.

I really respect him a lot as a person and an actor so I wish him a speedy recovery.......How hard must it me that its out of your hands if you can survive this disease and onyl god can help you.

Brilliant actor. Only guy along with Amir Khan that I watch Bollywood movies of. May Allah make it easy for him and all the alike sufferers.

Actor Irrfan Khan has died at the age of 54, after being admitted to Mumbai’s Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital on Tuesday, where was under observation for colon infection. The actor in 2018 had announced that he’d been diagnosed with a neuroendocrine tumour.

Irrfan had undergone treatment abroad for several months in 2019, working on just one project in that time, director Homi Adajania’s Angrezi Medium.

Prior to the film’s release, the actor had shared an empowering video message for his fans, stating that the only choice he had was to remain positive. “One doesn’t have any other choice but to remain positive. Whether you are able to make lemonade in such situations is entirely up to you. We’ve made this film with the same sort of positivity. I hope this film is able to make you laugh and cry in equal measure.”

Irrfan’s career spanned several decades and industries. Acclaimed for his roles in Indian cinema, the actor was also involved in several international blockbusters such as Slumdog Millionaire, Jurassic World, The Amazing Spider-Man and Life of Pi.

In India, his most famous films include his debut, the Academy Award nominated Salaam Bombay!, Maqbool (2004), Paan Singh Tomar (2011), The Lunchbox (2013), Haider (2014), Gunday (2014), Piku (2015) and Talvar (2015) and Hindi Medium (2017).

https://www.hindustantimes.com/bollywood/irrfan-khan-dies-at-54/story-Hd8s2xZ6uNeqDjgV0sl7zI.html

RIP, 54 is not an age to die

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Irrfan Khan, actor extraordinaire and India’s face in the West, dies at 54<a href="https://t.co/lwibLwe35x">https://t.co/lwibLwe35x</a> <a href="https://t.co/9386lTLAcH">pic.twitter.com/9386lTLAcH</a></p>— Hindustan Times (@htTweets) <a href="https://twitter.com/htTweets/status/1255384536160100353?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Another great Bollywood actor who has passed away at a young age, depressing news.

He was such a great individual in bollywood and very humble & nice person.

May god bless his soul and give his family strength to digest this sad news.

Bollywood actor Irfan Khan passes away at 53

Breaking news!

This is so devastating. RIP!

So sad. The only thing we all have in common is that no one is guaranteed tomorrow.

May he rest in peace.

Celebrities death do not affect me but this one is hard to take. He was one of the finest actor. Gone too soon

RIP

Very Under Rated, no glamor but all substance, RIP Irfan bhai, he was all rounder. Better than these so called Khan stars.

One of my favourite actors, extremely sad and depressing news, we got robbed of his talents too soon

Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan left the world mourning after he breathed his last at age 53 on Wednesday.

After the news of his death broke, Bollywood bigwigs stepped forth to extend their deepest condolences for the veteran actor who represented the Indian film fraternity in the West with films like Life of Pi, The Namesake and Slumdog Millionaire.

Sonam Kapoor sent the late actor love and light as she penned a farewell note for him on Instagram: "Rest in peace @irrfan sir. You have no idea what your kindness and encouragement meant to me at my lowest. My condolences to your family and loved ones."

Priyanka Chopra turned to Twitter to pen a heartfelt note after the actor’s demise, saying: “The charisma you brought to everything you did was pure magic. Your talent forged the way for so many in so many avenues.. You inspired so many of us. #IrrfanKhan you will truly be missed. Condolences to the family.”

Priety Zinta turned to her social media to pay her respect to the late actor: "So Sad to hear of the untimely death of Irrfan Khan, one of India’s most talented & versatile actor. Gone to soon my friend. You will be missed. My heartfelt condolences to the family. May god give them strength during this difficult time. R.I.P."

Ace director Mahesh Bhatt penned a heart-wrenching note for his departed friend as well: "Maine dil se kaha, dhoond laana khushi Nasamajh laya gum, to yeh gum hi sahi...Remember singing this song holding his hand when I met him after he was diagnosed. He smiled .The warmth of your smile will forever linger my friend. Alvida dost."

Indian director Nandita Das also expressed her sorrow in a tweet: “This is just too sad. I'd worked with #IrrfanKhan in Supari, not our best, but we had a wonderful time together. We met a few times after that & will always treasure the warmth. Not to mention the loss of an incredible actor. Will rewatch his flims to celebrate his life and work.”

Bollywood star Huma Qureshi also joined in to send the actor light and peace: “You will forever be remembered for your craft and the legacy you leave behind. One of a kind #IrrfanKhan.. had the opportunity to work with you .. It’s sad that you were taken away at your creative peak .. My prayers are with your family. Bless them at a time like this.”

Indian director Kamal Haasan als paid homage to the departed soul:

"Too soon to leave @irrfank Ji. Your work always left me in awe. You’re one of the finest actors I know, I wish you stayed longer. You deserved more time. Strength to the family at this time."

Cricket stars in India joined other celebrities in extending condolences to the late actor as well:

Khan was admitted to Mumbai hospital on Tuesday after his health deteriorated, died on Wednesday at the age of 53, reported Indian media.

Irrfan was diagnosed with a neuroendocrine tumor in 2018 and had been undergoing treatment in Britain.

He returned to India after recovering and wrapped filming on Angrezi Medium film. He shot the movie immediately after his round of cancer treatment ended, and had kept up a relatively low profile since his diagnosis was announced.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/285535-bollywood-stars-mourn-the-loss-of-acting-great-irrfan-khan

I dont upset easy but this has

Its a huge loss to the indian and world film industry An actor par excellence no matter what medium or role Such quality is once in a generation

My condolences to his friends and family This is very very sad news May he RIP

RIP

This world is temporary, hopefully his good deeds will carry over into the hereafter cause these awards and accolades mean nothing to God.

Inna lillahi wa inna illahi rajioon

Damn he was one of the finest Bollywood actors I've seen. I hope Nawazuddin Siddiqui remains safe.

This is so heartbreaking. I'll definitely watch his movie Angrezi Medium.

That’s so unfortunate.. one of the few actors that had such a huge range.. he shined in every movie or tv series he acted in.

His dialogue delivery imo was on par with the best, his comedy timing was probably among top 3 in Hindi cinema..
Such tragedy..

When Amrish Puri died at 72 i was sad coz i thought he could had easily done 6-7 years of work more, then Om Puri at 66 I thought was so early and now Irfan.
Even Balraj Sahni and Sanjeev Kumar died early..

and these are the actors whose acting I have loved.

Bengaluru: Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan, who passed away today (April 29), had once spoken about his cricket career which he gave up and also talked about his favourite Indian cricketers.

Irrfan breathed his last at a Mumbai hospital on Wednesday. He was 53. He is survived by his wife Sutapa Sarkar and two sons Babil and Ayan. Irrfan and Sutapa had got married in 1995.

Once Irrfan was selected to play for the BCCI’s Col. CK Nayudu Tournament (Under-23). However, he could not afford Rs 600 at the time and gave up cricket career to pursue acting.

In one of the interviews to The Telegraph, Irrfan had said his favourite cricketers were Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar, Pakistan’s Imran Khan and Zaheer Abbas. Also, he had praised MS Dhoni’s captaincy.

“At one point of time, I used to like Sachin (Tendulkar). Kapil (Dev) was also a favourite. (MS) Dhoni has shown some character. He has won matches for India on his own. He is a great captain,” the Piku actor had told the newspaper in 2014.

In January 2017, when Dhoni stepped down as India’s limited-overs captain, Irrfan had tweeted about the wicketkeeper-batsman.

“What a captain you've been @msdhoni! Will always remember you winning world cups almost single handedly (sic),” Irrfan had tweeted on the day (January 4, 2017) when Dhoni relinquished ODI and T20I captaincy.

Reaclling an India-Pakistan cricket match, Irrfan had told The Telegraph, "There was an India-Pakistan match. I was very young. Zaheer Abbas was there. I went to take his autograph. That was the first time as I never took autographs from anybody in my life. He just looked at me… and I felt so humiliated. I felt really bad. I was a Zaheer Abbas and Imran Khan fan."

The Angrezi Medium actor had also spoken about his love for football and tennis. He had named Spain’s Rafael Nadal as his favourite tennis star.

https://newsable.asianetnews.com/cr...-world-cups-named-favourite-cricketers-q9jqa8

When Amrish Puri died at 72 i was sad coz i thought he could had easily done 6-7 years of work more, then Om Puri at 66 I thought was so early and now Irfan.

You look at Balraj Sahni and then you look at people like Varun Dhawan who call themselves an actor.

Irfan Khan's acting in Jurassic World was superb. I've only seen some smaller films of his and he was a class act. Also came across as a very down to earth and decent person. How tragic that we lost him aged 53!

A huge loss to Bollywood. RIP Irfan Khan.

You look at Balraj Sahni and then you look at people like Varun Dhawan who call themselves an actor.

Only recently I came to know that Parikshit Sahni is the son of Balraj Sahni... I guess previously there was no unlimited promotion of movies like today and no PR machinery available..

Even Irfaan’s cameos are remarkable— Haider as roohdaar.

So you were sad that you missed out on more entertainment from them. Fair enough.

Thanks for twisting it.

Either you feel the loss because you know the artist personally, or you feel the loss because you miss out on new content. As you can always enjoy their existing body of work even after their death.

I don’t know what I feel.. maybe you are right, am being selfish here.

One of the few Bollywood male actors who actually managed to crossover to Hollywood, albeit in somewhat predictable darkie roles. Still, he did make an impact, so respect for that.

Agree with you. It was the high point of his acting career.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Irrfan Khan who was a keen follower of cricket pictured at Lords in 2018 during the England versus Pakistan Test match <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RIPIrrfanKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RIPIrrfanKhan</a> <a href="https://t.co/PYqhTmWIAZ">pic.twitter.com/PYqhTmWIAZ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1255528769919557634?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2020</a></blockquote>

0c070d8c-21c8-406f-aecf-cb65b9210d9f.jpg10693381-2431-419f-92e4-3e8937094f05.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Heartfelt tribute to the Bollywood legend <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IrrfanKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IrrfanKhan</a> on his untimely demise. My SandArt at Puri beach with message “... not taking a moment to say goodbye “ . <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RIP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RIP</a>&#55357;&#56911; <a href="https://t.co/XomsfwOgTm">pic.twitter.com/XomsfwOgTm</a></p>— Sudarsan Pattnaik (@sudarsansand) <a href="https://twitter.com/sudarsansand/status/1255484390194495491?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Tom Hanks enjoyed being the "coolest guy" on the sets of Hollywood film Inferno. But it lasted only till actor Irrfan Khan walked in.

At a global media event organised to promote the 2016 film, Hanks had said, "Here's what I hate about Irrfan Khan... I always think I'm the coolest guy in the room, and everybody's hanging on to every word I say and everybody's a little intimidated to be in my presence. And then Irrfan Khan walks into the room. And he's the coolest guy in the room.

"And everybody's intimidated to be in his presence and everybody's hanging on to his every word."

In the film, based on the eponymous 2013 novel, Hanks reprised the role of Robert Langdon, a professor of symbology at Harvard University. Irrfan played Harry 'The Provost' Sims, head of The Consortium.

The film presented a trail of clues tied to the great Dante himself. When Langdon wakes up in an Italian hospital with amnesia, he teams up with Sienna Brooks (Felicity Jones), a doctor he hopes will help him recover his memory. They race across Europe and against the clock to foil a deadly global plot, and Irrfan joins their mission to save the world.

Hanks had asserted that the worst thing about Inferno was "that I am only in a couple of scenes with Irrfan. It was heartbreaking".

The two-time Oscar-winning star was impressed with Irrfan's acting skills, and had also found a way to ape his style.

Hanks said, "And as soon as I walked up to him I said, 'Irrfan Khan, I'm going to steal from you everything I possibly can. I'm going to start speaking very quietly in films. I'm going to wear very nice suits. And I will draw out the last sound of every sentence that I say.' And by doing that, I will be doing a very pale imitation of the coolest guy in the room."

Irrfan proved his mettle internationally in critically-acclaimed works like The Namesake, A Mighty Heart and Life of Pi, the Oscar-winning Slumdog Millionaire and the commercially successful The Amazing Spider-Man and Jurassic World. The actor passed away on April 29 in Mumbai after being taken to the hospital due to a colon infection. He was diagnosed with neuroendocrine tumour in 2018.

https://www.news18.com/news/movies/...olest-guy-on-the-sets-of-inferno-2598049.html

Now I am going to have to put Inferno on my list of movies to watch. Although somehow I'm betting it's going to be pretty bad which was probably the reason I never watched it first time round.

RIP Irrfan Khan: Before films, did you know he gave up a career in cricket because he couldn’t afford a Rs 200 ticket?

The tragic demise of the phenomenally talented Irrfan Khan has sent shockwaves across the globe. The 53-year-old actor breathed his last at the Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital on Wednesday, after being admitted for a colon infection a day earlier. He was diagnosed with neuroendocrine tumour in 2018.

Before Irrfan made it big in films, he was training to be a cricketer. On the chat show Son of Abish in 2017, he had said that though he was ‘good’, his career as a sportsperson came to a premature end because of lack of funds.

Irrfan told host and comedian Abish Mathew that he was an all-rounder but preferred batting over bowling. “My captain liked my bowling, so he made me a bowler. I don’t know. He used to tell me, ‘Throw me a nice one…’ I used to just throw the ball and somehow used to get a couple of wickets,” he said.

Due to his talent, Irrfan was selected to play in the Col CK Nayudu tournament, for players under the age of 23. “I was selected in one of the tournaments - CK Nayudu. The situation in my house was such that I had to lie to go and play, and make excuses when asked where we were. So it wasn’t encouraged to have a career in sports,” he said.

Irrfan was forced to give up on his cricket dreams when he could not afford a ticket to travel to Ajmer for the tournament. “When I was selected, the team had to travel from Jaipur to Ajmer, and I needed Rs 200-250. I couldn’t arrange for it. So that day, I realised that I couldn’t pursue this,” he said.

The cricket world’s loss became the film industry’s gain. Irrfan went on to straddle a successful career in Bollywood as well as Hollywood, working in films such as Piku, The Lunchbox, Slumdog Millionaire, Maqbool and Inferno.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/boll...-200-ticket/story-Tr1OIZN6A7NByJyuogg8cJ.html

He was a natural. Not one of those fake Asian actors that make you cringe.

Looked comfortable even in Hollywood.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I know the journey I know the pain and I know he fought till the end some are lucky to survive some don’t I’m sure you are in a better place now Irfan Khan my condolence to your family. May his soul rip</p>— yuvraj singh (@YUVSTRONG12) <a href="https://twitter.com/YUVSTRONG12/status/1255419055407759361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This guy could play any role, comedy, action, drama, suspense, horror. There are very few such versatile actors around. If only we could have seen another 10-15 years of his talents

I am honestly so sad to hear the news of his passing. Irrfan was my favourite Bollywood actor. He was an amazing actor who could play any role.

He was also a very humble and down to earth man.

May God bless his soul and give patience to his family in this tough time.

Irrfan Khan’s wife Sutapa Sikdar has finally opened up the journey of her husband over the last two-and-a-half years as he battled neuroendocrine tumour with determination. Irrfan died on Wednesday and left millions across the globe grieving.

Sutapa shared a statement on the behalf of her two sons -- Ayan and Babil -- and herself but said she cannot Irrfan’s death a ‘persona loss’ as so many mourn with them. The statement comes hours after she posted a picture with Irrfan with a moving caption.

Sutapa’s statement read:

“How can I write this as a family statement when the whole world is taking it as a personal loss? How can I begin to feel alone when millions are grieving with us at the moment? I want to assure everyone that this is not a loss, it is a gain. It’s a gain of the things he taught us, and now we shall finally begin to truly implement it and evolve. Yet I want to try to fill in the things that people don’t already know.

It’s unbelievable for us but I would put it in Irrfan’s words, “it’s magical” whether he is there or not there, and that’s what he loved, he never loved one dimensional reality. The only thing I have a grudge against him is; he has spoiled me for life. His strive for perfection doesn’t let me settle for ordinary in any thing. There was a rhythm which he always saw in everything, even in cacophony and chaos, so I have learnt to sing and dance to the music of that rhythm, even with my tone-deaf voice and two left feet. Funnily, our life was a masterclass in acting, so when the dramatic entry of the “uninvited guests” happened, I had by then learnt, to see a harmony in the cacophony. The doctor’s reports were like scripts which I wanted to perfect, so I never miss any detail that he sought for in his performance. We met some amazing people in this journey and the list is endless, but there are some whom I have to mention, our oncologist Dr. Nitesh Rohtogi (Max hospital Saket) who held our hand in the beginning, Dr. Dan Krell (UK), Dr. Shidravi (UK), my heartbeat and my lantern in the dark Dr. Sevanti Limaye (Kokilaben hospital). It’s difficult to explain what a wondrous, beautiful, overwhelming, painful and exciting this journey has been. I find this 2 and 1/2 years to have been an interlude, which had it’s own beginning, middle and culmination with Irrfan helming the role of the orchestra conductor, separate from the 35 years of our companionship, ours was not a marriage, it was a union. I see my little family, in a boat, with both my sons Babil and Ayaan, paddling it forward, with Irrfan guiding them “wahan nahi, yahan se modo” but since life is not cinema and there are no retakes, I sincerely wish my children sail this boat safely with their father’s guidance in mind and rockabye through the storm. I asked my children, if possible, they could sum up a lesson taught by their father that has been important to them;

Tears will flow as we will plant a raat ki rani tree, his favourite, to the place where you have put him to rest after a victorious journey. It takes time but it will bloom and the fragrance will spread and touch all the souls whom I won’t call them fans but family for years to come.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/boll...r-not-there/story-qFTI9foMhYb8qdVQ2JXcJL.html

His performances in Hindi movies are vastly superior for obvious reasons but his role in The Namesake was a tour de force. Consistently made me empathize with his character.

Irrfan Khan, the 53-year-old Bollywood icon who straddled both Indian and Western cinema carving a remarkable 30-year career, lost a long battle with cancer on Wednesday.

"He was the most nuanced actor I have worked with. I am forever his dedicated fan," said Marc Webb, who directed Khan in Hollywood blockbuster, The Amazing Spider-Man.

Khan played a ruthless Oscorp executive Ranjit Ratha in the 2012 edition of the Marvel Comics franchise.

"In Irrfan, power and gentleness coexisted perfectly. When he sings to his new wife at the bathroom door in The Namesake or speaks of his father in Life of Pi, his talent is positively mystical," said Webb.

Hollywood actress Bryce Dallas Howard, who starred with Khan in Jurassic World, called the Indian actor "a treasure of a human being".

"Irrfan and I filmed our first scene together for Jurassic World. I remember being so struck by him," she told Al Jazeera.

"In his presence, there is permission to be spontaneous, playful, interesting, and interested.

"I loved acting with him so much. He always had a sparkle in his eye and would discover each moment afresh and anew, again and again," said the 39-year-old actress.

Howard said Khan - who played the role of Simon Masrani, the owner of Jurassic World, in the 2015 film - never settled for "a predictable rhythm".

"Every moment was a brand-new thought and possibility for him," she told Al Jazeera. "He was like this in life as well, so present, so awake and connected to life."

Howard said she loved her conversations with Khan and learning about his family, home, and the people he worked with.

"He loved India. He loved his community. He was a treasure of a human being and undoubtedly in a league of his own. His work remains, thank god, but he will be hugely missed by so many," she said.

Danny Boyle, who directed the critically-acclaimed and runaway financial success, Slumdog Millionaire, said Khan was a "wonderful actor and a pivotal figure" in the making of the film.

"He brought to it a wonderful dignity and calmness. And calmness is an extraordinary quality he was able to harness in most of his work," said Boyle.

In Slumdog Millionaire, based on a novel by Indian author Vikas Swarup, Khan played a police inspector who is sceptical of a slum boy winning a reality TV game show.

Boyle said Khan was pivotal to his 2008 film because Peter Rice, an executive in Fox Searchlight, wanted the British filmmaker to cast the Indian actor.

"He [Rice] said whatever you do get a part in it for Irrfan Khan. And I will be forever grateful to him for that," Boyle said.

The 63-year-old filmmaker said Khan "effortlessly bridged the two cultures".

"He was one of those who effortlessly made that journey across back and forth, back and forth."

Taiwanese filmmaker Ang Lee, known for some of the biggest films in Hollywood, roped in Khan to play the older version of Pi, the main character, in the 2012 adventure drama, Life of Pi.

"Irrfan was a great artist, a true gentleman and a brave fighter. His passing away is cinema's loss. We will miss him dearly," Lee told Al Jazeera.

Khan acted in almost 100 films, winning awards and the admiration of his peers for his nuanced performances.

He received the Independent Spirit Award for supporting actor in 2006 for the Indian-American drama The Namesake and a viewers' choice award at the Cannes festival 2013 for his role in the Indian romantic drama, The Lunchbox.

In a tweet, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Khan was an "incredible talent" and "left his imprint on global cinema".

"Gone too soon. When he is on screen, you can't take your eyes off of him. He lives on in his films," tweeted Hollywood filmmaker Ava Duvernay.

Khan played a wide array of roles, including an intensely tormented lover in Maqbool, an adaptation of Macbeth, and Hamlet-inspired Haider, a Bollywood film set in the disputed Kashmir region.

"He managed to walk off the screen and come home with us," wrote film critic Shubhra Gupta in the Indian Express newspaper.

'There wasn’t even an opportunity to say goodbye. The passing of Rishi and Irrfan leaves me devastated'
Sharmila Tagore pens a heartfelt homage for Rishi Kapoor and Irrfan Khan.

Two people who couldn’t have been more different. Two stars who epitomised two starkly different eras and styles. Yet, two of a kind. The two star-actors I have always admired.

Rishi Kapoor was in many ways "to the manor born", hailing from a family that has been around 88 of the 107 years of Indian cinema. In many ways he typified the Hindi film hero, what we now fondly term "70s retro": changing colourful jerseys in a beat, serenading the loveliest of ladies to the strains of some of the most enduring songs ever filmed.

As he so endearingly admitted in his autobiography, in the first half of his career he was seldom called upon to challenge himself as an actor. That was not entirely true of course — as everyone who has been part of cinema knows how difficult it is to "sing and dance around the trees". It would take his oeuvre of films in the new millennium for people to start talking about him as someone more than the brilliant romance icon that he was. Yet, his early film Zehreela Insaan, remade from the Kannada arthouse classic Naagarahaavu, had provided glimpses of him as an actor that filmmakers of the era failed to explore.

Also read: Rishi Kapoor embodied romance and an irrepressible spirit

Interestingly enough, Rishi Kapoor’s second coming as an actor coincided with the arrival of Irrfan Khan on the scene as one of the country’s finest performers. I first watched an Irrfan film way back in 2001 at the opening of the London Film Festival. I didn’t even know his name at the time and yet at the premiere screening of Asif Kapadia’s The Warrior, what I took back from the visually stunning film were the actor’s eyes.

I would meet him again in Venice — I was there with with Abar Aranye, Goutam Ghosh’s sequel to Aranyer Din Ratri, and Irrfan was there with Vishal’s Maqbool, again a paean to those hauntingly eloquent eyes that would enchant generations of cine goers. Given his natural reticence, it would be years before I realised how fluently he spoke Bengali — when I called to congratulate him on his performance in The Namesake. Though he was a man of few words, there was something magical about his presence, both in real life and on screen, that instantly captured your imagination.

Different and yet alike

No two actors could be more different in their approaches to the craft. Rishi embraced his characters with such vivacity and enthusiasm that it was impossible to resist his charm.

When he bursts onto the screen in Hum Tum singing "Main shayar toh nahin", you instantly surrender yourself to his joie de vivre and smile along with him. He literally owns the scene. In that moment, despite myself I felt my attention wavering from Saif to Rishi.

Rishi turned the corner in 2012 with his menacing and ruthless Rauf Lala in Agneepath. His follow-up act in D-Day with his rose-tinted glasses as Goldman was pure gold. Incidentally, Irrfan was the field agent in the same film, a perfect foil to Rishi’s evil villain.

More on this: 9 Irrfan Khan movies that prove he was still too underrated

Rishi believed in the king-size moment, without going over the top. You just have to watch him feed off Amitabh Bachchan in 102 Not Out to realise that on his day he could beat any actor hollow. For me, Mulk is his most memorable film. A nuanced and balanced portrayal of a retired Muslim lawyer countering Islamophobia. His words "Aaj jo hum faisla kar rahein hain, woh hamaare kal ka faisla karega" will always remain relevant. In the hands of someone less aware, this ran the risk of playing to the gallery. But with Rishi, even as you are aware that he is cherishing every moment of this challenging role, you also know that this actor will not give in to the temptation of "overacting". Such was his control on his craft.

Insider, outsider

Rishi was not an insecure actor. He had the generosity in letting his co-actors inhabit a scene. Luck by Chance, Love Aaj Kal, Do Dooni Chaar, Kapoor and Sons and many others are proof enough. As an actor, Rishi understood the integrity of the scene as a whole, allowing his co-stars the space without overwhelming them with his star persona.

On the other hand, Irrfan was a master of the understated. His deadpan amused demeanour and his casual throwaway delivery were in direct contrast to Rishi’s. And yet, he was as effective. He was king of the small gesture — a raised eyebrow, a smirk, a look in his intriguing eyes that you could never wholly interpret. All of this lent him a mystique that haunted the viewer long after the screens dimmed, leaving the audience wanting more. You went back just to see what you might have missed the first time.

What gave his acting an edge, to my mind, is the feeling that he hid more than he revealed. A kind of absent-mindedness, as if he’s both present and not present. I looked forward to his multi-dimensional performances.

One was a rank outsider to the world of cinema who made it on his own steam with no family connections in the industry and the other belonging to the royalty of Hindi filmdom. One gregarious, the other reticent. Rishi was always in the news with his social media engagements, the fearlessness with which he expressed his opinions — on his food and drink preferences, on communal and nationalist issues even when they went against the popular discourse. Irrfan engaged more on a personal plane with his characteristic wry humour, even in difficult times.

Two of my beloved actors and stars, both on the cusp of greater glories, both gone ahead of time, both leaving behind not only their personal families but also their extended families of film lovers and fans. Two entirely unexpected deaths on two consecutive days in the middle of such unprecedented and worrying times.

There wasn’t even an opportunity to say goodbye. The passing of Rishi and Irrfan — how does one even commit that phrase into writing — leaves me devastated. At this moment, I cannot begin to contemplate the enormous void that these magnificent actors have left behind. Who can possibly fill the gap? Do we even want to fill the gap?

https://www.dawn.com/news/1554687/t...sing-of-rishi-and-irrfan-leaves-me-devastated

Irrfan Khan, Amir Khan, and Nawazuddin Siddiqui. The only Indian actors you should drop everything and watch, and whose every word is worth clutching at and savoring. Who would tell you stories not just of their lives but of yours as well, and describe emotion with the artistic sensibilities of a poet. From teaching of spirituality in Life of Pi to nuance and understanding in Slumdog Millionaire, he was a true legend, and he will always be remembered.

"Till We Meet Again": Irrfan Khan's Wife Sutapa Sikdar Shares An Emotional Note

New Delhi: "It's just a matter of time...Till we meet again," wrote Sutapa Sikdar a month after her husband and actor Irrfan Khan's death. The Piku star died on April 29 in Mumbai's Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital. On Friday, Sutapa Sikdar shared two throwback photos of Irrfan Khan, one of which features her hugging the actor, on Facebook and wrote an emotional note for him. Quoting a verse from Sufi poet Rumi's poem A Great Wagon, Sutapa wrote: "Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and right doing there is a field. I'll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass the world is too full to talk about." It's just a matter of time...milenge, baaten karenge... Till we meet again."

In one of the pictures, Irrfan can be seen lying down on grass and looking at the camera while the other one shows the actor taking a selfie with Sutapa holding him from the back.

Earlier this month, Sutapa shared the link of a song that Irrfan Khan "loved" and used to listen to whenever he was sad. "My eternal love to him and gratitude to the universe and prayers for everyone in these extraordinary times while I pray for him... The song he loved and listened when sad and it soothes me now in the most difficult times... my eyes can't see you but you remain in my vision," she wrote while sharing the song.

Irrfan Khan battled cancer for over two years and because of his health condition, he stayed away from spotlight for a long time. On April 29, he lost his battle with a rare form of cancer and died at the age of 53 in the Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital. He is survived by Sutapa and their two sons - Babil and Ayaan.

Irrfan Khan, who worked in several critically acclaimed films such as Paan Singh Tomar, The Namesake, Maqbool, Haasil, Haider, Piku and Talvar among others, was last seen in Angrezi Medium, which is a sequel to his 2017 hit Hindi Medium.
In one of the pictures, Irrfan can be seen lying down on grass and looking at the camera while the other one shows the actor taking a selfie with Sutapa holding him from the back.

https://www.ndtv.com/entertainment/...otional-note-2237806?pfrom=home-lateststories

Irrfan Khan, Amir Khan, and Nawazuddin Siddiqui. The only Indian actors you should drop everything and watch, and whose every word is worth clutching at and savoring. Who would tell you stories not just of their lives but of yours as well, and describe emotion with the artistic sensibilities of a poet. From teaching of spirituality in Life of Pi to nuance and understanding in Slumdog Millionaire, he was a true legend, and he will always be remembered.

Kader Khan and Amrish Puri were also great actors.

Irrfan Khan’s son Babil: ‘I don’t want to be judged by my religion, I am a human being’

Late actor Irrfan Khan’s son Babil has shared his thoughts while responding to a tweet on the low-key celebrations during Eid as it might not be a holiday. He said he doesn’t want to be ‘judged by his religion’ but as a human being.

“You want the story in short without any name calling or career ending potentials?: Mandatory holiday for Eid cancelled on Friday while holiday for Raksha Bandhan on Monday still given. Okay then no problem, I’ll just celebrate Eid when it’s not Eid on Saturday most sarcastic smile ever,” he wrote.

Babil talked about getting judged by his religion and said that his team advised him against addressing the issue publicly as it may harm his career. “Can’t even post anything of how I feel about the people in power without my whole f**king team telling me that it might end my career. Can you believe this? I’m scared, I’m afraid, I don’t want to be. I just want to feel free again. I don’t want to be judged by my religion. I am not my religion, l am a human being, just like the rest of the population of India,” he said.

Babil spoke about discrimination. “I know the whole world is in a f**king frenzy but our beautiful secular India’s sudden relapse of religious divide is honestly getting scary. I have friends that have stopped communicating with me cause I’m of a certain religion. Friends I played cricket with when I was 12. I miss my friends. My Hindu, Muslim, Christian, Sikh, human friends. I just miss not giving a **** about what surname I was born with,” he said.

Adding that he loves India a lot, Babil said he would ‘break the nose’ of anyone who calls him ‘anti-national’ for his comments. “First of all, I f**king love India, and I’m telling you this because I do my education in London and every time I go, I can’t wait to come back and take rickshaw rides with my homies, have pani puri at aksa beach, travel anywhere; in the forests, the crowds… I love india. Don’t you dare, call me an anti-nationalist, I promise you, I’m a boxer, I will break your nose,” he wrote.

Babil also shared screenshots of his conversations with his followers on Instagram on the issue. While one person offered him a hug, another thought he was needlessly adding a communal angle to the issue. Babil explained his opinion further, saying his fight is against the brewing hatred among people.

Irrfan Khan died in April after a two-year long battle with neuroendocrine tumour. Babil has been sharing regular posts about his father and family since. He recently talked about his father’s journey in Bollywood. “My father gave his life trying to elevate the art of acting in the adverse conditions of noughties Bollywood and alas, for almost all of his journey, was defeated at the box office by hunks with six pack abs delivering theatrical one-liners and defying the laws of physics and reality, photoshopped item songs, just blatant sexism and same-old conventional representations of patriarchy (and you must understand, to be defeated at the box office means that majority of the investment in Bollywood would be going to the winners, engulfing us in a vicious circle),” he wrote.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/boll...as-speak-up/story-yCjNOkiYTm4weoaqsMpg0J.html