Bollywood Corner

Housefull 3 was a great movie but it was another 'leave your brains behind' affair so you shouldn't look at the story of the film instead look at the acting

It was sexist,racist and mocked disabled people too basically housefull type and sadly i enjoyed it :facepalm:

^what could you make out of the IVC considering we know close to nothing ? Also courageous to say "before India", he might get backlash from some corners.

AR Rahman's music sounds epic as usual.

^what could you make out of the IVC considering we know close to nothing ? Also courageous to say "before India", he might get backlash from some corners.

AR Rahman's music sounds epic as usual.

Apparently it's just the run of the mill love and revenge story, only in an IVC setup. I like Ashutosh Gowariker, and Hrithik is a good actor as well. ARR is the topping as I'm a huge fan of his music. I want to see the cinematography mainly.

Probably they meant the British India:srini

Yeah, the video was just about a minute and Rahman weaves his magic within the small time. The BGM kinda stays in your head.

Udta Punjab

Watched it today.Wow what an amazing film.Haven't seen this good movie come out of Bollywood since ages.Everyone acted well but it was Alia Bhatt who stole the show playing the character of a bihari worker.Always thought of her as one of those beautiful dumb rich girls who can't act to save their lives but boy did she prove me wrong.A must watch movie. Anurag kashyap is definitely the best director in India atm.

Enjoyed it. The Desi touch was quite authentic and it does explain the drug problem quite well. Alia was the cutest Biharan of all time. :heart:

Btw the whole movie was in Punjabi with English subtitles for those who don't understand the language.

Makes one wonder whether the Punjabi culture portrayed in media and tv is really that awesome and chilled out as it is made out to be.I guess they aren't not too different from their compatriots from other states.

The movie was leaked two days prior to release which might hamper it's overall collection.

Sounds like a good flick, I might go to watch it tomorrow.

Mohenjodaro, is what I am anxiously waiting for. Although, it's newly released poster giving the impression that it will be Bollywoodized. Hope it doesn't disappoint.

I know it's not bollywood but I 've fallen in love with Sairat and it's music.This movie needs to be seen in all parts of India and I am someone with zero knowledge of Marathi culture.

My roots are from Punjab and there is nothing chilled about our culture.Still have not seen Udta Punjab and can not help wondering if it is Punjab's fate to swing through extremes.

Watched Zindagi Na Milegi Dubara. Really good movie, kind of like Hangover but "cleaner". Also Cocktail, ending was too tame and I felt sorry for Deepika's character which got 0 closure.

Udta Punjab 7/10 liked the acting and character development but sadly the screenplay hasn't much to offer.

Have been on a Bollywood movie streak lately. Out of all so far Tamasha and Karthik calling Karthik were great.

Roy seems interesting but has bad reviews, gonna check it out.

Have been on a Bollywood movie streak lately. Out of all so far Tamasha and Karthik calling Karthik were great.

Roy seems interesting but has bad reviews, gonna check it out.

Gangs of wasseypur,Dev D,Piku,Yeh Jawaani hai Deewani,Haider

Yeh jeewani hai deewani is on my list after Roy. Have a crush on Deepika these days :asadrauf

Gangs of wasseypur as well and also Barfi!

Yeh jeewani hai deewani is on my list after Roy. Have a crush on Deepika these days :asadrauf

Gangs of wasseypur as well and also Barfi!

You are going for Ranbir or Deepika's movies?Piku is Deepika's best if u can take a urban bengali avtaar.

I actually liked YJHD the music was good and story was quite good as well

The story was nothing big,it was the narration and music which made it an entertainer although Kabir's character is someone most Indian youth aspire to be nowadays. Free will Hippie types.

Im so excited. Hopefully gonna watch Housefull 3 soon. Ive never been this excited for anything in my life. Am sure its better than Pulp Fiction and The Dark Knight but heres hoping its even better. The character development in Housefull movies is great I heard.

Yaar ye burger mentality rhene dey.

Not all Bollywood or even Pakistani movies are all bad. I used to think along the same lines because I used to compare Hollywood with Bollywood, and try to compare it to that standard, but now have come to enjoy them (the good ones, not the cheesy Salman Khan bhangra nonsense). Just like there is a lot of garbage in Hollywood in the form of Adam Sandler movies, you have to look past the garbage in desi film industry as well, because it's an improving industry and you'll still find ones with good plot lines and good actors/actresses.

I guess in a way you must have lived in South Asia to connect better with the movies, if you've lived abroad for most of your life it's hard to get into it. Same case with cricket. A lot of my Pakistani/Indian friends who've lived in the US, Turkey or wherever outside of their countries find it very tough to appreciate cricket and have 0 interest in it, which is understandable since it's a sport you need to be born into.

Yaar ye burger mentality rhene dey.

Not all Bollywood or even Pakistani movies are all bad. I used to think along the same lines because I used to compare Hollywood with Bollywood, and try to compare it to that standard, but now have come to enjoy them (the good ones, not the cheesy Salman Khan bhangra nonsense). Just like there is a lot of garbage in Hollywood in the form of Adam Sandler movies, you have to look past the garbage in desi film industry as well, because it's an improving industry and you'll still find ones with good plot lines and good actors/actresses.

I guess in a way you must have lived in South Asia to connect better with the movies, if you've lived abroad for most of your life it's hard to get into it. Same case with cricket. A lot of my Pakistani/Indian friends who've lived in the US, Turkey or wherever outside of their countries find it very tough to appreciate cricket and have 0 interest in it, which is understandable since it's a sport you need to be born into.

I have lived here all my life barring 2 years and have grown up around people who are into Bolly/Lollywood. Personally apart from a few good films I find it rubbish.

Lmao @enkidu, you should check this out:narine

In normal times I would have been sceptical of a movie based on a civilization we know nothing about, but I like AR Rahman's music and the main actress looks like an aboriginal aesthetic Dravidian even though a better actor could have chosen to represent the Dravidian male demographics (I doubt IVC peoples looked like a Punjabi Khatri, who came centuries later.)

I knew it! when I read that a Balochi dialect is of the Dravidian family. The IVC people be like "Yew Aaryans comin to our countree and takin our jobs!":narine

On a serious note, you believe in the IndoAryan migration theory? Because it's still controversial and there is no conclusive evidence for either of the two theories (IAmt/Indigenous theory).

As for the film itself, you got that right on the heroine part..Eventhough she was born in Mumbai, she has her roots in Mangalore. She actually made her debut in a tamil film (which bombed badly) and I heard she rejected a Mani Ratnam film for this film. I personally like Hrithik but the appearance could've been made more believable. I mean, he has a western haircut similar to his hairstyle in Dhoom 2. I'm sure people must have had long hairs instead of the one Hrithik is sporting in the movie. You can't make the costumes exact, but one funny thing about the film was that everyone was calling the city "Mohenjodaro" which literally means "the mound of the dead men" (which was the modern name given by archeologists):inzi

Overall disappointed with Gowariker..

I knew it! when I read that a Balochi dialect is of the Dravidian family. The IVC people be like "Yew Aaryans comin to our countree and takin our jobs!":narine

On a serious note, you believe in the IndoAryan migration theory? Because it's still controversial and there is no conclusive evidence for either of the two theories (IAmt/Indigenous theory).

As for the film itself, you got that right on the heroine part..Eventhough she was born in Mumbai, she has her roots in Mangalore. She actually made her debut in a tamil film (which bombed badly) and I heard she rejected a Mani Ratnam film for this film. I personally like Hrithik but the appearance could've been made more believable. I mean, he has a western haircut similar to his hairstyle in Dhoom 2. I'm sure people must have had long hairs instead of the one Hrithik is sporting in the movie. You can't make the costumes exact, but one funny thing about the film was that everyone was calling the city "Mohenjodaro" which literally means "the mound of the dead men" (which was the modern name given by archeologists):inzi

Overall disappointed with Gowariker..

What are us saying streety that people in mumbai don't look like her!!!

Nooo!

I thought she must be a punjabi or a Mumbaikar when I first saw her in her debut film. I googled her after seeing enkidu's post and apparently she has her roots in Mangalore. I said enkidu was right in that aspect.

I just know to appreciate beauty, I'm not really an expert in judging the roots of people from their anthropomorphic features, I'll leave enkidu to do that.:inzi

Nooo!

I thought she must be a punjabi or a Mumbaikar when I first saw her in her debut film. I googled her after seeing enkidu's post and apparently she has her roots in Mangalore. I said enkidu was right in that aspect.

I just know to appreciate beauty, I'm not really an expert in judging the roots of people from their anthropomorphic features, I'll leave enkidu to do that.:inzi

So u agre that she looks aboriginal dravidian asthetic.!!! God help u if u follow eknidu's race theories.

Oh my god, I said she had dravidian roots. I said in my post itself that there is no conclusive evidence for either theories, if it is what you're talking about.

"Aboriginal dravidian aesthetic", I don't even know its meaning..

Was eager about this film. Thought it was a movie with a historical context. But turns out it's the usual love-revenge formula. However there seems to be a flood at the end of the trailer, so it may not be the run of the mill film afterall..

But kinda expected it to be like Jodhaa akbar. I saw Swades and absolutely loved it and had similar expectations. In that sense, I was a bit disappointed. Still let's see how the film is after its release..

Watched Piku.Good film,ending wasn't what I expected.
Can someone suggest some good hindi films to watch?

just watched crook, a good one from emran hashmi based on racism and with some great flashbacks and a nice climax...don't think so it was the type of movie he usually is known for...
btw,
a must watch from my side!

Oh my god, I said she had dravidian roots. I said in my post itself that there is no conclusive evidence for either theories, if it is what you're talking about.

"Aboriginal dravidian aesthetic", I don't even know its meaning..
I think what [MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION] meant was that enkidu is a pretty racist guy when it comes to ethnicities and you would repeatedly notice him praising and admiring middle eastern looks while at the same time deriding native Indian ones.Its just that he sugar coats it with some heavy anthropology related words to conceal his inherent racist nature.

The first trailer just gave the whole movie away . What's the point now ?

That's why I watch bollywood trailers after watching the movie, they ruin the whole goddamn film. The trailer is good at the end to just refresh your memory and a good summary.

I think what [MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION] meant was that enkidu is a pretty racist guy when it comes to ethnicities and you would repeatedly notice him praising and admiring middle eastern looks while at the same time deriding native Indian ones.Its just that he sugar coats it with some heavy anthropology related words to conceal his inherent racist nature.

Thanks You spoke my mind.

There are a few closet racists here (and 1 or 2 obvious ones as well) but I don't think enkidu is one of them. He likes to differentiate between Pakistani and Indian ethnicities (which tbf I haven't found much difference apart from the farthest regions of both countries where the diversity becomes apparent) in order to differentiate the Pakistani identity from the Indian one and prevent them from getting lumped together as one. He is probably a student of history and anthropology.

Yeah by constantly ridiculing and deriding Indian features.Some student he is.

Watched Raman Raghav 2.0 indeed its dark and ugly. The cop and psycho both are as bad. Its a tale between dark sides of two people

Watched wake up sid again after 6 years. A rare good movie from Karan Johar camp. Don't know why this movie didn't do well.commercially.

Udta Punjab 9/10

What a great performance by Shahid and Alia, the songs were nice too. Probably the second best movie of the year after Sultan :butt

Watched wake up sid again after 6 years. A rare good movie from Karan Johar camp. Don't know why this movie didn't do well.commercially.

It actually did pretty well commercially for the budget along with Songs,Karan Johar Dharma Production has actually brought some really good commercial movies offlate imo popcorn types :Kapoor and Sons,2 states,Yeh Jawani Hai Deewani,Lunchbox,Udta Punjab,Humpty Sharma Ki Dhulaniya,Hasee To Phasee.

just watched crook, a good one from emran hashmi based on racism and with some great flashbacks and a nice climax...don't think so it was the type of movie he usually is known for...
btw,
a must watch from my side!

It was surprisingly good but too commercialized(which is why it didn't appeal to both genres) good climax and songs.

Is it worth watching?I hear the cop has performed well(liked his Masaan a lot).

Yes worth watching, Cop has his gray side just like his parallel serial killer, film is divided in 8 chapters. Film has no protagonist.

Just saw the deleted scene of Raman Raghav 2.0 featuring Vicky Kaushal. My word this guy has taken it to a next level altogether. Brilliance even in a 6minute deleted scene.

Yes worth watching, Cop has his gray side just like his parallel serial killer, film is divided in 8 chapters. Film has no protagonist.

Just saw the deleted scene of Raman Raghav 2.0 featuring Vicky Kaushal. My word this guy has taken it to a next level altogether. Brilliance even in a 6minute deleted scene.

Thanks bro,I have high hopes from Vicky Kaushal hopefully he doesn't get typecast!

Looks interesting..

That case apparently took off jury from India as judge felt that jury can get influenced,ofcourse they could duh,Indian Judiciary appears to be progressive but it only protects itself and projects itself.

Also i think there has already been a movie made on this.

Just recently watched the movie Traffic, I'd give it 8/10. The story is bang on and with the incidents being true it builds up more interest. About acting the film features good artists in the like of Divya , Manoj and Jimmy.

Haven't watched a Bollywood movie for 3 years, not interested anymore, the current generation actors are rubbish, lack a decent personality, almost all belong to the wannabe spoilt brats type category, less manliness in them.

Watched Omkara today. Good movie, Saif is probably the 2nd best Khan in acting after Amir.

Looking forward to this movie......Diana Penty is back

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9OXFk-pdi6c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Looking forward to this movie......Diana Penty is back

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/9OXFk-pdi6c" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Abhay Deol doesn't pass off for a Pakistani and Diana Penty is far from a Punjabi a gal,gonna flop.

Watched Omkara today. Good movie, Saif is probably the 2nd best Khan in acting after Amir.

Watch Maqbool,Haider to complete the Shakespearean trilogy of Vishal Bhardwaj and no Saif as not as versatile as Irfan basically only Omkara,Being Cyrus and EK Haseena thi were his different movies,others have been very similar .

Recently Watched Prakash jha's Chakravyuh... Abhay Deol is so so ahead of his other brothers....
6.5 out of 10....
One can watch it once..... At the end it tells about certain facts related to Naxals.. Very saddening...

Watches it. pretty impressive must say.