Bollywood Corner

Watching SRK play the same role and deliver the same emotional dialogue as he did 20 years ago is frankly depressing. It not only shows the blatant shallowness of his acting skills but also the state of Bollywood where an actor like him who has refused or has has no need to evolve with age is still being considered the "King". A movie like "Dilwale" can only be produced by an industry that is plagued with "Superstars" and their supposed ginormous egos, not to mention the lack of original material and talent.

If you haven't seen the movie, then how do you know how he acted? Are you trying to say that an actor should stop doing romantic roles just because he has been in the industry for 20 years?

Trailer is enough for me to guess how he acted....same old jazbati Romeo style dialogue. It doesn't look natural and comes across as filmy.

As for role selection...he can keep doing romantic roles but ones that suit his age. Maybe a bit more subtle and reserved. Such a shame seeing 40+ guy with tears in his eyes while professing love for his gf/wife. Plus, this has been done over and over again. Yes I get it. He is the King of Romance or whatever that means but for God sake stop behaving like a 19 year old.

Trailer is enough for me to guess how he acted....same old jazbati Romeo style dialogue. It doesn't look natural and comes across as filmy.

As for role selection...he can keep doing romantic roles but ones that suit his age. Maybe a bit more subtle and reserved. Such a shame seeing 40+ guy with tears in his eyes while professing love for his gf/wife. Plus, this has been done over and over again. Yes I get it. He is the King of Romance or whatever that means but for God sake stop behaving like a 19 year old.

The teaser of Raees looks very impressive though.

The scene where he is walking through smoke with a stick in his hands? Its technically good but looks like its been done before. I guess he is playing some mafia boss/criminal/Robin Hood figure....a pretty tired and cliched move. At least he is playing his age.

Short review: Looks fantastic....each frame is a painting. Bansali is an artist in that. However...movie felt like a history lesson narrating an event after an another. There was no establishment of characters as much as it should have been ....so you really find hard to empathize with any of them. Having said that Ran veer , deepika and priyanka put on top notch performances.

Rating : 6/10

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Short review: Looks fantastic....each frame is a painting. Bansali is an artist in that. However...movie felt like a history lesson narrating an event after an another. There was no establishment of characters as much as it should have been ....so you really find hard to empathize with any of them. Having said that Ran veer , deepika and priyanka put on top notch performances.

Rating : 6/10

Bakwaas movie. Ranveer acts like the sadakchaap chichora, as always and doesnt look any bit like a formidable warrior. Priyanka who is supposed to be a royal is seen doing latka jhatkas. Deepika suits in her role as a nachne wali..a courtesan, meant to entertain the royalty.

Dilwale box office update: Shah Rukh Khan’s film to beat Salman Khan’s Prem Ratan Dhan Payo opening!

640897.jpg

Dilwale, directed by Rohit Shetty, was always expected to have a cracker of an opening. The film’s mass appeal and amazing star cast appealed to the audience from day one and the film opened with 90-100 per cent occupancies in single screen cinemas, while it had about 85-95 per cent occupancy at the multiplexes.

Prem Ratan Dhan Payo also had a similar, but a little less occupancy (80-90 per cent) on the opening day, even though it was a holiday. But, it has to be noted that Prem Ratan Dhan Payo had more number of screens as compared to Dilwale. However, trade suggests that there is a good chance that Dilwale will have a better opening in most of the circuits in India, especially big cities.

http://www.bollywoodlife.com/news-g...at-salman-khans-prem-ratan-dhan-payo-opening/

Highest Grosser ever ?

'Sultan' second teaser to release on Salman Khan's 50th birthday!

406553-sultan-salman.jpg

Remember how YRF took all Shah Rukh Khan fans by surprise when they unveiled the second teaser of Fan on his 50th birthday? It's time for an encore. Why? YRF is trying out a similar marketing move with Salman Khan's 50th birthday as well.

Salman who's turning 50 this December 27 will have a special surprise coming his way from the production house. What's it? "After the 30 second teaser, a full fledged teaser for Sultan will be unveiled on his birthday this year," says a source.

While the first teaser was only a voiceover, giving out the vital elements that form the crux of the story, the second teaser will have few shots of Salman from the shoots which have now just completed. Salman had begun shooting towards end November and has shot for a major portion of the film already, whose sneak peek will be out in the teaser for all his fans to see. Now that's quite a brilliant surprise, we have to admit.

Not just that, Salman is supposed to have a working birthday this year and will be shooting for Sultan in Karjat, post which his family and close friends might drop down for some celebrations. As of now, that's the plan. Watch this space for all the updates!

http://www.dnaindia.com/entertainme...elease-on-salman-khan-s-50th-birthday-2157562

Great News for fans of BHAI. They can enjoy the movie and celebrate the Legends Birthday together.

Yeah heard about it few days earlier, looked interesting. Salman is kind of like the Nicholas Cage of bollywood with some of his movie choices. Have to say this one has potential though.

Atleast make some nice masala movies. Heard all these masala movies were crap.

I loved 3 Idiots.

Great masala movie.

PK was crap (I expected another 3 Idiots level movie). Sadly poor story (didn't have any bite) and poor film making.

Action masala movies are fine too.

why bro ?

Cos when these films are successful, more producers will make such films.

The only way Indian cinema can improve is when the day these crappy SRK, Salman, Vijay, Ajith (Tamil cinema) movies all flop badly.

Or atleast do poorly.

The day when quality film (whether realistic or masala) starts producing more revenues than crappy films, you will automatically see better quality movies. At least watchable films.

Cos when these films are successful, more producers will make such films.

The only way Indian cinema can improve is when the day these crappy SRK, Salman, Vijay, Ajith (Tamil cinema) movies all flop badly.

Or atleast do poorly.

The day when quality film (whether realistic or masala) starts producing more revenues than crappy films, you will automatically see better quality movies. At least watchable films.

Movies main aim to entertain the viewers now if viewers are being entertained by that , then why would anyone have complain ? Maybe the audience doesnt want to watch the so called quality movies more than these ones .

I loved 3 Idiots.

Great masala movie.

PK was crap (I expected another 3 Idiots level movie). Sadly poor story (didn't have any bite) and poor film making.

I actually liked PK. Not the best of ones but it had a brave storyline for a country like India.

Movies main aim to entertain the viewers now if viewers are being entertained by that , then why would anyone have complain ? Maybe the audience doesnt want to watch the so called quality movies more than these ones .

I included well made masala movies too bud. Not just quality movies.

Just like viewers all over the world show their appreciation for their movies by going to cinemas, other people can show their disapproval for such movies.

Plus there is also this factor of "no other better option" which makes many middle class families to choose these tacky movies cos there are no real alternatives (its not possible to always keep watching English movies - sometimes you just wanna watch a hindi or a regional language movie).

If we shouldn't complain about such movies, then we shouldn't complain about corrupt politicians too who win by a big margin cos the masses SO CLEARLY want them ruling and that's what matters in a democracy.

But life doesn't work that way. Don't you think so? ;-)

I actually liked PK. Not the best of ones but it had a brave storyline for a country like India.

Brave story line. Dumb treatment. Too many cringeworthy scenes.

Raju Hirani is super talented in making fun movies. Very sad to see him flop (but then it was a huge commercial success).

I loved 3 Idiots.

Great masala movie.

PK was crap...and action masala movies are fine...LOL. now I've heard it all really.

PK was a poorly made masala movie.

Action masala movies are fine AS LONG as they are made well. You didn't read the first line of my sentence where I said "atleast make nice masala movies."

PK was intended to be a masala? I think our definitions of masala are drastically different.

My definition of masala is, action, comedy, and romance packed into one film....which you watch with your family and you leave your brain at home.

Don't think raju hirani ever intended to make a masala.

PK was intended to be a masala? I think our definitions of masala are drastically different.

My definition of masala is, action, comedy, and romance packed into one film....which you watch with your family and you leave your brain at home.

Don't think raju hirani ever intended to make a masala.

Anything non-realistic is a masala fun movie.

Inside masala, there are levels.

By the way, Kill Bill, Django unchained, inglorious basterds are all in a way masala. Tarantino loves the old style B grade movies so much that he takes this path (he himself says it).

A movie like Pirates of the carribean is masala.

Nothing wrong with masalas.

Mr India was a masala but what a movie it was. :D

PRDP made 40crore in one day, Dilwale 40crore in two days. PRDP made more than 200 crore, quite difficult Dilwale will reach that figure

By the way, Kill Bill, Django unchained, inglorious basterds are all in a way masala. Tarantino loves the old style B grade movies so much that he takes this path (he himself says it).

A movie like Pirates of the carribean is masala.

Nothing wrong with masalas.

Mr India was a masala but what a movie it was. :D

'masala' in not a genre. It's a name given to crap that bollywood keeps churning out. Stop referring to good movies as masala's please.

Pk and Masala , what a joke. tell me what you are smoking? Maybe your breakfast metal is curry with extra Masala .

'masala' in not a genre. It's a name given to crap that bollywood keeps churning out. Stop referring to good movies as masala's please.

Sholay, Deewar, Amar Akbar Anthony,Zanjeer, Naseeb,sharaabi are all Maasla film but I loved it

Watched this recently.

Pretty lame film really. Easy to watch, but SRK in this type of role made me cringe.

Looking forward to it, but there is no need for so many of threads on Bollywood news when you can post it all on Bollywood Corner thread
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION]

The scene where he is walking through smoke with a stick in his hands? Its technically good but looks like its been done before. I guess he is playing some mafia boss/criminal/Robin Hood figure....a pretty tired and cliched move. At least he is playing his age.

Dont get the blind hate. Raees looks class apart tbh unlike movies such as Happy New Year or Chennai Express. Im sure Raees will be the best ever from SRK, The teaser looks fantastic and grippy.

People still watch stupid Bollywood :facepalm:

Most of the Bollywood is bad, but this year I again started watching Hindi films based on friends recommendation and IMDB rating. So I think these films are really good this year, and you should give it a try

Badlapur, Dum laga ke Haisha, NH10, Dil Dhadakne Do, Bajirao Mastani, Talvar, Tamasha,Detective Byomkesh Bakshy,Margarita with a Straw, Baby, Piku, Masaaan,Bajrangi Bhaijaan, and Drishyam.

I think all threads related to Diwale should be merged into one thread and let all SRK fans drool over his arrogance.

Why are you getting jealous ? Its not SRK's fault that your idol Salman cant act.

My who ? Lol you should check out threads on Salman to have a clear idea about my opinions!The Guy getting Liver transplant for Pakistanis and running over Indians would never be my idol ,might be some Pakistani's.

I don't know why people here did not like Dilwale? It was quite good.It was an action comedy masala so no need to find story in it.Most of Hollywood movies are lame too just like FnF 7

Watched this recently.

Pretty lame film really. Easy to watch, but SRK in this type of role made me cringe.

Tbh these types of roles are now best for SRK.He is not good enough to be a star now.Big B or a father role would suit him more now

My who ? Lol you should check out threads on Salman to have a clear idea about my opinions!The Guy getting Liver transplant for Pakistanis and running over Indians would never be my idol ,might be some Pakistani's.

I understand that people would dislike him for drunk driving and running people over but the fact that he got a liver transplant for a child makes you dislike him more?

I am actually looking forward to Raees, Sultan and Wazir, the teaser of all these movies look interesting.

Bollywood also made some decent movies in 2015, but then again it made loads of cringe worthy movies like Singh is Bling, any Sunny Leone movie, Tevar, Welcome Back, etc.

I am actually looking forward to Raees, Sultan and Wazir, the teaser of all these movies look interesting.

Bollywood also made some decent movies in 2015, but then again it made loads of cringe worthy movies like Singh is Bling, any Sunny Leone movie, Tevar, Welcome Back, etc.

When is Raees is releasing?

I understand that people would dislike him for drunk driving and running people over but the fact that he got a liver transplant for a child makes you dislike him more?

Naw, thats coz his fans who keep advertising Bhai kitna bada insaan hai ,uske paas sabse bada dil hai!

Very poor comment.

Naw, thats coz his fans who keep advertising Bhai kitna bada insaan hai ,uske paas sabse bada dil hai!

This explanation is as poor as Raina's Nephew excuse.

Sunil Grover dancing on Dilwale Gerua song in Comedy Nights with Kapil was awesome
(Gerua meaning "Orange Color" in Hindi)

After Dilwale blunder, I have to give it to Salman now the title of the biggest star of today...

SRK is getting annoying now with his monkey brand acting...he thinks jumping like money from one place to another for marketing his movies will secure hit..but this is going on for too long and I am afraid people will dump him sooner or later...chances are that his good movies also will get very cold response...

SRK is more charismatic, Aamir is the better actor. Salman is IMO very lucky. He is a decent actor at best, lacks charisma. The way SRK deals with a crowd and is able to entertain is something Salman just can't do. Salman I would say is very blessed that he has such a massive following.

Watched the trailer of Sanam Teri Kasam.Can't deduce anything yet but film will not do well at the box office

Its directed by Divya Khosla(Yaariyan director) and she somehow believe we are living in 1980's looking at the backdrop of the movie pathetic.

Sultan teaser is out.

He is comfortably the greatest of all time now. Looks so much better than SRK's lame movie 'FAN'

Salman can have all the box office records he likes, he will never invoke the reaction from people that the likes of Shahrukh does & Amitabh did.

and I say this despite heavily disliking Shahrukh.

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk