Bollywood Corner

Planning on watching the following after a 7 year hiatus from bollywood post Ghajini.

1) Omkara
2) Haider (yeah, am a sucker for Shakespeare reworks)
3) Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
4) NH10
5) Rockstar

This will be my fab 5:sachin

Planning on watching the following after a 7 year hiatus from bollywood post Ghajini.

1) Omkara
3) Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
4) NH10
5) Rockstar

The last one Rockstar was'nt good. Have you watched Maqbool? That's also Shakespeare based and by the same director and has irfan and tabu. Do watch it if you have'nt.

Really? Rockstar trailer looked interesting, good to know though. Will check out Maqbool.

Personal Bias i guess i don't like Ranbir and nargis can't act. Do watch it and let me know if you liked it. I did'nt. In your list other than rockstar all are very good movies. Do check out gangs of wasepur too if u can.

Ranbir was great in Rockstar it was because of Nargis the movie will never be talked about such sad dialogue delivery,Imtiaz got obsessed with beauty completely forgot about her acting.

1) Omkara
3) Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
4) NH10
5) Rockstar

Maqbool,Omkara,Haider all from the same director but Maqbool takes the cake obviously if you ignore the cinematography.It was the director's first attempt at Shakespeare and he excelled like never before.

Gangs of Wasseypur,Dev D are imo the best in last decade incase you don't mind dark humor.

Maqbool,Omkara,Haider all from the same director but Maqbool takes the cake obviously if you ignore the cinematography.It was the director's first attempt at Shakespeare and he excelled like never before.

Gangs of Wasseypur,Dev D are imo the best in last decade incase you don't mind dark humor.

Maqbol is the best of the lot followed by haider and then omkara.

1) Omkara
3) Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
4) NH10
5) Rockstar

all amazing films...

my ranking of those would be:

1. Omkara
2. Haider
3. Rockstar
4. Bhaag Milkha Bhaag
5. NH10

I loveddddd Rockstar, wish Nargis wasn't in it tho cause she can't act. Ranbir was fantastic and the music by AR Rahman..ufffff, too good

Vishal Bhardwaj is a beast of a director. He is a risk taker and makes different films, which I love about him. He made a film called Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola...which had a pink buffalo in it!

Fav films of his:

1. Omkara
2. Haider
3. Kaminey
4. Maqbool

Can't wait for Rangoon!

Vishal Bhardwaj is a beast of a director. He is a risk taker and makes different films, which I love about him. He made a film called Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola...which had a pink buffalo in it!

Fav films of his:

1. Omkara
2. Haider
3. Kaminey
4. Maqbool

Can't wait for Rangoon!

Takes risk while producing as well Talvar for one was one of the best that came out last year.

Maqbol is the best of the lot followed by haider and then omkara.

True but it also has to with the fact that both Macbeth and Hamlet are better than Othello as pieces of play or literature with very strong central characters.

Gulabo the buffalo connection,Matroo Ki Bijlee ka Mandola had a socialist story line which doesn't go well nowadays but Pankaj Kapur was brilliant in that.

I am surprised no one has mentioned Drishyam - that was one of the best movies of the last year.

iHammad's Top 10 Bollywood Films of 2015

1. Bajrangi Bhaijaan
2. Talvar
3. Bajirao Mastani
4. Drishyam
5. Piku
6. Baby
7. Badlapur
8. Dil Dhadakne Do
9. Dum Laga Ke Haisha
10. Tamasha

Special mentions: Baahubali, NH10, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon, Pyaar Ka Punchnama 2

Baahubali is a Telegu film originally, but I watched the Hindi dubbed version and it was awesome. NH10 was highly underrated and Anushka's performance was not given the appropriate appreciation. KKPK was Kapil Sharma's debut and it was hilarious, really funny movie. PKP2 was just as good as the first film, really funny.

Aish with the French president.

Ag0sgdcN9FkStaipPAkUDolENZNvviWaGSXYfBy8yirY.jpg

Films in 2016 which I have the highest expectation for:

1. Raees
2. FAN
(I'm a huuuuuge SRK fan, and I have been waiting for a film with a good script for years now)
3. Dangal
4. Udta Punjab
5. Mohenjo Daro
6. Rangoon
7. Rustom
8. TE3N
9. Sultan
10. Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

1. Bajrangi Bhaijaan
2. Talvar
3. Bajirao Mastani
4. Drishyam
5. Piku
6. Baby
7. Badlapur
8. Dil Dhadakne Do
9. Dum Laga Ke Haisha
10. Tamasha

Baahubali is a Telegu film originally, but I watched the Hindi dubbed version and it was awesome. NH10 was highly underrated and Anushka's performance was not given the appropriate appreciation. KKPK was Kapil Sharma's debut and it was hilarious, really funny movie. PKP2 was just as good as the first film, really funny.

What about Tanu Weds Manu 2 ,Datto's performance was very good.

Good movie, amazing performance by her...best of the year by far but she doesn't attend awards so she won the Filmfare best critics actress, while Deepika won best actress popular for Piku. Which is BS because TWMR made double at the box office :))

Just didn't make the cut though

Befikre - releasing Dec 9th, 2016, so Ranveer Singh will have a release this year, good. Vaani Kapoor (the girl from shudh desi romance is the co-actress) and directed by Aditya Chopra, 4th film he's directing after DDLJ, Mohabbatein, and Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi.

1. Bajrangi Bhaijaan
2. Talvar
3. Bajirao Mastani
4. Drishyam
5. Piku
6. Baby
7. Badlapur
8. Dil Dhadakne Do
9. Dum Laga Ke Haisha
10. Tamasha

Masaan wasn't bad, was it?

Didn't like Tamasha - was very boring.

Dum lage Haisha was great fun! Would definitely recommend it.

Amazing reviews and doing well at the box office, solid word of mouth. If you like the trailer, then watch it. I havent seen it yet though.
It might be a well made movie but i dont think it should be taken as complete truth.

Already banned in kuwait as they say the movie shows only one side of the coin and mocks the arabs.

Also one of the survivors has said that nothing of such sorts happened like they have shown in the movie.

It might be a well made movie but i dont think it should be taken as complete truth.

Already banned in kuwait as they say the movie shows only one side of the coin and mocks the arabs.

Also one of the survivors has said that nothing of such sorts happened like they have shown in the movie.

Obviously. Indians tend to exaggerate everything a hundred times.

Kuwait banned Happy Ending,Haider too its not necessarily mocking arabs but saying Kuwaiti authorities left its citizens stranded to which they took an offense.

Also from one of the survivors who ridiculed Ranjit Katyal's contribution .

After all, when then Iraq President Saddam Hussein decided to flex his muscles, I was a school-going kid in Kuwait. For weeks after the invasion my family and I lived in a country that didn’t have a functioning government and where Iraqi teenagers in army fatigues roamed the streets with machine guns.

We were packed into buses that snaked through desert roads and stayed in refugee camps in a ‘No-Man’s Land’ - a stretch of desert between Iraq and Jordan. In Airlift, I hoped to relate to such scenes and say ‘Yes, I remember this incident’ or ‘This is what we went through’. But, now, after surviving the movie, I understand the importance of the disclaimer: ‘All characters appearing in this work are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental’.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/bollywood/ranjit-katyal-did-not-airlift-me-from-kuwait/story-nUSJZio8HVjjVLbG6XW16O.html

Obviously. Indians tend to exaggerate everything a hundred times.

The truth is probably harsher and they have made a all "nice" bollywood version of it like happy ending crap.Actually they haven't exaggerated but actually De-exaggerated the war , situation of Indians and exaggerated the heroism of Ranjit Katyal.

True. But in this pic Francois Holland looks smitten by Aishwarya's beauty...:D

Not a big fan of her honestly prefer Shreya over her but nevertheless atleast in France i guess she is the face of India.
Also i think the French president probably trying his charm on her.

1. Bajrangi Bhaijaan
2. Talvar
3. Bajirao Mastani
4. Drishyam
5. Piku
6. Baby
7. Badlapur
8. Dil Dhadakne Do
9. Dum Laga Ke Haisha
10. Tamasha

Manjhi will definitely make my top 5.

awesome to see kya kool hain hum 3 and mastizaade both flopping really hard, hope great grand masti flops even harder

Saala Khadoos saw the tamil version except climax the film is very good 7/10

Mike Tyson wants to watch R. Madhavan’s “boxing-film” ‘Saala Khadoos’

NEW DELHI - R. Madhavan’s ‘Saala Khadoos’ might have not fared well at the box office, but the film has got a special fan. Legendary boxer Mike Tyson took to Facebook to share his desire to watch the “boxing film” ‘Saala Khadoos’.

Madhavan, who had worked for over a year on his physique, was seen with real life boxer Ritika Singh in the film. The actor, who also co-produced the film with director Rajkumar Hirani, shot for the film before ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns’. The film brought in a new subject and an out of the box story.

Madhavan plays an aggressive coach shunned by many boxing organizations due to his attitude in ‘Saala Khadoos’.

Mike Tyson, who has a record as the youngest boxer to win the WBC, WBA and IBF heavyweight titles at 20 years, is fascinated with the film which has also been made in Tamil titled ‘Irudhi Suttru’.

He wrote on Facebook, “I’d like to see this boxing film.”

irudhi suttru.jpg

Directed by Sudha Kongara Prasad, Saala Khadoos earned Rs. 9.93 crore in the opening weekend. The film released on January 29 alongside Sunny Leone’s Mastizaade. :irfan

'saala khadoos' Bollywood keeps legitimizing an abuse and the bollywood lapdogs keep lapping it up. Why I don't see these intellectuals protest against saala being used as an abuse. Only a dirty culture would use a relationship as an abuse.

Bollywood long crossed that phase with the DK Bose song of Delhi Belly...

Anybody wartched the trailer of AliGarh -- Manoj Bajpai and Rajkumar Rao... Movie about the Professor from Aligarh University and the way he was treated for his sexual orientation.

Looks Brilliant. Especially with Govt Considering revisiting Article 377 !

Masaan 9/10 one of the better movies of last year very good direction,cinematography and acting although i wish the screenplay was tad bit better.

Anybody wartched the trailer of AliGarh -- Manoj Bajpai and Rajkumar Rao... Movie about the Professor from Aligarh University and the way he was treated for his sexual orientation.

Looks Brilliant. Especially with Govt Considering revisiting Article 377 !

I have posted the trailer just go 5 posts above you and see my post with the trailer. The trailer looks great

Masaan 9/10 one of the better movies of last year very good direction,cinematography and acting although i wish the screenplay was tad bit better.

I loved this movie and both the two leads the love story was really good

True it was very well directed hopefully 2016 can come up with such stories as well,Sanjay Misra has become a natural choice for UP Daddy's now.

Deepika Padukone is going to star with that xXx guy. Great time for Indian cinema. Getting more screen time in Hollywood movies. Shows the increasing clout of India and the international stature of Deepika.

Irfan khan is already staring in many Hollywood movies, who cares about deepika

What is it with Bollywood and remakes? Someone here recommended me a film NH10 a while back and it was just a cheap plagiarism of Eden Lake.

Just saw Masaan. What an awesome film. Plus hits upon hard on poor subcontinent society and culture

What is it with Bollywood and remakes? Someone here recommended me a film NH10 a while back and it was just a cheap plagiarism of Eden Lake.

Have you seen once upon a time in the west? Do u think sholay was inspired by it???

Any movie which has protagonists stuck in an lawless land is not a copy of eden lake. There are hundreds of movies like that. Just like horror movies where people are stuck in a forsaken building are not copy of each other. People and their fascination to show off as Hollywood enthusiasts....

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Great logic of remake,Slum Dog millionaire copy of Deewar in that case,How i met your mother copy of Kuch Kuch Hota hai.

If you want to know remakes check out the crap Mahesh Bhat dishes out no doubt exact copy for which he probably doesn't even buy the rights.

People who prefer Dark skin would obviously prefer Deepika over Kareena or Katrina.Its Shriya Saran anyday for me the most prettiest Indian girl.

Great logic of remake,Slum Dog millionaire copy of Deewar in that case,How i met your mother copy of Kuch Kuch Hota hai.

If you want to know remakes check out the crap Mahesh Bhat dishes out no doubt exact copy for which he probably doesn't even buy the rights.

Or watch Leap Year(2010) which is a scene by scene rip off of Jab we Met.

Any movie which has protagonists stuck in an lawless land is not a copy of eden lake. There are hundreds of movies like that. Just like horror movies where people are stuck in a forsaken building are not copy of each other. People and their fascination to show off as Hollywood enthusiasts....

This!! Creativity and original concept is the hallmark of Copywood.

If you dig deep...There will be umpteen "copied"...

Hitch (2005) from Choti si Baath (1976)

Rangeela (1996) is copied into Win a date with Tad Hamilton (2004)

Eden Lake is a British movie so where does Hollywood come in to it. Sorry if it touched a nerve buddy and I think it might have been you who recommended it BUT it was almost a carbon copy of Eden Lake. I just couldn't get in to the movie at all.

^^^^ Not sure if I did, and even if I did...it is absolutely fine to not like it. I guess hollywood is just used for anything english if we are not talking technically...but yeah knew it was a British movie.

And No it is not a copy...it is as much a copy as bunch of guys stuck in a house in a forest in a horror movie. It is the reoccurring theme of the genre.... but the way the movie is treated makes the difference. Just like all Rom com's which start with bickering and banter and end in love are not copy of each other.