Bollywood Corner

What do u think of once upon a time in the west and sholay??? Do u find them similar??

Sholay drew heavily from western films including Once Upon a Time in the West. The character of Gabbar Singh seems to be picked up directly from that movie. There's scenes that are picked out of other movies as well such as The Good, the Bad and The Ugly, The Magnificent Seven and For A Few Dollars More.

If you dig deep...There will be umpteen "copied"...

Hitch (2005) from Choti si Baath (1976)

Rangeela (1996) is copied into Win a date with Tad Hamilton (2004)

A Common Man (2013)– A Wednesday (2008)
Delivery Man (2013)– Vicky Donor (2012)
Fear (1996)– Darr (1993)
Win A Date With Tad Hamilton! (2004)– Rangeela (1995)
Hitch (2005)- Chhoti Si Baat (1975)
Just Go With It (2011) - Pyar Kyu Kiya (2005)

^^^^ Not sure if I did, and even if I did...it is absolutely fine to not like it. I guess hollywood is just used for anything english if we are not talking technically...but yeah knew it was a British movie.

And No it is not a copy...it is as much a copy as bunch of guys stuck in a house in a forest in a horror movie. It is the reoccurring theme of the genre.... but the way the movie is treated makes the difference. Just like all Rom com's which start with bickering and banter and end in love are not copy of each other.
As soon as I started watching it, it was so obvious which direction the theme of the movie was going.

The only difference was the alternative ending but that made it worse because it became so unrealistic.

The British film was gritty and realistic, one could easily equate to it given the chav culture that exists in British society.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Sholay drew heavily from western films including Once Upon a Time in the West. The character of Gabbar Singh seems to be picked up directly from that movie. There's scenes that are picked out of other movies as well such as The Good, the Bad and The Ugly, The Magnificent Seven and For A Few Dollars More.
Exactly! And the scene where thakur's family gets killed by gabbar is also taken directly from once upon a time in the west.

A Common Man (2013)– A Wednesday (2008)
Delivery Man (2013)– Vicky Donor (2012)
Fear (1996)– Darr (1993)
Win A Date With Tad Hamilton! (2004)– Rangeela (1995)
Hitch (2005)- Chhoti Si Baat (1975)
Just Go With It (2011) - Pyar Kyu Kiya (2005)
Ek villain - I Saw the devil
NH 10 - Eden Lake
Murder 2 - The Chaser

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk

Looks like a Typical Dharma movie..May be good. Liked the directors previous movie...Ek Main aur Ek Tu..specially the ending.

Kapoor and sons starring Rishi Kapoor, Ratna Patak Shah, Rajat Kapoor, Alia bhatt, Sidharth Malhota and Fawad Khan.

Seems like first Fawad movie where he has substantial role and not playing second fiddle to anybody.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/s7YYt9_KfsM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Looks like a Typical Dharma movie..May be good. Liked the directors previous movie...Ek Main aur Ek Tu..specially the ending.

Kapoor and sons starring Rishi Kapoor, Ratna Patak Shah, Rajat Kapoor, Alia bhatt, Sidharth Malhota and Fawad Khan.

Seems like first Fawad movie where he has substantial role and not playing second fiddle to anybody.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/s7YYt9_KfsM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This looks like super fun, I cant wait to watch it.

Ek main Aur ek tu was pathetic.Alia looks good in the movie

Movie looks entertaining just cant stand this Mahesh Bhatts daughter as much as I like Pooja Bhatt when I was a kid she is just not tolerateable.

^^^ To each to its own...but I think she is one of promising actors...never been dissapointed except for her 1st film. She was great in Highway, humpty sharma.....she has a movie on drug addiction coming out...and a movie with Shahrukh khan (not romantic partners)...has interesting films ahead.

Jabra Song from SRK's Fan....awesome energy from SRK!!

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/d4_szl5EEww" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Neerja getting superb reviews....4's ,4.5s and 5's all over. Movie that is going to change sonam kapoor's career...superb start at box office too !

Trailer:

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/7779JrWy04g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^ To each to its own...but I think she is one of promising actors...never been dissapointed except for her 1st film. She was great in Highway, humpty sharma.....she has a movie on drug addiction coming out...and a movie with Shahrukh khan (not romantic partners)...has interesting films ahead.

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/d4_szl5EEww" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This look like a very stupid movie. Srk is gone nuts. RambirH, hrikthik and shahrukh are doing rubbish movies

This is the new trend with copywood actors. Pick a patriotic/iconic individual from the past and make a movie on it. Indians (who are only patriotic when it comes to cricket and movies and otherwise shame their country) would throng to watch it and the actor will get a boost in his/her career. Farhan Akhtar did it with Bhaag Milkha, Priyana Chopra with Mary Kom and Akshay Kumar does it all the time. Now another disgusting actor joins the club with Neerja.

When did deepika become ranvir gf ? These people change bf/gf very quickly. Last I heard deepika was with ranbir and ranvir was with sonakshi after being with anushka for quite a long period.

Which was the last decent movie released by srk? He has been making bad movies for a long time now, giving tough competition to sallu bhai in making bad movies :tyrion

Sallu bhai is probably having his best time. Hit after Hit after Hit and every movie is 100 crore +

Sallu bhai doesn't even need movies, he earns 150 crores from bigg boss alone, many movies don't earn that much :))
Iam just saying that despite an ordinary story and cast, his movies still make good business. Like PRDP made over 200 crore despite being just an okish movie. Now sonam is also part of 200 crore club.

That is why bollywood churns out rubbish year after year, but have to give credit to sallu, he is the only actor who doesn't need script or plot or support actors to make a movie block buster :misbah

When did deepika become ranvir gf ? These people change bf/gf very quickly. Last I heard deepika was with ranbir and ranvir was with sonakshi after being with anushka for quite a long period.

Yes, they should have waited for 10 months before breaking up.

This is the new trend with copywood actors. Pick a patriotic/iconic individual from the past and make a movie on it. Indians (who are only patriotic when it comes to cricket and movies and otherwise shame their country) would throng to watch it and the actor will get a boost in his/her career. Farhan Akhtar did it with Bhaag Milkha, Priyana Chopra with Mary Kom and Akshay Kumar does it all the time. Now another disgusting actor joins the club with Neerja.

Yeah and make opponents and their country look bad.

Why so much hate against Alia Bhatt here? One thing I agree that her roles in movies are completely opposite to what girls are in real life.I mean who would say a guy that he is hot on his face

Wow bollywood can never make CC happy or anything for that sake can't make him happy :P

Random thought - Saif ali khan's attempts of becoming the Charming spy of bollywood ala bond via movies like agent vinod and phantom have failed miserably.

Anyone seen fitoor? it s a flop. Katrina's performance was torn to pieces by all and sundry. I almost felt sorry for her.

Has SRK lost weight for this movie? He looks pretty thin.

Why so much hate against Alia Bhatt here? One thing I agree that her roles in movies are completely opposite to what girls are in real life.I mean who would say a guy that he is hot on his face

Maybe not in UAE, but in other countries it is possible.

Sonam Kapoor disheartened as Pakistan says no to 'Neerja'

Indian actress Sonam Kapoor starrer 'Neerja' has opened to the theatres with rave reviews from critics and audiences alike.

The film continues to get good numbers at the box office and the crew along with the actress are delighted with the success of the movie.

But Sonam says she is 'extremely disheartened' that her film was not released in Pakistan on Friday.

The actress, who plays the titular role of the stewardess who died while saving lives on hijacked Pan Am Flight 73 in 1986, said Neerja 'saved Pakistani lives' and was awarded by the government for her heroic efforts.

The film was banned in Pakistan for allegedly portraying the country 'in poor light.' Sonam, 30, tweeted that she could 'guarantee' that this was not true.

Sonam took to Twitter to express her disappointment, "Extremely disheartened that #Neerja isn't releasing this Friday in Pakistan. She was awarded by them & I hope they will salute her again."

"She saved Pakistani lives, and I can guarantee that Pakistan hasn't been shown in a poor light, I really hope and pray #Neerja releases."

However, the 'Khoobsurat' actor is still optimistic that once the movie releases worldwide, Pakistan’s censor board will be swayed by the fair depiction of the country and uplift the ban.

"When #Neerja releases worldwide and people see how fair the film is, I'm hopeful that it will result in a solution to a release in Pakistan."

An official at the commerce ministry said that due to objectionable nature of the content which portrayed Pakistan in poor light, the certificate to import the film was revoked.

IMGC Executive Director Abid Rasheed admitted that there were certain anti-Pakistan elements in Neerja and it showed Muslims in negative light.

Ram Madhvani's movie which released over 700 screens in India, has shown good occupancy in theatres across the country backed up by strong content and good word of mouth from the people.

http://www.emirates247.com/entertai...akistan-says-no-to-neerja-2016-02-21-1.621792

I have seen the movie and no way Pakistan is shown in negative light, in fact the way director of Karachi airport shouts at Pan Am for not caring passengers is positive.

Don't know why these Bollystars always cry when their movie gets rejected in Pakistan.

Has Pakistan become so important for Bollywood? Don't they have a bigger audience elsewhere?

Don't know why these Bollystars always cry when their movie gets rejected in Pakistan.

Has Pakistan become so important for Bollywood? Don't they have a bigger audience elsewhere?

Movie based on an event that happened in Pakistan, where Pakistani lives were saved and lost ..
deserve a viewing in Pakistan..

Pakistan censors banned without even watching the film.

Watching Rock The Party From Rocky Handsome....
Bombay Rockers back made me remember some old school days....Loved this number from Bombay Rockers

Watched Neerja ..Very good movie. Loved how the director gave insite into the life of Neerja parallel with the happenings in the airport. Sonam Kapoor was fantastic for the first time in her career, shabani Azmi was fantastic for the umpteenth time in her career !

9/10 !

Watched Neerja ..Very good movie. Loved how the director gave insite into the life of Neerja parallel with the happenings in the airport. Sonam Kapoor was fantastic for the first time in her career, shabani Azmi was fantastic for the umpteenth time in her career !

9/10 !

Did u watch fitoor? Waiting for your review on this one

What they show in Bolly is what liberal minded Bollywood people want the society to be.

The reality is totally different.

Just watched it in Dubai. An absolutely brilliant movie to honor the life of one of the bravest ladies in history of subcontinent.

It is absolutely ridiculous that this movie is banned in Pakistan. What are we afraid of?

The fact is that the negligence of our government and security forces resulted in a tremendous tragedy and we should accept it, rather than run away from reality and ban the movie which is not anti-Pakistan by any means. If there are some elements that portray us in poor light, then we absolutely deserve it.

I hope people raise their voices against this utterly shameful and cowardly act and pressurize the authorities to release the movie in Pakistan, because everyone needs to honor the life of Neerja Bhanot.

The irony is that she was honored by the government of Pakistan for her bravery. So what exactly are we afraid of?

People are so gullible, her death was tragic but the heroic story is too good to be true. Anyways, good for the film business

Yeah you're right. Might have been a marketing ploy by the Bollywood. Wonder why the Pakistan and the Indian govts honoured her after her death by giving her posthumous awards. Probably they had read the script of this movie 30 years ago too.

Pakistanis have big hearts :afridi but i refuse to follow somebody based off hearsay about her supposed heroics :moali

The real reason of Pakistani ban on this movie:
An Indian doing heroic stuff is against the foundation on which Pakistan was built. How can they allow this propaganda?

In a dilemma. Don't really like Sonam's acting however good reviews of the movie keep pouring in. I'll probably watch it online when it's dvd quality :moyo

She has done justice to this role. I watched the movie and found it good. For once she has acted nicely. Although some people are getting carried away with way too many praises for her acting. Its a good performance by her, thats it.

Shahrukh Khan's Fan..Looks great. Looks like he acted brilliantly..

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nkS_Ar0Yad0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Looks like a decent film from SRK finally after years. Initially I thought it would be a comedy-drama but it seems to be a thriller instead. Looking forward to it.

I was expecting it to be boring song and dance comedy like happy new year etc. However, I like the trailer after a long time it seems srk will have a decent release.

Shahrukh Khan's Fan..Looks great. Looks like he acted brilliantly..

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nkS_Ar0Yad0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Movie looks good but that motorcycle scene is a straight up copy from James bond - Skyfall. Bollywood really needs to get rid of this copy cat habit considering how big of an industry that they are.

Its so great to be excited for a SRK movie after a long time. That scene when Gaurav sees Aryan Khanna live for the first time was so great.

What I don't like is a talented actor like Fawad is being wasted to promote the chemistry of Alia and Sidharth Malhotra

Just watched it in Dubai. An absolutely brilliant movie to honor the life of one of the bravest ladies in history of subcontinent.

It is absolutely ridiculous that this movie is banned in Pakistan. What are we afraid of?

The fact is that the negligence of our government and security forces resulted in a tremendous tragedy and we should accept it, rather than run away from reality and ban the movie which is not anti-Pakistan by any means. If there are some elements that portray us in poor light, then we absolutely deserve it.

I hope people raise their voices against this utterly shameful and cowardly act and pressurize the authorities to release the movie in Pakistan, because everyone needs to honor the life of Neerja Bhanot.

The irony is that she was honored by the government of Pakistan for her bravery. So what exactly are we afraid of?

Hard to believe that a Zia-ul-Haq led govt in 1986 thought it fit to honor her but a 'democratic' govt in this day & age banned the film.

FAN might turn out to be a rare good movie srk has done in many years after chak de . Seems he has actually acted in the movie for once.