Calling married PPers - Honeymoon destinations advice

GREECE!

You'll love it there! Perfect place - its got culture, nature, and malls too :P I've been there once, I found Athens to be a little too crowded for my liking (but we were an entire tour group with the school - going to 4 cities). Honestly, Athens is a nice place to tour, but keep it short there. Maybe the Acropolis one day, then the malls or sth if your wife wants to shop.

Otherwise, if you're a nature person, then you MUST head out to Kalambaka and Delphi. Both are hill-station areas, and Kalambaka is stunningly beautiful! There aren't any historical buildings over there, but you could visit the monastreys if you want. But otherwise, very, VERY scenic. And Delphi has so much history, I think the main Acropolis of Delphi is in the World Heritage sites or sth too. PLUS scenery - its a must! :heart:

The fourth city we toured was Olympia. It was great over there too. But you need to realise that Athens is the big city (like our Karachi or Lahore - just that I found the natural beauty in Greece more appealing that the cities). And Olympia is a slightly smaller city (like our equivalent of perhaps Multan). Delphi and Kalambaka and like developed villages. If you and your missus are city-people, enjoy the lights etc, then stick with Athens, Olypmia and/or maybe Delphi (its more developed than other hill-stations). If you're a nature person, skip Olympia and add Kalambaka.

Not married, just giving some feedback :)

GREECE!

You'll love it there! Perfect place - its got culture, nature, and malls too :P I've been there once, I found Athens to be a little too crowded for my liking (but we were an entire tour group with the school - going to 4 cities). Honestly, Athens is a nice place to tour, but keep it short there. Maybe the Acropolis one day, then the malls or sth if your wife wants to shop.

Otherwise, if you're a nature person, then you MUST head out to Kalambaka and Delphi. Both are hill-station areas, and Kalambaka is stunningly beautiful! There aren't any historical buildings over there, but you could visit the monastreys if you want. But otherwise, very, VERY scenic. And Delphi has so much history, I think the main Acropolis of Delphi is in the World Heritage sites or sth too. PLUS scenery - its a must! :heart:

The fourth city we toured was Olympia. It was great over there too. But you need to realise that Athens is the big city (like our Karachi or Lahore - just that I found the natural beauty in Greece more appealing that the cities). And Olympia is a slightly smaller city (like our equivalent of perhaps Multan). Delphi and Kalambaka and like developed villages. If you and your missus are city-people, enjoy the lights etc, then stick with Athens, Olypmia and/or maybe Delphi (its more developed than other hill-stations). If you're a nature person, skip Olympia and add Kalambaka.

Not married, just giving some feedback :)

Can't believe you didn't go to their islands ... that's the main attraction basically.

The obvious romantic hubs in Europe like Paris and Venice would be good add-ons to your Greece adventure.

I'm not married either but from what I hear, Thailand is a popular choice, particularly if you have a falling out with the wife, there's always someone willing to take her place, temporarily.

Dude Maldives is way expensive then Singapore and the locals will skin you off your money....if you really want to enjoy your honeymoon in style and peace go to Naraan, Kaghaan, Siripaya and Malamjabba via Islamabad....guaranteed 100% money's worth...also if you go to Pir Sowaha in Islamabad via car you will feel that you are in the movie Avatar...honest

Bro i have been there already. Obviously not for my honeymoon but I have seen all these places and I agree with you its worth it. I have asked for the quotation for Maldives lets see how expensive Maldives is. I was thinking it may not be as expensive as Singapore.

We went to Hawaii. We spent a week in Honolulu and another in Maui. If you do end up going, I would recommend doing just one island( there are 4 major ones). It was great. I would say that Honolulu is a little touristy but beautiful none the less.

The Big Island is where it is at!

Dear PPers,
I am planning for my 1st honeymoon in the first week of October 2011 inshAllah. Planning for 8-10 days honeymoon and have identified 4 potential countries out of which I will be choosing 2. Those 4 countries are Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and Sri Lanka. Most likely I will be going to Malaysia and Sri Lanka. By the way I live in Karachi, Pakistan

Kindly advice especially in the light of your personal experiences :)

1st Honeymoon: Thailand & Singapore
2nd Honeymoon: Malaysia
3rd Honeymoon: Sri Lanka.
4th Honeymoon: Clifton (After three wives, you'll be broke by then)

You got all of them covered. No advise needed!

My favorite is Innsbrook, Austria though! :)

1st Honeymoon: Thailand & Singapore
2nd Honeymoon: Malaysia
3rd Honeymoon: Sri Lanka.
4th Honeymoon: Clifton (After three wives, you'll be broke by then)

You got all of them covered. No advise needed!

My favorite is Innsbrook, Austria though! :)

LOL @ clifton and being broke. Refer to previous posts there have been people who have gone on to 2nd honeymoon with the same(1st) wife...Honeymoon honeymoon hota hai pehla ho ya doosra :Raisani

Ok since you guys had advised I thought of coming back on this thread. I went to Malaysia for 7 days tour and it was the most wonderful place. Went to Langkawi, Genting and Kuala Lumpur. Loved the place and the locals there are also very friendly. Food is very expensive when compared it with our own currency but that again has something to do with low value of Pakistani rupees. All in all a great experience and the best of my life so far

hope your wife is happy you know what i mean!!!!!!

Any tips from our experts on PP, asking for a friend :yk Bali seems to be very popular alongside the likes of Singapore and Dubai

Maldives.
Kurumathi Island.

One of the furthest from Mali (the capital and where the airport is).
About three hour boat ride or 20 minutes by water plane.

I honeymooned there and it was literally heaven on earth.

Maldives.
Kurumathi Island.

One of the furthest from Mali (the capital and where the airport is).
About three hour boat ride or 20 minutes by water plane.

I honeymooned there and it was literally heaven on earth.

Maldives was arguably the no.1 choice as well however the weather wont be as nice, will be monsoon season I believe. But I can imagine you must have had a lovely time, saw a interview recently from Afridi he also said Maldives is his all time favourite place to visit :afridi I had south africa in mind their coast is just stunning and the garden route, however it will be winter season. Ever been to Bali, thoughts on Dubai/Singapore as well ?

I have yet to go to Bali.. Almost went there last year but we changed out mind last minute which was lucky.
bali has had a few earthquakes in recent years.

I've been to singapore several times for business. Not my favourite place if I'm being honest. Weather is a constant 28-32 degrees but very little to do there and its extremely sterile. Wouldn't be in my top 10 for a holiday let alone for a honeymoon.

Dubai could work. Although again its not my number one destination but some of the hotels are truly fantastic and the service is second to none. Food is excellent and the beach is ok... The water is warm and swimming is good as long as the jelly fish stay away.
One and Only is my favourite hotel and I've stayed at a few there.

When you planning to go? We went to Maldives around 6th April and although we got a few sharp showers during a stay but they would disappear as quickly as they arrived.

For me and my peer group ( travelling from various places in the UK), it was either Dubai & Maldives combo or Singapore Bali combo.

I did Dubai and the Maldives. Had travelled dubai numerous times but it was still brilliant just to lounge around after wedding festivities and be able to eat from major resteraunt chains.

Maldives was chilled, relaxed and a good chance to charge the batteries.

I'd imagine the Singapore/Bali one would be the same. Fast paced city and then a beach holiday.

Maldives and Bali look like the perfect long stay holiday, i.e., if you have a couple of weeks, which you probably do if you are on honeymoon. I think any trip to Asia needs a couple of weeks just because of the plane journey time. Definitely want to go there at least once having seen some videos of other people's trips. Unbelievable natural scenery.

Maldives is good. We did it in Istanbul as well, I know not your usual destination but we are both history geeks and loved the history all around the city. So if anyone's into that sort of thing its a lot of fun.

A family member also went to NZ which was pretty good.

I have yet to go to Bali.. Almost went there last year but we changed out mind last minute which was lucky.
bali has had a few earthquakes in recent years.

I've been to singapore several times for business. Not my favourite place if I'm being honest. Weather is a constant 28-32 degrees but very little to do there and its extremely sterile. Wouldn't be in my top 10 for a holiday let alone for a honeymoon.

Dubai could work. Although again its not my number one destination but some of the hotels are truly fantastic and the service is second to none. Food is excellent and the beach is ok... The water is warm and swimming is good as long as the jelly fish stay away.
One and Only is my favourite hotel and I've stayed at a few there.

When you planning to go? We went to Maldives around 6th April and although we got a few sharp showers during a stay but they would disappear as quickly as they arrived.

Yes I think they did experience it around 2017-2018, they have recovered now from the devastation; Gili Meno an Island near there is quiet popular, it's all muslim to and great for food as well I hear. I was meant to go there to for business aha but cancelled due to the virus, but I am with you it doesn't really do it for me either tbh, wasn't a fan of Dubai but it could work as a stopping point with it being close to Bali as well. Did you mostly still to food places in Dubai near the Hotel or munched the Hotel food quiet a bit as well and iA targeting the summer, yes Maldives is generally great to visit between Nov - April

For me and my peer group ( travelling from various places in the UK), it was either Dubai & Maldives combo or Singapore Bali combo.

I did Dubai and the Maldives. Had travelled dubai numerous times but it was still brilliant just to lounge around after wedding festivities and be able to eat from major resteraunt chains.

Maldives was chilled, relaxed and a good chance to charge the batteries.

I'd imagine the Singapore/Bali one would be the same. Fast paced city and then a beach holiday.

That's nice plus Dubai must be decent if you still liked it despite being there a few times before, Singapore/Bali is the standard combo to go for but with the concerns in Singapore / work related implications, it could be substituted with Dubai

Maldives and Bali look like the perfect long stay holiday, i.e., if you have a couple of weeks, which you probably do if you are on honeymoon. I think any trip to Asia needs a couple of weeks just because of the plane journey time. Definitely want to go there at least once having seen some videos of other people's trips. Unbelievable natural scenery.

Should be good hopefully 2-3 weeks, the plane journey time can be gruelling; on the way back stopping somewhere before heading back home would be good; although some do it the other way round where on the way to an Island would stop at a Singapore etc. Yes would love to go Maldives one day to, it is stunning

Yes I think they did experience it around 2017-2018, they have recovered now from the devastation; Gili Meno an Island near there is quiet popular, it's all muslim to and great for food as well I hear. I was meant to go there to for business aha but cancelled due to the virus, but I am with you it doesn't really do it for me either tbh, wasn't a fan of Dubai but it could work as a stopping point with it being close to Bali as well. Did you mostly still to food places in Dubai near the Hotel or munched the Hotel food quiet a bit as well and iA targeting the summer, yes Maldives is generally great to visit between Nov - April

In Dubai, we did hotel for breakfast and light lunches with most evening meals outside of the hotel.

Another place to consider is Malaysia... I have to go there but from what friends have told me, the food is absolutely amazing and you have the beautiful beaches along with he rain forests...

I'm definitely going to check out Malaysia for a holiday in the next couple of years.

That's nice plus Dubai must be decent if you still liked it despite being there a few times before, Singapore/Bali is the standard combo to go for but with the concerns in Singapore / work related implications, it could be substituted with Dubai

Yeah bro Dubai is different going with the missus than with the lads.

With the lads it was quad biking, shisha and general messing about.

With the wife a bit more cultured and laid back. Dubai has things to do for everyone

Usually beach destinations with tropical are the best and IMO City destinations are not as appealing.

Places I think are nice: Bali, Maldives, and Barbados

In the end it depends on what you're interested in. However, if you ask me I would highly recommend going to Tanzania and then off to Zanzibar. You get to do the Safari and see the big 5 which is a lot of fun and then a few days on an island in Zanzibar enjoying the beach. It's relatively cheap but not something you can do when you have little kids. Plus, it mixes both the adventure part and the island escape.

The recommendations I'm seeing here are things you can do anytime even when you have kids. This, however, is something you won't be able to do.

If you're going to go by the list above I would not recommend Istanbul for a honeymoon destination. If you're going to Turkey try doing Bodrum and that region in itself has a lot of history as well. Otherwise yo u have the typical Seychelles and Maldives type recommendations

but honestly if you want to have fun do Africa and go for a safari.

^^^
Africa is a good shout...

I like the idea about combining a safari with a beach/island vacation..

I never got the point of traveling to an exotic destination for a honeymoon. wouldn't the best and fun part of the honeymoon be indoors anyways :)

I have seen many people going to Maldives for honeymoon. Saw some breathtaking photos from Maldives.

Egypt is another great place.

Bump.

Anyone here been Indonesia?

Looking to explore a bit of Bali but mainly Lombok and Gili Islands in September in sha Allah.

Bump.

Anyone here been Indonesia?

Looking to explore a bit of Bali but mainly Lombok and Gili Islands in September in sha Allah.
Used to live in Malaysia for years, Malaysia Singapore and Indonesia are very similar.

Though the impression I got from Indonesians in Malaysia was that Malaysia was the best of both Singapore and Indonesia. This is way back in 2005, Malaysia is far more developed now ofc.

Amazing and cheap food, halal, and a very rich culture, natural beauty (tropical rain forests, but also massive green valleys- Genting Highlands is the place with a massive resort over there) but still has proper well developed metropolitan areas- think smaller and less dense but almost just as developed Hong Kong if we’re talking about the capital Kuala Lumpur.

I have even considered moving back there because it has everything I look for in a country these days, all of it under the banner of Islam.

Many historical sites as well with Chinese and Dutch influence.

It’s a very affordable but still a very rich experience as far as honeymoon or even living there.

The main leg Indonesia may have over Malaysia is Bali, but even then Malaysia has its own beaches.

I don’t think you can go wrong with either tbh, just wanted to share as Malaysia is massively underrated- was back then, still is now.

Damn nice. What made you move out of Malaysia? A big fan of the infrastructure and have considered moving there too.

Initially I was planning to go Malaysia, focus on KL, Langkawi and Penang Islands but I found the resorts in Langkawi to be more limited and pricey than Bali/Lombok.

Damn nice. What made you move out of Malaysia? A big fan of the infrastructure and have considered moving there too.

Initially I was planning to go Malaysia, focus on KL, Langkawi and Penang Islands but I found the resorts in Langkawi to be more limited and pricey than Bali/Lombok.
Was a kid back then :asif family wanted to go back to Pak due to extended family, friends and familiarity etc.

But now I am considering going there again. I loved it. I miss the food and how KL was to me like a mini New York / Hong Kong hybrid with massive mosques.

I know my boy @sweep_shot would enjoy the food scene there too.

Malaysian Nasi Ayam (chicken and rice with sambal sauce) for about $3 with drink included :misbah

Every single cuisine you can think of because it’s the Asian melting pot over there, every race, culture etc from around the globe have settled there- again this was 20 years ago, prob more diverse now.

Don’t really need to drive much either. Hop on the LRT and you can go anywhere.

Was a kid back then :asif family wanted to go back to Pak due to extended family, friends and familiarity etc.

But now I am considering going there again. I loved it. I miss the food and how KL was to me like a mini New York / Hong Kong hybrid with massive mosques.

I know my boy @sweep_shot would enjoy the food scene there too.

Malaysian Nasi Ayam (chicken and rice with sambal sauce) for about $3 with drink included :misbah

Every single cuisine you can think of because it’s the Asian melting pot over there, every race, culture etc from around the globe have settled there- again this was 20 years ago, prob more diverse now.

Don’t really need to drive much either. Hop on the LRT and you can go anywhere.

Never tried Malaysian dishes. Would love to try. :inti

How is Antarctica as a honeymoon destination? I would love to do my honeymoon there (if wife agrees). :yk

Go to a city where your wife will look prettier than majority of the women. You would feel proud and motivated to keep it for a long time and you would truly make efforts to make honeymoon a great experience.

It's a fresh marriage and you don't wanna go somewhere full of Instagram beauties or just pure natural beauty all around where nature will force you to question your choices and destiny. Let's be honest, we all been there and felt that.

And don't ever do the noob mistake of letting your wife fool you into believing she your girl pal and you can just let her know how you felt about the girl passing by like homies do. She will kill the honeymoon vibes right there. With wife always keep honesty meter to 25%, sarcasm meter to 0%.

Go to a city where your wife will look prettier than majority of the women. You would feel proud and motivated to keep it for a long time and you would truly make efforts to make honeymoon a great experience.

You sound hella insecure.

Honestly , not a bad destination if you can get over your paranoia. The cafes and the street retail and restaurants are good to walk around. If in ME - would suggest Morocco or Dubai, Turkey. Close to the US - can suggest Carribbean Islands or Turks and Caicos. Europe is always a great spot - Greece, Italy, Austria, Holland. germany all great spots. And for sure - not Pak or Ban though. :ROFLMAO:

It’s a shame your head office took a hit otherwise I heard there are lovely restaurants near the Mossad HQ.

Its OK, there will be some damage in war. But thats not the focus of this topic and no need to derail every thread with your unrelated posts. The guy asked for spots to enjoy his married life - so we can endeavor to give him some good advice.

I think Maldives is a great honeymoon destination. I know quite a few local couples who went there for honeymoons.