Can any team win a Test series in India?

We will think about it if you can get back to #2, or even #3. Right now #6 doesn't get any consideration.

When the next round of UAE tests, and Indian away tours come along we'll se what happens. It's all cyclical, Pakistan became number one after a long round of home series and one good away tour against a top team.

Any team who has good players of spin and has decent spinners.

Pakistan is the team that can beat India in India till Younis is there. Younis and Safraz are two of the best players of spin bowling. Others aren't bad either. Also, Babar , Haris and Azhar are v.good at playing fast bowling. That will the series to watch out for.

When the next round of UAE tests, and Indian away tours come along we'll se what happens. It's all cyclical, Pakistan became number one after a long round of home series and one good away tour against a top team.

But in previous uae trips can you please give me results ? 1-1 newzealand, 1-1 south africa, 2-0 australia, and long back 3-0 england....now do you know india in india in last 5 years ? demoslished all teams at home that' s y we are n.o 1.....you guys just performed better outside asia in one country by winning just 1 extra test match in england.....but you lost a test to zimbawe, west indies and i am not even talking about white washes you recieved in australia, south africa, new zealand..........but we drew games in all countries so ranking didnt effect much due to drew games...whereas we completly demolished those teams in india....check australia record of last trips in india.......or anyone in last 5 years....matches were completed in 3 days even many times...........and first trip is over we both played home season and both played outside asia....so after one complete trip ranking is front of everyone......

Looks like you have some comprehension problems. I asked you about the results when the Aussies last visited your land. Although I can understand it's not easy to recall events that happened 19 years ago ;-)

Looks like this beating AUS gave India has severly hampered your ineptness to the point where you can't even comprehend recent events :yk again, Pak destroyed AUS in UAE, SL destoryed AUS in lanka and minnow in Asia AUS humiliate India in India :)))

oh bhai mere..paidal hai kya damag se....you beat aus by 2-0 plus won tosses both time so quite lucky as well as we know pakistan chasing powers.. ...and during that time we beat australia 4-0 , and before that as well we whitewashed them and now also we are going to beat them again....its nothing new for us to whitewash australia we are used to it since past 10 years....it may be new thing to you to beat australia 2-0after a long lomg time and i am suree they are not going to beat them again for long time since ajmal has also gone......post logical things next time

But in previous uae trips can you please give me results ? 1-1 newzealand, 1-1 south africa, 2-0 australia, and long back 3-0 england....now do you know india in india in last 5 years ? demoslished all teams at home that' s y we are n.o 1.....you guys just performed better outside asia in one country by winning just 1 extra test match in england.....but you lost a test to zimbawe, west indies and i am not even talking about white washes you recieved in australia, south africa, new zealand..........but we drew games in all countries so ranking didnt effect much due to drew games...whereas we completly demolished those teams in india....check australia record of last trips in india.......or anyone in last 5 years....matches were completed in 3 days even many times...........and first trip is over we both played home season and both played outside asia....so after one complete trip ranking is front of everyone......

Oh wow the test rankings the be all and end all, even after Kohli said he doesn't give much value to being no. 1. The test rankings are flawed, if you know test cricket you know not losing a series to the opposition is more important than hammering the opposition. Everyone remembers when Australia beat India in 2004, no one remembers the scoreline of the series Australia has played in India since then apart from the most recent one.

We also whitewashed Australia in 2014 and England in 2012 and beat England 2-0 in three tests in 2015 as well. The last time Pakistan lost a home series was in 2007 over a decade ago, while India lost to England in 2012. And, before the most recent cycle of home tests for India, they weren't demolishing England and South Africa at home either, they weren't even beating them in home test series. All of South Africa's players were criticising the Indian pitches even before the last series was lost, that has never happened in the UAE. In fact our own players complain that the pitch doesn't offer enough spin, since we're not in charge of curating the bloody pitches, let alone doctoring them.

Oh another wow, India have had one test series abroad recently against the might West Indies, who drew 2 matches against India thanks to rain and the mighty Roston Chase. It's good to be patriotic and passionate about your team, but don't be love blind.

oh bhai mere..paidal hai kya damag se....you beat aus by 2-0 plus won tosses both time so quite lucky as well as we know pakistan chasing powers.. ...and during that time we beat australia 4-0 , and before that as well we whitewashed them and now also we are going to beat them again....its nothing new for us to whitewash australia we are used to it since past 10 years....it may be new thing to you to beat australia 2-0after a long lomg time and i am suree they are not going to beat them again for long time since ajmal has also gone......post logical things next time

Hahahahaahahahaha post logical things next time? What are you saying, Ajmal wasn't even playing in that Australia series, get your bloody facts right. And, apart from the 4-0 when was the last time India beat Australia like that, oh never!!! India only whitewashed them 2-0 before that in the last decade same as Pakistan. Doesn't matter though because a whitewash is a whitewash.

Pakistan has beaten Australia at home in 6 out of 9 home series, we're used to beating them. India has beaten them in 7 out of 14 home series, I guess you're the one use to drawing and lose to them more than Pakistan, we're the one's use to beating them more even though we get to play them less.

When the next round of UAE tests, and Indian away tours come along we'll se what happens. It's all cyclical, Pakistan became number ]

Oh wow the test rankings the be all and end all, even after Kohli said he doesn't give much value to being no. 1. The test rankings are flawed, if you know test cricket you know not losing a series to the opposition is more important than hammering the opposition. Everyone remembers when Australia beat India in 2004, no one remembers the scoreline of the series Australia has played in India since then apart from the most recent one.

We also whitewashed Australia in 2014 and England in 2012 and beat England 2-0 in three tests in 2015 as well. The last time Pakistan lost a home series was in 2007 over a decade ago, while India lost to England in 2012. And, before the most recent cycle of home tests for India, they weren't demolishing England and South Africa at home either, they weren't even beating them in home test series. All of South Africa's players were criticising the Indian pitches even before the last series was lost, that has never happened in the UAE. In fact our own players complain that the pitch doesn't offer enough spin, since we're not in charge of curating the bloody pitches, let alone doctoring them.

Oh another wow, India have had one test series abroad recently against the might West Indies, who drew 2 matches against India thanks to rain and the mighty Roston Chase. It's good to be patriotic and passionate about your team, but don't be love blind.

Oh wow you dnt even know how ranking works....even a top team draw a mat h against weak team then there is loose of points....every win,every draw, every loss has an impact on ranking points....you guys beat australia how many times i can only remember 2 test matches oh gawd only 2 test matches they have won against austrlia since ages........and do you know our figure against them?kindly check it out yourself
yes we lost a test series 2- 1 to england only 5 years ago.....but that's the only series....and you guys cudnt beat south africa and new zealand at home lost a test to each in uae and got themselves whitewashed there in new zealand and south africa....but we whitewashed them sohth africa and newzealand some 4-0 and 3-0 & we drew match there...so ranking points does take in to account everything....
Plus you guys cudnt beat zimbawe and lost a test to west indies as well...but we didnt....and for how much time did you stay at n.o 1??? look at our stay time as well...so yes we are very much deserving test team n.o 1 in the world....and pakistan are deservingly n.o 6........

Hahahahaahahahaha post logical things next time? What are you saying, Ajmal wasn't even playing in that Australia series, get your bloody facts right. And, apart from the 4-0 when was the last time India beat Australia like that, oh never!!! India only whitewashed them 2-0 before that in the last decade same as Pakistan. Doesn't matter though because a whitewash is a whitewash.

Pakistan has beaten Australia at home in 6 out of 9 home series, we're used to beating them. India has beaten them in 7 out of 14 home series, I guess you're the one use to drawing and lose to them more than Pakistan, we're the one's use to beating them more even though we get to play them less.

Oh gawd....who am i talking to...i didnt say historically india is better then pakistan in test ..did i? pakistan was gun team very back then....but since last decade they are not ...Presently they are deserving n.o 6....ranki gs are not flawed .....we are n.o 1 test team 2-3 times as well i guess...plus pakistan lossing a test to new zealand , south africa at uae didnt help ranking either and loosing a match to west indies too not even including whitewashes abroad except england.......rankings take that things in to consideration...not like how many series you were unbeaten in uae....

I think Pakistan is the only team who could give India competition in India. Australia have done well but I think had Ashwin been on top of his game and this series not been on the back off 10 tests in the season, I think India may have won this series more easily.

I think our players are good enough vs spin, Yasir and Asghar would get success in India. Whilst Wahab could be a threat as well.

The series won't happen, but it would be a close and competitive series.

We violated AUS in the UAE, SL violated them in Lanka and yet AUS the minnow in asia went the distance in India and almost won a closely fought series :))) how humiliating must that be, no wonder you refuse to play pakistan out of fear of losing test status; that's how bad we'd beat you, you'd get sent back to the associate era.

Interesting choice of words. I assume you likewise apply them to Pakistan when it toured Aus and NZ.

It was 5-0 over two series, Australia lot 5-0 over two series to Pakistan and Sri Lanka as well. Don't distort facts at least, please.

The distortion is done entirely by you. The initial post I replied to said "We violated AUS in the UAE", it does not say "We and SL violated AUS in the UAE". I replied "...Aus an NZ...". So indeed the right comparison is 0-2 to 0-5.

As an economist would say, some things are cyclical, other things are secular. Pakistan became #1 because rain gave the WI a draw, and that resulting tiny margin over India in the rankings disappeared very quickly. The gap between India and Pakistan is secular, get used to it.

Pakistan won its first series against Australia in 1956. It took Australia's 5th visit in 1979 for India to finally win a series against Australia, an Australia devoid of it's best players to WSC.

India might have played Australia in 6 series more at home but they've won only 7 series so far, while Pakistan has beaten them 6 times, just a series less, in so many less tours...

At some point you may consider the pointlessness of living in the past and join the 21st century.

Oh wow you dnt even know how ranking works....even a top team draw a mat h against weak team then there is loose of points....every win,every draw, every loss has an impact on ranking points....you guys beat australia how many times i can only remember 2 test matches oh gawd only 2 test matches they have won against austrlia since ages........and do you know our figure against them?kindly check it out yourself
yes we lost a test series 2- 1 to england only 5 years ago.....but that's the only series....and you guys cudnt beat south africa and new zealand at home lost a test to each in uae and got themselves whitewashed there in new zealand and south africa....but we whitewashed them sohth africa and newzealand some 4-0 and 3-0 & we drew match there...so ranking points does take in to account everything....
Plus you guys cudnt beat zimbawe and lost a test to west indies as well...but we didnt....and for how much time did you stay at n.o 1??? look at our stay time as well...so yes we are very much deserving test team n.o 1 in the world....and pakistan are deservingly n.o 6........

I don't know if you read my first point on the way test rankings are calculated and their uselessness, experts look at series won and series lost, not ranking points or series won 2-0 or 3-0. Cricket is not tennis, rankings apart from world cup qualification for odi's are useless. New Zealand is the no.1 t20 team, but who gives a damn it means nothing.

As an economist would say, some things are cyclical, other things are secular. Pakistan became #1 because rain gave the WI a draw, and that resulting tiny margin over India in the rankings disappeared very quickly. The gap between India and Pakistan is secular, get used to it.

No India became world no.1 because Pakistan went to tour the hardest place in the world, down under, while India beat teams rubbish against spin in spinning conditions one after the other, don't be love blind. Look at things impartially.

The distortion is done entirely by you. The initial post I replied to said "We violated AUS in the UAE", it does not say "We and SL violated AUS in the UAE". I replied "...Aus an NZ...". So indeed the right comparison is 0-2 to 0-5.

Are you serious? You merged the result of two different series into one and are comparing that with one other series in isolation. I was giving better context to your point by saying Pakistan's 0-5 was comparable to Australia's 0-5 in Pakistan and Sri Lanka. How can you compare one series with two? That is seriously puzzling!

I will like to see India face Pakistan in UAE or at home. I prefer home or in a neutral place like England. Indian players themselves want to play Pakistan but Indian government is being stupid.

India has to play in Pakistan in either India or Pakistan. Playing in neutral venues or UAE just kills of the hype surrounding the series

I think that for the long term test future of India it's actually great business that they refuse to play Pakistan, after being exposed by Australia we know that they're even worse then what was anticipated; if they are to be humiliated by Pakistan then no one would care about India anymore, all their fans would support brave and big hearted courageous cricketers from Pakistan who are mentally stronger

Pakistan can win imo.
[MENTION=129948]Bilal7[/MENTION] what do you think?

Of course Pakistan can win. I can see a three-match series going to Pakistan 2:1 or 2:0 depending on where in Asia it is played, with Younis the highest run-scorer and Shah and Jadeja being the top two wicket-takers. Pakistan and India are very similar teams right now. India have much greater depth in spin bowling and arguably, even pace bowling but in a hypothetical series where both teams are at full strength, depth won't matter. Pakistan have batsmen that play spin a lot better, have the best spinner in the world, a better captain, safer fielders and pacers with more pedigree than India do.

In England, it would be a more closely contested series with Pakistan just edging a 2:1 win. In Australia, India would win 2:0 given that their batsmen love the flat pitches and bounce on offer and Pakistan's bowling would be neutralized. A series in South Africa and New Zealand could go either way and would be the most exciting.

Of course Pakistan can win. I can see a three-match series going to Pakistan 2:1 or 2:0 depending on where in Asia it is played, with Younis the highest run-scorer and Shah and Jadeja being the top two wicket-takers. Pakistan and India are very similar teams right now. India have much greater depth in spin bowling and arguably, even pace bowling but in a hypothetical series where both teams are at full strength, depth won't matter. Pakistan have batsmen that play spin a lot better, have the best spinner in the world, a better captain, safer fielders and pacers with more pedigree than India do.

In England, it would be a more closely contested series with Pakistan just edging a 2:1 win. In Australia, India would win 2:0 given that their batsmen love the flat pitches and bounce on offer and Pakistan's bowling would be neutralized. A series in South Africa and New Zealand could go either way and would be the most exciting.

I expect nothing less than 3-0, if AUS a team which has notoriously struggled in asian conditions can push IND to the limit just imagine what Pakistan would do to them, and it's not like in boxing where you can throw the towel in or the ref can stop the fight we'd maul them and completely break their spirit on every level imaginable. India are the Charles Martin of Cricket, they will pad their record with tomato cans and try to protect themselves within their comfort zone to avoid being exposed but in this case AUS KO'd these alleged giants of the cricketing world with a simple low blow many a time which even forced Kohli to quit, he literally just gave up; I think he faked his injury or the management decided he should sit out because he had completely lost the plot and Rahane seemed to handle things a lot better.

In a way world cricket does need India, we got afghanistan and Ireland coming through who could benefit from a rub; it's good that India do not play Pakistan in that sense because we don't want to see their ashes, have to think about Afghanistan and Ireland as well, hopefully the ICC can arrange some friendlies between those teams, I think India will give these new teams a good work out.

I think that for the long term test future of India it's actually great business that they refuse to play Pakistan, after being exposed by Australia we know that they're even worse then what was anticipated; if they are to be humiliated by Pakistan then no one would care about India anymore, all their fans would support brave and big hearted courageous cricketers from Pakistan who are mentally stronger

I think our B team beats you. There is a reason why you are ranked so low. Our bowling is better, our batting is better and of course our fielding is better. You dont have a prayer.

But please keep on believing that you can beat us and we are afraid. Atleast that way you feel good about yourself.

I expect nothing less than 3-0, if AUS a team which has notoriously struggled in asian conditions can push IND to the limit just imagine what Pakistan would do to them, and it's not like in boxing where you can throw the towel in or the ref can stop the fight we'd maul them and completely break their spirit on every level imaginable. India are the Charles Martin of Cricket, they will pad their record with tomato cans and try to protect themselves within their comfort zone to avoid being exposed but in this case AUS KO'd these alleged giants of the cricketing world with a simple low blow many a time which even forced Kohli to quit, he literally just gave up; I think he faked his injury or the management decided he should sit out because he had completely lost the plot and Rahane seemed to handle things a lot better.

In a way world cricket does need India, we got afghanistan and Ireland coming through who could benefit from a rub; it's good that India do not play Pakistan in that sense because we don't want to see their ashes, have to think about Afghanistan and Ireland as well, hopefully the ICC can arrange some friendlies between those teams, I think India will give these new teams a good work out.

3:0 is a possibility as well. I didn't want to offend my Indian friends here so was giving a more conservative estimate.

Don't worry India honey moon is over soon they will be back to 4or 6 rank

This is well deserved ranking. I dont see any team beating India with the kind of batting and bowling on display. I dont see India dropping below 3 for a long time.

U do realize that India has played 16 freaking test this home season with loads of OdI's, so they are bound to have fatigue, A fully fit India will be more than a match for Pakistan anywhere.

Much Much better to lose a test match at home conditions against Australia than West Indies or New Zealand

Why are you getting happy at how an improved Australian team is competing in India? Our best batsman and bowler underperformed and we are going to win the series. However, if WI or NZ tour, you can bet that India C will not lose a session against them.

People conveniently forget how good this Aussie team is. SL was a blimp. This Aussie team is a real deal. I would be surprised if Pakistan team on consistent basis can score more runs than double digits.

If India plays Pakistan it will be an epic blowout.We are not in the same league anymore. We have a very accomplished team.

Pakistan will play well in India if they toured but likely won't be able to win a series. Two years ago maybe, when this team was far better, it could have been possible.

Are Ppers really thinking that a team which is on a 6 game losing streak better than the current Indian side??

Lloyd's WI - Waugh's Australia - Kohli's India

Ascend unto the heavens, o great gods of cricket India

3:0 is a possibility as well. I didn't want to offend my Indian friends here so was giving a more conservative estimate.

True, the fellas are a bit sensitive arent they :yk2; you are too kind. I have no doubt India would be destroyed 3-0, AUS performance in India has exposed them

Why 3-0 only,friends? Don't be so generous, we will get annihilated, crushed and whitewashed mercilessly because

a) Pakistan is the world best touring and an all weather team (albiet they are on a 6-0 losing streak but heck that doesn't matter)

b) Pakistan is the world best home team and NO ONE come close to win at their adopted home ( even though they are allowed to lose tests & draw series vs SL, NZ, SA AND (hold my breath) WI! But then everybody lose in a game)

c) India is overrarted and why not they have only lost 1 out of their last 25 odd matches. That record is fake and Pakistan will just walkover India anytime , anywhere.

d) Ranking is a farce...how can India be no. 1, they don't deserve it? How can two Indians be top two bowlers in World. That rights is eternally with world best bowling side! So it shouldn't be a problem for World No. 6 with a hot losing streak crushing the overrated Indians 3-0 at their home!

See, I am with you. India has no chance:misbah3.

Is there any place on earth, India has a clear chance of winning against Pakistan, IYHO?

at this moment NO.

I mean point proven here because if we had to bet the teams that have ability to compete that would be England,Australia,South Africa and New zealand and we smashed all off them...Kudos to Aus for atleast showing up and putting up a semblance of a fight.

Rest don't even matter becuase we would be accused of minnow bashing and bloating up our stats beating them :jaya:afridi1:sanga:yk3

Pakistan is the only threat for India in India. If we see the record of pak in Asian condition in UAE against Australia Engliand South Africa New Zealand. All were beaten comprehensively. India has no chance to make a spin friendly track. Because Yunis, Misbah and Shafiq will murder them. And they can't afford to make green track because of Amir and wahab. And the batting of Kohli pujara and rahane will not stand against testing spin of Yasir, Zulfqar Babar and the new sensation Shahdab Khan. So my money will be on Pak.

You got beaten by westindies at your den. And you are thinking about 3-0 against India. I like your optimism

Now that the Younis and Misbah era is coming to a close, no. I would have thought Pakistan were the only team who could take it to the Indians in their own backyard. Without these two i'd say the batting line up will end up being a little too weak overall.

Well we're not going to find out for the forseeable future given the tensions between India and Pakistan governments.

Pakistan have done well in 3 out of their last 4 visits in 1987, 1999 and 2005 but this team's batting would be weaker than all three touring parties, especially with Younis and Misbah past their peak and on verge of retirement.

The bowling isn't a match for 1987 or 1999, but its better than what we had in 2005. I'm amazed we were able to eke out a draw given the bowling attack we had then against that formidable Indian batting lineup.

India would be favourites, though in England I'd fancy our chances - but that idea is a fantasy as ECB aren't going to allow such a series to take place as it'd clash with their home international and domestic season.

Pakistan can do it, no other team is poised better than Pakistan to do it. And with better players being selected on merit, Pakistan's chances are further rising.

Majority of the test sides would have surrendered after the 2nd day of 2nd test.. India have been immense throughout the series. Their main batsman turned into tailender and the way they came back even in 3rd game when chasing 450 lead was monumental. And the wicket in the last game suited more to Australia. So many of the deliveries from Cummins and Yadav literally went flying off the deck.

Comfortably the most dominant side at home..

People are underestimating India's dominance at home. We have won past many series despite giving away the most crucial advantage almost every single time, toss.

Also, like Chrish mentioned above, we 4-0 England on flattest of tracks and we demolished Australia on a pace friendly track. So every single aspect of India's game has been thoroughly tested, and this team really showed what a champion side it is.

Coming to Pakistan, while they might be the only side that stands a chance in India, it is also true that the chances of that happening are extremely slim. They have recently been beaten by WI in UAE, and despite their unbeaten record there, they have never shown the kind of dominance that would scare other sides.