Can,t swing the bat freely....

amarali

Tape Ball Captain
I have a problem with my batting and that is that i can not hit sixes on regular basis.........I am famous as a test batsmen due to this lack of sixes and when i come to bat my cousins say "Salim Malik Comes to bat"...........I closely watch the cricketers smashing sixes but can,t get a clue what is the best way to hit the ball huge and long......Couzns say that i swing the bat too close to my body i try to avoid it but still can,t get rid of this habit.........

Any advice and suggestion that how can i remove this short coming?

hold the bat up when you're about to face, that will reduce the time you take to raise your backlift.

Will try inshALLAH 2morrow and let u inform about results.:shahzaib

don't try to hit sixes you might succeed a couple of times but it will only result in getting out.

Make sure when bowler is running in your bat is pointing towards slips/wicket keeper or over off stump and have head still.

Interesting.

I am also a very tuk tuk players. Unofficially the islowest player in Norway. Made a 58 ball 19 on my debut, batted for 23 out of 30 overs before I kind of ran myself out as we had the batting PP and 9 wickets in hand.

Anyway, now that you mention it, I have a pretty high backlift which works fine for me, but the bat is always pointing towards middle or leg. Maybe I should try this? How can this help me? Really wan't to up my scoring. Have never hit any boundaries :(

Interesting.

I am also a very tuk tuk players. Unofficially the islowest player in Norway. Made a 58 ball 19 on my debut, batted for 23 out of 30 overs before I kind of ran myself out as we had the batting PP and 9 wickets in hand.

Anyway, now that you mention it, I have a pretty high backlift which works fine for me, but the bat is always pointing towards middle or leg. Maybe I should try this? How can this help me? Really wan't to up my scoring. Have never hit any boundaries :(

Hain? Middle and leg? I think when bat comes from that side it is coming from an angle, hence, there is high chance of getting edge I believe.

Not too sure if I am correct there or not.

Do not hold the shot after you play it. Let your bat flow after you drive and let it go in the air above back of your head. This will surely fix the issue in some days.

P.S: Do it on purpose. Might look odd for start but will surely fix the issue. INSHALLAH!

Interesting.

Sorry - When bat is coming from leg stump then when you play your strokes there is big gap between bat and pads, hence, chances of getting bowled increase significantly.

Been a while since I have played, and this is not something I have thought much of. But I have sen some other abtsmen have their bat en facing towards the slips, but I try to stand as traight as possible. My bat is definatley not facing the slips, can try to find out the next time I am playing where my bad end is facing. And I can also try to face the bat a bit more to the off.

I hardly ever have a gap between bat and pad, and I am probably that player in my team who is almost impossible to bowl. Known as tuk tuk & the wall :misbah :dravid

I often challange the guys to bowl me so they can win a naan kabaab :D Can't remember that has ever happened.

Funny story, used to play indoor in high school, I chalalnged everyone to clean bowl me. A lot of young, brave men tried, but they all failed. Suddently this Afghani girl comes, someone gives her the ball. (prize was a samosa). She fires in a slow, high full toss. I am looking to dispatch it to the windows :azhar

CLEAN BOWLED :akhtar

Didn't really know that girl as she was a year under me, so did not buy her a samosa.

Been a while since I have played, and this is not something I have thought much of. But I have sen some other abtsmen have their bat en facing towards the slips, but I try to stand as traight as possible. My bat is definatley not facing the slips, can try to find out the next time I am playing where my bad end is facing. And I can also try to face the bat a bit more to the off.

I hardly ever have a gap between bat and pad, and I am probably that player in my team who is almost impossible to bowl. Known as tuk tuk & the wall :misbah :dravid

I often challange the guys to bowl me so they can win a naan kabaab :D Can't remember that has ever happened.

Funny story, used to play indoor in high school, I chalalnged everyone to clean bowl me. A lot of young, brave men tried, but they all failed. Suddently this Afghani girl comes, someone gives her the ball. (prize was a samosa). She fires in a slow, high full toss. I am looking to dispatch it to the windows :azhar

CLEAN BOWLED :akhtar

Didn't really know that girl as she was a year under me, so did not buy her a samosa.

Larki ko khush karray ki koshish ki thi thats why you got bowled :) ;-) :))

lol naah mere se chorti thi + afghani. I had enough desi connections in high ischool :asif :akhtar

Appnay say choti say hi shadi karni hai nay barri say tou nahi karoo gay na?

Mujhay pakka yaqeen hogaya hai.

Issliye main sooch ta tha kay appko meri clubbing main itni dilchasbi kyun hai, everything make sense now :))

Appnay say choti say hi shadi karni hai nay barri say tou nahi karoo gay na?

Mujhay pakka yaqeen hogaya hai.

Issliye main sooch ta tha kay appko meri clubbing main itni dilchasbi kyun hai, everything make sense now :))

hahahaha :)))

CD on a roll and comeback from those blows :amirkhankaopponentkanamedontrememberpetersonsomething?

insha Allah shaadi younger se karro gha, but that is most likely not relevant with cricket :)

hahahaha :)))

CD on a roll and comeback from those blows :amirkhankaopponentkanamedontrememberpetersonsomething?

insha Allah shaadi younger se karro gha, but that is most likely not relevant with cricket :)

Daal main kuch kaala hai bhai sahab.

Will need to become a Khabri now -)

use a higher backlift and play straight if you are not good at that than practice once you have play good shots you get confidence and thats the time to do your big shots (like you said you are a bad starter well you need produce a shot ( YOU JUST CAN`T AFFORD TO GO IN A SHELL) and show them you mean buisness that gives you confidence if you want to make a six you need to hit it well in the middle of the bat try to swing the bat faster and it should go all the way make shor that that your backlift is a bit high to pruduce power on the shot don`t do extremely higher backlift you might get out because by the time the ball lands on the bat you will miss it completely and might get out.

how about that

hope this helps

I have a problem that my pads are sometimes in front of me and too uncomfortable and sometimes when i go for a shot by my pads they get in the way..