Citizenship Amendment Bill: India's new 'anti-Muslim' law causes uproar

Let’s disagree to agree here.

What do you expect from Modi-Shah to do to our Indian economy and unemployment crisis? I am asking you because you have a lot of trust in them.

Why he will bother because he believes that Hindus faced a lot of injustice during Mughal and British period ,Modi and Shah are doing a great job to become a messiah of Hindus according to him.

The area he is talking about.

He's talking about cutting off one area (holding it as ransom) via blocking the only connecting path on another state. There are two areas involved here. Which area you are talking about?

Let’s disagree to agree here.

What do you expect from Modi-Shah to do to our Indian economy and unemployment crisis? I am asking you because you have a lot of trust in them.

They have 4 years to fix the economy. If they cant, out they go. As simple as that. I have no issues with that.

Why is it difficult to discuss what brought Modi to power? Why people voted overwhelmingly for him in two Elections? Why did BJP win 18 seats in Bengal?

Unless we remedy the reason for their rise, you will see another Modi coming to power in few years.

Why he will bother because he believes that Hindus faced a lot of injustice during Mughal and British period ,Modi and Shah are doing a great job to become a messiah of Hindus according to him.

Hindus faced a lot of discrimination since 1947. I have issues with that.

Muslims or Hindus or Christians or anyone else is free to vote and choose the govt. What is wrong in that?

Everyone has their own choice to vote whom,where did I mention that maybe you are in joshila mode to read instead of reading with cool mind.

Where did I mention you can't vote for the party you believe in?

Then we should respect the result of that vote.

The opposition is stupid. The real issue is economy.

But they are stuck on CAA. Now that the likes of Sharjeel, Afreen,Arfa etc have been exposed and the real agenda behind these so called protests are out, they are running around to defend it.

These protests have only solidified Bjp voter base.

The opposition has no idea about what is the real issue for majority of the people.

Then we should respect the result of that vote.

The opposition is stupid. The real issue is economy.

But they are stuck on CAA. Now that the likes of Sharjeel, Afreen,Arfa etc have been exposed and the real agenda behind these so called protests are out, they are running around to defend it.

These protests have only solidified Bjp voter base.

The opposition has no idea about what is the real issue for majority of the people.

Instead of bringing CAA why can't government start to focus on economy in first place?

They will if the opposition starts punching them on that issue. But no one is interested.

The protest should be on the economy. But no one is interested.

The opposition is led by idiots. The started the fake Rafale issue, thinking ot will be Bjps 2G or Coal Gate. Bjp came out laughing from the supreme court.

Modi govt is not perfect. It has numerous flaws. My loyalty lies with my country and not Modi.

But after seeing 10 years of italian rule, i cannot vote for them.

620-km human chain formed in Kerala demanding withdrawal of CAA
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.news18.com/amp/news/india/620-km-human-chain-formed-in-kerala
The Left democratic front claimed that around 6 to 7 million people participated in the human chain,Even though left claims that they are a principle based party but they are definitely eyeing the Muslim vote bank, it will be another humiliating experience for them if muslim community decides to support congress in upcoming state elections.

India slips two places on global corruption perception index
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.th...ion-perception-index/article30634389.ece/amp/
Lynchers are turning out to be looters too lol [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION]
‘No change’

In the last eight years, only 22 countries significantly improved their CPI scores, including Greece, Guyana and Estonia. In the same period, among the 21 countries that saw a significantly fall in their scores are Canada, Australia and Nicaragua. In the remaining 137 countries, the levels of corruption show little to no change, the report said.

‘No change’

In the last eight years, only 22 countries significantly improved their CPI scores, including Greece, Guyana and Estonia. In the same period, among the 21 countries that saw a significantly fall in their scores are Canada, Australia and Nicaragua. In the remaining 137 countries, the levels of corruption show little to no change, the report said.
Opaque political financing, lobbying by corporate interests has caused control of corruption to fall in democracies like India.These corporates are the biggest contributors of BJP's funds

Political financing should be opaque. If individual's vote is kept a secret through secret ballot, voting through money should also remain a secret. Otherwise it will create bias for/against the companies.

They have 4 years to fix the economy. If they cant, out they go. As simple as that. I have no issues with that.

Why is it difficult to discuss what brought Modi to power? Why people voted overwhelmingly for him in two Elections? Why did BJP win 18 seats in Bengal?

Unless we remedy the reason for their rise, you will see another Modi coming to power in few years.

A huge number of Germans were supporting Hitler right until the end of world war 2, until he shot himself.

You know why? Because he had total control of national media, he brainwashed them into thinking what he was doing is right and everyone else was an enemy. Keep coming up with new conspiracy theories why the world is turning against Modi, sooner or later you will be shocked when you realize the truth.

620-km human chain formed in Kerala demanding withdrawal of CAA
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.news18.com/amp/news/india/620-km-human-chain-formed-in-kerala
The Left democratic front claimed that around 6 to 7 million people participated in the human chain,Even though left claims that they are a principle based party but they are definitely eyeing the Muslim vote bank, it will be another humiliating experience for them if muslim community decides to support congress in upcoming state elections.

Bigger than the missed calls that Amit Shah got in support for CAA.

A huge number of Germans were supporting Hitler right until the end of world war 2, until he shot himself.

You know why? Because he had total control of national media, he brainwashed them into thinking what he was doing is right and everyone else was an enemy. Keep coming up with new conspiracy theories why the world is turning against Modi, sooner or later you will be shocked when you realize the truth.

So Modi controls Media?

Did he control media in his 12 years as Gujarat CM?

Did he control Media in 2014 as a candidate?

He controls bengali media? Haven't seen any bengali media eulogies modi.

Is Hitler any worse than the colonial imperalist British he was fighting? Hitler abolished elections and banned parties.

In India Modi is back to power on winning elections.

I dont need any theories. People voted for Modi because they understand where they will stand if they vote Congress,SP,BSP,RJD,TMC etc. People have seen what these parties did to get votes post Indira Gandhi.

Yes and lobbying by corporates I don’t see an issue sorry, socialist policies work jack in our country and this is one area where Kerala and Bengal coz socialism have such a long way to go.

I was part of the group that gave most money through electoral bonds to BJP, now I hate BJP but corporates are the only way India can move ahead.

No i am not.

Mamata Banerjee is notorious for settling Bangladeshis and using them as votebank. She even settled Rohingyas.

Why do you think Bjp won 18 of 42 seats in bengal in 2019, up from 2 in 2014.

People are fed up of her policies.

Obviously not fed up enough to provide 50% of the vote.

It makes you think, is democracy (in practical sense) just another form of feudalism?

Yes and lobbying by corporates I don’t see an issue sorry, socialist policies work jack in our country and this is one area where Kerala and Bengal coz socialism have such a long way to go.

I was part of the group that gave most money through electoral bonds to BJP, now I hate BJP but corporates are the only way India can move ahead.
I agree with you now only corporates can provide jobs to millions of Indians but you need to provide them level playing field but it's certainly not the case in India.

Rallies held in 30 US cities against controversial Indian law

WASHINGTON: Protests against India’s new citizenship laws were held in 30 US cities on Sunday as thousands of Indian-Americans came out on the streets to vent their anger.

In Washington, hundreds gathered outside the White House, chanting slogans against Prime Minister Narendra Modi who, they said, was undermining their country’s secular constitution. Hundreds more camped outside the Indian Embassy, circling Mahatma Gandhi’s statue, as the embassy celebrated India’s Republic Day.

Embassy officials and their security staff tried to stop the protesters from getting close to the main entrance but gave up as the crowd pushed ahead, peacefully.

Like their compatriots in India, protesters in Washington too seemed to draw inspiration from Urdu poetry as those outside the White House sang Allama Iqbal’s Saare Jahan se Accha before marching down to the embassy to join the crowd already camping there. Hundreds of Khalistan supporters also protested outside the embassy, but in a separate enclave the local police had carved out for them.

They urged US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo to add India to a list of nations that commit severe violations of religious freedom. The designation can trigger economic sanctions.

The protesters also urged the US State Department to “heed the recommendation” of the US Commission for International Religious Freedom and impose a travel ban on India’s Home Minister Amit Shah.

The protests were organised by the Coalition to Stop Genocide, which includes various Indian diaspora groups that observed the Indian Republic Day as the day of action against the Modi government and its policies.

Throughout the three to four-hour long march from the White House to the Indian Embassy, the protesters chanted slogans against the “racist and anti-Muslim” policies of the Modi government.

Organisers of the Washington rally later told journalists that such laws were made to isolate India’s more than 250 million Muslims and turn them into second-grade citizens.

They pointed out that nearly two million people were dropped from the citizenship list in Assam alone and many fear a nationwide NRC will possibly render millions of Indian Muslims stateless.

“I can’t go back to India right now. But I have come here to protest the war Modi has started against India’s Muslims,” Mustaqeem, a protester in New York told Al Jazeera.

Protesters in New York raised banners against Mr Modi, Home Minister Shah, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ideological parent, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

The Indian American Muslim Council, Hindus for Human Rights, Equity Labs, Shri Guru Ravidass Sabha of New York, Black Lives Matter and the Jewish Voice for Peace also participated in the New York rally.

The BJP government’s “Hindu nationalism is exclusive by definition and seems to have hatred at its centre”, said Sunita Viswanath of Hindus for Human Rights.

“When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty,” declared a poster displayed in New York. “Martin Luther King’s dream vs India’s Nazi vision,” declared another.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1530953/rallies-held-in-30-us-cities-against-controversial-indian-law

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WATCH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WATCH</a>: BJP MP Parvesh Verma says, "...Lakhs of people gather there (Shaheen Bagh). People of Delhi will have to think & take a decision. They'll enter your houses, rape your sisters&daughters, kill them. There's time today, Modi ji & Amit Shah won't come to save you tomorrow..." <a href="https://t.co/1G801z5ZbM">pic.twitter.com/1G801z5ZbM</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1222011145168609281?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Harjit Singh shouted 'CAA wapas lo' at <a href="https://twitter.com/AmitShah?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AmitShah</a>'s rally. <br><br>He was then beaten by the crowd, taken by the police, alleges he was asked to sign a document saying he was mentally unstable, and was picked up from his house and put in jail a day later. <a href="https://t.co/fDBtGyFyr2">https://t.co/fDBtGyFyr2</a></p>— The Wire (@thewire_in) <a href="https://twitter.com/thewire_in/status/1222051651340488704?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2020</a></blockquote>

The amount of hate Indians Muslims have is astonishing to see. Its first time after a long time, that they are vocal and open about it. Taking the country for hostage and spewing abuses against others.

Ultimately, for the gov, a democracy cannot work by allowing a veto power to them. Its challenging times ahead

The amount of hate Indians Muslims have is astonishing to see. Its first time after a long time, that they are vocal and open about it. Taking the country for hostage and spewing abuses against others.

Ultimately, for the gov, a democracy cannot work by allowing a veto power to them. Its challenging times ahead

Sorry its wrong to paint all Muslims like this.

There is a section of muslims who believe they have the right to determine what happens in this country. That they are to be treated differently and anythi6 they dont like shall not be done. They have their followers and those are the ones you see in places like Shaheen Bagh etc.

They are throughly communal and hate other hindus.

They have their pawns everywhere. From JNU to Jamia to AMU to journalists to actors. Everywhere.

Now since the present govt hasnot bowed down before them like Rajiv Gandhi and others did, they are getting increasingly frustrated and their mask is slipping.

Killing of Pro CAA supporter in Jharkhand is what they are doing.

These protests are not Secular nor are they for the constitution. Its for a section of muslims to get their political veto back.

But all they are doing is provoking the ordinary man.

BJP hate spilling over into other countries as well. ****** think they can exhibit their bigotry in UAE as well.

Dubai: Job seeker from Kerala told to join Shaheenbagh CAA protests
Keralite left aghast by prospective employer’s shocking response to job application

Published: January 26, 2020 15:02
Mazhar Farooqui, Features Editor - Special Reports

Dubai: A Keralite job seeker in Dubai has been left aghast after his prospective employer wrote back chiding him for looking for work and suggested that he should make a living (sic) by joining protestors in Shaheen Bagh in New Delhi.

Shaheen Bagh is the epicentre of ongoing mass demonstrations against India’s controversial Citizenship Amendment Act.

Abdulla S.S., 23, who had applied for a mechanical engineer’s position in Dubai said he is still reeling from the shock of the email he got from UAE-based Indian expat Jayant Gokhale in response to his job application last week.

Offensive response to job application
“Just a thought. Why u need a job? Go to Delhi and sit in Shaheen Bagh for protest. Every day you will get Rs 1000. Free food i.e Biryani, Unlimited amount of Tea and Milk, some time sweets also,” Gokhale said in the email which has since gone viral.

NAT SHAHEEN BAGH MF-1580036521119
Scores have shared the email on social media seeking action against Gokhale who runs a consultancy in Dubai. Many said the email is offensive on two counts. First, it ridicules and discriminates a job seeker on the basis of his religious identity and, second, it undermines the credibility of Shaheen Bagh protestors by suggesting that they are being paid to sit in.

Abdullah said he’s sad and appalled. I shared Mr Gokhale’s email with some friends. Who would have thought it would go viral. I don’t want any controversy. All I want is a job,” he said.

Gokhale apologises
Talking to Gulf News over the phone, Gokhale said he’s suffering from ill-health and undergoing dialysis. “My email is being blown out of proportion. I didn’t mean what I wrote,” he said.

Gokhale also sent an email statement to Gulf News clarifying his stand.

“My message to candidate was not intended to hurt anyone in any manner or discriminate. I have already sent apology message to the concerned person [Abdullah],” he said in the email reproduced here ad verbum. “I very much value UAE’s outlook, policies and culture. I do not in anyway like to go against values of UAE. In fact I am very thankful to UAE for looking after my health,” he added.

Earlier this month, Amit Malviya, a leader of the ruling Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and head of its IT cell, tweeted a video where claims were made that the women protesters in Shaheen Bagh were “paid Rs 500 to 700” each.

The official twitter handle of Shaheen Bagh protest later quashed the claim as false.

Mistaken identity

Meanwhile, it has emerged that the Facebook profile photograph being erroneously circulated alongside Gokhale’s insensitive email is of another person by the same name who used to work as a plant manager at Gulf Steel Strands in Jebel Ali about four years ago.

NAT SHAHEEN BAGH MF Facebook-1580036523525
“My name is Jayant Gokhale alright, but I am not the same Jayant Gokhale who allegedly sent that email. It has been falsely attributed to me. The confusion arose because we share the same name and have Dubai connections. It’s a case of mistaken identity. I am under tremendous stress as I am getting abusive and threatening messages on Facebook messenger and LinkedIn since the past two days. I have lodged a complaint with Mumbai Police in this regard.” the other Gokhale told Gulf News over the phone from India. He also posted a clarification on Facebook and LinkedIn.

https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/india/dubai-job-seeker-from-kerala-told-to-join-shaheenbagh-caa-protests-1.69274607

“My message to candidate was not intended to hurt anyone in any manner or discriminate. I have already sent apology message to the concerned person [Abdullah],” he said in the email reproduced here ad verbum. “I very much value UAE’s outlook, policies and culture. I do not in anyway like to go against values of UAE. In fact I am very thankful to UAE for looking after my health,” he added.
Another shameless sanghi following the path of veer savarkarji lol

India as we know it is coming to an end.. this will be a more expressive hindu nationalist government heading towards fascism.

And unfortunately nobody can do anything about it. That’s how it is. I think sooner the Pakistanis accept it, the better it is. The Indian Muslims are unfortunately on their own to fend for themselves. There is no negotiating or debating this matter anymore. This is not Kashmir. This is truly India’s own internal matter. I think gradually Muslims will be phased out of India either through deportation voluntary or otherwise, killings, and other methods. It has been made clear to them that country does not want them. Their best hope is that neighboring countries will grant them political asylum.

The truth as I know is in Mallapuram, you will struggle to buy a block of land if you are any religion other than a Muslim, if a Hindu shop owner opens his shop during Ramadan that shop will be vandalised with the owner receiving death threats or at worst be killed. Also I don't need to talk about the constant ISIS recruiting that goes on in Kerala. I agree with some things you are saying in regards to the Modi Government, however Muslims are no angels their influence from the Quran in a Hindu Majority country is a recipe for disaster. Now before you call me a Sanghi or ***** or whatever else (even though I am not ). Maybe the Muslim community in India needs to retrospect?. BTW I am not saying Hindus are angels either..

I was in Kerala last year, I was visiting my uncle and he told me, let go for a walk across Indian Karachi, i didnt know what he meant till we went on the walk. The actual place is called karukapally near Kalladdi. Just a walk with him in the street and people were staring at us over the fences, throygh the iron gates etc asking who we are and telling us we are not allowed to walk there as this is Muslim area.

The truth as I know is in Mallapuram, you will struggle to buy a block of land if you are any religion other than a Muslim, if a Hindu shop owner opens his shop during Ramadan that shop will be vandalised with the owner receiving death threats or at worst be killed. Also I don't need to talk about the constant ISIS recruiting that goes on in Kerala. I agree with some things you are saying in regards to the Modi Government, however Muslims are no angels their influence from the Quran in a Hindu Majority country is a recipe for disaster. Now before you call me a Sanghi or ***** or whatever else (even though I am not ). Maybe the Muslim community in India needs to retrospect?. BTW I am not saying Hindus are angels either..

I was in Kerala last year, I was visiting my uncle and he told me, let go for a walk across Indian Karachi, i didnt know what he meant till we went on the walk. The actual place is called karukapally near Kalladdi. Just a walk with him in the street and people were staring at us over the fences, throygh the iron gates etc asking who we are and telling us we are not allowed to walk there as this is Muslim area.

Have you read the Quran? Can you explain what you mean by your statement that “... their influence from the Quran in a hindu majority country...... “

I am just curious because that to me was not very clear..

Have you read the Quran? Can you explain what you mean by your statement that “... their influence from the Quran in a hindu majority country...... “

I am just curious because that to me was not very clear..

I can't be bothered explaining this to you. There are verses in the Quran and Hadith that can be termed very offensive to a non muslim, however that should be discussed in another thread. If a thread is created I will participate when I feel I need to..

You should really consult a proper translation of the Quran and I won’t just go believing any Hadith willey nilly because there is a lot of rubbish out there believed to be Hadith, but it’s not.

“Muslims are ordered to be loyal the country they live in and follow the laws of the land they live in.”

You can check the above quote in light of Quran and Hadith. If we don’t follow it, we are not going by what Islam teaches us. So I don’t know what you have read or what you are told, but basically you are here on a Pakistani forum, telling us that Muslims in India need to not take Quran’s influence if they want to live peacefully in India.
I hope reading the above helps you realize the ridiculousness of it all.

What you should be hoping and praying for is that Muslims in your country do not fall victim to radical twisted ideologies of so called Muslim scholars which exist even in Pakistan and we struggle with them too. They make life difficult for Muslims belonging to sects other than their own.
But you know what drives poor disenfranchised people towards radicalization? Isolation. Refusal of rights and absence of Equal footing. And that’s what is going on now. So if you think their behavior was bad before, just watch how the new generation turns out!

but basically you are here on a Pakistani forum, telling us that Muslims in India need to not take Quran’s influence if they want to live peacefully in India.

Well I did clarify that I was referring to sections of the Hadiths and Quran that would offend the non Muslims in reference to what you posted on your first reply..

But you know what drives poor disenfranchised people towards radicalization? Isolation. Refusal of rights and absence of Equal footing. And that’s what is going on now. So if you think their behavior was bad before, just watch how the new generation turns out!

Muslims in Kerala are far from being disadvantaged or isolated, if anything I would say they are at an advantage as the Hindu Majority is backing them. However the catch is Muslim Malayalees won't back their Hindu brethren due to religion.. This is a hard one to explain...

Even Keralite christian church has started raising an alarm over conversion of christians into muslims and ISIS recruitment.

But no. They will not talk about it.

There is a reason why people vote Modi. He is seen as a counter balance who will protect hindu rights.

Italian congress SP BSP commies TMC RJD are seen as sold outs.

Parties that are still considered to be some what neutral win, like Bjd TRS YSRCP etc.

You should really consult a proper translation of the Quran and I won’t just go believing any Hadith willey nilly because there is a lot of rubbish out there believed to be Hadith, but it’s not.

“Muslims are ordered to be loyal the country they live in and follow the laws of the land they live in.”

You can check the above quote in light of Quran and Hadith. If we don’t follow it, we are not going by what Islam teaches us. So I don’t know what you have read or what you are told, but basically you are here on a Pakistani forum, telling us that Muslims in India need to not take Quran’s influence if they want to live peacefully in India.
I hope reading the above helps you realize the ridiculousness of it all.

What you should be hoping and praying for is that Muslims in your country do not fall victim to radical twisted ideologies of so called Muslim scholars which exist even in Pakistan and we struggle with them too. They make life difficult for Muslims belonging to sects other than their own.

Do you live in a non islamic country? If yes i would like to ask a few questions.

Even Keralite christian church has started raising an alarm over conversion of christians into muslims and ISIS recruitment.

There is a reason why people vote Modi. He is seen as a counter balance who will protect hindu rights.

Parties that are still considered to be some what neutral win, like Bjd TRS YSRCP etc.

Now can you imagine if all of Kerala was like Malapuram ? They would eradicate all the beautiful, ancient Vedic culture, the Sanskrit teachings which pioneered the way before any Abrahamic faiths even came to existence. When muslims of the sub continent are in the majority, the minorities will really struggle to survive, however when they are in the minority they demand equal rights and if Hindus raise any concern, they are called Sanghis, Hindutva etc, they will cause every uproar, cry foul...... Can you imagine if all of whatever is left of the Pakistani Hindus caused an uproar like what the Indian muslims are doing, what would happen to them ? I rest my case.... Imranstas will come out any moment after reading my posts though :P

Why are you spreading lies and hatred RR. You really don’t know how we live peacefully here. Show me any reputed news paper saying your nonsense.

India’s former foreign secretary Malappuram-born Nirupama Rao’s tweet against right wing hate campaign against Malappuram district has taken the twitteratti by storm. Ms Rao, who hails from Meempat family in Malappuram, lambasted at a tweet by a Twitter handle Somnath (@reachsom) which claimed that “except Muslims, nobody can buy land in Malappuram.” In a fitting reply, she tweeted: “That is an outright lie. I am from Malappuram, and my family has owned land there for over a hundred years. You are spreading hate.”

https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/in-other-news/060617/nirupama-rao-bares-no-land-for-hindu-charge.html

You can’t even spell the district’s name correctly and you are saying you know more about them than me.

I don’t want to engage with [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION] anymore. You are adding nothing good to anyone.

So can Hindus in India be scared? Evidently, with various Muslim children, woman and people are on the street freely abusing and threatening them. Or is being scared only the default and exclusive right of Muslim? These anti- CAA has exposed the deep hatred of majority community, Hinduphobia.

Seditious school play: Case filed against Karnataka school management for anti-CAA play, students questioned

Management of a school in Karnataka's Bidar has been booked for staging a play against the Citizenship Amendment Act and National Register of Citizens.

As per the Karnataka Police, the students of Shaheen School in Bidar performed play against the CAA and NRC on Republic Day. The play included derogatory words against Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the police said.

In the play, the participating children say that if anyone asks for documents then they should be hit with slippers.

Speaking to India Today TV, SP Bidar confirmed the reports and said that they were questioning the students who participated in the skit to know who tutored them.

Meanwhile, a case of sedition has been filed against the president, management and another person of Shaheen school.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), a student organisation affiliated to the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), had protested saying the play was derogatory.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...rform-play-against-caa-nrc-1640956-2020-01-28

Ok so now you have a problem with conversions then you should really think over why conversions are taking place first? Are christians disenfranchised with their religion? What pulls them towards Islam? It’s not like they are being forced to convert! I mean in a country like India, how can someone be forced to convert to a Muslim?

Why do you have a problem with people converting to a different faith of their own free will? That does not make any sense to me

ISIS recruitment, if true, is a problem. My understanding was ISIS is finished. Do you have any proof to back your claim there is ISIS recruitment going on in India?

These guys now pushing local terrorism recruitment as an excuse..
Their extreme fascict mindset is now working to portray muslims are terrorists and evil people.
Not all of them, but some of them.

Why are you spreading lies and hatred RR. You really don’t know how we live peacefully here. Show me any reputed news paper saying your nonsense.

India’s former foreign secretary Malappuram-born Nirupama Rao’s tweet against right wing hate campaign against Malappuram district has taken the twitteratti by storm. Ms Rao, who hails from Meempat family in Malappuram, lambasted at a tweet by a Twitter handle Somnath (@reachsom) which claimed that “except Muslims, nobody can buy land in Malappuram.” In a fitting reply, she tweeted: “That is an outright lie. I am from Malappuram, and my family has owned land there for over a hundred years. You are spreading hate.”

https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nation/in-other-news/060617/nirupama-rao-bares-no-land-for-hindu-charge.html

I genuinely feel sad for you and hope that the views expressed on this forum are the minority.

Sadly that's not the case. These nutcases are multiplying with each passing day and we are more and more divided than ever before.

Immy,

What is happening in Malappuram and the ISIS issue in Kerala is true. Of course she will deny it, issue here is, I am upfront and straight to the point, not for the faint hearted. I have had family members and friends who tried to buy land in Malappuram and what I am saying is their direct feedback.

Do they allow Triple Talaq, Polygamy or Nikah Halala in US? If no, does that make Muslims in US lesser Muslims?
Like I said we live by the laws of the land. If there were enough Muslims here who voted for these laws, we would have them but we don’t and personally to me it doesn’t make any difference. Not many Muslims these days who want multiple wives.
Now what is your point with this question?

Ok so now you have a problem with conversions then you should really think over why conversions are taking place first? Are christians disenfranchised with their religion? What pulls them towards Islam? It’s not like they are being forced to convert! I mean in a country like India, how can someone be forced to convert to a Muslim?

Why do you have a problem with people converting to a different faith of their own free will? That does not make any sense to me

Earlier hindus raised these issues. Then sikhs now even christians are complaining.

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/thep...-kerala-govt-says-it-doesnt-exist/351174/?amp

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www....ent-sanction-to-it-kerala-priest-2474637.html

Like I said we live by the laws of the land. If there were enough Muslims here who voted for these laws, we would have them but we don’t and personally to me it doesn’t make any difference. Not many Muslims these days who want multiple wives.

Hopefully those laws never see daylight in US.

We need 1 Nation, 1 Law irrespective of religion, race, language, sex etc.

Hahah. That’s so typical. Small rebel outfits pop up here and there and claim they are part of the big bad evil. We saw that with al Qaeda too. Now it’s happening with ISIS. They are not ISIS. They are wannabes. But yes nonetheless I agree it’s a concern. You should ask yourself why this happens? Why young men and women get attracted to such causes? I think you may find the answer in the same article. It’s a vicious cycle. Happens in Pakistan too. But does that somehow warrant discrimination against a whole community? Doing so, like the article states does nothing but hand the recruiters of these evil people more ammo to attract young fragile minds.

In India all these three laws existed. Last year the supreme court of India struck down triple talaq being unconstitutional as it violates art 14-18 of indian Constitution.

The muslim bodies opposed it.

Now people challenged polygamy and nikaah halala.

Now the muslim bodies say No one can intefere in these matters. That these matters are sharia and court cannot interfere.

India is not a islamic nations that islamic laws that sharia laws will be allowed. Certain sections of muslims believe that while they will claim secularism when demanding rights, they will follow Sharia when it suits them.

While you have someone like [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] who believes in uniform laws.

The situation today isnt a one sided thing.

Do they allow Triple Talaq, Polygamy or Nikah Halala in US? If no, does that make Muslims in US lesser Muslims?

They don’t ban Cow meat either. Also tell
me what are the inheritance and succession laws in India based on religion and why do you have no issue with that.

I’m all for UCC but first BJP also has come into play here and accept that one country one law favoring no religion including Hindus.

You can’t keep bringing in differences of religious laws when you are not ok with unbanning of cow meat for UCC..

India is not a Hindu nation either .. we should accept that and make Indian UCC

That still doesn’t answer my question though.. if these are NOT forced conversions and people are converting with their own free will, what really is the problem? Are there any underlying reasons? That would be a good starting point.. I get visits from Jehovah’s witnesses at my house here regularly (3/4 visits at least per year). It’s a free country. They are free to preach. I politely thank them and take their literature. What I do with it is my business. I am not interested. Now if Muslims are doing the same and others are listening, there has to be a reason why they are doing so.

What’s your view on majority deciding what laws to have in a country, discriminative or otherwise.

In India all these three laws existed. Last year the supreme court of India struck down triple talaq being unconstitutional as it violates art 14-18 of indian Constitution.

The muslim bodies opposed it.

Now people challenged polygamy and nikaah halala.

Now the muslim bodies say No one can intefere in these matters. That these matters are sharia and court cannot interfere.

India is not a islamic nations that islamic laws that sharia laws will be allowed. Certain sections of muslims believe that while they will claim secularism when demanding rights, they will follow Sharia when it suits them.

While you have someone like [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] who believes in uniform laws.

The situation today isnt a one sided thing.

Why are we discussing this? This is apples and oranges. Muslims have been living in India for hundreds of years and these laws have been there for years as well and now if they are being changed all of a sudden, of course there will be a reaction.
Hows it the same comparing this with Muslims in USA and a Europe who are mostly immigrants and Our presence here dates back barely 60-70 years.. entirely different dynamics..

What’s your view on majority deciding what laws to have in a country, discriminative or otherwise.

Every country is different.. there should be representation of minorities when these laws are made. If there is a due process (certain bills that pass through the houses and become laws, as in the case of US) then there should not be any reason for complain. It should not be a unilateral decision though.

They don’t ban Cow meat either. Also tell
me what are the inheritance and succession laws in India based on religion and why do you have no issue with that.

I’m all for UCC but first BJP also has come into play here and accept that one country one law favoring no religion including Hindus.

You can’t keep bringing in differences of religious laws when you are not ok with unbanning of cow meat for UCC..

India is not a Hindu nation either .. we should accept that and make Indian UCC

Bjp has come to power in 2014. Why wasnt UCC applied since 1950?

Why hindu were brought under constitutional courts while Muslims free to keep their personal laws.

UCC requires two thirds majority in each house. NDA doesn't have that.

Leave UCC, parties refuse to even support the law banning triple talaq.

Why are we discussing this? This is apples and oranges. Muslims have been living in India for hundreds of years and these laws have been there for years as well and now if they are being changed all of a sudden, of course there will be a reaction.
Hows it the same comparing this with Muslims in USA and a Europe who are mostly immigrants and Our presence here dates back barely 60-70 years.. entirely different dynamics..

The present constitution of India is 70 years old only.

People will raise questions why 15% of population gets to decide which laws they will follow, which they wont

Secularism isnt the burden of non muslims only.

Bjp has come to power in 2014. Why wasnt UCC applied since 1950?

Why hindu were brought under constitutional courts while Muslims free to keep their personal laws.

UCC requires two thirds majority in each house. NDA doesn't have that.

Leave UCC, parties refuse to even support the law banning triple talaq.

My question is to BJP supporters like yourself , Congress leaders appeased I agree, the question is to BJP supporters who want UCC now , do they realize what is UCC? Or they mistake it for HCC?

Not asking BJP to pass it, but what would the bill say? UCC laws and one point would be cow meat is banned still? Then suppose a cow meat eater challenges that then what?

Every country is different.. there should be representation of minorities when these laws are made. If there is a due process (certain bills that pass through the houses and become laws, as in the case of US) then there should not be any reason for complain. It should not be a unilateral decision though.

Representation of minorities? Do you mean reservations?
Patriot Act was passed through the house, so you have no issue with that act?