Lahore: 64
Amritsar: 78

Cost per km (Pakistani Rs) :
Lahore: Rs. 1.1 billion
Amritsar: Rs.29 million

Total cost:
Lahore: Rs 30 billion
Amritsar: Rs 9 billion

Now the funny thing is that the cost of Rawalpindi metro is the double of this in terms of cost when according to the American Public Transport Association among the Lahore Metro was already the most expensive metro projects ever

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x3d5r8m" allowfullscreen></iframe><br /><a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x3d5r8m_lahore-metro-shareef-vs-amritsar-metro-bus_tv" target="_blank">Lahore Metro Shareef VS Amritsar Metro Bus</a> <i>by <a href="http://www.dailymotion.com/fun-time-pass" target="_blank">fun-time-pass</a></i>

Amritsar is just a regular city in India, it's famous due to the golden temple and some other tourist hotspots like Wagah and Jalian Walah Bagh. Lahore is Pakistan's equivalent of Delhi.

A huge difference in size between both cities.

For the purposes of the metro, that is irrelevent because the covered area and number of buses account for costing not the importance or size of the city

Land acquisition cost may be higher for denser and bigger cities.

PS: I have no clue about why cost is higher for one. Just making a comment here.

WTH, how did they manage to build a metro which is less in distance with 4 times more cost??

Land acquisition cost may be higher for denser and bigger cities.

Not the reason here because even for other cities like Ahmedabad, Istabul etc etc its cost per km is much higer. Plus that isnt outlined in the costing and they would have otherwise

Did not see the video but just wondering if the currency is PKR for Amritsar project as well.

Yep ofcourse lol.

You never know with the desi media. They would say these many rupees for this and this many rupees for that. This reminds me of an anecdote when my father got me a camcorder from Hongkong and said that it was $1500 conveniently forgetting to mention Hk before the dollar.

By the way, Badals enjoy the same reputation in Indian Punjab as the Sharifs in Pakistan and they are known to be family friends. 2-4 bori cement kam pad gayi to ek dusre se le lenge.

Want a pointless, expensive Indian project? Check out the Bangalore Metro.

Bits and pieces network that is coming along at a snail's pace with huge escalations in costs every step of the way. The latest is that they've run into some rock underground and a tunnel boring machine is stuck there.

This never happened in Chennai/Mumbai/Hyderabad or of course, Delhi. Calcutta's metro was constructed decades ago and even it managed to come up faster than these guys can complete a single phase. Ridiculous.

Didn't even know Amritsar had one :\ i guess the metros get more publicity than metro bus system.

because for India metro bus systems are fairly regular projects.

I wonder if indian politicians also showcase metros / under passes / bridges / fly overs for their election campaigns to get votes? or this trend only works in Pakistan [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

I'm not too sure, i know Ahmedabad has one which is based on the Japanese one, i would prefer metro bus systems as well but Chennai chose metro train as well slow as snail though and most expensive in India.Although we have a great local train transport already existing.

The metro bus system is way cheaper than the metro train ones also quicker construction but not too sure about how it holds out in future.Also on Amritsar it also could be that the labor was very cheap mostly coming out of Bihar,UP,Orissa as i don't see the labor cost being compared.

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] i am not good without accounting and all this construction stuff but i noticed Amritsar metro have 7 lines connecting different areas of city while Lahore have only 1. Amritsar have 62 stations while Lahore have 27. So what this point proves? :13:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amritsar_BRTS
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lahore_Metrobus
I would guess more lines and more stations would mean more cost right? Dont know though.

One thing to take note is that the daily ridership of Lahore metrobus is likely to be much higher than Amritsar potentially but I doubt maintenance would quadruple the costs.

I dont think Amritsar has BRTS system working as yet.
Reportr should show the sources of his info.

I would guess more lines and more stations would mean more cost right? Dont know though.

One thing to take note is that the daily ridership of Lahore metrobus is likely to be much higher than Amritsar potentially but I doubt maintenance would quadruple the costs.

yea they have 2 more lines of metro in lahore planned to increase the ridership but im not sure what is budget for these 2 new lines.

I'm not too sure, i know Ahmedabad has one which is based on the Japanese one, i would prefer metro bus systems as well but Chennai chose metro train as well slow as snail though and most expensive in India.Although we have a great local train transport already existing.

The metro bus system is way cheaper than the metro train ones also quicker construction but not too sure about how it holds out in future.Also on Amritsar it also could be that the labor was very cheap mostly coming out of Bihar,UP,Orissa as i don't see the labor cost being compared.
Yes Ahmedabad has one and it imuch cheaper too?

Why do you prefer bus systems though? They have a much shorter life.

Metro trains i would have thought go much faster!!!

Delhi Metro express goes upto 135 km/h but i think regular ones go around 80kph. Is speed not same in Chennai?

I wonder if indian politicians also showcase metros / under passes / bridges / fly overs for their election campaigns to get votes? or this trend only works in Pakistan [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]

They used to a lot but now almost all major cities have it so i don't think its a big deal but in my city they sure are trying to make it like that with metro train

Also most cities consider it as a pride to have it but tbh i have only liked Delhi's metro till now connects not only the whole city but also nearby states and there the Congress Govn was thrown out which actually got it done.

I dont think Amritsar has BRTS system working as yet.
Reportr should show the sources of his info.

it starts next month. I made mistake in OP and cant change lol. Whn I was mod i could change whenever so not used to double checking :))

Audhay se isteefa nahi dehna chahye tha :srt

Problem with metro trains and metro buses in Pakistan is that the desi mentality is down to do jugaari kaam and use lower grade materials which put the safety of the projects on the line.

I really fear for the RWP-ISL metro. They have used very very poor quality materials to build the overhead bridges and pieces of it keep falling off and already 10 or so people have died due to this. When the earthquake came it was literally shaking. Allah khair kare

Yes Ahmedabad has one and it imuch cheaper too?

Why do you prefer bus systems though? They have a much shorter life.

Metro trains i would have thought go much faster!!!

Delhi Metro express goes upto 135 km/h but i think regular ones go around 80kph. Is speed not same in Chennai?

Metro defn is faster and much more efficient but is a headache when being built.Not too sure about Ahmedabad bus metro costs was very well marketed by Modi though when he was the CM.

They used to a lot but now almost all major cities have it so i don't think its a big deal but in my city they sure are trying to make it like that with metro train

Also most cities consider it as a pride to have it but tbh i have only liked Delhi's metro till now connects not only the whole city but also nearby states and there the Congress Govn was thrown out which actually got it done.

so this is no more a big card to play in campaigns there. Pakistani politicians know fixing health and education sector is not going to help them secure votes because of the mindset of majority of the voters (not all) so they use these projects to showcase for their election campaigns.

To give you an idea Shehbaz Sharif introduced Danish School system in his last term as CM (2009) each school yes one school under this system cost was around 70-80 crore pakistani rupees while the existing govt schools are in worst conditions they created this new school system with all the facilities to showcase for campaign i wonder why not use that 700 million rupees fixing existing govt schools in those districts instead of introducing this new system? 700 million rupees can help 100 existing schools with basi facilities even if you give 7 million to each school.

Currently there are around 7 Daanish school in different districts and and around 5 billion rupees were spent on them instead of using those 5 billion rupees to fix the existing govt schools and than moving forward and going for these new systems.

so this is no more a big card to play in campaigns there. Pakistani politicians know fixing health and education sector is not going to help them secure votes because of the mindset of majority of the voters (not all) so they use these projects to showcase for their election campaigns.

To give you an idea Shehbaz Sharif introduced Danish School system in his last term as CM (2009) each school yes one school under this system cost was around 70-80 crore pakistani rupees while the existing govt schools are in worst conditions they created this new school system with all the facilities to showcase for campaign i wonder why not use that 700 million rupees fixing existing govt schools in those districts instead of introducing this new system? 700 million rupees can help 100 existing schools with basi facilities even if you give 7 million to each school.

Currently there are around 7 Daanish school in different districts and and around 5 billion rupees were spent on them instead of using those 5 billion rupees to fix the existing govt schools and than moving forward and going for these new systems.

have you used the Pindi metro? (iirc you are from Attock district but live in pindi)

Yea used it a couple of times i regularly spend sometime in Rawalpindi. but yes i am basically from Attock

Oh wow but i think its a SC thing Mamta Banerjee of Kolkata first scared all the Industries away from Bengal and then last year had a Industry summit(A new political gimmick in India to call all companies foreign and Indian to invest) and announced land laws for them.

Right now the big card in India is jobs(exceptions Bihar,UP,Jharkhand) so every state is opening doors to Japanese,Korea,German,American companies and trying to provide them with land or having "Invest in our state" approach tbh there is a lot of corruption in these atleast in real estate.

Problem with metro trains and metro buses in Pakistan is that the desi mentality is down to do jugaari kaam and use lower grade materials which put the safety of the projects on the line.

I really fear for the RWP-ISL metro. They have used very very poor quality materials to build the overhead bridges and pieces of it keep falling off and already 10 or so people have died due to this. When the earthquake came it was literally shaking. Allah khair kare

10 people have died?

What rubbish? Can you share an article of this news because I haven't heard of this.

10 people have died?

What rubbish? Can you share an article of this news because I haven't heard of this.

it was 7 or 10. I saw it on tv. (Samaa or Dunya not sure.) Prolly total of all deaths so far in this metro

It was after the latest incident last month. The link for that is:

http://tribune.com.pk/story/974997/...n-bike-rider-from-metro-bridge-in-rawalpindi/

While the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Metro Bus may have eased commuters’ woes on a large scale, it might prove a nuisance for others, even to the extent of taking their life.

This was evident on Sunday when a man was killed as a concrete rock from the newly constructed metro bridge fell right at him.

According to Express News, two men were riding a motorcycle when the incident took place, and were taken to Holy Family Hospital where one of them succumbed to his injuries.

‘Just an accident’

Meanwhile, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz leader Hanif Abbasi termed it an accident, saying mishaps are a part of everyday life.

10 people have died?

RAWALPINDI: A man was killed on Sunday when pieces of a concrete block from newly built Metro Bridge fell on his head.

The man identified as Nisar belonging to Azad Kashmir was going on his motorcycle when he was hit by a stone that fell from the bus track at Marrir Chowk.

Awami Muslim League leader Sheikh Rasheed severally criticized Pakistan Muslim Leagu-N leader Hanif Abbasi, who oversaw the multi-billion Metro Bus project in Rawalpindi and Islamabad, and Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif.

“I had already said this bridge would fall. Metro Bus could have run without this bride,” said he, adding that Shahbaz Sharif and Hanif Abbasi were responsible for this incident.

Expressing sorrow over the incident, Hanif Abbasi said action would be taken against those responsible after a thorough inquiry within a week. Speaking to Samaa he said the mishap is matter of routine that often occurs, but that doesn’t mean a road should be closed after an accident. “Only a stone has fallen not a pillar of the bridge,” Abbasi said.

Later, Hanif Abbasi attended funeral of the deceased and assured his family that the government would take action against the contractor of the project.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had inaugurated the Rawalpindi-Islamabad Metro Bus Project in June this year.-Samaa
http://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/2015/10/block-from-decaying-metro-bridge-kills-man-in-rawalpindi/

Pakistan would be better off without Noora's projects.

seems like you are exaggerating these numbers,the project is quite successful from what i heard.

just sayin what i heard on tv. I guess a few construction workers before its inaugration also died.

As they say the only people who are more corrupt than politicians are journalists and anchor persons in Pakistan.Dont believe what they say.They are always up for sale.May be some of these cases were due to individuals' own carelessness.you never know.

The cost of RWP Metro was Rs70 billion.That is like HK$ 6 billion. What a scam!

Sent from my Lenovo A6000 using Tapatalk

And who can forget laptop scheme, around Rs 50 Billion have been spent distributing free laptops. Whole Sharif family participates in laptop distribution with organisers spending millions on laptop distribution ceremonies and millions on advertisements of this scheme. ALL this to impress youth who were supporting Imran Khan.

As for Metro, it is such a shame that we are wasting billions when priorities should be power generation projects, health, education. Even if you accept the theory by some that these development projects should go ahead regardless of economic situation then what on earth justifies the most expensive metro projects in the world for a country like Pakistan? I know the answer "Chalo kuch loot rahay hain tou kuch laga bhi tou rahay hain" :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

And who can forget laptop scheme, around Rs 50 Billion have been spent distributing free laptops. Whole Sharif family participates in laptop distribution with organisers spending millions on laptop distribution ceremonies and millions on advertisements of this scheme. ALL this to impress youth who were supporting Imran Khan.

As for Metro, it is such a shame that we are wasting billions when priorities should be power generation projects, health, education. Even if you accept the theory by some that these development projects should go ahead regardless of economic situation then what on earth justifies the most expensive metro projects in the world for a country like Pakistan? I know the answer "Chalo kuch loot rahay hain tou kuch laga bhi tou rahay hain" :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:

In our state (Tamil Nadu) too there is a free laptop scheme. Every 12th grade student in Govt schools gets a free laptop for the past 4 years. One more way to waste people's money.

You cannot compare Lahore metro with any other BRTS project. Lahore BRTS (famously called as metro) in pakistan is a showcase project not built on feasibility but to showcase govt's image.

They have imported buses (other BRTS have local buses), dedicated flyovers (Others share the existing infra), huge stations (others have bare minimum structures) etc. So ofcourse it is going to be expensive.

Just for comparison

this is an average lahore-rawalpindi-islamabad station

11200767_661810503962900_5594444840999913617_n.jpg

This is average Ahmedabad BRTS Station

brts_15112012_innr3.jpg

Lahore Bus

metro19261975_20137419940.jpg

Average Delhi BRTS Bus

bl08_BRT.jpg

Ahmedabad Bus

brts.jpg

Everything is more expensive and at bigger scale with Lahore BRTS . While Indian BRTS's are made at shoestring budget it seems like Lahore or Sharif brothers spent a metro worth on a BRTS system.
They could have just added few more billion and gotton a real metro.

I admit that lahore BRTS looks the best, drives the better buses in subcontinent but they have to ask themselves if the mare looks were worth it the price.

In our state (Tamil Nadu) too there is a free laptop scheme. Every 12th grade student in Govt schools gets a free laptop for the past 4 years. One more way to waste people's money.

I hate the word free from ministers. All those states who have family monlpoly over state's politics tend to give "free" stuff to appease people. Be it Tamil Nadu, Pakistani punjab, UP or any other stuch state. What peopl dont know is there is nothing really free and it isnt coming from minister's pocket.
In Rajasthan were govt changes every election there is something indeed free, that is medicine. Now that is free stuff i like for poor people

How is that money wasted? laptops help students in so many ways. cant believe some people who dont have those needs ridiculing students getting laptops.

I hate the word free from ministers. All those states who have family monlpoly over state's politics tend to give "free" stuff to appease people. Be it Tamil Nadu, Pakistani punjab, UP or any other stuch state. What peopl dont know is there is nothing really free and it isnt coming from minister's pocket.
In Rajasthan were govt changes every election there is something indeed free, that is medicine. Now that is free stuff i like for poor people

Yes, poor people should get the free stuff which you like and approve.

Wishing away corruption is a delusion in sub continent. Better not to discuss the politicians of Tamil Nadu. All these free schemes have wrecked the economy.

Want a pointless, expensive Indian project? Check out the Bangalore Metro.

Bits and pieces network that is coming along at a snail's pace with huge escalations in costs every step of the way. The latest is that they've run into some rock underground and a tunnel boring machine is stuck there.

This never happened in Chennai/Mumbai/Hyderabad or of course, Delhi. Calcutta's metro was constructed decades ago and even it managed to come up faster than these guys can complete a single phase. Ridiculous.

Kolkata metro is the worst example of metro in India, though it was first and built in 80's but it took almost 20 years to build 20 odd km.
What else you expect, it was built by Indian railways who was very bad back then.
They didnt add a single km for decades until they saw smaller cities having bigger metro then them. I have seen Namma metro and it looks fine to me.

The metrics that people use for comparisons are sometimes shocking.

first of all, most of the cost comparisons that are done are done against Metro's which are grade level whereas, Lahore and Islambad metro's are elevated. Lahore has at least an 8km elevated stretch.

Secondly, let's look at the buses being used. Where is Ahmedabad getting its buses from and where is Lahore getting its buses from. Ours are definitely imported. Is it the same for other Metro's? I know for a fact that China and Turkey build their own buses. I'm sure India does too. Again, the comparison becomes meaningless.

I fail to understand why people are whinging about this.

Infrastructure is important for economic growth. This is a step in the right direction. Stop complaining FFS.

What about Peshawer Metro Bus? This has nothing to do with Sharif's. Being built using the provincial budget of Peshawer overseen by the PTI government there. Estimated cost 630 billion rupees.

first of all, most of the cost comparisons that are done are done against Metro's which are grade level whereas, Lahore and Islambad metro's are elevated. Lahore has at least an 8km elevated stretch.

Secondly, let's look at the buses being used. Where is Ahmedabad getting its buses from and where is Lahore getting its buses from. Ours are definitely imported. Is it the same for other Metro's? I know for a fact that China and Turkey build their own buses. I'm sure India does too. Again, the comparison becomes meaningless.

Infrastructure is important for economic growth. This is a step in the right direction. Stop complaining FFS.

What about Peshawer Metro Bus? This has nothing to do with Sharif's. Being built using the provincial budget of Peshawer overseen by the PTI government there. Estimated cost 630 billion rupees.

Amritsar bus has 12 km elevated stretch

You cannot compare Lahore metro with any other BRTS project. Lahore BRTS (famously called as metro) in pakistan is a showcase project not built on feasibility but to showcase govt's image.

They have imported buses (other BRTS have local buses), dedicated flyovers (Others share the existing infra), huge stations (others have bare minimum structures) etc. So ofcourse it is going to be expensive.

Just for comparison

this is an average lahore-rawalpindi-islamabad station

View attachment 61984

This is average Ahmedabad BRTS Station

View attachment 61986

Lahore Bus

View attachment 61989

Average Delhi BRTS Bus

View attachment 61987

Ahmedabad Bus

View attachment 61988

Everything is more expensive and at bigger scale with Lahore BRTS . While Indian BRTS's are made at shoestring budget it seems like Lahore or Sharif brothers spent a metro worth on a BRTS system.
They could have just added few more billion and gotton a real metro.

I admit that lahore BRTS looks the best, drives the better buses in subcontinent but they have to ask themselves if the mare looks were worth it the price.

Good post and prolly the reasons out lined play a huge role in the unbelievably high cost.

So a lot of money wasted unnecessarily then

The problem is the insane cost when it is clear that it can be done for a fraction of the cost.

We are a poor country ffs.

This is an almighty waste and inconsiderate for a country like ours where a significant portion of people dont have access to sanitation, clean drinking water, health facilities and a country where 5.5 million children are out of school (4 times more than India which has 5-6 times our population)

Comparison is between Amritsar and Lahore, Amritsar has 12 km elevated.But you are right on other points the question actually should be he could had rather gone for Metro rail itself than this which lasts longer and the experience helps other cities which are planning for it as well.

Masoomana sawal [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] ka.

Cost to Lahore main bhi itni hi aye thi magar "Phuphaa-e-Awal" "Damaad-e-Awal" "Susral-e-Awal" Taya-e-Awal" sabka pait bharne main zara kharcha zaida ho gaya...Koi bat nahi humari sari qoum shair hay shaair bani hue hay.

Well in that case why doesn't IK build a metro in Peshawar in a low budget and start a media campaign against the Shariffs

Because their are other priorities that the people of kp are facing rather then waste money on metro

How is the local automobile manufacturing industry in Pakistan. With a population of that size, I would have thought Pakistan would have decent demand for locally made automobiles.

No such thing as a locally made automobile in Pakistan. Toyota, Honda and Sukuzi have assembly plants in Pakistan but that's about it.

The problem is the insane cost when it is clear that it can be done for a fraction of the cost.

We are a poor country ffs.

This is an almighty waste and inconsiderate for a country like ours where a significant portion of people dont have access to sanitation, clean drinking water, health facilities and a country where 5.5 million children are out of school (4 times more than India which has 5-6 times our population)
May be just may be Pakistan should import buses from India.

Btw what about other stuff?Does Pakistan produce the high grade steel and cement etc or is that imported?What about the equipment required for building the project?Imported?

Metro trains are better than buses for a big city. Delhi metro is very good example of it. Delhi metro rail corporation is increasing its network size in economical & efficiently.

May be just may be Pakistan should import buses from India.

Btw what about other stuff?Does Pakistan produce the high grade steel and cement etc or is that imported?What about the equipment required for building the project?Imported?
Pakistan was exporting cement to India sometime back.

India is the second largest cement producer in the world.
I know that. But still india was importing cement sometime back. Dont know about now. I guess it was more economical to import rather than transporting it to other western states

Sent from my Micromax A106 using Tapatalk

I know that. But still india was importing cement sometime back. Dont know about now. I guess it was more economical to import rather than transporting it to other western states

Sent from my Micromax A106 using Tapatalk
Dont know.Western India has lots of cement industry.May be it was for exporting.

India is the second largest cement producer in the world.

That was the time when India was experiencing close to double digit growth and construction was booming hence immense demand for cement.

The word on the streets is that the steel for the Lahore Metro was bought from Sharif family owned steel mill.

You can probably guess why the project was so costly..

How is that money wasted? laptops help students in so many ways. cant believe some people who dont have those needs ridiculing students getting laptops.

The money is wasted because the laptops are mostly used for watching movies of all kind or sold to others. In the first year a laptop was sold for 5,000 rupees. Now it is sold for 12,000-13,000 rupees. Its real worth is around 18,000. Lenova laptop. Do you want one?

So all subsidies on medical and engineering colleges should be removed too, as students there use the facilities to download illegal content and waste time on such videos.

If a laptop is sold off by the poor student, it does not mean the free laptop scheme is wrong, it means they are so poor that they are forced to sell even useful things to meet their financial burden.

These indians living in ivory towers, who go to 5 star hotels to attend a conference on how to alleviate poverty in india. :facepalm:

So all subsidies on medical and engineering colleges should be removed too, as students there use the facilities to download illegal content and waste time on such videos.

If a laptop is sold off by the poor student, it does not mean the free laptop scheme is wrong, it means they are so poor that they are forced to sell even useful things to meet their financial burden.

These indians living in ivory towers, who go to 5 star hotels to attend a conference on how to alleviate poverty in india. :facepalm:

A fair amount of these students don't have proper classrooms, proper books, teachers for all the subjects and how do you alleviate their poverty. Give them laptops.

And how did you find out about my ivory tower? I thought that was a secret.

A fair amount of these students don't have proper classrooms, proper books, teachers for all the subjects and how do you alleviate their poverty. Give them laptops.

And how did you find out about my ivory tower? I thought that was a secret.

A laptop is an excellent tool for spreading education where there are not proper classrooms and good teachers, and where there is no regular electricity.

I would like to understand why the privileged class is complaining about free laptops (not that they matter, fortunately)? Don't like the idea of disadvantaged kids using a laptop?

That was the time when India was experiencing close to double digit growth and construction was booming hence immense demand for cement.
Lol.Please take your lies somwhere else.India is one of the fastest growing economies and is still the 2nd largest producer of cement.

subsidies is good and all...but there should be a clear communication like " I am taking money producing from B and giving it as subsidies for A' ....Money is not falling from the sky. This is what is missing from South Indian ministers.... they just talk about free money but very rarely talk about where the free money is coming from. On a larger scale that free money will effect the economy...inflation..increased prises...and then effect the same person taking the money. An able administrator would be able to balance both.