Coronavirus in India

Mostly from people who traveled from UK, Italy etc. Many of them who arrived didn’t had the symptoms at the Airport. They developed it later. But They were stupid enough to be in public places against the advisory of being self-quarantined.

Latest example is Kanika Kapoor, the singer.

2-3 other examples- I remember the details but can’t recall the exact place.

One couple who were supposed to be quarantined went on shopping spree in Mumbai. The reason they gave was who is going to get essentials for us. This stupid reason in this age and time when everything is available at your doorstep.

Another one is- One lady who was supposed to be at home, traveled from Bangalore to Delhi in Flight and then from Delhi to Lucknow in train. Luckily the train was Gatiman Express which is All AC so authorities were able to track all passengers because you have to provide all details while booking.
Imagine if this happened in local or passenger trains.

JantaCurfew is 200% success in and around the place I live in.

Not even a soul can ba seen outside , no sound except occasionally chirping of birds.

Never seen India uniting like this ?

JantaCurfew is 200% success in and around the place I live in.

Not even a soul can ba seen outside , no sound except occasionally chirping of birds.

Never seen India uniting like this ?

Same here in my city. It has been a massive success.

Several roads are deserted, Metro stations closed in Delhi and public places shut down as the country is observing Janta Curfew which began at 7 am on Sunday. The curfew is being observed to break the chain of transmission of coronavirus disease Covid-19 that has killed four people so far and infected more than 300 in the country.

The voluntary curfew will last till 9 pm.

In Chennai, authorities have put up boards outside the Marina Beach announcing its closure. There is also adequate police presence in the area. “There is a restriction on a large gathering of people. So, we are organising the praying session via YouTube so they don’t need to come to the church for the holy mass,” said George Anthony Swamy, Archbishop of Madras-Mylapore.

From Ludhiana in Punjab to Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala, roads are empty and shops closed. Metro stations in Delhi also wear a deserted look. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) had announced that its services will be closed on Sunday, when the country observes Janta Curfew.

“Janata Curfew is an important step by the people for the health of the people. I request all of you to follow the guidelines given by PM Narendra Modi, regarding Janta Curfew,” BJP president JP Nadda tweeted in Hindi on Sunday morning.

All citizens barring those working for essential services are required to stay indoors during 14 hours of self quarantine.

India is currently at stage 2 of Sars-CoV-2 virus transmission. Today’s ‘public curfew’ is a precautionary measure meant to lessen the chances of the coronavirus disease from spreading to more people and ensure that the country does not slip into Stage 3 - that of community transmission.

“This is the first major step to prevent person-to-person transmission of the Sars-CoV-2 virus. First, this move will help in checking the spread of virus from the infected people to others. And secondly, it is an opportunity for the people of the country to test themselves for bigger challenges that lie ahead, as Prime Minister said,” said Dr Arvind Kumar, Chairman, Centre for Chest Surgery, Sir Gangaram Hospital, in a video posted by the government in its Twitter handle MyGov India.

The Indian Railways has announced that no passenger trains will originate from any junction in the country from midnight on Saturday to 10.00 pm on Sunday as part of the Janta Curfew.

The Prime Minister, in his televised address to the nation on Thursday, asked people to stay in the safety of their own homes as much as possible during the duration of the Janta Curfew. However, people can step out for absolutely essential services like an emergency situation or necessary healthcare.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...coronavirus/story-evFqsYu5NG2vW4RGae69sI.html

How's that Janata curfew?

We're late by 2-3 weeks. It's our time to see cases rise exponentially over the next 2-3 weeks. Given our population density and just the sheer # of people, we're in a rough ride.

This is very likely a drill, and we'll have longer, less-voluntary-but-more-enforced lockdowns following behind.

I think they'll start off with periodic lockdowns (eg close on 2 days, open again for 1 day, ...close again for the weekend) and see how many new cases are coming in before doing a more sustained lockdown.

How's that Janata curfew?

We're late by 2-3 weeks. It's our time to see cases rise exponentially over the next 2-3 weeks. Given our population density and just the sheer # of people, we're in a rough ride.

Hey bro..

Long time no see.

Stay stuff man.

So better create more proper awareness since we are already fearing the community spread. We need to act swiftly as there is no time left now.

Are we officially in Stage 3 or tethering on the edge?

I guess we missed the window of opportunity to go hard...and now it will be all about containng and testing as we come across to flatten the curve. Like most countries.

Or do you reckon we can still avoid Stage 3?

As for testing kits, which is the most imp part, there is SO little info out there.

----

1. You mentioned we were using the slow and costly tests till now right? When will India get those Rapid Antibody quick tests?

2. I heard India placed an order of 1 million test kits from Germany (5 days back) and is asking for another 1 million to WHO. Did it order too late or there's more to this than what meets the eye?

3. Hindustan Times reported on Mar 17 that India had done 9000 tests until then while have 3 lakh kits. Other sources peg it at 1.5 lakh kits. If we are getting 1 million kits (10 lakhs), maybe they could have gone harder atleast in high risk states (like Kerala, Maharashtra, Delhi, UP).

4. Do you think India is similar to USA in the sense....where no matter what we had done, it may not have been enough...but faster testing could have saved us a lot of trouble? USA is a gone case. They will have to fight tooth and nail to bring it back. Where do we stand?

Yeah this corona mess made me come back from retirement :afridi

You too bud, stay safe - India is probably heading towards a very grim situation.

Haha....

You are based in USA right?

Stay safe.

Indian situation doesn't look too good.

Yesterday, I had some urgent stuff so was driving through Saidapet area (crowded place - narrow roads - thank you Google maps) and I saw people mingling with not a care in the world. I stopped at a petrol station to fill up and the dude there touched my hand while returning my card.

All I could do is chuckle. :))

Wasn't mad. They don't get it.

Good to see reports of people following Janta Curfew. Atleast, it's something.

Haha....

You are based in USA right?

Stay safe.

Indian situation doesn't look too good.

Yesterday, I had some urgent stuff so was driving through Saidapet area (crowded place - narrow roads - thank you Google maps) and I saw people mingling with not a care in the world. I stopped at a petrol station to fill up and the dude there touched my hand while returning my card.

All I could do is chuckle. :))

Wasn't mad. They don't get it.

Good to see reports of people following Janta Curfew. Atleast, it's something.

Yes I am in US now, and debating if I should go back to Canada since the US seems to be heading for a bigger mess.

Yeah, people don't get the seriousness of this. Not just in India, but here in US too. I saw people out partying in big groups this past weekend!

I've been staying up late and watching news from India - the Janata did seem to get in on the curfew. But the central government needs to coordinate with state governments and do more. If there was one time we needed Modi's authoritarian decision-making and his charisma/blind following, now it is.

Are we officially in Stage 3 or tethering on the edge?

I guess we missed the window of opportunity to go hard...and now it will be all about containng and testing as we come across to flatten the curve. Like most countries.

Or do you reckon we can still avoid Stage 3?

As for testing kits, which is the most imp part, there is SO little info out there.

----

1. You mentioned we were using the slow and costly tests till now right? When will India get those Rapid Antibody quick tests?

2. I heard India placed an order of 1 million test kits from Germany (5 days back) and is asking for another 1 million to WHO. Did it order too late or there's more to this than what meets the eye?

3. Hindustan Times reported on Mar 17 that India had done 9000 tests until then while have 3 lakh kits. Other sources peg it at 1.5 lakh kits. If we are getting 1 million kits (10 lakhs), maybe they could have gone harder atleast in high risk states (like Kerala, Maharashtra, Delhi, UP).

4. Do you think India is similar to USA in the sense....where no matter what we had done, it may not have been enough...but faster testing could have saved us a lot of trouble? USA is a gone case. They will have to fight tooth and nail to bring it back. Where do we stand?

We are unofficially in stage 3 because the 2 cases from Pune and West Bengal has had no foreign travel history or contact with the Known positives. So yeah, the dreaded stage has come and I don’t think we will be able to control it anymore.

Regarding testing availablity, i am also in the same boat as yours. There are talks that the private labs are also now accredited to do this but I don’t know the exact details.

Now we are in more dire situation than US i think. It’s just because of the lack of proper testing we are not understanding the magnitude. Whatever we are seeing is just the tip of an iceberg. I hope i am proven wrong man. :(

I just pray that people dont come out after 9 PM and celebrate in the streets like we've won the WC or something.

Yes I am in US now, and debating if I should go back to Canada since the US seems to be heading for a bigger mess.

Yeah, people don't get the seriousness of this. Not just in India, but here in US too. I saw people out partying in big groups this past weekend!

I've been staying up late and watching news from India - the Janata did seem to get in on the curfew. But the central government needs to coordinate with state governments and do more. If there was one time we needed Modi's authoritarian decision-making and his charisma/blind following, now it is.

Absolutely.

They can ban anything (non-essentials) and they will have support.

I just pray that people dont come out after 9 PM and celebrate in the streets like we've won the WC or something.

Man....that cracked me up.

That 14 hour fake whastapp news is so widespread that this is a real fear.

Bihar reports first COVID-19 death; cases rise to 341 in India

The ICMR on Sunday said that the total cases in India rose to 341, with six deaths. Meanwhile, the coronavirus disease killed more than 13,000 people in the world and affected more than 3,00,000.

Source Indianexpress

We are unofficially in stage 3 because the 2 cases from Pune and West Bengal has had no foreign travel history or contact with the Known positives. So yeah, the dreaded stage has come and I don’t think we will be able to control it anymore.

Regarding testing availablity, i am also in the same boat as yours. There are talks that the private labs are also now accredited to do this but I don’t know the exact details.

Now we are in more dire situation than US i think. It’s just because of the lack of proper testing we are not understanding the magnitude. Whatever we are seeing is just the tip of an iceberg. I hope i am proven wrong man. :(

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Five Indian <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> test kit manufacturers r waiting from 1 month for validation. They can provide kit in ₹500-700. Indian govt not validating their kits but spending around ₹4500/Kit right now. In USA the kits was validated within 24 hours <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MakeInIndia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MakeInIndia</a> <a href="https://t.co/wBoDiy7GIj">https://t.co/wBoDiy7GIj</a></p>— Harjit Singh Bhatti (@DrHarjitBhatti) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrHarjitBhatti/status/1240592036073328640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 19, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

320 cases so far .... national lock down seems to be working .... everything shut in India today.

All passenger trains are cancelled till March 31. Some states are sealing borders and providing free ration for 1 month (potato, rice, onion, daal)

Expecting an extended lockdown soon, probably in the next few days.

No foreign airline will fly to India starting till march 29 (rule came into effect today morning)

Maharashtra seems to be worst hit area with 60 odd cases. All 3 big cities in my state are locked down till March 31 _/\_

Just saw a video of Ramganj area in Jaipur. Hundreds people chilling out on roads, shopping for garments, having tea at roadside etc

Jaahil log... Kabhi nahi sudhrenge. These people deserve police ka danda.

More than a billion people in India have been asked to observe a 14-hour long curfew to try to combat the coronavirus pandemic.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the curfew last week, telling citizens that it would be a test in order to assess the county's ability to fight the virus.

Mr Modi urged citizens to stay indoors from 07:00 (01:30 GMT) until 21:00 on Sunday.

India has so far recorded 315 cases.

Mr Modi told his followers on Twitter: "Let us all be a part of this curfew, which will add tremendous strength to the fight against Covid-19 menace. The steps we take now will help in the times to come."

Transport across the country has been affected by the curfew, according to NDTV. No long-distance or suburban trains are running; however, those already running before the curfew will not be stopped.

Images from various cities in India show roads and towns mainly empty.

In Delhi, all shops were closed apart from those selling essentials, and pharmacies. Religious places cancelled activities as part of the curfew.

Mr Modi has asked people at 17:00 on Sunday to stand at balconies or near windows and clap or ring bells to show their appreciation for medical professionals and sanitation workers.

Some parts of India have already enforced shutdowns.

Rajasthan ordered a shutdown until 31 March. Four cities in the state of Gujarat have introduced similar measures until 25 March.

India has barred entry to everyone, including citizens, flying from certain countries, including the UK and most European nations. It has also cancelled most entry visas for people flying in from other countries.

Popular Indian monuments - such as the 16th Century Red Fort in Delhi - have been shut to visitors to prevent large gatherings.

The Taj Mahal, the country's most iconic monument, closed its doors on Tuesday, along with more than 140 other monuments and museums.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-51992364

Just saw a video of Ramganj area in Jaipur. Hundreds people chilling out on roads, shopping for garments, having tea at roadside etc

Jaahil log... Kabhi nahi sudhrenge. These people deserve police ka danda.

Must be an old video. Which idiot will open the shop today? :inti

Kudos to Modi. It takes huge trust and commitment to convince a 1.3Billion nation, and the Janta Curfew has worked well. Through this smooth process, now 70 cities are in complete lockdown and this will only increase. The central government, all states government and media deserves praise for working together, and not allowing ego or silly debates at this crucial period.

Yet, unfortunate even on this forum, some are still struck with personal enmity with Modi, that their common sense is gone. It's similar case with not all, but yet some Muslims, who are still hell-bent on with gatherings at Mosques.

Kudos to Modi. It takes huge trust and commitment to convince a 1.3Billion nation, and the Janta Curfew has worked well. Through this smooth process, now 70 cities are in complete lockdown and this will only increase. The central government, all states government and media deserves praise for working together, and not allowing ego or silly debates at this crucial period.

Yet, unfortunate even on this forum, some are still struck with personal enmity with Modi, that their common sense is gone. It's similar case with not all, but yet some Muslims, who are still hell-bent on with gatherings at Mosques.

No one on this forum has personal enmity with Modi, they simply responded to his deeds and words in the past. Now that he and his pet monkey Amit Shah have realised that there are bigger problems at hand than Pakistan and the need to encourage Hindu lynch mobs to let loose on minorities, we are hopefully moving into a more humane phase for India.

I don't really understand the 14hr limit, but I guess it will be extended if successful. Well done to the public though for observing it so diligently. We can only hope they can keep this going.

Govt to lockdown 75 districts across country

The Centre and state governments have decided to completely lock down 75 districts across the country where coronavirus cases have been reported, officials said on Sunday.
State governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in about 75 districts with confirmed COVID-19 cases or casualties, the official said.

The districts where lockdown was announced are from states that include Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala.

In view of the need to contain the spread of the deadly COVID-19, it was agreed that there was an urgent need to extend the restrictions on the movement of non-essential passenger transport, including interstate transport buses till March 31, a Union Home Ministry official said.

In the meeting, it was decided to suspend all train services till March 31, including suburban rail services. However, goods trains are exempted. All metro rail services were also suspended till March 31.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.de...kdown-75-districts-across-country-816431.html

Most of the cities will be going into lockdown mode from tomorrow. This along with no airlines coming in from today should buy some time for govt to prepare things are get a grip on count.

320 cases

I urge Indians and Pakistanis to not spread news about stage 2 and stage 3 transmission without understanding the ramifications. Yes community transmission is serious and dangerous but it could also mean that they have not found the source yet and investigating. Or it may be true but wait for official news and numbers and trust people who are handling it.

there are health professionals in both countries who have vast knowledge of epidemics and trained to handle and everyone should trust and support them. I know it’s easy to panic like some here and spread panic, but there are brave health professionals and scientists who have dedicated their lives and know what to do. These are not average folks or experts on forum who have just studied the previous day and passed exams.

I know news agencies these days don’t do proper journalism and spread all unconfirmed news and some people are scavenging for this info.
Social media is an important tool for information but not to create panic. Atleast you being educated spread some positivity. There is already suffering and negativity going around in abundance around world. Peace..

So around 15000 tested so far in India and govt claims they have capacity to test 50,000 weekly and which can be scaled up as they include private labs .

WoW historic and goosebump moments jantacurfew.
Leaving aside that, this will create huge awareness among public and start of something significant.
Thanks to the health care workers around the world for your selfless service in healing the world 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

If only most of India were as informed as some of our friends here who expressed their goosebumps solidarity with other tiktok users, while rudely waking up sleeping dogs (like myself).

Sadly, that was not the case where I live as I could instead hear, "Go Corona" chants, to the accompaniment of prayer bells ::sarf

Now I open up my Instagram and every story is a cacophony.

I urge Indians and Pakistanis to not spread news about stage 2 and stage 3 transmission without understanding the ramifications. Yes community transmission is serious and dangerous but it could also mean that they have not found the source yet and investigating. Or it may be true but wait for official news and numbers and trust people who are handling it.

there are health professionals in both countries who have vast knowledge of epidemics and trained to handle and everyone should trust and support them. I know it’s easy to panic like some here and spread panic, but there are brave health professionals and scientists who have dedicated their lives and know what to do. These are not average folks or experts on forum who have just studied the previous day and passed exams.

I know news agencies these days don’t do proper journalism and spread all unconfirmed news and some people are scavenging for this info.
Social media is an important tool for information but not to create panic. Atleast you being educated spread some positivity. There is already suffering and negativity going around in abundance around world. Peace..

I have my issues with PM Speech but like everyone i also want to flatten India’s curve as much as I can. I mainly questioned the false sense of security that some will have after this Janata Curfew. A little bit of panic is necessary so that people will stay indoors and won’t contract the virus. Our health care system will not be able to survive if this gets out of our hand. Kudos to Modi for stopping this virus spread for at least 14hrs. But we need more such curfews/soft lockdowns as well as increasing ICU and bed facilities in the hospital. The virus is still there and we need to fight a very hard battle here. Take care everyone.

133C971F-38CC-49B9-BF44-5F4D35857471.jpg

Well done Modi and also for a change even opposition and Kejriwal cooperated.

There are some idiots out there still and that is unavoidable in the SC but overall I think it was a good dry run. This is far from over though, how will things from here needs to be seen

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The whole idea of clapping in unison across cities and states is to instill a sombre sense of unity in these hard times. This is not a freaking festival. Do not ruin the day by rushing out into the streets. Please go back to your rooms, wash your hands and keep some distance.</p>— Roflindian (@Roflindian) <a href="https://twitter.com/Roflindian/status/1241695675055669248?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 22, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

People are coming out in streets in large numbers.This move was destined to fail

dd3000dd-134f-4200-b40b-684f8d4f25c4.jpg

Here’s the full list of 75 Indian districts that go into lockdown from tomorrow till March 31. Includes Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Chennai

Saw a video with people celebrating in the streets waving indjan flags and whatnot

So from being a janata curfew it turned into an enforced one. Videos emerging of people on bikes and cars being thrashed by rowdy cops.

Was a success until 5 pm only.After that people took to streets to 'celebrate' as per Modi's message and undid everything
True. That was totally unnecessary drill. Everyone should have stayed indoors just like they did till 5 pm.

I have a different take on this.

Yes, there are jaahils out there. Absolutely true.

But when you see so many people taking out marches, it means they are CLEARLY misinformed.

They are not like us who will read about this from the right sources and form the right opinions. These are the people who are MOST suspectible to be swayed by faulty information. The 14 hour Whatsapp spread is a perfect example of how little people know what this issue is about.

This is where we need the PM to address the nation, educate them about Corona (more in depth), warn them about falling prey to fake news (while listing out a bunch of myths and misconceptions) and INSPIRE them to do the right thing.

If it's hard to do in one speech, do it in multiple speeches.

Fake news is as big an enemy as Corona. In some ways, MUCH bigger issue.

And slaves have already started singing peans for you know whom. All the WhatsApp groups I'm part of, are replete with these messages.

That's the problem with such shoshebaazi...Waiving Indian flags though takes the cake.

Earlier when I used to see the Indian flag or listen to the national anthem before a cricket match, it used to make me feel something good and emotional.

Today I saw my neighbor waving the flag while his wife rang some bells and I felt repelled.

I have a different take on this.

Yes, there are jaahils out there. Absolutely true.

But when you see so many people taking out marches, it means they are CLEARLY misinformed.

They are not like us who will read about this from the right sources and form the right opinions. These are the people who are MOST suspectible to be swayed by faulty information. The 14 hour Whatsapp spread is a perfect example of how little people know what this issue is about.

This is where we need the PM to address the nation, educate them about Corona (more in depth), warn them about falling prey to fake news (while listing out a bunch of myths and misconceptions) and INSPIRE them to do the right thing.

If it's hard to do in one speech, do it in multiple speeches.

Fake news is as big an enemy as Corona. In some ways, MUCH bigger issue.

This is why Modi's speech the other day was useless.In a way he encouraged people to come out when he asked to clap

And slaves have already started singing peans for you know whom. All the WhatsApp groups I'm part of, are replete with these messages.

Even opposition has supported Modi and it was an overall success. This proves You need a strong leader to appeal to the public and most of them will listen. This would be considered a successful first step so not sure why you are getting your “garments in a twist”. This is not a time for your political hatred.

Yes there are idiots out there and you can’t blame the government for their stupidity.

This was a step in the right direction.

This is why Modi's speech the other day was useless.In a way he encouraged people to come out when he asked to clap

He clearly said indoors. There might have been isolated incidents out there but it was a good gesture overall. If people are idiots then it’s not the governments fault. There will be idiots out there regardless.

Did you stay indoors?

Now did you clap for the people who have to work in this environment? It’s Just a gesture Of good will not mandatory, the sensible ones did it at home, some skipped it and few idiots came out on street, how can you blame the govt.?

Earlier when I used to see the Indian flag or listen to the national anthem before a cricket match, it used to make me feel something good and emotional.

Today I saw my neighbor waving the flag while his wife rang some bells and I felt repelled.
True. Why were they waiving flags? Have we, as a nation conquered this devil virus? No, far from it. Then why do we have to show
off our fake patriotism?

The whole region Indo Pak is just destined to fail and go down the drain during this disaster. We just have far too many jahils and are a waste of space in this world.

Even opposition has supported Modi and it was an overall success. This proves You need a strong leader to appeal to the public and most of them will listen. This would be considered a successful first step so not sure why you are getting your “garments in a twist”. This is not a time for your political hatred.

Yes there are idiots out there and you can’t blame the government for their stupidity.

This was a step in the right direction.
Unlike you, I'm not a slave of an illiterate man. You blindly believe what he orders you.

Had that incompetent soul channelled his energies towards containing this virus instead of toppling opposition governments or that extremely stupid act of going off Twitter for a day and what not, we might not have been so vulnerable like we are now.

Like it or not, your God has proved to be incompetent git that he is, once more.

It had its uses.

But it didn't show a plan forward. Don't have to be exact but it's always important to have a plan. If you don't give them a plan, someone else will and unfortunately, the FAKE whatsapp message probably did.

To be fair, I didn't expect people to come and celebrate like buffoons after 5 pm. That was unexpected. But what I did feel was that he addressed the nation too late and stopped with only 1 speech.

Clapping is all jumlas but SOMETIMES you need jumlas to rally people so I don't mind it. I found it cringy but my own parents dragged me to terrace to clap. Ugh. :))

Overall, that speech was meh.

I didn't talk much about it here cos I didn't want to needlessly trigger people here. lol.

Unlike you, I'm not a slave of an illiterate man. You blindly believe what he orders you.

Had that incompetent soul channelled his energies towards containing this virus instead of toppling opposition governments or that extremely stupid act of going off Twitter for a day and what not, we might not have been so vulnerable like we are now.

Like it or not, your God has proved to be incompetent git that he is, once more.

Are you serious? How are you relating those 2 to steps taken to stop this pandemic?

This was the first real step of taking big measures, it was somewhat successful. There is enough evidence that there are a lot of idiots out there and now the steps will get stronger.

Had this been a enforced curfew, you would be the first in line to blurt out Your go to words like Nazi,Hitler etc without even knowing the equivalence.

It had its uses.

But it didn't show a plan forward. Don't have to be exact but it's always important to have a plan. If you don't give them a plan, someone else will and unfortunately, the FAKE whatsapp message probably did.

To be fair, I didn't expect people to come and celebrate like buffoons after 5 pm. That was unexpected. But what I did feel was that he addressed the nation too late and stopped with only 1 speech.

Clapping is all jumlas but SOMETIMES you need jumlas to rally people so I don't mind it. I found it cringy but my own parents dragged me to terrace to clap. Ugh. :))

Overall, that speech was meh.

I didn't talk much about it here cos I didn't want to needlessly trigger people here. lol.

It was a dry run. You have to ease people into this by making this a “we are all in it together”. People have responded. Obviously some misunderstood this like the ones who came out and started celebrating. There is no cure for stupidity and that will exist long after coronavirus. However now they have a measure and we need to start rating the government going forward because the steps now onwards have to get stronger.

Also state governments have also done pretty well.

Not sure what you are complaining about.

Won't deny I got goosebumps when the entire street at my locality clapped/conched in unison at 5 pm today. I think it was a sweet gesture for our doctors and brought a sense of unity among people. Ironically, the same people who changed their Facebook / Insta DP to red after the abrogation of article 370 are now making fun of this. Saw some videos of idiots celebrating on the streets like it's Diwali, they should be given the danda treatment by the police in future.

However, the real battle begins now. A lot of major cities with history of foreign travel have announced lockdown till 31st March. Need more stringent steps by the government.

Brace yourself guys, we are in a long and tough ride...

It was a dry run. You have to ease people into this by making this a “we are all in it together”. People have responded. Obviously some misunderstood this like the ones who came out and started celebrating. There is no cure for stupidity and that will exist long after coronavirus. However now they have a measure and we need to start rating the government going forward because the steps now onwards have to get stronger.

Also state governments have also done pretty well.

Not sure what you are complaining about.

Speech had its uses. Better to have a speech than no speech.

We will learn from this and optimize accordingly.

Words from Modi will carry more weightage and help us curb fake news.

He clearly said indoors. There might have been isolated incidents out there but it was a good gesture overall. If people are idiots then it’s not the governments fault. There will be idiots out there regardless.

Did you stay indoors?

Now did you clap for the people who have to work in this environment? It’s Just a gesture Of good will not mandatory, the sensible ones did it at home, some skipped it and few idiots came out on street, how can you blame the govt.?

You have to anticipate the consequences of your words considering the audience.There were bound to be different interpretations of the message when Modi didn't use the time to properly educate about it.

I am working in this environment too.The need of the hour is safety not gestures that can backfire

Speech had its uses. Better to have a speech than no speech.

We will learn from this and optimize accordingly.

Words from Modi will carry more weightage and help us curb fake news.

Exactly. Also we are lucky to have a leader with a mass appeal. I am sure Modi has a lot of flaws but one thing you cannot take away is his cult of personality. He says a lot of people will follow.

I’m also impressed with state governments. Yogi has done an amazing job. Kejriwal too has shown a lot of common sense. Even KCR in Telangana and Jagan in Andhra have done well.

In some states they have asked taxi drivers to work with government helplines for example women who are ready to deliver etc call the government call center and they have a quick turnaround for the cab. These are great steps that even USA or UK don’t have atleast from what I know.

Let’s just appreciate Indian government both central and a lot of state governments for taking good measures.

This is probably that rare moment in Indian history where government leaders and admins are the good guys and the common folk are the idiots.