Does Pakistan T20I cricket enter a new era with Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan left out?

Your question is stupid.

A bit like your assessment of 33 KPK players
He thinks we're dumb and will say you're right gazza sahib, Nawaz has a higher sr then saeed but saeed was a better batsmen. Sorry we are stupid, please enlighten us with your intelligence.

Everyone knows eras matter. Saeed was the best odi Pakistani batter in his era alongside Inzi.

Its laughable to proclaim that ba/riz are the best t20 batters for pakistan in this era.

Copying from the other thread:

Rizwan +
Ayub
Babar
Fakhar
Agha
Hassan Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen (c)
M Wasim
Hassan Ali
Abrar

I have thought a lot about what should be Pakistan’s T20I team and I’m convinced that I have nailed it. I have no doubt in my mind that this is a very formidable outfit.

You have an aggressive and deep batting lineup where only one player (Abrar) is a mug with the bat, and there are plenty of bowling options as well.

Rizwan +
Ayub
Babar
Fakhar
Agha
Hassan Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen (c)
M Wasim
Hassan Ali
Abrar

I have thought a lot about what should be Pakistan’s T20I team and I’m convinced that I have nailed it. I have no doubt in my mind that this is a very formidable outfit.

You have an aggressive and deep batting lineup where only one player (Abrar) is a mug with the bat, and there are plenty of bowling options as well.
This line up

🤮🤮🤮🤮

My nominated team is capable of consistently scoring 180-200 with the bat and restricting opposition batsmen to 160-180. If Shaheen brings his A game as captain and with a bit of luck, this team is World Cup winning material.

Everyone is replaceable, we need to stop looking in the past. Babar and Rizwan are good players but there’s so much went on behind the scenes it seems like that we needed to move forward from them I still believe Babar has a spot in T20 but not at the opening slot. Look at Salman he wanted to play 3 rd position but made an adjustment right away to bring himself down to 4 to accommodate Harris.
Babar and Rizwan, thought they were above the game which created there downfall.
Let’s support new players and support the intent they are playing with. They are playing risky game they will fall but let’s support them bc that’s the way moving forward.

Aqib has done a great service to Pakistan cricket. Even though people were impatient with him, but he did some systematic changes which will benefit Pakistan cricket heavily in the long run. One of those changes were kicking Rizwan and Babar out of t20I team and this might be the trick that would make Pakistan a great team again.

Rizwan +
Ayub
Babar
Fakhar
Agha
Hassan Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen (c)
M Wasim
Hassan Ali
Abrar

Yes Brilliant idea drop Haris because he scores too quickly, and bring in Rizwan and Babar to take the game deep… and lose anyway.

Pakistan's two fastest 100s have come in their last six T20Is - off 44 balls by Hasan Nawaz in Auckland and off 45 balls by Mohammad Haris in Lahore. Both are under-25 cricketers. Stars in the making. #PakvBD

@gazza619 help me man…I have an addiction of committing mistakes

In the last 1.5 years, Pakistan has scored 60 or more runs in the Powerplay six times in T20Is, a significant improvement compared to the previous five years, during which they managed to reach 60+ runs in the Powerplay only twice. #PakvBD

Oh yar @gazza619 😨

I never expected Haris to produce this kind of Innings... today he used his brain and his skill.

Gill is the highest ranked ODI batsman in the world, Test captain of India at 25 and will be ODI captain after the 2027 World Cup as well.

He is on his way to having a more successful career than 99% of batsmen in Pakistan history, so I don’t understand why Pakistani fans feel the need to taunt him and act as if his career is going downhill.

What’s wrong with Shubman Gill?
Ah yes, September 2023 — a simpler time. A time when you were serenading Shubman Gill with the kind of poetic passion usually reserved for romantic dramas or Shah Rukh Khan films:

“He took the crown from Babar before Babar took the crown from Kohli. He is the player Babar fans think Babar is or will be.

Gill is the next great batsman in world cricket. He will dominate all formats for years to come.”

Beautiful stuff. Honestly, if Gill read that, he’d probably print it out, frame it, and hang it above his bed.

But then came January 2025. Winter was cold, but your takes were colder. Suddenly, it was as if Gill had personally wronged you by stealing your lunch or refusing to walk your dog. The praise turned into poetic punishment:

“Bang average batsman. He would struggle to keep his place in the Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh teams.”

“KL Rahul 2.0 - all hype no substance.”

“His feet don’t move. He gets clean bowled all the time… His body language is timid. Doesn’t look like captaincy material either.”

From “Prince of Indian Cricket” to “feet-don’t-move merchant” in just over a year. You went from Shakespeare to Simon Cowell real quick.

And then, lo and behold, after a couple of decent knocks — we hear drums in the distance, the crown is being polished again, and you’re back on the hype horse.

Look, I respect the passion. Truly. And I’m all for people changing their minds when new evidence shows up (not a ding on you!). But maybe — just maybe — we keep it at gear 3 instead of slamming from reverse to 6th at every innings?

The next step is to make sure Babar and Rizwan can't launch a coup like they did against Safi and destroy a team filled to the brim with talent.

We must make sure that we have quality players of the bench that are in the team on merit rather than vibes and regional bias (Haseebullah being a prime example).

Our ODI team is also in need of a similar revamp and we should go with this XI:
1. Fakhar
2. Saim
3. Saud
4. Salman
5. Haris
6. Hassan Nawaz
7. Arafat Minhas
8. Faheem
9. Mir Hamza
10. Shaheen
11. Abrar

In the last 1.5 years, Pakistan has scored 60 or more runs in the Powerplay six times in T20Is, a significant improvement compared to the previous five years, during which they managed to reach 60+ runs in the Powerplay only twice. #PakvBD

Oh yar @gazza619 😨
Only a dumb guy would compare T20 stats from 3-5 years ago to today. The game changes everyday. Ask your uncle Arshad.

And why are you getting so excited after bashing a minnow?

Only a dumb guy would compare T20 stats from 3-5 years ago to today. The game changes everyday. Ask your uncle Arshad.

And why are you getting so excited after bashing a minnow?
So you're saying 3-5 years ago( 2020-2022) sides were playing like idiots and now all of the sudden their not?

The next step is to make sure Babar and Rizwan can't launch a coup like they did against Safi and destroy a team filled to the brim with talent.

We must make sure that we have quality players of the bench that are in the team on merit rather than vibes and regional bias (Haseebullah being a prime example).

Our ODI team is also in need of a similar revamp and we should go with this XI:
1. Fakhar
2. Saim
3. Saud
4. Salman
5. Haris
6. Hassan Nawaz
7. Arafat Minhas
8. Faheem
9. Mir Hamza
10. Shaheen
11. Abrar
Yeah drop your best ODI performers. A win against a minnow has made you lot fly high.

Dont worry you will be grounded soon like the Raphael 🛩️

Yeah drop your best ODI performers. A win against a minnow has made you lot fly high.

So they are ODI performers now who warrant a place in T20s? Remember I told you that you still haven’t worked out the difference between 50 over cricket and T20 cricket?

Do you understand the difference between a man and a woman?

Read my post again baba saigol.
I can read it a million times, won't change the fact that what you just stated is so stupid 🤣🤣.

How has t20 cricket evolved exactly? Its been the same since 2012 onwards.

Only from 2007-2011 the era argument can be used since the format was brand new and back then it was a norm to even play test and odi specialists in t20. The likes of Younis Khan would never get to captain a t20 side in this era and is clearly a by product of his time.

Its also why the likes of gilly just weren't that great in t20 cricket.

By the time David Warner, Chris Gayle, KP, Kohli etc etc eventually found their footing or burst onto the scene, The old age of t20 cricket was done and dusted.

Only Babar warrants a place in odi but that's dependant on form since his form is so bad that he doesnt warrant a place in the side atm.

However yes at peak id prefer babar over Kamran Ghulam in odi.

Rizwan doesnt warrant a place in odi. Agha is a much better no 4 batsmen and we dont need a top order keeper. Haris in odi can play at no 7.

Pakistan needs to invest in a lower order hitter in odi and a top order hitter in t20 and haris fits that bill.

Haven’t watched a game of cricket since the NZ away tour, but it looks like we the fans have got our team back.

Good times ahead.
This is hilarious because the same intent merchants who have “brought the team back” were the ones who got destroyed by NZ and will get destroyed by any decent side.

This new era of Pakistan cricket drama will also end in tears.

This is hilarious because the same intent merchants who have “brought the team back” were the ones who got destroyed by NZ and will get destroyed by any decent side.

This new era of Pakistan cricket drama will also end in tears.
I cant tell if you're a genuine troll or you spread lied for the sake of spreading lies.

The problem with Pakistan was that with Ba/Riz and especially under babar's captaincy Pakistan was basically a loser in t20 cricket.

Not to mention NZ nuked Pakistan multiple times while pakistan had access to ba/riz.

Infact last year in t20, NZ with an even weaker side managed to draw 2-2 against a full strength pakistan and this was not in New Zealands own den, it was an away den.

Babar and rizwan aren't t20 material. It does not matter if the side is Bangladesh, Ireland, new Zealand, Australia, India etc etc.

They are Low SR openers who aren't a good cultural fit for Pakistan. End of.

I cant tell if you're a genuine troll or you spread lied for the sake of spreading lies.

The problem with Pakistan was that with Ba/Riz and especially under babar's captaincy Pakistan was basically a loser in t20 cricket.

Not to mention NZ nuked Pakistan multiple times while pakistan had access to ba/riz.

Infact last year in t20, NZ with an even weaker side managed to draw 2-2 against a full strength pakistan and this was not in New Zealands own den, it was an away den.

Babar and rizwan aren't t20 material. It does not matter if the side is Bangladesh, Ireland, new Zealand, Australia, India etc etc.

They are Low SR openers who aren't a good cultural fit for Pakistan. End of.
I beg to differ. Pakistan under Babar and Rizwan made a World Cup final and semifinal including and also managed to beat India that no one in Pakistan history could manage to do so.

The last World Cup was a disaster but it was mainly because the two losers Amir and Imad were brought back who lost them the USA and India matches.

A final and a semifinal in consecutive tournaments doesn’t make you a loser. They are respectable outcomes so I object your choice of words.

As far as their SR are concerned, both have a much higher average and a comparable if not higher SR than Fakhar and yet they are unfit to be in the team but Fakhar should be the main opener. It’s hilarious.

I strongly condemn PCB’s decision to sideline both in T20Is and they will eventually come back once these intent hacks get exposed.

The only one being shot down is you Babar fans.

Fact of the matter is a win against a minnow in our current state is a net positive and if you want to blame anyone for making this fact a reality it is your idols Zimbu and Legwan.

Under their leadership we have managed to lose to Afghanistan, Ireland, the US, Zimbabwe 4 times, 2-0 to Bangladesh at home and failed to qualify for the play offs in our last 4 tournaments

:shhh:shhh:shhh:shhh

I beg to differ. Pakistan under Babar and Rizwan made a World Cup final and semifinal including and also managed to beat India that no one in Pakistan history could manage to do so.

The last World Cup was a disaster but it was mainly because the two losers Amir and Imad were brought back who lost them the USA and India matches.

A final and a semifinal in consecutive tournaments doesn’t make you a loser. They are respectable outcomes so I object your choice of words.

As far as their SR are concerned, both have a much higher average and a comparable if not higher SR than Fakhar and yet they are unfit to be in the team but Fakhar should be the main opener. It’s hilarious.

I strongly condemn PCB’s decision to sideline both in T20Is and they will eventually come back once these intent hacks get exposed.
2021 and 2022 were ages ago, even if we are to ignore the weird luck based nuances that occurred in 2022 for Pakistan to succeed and how much of a role Haris played in that cup.

Babar and rizwan were hilarious stats wise in 2022.

At present Babar and rizwan have been terrible in t20. 2025 has been a horrible year for both of em in t20 hence the reason for their drop.

Past doesnt matter, only the present does. As for fakhar, Fakhar is an exception due to his odi antics.

He has a low sr not due to being slow but due to failing in t20, if you post subpar scores, your sr decreases.

Ba/riz have abnormally high averages for t20 but abnormally low strike rates in comparison which paints the picture that while they provide stability, they dont post high totals vs semi decent bowling teams.

160 scores dont cut it in t20.

Ooo, your @Rana buddy didnt like this post. Clearly he doesnt approve.
@Rana has his own takes. I have no own. He knows I mean no harm to PK cricket and dont forward any agenda.

Unlike you I want my home country to succeed. Not to fail but have the luxury of watching players you support.

Misbah fans dont care about losing as long as their precious ladla's play. No thanks.

Rizwan +
Ayub
Babar
Fakhar
Agha
Hassan Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen (c)
M Wasim
Hassan Ali
Abrar

What do rizwan and babr have to offer that Haris, irfan niazi and sahibzada farhan cant. Even our bench batters like Yasir, naeem, Maaz Sadaqat,are better options than rizbar

Our mistake is not Knowing who the 33 are from KPK :ROFLMAO:
Genuine question @gazza619 Why are you even forwarding Babar, a Lahori?

Isn't your agenda to support 33 KPK players? After all, their so overpowered, that they can create 3 entire teams for Pakistan with each of the 3 being classic Aus level in all formats 🤣🤣.

What do rizwan and babr have to offer that Haris, irfan niazi and sahibzada farhan cant. Even our bench batters like Yasir, naeem, Maaz Sadaqat,are better options than rizbar
Watch him come up with waffle to justify the need of RizBar

I don't even have an issue with ba/riz. My issue is agendas.

You cant be honest and claim with a straight face that Babar and rizwan are solid t20 openers.

You're either extremely stupid with limited knowledge about cricket or you're biased and carrying an agenda.

Theirs no in-between. Babar and Rizwan deserved the boot. Infact they clearly overstayed their welcome.

Rizwan did justify his place in the side in 2021 and so did Babar but after the purple patch honey moon phase was over, it should have been obvious by 2022 that these 2 were not cut out for t20 and they should have been dropped.

If I was a manager I'd advise Rizwan to focus on test cricket only since its a format that he can actually excel at(even if hes medicore). He can ignore offside strokes and force bowlers to play to his strengths.

And for Babar id have removed from t20 and advised him to focus on odi and test only.

Its their ego's in wanting to divide time between all formats that killed their form and killed Pakistan cricket from a batting perspective.

The end product is that you have 2 very medicore test cricketers, 2 very medicore odi cricketers and 2 atrocious abominations as t20 cricketers.

Yes you are also a better option than them.

I don't even have an issue with ba/riz. My issue is agendas.

You cant be honest and claim with a straight face that Babar and rizwan are solid t20 openers.

You're either extremely stupid with limited knowledge about cricket or you're biased and carrying an agenda.

Theirs no in-between. Babar and Rizwan deserved the boot. Infact they clearly overstayed their welcome.

Rizwan did justify his place in the side in 2021 and so did Babar but after the purple patch honey moon phase was over, it should have been obvious by 2022 that these 2 were not cut out for t20 and they should have been dropped.

If I was a manager I'd advise Rizwan to focus on test cricket only since its a format that he can actually excel at(even if hes medicore). He can ignore offside strokes and force bowlers to play to his strengths.

And for Babar id have removed from t20 and advised him to focus on odi and test only.

Its their ego's in wanting to divide time between all formats that killed their form and killed Pakistan cricket from a batting perspective.

The end product is that you have 2 very medicore test cricketers, 2 very medicore odi cricketers and 2 atrocious abominations as t20 cricketers.
Calling Babar and Rizwan two “very mediocre” cricketers must be joke of the century. If they are “very mediocre” then I wonder how you’d describe the actual very mediocre cricketers.

Babar and Rizwan detractors make some decent points at times but then they expose their agendas and make themselves look like complete trolls by going overboard like this.

Bhai tou saari dunya pagal hai ke 200 SR KE PLAYERS Ko chance derhi hai

Genuine question @gazza619 Why are you even forwarding Babar, a Lahori?

Isn't your agenda to support 33 KPK players? After all, their so overpowered, that they can create 3 entire teams for Pakistan with each of the 3 being classic Aus level in all formats 🤣🤣.
I support truth.

Truth will always be truth, regardless of lack of understanding, disbelief or ignorance.

I support truth.

Truth will always be truth, regardless of lack of understanding, disbelief or ignorance.
So what’s the truth?

What makes your unconditional support for Babar and Rizwan in T20s as the truth?

Calling Babar and Rizwan two “very mediocre” cricketers must be joke of the century. If they are “very mediocre” then I wonder how you’d describe the actual very mediocre cricketers.

Babar and Rizwan detractors make some decent points at times but then they expose their agendas and make themselves look like complete trolls by going overboard like this.
Mediocre is still a more respectable description. I would describe them as pure $hite T20 batters. That’s what they truly are.

You consider Dhoni and Ben Stokes medicore, and while they are extremely overrated, their still far > the likes of Babar and rizwan.

You consider Babar Azam to be a better odi batsmen then Saeed Anwar solely due to the fact that Anwar use to torment rubbish bowling on roads which i do agree with however hes still >>> Babar azam especially in test cricket.

Also if you think I'm a troll, then i can't help clear that. You're free to think as you wish.

So what’s the truth?

What makes your unconditional support for Babar and Rizwan in T20s as the truth?
I don’t support anyone unconditionally except for Allah and his messengers Peace be upon Them.

Bhai tou saari dunya pagal hai ke 200 SR KE PLAYERS Ko chance derhi hai
You need the right balance. Picking hitters only is a risky strategy that is bound to fail. This is why India continued to play Kohli at 3 until his retirement. Pakistan needs both Babar and Rizwan.

I support truth.

Correct. Honesty and good character will always prevail. Rizwan and Babar haters lack these qualities.

You need the right balance. Picking hitters only is a risky strategy that is bound to fail. This is why India continued to play Kohli at 3 until his retirement. Pakistan needs both Babar and Rizwan.
And they were wrong. India has twice the t20 players than virat who can anchor and hit both. This subcontinent hero worshipping is no good.

New Zealand suffered heavily with Williamson and Conway. Their team now is so much stronger without them. Those two allowed crap teams like Pakistan into the game with below 9-10 runs per over middle overs…allowing some grip to the bowlers against them.

They will need to think hard about Ravindra too in T20

New Zealand suffered heavily with Williamson and Conway. Their team now is so much stronger without them. Those two allowed crap teams like Pakistan into the game with below 9-10 runs per over middle overs…allowing some grip to the bowlers against them.

They will need to think hard about Ravindra too in T20
NZ's problem was that they associated success with Williamson.

Williamson no doubt is a gun captain and a respected individual but he's no miracle worker. NZ team clearly worked hard in 2015 and 2019 to get to where they did.

They got hard done in 2019 although they were never going to beat peak 2015 Aus, they only fluked a one wicket win in Group stages.

However they kept selecting him because they associated him with good luck.

Beautiful.

Virat Kohli is the greatest T20I batsman of all time and PP posters think India had twice the players and they were wrong to play him.

The level of disrespect is ridiculous. This place has gone mad.

The way Williamson dominated Starc in the 2021 final shows his class as a batsman, but but but he is not good enough for T20s 🤣

How well do you know everyone?? You hate a guy like Asif Ali but love Babar Azam. So Babar is righteous and Asif Ali is a sinner?
I don’t hate Asif Ali. I actually respect him as he has spent decent amount of time in first class and list A cricket which showed he was serious. I hate the thought process which wanted him to be the opener and future captain.

We live in a world where we are supposed to believe that Asif Ali, Sharjeel, Usman Khan, M. Haris are better T20 batsmen than Babar, Rizwan, Kohli, Williamson. My my my my. :klopp

Beautiful.

Virat Kohli is the greatest T20I batsman of all time and PP posters think India had twice the players and they were wrong to play him.

The level of disrespect is ridiculous. This place has gone mad.
What are you one about?

He isn’t even India’s GOAT T20i batter. He’s probably the best Number 3 in International cricket bat that’s about it.

We live in a world where we are supposed to believe that Asif Ali, Sharjeel, Usman Khan, M. Haris are better T20 batsmen than Babar, Rizwan, Kohli, Williamson. My my my my. :klopp
Kohli can be exception, he could murder fast bowlers when he wanted to. Rest are odi and test players and some only test.

What are you one about?

He isn’t even India’s GOAT T20i batter. He’s probably the best Number 3 in International cricket bat that’s about it.
I couldn’t care less who you think is India’s GOAT T20I batsman. Anyone who knows anything about cricket will put Kohli at #1 in T20Is and it is not even debatable.

Kohli is not a T20 player, Babar is not a T20 player, Williamson is not a T20 player, Sharjeel with his 45 inch waist is Mr. Beast 🤡
Kohli in prime is an exception. However prime Kohli wasnt an accumulator with a 5th gear.

That was only later on in life when his reactions slowed down due to age. In his prime he was a very aggressive freak of nature.

Babar and Williamson however are not t20 players.

Definitely into a new era, though what lies ahead remains to be seen against proper phaast bowlers ,a true test of our hacks it will be ,so reserve your opinions till then is a safe strategy

“Players called up for PCB training camp ( Geo Super)

-Babar Azam, Usman Khan, Saud,Shahid Aziz, Abbas Afridi, Salman Mirza, M Hamza, Abdullah, Nafay, Haider Ali, Ahmed Daniyal, Mehran,Shaheen,Khurram,M Rizwan, Maaz Sadaqat, Nawaz, Jamal, Naseem, S Muqeem, Ali Raza, Tayyab Tahir”

MashaAllah Pakistan’s bench strength coming together for training

-Babar Azam, Usman Khan, Saud,Shahid Aziz, Abbas Afridi, Salman Mirza, M Hamza, Abdullah, Nafay, Haider Ali, Ahmed Daniyal, Mehran,Shaheen,Khurram,M Rizwan, Maaz Sadaqat, Nawaz, Jamal, Naseem, S Muqeem, Ali Raza, Tayyab Tahir”

Lol I love how you put babar and rizwan in bold 🤣🤣

@Kianig89 do you think Imran Khan is becoming PM again, and Ramiz Raja is becoming PCB chairman? This looks like the squad for the 2026 T20 World Cup?

Not Babar and rizwan only but also seeing names of Saud and Usman Khan is comedy too if this camp is for T20s.

This is a great thread! Reading it back, there’s a lot of desperation from the bariz fanboys!

Never love a man more than yourself

I love how we are supposed to forget how this team got mauled in New Zealand few months ago 🤡

This just goes to show how delusional and ignorant our fans can be. All it takes is one series vs a poor team for them to get carried away before the reality check hits them on the face and they don’t know what happened.

Also, can we please stop using words like “RizBa” and “BaRiz”?

I love how we are supposed to forget how this team got mauled in New Zealand few months ago 🤡
Yes, just like how we are supposed to forget they got mauled earlier in the year 2024 in NZ with Babar, Rizwan and Shaheen in the side 🤡

Exactly, so why are we supposed to do bhangra when these intent merchants are not an improvement?

You can talk when they actually prove that they can win against the big teams unlike the previous team, because results matter. Intent and playing style does not.

This reminds of me Bazball fans pretending that Stokes and McCullum have transformed English cricket when they produced the exact same results in Ashes and in India that the so-called terrible England Test team did under Root.

Win first, then talk. In fact, you won’t even need to talk because the results will do the talking.

As I said, the 15 T20Is in the next 12 months will reveal everything. May WI, Australia, South Africa, England and Afghanistan show these intent merchants their station and save us all from noise pollution, InshAllah.