"Don't care who is bought in the IPL for millions as we now have PSL which is successful" : Miandad

New Delhi: Former Pakistan captain Javed Miandad has played down big money signings of Afghanistan cricketers — Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi — who have been the talk of the town since getting picked at the Indian Premier League (IPL) auction on Monday.

18-year-old leg spinner Rashid Khan was picked by Hyderabad for a whopping Rs 4 Crores while his teammate Mohammad Nabi also went to the defending champions for Rs 30 Lakh.

However, for Javed Miandad, it wasn't such a big deal.

"We don't care if an Afghan player or any other player is bought in the IPL for millions of rupees. Earlier, we used to feel bad when Pakistani players were not able to play in IPL, but now we have our own Pakistan Super Legaue, which is very successful," said Miandad in an exclusive interview.

Although, Miandad did conced that players from associate nations will soon be seen in other big leagues as well.

"If a product is great, it will sell across the world. Similarly, a good player will always have admirers all over the world," said Miandad.

However, Miandad was quick to warn the Afghanistan Cricket Board that they must not celebrate two of their players getting big amounts in the the IPL and should continue to focus on improving the infrastructure in their country.

http://www.news18.com/cricketnext/n...-money-signings-from-afghanistan-1351664.html

I feel him. I used to feel bad about Pakistani players not playing in the IPL but now that we have our own league, its all cool.

Also, with all that India has been doing against Pakistan and more importantly in Kashmir, I wish PCB had instead put a ban on the players from participating in any leagues in India.

The jealousy bug! I don't think he warned any of the associate nations about not getting carried away by the riches they got from PSL.

What's wrong with telling them to keep doing the good work? Some people just need to find flaws in everything. Also, I don't think PSL would have been giving them the same riches as IPL will. Do your research and then make such a post.

Should have appreciated Afgans getting recognition rather than bringing up PSL that has nothing to do with the Afgan duo. Sour grapes indeed.

Miandad is correct why should Pakistan care about IPL when PSL is successful.

However, Miandad was quick to warn the Afghanistan Cricket Board that they must not celebrate two of their players getting big amounts in the the IPL and should continue to focus on improving the infrastructure in their country.

Their country. Their heroes. Their celebration.

Miandad ji aap rehne do.

I've never seen a complete IPL/PSL/etc.tamashaleague game but the impression I am getting is that PSL is way competitive than IPL.

Quality T20 cricket :viv

I feel him. I used to feel bad about Pakistani players not playing in the IPL but now that we have our own league, its all cool.

Also, with all that India has been doing against Pakistan and more importantly in Kashmir, I wish PCB had instead put a ban on the players from participating in any leagues in India.

Agree. PCB should ban foreign players from playing in the IPL if they wish to play PSL. I'm sure they'll chose PSL over IPL as the former is more competitive and respectable.

Miandad not mincing words about being sour grapes!

The jealousy bug! I don't think he warned any of the associate nations about not getting carried away by the riches they got from PSL.

Spotted!!!!!!!

Should have appreciated Afgans getting recognition rather than bringing up PSL that has nothing to do with the Afgan duo. Sour grapes indeed.

Indian Ppers not mincing their words with regards to their own bitterness :yk2

Their country. Their heroes. Their celebration.

Miandad ji aap rehne do.

I've noticed a thing on here that both Indians and Pakistani's kinda act as if Afghanistan is a servant that should do whatever they say and not a fully independent nation that's been absolutely destroyed by outside influence and power.

He hasn't said anything bad imo. AFG should look at improving there cricketing infastructure.

Indian Ppers not mincing their words with regards to their own bitterness :yk2

Our bitterness? Isn't it Miandad who couldn't even congratulate an 18 year old Afgan? Surely he could have said better things than "I don't care about IPL, we have PSL".

I've noticed a thing on here that both Indians and Pakistani's kinda act as if Afghanistan is a servant that should do whatever they say and not a fully independent nation that's been absolutely destroyed by outside influence and power.

Any reference as to the instructional tone from an Indian poster or expert would be a good reference for our introspection! :smith

Our bitterness? Isn't it Miandad who couldn't even congratulate an 18 year old Afgan? Surely he could have said better things than "I don't care about IPL, we have PSL".

Naah, that wasn't enough, its the cursed money from IPL alone that will get into Afghani heads but the money from PSL is specially blessed to enhance the careers! :kp

Out of curiosity Donal, did you understand SIF's last line?

Haha no but I wasn't accusing SIF of what I said, not at all. Was just a general comment as SIF had quoted Miandad's line which is clearly sour grapes and a bit degrading to the Afghanistan team and board.

SIF knows I love im ;-)

Haha no but I wasn't accusing SIF of what I said, not at all. Was just a general comment as SIF had quoted Miandad's line which is clearly sour grapes and a bit degrading to the Afghanistan team and board.

SIF knows I love im ;-)

if you still do not know what he said

"miandad ji, you let go" would be an appropriate translation.

Javed bhai is spot on .WHy would we care about other leagues as we have our own league which is

going on decently .

Honestly the only time I get any news about the IPL is when Indian PP'ers make threads about it here. I'm not interested in the IPL at all, I think most Pakistani PP'ers would feel that way.

No one cares about other's league, only IPL could get some notice of other fans.

You're just stating the obvious

Lol at selective reading by some posters. focus on 10 other things that he said rather than 1 which you dont agree with.

Can you point at the "10" things we are missing??

Javed Miandad has played down big money signings of Afghanistan cricketers

However, for Javed Miandad, it wasn't such a big deal.

"We don't care if an Afghan player or any other player is bought in the IPL for millions of rupees. Earlier, we used to feel bad when Pakistani players were not able to play in IPL, but now we have our own Pakistan Super Legaue, which is very successful,"

"If a product is great, it will sell across the world. Similarly, a good player will always have admirers all over the world, Miandad was quick to warn the Afghanistan Cricket Board that they must not celebrate two of their players getting big amounts in the the IPL and should continue to focus on improving the infrastructure in their country.

Are we missing anything here? :kp

Agree. PCB should ban foreign players from playing in the IPL if they wish to play PSL. I'm sure they'll chose PSL over IPL as the former is more competitive and respectable.

You don't need to take this personally. What I stated was simple opinion. If you don't like it, move on. I think I made myself pretty clear by mentioning only Pakistani players.

As for mocking PSL, let me assure, hopefully once the tournament is played in Pakistan, PSL will leave IPL behind. If not behind then they will be at the same level of competition for sure.

Personally if I were a player I would be rather apprehensive about taking advice from Miandad, be it on life decisions or cricket.

You don't need to take this personally. What I stated was simple opinion. If you don't like it, move on. I think I made myself pretty clear by mentioning only Pakistani players.

As for mocking PSL, let me assure, hopefully once the tournament is played in Pakistan, PSL will leave IPL behind. If not behind then they will be at the same level of competition for sure.

Honestly, Why do people have to put another successful thing down to feel successful.

IPL will always trump any other league in the world and the reason is simple the largest market it has. No other board can afford to finance at that large a scale and still rake in tons of profits. Its a fact, deal with it.
PSL will obviously be better than what it is now if it happens in Pakistan, but it would still manage to be 3rd or 4th best league. For at least a decade or two, IPL, Big Bash,English T20 and even Caribbean Leagues are the ones that will rule.

Surely that 6 at Sharjah reference got edited somewhere :))

Sometimes I feel bad as Miandad is one of the greatest batsman ever to play the game but he himself talks about that 6 in some random Sharjah game against an average bolwer like Chetan Sharma.

He is too India-centric.

Wasim,Imran,Waqar,Inzamam have a better stature because they talk cricket and just not about India.

Did he even see the PSL crowds lol

Honestly, Why do people have to put another successful thing down to feel successful.

IPL will always trump any other league in the world and the reason is simple the largest market it has. No other board can afford to finance at that large a scale and still rake in tons of profits. Its a fact, deal with it.
PSL will obviously be better than what it is now if it happens in Pakistan, but it would still manage to be 3rd or 4th best league. For at least a decade or two, IPL, Big Bash,English T20 and even Caribbean Leagues are the ones that will rule.

The heights of your indifference and ignorance astound me. Maybe the IPL, sure. But English T20 or the Caribbean league? LOL, that's some delusion, my friend. But if it helps you sleep at night, why not? PSL is here to stay and will soon be the dominant league of the world. As for having a large market, I'm sure once it is brought back to Pakistan and introduced to the businessmen of Punjab, it will be the hottest thing in the party.

Sometimes I feel bad as Miandad is one of the greatest batsman ever to play the game but he himself talks about that 6 in some random Sharjah game against an average bolwer like Chetan Sharma.

He is too India-centric.

Wasim,Imran,Waqar,Inzamam have a better stature because they talk cricket and just not about India.

You clearly dont know what impact that six against that average bowler in that random tournament had on India-Pak matches for next couple of decades.

I agree it sounds bad when he parrots it again and again though. Its annoying.

Talking about crowds, its dubai they are playing in, not Pakistan. So the crowd is expected to be less. Its a hit in Pakistan as tv ratings show.

He is too India-centric.

The stadium was generally full in Sharjah. It is Dubai where you get the half empty stadium.

Besides in Pakistan PSL is ruling the TV screens at the moment. Nothing is even close in terms of popularity. Try not to think big of yourself by putting others down. That is the trait of insecure people.

You clearly dont know what impact that six against that average bowler in that random tournament had on India-Pak matches for next couple of decades.

I agree it sounds bad when he parrots it again and again though. Its annoying.

Talking about crowds, its dubai they are playing in, not Pakistan. So the crowd is expected to be less. Its a hit in Pakistan as tv ratings show.

I don't deny that 6 was an iconic moment in Ind-Pak encounters,but that having a psychological effect on Ind-Pak games is overstated.

It so happened that it coincided with Pak developing a world beating team from there on while India had a relatively weaker side.

I mean we won the Sahara cup 4-1, we won 3 world cup encounters and did manage to eek out wins here and there...yes we lost a lot more to Pakistan during that period....it was just a case of better team winning pretty much as expected....Pak I believe had similar stellar record against England and Nzl during that time.....was there a last ball 6 there as well?

Similarly Sachin's knock in WC 2003 ending that mental barrier is overstated too as you guys did won 2 CT games and a series in India in that period,but we did better because we had a gun side...simple.

Miandad repeating about his last ball 6 every single time kind of overrides his other accomplishments in my honest opinion. I didn't think he said that here though. I was just being sarcastic about how India-centric his statements are usually and sorry to say this but he can sound very immature which is not befitting a cricketer of his calibre

I did not say PSL is a flop by any means...it has it's place in the world of franchise cricket....I was just responding to Miandad's statement of IPL not being a big big deal because of PSL which is an exaggerated statement.

The stadium was generally full in Sharjah. It is Dubai where you get the half empty stadium.

Besides in Pakistan PSL is ruling the TV screens at the moment. Nothing is even close in terms of popularity. Try not to think big of yourself by putting others down. That is the trait of insecure people.

Read my response to the previous post.

PSL has it's place and it is well organized credit where due to Najam Sethi for pulling it off.

My response was to Miandad's statement where he talks as if IPL is no big deal....I don't have to be insecure to laugh off his statement which wasn't too bright.

The fact that he is even talking about IPL shows that he cares about IPL. Have you ever seen any Indian speaking about psl like this...

so if someone asks you a question you just sit like deff and dumb and not answer the question :maqsood

PSL is just 2 years old and IPL is 10 years old big difference

Leave them on their own they want a person to praise their league no reason or if some one hates it they want them to just put a socks in their mouth and say nothing :broad kuch ziyadah to nahi bol diya

The heights of your indifference and ignorance astound me. Maybe the IPL, sure. But English T20 or the Caribbean league? LOL, that's some delusion, my friend. But if it helps you sleep at night, why not? PSL is here to stay and will soon be the dominant league of the world. As for having a large market, I'm sure once it is brought back to Pakistan and introduced to the businessmen of Punjab, it will be the hottest thing in the party.

So your businessmen from Punjab will trump the Indian businessmen?PSL cannot match IPL in terms of finance and market.

IPL will be the top league in the world followed by BBL.The rest will come later.

Coming to the OP,why does Miandad need to bring in IPL,for talking about PSL?

http://www.news18.com/cricketnext/n...-money-signings-from-afghanistan-1351664.html

I would think that the quality of a league mainly depends not upon how much the players are getting paid but whether it is able to attract top talent. It does appear that PSL attracts quite a few of the top players.

It is true that having many young cricketers earn INR 1 cr (which is about Pakistani Rupees 1.57 cr) for a season lets them concentrate on developing their game and is the reason why India now has a steady supply of top class professionals. Rationally (leaving aside honesty for the moment) they don't have to resort to fixing as they would be risking their massive salaries.

"Don't care who is bought in the IPL for millions as we now have PSL which is successful" - so much of hatred towards India, there are some people who never mature and Miandad is one of them.

I always thought Miandad was uncivilized (for example his mocking of Doshi) but after his allegations against Afridi I have stopped taking him seriously.

I am not a fan of T20 and i have only watched it for the young Spinners especially Shadab, but i have to say that the PSL has been more entertaining than the IPL and if it ever gets to played in PK, it would go to a new level.

So your businessmen from Punjab will trump the Indian businessmen?PSL cannot match IPL in terms of finance and market.

IPL will be the top league in the world followed by BBL.The rest will come later.

Coming to the OP,why does Miandad need to bring in IPL,for talking about PSL?

Maybe he was asked a question about the IPL.

Not even close to the hatred showed by Gambhir and Kirti Azad towards Pak.

I thought just recently a former cricketer or someone else was mocking PSL.

Its not his job to appreciate afghans, also PSL has just started, Afghans might be part of PSl in coming years, won't take so many years to include them unlike IPL.

Miandad might not care, but the players do miss out and will feel bad.

PSL simply doesn't offer those lucrative contracts the IPL does especially for average players.

Sehwag didnt mock PSL.

So some parody account mocked PSL.Dean Jones did also,and he is part of PSL.

Did i say Sehwag said that? I was responding to a poster saying "have you ever seen any indian speaking like that".Interestingly many indian poster on the thread actually liked that joke too

tbh I dont see anything wrong with what hes said here

Unfortunately some see it as an attack on india, and i wonder what will they do if Miandad ever bash india in the manner gambhir and Kirti bashed Pakistan.

Indian like it when one of their players/boards is giving to anyone especially Pakistan...earth should sieze to exist when the shoe is on the other foot!

Did i say Sehwag said that? I was responding to a poster saying "have you ever seen any indian speaking like that".Interestingly many indian poster on the thread actually liked that joke too

So Any Indian is equal to A former Pakistani Cricket captain,Coach,Administrator and superstar.Good.

I meant any notable Indian. Not every Tom dick and harry

so if someone asks you a question you just sit like deff and dumb and not answer the question :maqsood

PSL is just 2 years old and IPL is 10 years old big difference

As far as I can see in article, he was asked about Afghan players getting paid millions in IPL, what was the point of bringing Pakistani players not getting selected in IPL?

A brainless guy said that Miandad should have appreciated that, i.e Miandad should have appreciated IPL giving contracts to Afghans while keeping Pak players out..LOL

Indian like it when one of their players/boards is giving to anyone especially Pakistan...earth should sieze to exist when the shoe is on the other foot!

I seriously don't recall any cricketer (excluding idiot Gambhir) talking ill about Pakistan.

Well then you have a very poor memory, because you can add Kirti Azad and Suresh Raina to the list.And the words used by them were very harsh, atleast Miandad here said nothing offensive.

Miandad spitted out disparaging comments against India and Modi in particular and Kirti Azad retorted to that only.

He wasn't wrong in doing so, because much before that your ex chairman said terrible stuff about Pakistan and kept doing that.
There is no point giving explanation and excuses!

He wasn't wrong in doing so, because much before that your ex chairman said terrible stuff about Pakistan and kept doing that.
There is no point giving explanation and excuses!

So Miandad did nothing wrong when he said that but Kirti Azad did?

Do you know why i mentioned Kirti's name? because someone here claimed that apart from Gambhir, noone from India had said anything ill about Pakistan! Also, when the acting chairman was giving senseless statement about Pakistan one after another, someone had to respond.

Yes I know. I was talking about you saying Miandad did say nothing offensive but Kirti Azad did. So I wanted to show you while he is not offensive this time , he was in the past. Also during the aftermath of surgical strike he made it a point to bring out the last ball six of Chethan Sharma.. So I guess he is still drooling over that also.

In past many have been offensive, Imran Nazir, Tanno and Basit ali from pak side, while Raina,Gambhir, Kirti and Anjuman Gaekwad from indian side.Though i have never seen an acting chairman bash another country like thakur did.
I still think Miandad is better than the names i mentioned above, sometimes he goes overboard but in this interview i didn't see anything wrong.

In past many have been offensive, Imran Nazir, Tanno and Basit ali from pak side, while Raina,Gambhir, Kirti and Anjuman Gaekwad from indian side.Though i have never seen an acting chairman bash another country like thakur did.
I still think Miandad is better than the names i mentioned above, sometimes he goes overboard but in this interview i didn't see anything wrong.

This time it is not offensive. But you pointed out Kirti Azad ,which was PAST and said Miandad was not offensive as him. So I dig up the PAST and presented the Miandad statement. Anyways let's not derail the thread. No offence intended by me ;-)

successful? they cant even decide where the final should be.

i bet he would care if was offered a coaching role in one of the ipl teams.

Seems like he care a lot more about IPL going by his reaction. He has been asked about Afghan players getting picked and he didn't miss the chance to show his complexities.

Indeed, and this is just what he pointed out. How could he have said he's so very happy for afghans ? and some parosi jokers complaining that PSL has done nothing for Afghan when PSl has all but just recently started.

LOL at all the passion and the reactions on an innocuous comment from Javed.

First of all, someone asked him about IPL salaries of Afghan players. Why should he care? His countrymen are not in IPL and a natural combative person like him that doesn't like India much got annoyed. No issues there.
Lately there are too many stupid interviewers asking the Pak players about Kohli etc and there is absolutely no purpose to that than to antogonize them.
Indian fans should stop being desperate for validation and praise of IPL from Pakistanis and everybody else. You already have the best T20 league in the world, have a head start and a competent management team. There is no need to invoke jealousy.
Pakistan fans should take pride that PSL has the potential to be the 2nd biggest league in a few years just because of the sheer number of fans. You can never beat IPL just for the same reason. Bringing back PSL to Pakistan will help fill the stadiums but doen't fetch you billions in Television rights. IPL will remain the number 1 league just because of the sheer number of middle class Indians that have disposable income and that will only grow. I estimate PSL to be number 2 in 5 years

When you ask a Pakistani about a league who have no guts to include Pakistani players what do you expect he say? indeed he was right when our players are not playing why do he care about commenting on other leagues but one thing for sure his comments burned alot of PP poster here. :maqsood :rp