Down2Earth
Why should Pak govt make efforts to save an terrorist. And yes she is wife of sheikh mohammad.
so if you're related to a terrorist, you wouldn't mind if they put you behind bars for 86 years?
Why should Pak govt make efforts to save an terrorist. And yes she is wife of sheikh mohammad.
Then why drag this for so long?
I dont understand a lot of things about her case. If she was such a threat, why make such hue and cry over her? They could have killed her in any of their numerous jails around the world a long time ago. USA doesn't really respect the laws of the land outside their country. 'War against terrorism' is their license to do pretty much anything they want. We all know that. Then why drag this for so long?
And if she isn't a terrorist, then why make a scene of her like this? USA spends a lot of money and effort to improve its image in Pakistan. Then why would they do something like this for no reason, when they know Siddiqui is held in high regard in Pak. If they have such solid proofs against her, then they could have used them to inform people in Pakistan. I'm sure majority would have dropped their support of her. Now, there are again anti-USA processions in different cities.
Her whole case, from the beginning till the end, doesn't make sense to me.
Lets remember that US has still not charged her with anything related to terrorism. There is no case, or that she isnt even under arrest for terrorism. Why dont they charge her for that then if that is what she has been involved with?

A sick farce by the yanks. This woman has been tortured, abused and found guilty without any hard evidence. The Pakistan nation should be ashamed too for allowing this to happen.
America is the state terrorist of the world and the sooner it's no longer a superpower the better.
You cant get away with almost killing US interrogators with rifle.![]()
how come david hick(aussie ) gets 5 years and she gets 76 years
very very unfair
We all should be ashamed of are selves
We can't save the daughter of our nation
Brothers, I dont know if american courts are stupid enough to defame their 200yrs of history just for one case. Just because she was imprisoned by US we have a problem? When our local forces did much worse then this to karachiites, on whom... not even a single case was registered, let alone decided, where was jamat e islami? why did it keep shunned? Is qaum ki sirf ek beti nahi hai..
The way you guys make it sound is that you guys are against injustice done by USA only, injustice done inside pakistan is OK, please frame your feelings in a way that makes it sound that you are against INJUSTICE, not just politicized events.
Errr if you are innocent you should not have to provide evidence
The US accused her of being a terrorist and the evidence they presented was pathetic - don't worry they will have to answer to Allah (SWT) for what they did
it's a crying shame, because even in terms of technicality, she could have been proven not guilty of the charges.
Initially, the judge said that external evidence would not be allowed in the crime scene. Most of the evidence that the prosecutors relied on was circumstantial. The only evidence they had were the bullet holes on the site I believe, which was obviously nearly not enough to make a jury believe she was guilty.
However, it was Dr. Aafia's own stubbornness and reluctance to see the reality of the situation that she was embattled in that led to her downfall. The prosecutors simply asked her whether she had ever held a gun before in her life, to which she said no under an oath.
The prosecutors then presented evidence which in turn showed that Dr. Aafia had not only held a gun before in her life, but that she did a shotgun traiing program( from MIT while she was there as a student. That ABSOLUTELY ruined her credibility under oath, and then the prosecution was able to present external evidence. It wasn't helped by the fact that she later completely refused to answer questions properly and dismissed every question( and the jury) by claiming that they were part of a zionist conspiracy.
Look, by all means and methods, what happened with Dr. Aafia was a sheer case o incompetence from the US in general. However, she could have still found saving grace in the courtroom, but unfortunately by that time she had become too alienated from the realities that might have been able to save her.
Yar the question is why such an uproar on Aafia. Why don't people come out on the streets for Zarina Marri and the around 1000 Baloch people who have been kidnapped by our "patriotic" agencies.
Is Zarina Marri not the daughter of Pakistan or is it not profitable to come out for them because they are not kidnapped by Americans.
We are such a hypocrites.
I dont understand a lot of things about her case. If she was such a threat, why make such hue and cry over her? They could have killed her in any of their numerous jails around the world a long time ago. USA doesn't really respect the laws of the land outside their country. 'War against terrorism' is their license to do pretty much anything they want. We all know that. Then why drag this for so long?
And if she isn't a terrorist, then why make a scene of her like this? USA spends a lot of money and effort to improve its image in Pakistan. Then why would they do something like this for no reason, when they know Siddiqui is held in high regard in Pak. If they have such solid proofs against her, then they could have used them to inform people in Pakistan. I'm sure majority would have dropped their support of her. Now, there are again anti-USA processions in different cities.
Her whole case, from the beginning till the end, doesn't make sense to me.
Also, people dont tire of telling us Aafia is the 'daughter of Pakistan' and should be rescued. But what about those 5 women who were buried alive in Baluchistan by the feudals a while back? What about numerous cases of honor killings throughout the country that aren't even reported? Are they not daughters of Pakistan?
Total ignorance or maybe it is convenient for everyone here to believe that she is innocent.
The biggest problem in Pakistan is education and most of the time people are not giving full knowledge of the matter. Ofcourse people will assume she is innocent because everyone is presented the view that she has nothing to do with terrorism and she is falsely accused fo everything. Please read the following:
Aafia Siddiqui, a US-educated Pakistani neuroscientist whose lawyers argued is mentally unstable, was sentenced to 86 years in prison in a New York district court for trying to shoot American soldiers in an Afghanistan police station two years ago. The saga of Ms. Siddiqui, a former student at Brandeis University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), has been closely followed in her home country, where she is widely viewed as innocent.
The events leading to her conviction took place in 2008, when she had been detained near the Afghanistan city of Ghazni. During an attempt to interrogate her by US soldiers, she grabbed an American rifle and opened fire. She hit no one, and was shot and wounded as she attempted to flee.
US authorities said she was found with bomb-making instructions and a list of prominent New York city sites, which they said appeared to be a target list.
But Siddiqui had been on US authorities' radars long before her detention. The FBI issued an alert saying it was seeking Siddiqui, then living in the US, for questioning because of ties to a man alleged to be an Al Qaeda agent planning attacks in the US. She disappeared around that time, and precisely what happened in the five years before her detention in Ghazni is unclear.
She has variously said that she was kidnapped and held secretly by the US during that time, that she'd been kidnapped and held by Pakistan, and that she was a secret agent for the Pakistani intelligence services. US court filings say she told FBI agents that she'd married Ammar al-Baluchi, a nephew of Khalid Sheikh Muhammad, the man who carried out most of the planning for the 9/11 attacks and who is in US custody in Guantánamo Bay.
She was originally declared to be mentally fit to go on trial, though that decision was overturned last year, with some prison psychiatrists arguing that she was faking the symptoms of mental illness.
Brothers, I dont know if american courts are stupid enough to defame their 200yrs of history just for one case.
Just because she was imprisoned by US we have a problem? When our local forces did much worse then this to karachiites, on whom... not even a single case was registered, let alone decided, where was jamat e islami? why did it keep shunned? Is qaum ki sirf ek beti nahi hai..
The way you guys make it sound is that you guys are against injustice done by USA only, injustice done inside pakistan is OK, please frame your feelings in a way that makes it sound that you are against INJUSTICE, not just politicized events.
There is enough evidence if you want to look at it. Remember it was captured by Afghan police and later on she tried to murder U.S. interrogators.
Her husband was Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, an known terrorist. And what the hell she was doing in Afghanistan in that time?
US authorities said she was found with bomb-making instructions and a list of prominent New York city sites, which they said appeared to be a target list.
Brothers, I dont know if american courts are stupid enough to defame their 200yrs of history just for one case
There is enough evidence if you want to look at it
The only thing she was charged with was apparently managing to get hold of a gun in lock up shooting at soldiers, not hitting any of em and getting shot herself. The rest of the stuff about her apparent terrorist links are all bs and are a convenient way for pakistanis to rid themselves of any blame in what has happened to her.
Don't you think the evidence of this would be given to the jury and to the lawyers of Dr. Afia. Do you have the evidence that everything else is BS???
Don't you think the courts would be just a tiny bit biased.
Biased about what? Obviously you do not understand the US Justice System. The jury makes the decision whether someone is guilty or not is based on the evidence which was provided. Some of the evidence is classified and is not make to the public but the jury and Afia's lawyers must have seen them.
Pakistan should have tried alot harder and sooner to get her repatriated.
Pakistan pay for the fees of the legal team and that is all Pakistan can do. Afia made the case worse for her by making remarks during her trial. She should have refrained from certain statements which only shows or reaffirmed that she has ties with talibans/ Al Qaida.
Where
take it easy buddy and no matter how much you try to portray her as national hero i wont consider her for that. Infact if she really is wife of khalid shekh the terrorist then she should clarify if she is involved in terrorist activities with him or not. Having said that, for the sake of guys like you and many others whose emotions are at stake with her, i would request govt to do something to release her.
Don't you think the evidence of this would be given to the jury and to the lawyers of Dr. Afia. Do you have the evidence that everything else is BS???
Biased about what?
Pakistan pay for the fees of the legal team and that is all Pakistan can do.
She is not the wife of Khalid Sheikh Muhammad(KSM). She was married to the newphew of KSM who was also involved in terrorism related activities in the US and against the US interest worldwide.
Why is everyone blaming the americans. the real blame lies with those that handed over pakistanis to americans. yes you got it right the idiots at GHQ who are happy with their whiskys and secret accounts in Swiss Banks.
go on and embrace Faisal Shahzad as "son of pakistan".
And there's 650,000 people like him in the Pakistan Army who are busy kicking the a$$es of these fugly ba$tard alqaeda/taliban types.
We've spent >2.5 million dollars on the legal fees for Afia Siddiqui. Could have been spent in much better places.
Who is faisal shahzad the son of again?
We've spent >2.5 million dollars on the legal fees for Afia Siddiqui. Could have been spent in much better places.
And for the "daughter of pakistan" types, go on and embrace Faisal Shahzad as "son of pakistan".
That's what I am saying. Why would they deliberately do this? I find it hard to believe. There must be something else going on. She can't be as innocent as people perceive her to be. There has to be something else there. Now that she is sentenced, I hope the facts start appearing.
Exactly. We need to stop evaluating situations like this emotionally and look at them RATIONALLY. If she is really innocent, how exactly can she prove it? I'm not saying that cynically; I honestly want to look beyond this whole "America hates Pakistan and muslims and they are racist" ******** and I want to know WHY everyone thinks she is innocent. What exactly happened when she disappeared? What activities did she go through? And when she fired at the US agents, was she mentally ill or something? There definitely has to be something. The US does not just sentence someone to 86 bloody years for absolutely no reason. If she truly is innocent, then this is one of the biggest injustice ever. Unfortunately, I doubt she's 100% innocent.
It seems the National Assembly has decided to openly mock the reserved seats for women by appointing screechy voiced aunties who lack the basic skills to debate properly.
I do find it downright disgusting that people cry hoarse for this 'quom ki beti' while a large number of 'quom ki betis' get buried alive by feudals in Balochistan, killed mercilessly in the name of honor, are given as compensation to be raped by gangs to settle family feuds by the 'elders' of the villages, get harrassed day and night if they dare step out of their houses to earn a living to support their families, are treated as second class citizens in every sphere of life, and are told to shut up and bear it all in the name of honor and sometimes, incredulous as it sounds, in the name of religion.
Yet this 'quom ki beti' who was working and living in America and has a shady history as to her links with terrorist outfits hogs all the limelight. Yeah yeah, I know how many of her ghairatmand brothers are going to attack me on this forum now but really, I couldn't care less, so don't bother wasting your effort and time.
Pakistan spent a key week holding rallies in support of Dr Aafia. During that time I didn’t see any huge rallies for real causes such as in support of the incredible new Kashmiri intifada standing up to human rights violations in Indian Kashmir. In the process we lost out on focusing on the miseries of flood victims.
Yet this 'quom ki beti' who was working and living in America and has a shady history as to her links with terrorist outfits hogs all the limelight
That's true--it's being blown way out of proportion.
I do think though that as many injustices as possible should be prevented. Dr Aafia's attitude throughout this case as well as several holes in the prosecution case convince me at least that she is being made a scapegoat. However it shouldn't be turned into a national issue
Her case is being blown out of proportion. Being used for scoring political points. I saw the live transmission of her mother and sister right after her sentence was announced.
I simply can't understand how the name "Dr. Aafia Siddiqui" pulls such strong emotional response out of our people whereas injustices and downright murders of girls and women in our own country in front of their very own eyes doesn't even result in a single raised eyebrow!
Yes. Her case should be handed in a way any individual's case is handled. If she is being wronged, then please fight for it. Justice should prevail. By that same token, however, if she is found guilty, even of something smaller than what she is allegedly guilty for, then punish her accordingly. But I dont think that if she is, by some miracle, brought back to Pakistan, and tried in some court of Pakistan, you can really deliver justice. Simply because there are more chances of you seeing some murders of judges and lawyers on the streets if they so much as dared sentence her to any punishment, no matter how guilty she is proven. This is the crooked concept of 'justice' we have in our beloved country.
Her case is being blown out of proportion. Being used for scoring political points. I saw the live transmission of her mother and sister right after her sentence was announced. And let me tell you this - I wont be surprised if her sister forms a political party and starts dreaming of 'iqtedaar' soon!
I simply can't understand how the name "Dr. Aafia Siddiqui" pulls such strong emotional response out of our people whereas injustices and downright murders of girls and women in our own country in front of their very own eyes doesn't even result in a single raised eyebrow!
We are a part of such a hypocrite society. All this emotional drama has nothing to do with 'quom ki beti', or human rights or justice! Our people and their leaders don't understand these concepts to begin with. What this really has to do with is hatred for America, simple as that. Our people and politicians should just drop their pretenses and call it as it is.
Compared to live transmissions of cricket matches and cricket related incidences or live transmission of benazhir bhutto and her family after her death, i think it is very much in proportion and should have been 'blown up' in the media alot sooner.
It's like those 2 boys who were killed in sialkot, there were a lot of 'emotional' response and that goes in pakistan daily too.
When such injustices are played out in court and it involves the kidnapping of children and the physical abuse of pakistani women by american soldiers i cannot fathom how one can fail to be touched and angry at the grand injustice of it all.
MQM Pakistani Website has a revealing Article about Aafia that she is a cheat. Very interesting proofs have been given.
Click here to read complete the complete article.
MQM Pakistani Website has a revealing Article about Aafia that she is a cheat. Very interesting proofs have been given.
So let's call it as it is. We want her free no matter what because we are angry and frustrated about things that have nothing to do with her, but getting her free would give us a sense of victory that we can't achieve in other areas of life because we are too lazy, corrupt and incompetent.
Dr. Afia isn't the cheat .. she has never denied her involvement in Al-Qaida
The cheats are Pak politicians, Pak media and some of the senior posters here who glorify her as a heroine when she was clearly involved with groups that have butchered thousands of innocent Pakistanis.
Dr. Afia isn't the cheat .. she has never denied her involvement in Al-Qaida
The cheats are Pak politicians, Pak media and some of the senior posters here who glorify her as a heroine when she was clearly involved with groups that have butchered thousands of innocent Pakistanis.
Anything that gets a political colour in our country turns into a farce and this case is no different. The media is doing more than its share of highlighting this case by giving it a political color. Her case is not black and white and it shouldn't be treated as such. I do not really care about this Marvi Memon begum as she is a politician who is no different than the rest, but she is right about the 'playing to the gallery' part. Our media does that a lot, not just in Afia's case.
Justice has absolutely nothing to do with her as far as Pakistanis are concerned, simply because we as a society do not even know what justice is. We all think we are right in what we are doing or saying, and will defend it no matter how incredulous it is. Killing of sialkot boys, killing everyday people, animalistic behavior towards fellow human beings and having no remorse for any wrongdoing whatesoever have become traits of our society now. Or perhaps they always were and we are just beginning to know about it since the media got to where it is.
I will not, for a single second, believe that anyone crying for Afia is actually sad about the inhuman treatment she has allegedly received only. A large portion of this reaction is the anger towards America for the war on terror and its external policy for Pakistan and the rest of the world, and that too only muslim world. When people raise their voice against Afia's treatment, they are actually doing it to show their anger towards America for Pakistan, Palestine, Bosnia and whatever excesses America or the west might have done towards the muslim world. Justice for her to us means declaring her innocent no matter what she has done. If she had links with Al Qaeda, well good because Al Qaeda is fighting America and she was doing jihad <-- this is the excuse people have in their minds when this thought comes to them. Her actual guilt or innocence is of no consequence to us.
We want a muslim victory over America. Being 'Pakistan ki beti' has absolutely nothing to do with it. If she were never arrested or kidnapped, and had actually went for a half hour walk as just a regular Pakistani woman named Afia, in any regular neighborhood in Pakistan alone at night, this 'Pakistan ki beti' would have been raped three times over in that duration by the 'Pakistan ke betay'.
Forums all over the world are full of ridiculous statements like the above.Maula Jatt said:I do find it downright disgusting that people cry hoarse for this 'quom ki beti' while a large number of 'quom ki betis' get buried alive by feudals in Balochistan,
Forums all over the world are full of ridiculous statements like the above.
Just because something isn't the most important issue in the world, it doesn't mean it's not important.
To the other geniuses who are claiming that this is blown out of proportion, please understand that she was not the only one who was abducted. Her children also disappeared and one of them still hasn't been found.
An appeal to declare mistrial has been rejected.Maula Jutt said:. We need to be appealing in court over her sentence which seems unfair.
Judge Berman already gave his unofficial verdict on that by saying that there is no evidence that she was detained before 2008.If we want her to get justice, we should be asking the US courts to punish those who have inflicted her with torture over the years she was imprisoned which is against human rights.
Maula Jutt
I'm sorry but your perception of truth is distorted by lack of actual interest in the topic at hand displayed by your unfamiliarity with the details. There also seems to be a desire to appear as the reasonable intelligent voice among the hoards of unintelligent Pakistanis, I don't think it is wise to label oneself as a "sensible poster".
Her release is being demanded because of question marks over the evidence (or lack of) provided to support the charges put on her. The case seems to have been cooked up to give her a life imprisonment because what they actually want her for, they can't prove.
If the issue is only important to you because you think this will get us some points over USA then that reflects badly on you. The rest of us are moved by her family's desperate efforts to have her released, we are moved by the images of a half starved woman, we are moved by the story of her children, we are moved by the pictures of her children crying uncontrollably for their mother.

An appeal to declare mistrial has been rejected.
Judge Berman already gave his unofficial verdict on that by saying that there is no evidence that she was detained before 2008.
There was more than one paragraph in my post. She seems to be innocent of what she was tried for which was an attempted murder of the US soldiers. The particular paragraph of my post which you have highlighted was answering your allegation that the catalyst for her support is a desire to get one up on the USA. My argument is that the feelings were sparked by something other than that.Maula jutt said:you kindly reminded me the things that have moved you about her case. Nowhere do I see your conviction that she is innocent. What you see is her family and her children crying for her.
Why do you expect any society numbering over 160 million brains to be completely consistant? How many societies do you know which don't satisfy the hypocricy test?But we are a hypocritic society and hypocrisy does apparently seem to lead to a much easier life.
You are putting words in the mouths of your millions of opponents who may not all be arguing the same thing and then arguing against these words.There is mistrial taking place. I feel it too. However, I have kept a margin for any further details that might come to light later which can explain why certain steps were taken that seem to be against her basic rights. I have no problem speaking against it. But why is the 'Pakistan ki beti' declared innocent by our people?
Is that by itself not worthy of a protest? If her allegations of rape are indeed true then are you suggesting that women who are involved with Al-qaeda may be raped?Why are we closing her eyes tight shut from the possibility that she may be guilty of her involvement with terrorist organizations but has been treated terribly on human rights basis since after her arrest? Why is this so difficult for us to accept?
There was more than one paragraph in my post. She seems to be innocent of what she was tried for which was an attempted murder of the US soldiers. The particular paragraph of my post which you have highlighted was answering your allegation that the catalyst for her support is a desire to get one up on the USA. My argument is that the feelings were sparked by something other than that.
Why do you expect any society numbering over 160 million brains to be completely consistant? How many societies do you know which don't satisfy the hypocricy test?
You are putting words in the mouths of your millions of opponents who may not all be arguing the same thing and then arguing against these words.
Who said that she definitely is innocent? All we know is that she was arrested for some reason no one knows, she isn't being tried for that reason, what happened when she was arrested is not being shared with us and the crime she is being tried for she doesn't seem to have committed. The protest is against a clear misjustice.
Is that by itself not worthy of a protest? If her allegations of rape are indeed true then are you suggesting that women who are involved with Al-qaeda may be raped?
How sensible is it to accept a possibility of her guilt without anyone actually telling us what she is supposed to be guilty off or providing any proof of it?
What was she doing for Al-qaeda? If she was killing people then we should be given proof, if she was just washing their dishes is the 86 year sentence justified?
The reason why the Americans bomb us, the reason why the Taliban bomb us, the reason why our police kill us is precisely because we don't put any price on a Pakistani life. Imagine Pakistan trying a US or British citizen for murder, what do you think will happen? The whole of their government would be behind them regardless of whether they committed a crime or not.
No wonder then we see so many Pakistanis running around the world trying to get a US or EU passport.
Until we are provided evidence of what she has done to deserve 80+ years in jail, she is Pakistan's innocent beti
Whyy are their such strong convictions that she, a returnee professor of MIT from USA who has a sister teaching in the States too, not some airi ghairi poor woman whose relatives won't be even able to voice their anger anywhere other than holding a picture of her outside the Supreme Court, is innocent, was just minding her own business, and was kidnapped by the ISI or CIA, taken to some cell in Afghanistan where she was raped and tortured day and night, and now sentenced to nearly a century in US prison?
by an equally loud group citing some actual facts and not emotional jingoism,
Because you are claiming that they are the majority as if you have carried out some survey.Then why do you keep responding to my comments when you dont even fall in the category of people who I am criticizing
Mushie supporters who had been defending his sell-out behind all these years report to this thread...
Although i strongly believe that Aafia Siddiqui should be released by USA ( guilty or innocent ), i don't think her innocence has been proven even if she was picked up from Karachi.
There is no doubt that Americans act like thugs at times and they do whatever they want but i can NEVER believe that a totally innocent woman living in Karachi can randomly be kidnapped and get accused for all sort of crimes. There are hundreds of thousands of well educated women in Pakistan, tell me how many of those were randomly picked up and got tortured????
Aafia has suffered enough and should be released but let's not pretend that a totally innocent working woman was sold by greedy Musharaff for a few thousand dollars deposited directly to his personal account.