Dr. Aamir Liaquat Hussain joins PTI

Arabi Qahwa. :))

Although I do not agree with these tactics as IK was supposed to be better I do agree with using this clown if needed to win the elections, should get rid of him ASAP or assign him in some useless role once/if PTI win.
You cannot enter politics and expect to get out with your hands clean.

I don't approve of Amir Liaquat joining PTI but I can understand why IK has taken him. Here is a sneak peak of things to come:

To defeat the Nooras you have to beat them at their own game, and Liaquat is the right person to do so.

"Jo tv ka remote nahi chala sakta woh mulk kya khak chalaye ga" :))

There is also another video of him doing nooni chitrol i guess he is given the task to appear on media daily :))

Amir Liaquat and Imran Khan fully deserve each other, however, this yet another marriage involving Imran that will not end well.

Can someone please explain to me how Amir Liaquat is worse than Nawaz and Shahbaz both of whom are directly involved in corruption, extra-judicial killing, bringing down governments and colluding with the establishment. I'm trying to figure out in what world Liaquat is a worse person than the Sharifs.

There is also another video of him doing nooni chitrol i guess he is given the task to appear on media daily :))

Do share... I never miss an opportunity of watching a good ol' Noora chitrol.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] and [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] what I don't understand is that a plenty of people leave or join PML-N every other day and most of us "junoonis" are least bothered about it because we do not intend on voting for them no matter who they induct, but apparently for the Nooras on this forum it is a big deal regarding who is within PTI or not.

If they do not intend to vote for PTI why even debate to wit's end whether Liaquat is a good choice for PTI or not. Or why be concerned that Firdous Ashiq Awan has joined PTI. Or why go all guns blazing and make a thread about how PTI has inducted a Karachi mass murderer within their fold (which turned out to be a fabrication of Noora media)

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] and [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] what I don't understand is that a plenty of people leave or join PML-N every other day and most of us "junoonis" are least bothered about it because we do not intend on voting for them no matter who they induct, but apparently for the Nooras on this forum it is a big deal regarding who is within PTI or not.

If they do not intend to vote for PTI why even debate to wit's end whether Liaquat is a good choice for PTI or not. Or why be concerned that Firdous Ashiq Awan has joined PTI. Or why go all guns blazing and make a thread about how PTI has inducted a Karachi mass murderer within their fold (which turned out to be a fabrication of Noora media)

Thats because they are bunch of hypocrites they will find even minor things to criticize IK and PTI but Sharifon ke billions ki corruption be inhe thori lagti he. Inke sitting MNA MPA chor jaayen to khaer PTI ka local councilor chala jaaye to inki baaten suna kro lol

Nooras have to have something to get excited about , they cant talk about corruption because they are beneficiaries of the corrupt system they help to pioneer. They cant talk about achievements as there are non,they cant talk about accountability as thats what they are desperate to avoid. So these small things are the only thing they get excited about.

Can someone please explain to me how Amir Liaquat is worse than Nawaz and Shahbaz both of whom are directly involved in corruption, extra-judicial killing, bringing down governments and colluding with the establishment. I'm trying to figure out in what world Liaquat is a worse person than the Sharifs.

Inciting violence against Qadianis which led to people being attacked/killed (dont remember that one completely), glorifying Mumtaz Qadri on live tv, supporting Altaf Hussain, spewing garbage on Television for a whole year, calling Junaid Jamshed's mother and him something really inappropriate on live television because of the whole Hazrat Ayesha R.A scandal.

Was Minister from a seat of MQM when Saaniha Nishtar Park happened... to name a few

ALH has got the gift of the gab! You may not like what he says however no denying that the man knows how to put forward his argument. Joining PTI seems to have ended his "Mere Pyare Hum Watno" programme that I used to like. People change so those going on about his past need to get over it. Even IK has said that he has no problems with Amir's past, life is a learning process. If PTI's fans can overlook IK's faults then do so Amir's as well.

Within five days of the show, an Ahmadi man, Luqman Ahmad Shehzad, was gunned down in Gujranwala.[60] This was the second time that Hussain's show had been linked to attacks on Ahmadis.[61]

Source Wikipedia

Not saying Liaquat is a bad acquisition, his presence to the supporters of Karachi is still very much appreciated and will help get votes for a dying party in the city, the one that started a 'shoutout to rebuld campaign' in Karachi during the Dharna days, and the first 'halal' curfew of roads in Karachi... I was about to give my USMLE step 1 during that time, no cars were allowed to pass on Shahrah E faisal..

The shutdown was so successful for PTI, that it shut the party down completely in Karachi :)))

I like AML a lot. He is an honest man who tells it the way it is to the enemy. Okay, sometimes he can be a bit over the top as well nonetheless his patriotism is unquestionable. His MQM past rightfully makes people feel somewhat suspicious of his intentions, the way I see it is every person has the right to change their views. If IK can be excused over his past errors then so can ALH. I look forward to a golden alliance between these two fierce patriots, insha Allah. There is no doubt that ALH is a hard-core Pakistani and proud Muslim whose finances have never been questioned. Stop looking for complete angels to lead Pakistan, the leadership will always comes from within. Imran Khan, Dr Babar Awan and Amir Liaquat Hussain are all classy and honest men who went the very best for Pakistan.

There you go.

Finally someone who speaks his mind instead of the many posters going by general public misconceptions about ALH.

#AmirLiaqatKoPattaDalo right now trending in Pakistan by PMLN social media team it looks like they are not happy someone from PTI is giving them answer in their own language :yk

https://www.dawn.com/news/1414428

ISLAMABAD: A case has been registered against TV anchor Dr Aamir Liaquat Hussain on a charge of using derogatory language against prophets.

The case was registered with Aabpra police station on a complaint lodged by the imam of a mosque in Islamabad’s G-6 Sector.

The TV show, Sehar Aamir, was aired at Sehri time on June 5.

According to the first information report (FIR), the case was registered under sections 295-A of the Pakistan Penal Code (deliberate and malicious acts intended to outrage religious feelings) and 295-C (use of derogatory remarks about the Holy Prophet).

In reply to a question about registration of a case in Islamabad instead of Karachi even though the programme was aired from Karachi, the officer said the TV channel concerned had its head office in the federal capital.

The Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority had imposed a 30-day ban on Aamir Liaquat last month for uttering some objectionable remarks during the show.

SC issues contempt notice to Aamir Liaquat, questions if he should be in the parliament

The Supreme Court of Pakistan on Friday issued a show cause notice to televangelist Aamir Liaquat for alleged contempt of court on his part, with Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar remarking "that such people should not be in the parliament".

A three-member bench of the apex court, under Justice Nisar's stewardship, issued the notice while hearing a private TV channel's petition against Liaquat, who had missed the same case's hearing yesterday.

After the case proceedings began today with Liaquat in attendance, Jang group's counsel Faisal Iqbal told the court that the TV anchor, in one of his TV programmes, had "accused Geo TV anchor Shahzeb Khanzada of supporting blasphemy convicts".

"He also levelled grave allegations against Najam Sethi," the counsel added. "No one has the right to call anyone infidel or traitor."

At the chief justice's orders, a clip of Liaquat's said shows was played in the courtroom. In the clip, Liaquat, who recently won a National Assembly seat on Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf's ticket, was observed hurling insults at the owner of a private TV channel.

"Do [you] teach the general public this through TV?" Justice Nisar remarked, addressing the TV personality. "A person who does not know what to say at a public forum, should he be in the parliament?"

The chief justice pondered suspending the notification of Liaquat's recent electoral victory.

In February 2017, the Supreme Court had directed Bol News — Liaquat's current employers — to immediately cease airing all "hateful content" or face contempt of court charges.

After watching the content of the video clip today, when the Supreme Court asked Liaquat to explain himself, the anchor claimed that he had used the insulting words for "Narendra Modi and Ajeet Duval".

The chief justice cut short Liaquat's explanation and said: "You are again lying in the court. This drama won't fly here."

The CJP then issued a contempt of court show cause notice to the PTI leader for lying in the court and using abusive language, and gave him two weeks to submit his written reply to the charge.

The case was adjourned until an unspecified date.

This is not the first time that the vitriolic content of Liaquat's shows has landed him in hot water. In December 2017, the Islamabad High Court, via an interim order, had barred him from making television appearances, although the ban was lifted in March 2018.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1426167/s...t-questions-if-he-should-be-in-the-parliament

How is this contempt of court again?

ALH has been screaming his lungs out in praise of Justice Saqib Nisar and PAK Judiciary.

Amir Liaquat imploding on PTI and Imran Khan. Whose bright idea was to get this guy to join PTI?

As most would have seen today Amir Liaquat has imploded on PTI, Imran Khan and several PTI members.

Severe damage job on PTI.

Imran Khan has made some big mistakes in terms of PTI and personell.

What's he done? Seems the guy has some serious issues. Kudos to him on beating Sattar though.

The guy was single handedly instrumental in PTI winning so many Karachi seats

Insaaf washing powder didn't work on him the first time. I think he needs to be thrown into the washing machine again.

As most would have seen today Amir Liaquat has imploded on PTI, Imran Khan and several PTI members.

Severe damage job on PTI.

Imran Khan has made some big mistakes in terms of PTI and personell.

Girtay hain shehsawar maidan-e-jang mai....

Insaaf washing powder didn't work on him the first time. I think he needs to be thrown into the washing machine again.

I just don't get why you voted for PTI if all your going to do is criticize them every single step of the way.

Needs to be put here as well:

Seems like you, during the time of the election, also put yourself in that same washing machine as Amir Liaqat was in. Insaaf powder didn't work on both of you.

I guess time to throw away the dirty laundry.

The guy was single handedly instrumental in PTI winning so many Karachi seats

yeah right (heavy dose of sarcasm)

he didnt even campaign outside his constituency

So Aamir Liaquat has turned against his own party? He's probably gotten board of it now that the elections are over. Going from one place to another in Karachi making promises won't appeal to him anymore.

it was expected but I wish he trolled under PTI wings a bit longer. :dw

Haven't watched this yet but apparently he gives his "version" :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qPLEpLdeNFw" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Was a matter of time before this actor creates a drama.

Anyways PTI should not entertain hate mongers like him and Orya if they really care about people from all backgrounds.

Aamir Liaquat accuses PTI leadership of neglecting Karachi

Televangelist and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) lawmaker Aamir Liaquat on Tuesday issued multiple berating statements against the party's senior leadership including Prime Minister Imran Khan, voicing concerns that the representatives from Karachi were being allegedly sidelined.

Liaquat launched into a tirade against the party during a talk show on Samaa TV. He complained that Prime Minister Imran Khan did not nominate anyone from Karachi and completely ignored the province for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

When asked what the premier should do to address his grievances, Liaquat said: "They [Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf] have no movement in Karachi. The 'winds of Imran Khan' were blowing in Karachi which brought them success in certain constituencies, while in others certain personalities secured victory for them."

"I told Imran Khan we need to focus on forming a concrete movement for Karachi at ground level because local body elections are to take place after 17 months. If you want to win, you will have to work on the union council level," the MNA said.

He protested that the government is not extending the lease for Martin Quarters, complaining that the people of Clayton Quarters were forced to live under the open sky. "Moreover, the residents of Press Quarters lost their homes today as they were torn down, while the people living in FC Quarters are in utter despair," he maintained.

Here the show host pointed out, "But isn't it true that PM Khan has said he feels the pain of Karachiites and is even fielding a candidate of presidentship from Karachi?"

On this, Liquat flew off the handle and said: "Was Mamnoon Hussain from Lala Musa? Was Pervez Musharraf from Jhelum?"

"What a strange point you have raised," he said rebuking the show host.

"This is [tantamount to] throwing dust in people's faces if one says 'he [PM Khan] is bringing a candidate from Karachi'," he said in vexation.

"What begs more attention than 'austerity' is the fact that you dig out all the money sitting comfortably in the bellies of thieving crocodiles who have stolen it," he asserted.

"Saving costs on '18 cars and teacups' will not bring about simplicity," he said disdainfully.

"Feeding people is a tradition of the Prophet (PBUH). No one left with an empty belly from the Prophet's home," he said while criticising the austerity measures announced by the PTI government.

"For now, they should bring their own house to order and address the grievances of their own who are unhappy."

When asked by the show host who else is unhappy besides him, he responded while chuckling: "You think I am so naive that I would tell you how many people I have who stand with me?"

He went on to steer the conversation back to the issue of Karachi, saying that the city had been sidelined. "I was not invited to a meeting held by the Sindh governor today. Imran Ismail sahab did not invite me."

Liaquat said that stories alleging that he [Ismail] did not have my number were concocted whereas "just one minute prior to coming on your show I was on the phone with him".

"He [PM Khan] is not ready to talk on these basic issues because 'I am a stranger and an outsider'," the PTI lawmaker claimed, convinced that he was being ignored due to his specific background.

The show host then pointed out that many people were from the outside including the Punjab Assembly Speaker, to which Liaquat responded by saying: "There is a lot of difference between those outsiders and this outsider."

The host interjected by saying: "Imran Ismail brought you into the party's fold himself with a lot of affection."

"I am not going to say anything to Imran Ismail, however, I will say about Faisal Vawda, who has given a beeper on Samaa TV, that he should keep his wits about himself.

"He [Vawda] said we don't take Aamir Liaquat seriously. Well, you will soon take me very seriously," warned Liaquat.

"Take care of your own food and your life. Worry about where you are eating nowadays," he continued to warn Vawda.

"I am saying all this to him [Vawda] 'between the lines' because given what he has said I could have responded with much more than this but I do not wish to drag this matter any further than this."

When asked if Liaquat plans on "moving left or right" the show host was told that there was no question of such a thing.

"I will remain in PTI and its Karachi chapter," said Liaquat resolutely.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1429501/aamir-liaquat-accuses-pti-leadership-of-neglecting-karachi

I just don't get why you voted for PTI if all your going to do is criticize them every single step of the way.

Seems like you, during the time of the election, also put yourself in that same washing machine as Amir Liaqat was in. Insaaf powder didn't work on both of you.

He claimed he voted for PTI for a very good reason so he could continue his job for next 5 years.

He wants a ministry or maybe he wanted to be Governor but nothing is going to be enough for this blackmailer, there is a reason i NEVER liked his inclusion in PTI.

But somehow PTI thought it was a good idea so will pay price but at the end of the day, he can act like Gulali or Reham but no one takes such drama queens seriously.

It was a face saving post because he TOLD us that PTI will not win in KPK :)))

He is a certified jhoota

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FItsJavedMiandad%2Fvideos%2F2120251091549572%2F&show_text=1&width=267" width="267" height="749" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allow="encrypted-media" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>.

Shoshal media :))

PTI MNAs did quite well in Karachi to win more seats than MQM. Yet, MQM has 2 cabinet ministers and I don't recall PTI Karachi MNAs even having 1.

Well if the paindus of Lahore had voted for PTI we wouldn't have been in this predicament and would not have to sit with MQM. PTI won 15 out of 21 seats in Karachi, which itself was a massive achievement. Yet they couldn't even win 30% seats in Lahore and surrounding areas.

Are there any MNAs who hold more than one portfolio in IK’s cabinet? If there are, than PTI MNAs from Karachi could have been accommodated.

I'm hearing that 10 more ministers will be added after president's elections. Folks like Ali Zaidi etc are getting portfolios.

So let’s just avoid making it a Karachi vs Lahore contest. We already have enough polarisation in our politics.

Islamabad

Ok. He was parachuted into a safe seat. In hindsight, he would have won from Karachi but you wouldn't want to risk your main guys not getting elected.

its a coalition government, unfortunately the smaller parties will get disproportionate amount of power... that's the way the cookie crumbles. There is no point creating useless ministries just to accommodate people. Keep it lean and mean. The MNAs of Karachi have lot of work to do... at local level. It's a historic opportunity, make some serious effort in improving lives and cement party position in the city.

Anyway, I am sure there will be cabinet reshuffle at some point.

Ok. He was parachuted into a safe seat. In hindsight, he would have won from Karachi but you wouldn't want to risk your main guys not getting elected.

its a coalition government, unfortunately the smaller parties will get disproportionate amount of power... that's the way the cookie crumbles. There is no point creating useless ministries just to accommodate people. Keep it lean and mean. The MNAs of Karachi have lot of work to do... at local level. It's a historic opportunity, make some serious effort in improving lives and cement party position in the city.

Anyway, I am sure there will be cabinet reshuffle at some point.

He won from Islamabad in 2013 as well.

KARACHI: Differences between parliamentarian Amir Liaquat Hussain and the party’s whose ticket he won under in the 2018 general election – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) have intensified.

PTI Amir Liaquat expressed anger with the party over failure to invite him to a dinner hosted at the Governor House.

According to reports, Liaquat left a group comprising Sindh leaders of PTI over the issue.

Prior to leaving the WhatsApp group, Liaquat sent voice note in which he expressed anger towards Secretary Information Shehzada Qureshi calling on him to bring positive change. “You will not get the opportunity of winning so many seats. Do not be the reason to lose respect. Hurdles will be created in the future if you continue mistreatment of your own people” Liaquat was quoted as saying in the voice message.

PTI’s Karachi President Shamim Naqvi said there was no reason to be upset as there was no dinner hosted.

However, PTI leader Senator Faisal Javed said some people were saying such things over failure to get a ministry.

"Karachi voted for Imran Khan in both 2013's and 2018's general elections," Javed said while speaking to Geo News.

"Even if Imran Khan had nominated a pole instead of Aamir Liaquat, it would have won," he stressed.

When PTI presidential candidate Arif Alvi was asked about this issue he refrained to comment. "Only PTI Chairman Imran Khan can pass a statement on it," he said.

While Fawad Chaudhry also refrained to address the issue, saying "May Allah show us all the right path."

Capture.JPG

good point; PTI Karachi members must be disheartening that they fought hard against MQM to win in Karachi and yet their party has given MQM more cabinet ministries than them :facepalm:

Closet Nooras caring so much for Karachi PTI... :)))

This is how coalition governments work... it gives power to smaller partners, because you can't do without them.

Lol, the guy is aasteen ka saanp, he is just showing his true colors. Wasn't expecting it to happen this early but wow. It'll be fun watching him if he sticks around in PTI. I'm sure IK will be regretting his decision to include him every day for the next 5 years.

Desperate attempt to win favors with IK, maybe eyeing some high post in PCB.

Also laughable that he thinks he can win elections from anywhere in Pakistan.

Desperate attempt to win favors with IK, maybe eyeing some high post in PCB.

Also laughable that he thinks he can win elections from anywhere in Pakistan.

He would destroy Amir Liaquat :)))

No one voted for AL. They voted for IK. If IK stands with Miandad and a reelection is run, AL wouldn't get 10 votes

PTI has allayed concerns of Amir Liaquat: Najeeb Haroon

KARACHI: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Karachi leadership has allayed concerns of party parliamentarian Amir Liaquat Hussain, MNA Najeeb Haroon said on Thursday.

Haroon said they contacted Liaquat after differences between him and the party intensified.

“We contacted Liaquat and he will vote for Dr Arif Alvi in the presidential election on September 4,” Haroon said.

A day earlier, Liaquat expressed anger with the party and said he was not invited to a dinner hosted at the Governor House.

According to reports, Liaquat left a group comprising Sindh leaders of PTI over the issue.

However, PTI’s Karachi President Shamim Naqvi said Liaquat had no reason to be upset as there was no dinner at the Governor House.

Meanwhile, PTI Senator Faisal Javed said some people were saying things against the party over failure to get a ministry.

"Karachi voted for Imran Khan in both 2013's and 2018's general elections," Javed said while speaking to Geo News.

"Even if PM Imran had nominated a pole instead of Aamir Liaquat, it would have won," he stressed.

Further, PTI MNA Faisal Vawda also flayed Liaquat for his comments against the party and Prime Minister Imran Khan.

However, another leader has also come forward and criticised the party’s lack of interest in the metropolis.

Aftab Jehangir, who was elected MNA from NA-252 Karachi West 5, claimed "it does not matter whether it is Karachi or Islamabad, we have always been neglected."

He added that regardless of whether it is a meeting with Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) or a visit to the Idara Noor-e-Haq, "no one ever asks about us."

The MNA urged PTI’s presidential candidate Dr Arif Alvi to look into the matter.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/209196-pti-has-allayed-concerns-of-amir-liaquat-najeeb-haroon

Watched a clip on YouTube where he was heavily critisizing Imran Khan. Didn’t he get any minister-post, is it therefore he was angry?

This guy will do everything in his power to run a propaganda against PTI if he is frozen out.

Allegedly IK wanted nothing to do with him, but someone from PTI Karachi insisted he be included, who was that person? (Think it was Imran Ismail, not sure)

That person should be held responsible. It's his job to control his dog and pacify him.

Allegedly IK wanted nothing to do with him, but someone from PTI Karachi insisted he be included, who was that person? (Think it was Imran Ismail, not sure)

That person should be held responsible. It's his job to control his dog and pacify him.

Imran Ismail as governor threw the dinner of PTI Karachi MNAs (excluding Liaquat) at the governor's house which led to this whole fiasco, so probably won't be Imran Ismail who brought him onboard.

Why did he do that?... it's so petty.

Aamir Liaquat to be indicted by SC in contempt of court case on Sept 27

The Supreme Court on Tuesday announced that televangelist and MNA Aamir Liaquat Hussain will be indicted in a contempt of court case initiated against him for violating earlier undertakings not to use hate speech or derogatory language against individuals, including media persons.

The decision came after a three-judge bench headed by Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar rejected the unconditional apology submitted by the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf leader from Karachi.

The SC had last month slapped a contempt of court charge against Hussain while taking up petitions filed by anchorperson Shahzeb Khanzada, Independent Media Corporation (Pvt) Ltd, Mir Ibrahim-ur-Rehman and Najam Aziz Sethi accusing Hussain of flouting the March 28, 2017 restraining order in which he was cautioned to desist from defamatory campaigns and unethical manner of conducting television shows.

A number of clips of Hussain's television programmes were played in the courtroom today, with the CJP rhetorically asking: "Are we [the court] sitting here to be humiliated?"

"One cannot go about apologising after committing contempt of court," Justice Nisar observed. He questioned whether a lawmaker can remain a member of National Assembly after being indicted in a contempt case.

"They cannot [remain an MNA]," replied Shahab Sarki, the counsel for Hussain.

Faisal Siddiqui, the counsel for the petitioners, had earlier argued that 13 orders had been passed by the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) and even bans were slapped on Hussain a number of times, but all in vain, adding that Hussain should be dealt with sternly for the breach of his earlier undertakings.

In one of the video clips, the PTI leader was shown dubbing the chief executive of a private television channel the "father of India", "son of India", etc, while in another he had described the owner of the Jang Group and Najam Sethi as Indian agents.

One of the petitions accused Hussain of labelling the petitioners ghaddar (traitors) and gustakh (disrespectful) in his show “Aisay Nahi Chalay Ga”.

“The contemnor continuously abuses his power as a media person,” the petition contended, adding that time and again he had taken advantage of his position as a media person by making statements which were completely out of context and without any evidence.

The petitioners requested the apex court to initiate contempt of court proceedings against Hussain under Article 204 of the Constitution and under provisions of the Contempt of Court Ordinance 2003. The petition had also sought a restraining order against defaming the applicants by halting the broadcast of his television show.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1432278/a...ed-by-sc-in-contempt-of-court-case-on-sept-27

Hopefully his days are numbered. Cant stand this drama queen. Í am sorry but he seems like one of those who can never be trusted.

Why do you think PTI will lose those seats which they won with big margins?

No one really cares about byelection and if MQM machinery get to work, they're much better prepared to get the vote out.

Neither party visited our neighbourhood in NA-243, but MQM has done it before. I seriously doubt most people even know when the vote is

Reelection on his seat and two others vacated. MQM could sneak back in

Oh right, yes. MQM have a real chance, PTI Karachi are STILL extremely disorganised. They have not mobilised their general election volunteers, and those who are trying to get involved through local PTI offices are complaining of nepotism and people lobbying for positions and all the usual. Don't really have high hopes for LG elections at this rate.

I am still expecting PTI to win NA-243 though, Alamgir Khan will be running from there. NA-247 has never really been solid MQM territory, and I would, again, expect PTI to take that one. If NA-245 has re-elections, Farooq Sattar has a real chance if he contests for MQM.

My main concern is LG elections.

Oh right, yes. MQM have a real chance, PTI Karachi are STILL extremely disorganised. They have not mobilised their general election volunteers, and those who are trying to get involved through local PTI offices are complaining of nepotism and people lobbying for positions and all the usual. Don't really have high hopes for LG elections at this rate.

Exactly.

To sum it up, [MENTION=147379]Maverick84[/MENTION], literally no one voted because of PTI machinery in Karachi, they voted because of IK's campaign nationally. Without that, I'm not sure they can get out votes, because their machinery is non-existent

I am still expecting PTI to win NA-243 though, Alamgir Khan will be running from there. NA-247 has never really been solid MQM territory, and I would, again, expect PTI to take that one. If NA-245 has re-elections, Farooq Sattar has a real chance if he contests for MQM.

My main concern is LG elections.

I actually think Sattar has zero chance. A lot of people really despise him, for reasons I never understood. Some will say it's because of MQM's history or whatever, but no other MQM member has faced such hate as Sattar does from various ethnicity here among the Urdu Speaking.

NA-243 has always been a very pro-MQM seat. In fact, the guy on PS-114 was shocked that he won (Which is our provincial seat). So it was very much Imran effect.

NA-247 is a toss-up, and I agree, PTI has advantage, but I think MQM machinery, if it works, is the only one that'll get its people out to vote

I actually think Sattar has zero chance. A lot of people really despise him, for reasons I never understood. Some will say it's because of MQM's history or whatever, but no other MQM member has faced such hate as Sattar does from various ethnicity here among the Urdu Speaking.

NA-243 has always been a very pro-MQM seat. In fact, the guy on PS-114 was shocked that he won (Which is our provincial seat). So it was very much Imran effect.

NA-247 is a toss-up, and I agree, PTI has advantage, but I think MQM machinery, if it works, is the only one that'll get its people out to vote

It will be quite interesting to watch the bye-election, and I think it'll largely come down to turnout.

Roshan Pakistan did a survey in NA-243 about 2 weeks ago, and they only include likely voters in their surveys.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karachi likely to re-elect a PTI candidate in the seat vacated by the Prime Minister. <a href="https://t.co/yVGX61rExR">pic.twitter.com/yVGX61rExR</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1033412068987351040?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 25, 2018</a></blockquote>

Before the election, Roshan's survey a month out from elections had MQM 2 points ahead of PTI, though at that time all surveys overestimated MQM due to many Karachiites saying they will vote for MQM while intending to vote for someone else.

PTI MNA Aamir Liaquat barred from meeting PM Imran in Karachi

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MNA Aamir Liaquat Hussain was barred from meeting Prime Minister Imran Khan at the state guest house in Karachi on Sunday, Express News reported.

The premier kicked off his one-day Karachi visit by paying homage at the Quaid’s mausoleum and then headed to the guest house via helicopter. However, security officials kept Hussain from entering the guest house premises to greet the prime minister who is in the metropolis for the first time after assuming the PM House.

In anticipation of receiving a green signal from security protocol, Hussain waited outside before he eventually left the place without meeting the PTI chairman.

When asked by journalists, the PTI minister responded that he had in fact turned up ahead of schedule.

He also clarified that he had no qualms about the admission of former Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) convener Farooq Sattar to the PTI, adding that the decision rested with the party leadership.

On August 29, MNA Hussain left a PTI WhatsApp group, made for communication between the party’s lawmakers, after being snubbed from an earlier gathering at the Governor House in the port city.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1804803/1-pti-mna-aamir-liaquat-barred-meeting-pm-imran-karachi/

The Supreme Court on Wednesday indicted televangelist and MNA Aamir Liaquat Hussain for committing contempt of court on a television programme.

Hussain pleaded not guilty to the charges.

The apex court rejected the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf leader's unconditional apology and indicted him under Article 204 of the Constitution.

According to the charges against Hussain, he had on March 9, 2017 violated an order of the court dated March 3, 2017.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

The court stated in the charge sheet that the MNA's conduct, based on excerpts from his TV programme and his statement, was tantamount to disobeying, disregarding and flouting the orders of the court. He was also charge-sheeted for obstructing, interfering and prejudicing the process of law.

The court, referring to a statement made by Hussain, said it "tends to disrespect and ridicule this court, and thereby, you obstructed, interfered and prejudiced the process of law and due course of proceedings of this court. You, therefore, are guilty of committing contempt of the Supreme Court of Pakistan within the meaning of Article 204 of the Constitution [...] read with section 3 of the Contempt of Court Ordinance, 2003, punishable under section 5 of the said Ordinance."

The court directed the PTI leader to present witnesses ─ if any ─ in his favour, in the next hearing to be held on Nov 29.

In August, the SC had slapped Hussain a contempt of court charge while taking up petitions filed by anchorperson Shahzeb Khanzada, Independent Media Corporation (Pvt) Ltd, Mir Ibrahim-ur-Rehman and Najam Aziz Sethi accusing Hussain of flouting a March 28, 2017 restraining order in which he was cautioned to desist from defamatory campaigns and unethical manner of conducting television shows.

Issuing a contempt notice to Hussain, CJP Nisar had questioned whether someone who is not aware of what to say on a public forum should be a parliamentarian.

On October 30, the apex court had refused an apology rendered by Hussain's lawyer in the contempt case.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1444165/sc-indicts-mna-aamir-liaquat-for-contempt-of-court

Reports suggesting that he has been fired from the Ramzan transmission program for misbehaviour.