England (163/4) defeat Pakistan (160/8) by 6 wickets [DLS] in ICC T20 World Cup warm-up game

Pak will lose to Namibia or anyone coming through at this rate

Hasnain always has catches missed of his bowling or fall8ng in no mans land. He created 3 such chances. He needs to gethis length right or he will get mascarred in the tournament, if Shaheen is fit he will not be selected.

That's why I often feel sorry for our bowlers. How would their figures look if they had a fielding side like NZ or SA to back them up.

Why play behind closed doors? In England, even warmups get decent crowd and creates brilliant atmosphere.

England dismantle Pakistan again without having to use Butler

Pakistan just beat NZL in a final in their home conditions stop taking warm ups so seriously bhai

The same Sri Lanka who man handled us in our home track (Dubai) just lost comfortably to Namibia

That's why I often feel sorry for our bowlers. How would their figures look if they had a fielding side like NZ or SA to back them up.

Their fielders turn half chances or even quarter chances into wickets for their bowlers. Our bowlers always relied more on hitting the stumps.

Pakistan need to swap Khushdil with Muhammad Harris

This needs to be sorted out immediately

Pakistan is taking this practice match very lightly, fielding like associate teams. They are much better than this and will come back good coming sunday :kp

Their fielders turn half chances or even quarter chances into wickets for their bowlers. Our bowlers always relied more on hitting the stumps.

And our fielders mess up lollypots and 100% chances :)

Pakistan need to swap Khushdil with Muhammad Harris

This needs to be sorted out immediately

Agree with you on this one. Khushdil pay tou ab tars ata hai

The same Sri Lanka who man handled us in our home track (Dubai) just lost comfortably to Namibia

Same SL were smashed in Asia cup opener by Afg and went on an unbeaten run its T 20's one swallow does not make a summer.

Commentators laughing like crazy on Pakistani fielding in the background.

We can't compete with England, their batting is levels above.

Don't take these warm up seriously. Pakistan need to play 4 pacers and 2 allrounder spinners. It will be hard to defend against good sides . Mohd Wasim is also a handy batsman and can be developed into bowling all-around. He can bat at no. 8 and cannot do any worse than Asif or Khusdil

I wanna know who the fielding coach is, and if there isn't one, why?

Are Saqlain and co just throwing down slip catches and forsaking the fielding overall?

Honestly the fielding is some of the worst aspects I've witnessed over the years. It's only getting worse and not better imo.

What’s wrong with Haider Ali?

Number of 6s by teams playing today:

Zimbabwe - 6
Scotland - 1
West Indies - 3
India - 8
Australia - 7
NZ - 4 (while scoring just 98)
South Africa - 3 while chasing 99

Pakistan is joint lowest with Scotland. With middle order not having teh ability to hit the big shots Pkaistan journey in the world cup look shaky

You guys are taking this game too seriously mostly these games are played with less then 50% intensity.

Little Sam Curran struck 3 sixes on this ground and England hit 12 maximums and one of those should have been a twelve, whereas Pakistan hit only 1 six :108: That's 66 runs in difference lol.

Number of 6s by teams playing today:

Zimbabwe - 6
Scotland - 1
West Indies - 3
India - 8
Australia - 7
NZ - 4 (while scoring just 98)
South Africa - 3 while chasing 99

Pakistan is joint lowest with Scotland. With middle order not having teh ability to hit the big shots Pkaistan journey in the world cup look shaky

Its clear by now that Pakistani batting doesnt have the muscle to hit big on these pitches and on such big grounds. The firepower doesnt exist for such pitches. You need strong individuals here, more than touch players. Only Haider and Fakhar have that ability here.

Pakistan will have to rely on their bowling to bail them out and improve their fielding massively. Thats their best bet.

It's okay it's just a warmup. England has played recent T20s in Australia, Pakistan hasn't and they usually are like this: taking it easy when it doesn't count which isnt a great thing.

Most disappointing will be if there were drop catches, going by comments here. Dropping in warmup when there's no pressure, that's just awful.

I wanna know who the fielding coach is, and if there isn't one, why?

Are Saqlain and co just throwing down slip catches and forsaking the fielding overall?

Honestly the fielding is some of the worst aspects I've witnessed over the years. It's only getting worse and not better imo.

We can see glimpses of coaching drills through the PCB youtube channel, which clearly shows that the coaching is not upto intl level...

They are bowling dollies to so called six hitters and post it in yt

Also the fielding drills which are so comic..

no way even a club team practice like that these days....

It is a warmup only. So, no big deal.

But, England have shown recently they are a better T20 team than Pakistan. As a matter of fact, I think they are the #1 T20 team currently.

Jos Buttler: Malan missed out today, so everyone moved up one. It is great to see him play well, he's (Stokes) hitting the ball well in the nets and I am sure he will take confidence from the 30-odd he got today. Everything we wanted to get out of today we did. Great to see Livingstone back on the field after a significant injury, getting four overs from Jordan as well, Brook and Curran getting some time in the middle. We batted first in the games against Australia and wanted to bowl first, so got what we wanted from the game.

Shadab Khan: I think all the departments (were poor) but still the fielding is an eye opener for us, we didn't grab the catches and misfielded a lot. Hopefully sit together and talk about these things. It is good for us, he's (Afridi) our top class bowler and best in the world, he bowled just two overs but still he found his rhythm. I think everything is sorted, all the combinations are sorted, when Babar and Rizwan come back everything will be fine. We didn't perform well but it is a good thing this was a warmup game.

How come Asif Ali and Khusdil shah are named as keepers..

Why not they name a keeper in the main Squad but in reserves...

:mw wat a genius..

Well today's practice match has raised more concerns than solutions for our team going into first WC game against India. Shan has raised a stake to be included in the XI which is difficult to manage with the return of Fakhar and Wasim has firmly put a stake for a position in starting XI as well.

From what I see Ifti and Asif continue to be a failure so we can perhaps bank on Shan replacing one of them and it wouldn't matter much.

Jos Buttler: Malan missed out today, so everyone moved up one. It is great to see him play well, he's (Stokes) hitting the ball well in the nets and I am sure he will take confidence from the 30-odd he got today. Everything we wanted to get out of today we did. Great to see Livingstone back on the field after a significant injury, getting four overs from Jordan as well, Brook and Curran getting some time in the middle. We batted first in the games against Australia and wanted to bowl first, so got what we wanted from the game.

Shadab Khan: I think all the departments (were poor) but still the fielding is an eye opener for us, we didn't grab the catches and misfielded a lot.
Hopefully sit together and talk about these things.
It is good for us, he's (Afridi) our top class bowler and best in the world, he bowled just two overs but still he found his rhythm. I think everything is sorted, all the combinations are sorted, when Babar and Rizwan come back everything will be fine. We didn't perform well but it is a good thing this was a warmup game.

Sit > talk > wait for next game > misfield and drop catches > sit again > talk about it > repeat..

Well today's practice match has raised more concerns than solutions for our team going into first WC game against India. Shan has raised a stake to be included in the XI which is difficult to manage with the return of Fakhar and Wasim has firmly put a stake for a position in starting XI as well.

From what I see Ifti and Asif continue to be a failure so we can perhaps bank on Shan replacing one of them and it wouldn't matter much.

Shan
Rizwan
Fakhar
Babar
Haider
Ifthi
Nawaz
Shadab
Wasim
Naseem
Shaheen
Haris

This is the best 11 out of the lot with the right batting order..

Selfish Babar and Rizwan will not move an inch and Pakistan would be well on their way to early exit..

inshallah this wc we will get our PARTICIPATION trophy... they have the 1980s approach to t20s and look at how eng came to the dance...

No Rauf in the attack today. He's the real difference maker. Since Shaheen got injured, he's the only bowler consistently making an average positive impact across all matches . You need him and Shaheen at his best.

Pak cricketers are sensitive and timid souls. T20 is all about having fun, until they have a change in mentality, they will continue to play fearful cricket.

Unfortunately openers aside this is the worst ever Pakistan batting team I have seen in my 30+ years of watching cricket. So unless Rizwan and Babar manage to score big it will be early exit for Pakistan, despite having a very good pace attack.

Warm up game is warm up game.

More encouraging signs from an England perspective though.

Unfortunately openers aside this is the worst ever Pakistan batting team I have seen in my 30+ years of watching cricket. So unless Rizwan and Babar manage to score big it will be early exit for Pakistan, despite having a very good pace attack.

People are always binary with or without babar and riz.

Why not look at today and say ok - so openers got us to 66 in the powerplay. Nice platform for Riz and babar at 3 and 4? No?

The main problem with babar and Riz is their stubborn go slow approach at the start. But these kings should surely be able to capitalise on a foundation created by the openers?

When Shan and Wasim play so freely as they did today you already know this is a very good batting wicket, ultimately the English batsmen would destroy any attack on this wicket.

And at same time it shows how poor the rest of the pakistani players are.

Even the final sixes tally of Associate sides is going to be more than what this Pakistan team can manage.

Rizbar will be outfoxed here for their timid approach

Generally they need to play their shots fearlessly against this pace and bounce in Australia to even score 40-0 in the first 6 overs..

Even with no big innings from middle order even by chip ins from middle order Pakistan got to 161 to 19th over. 170 in 20 overs is a score Pakistan will mostly reach this world cup.
Nasim and 2 spinners didn't look threatening that is a worry.
Good thing is Shaheen beating bat a couple of times and not letting anyone score freely even when he looked 60% in rhythm.
Rauf should have bowled a couple of overs too.

Even without Shaheen(2 overs) and Rauf, England should not have chased it in 14.4 overs.

England are a cut above others.

Pakistan spinners will be taken to cleaners in Aus. In fact, all spinners will be destroyed by batsmen. May be Rashid Khan can hold his own. Thats about it.

Pakistan have low firepower. Outside of Nawaz no one can hit those big sixes. Pakistan is the only team that looks like they are still in the 90s. England play modern day T20 cricket.

Even without Shaheen(2 overs) and Rauf, England should not have chased it in 14.4 overs.

England are a cut above others.

Pakistan spinners will be taken to cleaners in Aus. In fact, all spinners will be destroyed by batsmen. May be Rashid Khan can hold his own. Thats about it.
Agree. Pakistan will struggle due to Shadab and Nawaz not being as effective as they are in Asia, which will put massive pressure on the pacers aswell. Teams with batting firepower will do well here, and we just do not have the players to take advantage of these good batting conditions unfortunately.

Hasnain should warm the bench for a bit, unless either of Naseem or Waseem Jnr get injured.

Can England do it in a Semi or a final though that's the question?

They used up all their luck on 2019. Still think Australia or India will beat them in a knockout.

Highlights of today's game

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ppa9ii" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

England batters’ extraordinary assault at the Gabba in Brisbane saw them ease past Pakistan’s score of 160 in yet another rain-hit encounter on Monday.

The contest was reduced to 19 overs after rain stopped play, a regular occurrence during the lead up to the main event so far. It was Pakistan who started the boundary fest with Shan Masood’s sparkling 39, putting them on course for a total close to 200. But a mix of poor running and Jos Buttler’s smart use of his slow bowlers saw England apply the brakes on the scoring rate with regular wickets, especially after the rain delay.

England made easy work of the chase despite losing opener Phil Salt in the first over. Ben Stokes, Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook and Sam Curran smashed 12 sixes between them to take their team over the line in just the 15th over of the contest.

Despite a disciplined effort from Shaheen Afridi at the start of the innings, Stokes took the initiative and hammered his way to 36 from 18 balls. The batters that followed Stokes mirrored the all-rounder’s approach and didn’t hesitate to target the long boundaries at the Gabba. At the time of Livingstone’s dismissal, England had the required rate under control as Brook continued from where he left in Pakistan last month.

The young batter was joined by Sam Curran at the crease and the duo added an unbeaten 59-run stand from merely 25 balls to register a statement win. Pakistan were let down by their middle order, who should have propelled their side to a bigger score. As for the bowling department, only Shaheen and Mohammad Wasim Jr could hold their head up high as boundaries flowed thick and fast. Pakistan still have work to do if they have to get close to a second title while England yet again showed why they are one of the tournament favourites.

https://www.t20worldcup.com/news/2857854

Thanks to YouTube I've been watching Pakistani domestic cricket. If you want to know why Pakistan plays international cricket like the 90s, watch domestic cricket and it will all make sense.

Absolute rollover it was Eng Aus are a different breed will be an upset if any other nation wins this tourney

Can’t believe Shan actually looked… decent? As did M Wasim with the bat, and not too bad with the ball either.

Shan + Haider as openers is p interesting, ngl.

As much as I’m against Shan, fact of the matter is that Fakhar has played zero games since injury, and missed out on a warm up to get accustomed to the conditions.

I really don’t know if it’s wise to throw him into the fire from the get go and that too in a high pressure India v Pak match up.

Also, it feels like Fakhar is being rushed recovery wise. He’s not fully healed, yet he got added to the WC squad… something doesn’t feel right about it.

Probably wouldn’t be saying all this if Shan played like trash in the warmup tbf. They can drop Asif Ali potentially and use Fakhar as a lower order hitter if push comes to shove.

Shadab kept saying this is wake up call in his interview after the game

How many more wake up calls does this side need?

Can’t believe Shan actually looked… decent? As did M Wasim with the bat, and not too bad with the ball either.

Shan + Haider as openers is p interesting, ngl.

He is weak against quality spin and generally in the middle overs.

He's a very strong backfoot player and generally prefers to pace upfront . I'm surprised that people are surprised by this. In fact I thought it was pretty clear why the selectors selected him .

The problem is that there are not enough spots where you are guaranteed to play pace and most teams do their homework and know oppisitions weaknesses inside out.

I know players were missing today for Pakistan, but that was a poor performance.

I just don't think Pakistan has the batting power to trouble the top sides in Australian conditions.

I know players were missing today for Pakistan, but that was a poor performance.

I just don't think Pakistan has the batting power to trouble the top sides in Australian conditions.

100% spot on the paltry scores of 160-70 pakistan usually get in pakistan and UAE will simply not be enough here. The extra pace and bounce in wickets and large grounds will expose our batting here. A group exit is on its way.

Can England do it in a Semi or a final though that's the question?

They used up all their luck on 2019. Still think Australia or India will beat them in a knockout.

They way England destroyed Australia in the 2019 semifinal had nothing to do with luck.

England, Australia and India are all evenly matched teams. It depends on who performs better on the day.

It will be a big shock if none of these three sides go all the way.

Don't know what Rizwan and Baber will do better here, they would have been too slow and we be 70 odd in 10 overs v/s 96 in 10ish today but without them the middle order as usual simply flattened. Guess if our bowlers can't keep opponents to 160-170 we are doomed.

Funny to read some comments after this WARM UP game. However, it is concerning how much out of depth the strategy is to get ready for WC.

In my opinion, MOST of the experiments SHOULD be done prior to the WC warmups. Why did the Babar and company not try different opening combinations prior to this cup? (including the triangular in NZ). The 7 game series was a prefect opportunity, regardless of the results, to try out different combinations. NOooo...they were busy accumulating numbers/stat padding.

Also, warmup against Eng was a good opportunity for most starters to feel the bounce and pace of these pitches. Why rest now? Is it just because it won't help numbers?

I hope we get accustomed to these wickets sooner than being too late.

Such fielding will cost Pak the tournament. Just can't drop catches against a batting line up such as England. The 160 odd we scored was not enough then we drop all those catches too. Very disheartening.