JaDed
Test Star
Ajay Devgan? Didnt know people cared about him in Pak to make memes?
Pakistanis welcoming their national hero:
Ajay Devgan is very likeable in Pakistan.Ajay Devgan? Didnt know people cared about him in Pak to make memes?
Ajay Devgan is very likeable in Pakistan.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I used to be a fan of the show but even I don’t follow the actors as closely as you do. If it wasn’t for you most of us likely would not know about the visit or the pictures lol.
Its on Dawn’s front page website..
Oh ok, but still have to get give credit to Mamoon for sharing this because I don’t visit dawn too often so wouldn’t have found out about this if not for him. BTW why is Dawn so popular amongst Indians? You seem to be a regular and majority of the comments there are also Indian.
Btw just checked the Dawn article and the picture posted on this thread does not seem to be from there.
Did you get it from a fan site? [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]
https://images.dawn.com/news/1186163/ertugruls-engin-altan-duezyatan-has-finally-made-it-to-pakistan
I got these pictures from Twitter. Ertugrul is trending today. After all, our national hero has finally come home.
He is a legend. He is very popular in Pakistan. Major Sahab and Phool Aur Kaantay are top-notch.
Stop these jibes at Pakistanis. There is no wrong in being a fan of art and artist.
He is popular in Pakistan? That means all Pakistanis are wannabe Indians and are ashamed of their own nation. What a travesty!
There is difference between popularity and treating someone like a national hero. Hundreds of Bollywood and Hollywood (more niche market in Pakistan) actors are also popular but they are not treated like national heroes.
If Ajay Devgan comes to Pakistan and tell him that Pakistan is second home, this type of weird obsession will indicate that we are wannabe Indians and are ashamed of our own nation.
Have you watched The Office? It’s an American show and an actor in that show got abuse and threats against her dog because people didn’t like what she did in a fictional scene. Star Wars actors were bullied and given death threats.The issue is that Pakistanis have elevated Ertugral to the level of a revered religious personality. He has become our country's godfather! No Pakistan has ever said to Ajay that India and Pakistan. The obsession with Ertugral is disturbing but fully understandable because Pakistanis watch the show to fill in their identity void.
I remember how Pakistanis flocked to Erugral's Insta page and lectured him on Islam after he posted a picture of his dog. I also remember how Pakistanis flocked to Esra's Insta page and told their Baji to cover up after she posted a picture of herself clad in a bikini. This whole obsession is unusual and disturbing.
Do you know Dilip Kumar? When he came to Pakistan, big events were held and he was given one of Pakistan’s highest civilian award(Nishan E Imitaz). Does that mean Pakistanis are wannabe Indians? I agree some Pakistanis go overboard with appreciation but vast majority see Engin Altan as a good actor and that does not make them wannabe Turks.
Cause if appreciation means someone is a wannabe then Pakistanis are wannabe Indians for giving Indian actors national civilian honours.
@Mamnoon Didn’t we also give Sammy an honorary citizenship? Does that mean we are wannabe St lucians? I get your point, Pakistanis are a bit too eager for appreciation and go over the top when someone praises them. I am not arguing that but just saying appreciating someone does not make you a wannabe. Pakistanis are a bit ott but I doubt identity crisis has anything to do with it. If some Spanish actor praised Pakistan and made videos in Urdu, Pakistanis would go crazy over them too.
Have you watched The Office? It’s an American show and an actor in that show got abuse and threats against her dog because people didn’t like what she did in a fictional scene. Star Wars actors were bullied and given death threats.
https://metro.co.uk/2020/08/08/offi...ut-controversial-cathy-jim-plotline-13102203/
So does that mean all Americans are crazy lunatics based on how the actress was treated or how Star War’s cast was treated? Social media highlights the worst of the worst as they are often the loudest but every country has people like that, Pakistan is not special.
Pakistan has some weird fans but if you think that is unusual and just limited to one country you are mistaken. Some fans are creepy no matter what country they are form.
There is a difference between praising/criticizing a drama or film star and trying to desperately associate a film star with your country, culture, language and way of life. No wonder Pakistanis got a rude awakening when they found out that the Turks are a very liberal lot and their lifestyle is similar to that of European's. Hence, all the flocking to the Baji's Insta account and morally policing her.
A few months back, Pakistanis thought that Turkey and Pakistan were becoming one nation and that Pakistanis would be able to travel freely to Turkey. They said it was the beginning of Pakistan's rise to power.![]()
Death threats are just criticism ? Threatening to kill someone over a fictional show(something Americans fans do routinely) is way worse then whatever Pakistani fans did. Anyways my point was simple, every country has crazy fans and Pakistan is no different.
There is a difference between praising/criticizing a drama or film star and trying to desperately associate a film star with your country, culture, language and way of life. No wonder Pakistanis got a rude awakening when they found out that the Turks are a very liberal lot and their lifestyle is similar to that of European's. Hence, all the flocking to the Baji's Insta account and morally policing her.
A few months back, Pakistanis thought that Turkey and Pakistan were becoming one nation and that Pakistanis would be able to travel freely to Turkey. They said it was the beginning of Pakistan's rise to power.![]()
Read my full post. You have selectively quoted me.
[/b]
)
This is when our cringe level maxed out. That was one embarrassing episode.
I haven't seen this show but everyone I know is watching it. It's on every TV I see. Which is crazy. The last time I saw a show get this popular in Pakistan was "Ishiq-e-Mamnoon". Which was another Turkish show.
The biggest reason for this is the fact that our TV is completely dull and boring. It catered towards only one Demographic and despite having some good writing and performances all the shows have a very "samey feeling". In contrast, when these foreign shows are telecasted with dubs in Urdu people get to see how good Television can actually be.
I don't really have any hope for our own Television so I hope that we start to import more shows from countries like South Korea and Japan. KDramas are very innovative and much more fun than the "ronna-dhonna" of our shows.
We are not just fans of this artist. We don’t have the same connection with him as we do with other foreign artists that Pakistanis tend to like, for example Amir Khan and SRK, who are quite loved in Pakistan.
But when it comes to this guy, our obsession goes into overdrive and we think of him as some sort of national hero.
This mentality has developed because our PM has forced this show down the throats of the nation and has called a fictional show an accurate representation of Ottoman history. A laughable assertion.
As as a result, this actor has become more than just an artist that people like - his status is not equivalent to the other actors that are liked in Pakistan.
Today morning I saw a few comments on social media where people were telling him that Pakistan is his second home. What nonsense? Why and how?
I dont know whats unprecedented here. do you know how fans globally react to stars like justin bieber or any popular hollywood stars? Even Indians treat Rajnikant or Amitabh bachchan as cult figures.
Bieber is a megastar with millions of fans in different countries but a British fan will not consider him a British hero or one of their own.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] & [MENTION=48598]saeedhk[/MENTION] are both obsessed with why people in Pakistan love the show. Let it go.
[MENTION=48598]saeedhk[/MENTION] was arrogantly banging on about how this show will incite violence...have there been any cases so far?They both fear the pan-Islamic brotherhood attraction I think, pretty clear from their posting history. Why else would anyone make such a big deal out of a tv show? We see Mamoon going all gaga over Game of Thrones, but it would never occur to him to question why are so many white Americans writing shows about a story based essentially on the War of the Roses in England. Why do they watch shows like Vikings? Do these critics ever start wondering why there is so much psychological longing for heroic times in Europe rooted in such fiction?
I mean they are just tv shows, and it didn't occur to me either - love all of them actually - but when you get such questions asked about why Pakistan fans like Ertugrul then I can't help wondering about shows like GoT and Lord of the Rings as well.![]()
[MENTION=48598]saeedhk[/MENTION] was arrogantly banging on about how this show will incite violence...have there been any cases so far?
It was a cringe fest yesterday! A Pakistani guy sang Ertugral drama’s theme song to the visiting Ertugral.
Then, at a press conference Ertugral said ‘ Lahore Lahore aye’ after which a journalist asked whether he would like to work in Pakistani drama to which Ertugral replied in the affirmative drawing applause and cheers from the journalists.
To quote a tweet:
“The man who destroyed bollywood and hollywood.the one man army is now in pakistan in support of muslim unity and brotherhood.welcome etugrul sir to your second home Pakistan”
)
Another tweet and a few memes read : ‘The destroyer of the film industry of 163 countries!’
Kaha say atay hai yeh log!
A TURKISH drama series brimming with tribal intrigues, blood, murder, and conquest — all wrapped in pious religious idiom — has taken Pakistan by storm.
Filmed in Anatolia, Dirilis: Ertugrul is a 150-episode fictional account of Ertugrul Ghazi, father of the Ottoman Empire’s founder.
As of yesterday (Friday), the YouTube count for the 30th Urdu-dubbed episode had already clocked up 5.5 million views on Pakistan Television.
Even those who made Dirilis are astonished — and hugely pleased — at its tumultuous welcome. Tribal Turkmen fighting for a homeland can’t be expected to capture the imagination of millions in some far-off country.
But Pakistan is different. Transfixed, entire families are spending evenings watching it together. They think it is wholesome entertainment and genuine Islamic history.
That this serial is frankly propagandistic and ideologically motivated is beyond doubt. It has been manufactured for a purpose. But what purpose?
Faked history fuels revivalist dreams, creates false hopes, & suggests the way forward is through the sword.
If it seeks to project Islam as a religion of peace and to counter Islamophobia, then the very opposite is achieved.
The first scene of the first episode begins with sword-making and sword-sharpening in the background of nomadic tents.
The tribe’s adversaries are Christians and Byzantines whose bloodied bodies lie scattered here and there after every fight.
The hero, Ertugrul Ghazi, not only beheads several Knight Templars but also former associates from his tribe, such as Kurdoglu Bey, who he suspects of disloyalty.
Most peoples don’t like invaders, but Pakistan’s psyche is somehow special. Perhaps overwhelmed by Erdogan’s aggressive style, Prime Minister Khan proudly tweeted that Turks had ruled India for 600 years.
Historians will raise their eyebrows — this is between quarter-true to half-true only. But it must be rare for a prime minister to hail imperial rule over his land.
Khan is not alone. Pakistan celebrates all post-eighth century invasions beginning with Mohammed bin Qasim’s conquest of Sindh in 712 AD.
Urdu novelist Nasim Hijazi’s books, devoured by millions, are an ode to the Arab conquest of India. Like filmmaker Mehmet Bozdag, Hijazi’s strength lay in creating imagery unconstrained by facts.
The creators of Dirilis: Ertugrul want us to wallow in the past glories of others and celebrate imperialism.
Hook, line and sinker, we are mindlessly swallowing their proffered bait. This poisonous substance can only reinforce the dangerous delusion that going forward actually means going backward.
Instead, the way forward is to ask that Pakistaniat spring from Pakistan’s native soil.
It must be rooted in the diversity of all our peoples and historically formed cultures. The year 1971 showed decisively the limits of pan-Islamism.
Aping Saudi culture failed to create a viable Pakistani identity; aping Turkey won’t get us much further.
Instead a strong national identity can emerge only if Pakistan embraces pluralism, accepts that Punjab is just another Pakistani province, and helps all citizens achieve a sense of belonging based upon a commitment to equality and justice.
This show is on Netflix here in India I notice.
Let's see what all the fuss is about. *Plays S01E01.*
Dangerous delusions — Ertugrul mania
An excellent write-up by Pervez Hoodbhoy. He has said it all.
I read this article in June or July. You should have read the comments under the article. Poor Hoodbhoy was severely abused.
A brilliant mind like Pervez Hoodbhoy is underutilized because his mentality does not align with the nation’s mentality.
The same mentality that has ensured that Pakistan is still 50 years behind other countries in R&D.
He should have been the Science & Technology Minister.
Instead, we have given that position to an average lawyer like Fawad Chaudhry who claimed that Pakistan space program (SUPARCO) sent the Hubble telescope to space.
Hubble telescope was launched in space in 1990 at a cost of $1.5 billion.
SUPARCO's budget today is around $45 million.
This is Imran’s team selection and vision for Pakistan. These are the brilliant minds that will drive the Science and Technology ministry.
Exactly. He is one of the greatest Pakistanis but one of the most hated Pakistanis too because he believes in progressive thought, free of religion, civilian supremacy and supremacy of science and technology. I have been following his page on FB for the past 5/6 years and he is a remarkable scientist and an awesome person.
He is renowned for his work internationally but shunned and cursed by his own country!
As a rule of thumb, if the majority of Pakistanis are against you, it means you are doing something good!
they are only physically grown but inside they are still kidsGrown men in this thread whining over a celebrity visiting their country![]()
I read this article in June or July. You should have read the comments under the article. Poor Hoodbhoy was severely abused.
they are only physically grown but inside they are still kids
The scenes are gory - beheadings and mutilations are shown and I am sure kids watch it too! The impact will be felt in the coming years.
Extremism is increasing in Pakistan I believe. In November alone, at least three Hindu temples were vandalised. Of course, it is difficult to blame the drama for such actions. However, I do believe the drama promotes and glorifies violence.
Watch the video below to find out how Pakistani Christians feel about Ertugral. According to them, there is blasphemy in the drama. But who cares, blasphemy only matters when it is done against Muslims.
https://youtu.be/OAS5wSheOFU
He is a legend. He is very popular in Pakistan. Major Sahab and Phool Aur Kaantay are top-notch.
Scenes are gory etc? How was life like all them years ago?
Stick to the teletubbies Lad or whatever the bollywood version of that is,can ask Mamoon to join in
Punjab CM Buzdar meet Ertugrul, presents gifts to the actor including a shield and a rifle. No wonder Pakistan is a laughing stock!
But I believe it is understandable. A government led by the greatest scam artist meeting another artist. Perfect!
How is that even relevant? Does it mean we should shown our kids scenes of beheadings and mutilations?
Lol at the meltdown.
The obsession with this drama is cringey but two posters in this thread have successfully out-cringed that.
Lol. There is a little something called parental guidance,I do not let my kids watch it (yet.....).
You're trying too hard lad to outdo Mamoon, great comedy duo tbh! Brilliant, keep it up, "Pakistanis" and before you use the olr narrative of- "if we do not conform to the majority that are sheep, does it make us less Pakistani or our view less valid?". Well, yes, if we consider the lack of balance and one sided arguments put forward by laurel and hardy.
There is no thing called parental guidance in Pakistan. Young kids also watch the show along with their parents. You need to understand that Pakistan is already a very violent and extremist society.
Take a look at the picture I posted above. First, we put a sword in his hand and now CM Punjab gifted him a rifle.
This is the culture and mentality our political leadership is encouraging in our society. His character Etrugrul was a barbarian by modern standards and we are celebrating him as a role-model for children in contemporary society.
Is Erturgrul as violent or sexually explicit as Game of Thrones? I am asking only because I know you and I were both vocal fans of that show. Which actually made a lot more sense for me than you as I am actually English.
How do you manage to keep a straight face when posting on here? Why does a tv show from Turkey bother you so much more than any show coming from India, US or Korea?
Is Erturgrul as violent or sexually explicit as Game of Thrones? I am asking only because I know you and I were both vocal fans of that show. Which actually made a lot more sense for me than you as I am actually English.
How do you manage to keep a straight face when posting on here? Why does a tv show from Turkey bother you so much more than any show coming from India, US or Korea?
Its because the show has Muslims as the protagonists, some people cant digest this.