First Metro Bus, now Metro Train

Jang group is as big a liar as noora minister Pervaiz Rasheed. Cost of first phase of Peshawar Mass Transit Project (27 km road) is not 51 Billion as claimed by habitual liars, but only Rs. 10 Billion.

1102263356-1.jpg

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1102263356&Issue=NP_PEW&Date=20140612

And before Noora zombies jump the gun, KP government's priority is still health and education and both these sectors have been allocated 8120 and 14000 million PKR respectively.

Mass Rapid Transport - which is what a metro is, is essential to any city having over 3 or so million people, goes the stat.

We've got active ones in Kolkata (1984), Delhi (2002), Bangalore (2011) and Mumbai (2014), with forthcoming ones in Chennai (2014), Jaipur (2014) and Hyderabad (2015), amidst a slew of other metropolitan and tier-II cities having the service constructed within their own perimeters.

Then there are monorails and light rails and whatnot to feed into the metro and suburban services (like in Mumbai), or as standalone networks in smaller cities.

This link should describe the transportation situation in India:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rapid_transit_in_India

In essence, if you think Lahore with a population of 5.1 million should foresake mass transit because some people can't buy a square meal, you'll get nowhere. Gotta exude capitalism in such instances.

By the way Karachi's population graph looks scarier:

220px-Karachi_population.svg.png

At least Lahore has got that bus thing going on, Wiki says there is nothing in Karachi aside from an extinct circular railway service.

Lahore Metro Rail Transit System approved

LAHORE: The Provincial Development Working Party Punjab Monday approved Metro Rail Transit System on the Orange Line in Lahore at the cost of Rs.162628 million (Rs 162.628 billion).

Three other development schemes of different sectors including (Umbrella PC-I) Disaster & Climate Resilience Improvement Project (DCRIP) in Punjab at the cost of Rs. 10,240.000 million, Optimising Canal and Groundwater Management to Assist Water User Associations in Maximizing Crop Production and Managing Salinization with Australian Assistance (Revised) at the cost of Rs.332 million and Purchase of Mobile Health Units at the cost of Rs. 971.6 million were also approved in the meeting.

Total cost of all the four approved development schemes was estimated at Rs. 174171.600 million (Rs 174.1716 Billion).

The approvals were granted in the special meeting of Provincial Development Working Party (PDWP) of current fiscal year 2014-15, presided over by the Punjab Chairman P&D Board Muhammad Irfan Elahi.

Provincial Secretary P&D Waseem Ajmal Chaudhary, Members of the Planning & Development Board, Provincial Secretary concerned and other senior representatives of the relevant Provincial Departments also attended the meeting. - APP

aaaaand we're back :nawaz

This thread was initiated in 2013 with completion of the project in 2016.. classic Noora technique, allocating resources to a project in every budgetary meeting but only 1% of that is actually used the rest goes in pockets.

Punjabi boizz in da houseeee

I have heard this metro train is the most expensive train in the world.The per KM cost is the highest.

I remember during the Hutch series in 2004, Indian journalists were pretty impressed by the luxury bus service in Lahore. They were like Pakistan's bus service is much better compared to what we face in India.

But the reports regarding railways seem to suggest you're still stuck in the 60s.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XNy5xTZcUO4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

Please work on Jinnah Hospital, Sheikh Zayed Hospital, Miaoon Hospital which you have totally destroyed in last 7 years.

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] do watch this one if you didn't already

It's a funny parody

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x2xzivm" allowfullscreen></iframe>

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] do watch this one if you didn't already

It's a funny parody

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x2xzivm" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Haha I think I saw during election time

Hilarious lolol.

When the metros were being inaugurated I was out of country. I thought something special is being made.

When I came to Pak and went to Lahore for sth and saw the metro "I was like yeh kya hai? Khoda pahar nikla chooha"

Haha I think I saw during election time

Hilarious lolol.

When the metros were being inaugurated I was out of country. I thought something special is being made.

When I came to Pak and went to Lahore for sth and saw the metro "I was like yeh kya hai? Khoda pahar nikla chooha"

chooha awam ke liay nikla bhai inke liay to maal nikla :yk just heard development, education and health budget of punjab is also being used on orange line train so that the work can start quickly and they can complete it soon to showcase it for 2018 election campaign. Trust me you will see bijli paani gas cng sab aa jayega just before the end of their govt and sab ghayab ho jayega once they are elected again :D

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XNy5xTZcUO4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

She has a strange ressemblance to [MENTION=137262]Firebreaker[/MENTION].

The work on the train is being done really quickly. I drive around the ring road so i see the work being done almost daily and they have done a great job with the speed of the project. It will be great benefit for the awaam especially as they will get rid of rickshaws and Qinqis.

Cant wait for the other lines of the metro train project to start as well because after that the whole city would be connected. You can go literally go to any place by just paying 20 rupees. Awesome stuff.

On topic, why is there so much of an outrage here for a single metro project developing in a city. Development can occur in all fronts too.

Cant wait for the other lines of the metro train project to start as well because after that the whole city would be connected. You can go literally go to any place by just paying 20 rupees. Awesome stuff.

For working class, 20 rs still is a significant amount

On topic, why is there so much of an outrage here for a single metro project developing in a city. Development can occur in all fronts too.

Too much money wasted on it. The costs are really mind boggling if you look at them

Forget other major issues about health, education etc we have been having severe power shortages in the country with people facing up to 18 hours of load shedding a day. This has resulted in closure of majority of factories with some moving to Bangladesh, Malaysia etc. Thousands have lost the jobs and exports have substantially reduced (textile in particular). Almost NOTHING substantial has been done by the current/previous governments and in addition to industries and businesses millions have been suffering including deaths in extreme heat. We have recently spent Millions of Dollars on 2 metro bus projects (one of the most expensive in the world) and now this $1.6 Billion train has been prioritised to finish JUST before 2018 elections (Metro Lahore was delivered JUST before 2013 elections).
In short, it's all about elections otherwise it's least of our priorities to build metro trains at this stage.

I doubt they can afford to keep fares this cheap.

Forget other major issues about health, education etc we have been having severe power shortages in the country with people facing up to 18 hours of load shedding a day. This has resulted in closure of majority of factories with some moving to Bangladesh, Malaysia etc. Thousands have lost the jobs and exports have substantially reduced (textile in particular). Almost NOTHING substantial has been done by the current/previous governments and in addition to industries and businesses millions have been suffering including deaths in extreme heat. We have recently spent Millions of Dollars on 2 metro bus projects (one of the most expensive in the world) and now this $1.6 Billion train has been prioritised to finish JUST before 2018 elections (Metro Lahore was delivered JUST before 2013 elections).
In short, it's all about elections otherwise it's least of our priorities to build metro trains at this stage.

Oh never knew the energy crisis was this bad. Load shedding of 18 hours occurs in the cities or rural areas? And are there no upcoming plants to tackle the energy crisis? Nuclear is one possibility but requires the cooperation of the locals in that region as well.

I think it has slightly improved recently in major cities but still 8-10 hours in Summer. Also, the prices have substantially gone up which means industries are under immense pressure either way.

So I guess it is impossible for Pakistani middle-class to live without generators. That explains the recent fuel crisis.

This thread was initiated in 2013 with completion of the project in 2016.. classic Noora technique, allocating resources to a project in every budgetary meeting but only 1% of that is actually used the rest goes in pockets.

Punjabi boizz in da houseeee

It will finish before May 2018 :yk

I see a trend that posters belonging to sindh bashing punjabis down right and centre when they have the worst party in the whole country at the helm. The irony is so strong. :)))

So I guess it is impossible for Pakistani middle-class to live without generators. That explains the recent fuel crisis.

Most middle/upper middle and even lower middle class have have UPS/Generators (this is one of the reason battery prices are gone so up). Most Generators in Pakistan are coming with gas kit so you can run them on gas without diesel/petrol to make it affordable but on the other side this is helping the shortage of gas and cng stations are closed in punjab most of the time.

You guys probably have no idea about rickshaw fares. :)

Cant blame you slog. LUMS life had made me travel in rickshaw coupla times.

Rickshaw fares are more than 20 rupees if you are still wondering.

Rickshaw or Qinis can go to inner places as well suited well for the aged unlike the metro unless the gov is provided some alternate transport to the station,these stations might become the standpoint for rickshaw and qinis just saying from observation of local railway stations in Chennai.

Delhi metro used to be good, but now even low class people are using it and it is packed with labourers. Now it is not fit for travel.

I see a trend that posters belonging to sindh bashing punjabis down right and centre when they have the worst party in the whole country at the helm. The irony is so strong. :)))

I am Punjabi and I hate our government.

A visit to PIMS a while back was shocking and the facilities were downright pathetic. I am sure the people suffering there loved the sight of the Metro being built infront of the hospital.

I don't even want to begin imagining state ofother 'public' hospitals.

Delhi metro used to be good, but now even low class people are using it and it is packed with labourers. Now it is not fit for travel.

Bro I thought u hated class and caste divisions. Being a communist

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

There is nothing wrong in them traveling it only means its serving the purpose,the issue is pick pocketing and molestation incidents occurring at regular intervals,Rajeev Chowk is a joke.
Rate of development of Delhi didn't coincide with the rate of development of UP,Bihar due to which the massive immigration has taken place.

There is nothing wrong in them traveling it only means its serving the purpose,the issue is pick pocketing and molestation incidents occurring at regular intervals,Rajeev Chowk is a joke.
Rate of development of Delhi didn't coincide with the rate of development of UP,Bihar due to which the massive immigration has taken place.

no issue with the poor using public transport, but at least they should be clean and dressed well, and nice perfume will not be bad either. hate travelling while rubbing shoulders with the low class people. now i take taxi when in delhi.

It sounds rude but you have a point. Blue line, Indralok to Kashmiri Gate for example has a sudden influx of really dirty laborers (specially at night) and being an air-conditioned cart, there is no getting away from the bad smell. It is hell and you cannot even react disgusted because how they smell isn't even their fault, this is how they are forced to live and work.

no issue with the poor using public transport, but at least they should be clean and dressed well, and nice perfume will not be bad either. hate travelling while rubbing shoulders with the low class people. now i take taxi when in delhi.

Donate to them then if you think they should wear those excess items just to make you feel comfortable and not bother about their aged parents back home in some village being exploited by some upper class population.

Having a shower after work isn't that hard brother. They choose to stay dirty.

How many people can I donate clothes to, 100, 200, 1000? Seems education is failing in madrasi schools.

Having a shower after work isn't that hard brother. They choose to stay dirty.

Where?I get it that they can and we can promote the awareness of being clean but they live and work in such places where the physical exertion is pretty high most of them prefer a drink so that they can sleep.Just saying life gets dull working in these places considering they are just contract workers and not permanent ones imagine the insecurity.

Fair enough carry on.

Metros should have class system just like railways. Use pricing to segregate high class from the low class, so that everyone can travel with comfort. People like me will not mind paying 10 times the amount if we get a coach with only high class people.

You guys probably have no idea about rickshaw fares. :)

Cant blame you slog. LUMS life had made me travel in rickshaw coupla times.

Rickshaw fares are more than 20 rupees if you are still wondering.

I am speaking from perspective of daily laborers, drivers etc going to work. 40 rs a day both ways is a big chunk of money for them. They wouldn't be using rickshaws as alternative.

Doesnt the employer generally pay for laborer's transport?

Metros should have class system just like railways. Use pricing to segregate high class from the low class, so that everyone can travel with comfort. People like me will not mind paying 10 times the amount if we get a coach with only high class people.

I don't prefer segregation on class just my opinion although I'm ok for only Ladies compartments.

Atleast the ones I have come in contact with (only in Mumbai and Delhi) are given transport by the employers.

I guess you are right thinking on it i do remember seeing small vans overfilled with them being transported everyday no offense looked shabby if i remember correctly.

Yeah I have seen these vans in NCR as well but in Mumbai, they are generally given season passes for local trains.

People complain too much here. The poor people are mostly going to mostly use it, not the rich people.

All majors cities need a proper BUS transport system, not talking about metro train or BUS. These Toyota Hiace system is so disgusting and pathetic.

Every major city needs a metro/proper public transport system. People can whine all they want, of course it doesn't matter to them when they drive around in Civics and Corollas.

Only in Pakistan will people complain about it.

Those who are saying that we have other and bigger issues to tackle, I think they are ignorant of the fact that the UK was going through an economic crisis when the London Underground was established in the 1860's.

Issues will remains as issues. We will never be free of poverty, unemployment, healthcare problems, illiteracy etc. We are not living in Utopian world, hence the presence of these problems should not prevent us from undertaking these projects, that provides goodwill to the society even if does not tackle the core issues.

Same people moan about the Motorway but will always use it travel from Islamabad/Peshawar to Lahore. Well then man up and boycott the Motorway and use the Grand Trunk Road and deal with all its traffic and pollution if you think the Motorway is a waste (which most of the Youthians/anti-Metro project groupers do).

Not everyone is so concerned about class and caste like you are.

Those who are saying that we have other and bigger issues to tackle, I think they are ignorant of the fact that the UK was going through an economic crisis when the London Underground was established in the 1860's.

Issues will remains as issues. We will never be free of poverty, unemployment, healthcare problems, illiteracy etc. We are not living in Utopian world, hence the presence of these problems should not prevent us from undertaking these projects, that provides goodwill to the society even if does not tackle the core issues.

Same people moan about the Motorway but will always use it travel from Islamabad/Peshawar to Lahore. Well then man up and boycott the Motorway and use the Grand Trunk Road and deal with all its traffic and pollution if you think the Motorway is a waste (which most of the Youthians/anti-Metro project groupers do).

my issue is not with the fact that the country needs it..yes it does and its good we are getting it in place for people..its a necessity and should have been done twenty years ago but my concern is the management, value for money and maintenance issues..will these in place properly??

Problem is the money wasted.

Better and more advanced projects in other countries have been built at a much lower cost than running a glorified bus service

So bashing PML-N = bashing Punjabis?

also you do know that its Pakistan and not Punjabistan. Everyone can criticize any party or provincial government

Problem is the money wasted.

Better and more advanced projects in other countries have been built at a much lower cost than running a glorified bus service

This is true. I fee that Pakistan could've built metro trains instead of wasting money on many metro bus services which is a waste of space and money imo. Yes the metro trains are expensive than Bus transit system, but the metro bus is basically an inferior version of metro trains where much more people can be transported more frequently with little to no pollution by Rail transit system, which are what the transit systems should provide. Also majority of bus transit corridors flopped in India except Ahmedabad. Whereas the metro trains are a huge success.

How are rickshaws and Qinqis suited for the aged? In order to understand the advantages of Metro train; one has to understand how Lahore is designed. As you are not a native; i understand that you would have no idea. The Orange Line is on the GT-Road and its easily accessible because its the darn main road. The Rickshaws or Qinqis would stay but lessen in number. Which is awesome for road traffic and the environment.

I am Punjabi and I hate our government.

A visit to PIMS a while back was shocking and the facilities were downright pathetic. I am sure the people suffering there loved the sight of the Metro being built infront of the hospital.

I don't even want to begin imagining state ofother 'public' hospitals.

Everything comes step by step. You cant get everything at once. Things like public transport are lower hanging fruits that if fixed can solve a major issue of the masses. Health and Education would come next too after energy crisis resolvement.

Yeah, if you are speaking with the perspective of a daily laborer can you tell us what alternate public transport is available in Lahore? :)

It is because there is NONE.

So bashing PML-N = bashing Punjabis?

also you do know that its Pakistan and not Punjabistan. Everyone can criticize any party or provincial government

You guys are bashing punjabis for voting for PMLN when it has shown to be the most progressive party in terms of getting work done. On the other hand, PPP is busy covering for Zardari's mistress Ayan Ali killing custom officials and bribing every person possible. Not to mention running their monarchy in Sindh using the same old 1000 year old good for nothing puppet who doesnt flinches an eye when people die of target killing and hunger in the province. PTI in the first half was busy jamming the capital and now in damage control mode after their leader's personal life mishap.

PPP is copying the metro bus and establishing one in Karachi just like PTI is doing in Peshawar.

Copying? you mean Shehbaz Sharif introduced Metro and Mass Transit system in the world :yk :jk

btw PTI is working on mass transit system with far less cost and not spending extra crores on publicity.

Copying? you mean Shehbaz Sharif introduced Metro and Mass Transit system in the world :yk :jk

btw PTI is working on mass transit system with far less cost and not spending extra crores on publicity.

Of course he did not. But the same hypocrites that were bashing metro are the ones that are copying it in their 'own' provinces.

How much SS spent on recent Rwp-ISB metro and how much they are spending? And how much SS spent on publicity and how much they are spending on publicity?

I always appreciated Pervez Elahi because he did a lot for rural Punjab and for him Punjab wasn't limited to Lahore or big cities but the thing i hated about him was spending money on publicity of those projects like perha likha punjab and here Shehbaz Shareef and PMLN is even 2 steps ahead of Pervez Elahi when it comes to wasting public money to showcase their projects.

Bhai koi aapse credit nae cheenene wala first you are wasting extra money on projects that can be be completed in less cost (thanks to the commission making) than you are spending extra crores so that the whole word know that you did it.

PPP is copying the metro bus and establishing one in Karachi just like PTI is doing in Peshawar.

It's actually being done by the PMLN by the federal govt. PPP is doing nothing.

Also the bus system isn't enough, Karachi needs a metro train system. Japan was willing to finance one but the Sindh govt turn down the offer.

How much SS spent on recent Rwp-ISB metro and how much they are spending? And how much SS spent on publicity and how much they are spending on publicity?

I always appreciated Pervez Elahi because he did a lot for rural Punjab and for him Punjab wasn't limited to Lahore or big cities but the thing i hated about him was spending money on publicity of those projects like perha likha punjab and here Shehbaz Shareef and PMLN is even 2 steps ahead of Pervez Elahi when it comes to wasting public money to showcase their projects.

Bhai koi aapse credit nae cheenene wala first you are wasting extra money on projects that can be be completed in less cost (thanks to the commission making) than you are spending extra crores so that the whole word know that you did it.

Why dont you give me and us all the data. We sure would benefit from it.

Also the bus system isn't enough, Karachi needs a metro train system. Japan was willing to finance one but the Sindh govt turn down the offer.

Well that is more shameful than anything. Jab tak sindh ki awaam PPP kei leaders ko road par ghaseet kar jootay nahin maray gi tab tak you guys are going to face this misery.

My father recently went to Karachi for some work and his driver was a local. He asked him the situation of Sindh political atmosphere. He was like we would vote only for a sindhi no matter if he does work or not. LOL. See the mentality of the awam.

Sounds exactly like how awaam of central Punjab votes for PML-N despite the fact that all it does there is shoot on protestors and have their MPAs molest children. (Working for Lahore is not equal to working for rest of Punjab)

Well that is more shameful than anything. Jab tak sindh ki awaam PPP kei leaders ko road par ghaseet kar jootay nahin maray gi tab tak you guys are going to face this misery.

Well Karachi didn't vote for PPP except 1 or 2 constituencies, that's why Karachiites feel the Larkana establishment doesn't represent them. As for your Sindhi driver, i think rural Sindis are very ethnocentered and hold a chip against Punjabis for hanging Bhutto and killing Benazir, they will never get over that...

There's some hindu influence in Sindh where personality worship is massive, Bhuttos are idolized, and they're better alternatives to Sindhi separatists who are also in sizeable numbers

Bahria Town is giving a loan of 42/43 billion rupees to Sindh govt for Metro bus service.

Khi Metro Bus project cost is estimated to be 70 billion rupees and 42 of them is going to be a loan from Bahria Town.

Sometime i wonder is malik riaz ke paas kitna he paise declared and undeclared because to me he looks like even richer than mian mansha who is number 1 in the list of richest man from pakistan.