Happy 70th Independence Day to all Pakistanis : What does 14th August mean to you as a Pakistani?

Apart from flag-waving etc - what other messages do you take for yourself from this day?

I have immense respect for my origins, there is so much beauty in Pakistan and I love all the people there beyond the ups and downs! When I think of Pakistan, resilience comes to mind; it's in our genes, nothing can stop us from getting back up, dusting ourselves off and keep on fighting!

It means absolutely EVERYTHING to me. I couldn't be a prouder Pakistani and I can't help but associate my heartiest feelings with everyone who has made so many sacrifices in the past only do generations of today could live the privileged lives that we do. I will forever be Pakistani, till the day I die and after. This land, the soil, the skies, the feeling, the aura - it's unreal. You can't describe it in words. I've travelled the world but I can't spend a day without thinking of my motherland. I get homesick.

I have a lot admiration and respect for Mohammad Ali Jinnah and Iqbal Sahab who made Pakistan for EVERYONE. Free of all prejudices and biases.

Used to be a big deal to me in a different lifetime with all the pride and festivities that are part and parcel of celebrating 'independence' day. Last few years I just spend the day appreciating the irony of it being called Yom e 'Azadi' when the nation born that day excels at stripping people of their azadi like few nations do.

14th August means A LOT to me and should to EVERY Pakistani! This was the day 70 years ago we were given an identity in the world. Today we might be living in other areas of the world, we still get our identity through being Pakistani.

I haven't spent a lot of time in Pakistan but I can tell you this much, every time I have gone back it's like I feel the whole country is my house. Especially when I'm roaming around Lahore, aisey hei lagtda hei that mei apni ghar mei hi hu. That feeling of freedom I get is unmatched.

My grandparents always said, shuker kero Pakistan bangiya. Without getting too political, seeing whats happening to Muslims in India, the making of Pakistan is a blessing.

August 14th is the day to celebrate the nation and to internalize what it means to me as an individual.

I am really proud to be Pakistani. We are smart, passionate people with big hearts. :afridi

Also good-looking. :amin

I can never imagine life without Pakistan and being an Indian. :srt

Yes, I am born and raised in America, but in a Pakistani household. Also, America is a nation of immigrants. When somebody asks me where I am from, I say Pakistan because I am a Pakistani.

I speak better Urdu than the average Pakistani-American my age.

My lunch and dinner every day is Pakistani food.

When I wake up in the morning it's to the sound of ARY News music.

I know all of the words of the national anthem. Start to finish. Whenever I feel sad about America I always start whistling Pakistan anthem really loud.

Yes, politically the country might be in shambles;

But the people of Pakistan will always be strong and united by that great green flag.

:pakflag2

#PakistanZindabad

I still remember the joy I had during my childhood for the 14th August, loved wearing the badge...

Now its nothing more than raising the flag on the roof...

Love the way Punjabi's celebrate it...

Happy Independence Day Everyone :salute

First independence day in a long while that I won't be celebrating in Karachi :(

August 14th is the day to celebrate the nation and to internalize what it means to me as an individual.

I am really proud to be Pakistani. We are smart, passionate people with big hearts. :afridi

Also good-looking. :amin

I can never imagine life without Pakistan and being an Indian. :srt

Yes, I am born and raised in America, but in a Pakistani household. Also, America is a nation of immigrants. When somebody asks me where I am from, I say Pakistan because I am a Pakistani.

I speak better Urdu than the average Pakistani-American my age.

My lunch and dinner every day is Pakistani food.

When I wake up in the morning it's to the sound of ARY News music.

I know all of the words of the national anthem. Start to finish. Whenever I feel sad about America I always start whistling Pakistan anthem really loud.

Yes, politically the country might be in shambles;

But the people of Pakistan will always be strong and united by that great green flag.

#PakistanZindabad

Great post! Can relate to a lot of this.

Used to be a big deal to me in a different lifetime with all the pride and festivities that are part and parcel of celebrating 'independence' day. Last few years I just spend the day appreciating the irony of it being called Yom e 'Azadi' when the nation born that day excels at stripping people of their azadi like few nations do.

No need for that right now. There is a time and place. There's 364 other days in the calendar for gloom and doom, but not today.

Happy Independence Day.

It's a nice occasion having Pakistani roots. I watch the news on TV, it's obviously more fun in Pakistan. Here in the UK we have different events, usually with music or charity links.

One word of what 14 August 1947 means! LIBERATION Those who go on about the tragedy of "partition" really upset me as does the name itself. Our ancestors paid a historical price by sacrificing their lives, honour and blood so we can have our own country. When Pakistan becomes a great country insha Allah it will belong more to them then it does to those who attained it by default. Hoist the sabz hilaali high

Happy 70th Boys and Girls!!! :yahoo :yahoo

I have countless things to appreciate of this great nation and I am extremely grateful to Allah to have had me born in this great country however, this is a time for all of us to persevere and to reiterate the initial message of the Quaid, The Grand Daddy of them all, Mr. Mohammad Ali Jinnah :jinnah

Quotes taken, of the great man himself, directly from the 11th August 1947 address to Parliment:

'If we want to make this great state of Pakistan happy and prosperous we should wholly and solely concentrate on the well being of the people, and especially of the massses and the poor'

A simple, yet powerful message !!

To me, this was always a day of celebration - something to unite the nation and there is nothing wrong with that

Some pics from https://arynews.tv/en/pakistanis-celebrating-independence-day/

Karachi :

Karachi1.jpg

karachi4.jpg

Lahore:

Lahore1.jpg

Punjab3.jpg

Happy Independence Day to all Pakistani PPers.....

Wish you a prosperous year ahead.

Pakistan Zindabad. Just came from the airshow at sea view Karachi. It was an excellent display. Sad that I'll be leaving for Canada today on the 14th but atleast I was here during the day

Pakistan is our identity.

It is who we are.

The good & the bad - it is all us.

I have spent majority of my life in the UK, however, if someone was to ask me where I am from, my first answer is still Pakistan, since that is who I believe I am.

Every time I visit Pakistan - whether it's after a gap of 7 months or 7 years - I feel like I am home. I feel as if I never left.

Pakistan has given me more happiness and more sorrow then any other thing that I can think of, and that is simply due to the love I have for the nation.

I'm proud to wear our clothes, listen to our music, support our sports team, enjoy our food, speak our language and do everything that makes us Pakistani.

We - as a nation - are great at picking out flaws and problems with everything. However, for me 14th August is the day that we can put that aside and celebrate Pakistan and all the great things this nation has blessed us with Alhumdullilah.

Happy Independence Day to all PPers.

Pakistan Zindabad.

Happy Independence Day Guys

Thank you CJ :)

Same to you and all Indian PPers for tomorrow :)

We tend to forget the sacrifices of all the people who made this possible. Just imagine people leaving everything they had on the other side of the border when they migrated to Pakistan, will never be able to thank them enough.
I heard an interview with Sultan Mehmood Bashirudeen on 92 Newz today, the real stories he told were heartbreaking.

One of the important things he mentioned that at those times people were good at giving, they looked at the bigger picture and the country, whereas today people are masters in taking anf looting. A leader like Jinnah sahib (ra) is needed. He said Imran Khan can lead this country well if he is not controlled by selfish individuals.

I love Pakistan - was born in Karachi - and all Pakistanis, irrespective of caste, sect or religion.

However, I am amongst a tiny minority of people who truly question, perhaps even reject, the concept which underpinned the creation of Pakistan. At the time of partition, Muslims became dispersed communities, and were divided along national lines, they were also divided from their former Hindu and Sikh brethren, over a million perished, with terrible atrocities being committed on all sides. In addition, Kashmir became an open wound, leading to constant conflicts between India and Pakistan, whilst the latter was cut into pieces with the secession and creation of Bangladesh.

I am in favour of unity, because therein lies strength. The British applied their divide and conquer policies in the sub-Continent, in the Arab world - with the creation of Isra'el - in Africa, even in Europe. The consequences, for many peoples, have been catastrophic, leaving a legacy of bitter hatred and division.

The ruling elites of Pakistan have ensured that its political and economic systems are extremely corrupt, the feudal system remains in place and has not been dismantled, women, minorities and the poor continue to be subjected to discrimination, violence and oppression. Pakistan has not fulfilled its promise of equality for all, nor has it brought to fruition the ideals of Islamic principles that are supposed to be the foundation upon which it was created.

When Muslims migrated from Mecca to Yathrib, no-one died. But when Muslims (and Hindus) migrated across India, to their 'new' countries, hundreds of thousands were mercilessly slaughtered. Muslims continue to be persecuted in India, they are viewed with suspicion by Hindu extremists, as potential traitors with 'links' to Pakistan. There will never be peace in the region, because too many dividers, rulers and warmongers profit from ethnic, religious, nationalistic and sectarian divisions.

This opinion is not popular, I acknowledge that - no offence is intended to my compatriots and coreligionists, so forgive me if any is caused. Wa Llahu 'Alam.

Obviously there are symbolic significances but true essence of Ceremonial festivals lies in considering and utilising these as Cohesive Material cementing the blocks stronger and closer and filling in for whatever randomly absent blocks there are.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I send my good wishes to those in the UK, Pakistan and across the world who are celebrating the 70th anniversary of Pakistan's Independence.</p>— Jeremy Corbyn (@jeremycorbyn) <a href="https://twitter.com/jeremycorbyn/status/897194920666071040">14 August 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="fr" dir="ltr">'Different civilisations' <a href="https://t.co/K3jJqqvfX1">https://t.co/K3jJqqvfX1</a></p>— BBC News Asia (@BBCNewsAsia) <a href="https://twitter.com/BBCNewsAsia/status/898347423281496065">August 18, 2017</a></blockquote>