"Hardik Pandya, it seems as if he’s the golden boy in this team" : Michael Holding

All rounders always feel pressure, when either the team barring or bowling collectively underperforms. So of course, when India’s batsmen misfire, it’s easy to say drop the all rounder and put in a batsman. My view is that all rounders need to be given a longer rope because if they come through, they are worth their weight in gold. But these are luxuries that either winning teams have or teams that are playing against the bottom 4 teams day in day out.
Besides if India can stick with Ishant Sharma, they can stick with any player.

What he is saying is incorrect as well. Pandya is an easy target because he is suppose to do good with both bat and ball. But we have bigger issues in our team. Pandya looked most assured bat after Kohli in 1st test. He did look much better than likes of Vijay, Dhawan or Rahane. I watched the segment on TV when holding was saying all this. He also wanted Pujara to play in XI but Artherton reminded of Pujara's failures playing in county cricket and the reason why he is not in the team.

Dont take everything that Holding says as Gospel truth. He was a great cricketer but dont regularly keep tab on cricketers like we fans do. In his own words, he spend more time in horse racing these days than cricket. I can gurantee we Indians know more about our cricketers than Mike Holding.

Broadly right, but it’s always difficult to argue that in a team of failing batsmen, keeping the allrounder and dropping a batsman for another is a challenge.
For what it’s worth I would keep Pandya in team. Unlike our allrounders who are filling their boots playing against Zimbabwe etc for half the year.

Experts around the world says Tendulkar has better technique while Holding says opposite.

Calls Sehwag a mediocre player.

He was againist the IPL.He has repeatedly attacked the IPL.

In his book by his own admission he has nothing good to say about Bcci.

For him Kohli isnt a great player.

He said in the SA after Bumrah had taken 5 wickets in the innings that Bumrah shouldnot be in test team for england as he isnt good enough with the new ball(Something along those lines)

Next time listen to Holding when he commentates on a India match. The hatred is overt.

[MENTION=142670]mak36[/MENTION]

I did not see any such thing in those comments.

All rounders always feel pressure, when either the team barring or bowling collectively underperforms. So of course, when India’s batsmen misfire, it’s easy to say drop the all rounder and put in a batsman. My view is that all rounders need to be given a longer rope because if they come through, they are worth their weight in gold. But these are luxuries that either winning teams have or teams that are playing against the bottom 4 teams day in day out.
Besides if India can stick with Ishant Sharma, they can stick with any player.

That's a false argument. All rounders always get a longer rope because they can perform with both bat and ball. Do you think any specialist batsman or bowler would have survived in the Indian cricket setup with Pandya's stats?

They can or they will are two different things. That’s why the long rope to get them from can to will. I can see Pandya doing really against Zimbabwe as well.

Pandya's Test batting average is 36 after 8 tests, 1 100 and 3 50s in 12 innings, thats a score of 50 every 3rd innings. Out of these 12 innings, 8 have been where no team has scored more than 300 and every Indian top order batsman barring Kohli has horribly failed in those 8 innings.

Also, let us take an example, in the 3rd test in SA, Rahane scored 9(27) and 48(68), total of 58 runs in 85 deliveries and was rightly hailed as a saviour. In the Edgbaston test, Pandya scored 22(52) and 31(61), total of 53 runs in 113 deliveries but everyone is after his life!

I love how Pakistanis fans have become cheerleaders of Holding for his anti-IPL and anti-India stance.

Only a matter of time before he is offered honorary Pakistani citizenship.

All this bitterness because he hasn’t been offered a deal by the IPL. Everyone has a price, as the English showed with their u-turn on IPL.

From criticizing it relentlessly to picking players for their Test team based on IPL performances.

India really has to persist with him.

Everyone requires - outside Asia - a guy who can bat In the top 7 and bowl 10 overs a day around 140K.

It keeps the three specialist pace bowlers fresh and quick.

It’s why the bowling development of Faheem Ashraf has been so important. It’s why Ben Stokes and Jacques Kallis have been so important.

They can or they will are two different things. That’s why the long rope to get them from can to will. I can see Pandya doing really against Zimbabwe as well.

Then where does the pressure come from? If you fail as a batsman, you pick up couple of wickets, you are safe. Similarly, you score some runs but do not take wickets, you are still safe. England dropped Hales for Stokes and India have persisted with Pandya whereas a specialist batsman like Rahul has been dropped several times. This shows that All rounders have more breathing space.

If you are an all rounder and you fail in both disciplines then obviously your failure will be more highlighted.

Pandya's Test batting average is 36 after 8 tests, 1 100 and 3 50s in 12 innings, thats a score of 50 every 3rd innings. Out of these 12 innings, 8 have been where no team has scored more than 300 and every Indian top order batsman barring Kohli has horribly failed in those 8 innings.

Also, let us take an example, in the 3rd test in SA, Rahane scored 9(27) and 48(68), total of 58 runs in 85 deliveries and was rightly hailed as a saviour. In the Edgbaston test, Pandya scored 22(52) and 31(61), total of 53 runs in 113 deliveries but everyone is after his life!

Then stop calling him an all rounder. Play him as a specialist batsman.

Bhai tu itna senti kyon ho raha hai? :uakmal

He can bat and bowl both...hence we call him as an all rounder. Now whether he is good in both departments in different story.

Koi Pandya se dushmaani hai kya?

If someone says good about Indian players, they are looking for IPL contract.

If they criticize, they are most unbiased and honest.

Bhai tu itna senti kyon ho raha hai? :uakmal

He can bat and bowl both...hence we call him as an all rounder. Now whether he is good in both departments in different story.

Koi Pandya se dushmaani hai kya?

lol It's just a sport and I could not care less. It's just that this is a cricket forum and people come here for cricket related discussions.

Then where does the pressure come from? If you fail as a batsman, you pick up couple of wickets, you are safe. Similarly, you score some runs but do not take wickets, you are still safe. England dropped Hales for Stokes and India have persisted with Pandya whereas a specialist batsman like Rahul has been dropped several times. This shows that All rounders have more breathing space.

If you are an all rounder and you fail in both disciplines then obviously your failure will be more highlighted.
England did not drop hales for stokes. Hales is not the first choice test opener basis his performance.

New Delhi: Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar on Monday rubbished comparisons between Kapil Dev and Hardik Pandya, saying the legendary all-rounder is a once-in-a century cricketer and cannot be compared to anyone.

Batting great Gavaskar was not at all amused when asked about the tendency among some experts to compare the two.

"Kapil Dev should not be compared with anyone. He is not just a once-in-generation player but a once-in-a century cricketer just like Sir Don Bradman and Sachin Tendulkar. We should not compare him with anyone," a visibly agitated Gavaskar told 'Aaj Tak'.

Gavaskar is also unhappy with opener Shikhar Dhawan's approach in the longer format.

The Delhi player scored 26 and 13 in the first Test against England at Birmingham.

"Shikhar simply does not want to change his game," the 69-year-old said.

"He believes in playing in the same manner which has brought him success till now. You can still get away with such shots in one-day cricket because there aren't many slips and the push or the edge goes for a boundary through the slip cordon.

"But in Tests, such shots will only result in a fall of wicket. Till a player makes a mental adjustment, he will continue to struggle against the red ball in overseas conditions."

Since India are trailing in the five-match series, Gavaskar said they should play an extra bastman in the second match at Lord's.

"I will play one more batsman at Lord's in the form of (Cheteshwar) Pujara. He has the technique and patience required for a Test match. Whose place he'll take will depend on the pitch. If the wicket isn't that green then I will pick him in place of Umesh Yadav and retain Hardik Pandya."

Chasing 194 for a win, India lost the Edgbaston Test by 31 runs after getting all out for 162 on the fourth day. He believed India can stage a comeback in London.

"For India to win the Lord's Test, they need to win the toss and elect to bat. Look what had happened in the third Test at Johannesburg last year when South Africa, batting last against India, collapsed before reaching 200.

"Most of the teams are struggling to chase even a total anywhere near 200 in the final innings. England too might have struggled if they were chasing in place of India in the first Test at Edgbaston.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...-was-once-in-a-century-cricketer-4904231.html

And from tests a year ago. And even from odi's he's dropped because there are better openers than him.

He was dropped from ODIs because Stokes made a comeback. The point I was making was that all rounders have more secure palace than let's say a specialist batsman.

No he wasnt and theres no point arguing that kind of logic. Hales was dropped they had better openers than hales. What they do with his slot is immaterial. Nobody spells out logic as "we dropped an opener for an all rounder"
As for the luxury that all rounders have: what's your complaint if he is failing. He has the luxury to fail, right?

People wanting to play pujara despite his obviously glaring record reminds of Pakistan always calling up Mohammad Wasim (equally useless) whenever we were to tour ANZ. Simply because he could pose with a straight bat. Its a delusion which has formed in to illogical support in the current era for no hopers like Umer Amin.

Pandya is no sobers or kallis, and I myself dislike him simply because he got into the team on hype without any kinda first class performance. But considering he's in the squad now, and that Pujara or jadeja LL be complete waste, I don't think dropping him is an option for Kohli. Let's just hope he realises his limited game and show some character by making best use of it in this series.

Once Ishant averaged more than the average of Pandya in tests with the ball. But Ishant was taken as a pure fast bowler in the team.Indian management trusted on Ishant's capability for a long time and look at him now, where his bowling stat lies now. Pandya is taken as an all rounder.So his bowling stat should be given time to improve. India or any other team badly needs an pace bowling all rounder both in tests and ODIs.Look at England.How Stokes delivered in Edbaston.Look at Pakistan.Inclusion of Fahim has added a newer dimension in Pak bowling attack.I disagree personally with Holding in this regard. India should invest on Pandya for a long time.

If a guy starts improving after 70 odd tests, I won't really call it a smart move tbh.

Sourav Ganguly's comments on Pandya

"Hardik is a good enough test player, persist with him. You do not get all rounders every day, have patience with him, he is still very young in his test career"

You did not lose 1st test because of Hardik. Problem lies elsewhere and that needs to be fixed.

I will drop Umesh for Kuldeep. But I will not drop Pandya. He looked better then most of our batsmen

I love Dhawan as an ODI cricketer, but he has not done anything in Test matches in these conditions. He should not have played in the 1st test itself."

Hardik Pandya gets support from our best ever captain, a guy who knows how to spot talent and nurture. Hope Team Management listens to Dada and not Holding's views.

There are people out there who are comparing Pandya to Kapildev? wow, really, lol.

And as far as Michael Holdng is concerned he happened to make a comment which I dont disagree with so what the issue, you wont always agree on their analysis of a match or a player but thats ok, so long as they dont get personal then they are allowed to make comments thats why they are there for and why are players getting too sensitive in this day and age, The whole Rashid/Vaughan thing was blown out of proportion, Graeme Smith threatening to have a go at Keppler Wessels for offering his opinion...there are countless examples.

Players need to stop being riled up, perform and then you wont get that crtiisicm, so long as its constructive then tis all good.

Do the opposite of what Holding says. He just a bitter old man.

Pandya is the closest to an all rounder in India. The other option is Vijay Shankar :dw

Indian fans should learn to take criticism, no need to attack people.

He is and will be no Kapil Dev and he is overhyped as well. However, this doesn't mean India cant or shouldn't persist with him. He can become a 35 averaging bowler and 35 averaging batsmen by the end of 70 tests.

You were saying?

Quote Originally Posted by cricketjoshila View Post
Preference isnt the issue. He said Lara was technically better than Tendulkar. While most experts have said that Tendulkar had a copybook technique while Lara's was flawed due to exaggerated trigger movement and very high backlift. Here comes Holding and says the opposite in 2011.

Here is what Holding actually said in full:

"I rate Lara as a technically better player than Sachin…Sachin has made a lot more runs than Lara, but if I had Sachin and Lara at the two ends, batting against the same bowler, I’m absolutely sure that Lara would perform better than Sachin. I have never seen a batsman play spin and medium-pace better than Lara…And I say that keeping in mind Vivian Richards, who is the best batsman I have seen."

Which part provides evidence he hates India? The irony is Holding doesn't personally get on with Lara so that further undermines your point. You can disagree with what he said, but the statement he gives is very reasonable and there is nothing there to show he hates India.

Then he comes and says that Sehwag is a mediocre batsman.

He actually said this:

"Look, you can't even begin to compare Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag. One is right up there and the other is down here,'' said.

So now you are saying Holding complimenting Tendulkar and saying Sehwag is nowhere near as good as Sachin shows he hates India? But earlier you were saying Holding hates Tendulkar. Which is it?

It's also worth bearing in mind he made the "mediocre" comments in 2003 after Sehwag averaged 27 in the 2003 WC. Would you not say that was medicore? Even if you disagree, you are yet to show he said it because he hates India.

Some years later in 2011 Holding said this about Sehwag:

"I think I came up against better batsmen than Sehwag ever can be. I think people like Majid Khan, Javed Miandad, Zaheer Abbas - I have gone up against better batsman than Sehwag. Sehwag hammers the ball all around, though his technique is a bit ordinary," Holding said.

"If I was to bowl at Sehwag [...] you would see every ball in line with his body and that is how you've got to bowl to Sehwag. Don't give him room outside his off-stump for him to extend those arms and we'll see how he scores. I am not saying that he will not score runs at all but he certainly won't score as fluently as he is scoring now,"

I think Holding knows a little bit about bowling and is entitled to say he bowled to better batsmen than Sehwag. Is he wrong? In fact he is very humble in his comments when he says Sehwag could have scored off him. Even if you disagree, how does it show he hates India?

Next is Kohli isnt a great because he hasnt scored runs in Eng. Well Viv Richards who according to Holding is the best batsman, didnot score runs in NZ.

Holding is on record as saying Kohli "is certainly a great batsman." This is what he said in full:

"There is too much difference between Virat and the rest of the Indian batsmen in this line-up. You can see that. I am just waiting for Virat to score runs in England before putting the stamp ‘great’ on him.

The rest of the batsmen in the Indian team are way behind him. In my time, India had Sunil Gavaskar, Gundappa Viswanath, Mohinder Amarnath and Dilip Vengsarkar who all made runs overseas."

So actually he was full of praise for both Virat and Indian cricketers. All he said was he will see how Virat performs in England before calling him a "great of the game." Very reasonable comments. Where's the hate?

Also your Viv example is really desperate. Viv is universally accepted as one of the (if not the) best batsmen in the world. You are now saying Holding saying it shows he hates India?

Hypocrisy and hatred of Holding will be called out. He isnt the only expert out there.

The only hatred is coming from the likes of overly sensitive fans such as yourself. You still haven't provided any evidence to support the very serious (but false) allegation that Holding hates India. He has praised and provided constructive criticism in equal measure.

Also why don't you reference the times he praises India, just one example:

"Gavaskar and (Gundappa) Viswanath were the two best in the era when I played a bit against India. There were some other guys who were very good too… Dilip Vengsarkar... Jimmy (Mohinder) Amarnath had a very good tour against us, in 1982-83… Different eras, a different set of batsmen."

Top post

Note: if you are rich or poor, hard worker or not etc. if someone criticizes your bad performances or lack there of (talent), it does not mean that person hates you...or that instead of analyzing what is being said (to see if it is correct) or trying to improve, you go and shoot at that person!

Looks like this has become a Holding for and against thread. Anyway coming to Hardik, he be last man to care what others think about him. He is today playing for India from the streets of Baroda where he used to play for few hundred rupees for various teams. He is fighter. He never claimed to be the best. But he be the last to give up without a fight.

Top post

Note: if you are rich or poor, hard worker or not etc. if someone criticizes your bad performances or lack there of (talent), it does not mean that person hates you...or that instead of analyzing what is being said (to see if it is correct) or trying to improve, you go and shoot at that person!

You are explaining this to his die hard fans who are intolerant and think he will rule the world one day. As I said earlier he is gareebon ka afridi.

Holding has been ant IPL because he is purist and believes in test matches. Anyway ipl has ignored him and that's probably hurt his ego a bit. What he fails to understand I'd this 2018 and league cricket provides salary to many players not good enough to make national sides. Just out of curiosity During Kerry packer days was Holding one of rebel cricketers?

http://m.wisdenindia.com/full-story.php?category=Interviews&id=135809

ogle.ca/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://m.wisdenindia.com/full-story.php%3Fcategory%3DInterviews%26id%3D135809&ved=2ahUKEwjkgNimhOHcAhUa3YMKHZAcBiwQFjADegQIBxAB&usg=AOvVaw2ypK5wr4uHQTzKAOw-LnwW

He is and will be no Kapil Dev and he is overhyped as well. However, this doesn't mean India cant or shouldn't persist with him. He can become a 35 averaging bowler and 35 averaging batsmen by the end of 70 tests.

That will be a huge achievement.

Looks like this has become a Holding for and against thread. Anyway coming to Hardik, he be last man to care what others think about him. He is today playing for India from the streets of Baroda where he used to play for few hundred rupees for various teams. He is fighter. He never claimed to be the best. But he be the last to give up without a fight.

I just hope India persist with him because by the time he'd have run out of gas 'fighting' he would've probably cost you lot 15-20 games and that (as a Pakistani) would just be magical to witness :P

If you think he's any better than Anwar Ali then you guys are in a for a ride!! :)) :))

So after 70 tests he will have Afridi's Test stats? How the mighty have fallen... :(

Afridi played only 27 Tests and he was a spin bowling all-rounder.

For India, a pace-bowling all-rounder is harder to get than a spin-bowling one and overseas they are more beneficial than spin-bowling ones.

He can obviously be a better LOI all-rounder though.

I just hope India persist with him because by the time he'd have run out of gas 'fighting' he would've probably cost you lot 15-20 games and that (as a Pakistani) would just be magical to witness :P

If you think he's any better than Anwar Ali then you guys are in a for a ride!! :)) :))

Yes, he is much better than Anwar Ali.

Afridi test stats are quite good. Batting average of 36+ and bowling average of 35 is kind of stats any team will dream to have in its allrounders.
Too bad Afridi did not like tests.

I can finally understand why Michael Holding is saying this. He might have read some posts mentioning 'Sobers' name with Pandya and got fed up with it. Nobody would like to see their country's legends name associated with a noob from another country. :inti

You're the only one i have seen refer to Pandya as Sobers.

The issue is that while an all rounder practically equates to having two players in one, whereas Pandya is actually half a player in one, as far as tests are concerned. I have also heard a lot about the attitude problems these young guys have developed.

In the year 2010, the prophetic :wa had said these exact words for Indian players, and I quote, "The dream to represent the country for long doesn't seem to exist. Look at some of the young Indian bowlers. They breakdown every now and then. Last year, when I was involved with the IPL (Akram was bowling consultant for the Kolkata Knight Riders), I realised that the bowlers were happy bowling just 3-4 overs in the nets. I was amazed. Softies is the word to describe them. They are also spoilt and don't believe in working hard,"

Now before some Indian posters come here & term Waz as a bitter old man, jealous of India etc. etc. I would like to pitch in that he has been involved with the IPL, & had also a few good words to offer for the present Indian team prior to this tour, hence he ain't bitter at all.

Slightly off topic but with the kind of money flowing in, & the facilities available, this Indian team should've done far better than they actually have. This attitude where these guys no longer give two hoots about criticism, comes from the fact that they know well that no matter how poorly they do, a few wins here & there, & two months of IPL circus would ensure that the majority of fans would be happy, & they would be laughing all the way to the bank.

Holding has been ant IPL because he is purist and believes in test matches. Anyway ipl has ignored him and that's probably hurt his ego a bit. What he fails to understand I'd this 2018 and league cricket provides salary to many players not good enough to make national sides. Just out of curiosity During Kerry packer days was Holding one of rebel cricketers?

ogle.ca/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://m.wisdenindia.com/full-story.php%3Fcategory%3DInterviews%26id%3D135809&ved=2ahUKEwjkgNimhOHcAhUa3YMKHZAcBiwQFjADegQIBxAB&usg=AOvVaw2ypK5wr4uHQTzKAOw-LnwW

Lol using your logic Michael Holding knows better than you arm chair critics. So please listen to him. Not sure why are you bringing Kerry Packer and other stuff into this thread. What has that got to do with Pandya? If you don't have anything else to prove Holding wrong you are even going to bring his personal life into this?

OVER RATED *clap clap clap* OVER RATED *clap clap clap

His performances must be killing Mamoon. Not too worry, I Am sure he will have a dig at Faheem to make himself feel better.

Doesn't deserve to be in the test team on any facet - unless he knows how to make a mean cup of chai.

OVER RATED *clap clap clap* OVER RATED *clap clap clap

His performances must be killing Mamoon. Not too worry, I Am sure he will have a dig at Faheem to make himself feel better.

Doesn't deserve to be in the test team on any facet - unless he knows how to make a mean cup of chai.

He is the golden boy of indian cricket indeed.

Walks onto the field as if he's going to get a hundred off 80 balls and, walks off the field as if someone has intentionally ran him out.:danish:yk2:murali:cobra

Holding has zero credibility in this matter, since he ran off to be part of the set up of a CPL team at the first opportunity.

If Pandya is the only one struggling, we can point fingers at him.

The whole team has no clue how to play when the ball is moving and zipping this way. Unfair on Pandya to get all the criticism.

What did Vijay, Rahane and the other so called Test specialists do on this tour so far? Pandya has outsocred both those clowns in first Test.

Pandya also scored a Test century in subcontinent and also played a good innings in SA where the ball was seaming a lot. Can't say the same about the Test specialists.

Now before some Indian posters come here & term Waz as a bitter old man, jealous of India etc. etc. I would like to pitch in that he has Slightly off topic but with the kind of money flowing in, & the facilities available, this Indian team should've done far better than they actually have. This attitude where these guys no longer give two hoots about criticism, comes from the fact that they know well that no matter how poorly they do, a few wins here & there, & two months of IPL circus would ensure that the majority of fans would be happy, & they would be laughing all the way to the bank.

No one says wasim is bitter even if he criticises, holding though is a diff case. He is right about pandya but overall holding is a bitter old guy who can't see anything good with WI or Indian players ever. Several examples of that but let's leave it there.

Totally agree with ur second point about Indian players not caring abt criticism. The standard reply from Indian players on criticism is "I don't need to prove anything to anyone but myself". Unless you are Elon Musk kinda person who changes the world through his inventions, I don't know how any other professional can say things like he doesn't need to prove himself. In the 2nd ODi which India lost recently, Chahal raised his bat on scoring a run and the entire dressing room clapped and cheered. For god sake, u were abt to loose a match badly, whats so funny about ur number 11 is incapable to bat? He shud be working hard in nets to improve his batting, how on Earth could an international cricketer and his teammates celebrate his shortcoming?

Holding: "Ashwin is an AR, Pandya not at all."

His runs(off edges and after everything is lost) and wickets (when batsmen where going after the bowlers) are only going to cost us in the long run.

Holding: "Ashwin is an AR, Pandya not at all."

His runs(off edges and after everything is lost) and wickets (when batsmen where going after the bowlers) are only going to cost us in the long run.

Cricketers who can bowl at 135 - 140 and can hold a bat, should never be dropped.

Pandya issue came up again today when Bhaji asked Holding about Pandya. Have to say I was taken aback by Holdings's strong comments about Pandya. Passing so discouraging remarks for a a young cricketer is strange from Holding considering he is still not a finished product.

Though he is not the best of all rounders but he is the least of worries for Indian team.
India's issue is openers , middle order and Pandya should be the 5 bowling option while he can hold bat and add useful runs at no 7.

Problem is there is nothing clicking in the Indian batting except Kohli and replacing Pandya with a batsman wont make a difference if the top 6 fail miserably.

Pandya issue came up again today when Bhaji asked Holding about Pandya. Have to say I was taken aback by Holdings's strong comments about Pandya. Passing so discouraging remarks for a a young cricketer is strange from Holding considering he is still not a finished product.

Though he is not the best of all rounders but he is the least of worries for Indian team.
India's issue is openers , middle order and Pandya should be the 5 bowling option while he can hold bat and add useful runs at no 7.

Problem is there is nothing clicking in the Indian batting except Kohli and replacing Pandya with a batsman wont make a difference if the top 6 fail miserably.

Holding is a grumpy man. Pandya picked 3 wickets in this game and string together the highest and only 50 runs partnership for India. Not much he can do if top order fails everytime. He is not a concern at all.

Not sure what his role in the team is. It is clear he cannot be relied upon for his batting alone, he is not picking up wickets with the ball and is neither being economical.

Holding has every right to call a spade a spade

His ego needs to be taken down a couple of notches, but you can see there's a decent player there. He just needs to concentrate on his deficiencies rather than act as if he's done everything in the game.

Bob Willis on Pandya’s case now.
Says he simply not any good.

How dare he! Doesn't he know anyone who provides constructive criticism of Panyda is called a hater by his fans?

Its evident Pandya is not good enough for international cricket. Most experts, even Indian, are waking up to that fact. India’s desperate search for a Kapil Dev will prolong Pandya’s career. He’ll be no better than the likes of Mohammad Hafeez IMO

Its evident Pandya is not good enough for international cricket. Most experts, even Indian, are waking up to that fact. India’s desperate search for a Kapil Dev will prolong Pandya’s career. He’ll be no better than the likes of Anwar Ali IMO

Fixed it.

Fixed it.
I’m dead serious when I say Pandya will never be able to play a knock as good as Anwar did against Lanka in 2015. He looks to be at ease when his friends at the top have already established or have lost the match beyond repair for India

True grit and character of a player come into question when they change the course of any match entirely based on their own skill set. From whatever I've seen of Pandya (in any given format) he either plays a supporting act in a game others set up for India or makes cute contributions under nightmarish circumstances which have no implication on the overall standing of the game.

That is why cricketing pundits don't rate this guy and for measure however, certain armchair PP experts would believe that Pandya is basically Sobers/Imran/Botham/Haddle/Dev all rolled into one :facepalm:

Anwar Ali's contribution in that 2013 ODI bilateral Series that we won 2-1 in SA and that SL chase almost when the game had died most probably would never be trumped by anything Pandya does in his career no matter how many times posters hype him to the moon!

He took 3 wickets and scored more runs than most regular batsmen! I don't think only he needs to be targeted for the loss! Of course the handling of him is also a part of India's problem (coach/captain). He would be more effective as a 4th seamer in these conditions (like how Curran did! It will be much easier to be a part of strong unit!) Of course comparing him to Sobers, Kallis, etc, is ridiculous. Also you cannot expect him to be as effective as Curran in England (just like somebody like Jayant Yadav would be more effective in India than Moeen Ali! But that doesn't mean Moeen Ali should be humiliated and dropped! He can play as a third spinner in India if required or a spin bowling alrounder, but still will not be more effective than Jayant as he grew up playing in the conditions!)

Also you should not troll him as next Sobers, next Kallis, next Kapil and all... He will be handy if he can at least reach 70% of Abdul Razzak or Azhar Mehmood (see these guys also found comfort to play alongside Wasim, Waqar, etc). Don't expect too much & put too much pressure on him, let him play the supporting role. To be honest he looked slightly better when defending the ball compared to most Indian top order batsmen!

Similar thing was done to Ravindra Jadeja (mocking him & ridiculing him). But he turned out to be pretty decent at least at home for some period of time!

True grit and character of a player come into question when they change the course of any match entirely based on their own skill set. From whatever I've seen of Pandya (in any given format) he either plays a supporting act in a game others set up for India or makes cute contributions under nightmarish circumstances which have no implication on the overall standing of the game.

That is why cricketing pundits don't rate this guy and for measure however, certain armchair PP experts would believe that Pandya is basically Sobers/Imran/Botham/Haddle/Dev all rolled into one :facepalm:

Anwar Ali's contribution in that 2013 ODI bilateral Series that we won 2-1 in SA and that SL chase almost when the game had died most probably would never be trumped by anything Pandya does in his career no matter how many times posters hype him to the moon!

Why are you bringing Anwar Ali into this who has not played any test match? Pandya has better stats than him and also 6 more years to see what he can learn & do better than Anwar Ali... The problem is with Indian Management... They need to stick to 3 proper seamers in these conditions (at least when there is rain & cloud! For heaven sake they can't go wrong to this extent! I wouldn't have bothered if they had played Kuldeep in the first match when the pitch was dry or at least there was no clouds or rain! Probably we would have won that close match!) Pandya should be 4th seamer if needed (and to bring batting depth)

Holding is a bitter old man. He hates India blah blah blah.

What about Harbhajan Singh? This is his latest statement

"We Have to Remove All-rounder Tag From Hardik Pandya: Harbhajan Singh"

Holding is a bitter old man. He hates India blah blah blah.

What about Harbhajan Singh? This is his latest statement

"We Have to Remove All-rounder Tag From Hardik Pandya: Harbhajan Singh"

Not long ago both played in Mumbai Indians and i am surprised bhajji actually had guts to say against our hardik sobers pandya. :inti

Replacing pandya with a specialist batsman will do no good.He has played better than every specialist batsman except kohli.
For those saying that pandya is simply not good,they all will regret saying this.Michael Holding will be embarssed by pandya in this series itself.Doing constructive criticism is good but these are just rash statements based on two three matches,here and there.
Pandya has'nt been able to unleash himself till now but he will come good,its just a matter of time..

Geoofery Boycott,naseer hussain,michael holding,virender sehwag,dean jones,harbhajan,russel arnold etc shouldnt be taken seriously.Yes they are greats of the game but not all great people are good critics.

Ofcourse they will not be taken seriously now. When it suits your point you use the statements of these same experts as an argument and call others arm chair critics. But here they should not be taken seriously because they are talking about your new IPL superstar. :inti

Not long ago both played in Mumbai Indians and i am surprised bhajji actually had guts to say against our hardik sobers pandya. :inti

So now his fans can't even say that this statement is coming from someone who hasn't played in IPL. :inti

Ofcourse they will not be taken seriously now. When it suits your point you use the statements of these same experts as an argument and call others arm chair critics. But here they should not be taken seriously because they are talking about your new IPL superstar. :inti

First of all i am not an ipl fan.Ipl has got nothing to do as i am talking about international stuff.
He is nowhere near a superstar but i believe that he has real potential and will come good.
Secondly I have included all those names in above list who i think give rash comments .
Most of them are sometimes envious(ex: arnold)some have really big mouths(ex:boycott,dean jones)and some are against shorter formats and cricket's evolution(ex:holding,bishan bedi)and some are simply disrespectful(ex naseer hussain,sehwag).
Holding is a staunch critic of t2os.For him t20 players are not even cricketers.
So as simple as it gets i don't pay much attention to these extremist commies.They have strong bias against various things.
But many of these players provide good insight into the game and i love to listen to holding as far as analysing match conditions are concerned.

First of all i am not an ipl fan.Ipl has got nothing to do as i am talking about international stuff.
He is nowhere near a superstar but i believe that he has real potential and will come good.
Secondly I have included all those names in above list who i think give rash comments .
Most of them are sometimes envious(ex: arnold)some have really big mouths(ex:boycott,dean jones)and some are against shorter formats and cricket's evolution(ex:holding,bishan bedi)and some are simply disrespectful(ex naseer hussain,sehwag).
Holding is a staunch critic of t2os.For him t20 players are not even cricketers.
So as simple as it gets i don't pay much attention to these extremist commies.They have strong bias against various things.
But many of these players provide good insight into the game and i love to listen to holding as far as analysing match conditions are concerned.

Do you also think that he is an all rounder? When will he start performing? Played 4 innings scored 90 runs and took 3 wickets. Is this a performance of an all rounder? If others are not performing they will be dropped.

Replacing pandya with a specialist batsman will do no good.He has played better than every specialist batsman except kohli.
For those saying that pandya is simply not good,they all will regret saying this.Michael Holding will be embarssed by pandya in this series itself.Doing constructive criticism is good but these are just rash statements based on two three matches,here and there.
Pandya has'nt been able to unleash himself till now but he will come good,its just a matter of time..

So all those greats with all their experience don't know what they are talking about but you do?

What good is Pandya's potential doing to India in this series? They don't need potential they need performance.

In a tour like Eng, where India has a terrible record, they need players who will perform in this tour- not players who look good and could potentially become good players in the future.

FC and maybe some home series are for players who have potential not a difficult away series.

Now Gambhir.

Gambhir: India needs to decide whether Pandya’s a bowling or batting all-rounder. Test cricket is played with genuine all-rounders and not bits and pieces cricketers

Holding, Gavaskar, Nasser, Harbhajan and now Gambhir. But, all are bitter persons.