Harry Brook handed Two-Year IPL Ban for last-minute withdrawal to focus on International Cricket

The Bald Eagle

England cricketer Harry Brook has been handed a two-year ban from the Indian Premier League (IPL) for withdrawing at the last minute to focus on international cricket. The 26-year-old, viewed as a potential successor to Jos Buttler as England's white-ball captain, was signed by the Delhi Capitals for the upcoming IPL season.

Brook had previously pulled out of the Delhi Capitals last season after the passing of his grandmother. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) enforced the ban under its policy to deter late withdrawals, with exceptions typically made for injuries.

Having played one IPL season for Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2023, during which he scored a memorable 55-ball century against Kolkata Knight Riders, Brook's absence is significant.

BCCI be like: :inti

images

Nothing but respect to this young star for prioritising national team over a T20 league and letting go all the money so early in his career. We sometimes wish if star Bharatiya cricketers would skip a few games in IPL to stay fit for an upcoming test series but they don’t do it and here’s Harry Brook setting an example.

I wish him the best.

Rules was already there before the Auction so Harry deserved this ban. Why put his name in the auction list earlier.

Bcci should be more flexible and humane. Players can have family emergencies or personal mental health problems. They can't force a player to play at gunpoint

Not a fan of it bro.

Too much hatred for Pakistanis right now i admit we are at an all time low in our reactions towards your country. The whole nation hates Pakistan with a passion never seen before.

All the people who thought things were bad in 2000s have no idea those days were so much better.

Bcci should be more flexible and humane. Players can have family emergencies or personal mental health problems. They can't force a player to play at gunpoint
Brooks didn't pullout because of any personal problem. BCCI is always flexible in case some emergency but not in the Harry brooks case. He deserve forever ban from IPL not just 2 year.

Forever ban?

You can make a good dictator lol

Pretty sure those are included in the exception already. The ban is only if you participate in the auction, if you withdraw before the auction there is no ban. And if you have valid reason there is no ban

It's a huge hassle for teams to make plans,spend time on auction and then if a key player pulls out.

Very professional from the IPL, can also understand Broom's perspective, but maybe he needs to schedule things better next time.

The headline is really funny. How dare he prefer his country over IPL riches?
Nobody forced any player to put the name in the auction list. Once you put your name there then you can't pullout at the last minutes thinking about country lol. Pehle nind m tha kya wo? 😂😂

I don't think he cares. Certainly not as much as certain Indians do.

He has more important things to focus on. Especially if he is the next white-ball captain.

He'd have faced the same ban if he didn't put his name on the auction list.
No he'd have not faced the ban he didn't go through the auction. There is already exception for emergencies.

This is same as you take an offer to join any organisation after all the negotiations etc and withdraw it at last minute. All major companies put these kind of candidates on blacklist for some time.

He has more important things to focus on. Especially if he is the next white-ball captain.
No one care about this Tullebaaz .he can focus whatever he want to do but don't put your name in the auction list , as simple as that. :kp

Have amended title a bit for you guys so that we can talk about the real topic instead of making it controversial.

No , how can team pick him if his name was not in the Auction list? lol

No he'd have not faced the ban he didn't go through the auction. There is already exception for emergencies.

This is same as you take an offer to join any organisation after all the negotiations etc and withdraw it at last minute. All major companies put these kind of candidates on blacklist for some time.

If he hadn't entered the auction list he wouldn't have been allowed to enter until the next mega auction (in 3 years time), effectively facing the same ban he now faces.

No one care about this Tullebaaz .he can focus whatever he want to do but don't put your name in the auction list , as simple as that. :kp
It's a freelance job. It doesn't mean anything to any overseas player besides a big, fat paycheck. People leave jobs/forgo opportunities all the time to focus on personal things. Contrary to what you may think, not everyone's life revolves around money.

If you have a problem with him not following your rules, ban him. Simple as that. No need to give sermons on what is right or wrong.

Brooks had issues with srh fans .he is an egotistic like kp but not much talent in dealing against spin.He was brought at an astronomical rate but delivered quite poorly for first half.Later srh fans posted a lot of memes ridiculing him.brooks got a century at a perfect batting track and ridiculed fans back.it was never heard of any player getting back at fans especially for a franchise. Brooks again failed in other matches and invited lot of trolls. Excluding his lone century ,his avg was 8 or 9.Thereafter he was failing consistently against spin and he kept on coming with almost memeworthy excuses like smog.I don't think he is any kind of mental state to face the music again till he improves against the spin and get an astronomical rate to satisfy his ego.

Official rule -As per the rules announced by the IPL governing council, any overseas player willing to take part in the IPL, unless retained, will have to register himself for the auction. In case of non-registration, they will be ineligible to register in the following year’s player auction as well.

I think Teams can directly sign, in case of any injury .

If he hadn't entered the auction list he wouldn't have been allowed to enter until the next mega auction (in 3 years time), effectively facing the same ban he now faces.

I stand corrected. Yes you're right if some player doesn't go through the mega auction they become ineligible for subsequent smaller auction following year. They can only return to mega auction whenever that happens.

Anyways my point is- why enter in auction when you are so concerned with prioritising national duties? Players like Anderson, Broad etc never registered themselves.

It's a freelance job. It doesn't mean anything to any overseas player besides a big, fat paycheck. People leave jobs/forgo opportunities all the time to focus on personal things. Contrary to what you may think, not everyone's life revolves around money.

If you have a problem with him not following your rules, ban him. Simple as that. No need to give sermons on what is right or wrong.
Anyone can chose whatever is best for them but they have to face the consequences and here 2 year ban is the punishment ( my wish is forever ban to brook) . He care or not it doesn't matter for IPL.

You can wish all you want. He will be back in 2 years, at an even higher price-tag.

Official rule -As per the rules announced by the IPL governing council, any overseas player willing to take part in the IPL, unless retained, will have to register himself for the auction. In case of non-registration, they will be ineligible to register in the following year’s player auction as well.

I think Teams can directly sign, in case of any injury .

I think as per new rules- In case of withdrawals because of emergency, Teams can directly sign only those players who appeared in auction but went unsold.

Those who withdrew with approval can reappear next year.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

This is a reality check for those who believe Australian and English players would abandon their developed countries for an MLB-style league and stay in India for over nine months with their families. They need to realize that at a crucial stage in their careers, there are things far more important than money. :rabada2

Players only chase big paychecks when their careers are winding down and their future is secured. Once they have milked the opportunity, they will head right back home. :inti

This is a reality check for those who believe Australian and English players would abandon their developed countries for an MLB-style league and stay in India for over nine months with their families. They need to realize that at a crucial stage in their careers, there are things far more important than money. :rabada2

Players only chase big paychecks when their careers are winding down and their future is secured. Once they have milked the opportunity, they will head right back home. :inti
Mr expert Starc was already pullout from champion trophy to play in ipl. All the so called injured players are back in the biggest carnival of world cricket.

This should be eye opener for delusion fans like you . Soon IPL team will increase so is budget , more player's will choose IPL over international cricket in the future .

IPL is reality and you can cry as much as you want but facts will remain facts

So as per Bhaggu, Players like AB, Cummins, Rabada, Butler etc came to IPL when their careers were winding down. Heck Root gets rejected every year to come back again next year lol.

What a troll!!

Anyways my point is- why enter in auction when you are so concerned with prioritising national duties? Players like Anderson, Broad etc never registered themselves.

Firstly because he didn't know he'd have likely been about to become England captain at the time of the auction. Secondly the rules have effectively encouraged him to register and withdraw later to give him more time to know his situation given both result in the same 'punishment'.

Its a win win for Brook then. He didn't want to participate. IPL doesn't want him anymore. Whats the problem?

This is the perfect opportunity for Lahore Qalandars to secure their prince for 2-3 seasons of PSL 🤩

Spot on. The type of player that Brook is, he knows franchises will try to pay big money for him if he puts his name in the auction again. And even if they don't, it won't be the end of the world for him. He is a centrally contracted English player. He isn't exactly living off the kindness of IPL franchise owners lol.

Why he wants to come back after 2 year? shouldn't he Focus on international cricket or after 2 year his priority will change. :unsure:

You're mistaking someone wanting to make money for them wanting to play in the IPL from the goodness of their heart. Don't delude yourself.

Lol what does the PSL have to do with this? Looks like someone's ego has taken a bruising.
Ask youself and you'll get your answers.

Human nature - Kud fail ho jate hai uska itna dukh ni hota jitna dost ke top karne ka hota hai.

#jealously :kp

Ask youself and you'll get your answers.

Human nature - Kud fail ho jate hai uska itna dukh ni hota jitna dost ke top karne ka hota hai.

#jealously :kp
Sure bro, whatever you say. Whatever it takes to ease your pain.

You was the first one who started the crying about brook ban then Pakistan fans joined with you. :kp
Wrong again. I wasn't crying. I was actually delighted that Brook chose his country over the Indian League. :kp

Aren't you the same guy who always puts country above everything? You should be celebrating too.

Wrong again. I wasn't crying. I was actually delighted that Brook chose his country over the Indian League. :kp

Aren't you the same guy who always puts country above everything? You should be celebrating too.
BCCI 2 year ban to brook - this fact you can't digest and you agree with Pakistan fans Post about criticizing BCCI is proof of that.

Why should i celebrate , india is my country not England.

Tell me why did BCCI ban Brook for 2 years? Let's hear your answer. :inti
In case any player registers and gets picked at the auction but makes himself unavailable before the start of the season, he will not be allowed to play in the tournament and participate in IPL player auctions for the next two seasons.

This was the IPL rule prior to The auction. BCCI is just following the rules and it's not about brook only but for every players. :kp

In case any player registers and gets picked at the auction but makes himself unavailable before the start of the season, he will not be allowed to play in the tournament and participate in IPL player auctions for the next two seasons.

This was the IPL rule prior to The auction. BCCI is just following the rules :kp
And why did they ban him? Simply because Brook chose his country over the IPL. I have made hundreds of posts here about players prioritizing their nation over the IPL, many of them long before you even joined. No need to repeat the same points. There are two ways to see this: you are celebrating because the BCCI banned him, while I am happy that he gave the IPL a snub and chose his country instead. :kp :inti

Post #37 is my answer :kp

I don't even watch IPL. Just happy to know about a player who chose country over a domestic Pyjama League. :inti

Also nice to know that your 'country over everything' is just a drama. Otherwise you would have praised Brook here. :inti
My country is india and not England. :kp

He should be banned for giving preference to his national team. :kp :inti

He is banned because he break the IPL rule. :kp
He chose his country over IPL. Who cares about the ban anyway? Nice to see there are players like him. They should he praised and this is why this thread is created. You can swing it whichever way you want to now. Chidiya toh ud gayi. :kp :inti

I would say that's an absolutely fair statement. Just the talent base Ind has. And its the number 1 sport in a country with 1.5 billion pop. Also Starc said Ind would be "competitive " not " win" all games. The competition for places is so intense that Ind players cant get complacent.
Competition is intense everywhere. Population argument is overrated. It's not like 1.5 billion are all young fit athletes lol, India is arguably one of the most unfit and unathletic countries in the world no offence. Starc seems to be bigging up his IPL paymasters here.

He chose his country England over India though. And you should praise him for that. :inti
This is good for him because he chose own country first but he has the face the punishment which he would have already considered and accepted.

But why you have problem with this ?

Why you are critical of BCCI?

This is good for him because he chose own country first but he has the face the punishment which he would have already considered and accepted.

But why you have problem with this ?

Why you are critical of BCCI?

I think this is the 4th or 5th time I am saying that I am happy that a player chose country over IPL but you are acting dumb and ignorant now. Repeating the same stuff over and over again like a parrot. As I said, there are 100s of my posts regarding this on this forum where I discussed about players choosing country over IPL. You should find those threads and read them. :rabada2

And I don't have any problem with BCCI banning Brook. Just thought they brought this rule to satisfy their ego. However, I do wish that they ban every international cricketer so that we can have more international series scheduled during IPL. :kp :inti

That statement shows what dominance is but India still cannot match Australia.

I think this is the 4th or 5th time I am saying that I am happy that a player chose country over IPL but you are acting dumb and ignorant now. Repeating the same stuff over and over again like a parrot. As I said, there are 100s of my posts regarding this on this forum where I discussed about players choosing country over IPL. You should find those threads and read them. :rabada2

And I don't have any problem with BCCI banning Brook. Just thought they brought this rule to satisfy their ego. However, I do wish that they ban every international cricketer so that we can have more international series scheduled during IPL. :kp :inti
You're jealous because IPL banned a player

Ok now if brooks play in IPL after 2 year over his country ,then what you Will say ? Who will be Hypocrite then ?

Also if he didn't care he would not have put his name in the auction.

You're jealous because IPL banned a player

Ok now if brooks play in IPL after 2 year over his country ,then what you Will say ? Who will be Hypocrite then ?

Jealous for what, lol? Was he not playing in the IPL before? Did I say anything then? :inti

@Rajdeep would be a proud Brit today. :kp :inti

Not really. We, the real fans who understands cricket, knows that playing in IPL would have only made him a better player, especially against spin bowling which is Brooks glaring weakness. Previously players used to play county cricket to improve themselves in red ball format. Similarly, I think in modern days playing IPL shape them as better white ball players. It transformed Mitchel Johnson's career totally after IPL 2013 season. So playing high pressure T20 matches aganst world class bowlers in front of packed stadiums would have only made Brooks a better player.

Imagine him facing Bumrah, Shami, Jadeja, Kuldeep for 2 months before 5 match test series against India this summer. Imagine him facing Starc, Cummins, Zampa etc before the Ashes. How it would have not benefitted him?

Looks like ECBs approach every year is to stop its players from playing IPL. How did it help Ben Stokes last time by skipping it? Got humiliated in Ashes, India tour and world cup...the exact 3 series he gave excuse to skip IPL.

It is pretty clear that ECB is jealous of IPLs success and wants to jeapordise it especially after the spectacular failure that the Hundreds is. However, they are simply shooting on their own foot by doing so.

IPL is correct in banning players. As a player when you put your name in the auction, owners trust them and spend money on them to buy it. Team management chalk some strategy behind teams requirement to buy such players. Now by pulling out at the last minute is not only unprofessional but put the team in jeapordy. He shouldnt have put his name in auction. This is happening too many times especially from ECB players and BCCI is totally correct in banning them.

As far as posters here rejoicing, LOL...kitna bhi kar lo nehi lega Pak and BD players ko in IPL. I know even after 17 years, the months of March-June still haunts Pak fans and most Pak players wish they were not Pakistanis in the first place to have a chance playing in the daddy league. However nothing doing.

Rajdeep.