Has anyone else failed to adjust in the U.S./North America?

Mamoon

ATG
Mainly interested in folks who went there from Pakistan and the UK, since I grew up in those two countries and am comfortable with their culture. I have been in the U.S. for 9 months now, but honestly speaking, I feel that it is simply not my cup of tea, and I can't wait to be done with what I am here for and get out of here as fast as I can.

Frankly, I feel miserable here and I have never been less motivated and less productive. I haven't had any issues with bigotry etc. fueled by Trump, but I simply have failed to develop a liking for this place. From the massive roads to the massive cars and .... massive everything. It feels like a completely different world to what I am used to. I have failed to adapt to the environment, the food, the way people function etc. I haven't been to Canada, but I feel that is probably going to be the same. I really don't know how I'm going to cope with this for another 1.5/2 years.

At this time, I can do with some experiences and see if I can relate to the problems that other people have suffered. So, any Pakistanis/Brits here who have just not been able to adjust to the U.S. or North America? If yes, how did you cope with it?

Canada isn't like that. Just like you, I lived in England for about 2 years and really enjoyed it. Before coming to Canada I visited the US for about a month and I thought it was a fun place to visit but I would never want to live there. I was afraid Toronto would be the same however it is an amazing place to live.

Mamoon bhai I'm not sure what you are on about. You don't seem to touch on much. Just looks like a rant.

But my mom complains about the US a lot too. She moved here in mid-20s and says that the lifestyle here is incomparable to that if Pakistan's.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] I completely understand where you're coming from. A lot of people may not understand or realise this, but living in Pakistan has a lot of perks, especially if you fall under the category of upper middle-class. Pakisyamis are very spoiled, life is much more comfortable living with your family and with the same kind of people around you, which is probably why you find the UK similar to Pakistan.

I personally thought I was very adaptable and lived life by the quote that goes, "Home is where the backpack is" but frankly I also found it very tough to adjust to the fast paced life of the USA and I was barely there for a year. Having to do everything yourself, from doing the dishes to cleaning the toilet to making your own food, life was an absolute mess. Most Pakistanis who don't have it very bad in Pakistan will find it extremely hard to fit in and it's not the racism, the Islamophobia or some inferiority complex, I know for a fact that we simply get home sick.

As far as your stay in the USA is concerned, I wish you the very best of luck. Don't lose hope. As they say in Urdu, ye waqt bhi guzar jaye ga. However, while you are there, I suggest you travel. There's an awful lot of places to see and visit in the USA and trust me when I say this, it'll make your stay much better and time will pass by in a whistle. Travelling always !ales of better, give it a shot. You'll meet great people on the road and make some memories.

Personally, if fate allows me, I wish to travel the world but eventually have a home to come back to in Pakistan. With all its problems and predicaments, it is still the only place I truly feel that peace of mind. I suggest you to do the same. Good luck!

Living in Pakistan is the best. I enjoyed the past year here in Canada but I cant wait to go back for the summer

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] where are you at? Are you here for study or work?

If by any chance you visit CA, we should meet up.

I feared that this thread might take the 'you are homesick'. However, I am not considering that aspect for now. Living in Pakistan is obviously far from the best, considering all the problems that we have there.

Even if you are well-off, the standard of living is not comparable to what you can have in the West. However, it is normal to associate yourself with the culture you grew up in, which is why I am interested in the perspective of the Pakistanis and the Brits who have not been able to feel comfortable in the U.S. Even if I have my whole family with me and get a good job, I don't see myself staying here in the long-term. I just don't like the vibe of this place, and I feel alien. The perplexing part is that I have found the people friendly, but in spite of that, I am not comfortable with the general vibe of this place.

I am somewhere close to Washington.

Lmao I found Washington, D.C. really boring to visit. The only reason I enjoyed it was because I am a massive Fallout 3 fan and even though I'd never been there, I felt like I'd visited it several times before. I wouldn't wanna live in that area.

I have been to NY and Chicago, but I find Washington more bearable. I find peace in boring/quiet places so that is not a problem for me.

Omg haha poor you. Move to Los Angeles(or Southern California), San Francisco, New York or Miami if you can. Those places are the real deal. Nothing can beat Miami and Los Angeles/Southern California. Didn't like New York personally.

I have been to NY and Chicago, but I find Washington more bearable. I find peace in boring/quiet places so that is not a problem for me.

I too, enjoy leaving in quiet places. For a year I lived in this small town in England called Lewes which has a population of 16000 and enjoyed it. Just didnt like DC for some reason

....... I have been in the U.S. for 9 months now, .......
[....]
....... I really don't know how I'm going to cope with this for another 1.5/2 years. ......
Whilst I returned to the UK after living in the USA for a few years, that was all due to the fact that I was seconded to my employers U.S. operations (on an L1 visa) and once the need for the secondment ended, I was faced with a choice of coming back to Europe, coming back to a guaranteed job with an employer who I'd been with for a number of years (and who couldn't terminate my contract without giving me substantial compensation), or resigning and staying in the USA, applying for a Green card, and being unemployed until I was granted the right to work/live there (The L1 visa is linked to the employer that brings you to the USA, as it's primarily for intra-company transfers, and is non-transferable). Being a family man with kids, I chose to return to the UK.

In your case however, whilst you may return to Pakistan after your 2 or 3 years, I suspect that you will have developed sufficient roots (and liking for the freedoms of an open society) that returning back to Pakistan will not be on a permanent basis - in fact I guarantee that you will take measures (eg Green Card or other means) that will enable you to return back to the USA any time you wished - perhaps even to make it your primary home.

Never been to Washington so can't say (drove through it but haven't stayed at the main city). Though Maryland etc. seems quite boring.

Best place I've been to in the USA has got to be San Fran. Would love staying there.

Canada, or atleast Toronto/the GTA, is quite different from the USA (I've been to or drove through atleast half of it), as mentioned above. You'll love it here.

Whilst I returned to the UK after living in the USA for a few years, that was all due to the fact that I was seconded to my employers U.S. operations (on an L1 visa) and once the need for the secondment ended, I was faced with a choice of coming back to Europe, coming back to a guaranteed job with an employer who I'd been with for a number of years (and who couldn't terminate my contract without giving me substantial compensation), or resigning and staying in the USA, applying for a Green card, and being unemployed until I was granted the right to work/live there (The L1 visa is linked to the employer that brings you to the USA, as it's primarily for intra-company transfers, and is non-transferable). Being a family man with kids, I chose to return to the UK.

In your case however, whilst you may return to Pakistan after your 2 or 3 years, I suspect that you will have developed sufficient roots (and liking for the freedoms of an open society) that returning back to Pakistan will not be on a permanent basis - in fact I guarantee that you will take measures (eg Green Card or other means) that will enable you to return back to the USA any time you wished - perhaps even to make it your primary home.

Interesting, thanks for sharing. However, if given a choice, with all things equal, would you prefer to live in the U.S. or the UK? For me, it is not a difficult choice at all.

To be honest, considering the lifestyle I had whilst in the USA (for the same price I had sold my modest house in London, I purchased a virtual mansion in the USA, with it's own outdoor swimming pool, very large garden, rooms the size of concert halls .... plus the weather),... I preferred the USA. (No way someone like me can afford a house with an open air swimming pool in the UK, and that's without even considering the fact that if you did have one you'd freeze to death 10 out of12 months of the year if you tried swimming in it).

It'll take time for you to get used to it, maybe you need go out more and make friends. If DC or DMV area isn't the right fit for you, America's a huge country with many regions and cities and almost anyone can find at least one place they can fit in. I've live my whole life in the south and plan to move to the East Coast sometime in the future cause I feel like it vibes with me better.

Canada isn't like that. Just like you, I lived in England for about 2 years and really enjoyed it. Before coming to Canada I visited the US for about a month and I thought it was a fun place to visit but I would never want to live there. I was afraid Toronto would be the same however it is an amazing place to live.

How is it better? Toronto's like a hybrid of NYC and Chicago, with a bigger or more visible Desi community.

Never been to Washington so can't say (drove through it but haven't stayed at the main city). Though Maryland etc. seems quite boring.

Best place I've been to in the USA has got to be San Fran. Would love staying there.

Canada, or atleast Toronto/the GTA, is quite different from the USA (I've been to or drove through atleast half of it), as mentioned above. You'll love it here.

In SF for 15 years, tired of it, thinking to move to NYC. What did you like about SF?

That's ironic coming from a New Yorker.

New York definitely is way better than other places I've visited in the US, but it still falls short if you compare it to Karachi (I can only speak for Karachi). Not talking about partying etc.

I can never imagine living in a city that's not New York or Chicago in the US. I absolutely dread a quiet environment.
I visited my uncle in D.C., and trees were the only thing I saw there. Barely any people on the streets. Don't people get bored in such an environment :facepalm:

I think I'm the only American on here. Others are mainly immigrants. I'm probably one of the few first-gen Westerners too.

So I can't help you here Mamoon.

There's definitely a lack of "Raunak" in the US if you compare it to Pakistan.

People who go to the U.K. from Hong Kong say that. Most Hong Kong Pakistanis complain of the lack of raunak in the U.K.

I know many people who failed to adjust to the U.K. and ended up coming back to Hong Kong.

Law and Order, Political, Economic Situation and inflation aside, there is no place like home i.e. Pakistan. And i say this living in Canada for the last 5 years. When i came to Canada in 2012 as a 27 year, i was actually desperate to experience Greener pastures having lived in Pakistan for 20 plus years.

But the grass is greener on the other side. The lifestyle you enjoy in Pakistan if you are middle to upper middle class is unparralled. I estimate having the services of a cook, a maid, a driver, a guard e.t.c. gives you so much convenience and easily helps you to save 5-6 hours a day.

Yes there are big benefits to living in the West as well, the freedom to live the lifestyle you want, yes you will enjoy the local culture, your eyes will pop out looking at skin, gori's and having experiences, social interactions you will very rarely get to enjoy back home but trust me after a while you get so used to it, there comes a point where it will not excite you anymore. While it is okay to befriend *****, gori's and interact with them, you also realize in due course the massive cultural differences as well and that raises question marks in one's mind as well.

All my aunts and uncles moved to the West as students and have settled down over here. One of my aunts married her American Boyfriend facing strict opposition from family and both my cousins are living the local lifestyle (so do many Pakistani, Indian looking guys but they are smart enough to keep it behind closed doors and not advertise it too the whole world and their families). Even all my other cousins, they live pretty sad lives, their parents are so strict with them, don't let them mingle with local kids, befriend them beyond a certain point and when i see them, they just don't have good social skills and are frankly speaking neither local Canadians/Americans or Pakistani's. I don't want to totally generalize but i have seen many examples where future generations of immigrants have suffered or drifted completely away from their culture.

As far as i am concerned, i just feel that my social life back home in Pakistan was much better, always someone to chill, hang out with everyday but here everyone is so busy with their lives.

Anyways my own take is its alright to study and even work for a few years in the West to get good life experience, given the situation in Pakistan and most third world countries you need to have a back up plan, but if you are unhappy living over here then don't waste too much time here. My folks are already on my case to think about UAE and Dubai in the future.

People who go to the U.K. from Hong Kong say that. Most Hong Kong Pakistanis complain of the lack of raunak in the U.K.

I know many people who failed to adjust to the U.K. and ended up coming back to Hong Kong.

I was in Birmingham for a month last year. Probably, the dullest and most boring month of my life. Even when I visited London, the stores shut down very early compared to other metro cities around the world.

Exactly. This is what all Hong Kongers who go to the U.K. complain about. The cities and suburbs become ghost towns after 5 p.m.

New York definitely is way better than other places I've visited in the US, but it still falls short if you compare it to Karachi (I can only speak for Karachi). Not talking about partying etc.

I can never imagine living in a city that's not New York or Chicago in the US. I absolutely dread a quiet environment.
I visited my uncle in D.C., and trees were the only thing I saw there. Barely any people on the streets. Don't people get bored in such an environment :facepalm:

Agree with you here. I live in the heart of Toronto and it isn't nearly as lively as where I live in Karachi. Even though I live in defence which is relatively less lively

Living in Pakistan is the best. I enjoyed the past year here in Canada but I cant wait to go back for the summer

I remember when I was in uni and used to go back in the summers. Pakistan is the best place to visit if you are visiting family and friends and only have to stay for a few weeks.

Stay any longer than that and you begin to realize why you left in the first place.

I remember when I was in uni and used to go back in the summers. Pakistan is the best place to visit if you are visiting family and friends and only have to stay for a few weeks.

Stay any longer than that and you begin to realize why you left in the first place.

I only left because of university. I loved living there as well

Birmingham is honestly one of the most dull places I've ever been to. Don't know how people like [MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION] manage to survive in that torturous place

I don't know what aspect of US Mamoon finds unsettling. Maybe go in a bit more detail.

I agree these countries lack a whole lot of apna-ee-yat that you have from Pakistani folks. If you run into some problem in Pakistan the passersby try to outdo each other in helping you. The people have a bigger heart (no joke), you go to Saddar and are shopping in some small market and it's lunch time the shopkeepers would make it a point to invite you for lunch despite how much or how less they may have. It's Ramzaan time and you are stuck in traffic desperately trying to get home before iftaar and suddenly you get knock on the window "bhai jaan yeh lo khajoor aur rohafza, rozaa khol lo". These sort of things you would never get here.

Idhar piyaasay ko koi pani tak ko nahi poochta.

There are other aspects that make these places better than Pakistan, such as continuous supply of electricity and water. Excellent public transport facilities. A police system that actually works for you rather than against you. A strict adherence to rules and regs. Merit in every selection or hiring etc.

Cant argue the ronak difference between US and Pak. Homeland will always remain close to heart for that reason alone. Welcome to US where everyday feels same as yesterday :).

My folks plan to divide their time equally b/w Canada, USA and Pakistan during retirement i.e. Summers in the US/Canada and Winters in Pakistan/

It feels like a completely different world to what I am used to. I have failed to adapt to the environment, the food, the way people function etc

This sentence hints at the crux of the matter: it is a completely different world to what you're used to. They say the three most traumatic experiences are death, divorce, and moving, and you're still experiencing the tail end of the last one. Moving across town, from one neighborhood to another, is traumatic enough; moving across oceans and thousands upon thousands of miles is much more so, by several orders of magnitude.

Having done it a few times myself, I can say that one eventually gets used to the new environment, and there comes a point where it ceases being foreign, in the truest sense of the word, and becomes the norm.

I think I'm the only American on here. Others are mainly immigrants. I'm probably one of the few first-gen Westerners too.

So I can't help you here Mamoon.

In the valley of FOBs, the ABCD is king...

I loved it there eventhough I missed Karachi terriblu

I think it matters in what context you go there. I went for college so was able to build up a strong social network and relations.

When you just transplant for work (or sth similar to work as in your case) its hard to find time to build those relationships and since the locals are already settled and going on with ttheir lives there is no incentive for them either.

Honestly speaking, I felt alienated in Pakistan at the end of my time there. I've been in US over 10 years now and its home. I miss Pakistani food but there is a lot of Pak restaurants here so not such a big deal. Most of my family is here so that helps as well. Frankly, I feel OP is being typical millennial kid here. "I just don't like the vibe". I wish I had those options available to me as well that I can just move around if I didn't like the vibe of some place. For me financial and social responsibilities took precendent and being a X-gener, I think I am more practical and less picky over things. Just glad that I am able to have a good and safe life here. US is great no matter what anyone says.

This sentence hints at the crux of the matter: it is a completely different world to what you're used to. They say the three most traumatic experiences are death, divorce, and moving, and you're still experiencing the tail end of the last one. Moving across town, from one neighborhood to another, is traumatic enough; moving across oceans and thousands upon thousands of miles is much more so, by several orders of magnitude.

Having done it a few times myself, I can say that one eventually gets used to the new environment, and there comes a point where it ceases being foreign, in the truest sense of the word, and becomes the norm.

Really well put!

Yep, second that. Done it many times (even after marriage, and thus with wife and kids, which involves schooling and the children adapting to different educational systems, such as between the UK and USA), and that's excluding the initial move from Pakistan to the UK when I was too young to remember.

If anyone thinks moving is a traumatic experience, then try doing it with wife and school age children. For example, when we moved to the USA from the UK, in order to enrol the children at school, I had to provide certified copies of proof of their complete medical history, including proof of all vaccinations since birth.

Can't say anything about US/N.America but here in EU: it is absolutely awesome.

In 2015, I went to Pakistan after 13 years and, boy oh boy. It was a traumatic experience. Spent 21 days. My observation:

1. As soon as we went out of airport, we were stopped 2 times to bribe police.
2. Pakistani food is overrated. Although I absolutely loved the fresh yogurt.
3. Pakistani girls are same as goris but different skin tone. Was getting hit on all the time. The eye-contact was always there. Heck, even some of em stopped me and told that I looked like a local actor :afridi
4. Relatives ask too many questions. Everyone wants you to marry their daughter. It is exhausting. Very nosy people.
5. Average people looked mal-nourished. I was in a cantonment area during whole time. (So I guess that's upper middle class) People smoke a lot of hash and drink a lot.

Anyways, as soon as I left the country vowed I'd never go back.

Apologies if someone is offended but my visit to Pak was not rosy at all.

I think it matters in what context you go there. I went for college so was able to build up a strong social network and relations.

When you just transplant for work (or sth similar to work as in your case) its hard to find time to build those relationships and since the locals are already settled and going on with ttheir lives there is no incentive for them either.

Good post.

In 2015, I went to Pakistan after 13 years and, boy oh boy. It was a traumatic experience. Spent 21 days. My observation:

3. Pakistani girls are same as goris but different skin tone. Was getting hit on all the time. The eye-contact was always there. Heck, even some of em stopped me and told that I looked like a local actor :afridi
4. Relatives ask too many questions. Everyone wants you to marry their daughter. It is exhausting. Very nosy people.
5. Average people looked mal-nourished. I was in a cantonment area during whole time. (So I guess that's upper middle class) People smoke a lot of hash and drink a lot.

Red passport nay rollay!

Yes this is likely to be the experience if you hail from a pind

Top post but I think people should make an effort to socialize irrespective,sadly most people try to find similar ethnic after a while.

It seems you've dropped the idea of moving back to khi :afridi

Birmingham is honestly one of the most dull places I've ever been to. Don't know how people like [MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION] manage to survive in that torturous place

As [MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION] will attest to, Birmingham is a magical place that is capable of reflecting the true personality of people. Birmingham looks deep inside your heart and shows you the kind of person you really are.

So obviously for wonderful people like me, it is a glorious utopia.

You two, well I'm afraid that your experiences here just prove that you're both incredibly boring people.

Mamoon there are plenty of quiet places in NY. Check out Long Island. Not too far from the city about a 40 minute drive but it's the suburbs and it's super relaxing. Amazing place to live

Omg haha poor you. Move to Los Angeles(or Southern California), San Francisco, New York or Miami if you can. Those places are the real deal. Nothing can beat Miami and Los Angeles/Southern California. Didn't like New York personally.

I think this is the key. USA is a huge place and there are definitely some areas which would appeal to me more than others. I don't like London particularly so New York wouldn't be my cup of tea at all. I think I know what Mamoon means about huge roads and huge buildings, I didn't like Dubai for that reason either. I prefer places with a lot of greenery and walkable areas.

Mamoon there are plenty of quiet places in NY. Check out Long Island. Not too far from the city about a 40 minute drive but it's the suburbs and it's super relaxing. Amazing place to live

Yea Long Island is awesome. Go there all the time, most of my family is there. I'm currently in North Jersey and it's the exact same thing as Long Island. Actually only 15 min. from the City.

There's a lot of different places in the U.S.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], which Washington are you tawking about? The state or city?

City

most likely va suburbs

Very intersting thread. It really depends on you and what youre end goals are. Once you have moved out even for a short while from India or Pakistan and are living in the US, there is a bit of a culture shock. Now depends on what youre mind set is. Having some family or friends helps in easing things in.

If you go to a bigger city say New York,Chicago or Philadelophia, its more a huge melting pot and youre bound to meet people from Pakistan or India and all cultures, if thats ure thing. If you move to smaller city with no Indians or Pakistan but nevertheless having a good experience, that might work for you as well. Some people stay because they see a future for their children that may be lacking in Pakistan or India. I have seen people in US with the mind set of going back but continued to stay and become citizens, and I have seen the opposite too where people couldn't wait to get out for whatever reason and they are just as happy staying back in Pakistan or India.

One thing I have seen is you can definitely make a mark in the US i feel where depending on youre talent and hardwork you can reach as high as the stars and Americans are very good at recognizing that and rewarding you. Hardwork really pays of. Also Speaking fluent English and interacting with Americans is a must though. This is where i feel Indians excel like no other. In places like India and Pakistan, i hate to say it and maybe less common now, but there is a level of corruption and some luck to acheive where you want to be...Not sure if this makes sense to anyone..

You have to broaden youre horizons and take things with a grain of salt. To me it seems maybe Mamoon allready came with a small negative mindset and cannot move past that. I could be wrong..

Yea Long Island is awesome. Go there all the time, most of my family is there. I'm currently in North Jersey and it's the exact same thing as Long Island. Actually only 15 min. from the City.

There's a lot of different places in the U.S.

Yeah man! I love living here, it's so peaceful.

Might move to NJ after Med school tho

[MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION], if you are living in NY, how is your experience with Indians in general?
Have you interacted with any? If you tell them you are a Hindu from Pakistan, did their body language change?

[MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION], if you are living in NY, how is your experience with Indians in general?
Have you interacted with any? If you tell them you are a Hindu from Pakistan, did their body language change?

Since you have been in America for a long time as well, have you had any chance to meet Pakistani Hindus? The ones I have met were paindoos from interior Sindh and didn't find anything particularly different about them which would suggest they belonged to a different country.Maybe I have higher standards.

Not a single one. None.

That is why I asked Sarfarazian that question.

However one of my friends met a Pakistani Hindu at a temple. It seems the guy was speaking full on Urdu and it was hard to understand some words.

Not a single one. None.

That is why I asked Sarfarazian that question.

However one of my friends met a Pakistani Hindu at a temple. It seems the guy was speaking full on Urdu and it was hard to understand some words.

They do look a bit different though.
[MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION] do you know any Sodhas from interior Sindh?

I think this is the key. USA is a huge place and there are definitely some areas which would appeal to me more than others. I don't like London particularly so New York wouldn't be my cup of tea at all. I think I know what Mamoon means about huge roads and huge buildings, I didn't like Dubai for that reason either. I prefer places with a lot of greenery and walkable areas.

Miami and Los Angeles barely has any greenery but it is great with warm climates 24/7. New York is like Delhi, those giant tall buildings get boring very quickly and I can't understand what's so special about New York. Never been to London yet.

Dubai is a good analogy because I got the same vibe, especially from NY and Chicago. Make Dubai bigger and better, make the weather better and get rid of the Arabs, and I suppose it won't be much different from NY. Seems like a place where you can go on a holiday for a few weeks but that is about it.

However, I do understand that it is far too diverse a country to be pigeon-holed into a specific category. Nonetheless, based on my limited experience, it doesn't look like an ideal place for people from the Indian subcontinent or Europe, but the GCC countries will probably feel right at home.

Nonetheless, I didn't get from this thread what I was looking for. I was expecting a few accounts of people from a Pakistani/English environment struggling to adapt to the completely different world of the U.S. It seems like I am on my own, and that certainly does not make me feel any better.

I haven't stepped out of Asia ever but I recommend you bookmark this thread for future lookbacks.

Come 2 years down the line, I'd wager you'll be singing a different tune.

My interactions with Indians has been very limited.

Apart from the first 10 minutes where they freak out about the fact that hindus exist in pak, they're totally fine.

[MENTION=139982]Sarfarazian92[/MENTION] do you know any Sodhas from interior Sindh?

Na bro. I've never visited interior Sindh and my Sindhi speaking skills are crap so most of my friends are urdu speaking.

A lot of medical students from interior sindh come to the US. Maybe you met one of them. Some of them can definitely be classified as paindu

Are you talking about Washington DC or Washington State?

Are you living in City or country side...US is very different from East to West... There are 4/5 cultures, which don't mix together... Doctors generally live in Country side till they become US Dr, that time is mostly very rough, because life in those Trump land is tough for everybody(even home grown liberals)...Are you in such a place??

I am living in US for 18/20 years now, I like it far better than England/Europe (I have gone there for vacation only).

Na bro. I've never visited interior Sindh and my Sindhi speaking skills are crap so most of my friends are urdu speaking.

Karachi is the capital of Sindh but ironically the Sindhi population of Karachi is quite small. Throughout my primary/secondary school I only had a handful of classmates who were Sindhi and even they were naam ke Sindhi because their fluency in the language was minimal.

Sindhi community in India is quite successful.Very rich and hard working people.

True.

There aren't many people who are fluent in both Urdu and Sindhi.

What's so great about this "raunaq" y'all miss? If you ever get bored in America, you can go to concerts, music festivals, amusement parks, parades, parties, sport events, restaurants, extreme sports, outdoors stuff. There's so much more to do here than in Pakistan. It's also much safer and the average joe can afford to have a social life, it's not a luxury unlike in the third world.

Dubai is a good analogy because I got the same vibe, especially from NY and Chicago. Make Dubai bigger and better, make the weather better and get rid of the Arabs, and I suppose it won't be much different from NY. Seems like a place where you can go on a holiday for a few weeks but that is about it.

However, I do understand that it is far too diverse a country to be pigeon-holed into a specific category. Nonetheless, based on my limited experience, it doesn't look like an ideal place for people from the Indian subcontinent or Europe, but the GCC countries will probably feel right at home.

Nonetheless, I didn't get from this thread what I was looking for. I was expecting a few accounts of people from a Pakistani/English environment struggling to adapt to the completely different world of the U.S. It seems like I am on my own, and that certainly does not make me feel any better.

Oh please do not compare Dubai with New York or Chicago.

Dubai is a soulless city with no culture or a way of life worth defending and where everyone is out to make a quick buck relevant to their means .It has no redeeming qualities asides from that.

Sounds like Mamoon needs to go out a bit more and meet new people. Most importantly dont pigeon hole yourself with other desis. Also Id live in a young, upcoming neighborhood

7-8 months on how is it going [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]?

there was a girl in my school. kinda hot actually and her family was well off from what i could tell..

she was sindhi but she grew up in karachi so her sindhi was ok at best.

are sodhas exclusively hindu? i thought its just another last name and not religion-specific.

there was a girl in my school. kinda hot actually and her family was well off from what i could tell..

she was sindhi but she grew up in karachi so her sindhi was ok at best.

are sodhas exclusively hindu? i thought its just another last name and not religion-specific.

Yes it's an exclusively Hindu Rajput clan. They had a princely state in Umarkot , the place where Akbar was born.
I have a few relatives there.