Why has India failed to win a Gold Medal in the Paris 2024 Olympics

Vinesh Phogat requested shared silver, verdict on appeal before Olympics ends: CAS​

When will indians learn sportsmanship? If they lost because of rules, they should learn to accept it, instead of crying as if they have been cheated. It is just sports, but they make it as if their self respect and existence depends on it.

Don't hear about any other country which makes so much noise on disqualification and loss to an opponent.

I have never seen a tall or strong Bengali. Neither from West Bengal or Bangladesh. Maybe it's because of my limited interaction but I guess the region doesn't have great genetics for physical prowess and developing country diet has their own negative impact
Taskin Ahmed is well built

But Indian PP'ers can't help themselves, they insist on engaging. It is more healthy to have fun than be sad, so if Pak posters want to make fun of them, I don't see the harm in it.
It’s pointless and childish if you ask me. You always want to hold yourself to a high standard regardless of others.
Anyway that’s just me.

I dont know why people talk about this genetics and Bengalis when it comes to sport. I wouldnt really expect any of the South Asians teams to focus on relatively useless things like Olympics. I would rather have them focus on improving economy and infrastructure and daily lives of normal people. With that being said, I would expect Bengalis to be good at least Badminton, I thought thats a sport even grandmas plays in BD.

What genetics do Japan and Mexico have that they are one of the top teams in Football?

I dont know why people talk about this genetics and Bengalis when it comes to sport. I wouldnt really expect any of the South Asians teams to focus on relatively useless things like Olympics. I would rather have them focus on improving economy and infrastructure and daily lives of normal people. With that being said, I would expect Bengalis to be good at least Badminton, I thought thats a sport even grandmas plays in BD.

What genetics do Japan and Mexico have that they are one of the top teams in Football?

Sports are not useless. of course it may not be a priority for developing countries but there should be some focus on it , though not like some communist countries which only chase medals

Japanese are not tall but they are really fit and strong. Their diet is very healthy. I once went on a difficult trek and saw 80+ year frail japanese women making the trek without breaking a sweat. 40-50 year old asians were not able to make it to the top.

South asian diet is in general terrible , just carbs and oily food. There is more awareness now so things are improving but it takes a long time for everyone to improve

This is true. LOL.

Possibly one of the unhealthiest diets in the world. Way too carb-heavy and oily too.

I have never seen a tall or strong Bengali. Neither from West Bengal or Bangladesh. Maybe it's because of my limited interaction but I guess the region doesn't have great genetics for physical prowess and developing country diet has their own negative impact
Satyajit Ray was 6'4.

Ebadot Hossain.

Taskin Ahmed.

Both are tall.

Ebadot Hossain.

Taskin Ahmed.

Both are tall.

I am not saying there are no tall Bengalis at all. I am saying personally in studying with a lot of bengalis (WB) in India and then meeting bangladeshis in the UK, I havent seen a tall or strong one.

I see.

Yeah. Most are either short or average. I am personally 5'8"".

tou bhai, you have the largest population, win a single gold. If not lets discuss why not
It feels like a circle of life for Pak...

They suck at making systems that enable talent to nurture,
They find some supremely talented person who is able to overcome the drawbacks and achieve greatness....
Pak junta erupts into gloating, not understanding the weekness of their system,
The gloating turns to self dillusion that we are the only talented Quam in the world.

They forgo any motivation to improve as an overall nation.
They continue to suck by because there is no system, no standard operating procedure,

Rinse and repeat.

Hence, only gloat if your system shows improvement.

Guys stop being stupid and cringy. Just enjoy the victory and stop stooping to low levels. It’s a great moment for us Pakistanis and also huge shoutout to Neeraj for a wonderful throw and congrats to Indians for his silver medal.
👏

Come on! Let the kids have their fun, unfiltered reality on display it is funny :)
Nah yaar, its uncalled for. Its a joyous occasion for Pakistanis but Indians are excelling further and better. We need to instrospect and learn to emulate rather than mock and be uncouth. Thats maturity which some subsections severely lack.

They find some supremely talented person who is able to overcome the drawbacks and achieve greatness....
The gloating turns to self dillusion that we are the only talented Quam in the world.

They continue to suck by because there is no system, no standard operating procedure,

Rinse and repeat.

again, how many golds at Paris?

I am sure the Indian female wrestler strongly agrees with you. I think she ate one too many plates of biryani or dosas before the final and ended up being overweight.
Yara, tell me, can you say no to Biryani, Roast Chicken, chicken handi, Seekh kebab..?

Mashrafe was quite tall. Maybe he is not of Bengali ethnicity because didn’t his house get burned down in the protests?

Yara, tell me, can you say no to Biryani, Roast Chicken, chicken handi, Seekh kebab..?
I am partial to mutton but yes, its hard to say no to any of that stuff. lately I feel like I am preferring simple daal chawal over the more heavy stuff. Our cuisine is actually not entirely unhealthy if done right and eaten in reasonable proportions.

Just don't drown everything in oil.

LOL that's true, but athletes maintain separate diet and workout. Diet of Americans and Canadiens is what, Burgers and Fries generally and Chinese diet is also heavy on carbs.

I see.

Yeah. Most are either short or average. I am personally 5'8"".
The current generations are getting taller due to "modified" diet. All the Gen Z kids I have seen are like 5"10+.

Generally Pakistani's are taller in South Asia even though overall average might be same more or less.

The current generations are getting taller due to "modified" diet. All the Gen Z kids I have seen are like 5"10+.

Generally Pakistani's are taller in South Asia even though overall average might be same more or less.
We used to have Alam Channa who was like number 2 or 3 tallest man in the world back in the 80s.

I am currently at Niagara falls on a family vacation. I met a large group of Bangladeshis yesterday. Very gentle and all of them were offering prayers in the near by park there. There were more than 50 people there.

Not many people to draw conclusions about how tall they are. But almost all of them are 5’6” or below that. Even their kids looked tiny for their age. They all reminded me of Mushfiqur Rahim.

I feel Bangladeshis are more similar to Burmese than we think. Similar builds and height.

As posters mentioned, the issue could be poor nutrition. Over population also does not help. This issue plagues India too. Stunted growth is a real problem in subcontinent.

The average height of south Asians is terrible in general.

China and Japan have improved their height in the last few decades. They are the tallest in Asia now.

Arabs are relatively short. Yemenis are the shortest in Asia with men at only 163cm. That is about 5’5”.

Pakistani men are 167cm and Indian men are 166cm.
However Indian women are 1cm taller than Pakistani women on average.

Clearly shows height is contingent on prosperity.

Rinse and repeat.

Angoor khattay hain

The average height of south Asians is terrible in general.

China and Japan have improved their height in the last few decades. They are the tallest in Asia now.

Arabs are relatively short. Yemenis are the shortest in Asia with men at only 163cm. That is about 5’5”.

Pakistani men are 167cm and Indian men are 166cm.
However Indian women are 1cm taller than Pakistani women on average.

Clearly shows height is contingent on prosperity.
I don’t know why my previous post got deleted but looking at your logic you are claiming Indian women are more prosperous than their neighbors but Indian men are not?

How do you explain that?

I don’t know why my previous post got deleted but looking at your logic you are claiming Indian women are more prosperous than their neighbors but Indian men are not?

How do you explain that?
It’s only a centimeter. Not like 2 or 3 inches.

Overpopulation and stunted growth is a killer.

Because India was relying too heavily on Neeraj Chopra
Nopes, we had other prospects too, it was just a rare collective bad luck in almost all games.
Pakistan had all their eggs in one basket for that matter!
It will be nice to revisit this thread time and time again in the future, when certain posters will go into hiding :p

Nopes, we had other prospects too, it was just a rare collective bad luck in almost all games.
Pakistan had all their eggs in one basket for that matter!
It will be nice to revisit this thread time and time again in the future, when certain posters will go into hiding :p
Hey, we all know cricket is gonna feature in 2028, so unlike this time, atleast next time we will be going into the olympics with some hope that ok forget all other sports, but there is a higher probability of Pakistan winning a gold in cricket than any other sport it qualifies :p

Now if the cricketers bottle it up, that is another story. But its the one sport that we are amongst the top 10 and can compete

But i think, in all honesty, this javelin event will now make cricket more interesting in 2028 olympics. As PCB and cricketers will now see how Arshad is being celebrated and India will also see how no one in their country didnt win any gold, so it could mean cricket would be taken as a serious game by India and Pakistan.

I just hope that ICC doesnt force a u23 rule and let it be an open competition.

Hey, we all know cricket is gonna feature in 2028, so unlike this time, atleast next time we will be going into the olympics with some hope that ok forget all other sports, but there is a higher probability of Pakistan winning a gold in cricket than any other sport it qualifies :p

Now if the cricketers bottle it up, that is another story. But its the one sport that we are amongst the top 10 and can compete

But i think, in all honesty, this javelin event will now make cricket more interesting in 2028 olympics. As PCB and cricketers will now see how Arshad is being celebrated and India will also see how no one in their country didnt win any gold, so it could mean cricket would be taken as a serious game by India and Pakistan.

I just hope that ICC doesnt force a u23 rule and let it be an open competition.
Would you be able to beat the Indian Techies of USA :trollface ? Pakistan failed to medal in cricket in Asian games even. :ROFLMAO: .

and India with all their equipment funding, high expert coaches failed to win a single gold at the olympics.
thanks, for reminding India actually has a good economy to afford all that stuff :p
This thread will be useful pointer when threads are made about blip in Indian Economy :p

2028, India might very well cross the the total medal haul of Pakistan in all its history in a single Olympics! :D

@Aang_The_last_airbender

Looks like someone is still salty at his team being evicted by indians on H1B from the recent T20WC and wants to pretend it did not happen 🤣🤣
They are just reducing Arshad Nadeem's iconic achievement to Champions Trophy 2017 level.

We have been on our sweet little gradual progressions in Olympics
1988-92 : 0 medals
1996-00: 2 medals
2004-08 : 4 medals (actually some investment started, after this cycle)
2012-16 : 8 medals
2020-24: 13 medals
We are pretty secure with our trendline :D

and India with all their equipment funding, high expert coaches failed to win a single gold at the olympics.

Naah we invested heavily In education and look how spectacularly it Paid off when the graduates from these institutions went to Amreeca on H1B and evicted first choice Pakistani cricket team from the WC ... now thats a true buy one get one free deal and a smart investment .... you should try it too

🤣

Angoor khattay hain
Actually, India ke angoor kaafi meethe hai, but you wouldn't understand, it takes a hard working population to understand the cost of grind.

Enjoy your angoors, kabhi 30 saal ke baad mein mille hai.

Next pata nahi kab...

Because India was relying too heavily on Neeraj Chopra

Actually No.

Vinesh Phogat was a Gold hope.

Satwik and Chirag world no.3 badminton pair were a gold medal candidate.

If IOC hadn't suspended IBF and created its own boxing rules for this Olympics, Nikhat Zareen was a gold candidate.

Hockey team was a gold candidate.

So we had 3-4 candidates for gold other than Neeraj Chopra.

Naah we invested heavily In education and look how spectacularly it Paid off when the graduates from these institutions went to Amreeca on H1B and evicted first choice Pakistani cricket team from the WC ... now thats a true buy one get one free deal and a smart investment .... you should try it too

🤣
Now his tax money were used to get rid of India’s backed PM of Bangladesh.

Enjoy the influx of migrants:)

Pakistanis should be asking themselves why Pakistan hockey team isn't in Paris.

Every Pakistani knows why the hockey team isn’t in Paris. But why hasn’t India won gold despite sending so many gold-contending athletes?

We have sealed our borders.No more Bangladeshi allowed.
What about the Indians paying tax with high paying jobs in western countries that orchestrated the removal of India’s backed dictator in Bangladesh?

Are they banned from India?

What about the Indians paying tax with high paying jobs in western countries that orchestrated the removal of India’s backed dictator in Bangladesh?

Are they banned from India?

India's dictator? What India's dictator?

what is bigger than Olympics? South Asian games?
Big picture... That this Gold is actually bad for Pak.

Any mercurial achievement is bad for Pak unless it actually moves the tide and leads to an overall development in sports.

India's dictator? What India's dictator?
Forget about Indian back puppet.

Would high-tax-paying Indians on H-1B visas in Western countries be allowed back into India if a Western government were allegedly involved in removing a ‘puppet’ government in India, leading to an influx of Hindu refugees at the Indian border?

If y’all going to take credit for one thing then should ask your government to reprimand the same Indians and CEO for going against India’s interest.

Actually No.

Vinesh Phogat was a Gold hope.

Satwik and Chirag world no.3 badminton pair were a gold medal candidate.

If IOC hadn't suspended IBF and created its own boxing rules for this Olympics, Nikhat Zareen was a gold candidate.

Hockey team was a gold candidate.

So we had 3-4 candidates for gold other than Neeraj Chopra.
Phogat?

Btw what happened to the deported wrestler? Was that also your gold medal hope but got deported?

Pakistanis should be asking themselves why Pakistan hockey team isn't in Paris.
Let me guess having a team in Paris is an achievement?

What about having an athlete deported?

Again where is your gold?

🤣
That is what i am asking. Why that a country after soo much investment and with the highest population couldnt bother to win a gold?

Like forget Pakistan, like lets compare you with China.

Most populated country in the wod, and not even one gold?

Forget about Indian back puppet.

Would high-tax-paying Indians on H-1B visas in Western countries be allowed back into India if a Western government were allegedly involved in removing a ‘puppet’ government in India, leading to an influx of Hindu refugees at the Indian border?

If y’all going to take credit for one thing then should ask your government to reprimand the same Indians and CEO for going against India’s interest.

Western government was involved in the removal of Sheikh Hasina.

India backed puppet? As per who? You?

You can troll all you want. It isn't going to affect India one bit. Better try to find out where is the next loan going to come from?

thanks, for reminding India actually has a good economy to afford all that stuff :p
This thread will be useful pointer when threads are made about blip in Indian Economy :p

2028, India might very well cross the the total medal haul of Pakistan in all its history in a single Olympics! :D
Again thats the point, they have a good exonomy yet couldnt win a single Gold?

Big picture... That this Gold is actually bad for Pak.

Any mercurial achievement is bad for Pak unless it actually moves the tide and leads to an overall development in sports.
Gold is bad for Pakistan. But not winning Gold is good for India.

Yeh i would take the bad. Ended up being ranked above you guys in the end of the olympics

Let me guess having a team in Paris is an achievement?

What about having an athlete deported?

Again where is your gold?

No one was deported.

Yes winning medal in multiple sports including hockey is more important than winning just a gold in 3 decades.

Pakistanis were once good in hockey. Now they haven't qualified for Olympics for 12 years.

Gold is bad for Pakistan. But not winning Gold is good for India.

Yeh i would take the bad. Ended up being ranked above you guys in the end of the olympics
This is indeed a good result for you. If you set India as your bar to match, you will always be improving.

After Olympics, Pakistan should set sights on Olympiads as well. This years International Maths Olympiad, India got 4th. Pakistan, I don't know. But they have the potential, and maths doesn't even need lots of budget or infra, so this is another area where they should focus on beating India.

No harm in having high standards and achieving them.

Neeraj is 26 and Arshad is 27. They have one more Olympics in them before they can call it a day.

The rivalry is on. Will be good for both countries. Good to have rivalry in something outside of cricket.
If u believe arshad is 27 ,he looks like 32.definitely one more chance for both of them in 28 olympics.if they both get another additional chance after that,it's bonus

Stay on topic please. No need to bring India Pakistan comparisons here.

Actually, India ke angoor kaafi meethe hai, but you wouldn't understand, it takes a hard working population to understand the cost of grind.

Enjoy your angoors, kabhi 30 saal ke baad mein mille hai.

Next pata nahi kab...
What? Lol. Calm down. It’s actually you who haven’t understood the point here. This is only a banter, Yeh sports mein hota hai, take a chill pill and don’t get too serious, for that we have other threads.

Shall I tell you another fun fact? I am Norwegian citizen and with a total population less than 6 million we also got one gold medal in this olympic lol.

India - Pakistan banter about the Olympics is new and pretty cool, and hope it leads to a medal competition of some sort in future.

No one was deported.

Yes winning medal in multiple sports including hockey is more important than winning just a gold in 3 decades.
An indian athlete was deported, check agaib.

Lol you can celebrate third position. Olympic champion is the guy who wins gold.

You can win 20 silvers and 20 bronze, but Pakistan would still be on top ob the medal table as one gold has more worth.

India - Pakistan banter about the Olympics is new and pretty cool, and hope it leads to a medal competition of some sort in future.
Lol again. Any American citizen is welcome to write about his country here, not matter what his origin is. I have lived almost my entire life here in Norway and of course I will write about it. I am a proud Norwegian-pakistani. And sometimes I wish I could type in Norwegian here, because my english is so poor that I can’t express myself as I want, always have to find easy way out.

Yes, because the athletes get inspired by banter .

Question is simple. WHY INDIA FAILED TO WIN GOLD AT THE OLYMPICS??

DO YOU HAVE ANSWERS FOR THAT??

This is the topic.

The question is incorrect.

The question should be WHY INDIA WON 6 MEDALS IN OLYMPICS.

We deserve 0 medals till cricket is added to Olympics.

All the athletes punched above their weight and have been doing since independence.