Why has India failed to win a Gold Medal in the Paris 2024 Olympics

Major

I have often read about how great of a nation our neighbors are. When Bangladesh had a change of leadership, we saw Indians claim that they are the only stable nation here.

They have a very large population and this time they sent a big entourage of athletes to the Olympics.

Why has the country failed behind in this Olympics and not been able to win a single Gold?

P.S. Ignore Pakistan, its a failed state. Yeh they won a Gold, but whatever......

I have often read about how great of a nation our neighbors are. When Bangladesh had a change of leadership, we saw Indians claim that they are the only stable nation here.

They have a very large population and this time they sent a big entourage of athletes to the Olympics.

Why has the country failed behind in this Olympics and not been able to win a single Gold?

P.S. Ignore Pakistan, its a failed state. Yeh they won a Gold, but whatever......
A series of Bad luck, a rare collection of bad lucks combined. Its a blip.
It might not show in medal tally, we have been improving since 2008.
Progression is never linear, minor hiccups do happen.
We have actually performed better than what we did in Tokyo and the pipeline is only getting stronger.

Guys stop being stupid and cringy. Just enjoy the victory and stop stooping to low levels. It’s a great moment for us Pakistanis and also huge shoutout to Neeraj for a wonderful throw and congrats to Indians for his silver medal.

Come on! Let the kids have their fun, unfiltered reality on display it is funny :)

haan tou?

How is it asking the worlds most populated country for not winning a single gold stupid? China has been grabbing gold after gold.

I am just curious. Like if I was to brag about my country and not win a single event, I would be embarrassed.

(P.S. Who knew the tables would turn after the WT 2024 and the CT17 mantra ended :p)

Indians been repeating the BS about Rest of the South Asia being the worst sporting place on the planet, so how does it feel to be ranked below Pakistan in the medals tally ? Lol. Most of Pakistan doesn't even care about a Olympics unlike Indians who start victory threads and doing drama over Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and a few other BS Events .

It is nice that this is the level of accountability for us !
Our total medal haul in last 2 Olympics is more than entire medal haul of Pakistan and Bangladesh and Sri Lanka Combined.
In a couple of Olympics, we would be able to exceed Pakistan in terms of Medal per capita too. Let's not talk about the zero of Bangladesh :hamster:

I am unable to share the data, India is one of the better nations in terms of Medal count with respect to GDP per capita for the last 20 years now. and we are getting better only. As economy progresses our Sports is getter even better. :D

Even the bronze medals that India has won are in lame events like Shooting..all these joke events like Shooting, Archery have nothing to do with physical activity, how are they even in the Olympics. .knowing that you cant compete in sports that need physical exertion they start concentrating on these lame games/activities to make their mark on the medal tally. Next they are planning to include Chess so that India doesn't languish at the bottom of barrel as always lol.

Pakistan sent only 7 athletes in.

And yet we took a gold.

India has underperformed no doubt, for the size of our nation and the investment, the results have been painfully slow to come by. My guess is that its the politics in sporting bodies causes the administrators to see sports as a golden goose to make money from by allocating resources to their cronies and select the athletes they like. So even when the government allocates more money its not being spent at the right places

But India's high level approach is also the only way to sporting success. Pakistan has caught a genie in a bottle this time around but depending on one freak athlete is not a sustainable approach. That athlete can have a bad day, injuries or simply age. You cant build a sporting culture by sending just 7 athletes to the games. it needs a lot of investment and focussed effort

India has underperformed no doubt, for the size of our nation and the investment, the results have been painfully slow to come by. My guess is that its the politics in sporting bodies causes the administrators to see sports as a golden goose to make money from by allocating resources to their cronies and select the athletes they like. So even when the government allocates more money its not being spent at the right places

But India's high level approach is also the only way to sporting success. Pakistan has caught a genie in a bottle this time around but depending on one freak athlete is not a sustainable approach. That athlete can have a bad day, injuries or simply age. You cant build a sporting culture by sending just 7 athletes to the games. it needs a lot of investment and focussed effort
hey you can win a gold by 7 athelets and finish above, that is good enough for me.

Sure, if it was easily repeatable every games that would be fantastic, but its not.

Hope losing to Pakistan, spurs the Indian government into action to invest more than they did this time and intelligently focus on sports where there is a decent chance.

And hope Pakistan government doesnt rest on Nadeem's win and actually develops non cricket sports.

A healthy rivalry is good for athletes in both countries

Reactions: IAJ
Lol true, if anyone checks the table from Top, Pakistan's name comes above India easily. To hell with India's perfect system which is going to produce 100s of Usain Boults and Michael Phelps in the next century while they are languishing below Pakistan at present .

1 Gold in F and T >>>> 20 Bronze Medals in Shooting, Archery, Equestrian, Breaking, Skateboard type games

@Major if this thread is to mock india that we are finishing below pak in gold medal count then it's your day, have fun!

If you want to genuinely know why we fail to win more gold in olympics compared to australia, nz, China is because of our poor sports infrastructure till 2008. After Beijing olympics, money started to be put in. It generally takes 20 years to see results. We are confident that we will see more gold in future asiad and olympics. Because winning silver and bronze will make you competitive but gold will improve the standing.

St Lucia has sent 4 athletes, they won a gold and silver.

Does this mean they are better than malaysia, turkey, austria, Norway, Portugal, Mexico who have 0 gold but more medals.

If you have even 1 great athlete in 1 discipline they will win gold and end up higher in table. It does not necessarily mean overall better sporting infrastructure or system.

1 Gold in F and T >>>> 20 Bronze Medals in Shooting, Archery, Equestrian, Breaking, Skateboard type games
What logic is this ....

South korea has won 13 gold and 28 medals in total, but 0 in track and field, not even a bronze. Does this mean they are meh?

Does this mean they are better than malaysia, turkey, austria, Norway, Portugal, Mexico who have 0 gold but more medals.

If you have even 1 great athlete in 1 discipline they will win gold and end up higher in table. It does not necessarily mean overall better sporting infrastructure or system.
Excuse me, Norway have 1 gold medal.

So are there no events left where India can still win gold medal(s)?

Consider it this way, and you'll never be confused about the quality and significance of Olympic medals: :inti

1 Gold = 1 Bitcoin
1 Silver = 1 Ethereum
1 Bronze = 1 Solana

This is so strange yet funny that Pakistan's name will be up than India's because We WON 1 GOLD.

India definitely has a better sporting infrastructure than Pakistan. What Nadeem has achieved is without any, LITERALLY ANY support from his government. They would not even pay for his javelin.

India might have missed GOLD but it does not mean that they have been poor in sports but Pakistan achieved something that was a dream for 4 decades now.

Fair question, Brother Major.

You have to have a lot of contenders for gold medal in order to eventually return with an Olympic gold because upsets are also part of the game. It’s rare at the Olympic a stage that someone ranked below top 3 over the last 4 years goes on to win gold.

We have made incremental improvements across sports where we have graduated to being medal contenders now from being mere participants historically.

Now the next step in our progression is to turn our athletes from being medal contenders to being Gold contenders and world record beating contenders. It’s the end game. We have to chase excellence.

Once we graduate to this next level, if at all we manage it, you will see an exponential increase in our Gold and overall medals count.

its a learning curve for all of us. Our people and even journalists didn’t even understand rules of some of these sports and now that we have competing players in many of these events, we as a nation are learning what these sports are all about, the level of preparation and psychology behind the champions in such sports. Even in our criticism , we are learning which things to actually criticize rather than just blindly crying about not winning medals. We are going into the technical stuff now.

Overall, we have to become a country which sports are a part of the society and a kids life from childhood. Until we don’t have that, winning these medals don’t mean a lot.

This is so strange yet funny that Pakistan's name will be up than India's because We WON 1 GOLD.

India definitely has a better sporting infrastructure than Pakistan. What Nadeem has achieved is without any, LITERALLY ANY support from his government. They would not even pay for his javelin.

India might have missed GOLD but it does not mean that they have been poor in sports but Pakistan achieved something that was a dream for 4 decades now.
Problem is that Nadeem's success will cover and hide everything that is wrong with Pakistan's sporting infra.

We got a gold with so little, and India could not get a gold with so much money and infra, ha ha. And that is all that matters.

Pakistan sent only 7 athletes in.

And yet we took a gold.
Congratulations !!! 🔥 ... but but.. Let's just correct certain things a little

Pakistan didn't send 7 athletes. Only 7 athletes made it to the Olympics, half of them were based on universality quota didn't even qualify on actual merit. sending and achieving qualification are vastly different ! :D

Problem is that Nadeem's success will cover and hide everything that is wrong with Pakistan's sporting infra.

We got a gold with so little, and India could not get a gold with so much money and infra, ha ha. And that is all that matters.
Shhh, Don't suggest things that can lead to actual improvement in our padosis!
Let them have their moment. :devilish:

India is not good enough to win gold. Their strengths are wrestling, badminton and Javalin. Came short in all 3 events. I cannot comment on what went with Vinesh Phogat, but it was a huge blow for India when she got disqualified. That was a sure shot gold had she maintained her weight.

Overall, I expected about 5 medals and that is what they achieved. Performances on par with talent.

Winning any medal in cut throat competitions at world stage is no joke. If I am a fan of Olympics, I will be very satisfied with the overall performance of the unit.

India is not good enough to win gold. Their strengths are wrestling, badminton and Javalin. Came short in all 3 events. I cannot comment on what went with Vinesh Phogat, but it was a huge blow for India when she got disqualified. That was a sure shot gold had she maintained her weight.

Overall, I expected about 5 medals and that is what they achieved. Performances on par with talent.

Winning any medal in cut throat competitions at world stage is no joke. If I am a fan of Olympics, I will be very satisfied with the overall performance of the unit.
Its just about 16 years of investing in sports bhai.
Neeraj's gold came a tad bit early but was not a result of systematic change that will produce Golds on auto-pilot. We need more effort and patience for another 2-3 Olympics to get Golds on auto pilot like the big teams.

Expectation was of double digit medals and we ended up with top 4 finishes in about 12-13 cases. Its very much inline, a little bit of luck could have helped but that's life. I am glad that we haven't fallen back to measly 2 medals of Rio, that was a stumble. If we can manage 6 medals with such a serious bad luck, we are miles ahead of where we were a decade ago. 🇮🇳

I think India has improved its performance they didn't get the gold like last time but India has competed really well in more than 15 events ..finished 4th or Quarter finals in 10 events . Missed medals with slightest of margins
Very soon we might see medal tally in double digits
Before early 2000s India used to compete really well in maximum 3-4 events

The colour of the medal doesn't matter in my opinion. There were a lot of 4th place finishes this year which was disappointing.

I hope we can hit a double digit number of medals in the next Olympics. if that means 10 bronze, so be it.

There is cricket in the next Olympics so hopefully a guaranteed medal from that.

The colour of the medal doesn't matter in my opinion. There were a lot of 4th place finishes this year which was disappointing.

I hope we can hit a double digit number of medals in the next Olympics. if that means 10 bronze, so be it.

There is cricket in the next Olympics so hopefully a guaranteed medal from that.
May India never win any olympic gold ever. This is my curse.

After seeing the silence of these sickulars on bangladeshi hindus, and noise on something as trivial as sports, this is the least they deserve.

India is slowly improving in every field where as Pakistan is on self destruct mode, it's a harsh reality and winning a gold medal will not change anything about it.

May India never win any olympic gold ever. This is my curse.

After seeing the silence of these sickulars on bangladeshi hindus, and noise on something as trivial as sports, this is the least they deserve.

Don't worry, after the next Olympics you will still remain the most populated nation with no medals.

How many medals is revolutionary nation aka has won so far in this Olympic??
Oh big zero.

'Are They Tourists?': Wrestling Federation Chief Blasts Vinesh Phogat's Support Staff After Olympic Disqualification

With Vinesh Phogat's disqualification from the final of women's 50 kg final at the Paris Olympics, Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) president Sanjay Singh has raised questions on the presence of her personal coach and support staff, wondering what they are doing in Paris. With Vinesh disqualified from participating in the final, the entire country is pondering the question as to how a mistake of such magnitude be made on such a big stage.

On Wednesday, the WFI president directed those questions towards Vinesh's coach, dietician and physio and said that they should be held accountable for the embarrassing situation. “The player is fully concentrated on her practice which is why it would be unfair to blame her for this. Why is the support staff sent with the athlete, and the government sends them along with the player, ‘Wo sab wahan tafri karne gaye hai kya (have they gone there for tourism)?' Sanjay Singh said.

"An athlete who has won three of her bouts has to concentrate on her game, the staff is supposed to keep all other details in check,” Sanjay Singh told IANS in an exclusive interview.

Vinesh was disqualified as she failed her final weight check, turning out to be 100gm overweight despite attempting to make valiant attempts to shed the 2.7 kg she had picked to replenish the energy lost on Tuesday.

Despite being under the required weight limit on Tuesday, Phogat was needed to replenish after her three exerting bouts which saw her go above the weight limit. She spent the night trying to reduce weight to below the 50 kg mark and was seen skipping, cycling and jogging in her best effort to make it but eventually could not meet the target.

Sanjay Singh went on to elaborate on the consequences of such a mistake, claiming the WFI plans to ban players from taking their personal staff with them and only coaches, physio and nutritionists who are eligible through WFI courses will be sent with the team.

“When we return from Paris, the entire WFI community will try their best to implement the rule that only the nutritionists and physios eligible through our courses will be sent with the team and no others will be entertained,” he added.

“In all, 140 crore Indians have had their hearts broken. On the issue of her weight gain, her personal coach, dietician, and physio were present with her and only they can tell what happened. She would have 100% won the gold medal the way she had prepared so the question must be asked of her coach,” he concluded.

Incidentally, the WFI had tried to control the involvement of wrestlers' personal coaches when they were representing the country but to no avail as they had to bow down to star power every time and many times the personal coaches have been accommodated at the cost of important support staff.

NDTV

South Asian countries do not have a sporting culture outside of cricket. I think that India winning four bronzes (potentially one more) and one silver is actually not a bad performance. Till a couple of decades ago India would generally return from the Olympics empty handed.
And while it was a great performance from Nadeem, a solitary Gold medal for a country of 250 million that is allegedly fitter and better in sports than India isn't anything to be proud about either.

India's massive economy and the amount of investment both the public and private sector is capable of making in the Indians sports industry, the results will eventually show in the future.

In contrast Pakistan cannot make the same kind of investments given its bankrupt nature, the athletes have to fend for themselves and that will only lead to a disastrous outcome

South Asian countries do not have a sporting culture outside of cricket. I think that India winning four bronzes (potentially one more) and one silver is actually not a bad performance. Till a couple of decades ago India would generally return from the Olympics empty handed.
And while it was a great performance from Nadeem, a solitary Gold medal for a country of 250 million that is allegedly fitter and better in sports than India isn't anything to be proud about either.

India has prob nearly 10x the population of Pakistan .

Indians with any self respect should be comparing themselves to China. In those terms & esp with India spending millions yearly it’s a very poor performance with the amount of athletes sent .

Pakistan in one throw did what india may never achieve , Olympic record .

Things will improve in the future for india when cricket, chess & spelling b is introduced into the Olympics

You are right. Many Pakistanis seem to be flashing the lack of resources and support for Olympic athletes as a badge of honour.

India has prob nearly 10x the population of Pakistan .

Indians with any self respect should be comparing themselves to China. In those terms & esp with India spending millions yearly it’s a very poor performance with the amount of athletes sent .

Pakistan in one throw did what india may never achieve , Olympic record .

Things will improve in the future for india when cricket, chess & spelling b is introduced into the Olympics
That time will come sir, you need not worry. Its not even 20 years for our minor investments into sports while China could afford do pour billions into sports and have about 25-30 year head start on us. We are trying to bridge that enormous valley.

FYI, India already has Olympic records and have world records in certain sports. :) But, yes you are right, India needs to aim higher!

Cricket is coming up next time, chess will be there next decade but we are targeting for more too. We have revived our hockey and we are enjoying that for a bit, other sports will have their time too.
Thanks for your genuine inputs! :p

I don’t know why this is a thread, India is not a sporting nation. Until cricket is added to olympics people should not have any medal expectations from Indian contingent.
Any medal India has won so far is due to athletes pushing above their weight.

In addition we have massive corruption in all sporting bodies so that makes it even worse for athletes.

It’s not just India, every south Asian country is the same, they are not cut out for olympics, you can have Neeraj Chopra, Arshad type once in a generation talents who win medals but they are despite of the corrupt system.

Its nice to see when talking about sports, suddenly Indian economy is getting recognized as being big and powerful.
Otherwise, we had trolling about malnourished children and lack of toilet stuff, but for sports metrics, suddenly talk about India's GIANT economy!! :p

Fair question, Brother Major.

You have to have a lot of contenders for gold medal in order to eventually return with an Olympic gold because upsets are also part of the game. It’s rare at the Olympic a stage that someone ranked below top 3 over the last 4 years goes on to win gold.

We have made incremental improvements across sports where we have graduated to being medal contenders now from being mere participants historically.

Now the next step in our progression is to turn our athletes from being medal contenders to being Gold contenders and world record beating contenders. It’s the end game. We have to chase excellence.

Once we graduate to this next level, if at all we manage it, you will see an exponential increase in our Gold and overall medals count.

its a learning curve for all of us. Our people and even journalists didn’t even understand rules of some of these sports and now that we have competing players in many of these events, we as a nation are learning what these sports are all about, the level of preparation and psychology behind the champions in such sports. Even in our criticism , we are learning which things to actually criticize rather than just blindly crying about not winning medals. We are going into the technical stuff now.

Overall, we have to become a country which sports are a part of the society and a kids life from childhood. Until we don’t have that, winning these medals don’t mean a lot.
Not really.

You just have to be good.

Also, Arshad was first and second aswell, cause he crossed the 90 meter twice.

@Major if this thread is to mock india that we are finishing below pak in gold medal count then it's your day, have fun!

If you want to genuinely know why we fail to win more gold in olympics compared to australia, nz, China is because of our poor sports infrastructure till 2008. After Beijing olympics, money started to be put in. It generally takes 20 years to see results. We are confident that we will see more gold in future asiad and olympics. Because winning silver and bronze will make you competitive but gold will improve the standing.
Yes it is to mock India. Thank you, we are having fun

Congratulations !!! 🔥 ... but but.. Let's just correct certain things a little

Pakistan didn't send 7 athletes. Only 7 athletes made it to the Olympics, half of them were based on universality quota didn't even qualify on actual merit. sending and achieving qualification are vastly different ! :D

chalo jo bhi hai. We won gold

um it does matter. Gold means you are an Olympic Champion. You won the event.

That time will come sir, you need not worry. Its not even 20 years for our minor investments into sports while China could afford do pour billions into sports and have about 25-30 year head start on us. We are trying to bridge that enormous valley.

FYI, India already has Olympic records and have world records in certain sports. :) But, yes you are right, India needs to aim higher!

Cricket is coming up next time, chess will be there next decade but we are targeting for more too. We have revived our hockey and we are enjoying that for a bit, other sports will have their time too.
Thanks for your genuine inputs! :p
These are nothing more than excuses. :inti

The truth is India has a much better sporting culture today than Pakistan’s. They have better systems and processes in place. We were much much ahead in the past. We used to have a solid sporting tradition in hockey, boxing and squash and we have squandered all that away thanks to the downward spiral the country has been on since the late 80s. Maybe most of the younger generation won’t believe me but all it takes is a bit of effort to look up people like Hasan Sardar, Naseem shah (boxer), jahangir khan and Jansher Khan, not to mention many other hockey legends we have had.

Where are their replacements? We are also on a downward spiral in cricket. Making fun of India won’t paper over these sad facts.

This thread is just another troll attempt. Indian Papers should not even engage here.

The truth is India has a much better sporting culture today than Pakistan’s. They have better systems and processes in place. We were much much ahead in the past. We used to have a solid sporting tradition in hockey, boxing and squash and we have squandered all that away thanks to the downward spiral the country has been on since the late 80s. Maybe most of the younger generation won’t believe me but all it takes is a bit of effort to look up people like Hasan Sardar, Naseem shah (boxer), jahangir khan and Jansher Khan, not to mention many other hockey legends we have had.

Where are their replacements? We are also on a downward spiral in cricket. Making fun of India won’t paper over these sad facts.
Bhaiya that is the question.

-Better sporting Culture
-Better System
-Better Process

We are History meanwhile.

Yet, where is India's gold? Why is that?

You are right. Many Pakistanis seem to be flashing the lack of resources and support for Olympic athletes as a badge of honour.

Its more like highlighting the need for massive investment and funding i.e. if this is what the athletes can achieve with zero support, imagine what they can all do with massive backing.

Depend who makes this statement.

If we the common people make it, that the reason is we are showing that we have potential.

But when some Govt official makes such statement, than I agree with this. Our Govt officials are very stupid and say the darnest thing. Like if you are in the govt and say look we won without the guy having a Javelin in january, than why didnt your govt provide him with the facilities?

Depend who makes this statement.

If we the common people make it, that the reason is we are showing that we have potential.

But when some Govt official makes such statement, than I agree with this. Our Govt officials are very stupid and say the darnest thing. Like if you are in the govt and say look we won without the guy having a Javelin in january, than why didnt your govt provide him with the facilities?
Good point

-Better sporting Culture
-Better System
-Better Process

Our Frequency of Gold has been 1 per 2 Olympics since 2008.
Thanks for reminding us to get better. We will not disappoint you. Thanks for acknowledging that we are doing better and have better economy and it should reflect in medal tally too. :)

It is because of inferior indian genes. Even the most winners are from those part of india which are bordering Pakistan, so have traces of the same superior gene pool.

This is the cold hard truth.
Bengalis somehow are perplexing, Bangladesh has zero and even from Indian side , there was ZERO Bengali participation in Olympics. What is the issue with Bengalis on both sides of the border?

tou bhai, you have the largest population, win a single gold. If not lets discuss why not
Sure, can you sure your unfiltered opinion on why India doesnt have a gold? :p
I would love to learn from some expert sports perspective. Don't be shy, plz lay it out!

Our Frequency of Gold has been 1 per 2 Olympics since 2008.
Thanks for reminding us to get better. We will not disappoint you. Thanks for acknowledging that we are doing better and have better economy and it should reflect in medal tally too. :)
Your welcome, now where's the Gold?

-Better sporting Culture
-Better System
-Better Process

A single gold does not change anything. We are much inferior in sports that we claim to be our national past times, hockey and cricket. You need to quit with this
Be humble and gracious in victory.

This thread is just another troll attempt. Indian Papers should not even engage here.

But Indian PP'ers can't help themselves, they insist on engaging. It is more healthy to have fun than be sad, so if Pak posters want to make fun of them, I don't see the harm in it.

Bengalis somehow are perplexing, Bangladesh has zero and even from Indian side , there was ZERO Bengali participation in Olympics. What is the issue with Bengalis on both sides of the border?
I have never seen a tall or strong Bengali. Neither from West Bengal or Bangladesh. Maybe it's because of my limited interaction but I guess the region doesn't have great genetics for physical prowess and developing country diet has their own negative impact

Vinesh Phogat requested shared silver, verdict on appeal before Olympics ends: CAS​

The Court of Arbitration of Sport (CAS) on August 9, Friday has said that the decision on the plea made by Vinesh Phogat about her disqualification from the women's 50 kg category final will be out before the end of the ongoing Paris Olympics 2024. The Paris Olympics is set to have its closing ceremony on Sunday, August 11. Vinesh was disqualified from the competition on August 7, as she was overweight by 100 gm during the weigh-in before the final on Wendnesday.

This was a heartbreaking moment for Vinesh, who would then decide to quit the sport. She would, however, put in an appeal to the CAS, asking to be given the status of joint-silver medallist. The appeal was accepted by CAS on August 8, Thursday and the hearing was set for Friday.

The process is ongoing according to the latest update and the matter has been referred to the sole arbitrator Dr. Annaelle Bennett.

"An application was filed at the CAS Ad hoc Division at 16:45 CEST on 7 August 2024 by Indian wrestler Vinesh Phogat (the Applicant) in relation to the decision taken by United World Wrestling (UWW) to replace her, because of her failed second weigh-in, before the gold medal match of the Women’s Freestyle 50kg competition at the Olympic Games Paris 2024 that was due to commence at 18:15 CEST the same day (the Challenged Decision)."

"The Applicant initially sought a decision from the CAS Ad hoc Division annulling the Challenged Decision and ordering another weigh-in before the final match as well as a declaration that she be declared eligible and qualified to participate in the final. However, she did not request urgent interim measures. The CAS Ad hoc Division procedure is fast, but it was not possible for a decision on the merits to be issued within an hour, bearing in mind that the Respondent UWW would have had to be heard first."

"The procedure is, however, ongoing and the Applicant has confirmed that she seeks the annulment of the Challenged Decision and that she requests to be awarded a (shared) silver medal. The matter has been referred to the Hon. Dr Annabelle Bennett AC SC (AUS), sitting as a Sole Arbitrator, who will hold a hearing with the parties today. The Sole Arbitrator’s decision is expected to be issued before the end of the Olympic Games," read the statement.

Vinesh Phogat made two appeals to the CAS - first, to be allowed to take part in Thursday's final, and second for a joint silver medal. Her first appeal was rejected before the final, and her second appeal was considered.

There's no such thing as a bengali athlete. Atleast I've never come across one.
So now India didn't get a gold because of no bengali athletes? You may be on to something. Other genepool is of no use, maybe Bengalis if they stop intellectual pursuits and take up sports, India may have some chance.